                                                                  Exhibit 99.1



For Immediate Release
September 2, 2004


            NORDSTROM AUGUST SAME-STORE SALES INCREASE 7.2 PERCENT
            ------------------------------------------------------

     SEATTLE   September 2, 2004 - Nordstrom, Inc. (NYSE: JWN) today reported
preliminary sales of $431.7 million for the four-week period ending August 28, 2004, an increase of 8.2 percent compared to sales of $399.1 million for the four-week period ending August 30, 2003. Same-store sales increased 7.2 percent.

     The strongest performing geographic regions for the month of August were the Southwest and Southern States. The strongest merchandise categories were accessories, women's shoes and women's designer apparel.

     Preliminary year-to-date sales of $3.9 billion increased 12.0 percent compared to sales of $3.5 billion in 2003. Year-to-date same-store sales increased 9.2 percent.

SALES RECORDING
     To hear Nordstrom's prerecorded August sales message, please dial (402) 220-6036. This recording will be available for one week.

SALES SUMMARY                     August     August       YTD        YTD
(unaudited; $ in millions)          2004       2003       2004       2003
                                   ------     ------     ------     ------
Total sales                        $431.7     $399.1   $3,920.7   $3,501.3
Total sales percentage change        8.2%      11.0%      12.0%       6.5%
Same-store sales percentage change   7.2%       2.8%       9.2%       1.7%

Number of stores (as of August 31, 2004)
      Full-line                        93         90
      Rack and other                   56         56
      International
        Faconnable boutiques           31         31
                                      ---        ---
      Total                           180        177

Gross square footage           19,289,000 18,847,000

GAAP SALES PERFORMANCE
     The additional information provided in this section is to comply with the Securities and Exchange Commission's Regulation G. The Company converted to a 4-5-4 Retail Calendar at the beginning of 2003. Year-to-date results for 2003 include one more day than the year-to-date for 2004. The Company believes that adjusting for this difference provides a more comparable basis from which to evaluate sales performance. The following reconciliation bridges the year-to-date 2003 GAAP sales to the 4-5-4 comparable sales.

                                                               Dollar      % Change      % Change
Sales Reconciliation ($M)       YTD 2003       YTD 2004      Increase   Total Sales    Comp Sales
                                --------       --------    ----------   -----------    ----------
        Number of Days GAAP          211            210
                 GAAP Sales     $3,519.5       $3,920.7        $401.2         11.4%          8.6%
    Less Feb. 1, 2003 sales       ($18.2)            --
                                --------       --------
       Reported 4-5-4 sales     $3,501.3       $3,920.7        $419.4         12.0%          9.2%
                               =========      =========
        4-5-4 Adjusted Days          210            210

FUTURE REPORTING DATES
Nordstrom's financial release calendar for the next several months is provided in the table below.

                  September Sales Release       Thurs., Oct. 7, 2004
                  October Sales Release         Thurs., Nov. 4, 2004
                  Third Quarter Earnings        Mon., Nov. 22, 2004
                  November Sales Release        Thurs., Dec. 2, 2004

     Nordstrom, Inc. is one of the nation's leading fashion specialty retailers, with 149 US stores located in 27 states. Founded in 1901 as a shoe store in Seattle, today Nordstrom operates 93 full-line stores, 49 Nordstrom Racks, five Faconnable boutiques, one free-standing shoe store, and one clearance store. Nordstrom also operates 31 international Faconnable boutiques, primarily in Europe. Additionally, Nordstrom serves customers through its online presence at http://www.nordstrom.com and through its direct mail catalogs.

Investor Contact:
Stephanie Allen, 206-303-3262

Media Contact:
Deniz Anders, 206-373-3038

     Certain statements in this news release might contain "forward-looking" information (as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of
1995) that involves risks and uncertainties, including anticipated results, store openings and distribution channels, planned capital expenditures, and trends in company operations. Actual future results and trends may differ materially from historical results or current expectations depending upon factors including, but not limited to, the company's ability to predict fashion trends, consumer apparel buying patterns, the company's ability to control costs, weather conditions, hazards of nature such as earthquakes and floods, trends in personal bankruptcies and bad debt write-offs, changes in interest rates, employee relations, the company's ability to continue its expansion plans, and the impact of economic and competitive market forces, including the impact of terrorist activity or the impact of a war on the company, its customers and the retail industry. Our SEC reports may contain other information on these and other factors that could affect our financial results and cause actual results to differ materially from any forward-looking information we may provide.