                                                    Exhibit 99.1
NORTEK NEWS

CONTACT: Richard L. Bready, Chairman
         Richard J. Harris, Vice President
         (401) 751-1600

RELEASE: IMMEDIATE

                      NORTEK Announces proposed offering

                         OF SENIOR SUBORDINATED NOTES

PROVIDENCE, RI, January 29, 2001 - Nortek, Inc. (NYSE: NTK) today announced
plans to conduct an offering of approximately $225 million of senior
subordinated notes due 2011.   The notes are expected to be issued and sold
in a private Rule 144A offering to institutional investors.    Nortek
intends to use approximately $218 million of the net proceeds of the
offering to redeem its outstanding 9 7/8% senior subordinated notes due
2004 (including the payment of the applicable redemption premium and accrued
interest to the estimated date of redemption), and to use any remaining net
proceeds for working capital and other general corporate purposes.

Nortek* is a leading international manufacturer and distributor of high-
quality, competitively priced building, remodeling and indoor environmental
control products for the residential and commercial markets. The Company
offers a broad array of products for improving the environments where people
live and work. Its products include range hoods and other spot ventilation
products, heating and air conditioning systems, wood and vinyl windows and
doors, vinyl siding products, indoor air quality systems, and specialty
electronic products.

*As used herein, the term "Nortek" refers to Nortek, Inc., together with
its subsidiaries, unless the context indicates otherwise.  This term is
used for convenience only and is not intended as a precise description of
any of the separate corporations, each of which manages its own affairs.

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning
of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.  These statements
are based upon the Company's current plans and expectations and involve
risks and uncertainties that could cause actual future activities and
results of operations to be materially different from those set forth in
the forward-looking statements.  Important factors impacting such forward-
looking statements include the availability and cost of raw materials and
purchased components, the level of construction and remodeling activity,
changes in general economic conditions, the rate of sales growth, and product
liability claims.  The Company undertakes no obligation to update publicly any
forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future
events, or otherwise.  For further information, please refer to the Company's
reports and filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

                                 # # #

    NORTEK, INC. 50 KENNEDY PLAZA, PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND 02903-2360
                     401-751-1600 FAX 401-751-4610