                                                                  Exhibit 99.1



For Immediate Release
---------------------
November 4, 2004


     NORDSTROM OCTOBER SAME-STORE SALES INCREASE 11.5 PERCENT
     --------------------------------------------------------
     SEATTLE - November 4, 2004 - Nordstrom, Inc. (NYSE: JWN) today reported preliminary sales of $511.9 million for the four-week period ending October 30, 2004, an increase of 13.5 percent compared to sales of $451.2 million for the four-week period ending November 1, 2003. Same-store sales increased 11.5 percent.

     Preliminary quarter-to-date sales of $1.5 billion increased 9.4 percent compared to 2003 quarter-to-date sales of $1.4 billion. Quarter-to-date same-store sales increased 8.1 percent.

     Preliminary year-to-date sales of $5.0 billion increased 11.5 percent compared to sales of $4.5 billion in 2003. Year-to-date same-store sales increased 9.1 percent.

     Nordstrom will open its 94th full-line store at Dadeland Mall in Miami, Fla. on Friday, November 12th.

SALES RECORDING
     To hear Nordstrom's prerecorded October sales message, please dial (402) 220-6036. This recording will be available for one week.

SALES SUMMARY
(unaudited;        October    October    QTD       QTD      YTD        YTD
 $ in millions)     2004       2003      2004      2003     2004       2003
                  ---------  ---------   ----      ----     ----       ----
Total sales        $511.9     $451.2    $1,542.0  $1,409.1   $5,031.0  $4,511.2
Total sales
 percentage change  13.5%        6.5%       9.4%     9.6%     11.5%     7.0%
Same-store sales
 percentage change  11.5%        3.3%       8.1%     4.7%      9.1%     2.5%

Number of stores
 Full-line           93         91
 Rack and other      56         56
 International
 Faconnable
  boutiques          31         31
                    ---        ---
     Total          180        178

Gross square
 footage       19,289,000    19,011,000


GAAP SALES PERFORMANCE
     The additional information provided in this section is to comply with the Securities and Exchange Commission's Regulation G. The Company converted to a 4-5-4 Retail Calendar at the beginning of 2003. Year-to-date results for 2003 include one more day than the year-to-date for 2004. The Company believes that adjusting for this difference provides a more comparable basis from which to evaluate sales performance. The following reconciliation bridges the year-to-date 2003 GAAP sales to the 4-5-4 comparable sales.






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<table>
                                                              Dollar      % Change      % Change
Sales Reconciliation ($M)       YTD 2003       YTD 2004      Increase   Total Sales    Comp Sales
                                --------       --------      --------   -----------    ----------
        Number of Days GAAP          274            273
                 GAAP Sales     $4,529.4        $5031.0       $501.6         11.1%          8.6%
    Less Feb. 1, 2003 sales       ($18.2)            --
                                --------       --------
       Reported 4-5-4 sales     $4,511.2       $5,031.0       $519.8         11.5%          9.1%
                               =========      =========
        4-5-4 Adjusted Days          273            273


FUTURE REPORTING DATES
Nordstrom's financial release calendar for the next several months is provided
in the table below.

                  Third Quarter Earnings        Tues., Nov. 16, 2004
                  November Sales Release        Thurs., Dec. 2, 2004
                  December Sales Release        Thurs., Jan. 6, 2005
                  January Sales Release         Thurs., Feb. 3, 2005

     Nordstrom, Inc. is one of the nation's leading fashion specialty
retailers, with 149 US stores located in 27 states.  Founded in 1901 as a shoe
store in Seattle, today Nordstrom operates 93 full-line stores, 49 Nordstrom
Racks, five Faconnable boutiques, one free-standing shoe store, and one
clearance store.  Nordstrom also operates 31 international Faconnable
boutiques, primarily in Europe.  Additionally, Nordstrom serves customers
through its online presence at http://www.nordstrom.com and through its direct
mail catalogs.

Investor Contact:
Stephanie Allen, 206-303-3262

Media Contact:
Deniz Anders, 206-373-3038