                                                                    Exhibit 99.2

January 10, 2000


Terra Industries Inc.
Terra Capital, Inc.
Terra Nitrogen (UK) Limited
Terra Nitrogen, Limited Partnership
Terra International (Canada) Inc.
c/o Terra Industries Inc.
Terra Centre
600 Fourth Street
P.O. Box 6000
Sioux City, Iowa  51102-6000

Attention:  Francis G. Meyer
            Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer


                               COMMITMENT LETTER

           US $250,000,000 TERM LOAN AND REVOLVING CREDIT FACILITIES

Ladies and Gentlemen:

You have advised us that Terra Capital, Inc. ("Terra Capital") and certain of its subsidiaries desire to establish and continue credit facilities in the aggregate principal amount of US $250,000,000 (the "Facilities"), the proceeds of which would be used (i) to refinance in full the loans, if any, outstanding under the Amended and Restated Credit Agreement dated as of June 25, 1999 among Terra Capital, certain guarantors, the lenders and issuing banks party thereto, Salomon Smith Barney Inc. ("SSB") as Arranger, and Citibank, N.A., as Collateral Agent and Administrative Agent (the "Terra Capital Credit Agreement"), (ii) to continue in full the existing term loan (current principal balance: US $109,375,000) (the "Canadian Term Loan") made to Terra International (Canada), Inc. ("Terra Canada") pursuant to a further amendment and restatement of the Credit Agreement dated as of December 31, 1997 and amended and restated as of June 25, 1999 among Terra Canada, certain guarantors, the lenders and issuing banks party thereto, SSB, as Arranger, and Citibank, N.A., as Collateral Agent and Administrative Agent (the "Terra Canada Credit Agreement"), (iii) to pay related transaction costs, fees and expenses, (iv) to provide working capital from time to time for Terra Capital and its subsidiaries and (v) for other general corporate purposes. The Facilities would consist of (i) a new senior secured revolving credit facility in the maximum committed amount of US $140,625,000 (the "Revolving Credit Facility") to be made available to Terra Capital, Terra Nitrogen UK, Ltd. ("Terra UK")
and Terra Nitrogen, Limited Partnership ("Terra LP"; together with Terra Capital, Terra UK and Terra Canada, the "Borrowers"), and (ii) a continuation of the senior secured term loan facility in the principal amount of the outstanding Canadian Term Loan pursuant to an amendment and restatement of the existing Terra Canada Credit Agreement. You have asked Citibank, N.A. or one of its affiliates ("Citibank") to commit to provide you with financing commitments for the entire amount of the Facilities.

Citibank is pleased to inform you of its commitment to provide the entire amount of the Facilities, and of its agreement to act as Administrative Agent, subject to the terms and conditions described in this letter and the attached Annex I ("Annex I"; collectively, and together with the Fee Letter referred to below, the "Commitment Letter"); provided, however, that Citibank's commitment to provide the entire amount of the Facilities will be irrevocably reduced by the amount of the commitment of any prospective Lender (as defined below) to provide a portion of the Facilities effective upon delivery of written evidence of such Lender's commitment to the Borrowers.

Conditions Precedent
--------------------

The commitment and other obligations of Citibank and SSB hereunder are subject to: (i) the preparation, execution and delivery of mutually acceptable loan documentation, including, without limitation, a new credit agreement evidencing the Revolving Credit Facility and an amendment and restatement of the existing Terra Canada Credit Agreement, in each case incorporating substantially the terms and conditions outlined in this Commitment Letter; (ii) the absence of (A) a material adverse change in the business, condition (financial or otherwise), operations, performance, properties or prospects of any Borrower, or Terra Industries Inc. (the "Company") and its subsidiaries taken as a whole, since December 31, 1998 and (B) any change in loan syndication, financial or capital market conditions generally that, in the reasonable judgment of SSB, would materially impair syndication of the Facilities; (iii) the accuracy and completeness in all material respects of all representations that you make to us and all information that you furnish to us and your compliance with the terms of this Commitment Letter; (iv) the payment in full of all fees, expenses and other amounts due and payable under this Commitment Letter; (v) Citibank's and SSB's completion and satisfaction with the results of its due diligence review of the Borrowers and their subsidiaries; (vi) the other conditions precedent to the initial funding of the Facilities contained in Annex I; and (vii) a closing of the Facilities on or prior to February 29, 2000.

Commitment Termination
----------------------

Citibank's commitment set forth in this Commitment Letter will terminate on February 29, 2000, unless the Facilities close on or before such date. Prior to such date, this Commitment Letter may be terminated (i) by you at any time at your option upon payment of all fees, expenses and other amounts then payable under this Commitment Letter or (ii) by Citibank if any event occurs or information has become available that, in its judgment, results in, or is likely to result in, the occurrence of any of the events referred to in subclauses (A) and (B) of clause (ii) of the
preceding paragraph or the failure of any other condition referred to in the immediately preceding paragraph.

Syndication
-----------

Citibank reserves the right, prior to or after the execution of definitive documentation with respect to the Facilities, to syndicate all or a portion of its commitment to one or more other financial institutions (subject to the approval of the Borrowers, not to be unreasonably withheld) that will become parties to such definitive documentation pursuant to a syndication to be managed by SSB (the financial institutions becoming parties to such definitive documentation being collectively referred to herein as the "Lenders"). You understand that SSB intends to commence syndication efforts promptly and that it may elect to appoint one or more syndication agents (which may include Citibank) to direct the syndication efforts on its behalf. The nature of the information to be disclosed in discussions with potential Lenders, and any written materials to be provided to such Lenders in connection therewith, shall be mutually acceptable to you and SSB.

SSB will manage all aspects of the syndication in consultation with you, including, without limitation, the timing of all offers to potential Lenders, the acceptance of commitments, and the determination of the amounts offered and the compensation provided.

You agree to take all action as SSB may reasonably request to assist it in forming a syndicate acceptable to it. Your assistance in forming such a syndicate shall include but not be limited to: (i) making senior management and representatives of the Company and the Borrowers available to participate in information meetings with potential Lenders at such times and places as SSB may reasonably request; (ii) using your reasonable best efforts to ensure that the syndication efforts benefit from the Company's and the Borrowers' lending relationships; and (iii) providing SSB with all information reasonably deemed necessary by it to successfully complete the syndication.

To ensure an orderly and effective syndication of the Facilities, you agree that until the termination of the syndication (as determined by SSB), you will not, and you will not permit any of your affiliates to, syndicate or issue, attempt to syndicate or issue, announce or authorize the announcement of the syndication or issuance of, or engage in discussions concerning the syndication or issuance of, any debt facility or debt security (including, without limitation, the renewal of any thereof), without the prior written consent of SSB (except the renewal of the existing letter of credit issued by Rabobank and other equipment, vendor and similar financing transactions entered into in the ordinary course of business of the Company and its subsidiaries).

You agree that Citibank will be the collateral agent and administrative agent for the Facilities and that SSB will act as sole arranger and book manager for the Facilities and that no additional agents, co-agents or arrangers will be appointed, or other titles conferred, without the consent of SSB and Citibank. You agree that no Lender will receive any compensation of any kind for its participation in the Facilities, except as expressly provided for in the Fee Letter (as defined below) or in Annex I.

Given the duration of our underwriting exposure, you acknowledge that if, in our reasonable opinion, it appears likely due to market conditions that we will be unable to reach our target hold level through our normal syndication process on the basis of the agreed pricing, terms and structure of the Facilities, we reserve the right, after consultation with you, to adjust the pricing, terms and structure of the Facilities, but without reducing the aggregate amount of the Facilities below $250,000,000. In connection with any such adjustment, we will use our best efforts not to cause adverse Canadian withholding tax consequences. Our commitment to lend under this Commitment Letter and the terms of the loan documentation are subject to your agreement to any adjustment made under this paragraph.

Fees
----

In addition to the fees described in Annex I, you agree to pay the fees set forth in that certain letter between you and us of today's date (the "Fee Letter"). The terms of the Fee Letter are an integral part of Citibank's commitment hereunder and constitute part of this Commitment Letter for all purposes hereof. Each of the fees described in the Fee Letter shall be non refundable when paid.

Indemnification
---------------

You agree to indemnify and hold harmless Citibank, SSB, each Lender and each of their affiliates and each of their respective officers, directors, employees, agents, advisors, attorneys and representatives (each, an "Indemnified Party") from and against any and all claims, damages, losses, liabilities and expenses (including, without limitation, reasonable and documented fees and disbursements of counsel), joint or several, that may be incurred by or asserted or awarded against any Indemnified Party, in each case arising out of or in connection with or relating to any investigation, litigation or proceeding or the preparation of any defense with respect thereto, arising out of or in connection with or relating to this Commitment Letter or the loan documentation or the transactions contemplated hereby, or any use made or proposed to be made with the proceeds of the Facilities, whether or not such investigation, litigation or proceeding is brought by the Company or any of its subsidiaries, any of their shareholders or creditors, an Indemnified Party or any other person, or an Indemnified Party is otherwise a party thereto and whether or not the transactions contemplated hereby are consummated, except to the extent such claim, damage, loss, liability or expense is found in a final non-appealable judgment by a court of competent jurisdiction to have resulted from such Indemnified Party's gross negligence or willful misconduct.

You further agree that no Indemnified Party shall have any liability (except for breach by it of the provisions of this Commitment Letter) (whether direct or indirect, in contract, tort or otherwise) to the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any of their shareholders or creditors for or in connection with the transactions contemplated hereby, except to the extent such liability is found in a final non-appealable judgment by a court of competent jurisdiction to have resulted from such Indemnified Party's gross negligence or willful misconduct. In no event, however, shall any Indemnified Party be liable on any theory of liability for any special, indirect, consequential or punitive damages.

Costs and Expenses
------------------

In further consideration of the commitment of Citibank hereunder, and recognizing that in connection herewith Citibank and SSB are incurring substantial costs and expenses (including, without limitation, reasonable and documented fees and disbursements of counsel, fees and disbursements of their syndication agent(s), filing and recording fees and due diligence, syndication (including, without limitation, printing, distribution and bank meetings), transportation, computer, duplication, messenger, appraisal, audit, insurance and consultant costs and expenses), you hereby agree to pay, or reimburse Citibank and SSB on demand for, all such reasonable and documented costs and expenses (whether incurred before or after the date hereof), regardless of whether any of the transactions contemplated hereby is consummated. You also agree to pay all reasonable and documented costs and expenses of Citibank and SSB (including, without limitation, reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel) incurred in connection with the enforcement of any of their respective rights and remedies hereunder.

Confidentiality
---------------

By accepting delivery of this Commitment Letter, you agree that this Commitment Letter is for your confidential use only and that neither its existence nor the terms hereof will be disclosed by you to any person other than your officers, directors, employees, accountants, attorneys and other advisors, and then only on a "need to know" basis in connection with the transactions contemplated hereby and on a confidential basis. Notwithstanding the foregoing, following your acceptance of the provisions hereto as provided below and your return of an executed counterpart of this Commitment Letter to us, you (i) may make public disclosure of the existence, terms and amount of Citibank's commitment hereunder and of Citibank's identity as collateral agent and administrative agent and of SSB's identity as sole arranger and book manager, (ii) may file a copy of this Commitment Letter (other than the Fee Letter) in any public record in which it is required by law to be filed and (iii) may make such other public disclosures of the terms and conditions hereto as you are required by law, in the opinion of your counsel, to make.

Representations and Warranties of the Borrowers
-----------------------------------------------

You represent and warrant that (i) all written information that has been or will hereafter be made available by you which is prepared by you or any of your advisors (including, but not limited to, legal, environmental and financial advisors and consultants) to Citibank, SSB, any Lender or any potential Lender by each of you or any of your respective representatives in connection with the transactions contemplated hereby is and will be complete and correct in all material respects and does not and will not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements contained therein not misleading in light of the circumstances under which such statements were or are made and (ii) all financial projections, if any, that have been or will be prepared by you and made available to Citibank, SSB, any Lender or any potential Lender have been or will be prepared in good faith based upon assumptions that were reasonable as of the date of the preparation of such financial projections. You agree to supplement the information and projections from time to time so that the representations and warranties contained in this paragraph remain correct in all material respects.

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In issuing this commitment, Citibank is relying on the accuracy of the
information furnished to it by or on behalf any of the Borrowers and their affiliates without independent verification thereof.

No Third Party Reliance, Etc.
-----------------------------

The agreements of Citibank hereunder and of any Lender that issues a commitment to provide financing under the Facilities are made solely for the benefit of the Borrowers and may not be relied upon or enforced by any other person. Please note that those matters that are not covered or made clear herein or in Annex I or in the Fee Letter are subject to mutual agreement of the parties. The terms and conditions of this Commitment Letter may be modified only in writing.

You should be aware that Citibank or one or more of its affiliates may be providing financing or other services to parties whose interests may conflict with yours. Be assured, however, that consistent with Citibank's longstanding policy to hold in confidence the affairs of its customers, neither Citibank nor any of its affiliates will furnish confidential information obtained from you to any of its other customers. By the same token, neither Citibank nor any of its affiliates will make available to you confidential information that it obtained or may obtain from any other customer.

Governing Law, Etc.
-------------------

This Commitment Letter shall be governed by, and construed in accordance with, the law of the State of New York. This Commitment Letter sets forth the entire agreement between the parties with respect to the matters addressed herein and supersedes all prior communications, written or oral, with respect hereto, including, without limitation, the Proposal Letter dated November 1, 1999 between you and us. This Commitment Letter may be executed in any number of counterparts, each of which, when so executed, shall be deemed to be an original and all of which, taken together, shall constitute one and the same Commitment Letter. Delivery of an executed counterpart of a signature page to this Commitment Letter by telecopier shall be as effective as delivery of a manually executed counterpart of this Commitment Letter. Your obligations under the paragraphs captioned "Fees", "Indemnification", "Costs and Expenses" and
                      ----    ---------------    ------------------
"Confidentiality" shall survive the expiration or termination of this Commitment
----------------
Letter, unless formal loan documentation is entered into, in which case such paragraphs shall be superseded by the provisions of such formal loan documentation addressing such topics.


            [THE REMAINDER OF THIS PAGE IS INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]

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Waiver of Jury Trial
--------------------

Each party hereto irrevocably waives all right to trial by jury in any action, proceeding or counterclaim (whether based on contract, tort or otherwise) arising out of or relating to the Commitment Letter or the transactions contemplated by the Commitment Letter or the actions of Citibank, SSB or any of their affiliates in the negotiation, performance or enforcement of the Commitment Letter.

Please indicate your acceptance of the provisions hereof by signing the enclosed copy of this letter and the Fee Letter and returning them to Suzanne Crymes, Vice President, c/o Citibank USA, Inc., 399 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10043 (telecopier: (212) 793-1290) at or before 5:30 p.m. (New York City time) on January 12, 2000, the time at which the commitment of Citibank set forth above (if not so accepted prior thereto) will expire. If you elect to deliver the Commitment Letter by telecopier, please arrange for the executed original to follow by next-day courier.

                              Very truly yours,

                              CITIBANK, N.A.

                              By: /s/  Suzanne A. Crymes
                                  ----------------------
                                  Title: Vice President

                              SALOMON SMITH BARNEY INC.

                              By: /s/  Thomas W. NG
                                  -----------------
                                  Title: Director

ACCEPTED this 10th day
of January, 2000

TERRA INDUSTRIES INC.


By:  /s/ Francis G. Meyer
     --------------------
     Title:  Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

TERRA CAPITAL, INC.

By:  /s/ Francis G. Meyer
     --------------------
     Title:  Vice President

TERRA NITROGEN (UK) LIMITED

By:  /s/ Francis G. Meyer
     --------------------
     Title:  Director

TERRA NITROGEN, LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

By:  /s/ Francis G. Meyer
     --------------------
     Title:  Vice President


TERRA INTERNATIONAL (CANADA) INC.

By:  /s/ Francis G. Meyer
     --------------------
     Title:  Vice President

                                    ANNEX I

           US $250,000,000 TERM LOAN AND REVOLVING CREDIT FACILITIES
                        SUMMARY OF TERMS AND CONDITIONS

This Summary of Terms and Conditions outlines certain terms of the Facilities referred to in the Commitment Letter dated January 10, 2000 addressed to Terra Industries Inc., Terra Capital, Inc., Terra Nitrogen UK, Ltd., Terra Nitrogen, Limited Partnership, and Terra International (Canada), Inc., from Citibank, N.A. and Salomon Smith Barney Inc. (the "Commitment Letter"). This Summary of Terms and Conditions is part of and subject to the Commitment Letter. Certain capitalized terms used herein are defined in the Commitment Letter.


Borrowers:                           Terra Capital, Inc. ("Terra Capital"),
                                     Terra Nitrogen UK, Ltd. ("Terra UK"), Terra
                                     Nitrogen, Limited Partnership ("TNLP"), and
                                     Terra International (Canada), Inc. ("Terra
                                     Canada") (collectively the "Borrowers").

Guarantors:                          Terra Industries, Inc. (the "Company") and
                                     Terra Capital Holdings Inc. ("Terra
                                     Holdings") and, with respect to the
                                     following obligations of any Borrower under
                                     the Facilities, the subsidiaries of the
                                     Company indicated below (excluding in each
                                     case (whether or not mentioned below) Terra
                                     Real Estate Corporation and certain other
                                     non-material subsidiaries to be agreed)
                                     (collectively, the "Guarantors"):

                                     For Obligations of Terra Capital: all US
                                     subsidiaries of Terra Capital (other than
                                     Terra Nitrogen Company, L.P. ("TNCLP") and
                                     its subsidiaries).

                                     For Obligations of TNLP: Terra Capital,
                                     TNCLP and all other US subsidiaries of
                                     Terra Capital.

                                     For Obligations of Terra UK: Terra
                                     Capital, all US subsidiaries of Terra
                                     Capital (other than TNCLP and its
                                     subsidiaries) and Terra Canada.

                                     For Obligations of Terra Canada: Terra
                                     Capital, all US subsidiaries of Terra
                                     Capital (other than TNCLP and its
                                     subsidiaries) and Terra UK.

Lenders:                             Citibank, N.A. or one of its affiliates
                                     ("Citibank") and other financial
                                     institutions or entities acceptable to the
                                     Arranger and reasonably acceptable to the
                                     Borrowers (the "Lenders"). Citibank may
                                     assign or reallocate (before and after the
                                     Closing Date (as defined below)) all or any
                                     part of the Facilities to one or more other
                                     financial institutions or other entities
                                     acceptable to the Arranger and reasonably
                                     acceptable to the Borrower and, upon such
                                     assignment or reallocation, such financial
                                     institutions or other entities shall become
                                     Lenders for all purposes under the
                                     Facilities. Upon such assignment or
                                     reallocation of commitments, Citibank shall
                                     be relieved of all further liability with
                                     respect to the portions of the

                                     Facilities so assigned or reallocated.

Administrative agent:                Citibank (the "Administrative Agent").

Arranger and Book Manager:           Salomon Smith Barney Inc. (the "Arranger").

Letter of Credit Issuers:            Citibank and other Lenders that are letter
                                     of credit issuers under the Terra Capital
                                     Credit Agreement (or affiliates of such
                                     Lenders) acceptable to the Administrative
                                     Agent (the "Issuers").

The Facilities:                      US $250,000,000 in the aggregate of loans
                                     (the "Loans") and other financial
                                     accommodations allocated as follows:

                                     Term Loan Facility: An amendment and
                                     restatement of the existing term loan made
                                     to Terra Canada pursuant to the Terra
                                     Canada Credit Agreement in the original
                                     principal amount of US $125,000,000, the
                                     outstanding principal balance of which is
                                     US $109,375,000 ("Canadian Term Loan"),
                                     payable in annual installments aggregating
                                     1% of the outstanding principal amount of
                                     the Canadian Term Loan on the Closing Date.
                                     The final maturity date of the Canadian
                                     Term Loan will be January 2, 2003.

                                     Revolving Credit Facility: A three-year
                                     non-amortizing revolving credit facility
                                     made available to Terra Capital, Terra UK
                                     and TNLP in a principal amount of up to US
                                     $140,625,000 (the "Revolving Credit
                                     Facility"), subject to Availability (as
                                     defined below), during the period from the
                                     Closing Date through January 2, 2003 (the
                                     "Revolving Credit Termination Date"). All
                                     Loans outstanding under the Revolving
                                     Credit Facility ("Revolving Loans") shall
                                     become due and payable on the Revolving
                                     Credit Termination Date.

                                     Letters of Credit Sub-Facility: Up to the
                                     lesser of the undrawn portion of the
                                     Revolving Credit Facility and US
                                     $35,000,000, subject to Availability, will
                                     be available for the issuance of letters of
                                     credit, by the Issuers for the account of
                                     the Borrowers and their loan party
                                     subsidiaries ("Letters of Credit"). No
                                     Letter of Credit shall have a term of more
                                     than one year.

                                     Swing Loans Sub-facility: Up to
                                     US $15,000,000 of the Revolving Credit
                                     Facility, subject to Availability, will be
                                     available to the Borrowers for
                                     discretionary swing loans from the
                                     Administrative Agent.

Closing Date:                        On or before February 29, 2000.

Availability:                        Availability under the Revolving Credit
                                     Facility with respect to any Borrower will
                                     be subject to (i) such availability
                                     reserves applicable to such Borrower as the
                                     Administrative Agent, in its sole
                                     discretion, deems appropriate (without
                                     double counting in the calculation of
                                     Borrower Base (as defined below) and (ii)
                                     the following Borrowing Base limitations
                                     applicable to such Borrower:

                                     For Terra Capital: the aggregate Borrowing
                                     Base of Terra Capital's domestic operating
                                     subsidiaries (Terra International
                                     (Oklahoma) Inc., Port Neal Corporation,
                                     Beaumont Methanol, Limited Partnership and
                                     Beaumont Ammonia Inc.) minus that portion
                                     of such aggregate Borrowing Base required
                                     to support the Canadian Term Loan.

                                     FOR TNLP: the Borrowing Base of TNLP .

                                     For Terra UK: the Borrowing Base of Terra
                                     UK minus that portion of Terra UK's
                                     Borrowing Base required to support the
                                     Canadian Term Loan.

                                     Availability under the Revolving Credit
                                     Facility for Terra Capital and Terra UK
                                     will be reduced by that portion of the
                                     Canadian Term Loan not supported by the
                                     Borrowing Base of Terra Canada.

                                     "Borrowing Base" means, with respect to any
                                     Borrower: (i) the sum of (A) up to 85% of
                                     eligible trade accounts receivable of such
                                     Borrower, (B) a range of advance rates
                                     varying on a seasonal basis of up to 55 -
                                     85% of eligible inventory of such Borrower
                                     (at the lower of cost on a FIFO basis and
                                     market), (C) up to 10% of eligible spare
                                     parts inventory of such Borrower, (D) up to
                                     the lesser of US $50 million and 25% of the
                                     Liquidation in Place Value (as defined in
                                     the loan documentation) of eligible
                                     equipment and real estate (the "Fixed
                                     Assets") of such Borrower and (E) 100% of
                                     cash maintained by such Borrower in a cash
                                     collateral account at Citibank in the name
                                     of the Administrative Agent, in each case
                                     less such eligibility reserves as the
                                     Administrative Agent, in its sole
                                     discretion, deems appropriate (including,
                                     without limitation, in respect of (a)
                                     preferential debts which under applicable
                                     law would be prior to claims of the Lenders
                                     and (b) assets which are subject to title
                                     retention claims of suppliers).

                                     Availability against Fixed Assets will be
                                     reduced on a quarterly basis by US
                                     $1,250,000 per quarter. The Administrative
                                     Agent shall be entitled to request updated
                                     Fixed Asset appraisals at any time. Fixed
                                     Asset Availability will be recalculated
                                     periodically based upon such updated
                                     appraisals and will be reduced upon a sale
                                     or other disposition of Fixed Assets
                                     (including, without limitation, a Permitted
                                     Sale Leaseback Transaction (as defined
                                     below)).

Eligibility:                         Eligibility of trade accounts receivable
                                     and inventory for purposes of computing
                                     Availability will be determined by the
                                     Administrative Agent in accordance with its
                                     customary criteria.

Purpose:                             No additional proceeds of the Canadian Term
                                     Loan will be made available on the Closing
                                     Date.

                                     Proceeds of the Revolving Credit Facility
                                     shall be used solely by Terra Capital,
                                     Terra UK and TNLP (i) to refinance existing
                                     debt of Terra Capital and its subsidiaries
                                     under the Terra Capital Credit

                                     Agreement, (ii) to pay related transaction
                                     costs, fees and expenses, (iii) to provide
                                     working capital from time to time for Terra
                                     Capital, the other Borrowers and their
                                     subsidiaries and (iv) for other general
                                     corporate purposes.

Interest:                            Loans will bear interest, at the option of
                                     the Borrowers, at one of the following
                                     rates:

                                     (i) the Applicable Margin (as defined
                                     below) plus Citibank's fluctuating
                                     Alternate Base Rate III (the "Base Rate"),
                                     payable monthly in arrears; or

                                     (ii) the Applicable Margin plus the current
                                     LIBO rate as quoted by Citibank, adjusted
                                     for reserve requirements, if any, and
                                     subject to customary change of circumstance
                                     provisions, for interest periods of one,
                                     two, three or six months (the "LIBO Rate"),
                                     payable at the end of the relevant interest
                                     period, but in any event at least
                                     quarterly.

                                     "Applicable Margin" means (i) for an
                                     initial period from the Closing Date
                                     through the delivery of the December 2000
                                     financial statements of the Company and its
                                     subsidiaries:

                                     (A) in the case of Revolving Loans, 1.75%
                                     per annum, in the case of Base Rate Loans,
                                     and 2.75% per annum, in the case of LIBO
                                     Rate Loans;

                                     (B) in the case of the Term Loan, 2.25% per
                                     annum, in the case of Base Rate Loans, and
                                     3.25% per annum, in the case of LIBO Rate
                                     Loans; and

                                     (ii) thereafter, such higher or lower rates
                                     per annum to be determined and subject to
                                     adjustment from time to time based on the
                                     pricing grid attached hereto as Exhibit A.

                                     Interest shall be calculated on the basis
                                     of the actual number of days elapsed in a
                                     360-day year. No more than seven (7)
                                     separate LIBO Rate interest periods may be
                                     in effect at any one time under the
                                     Revolving Credit Facility, and no more than
                                     three (3) separate LIBO Rate interest
                                     periods may be in effect at any one time
                                     under the Canadian Term Loan.

Default interest:                    During the continuance of an event of
                                     default (as defined in the loan
                                     documentation), Loans will bear interest at
                                     an additional 2.0% per annum.

Unused commitment fee:               From and after the Closing Date, a non-
                                     refundable unused commitment fee of 0.50%
                                     per annum will accrue as a percentage of
                                     the daily average unused portion of the
                                     Revolving Credit Facility (whether or not
                                     then available), payable monthly in arrears
                                     and on the Revolving Credit Termination
                                     Date.

Letter of Credit Fees:               A percentage per annum equal to the
                                     Applicable Margin for LIBO Rate Loans to
                                     the Lenders and an additional 0.50% per
                                     annum to the applicable Issuer will accrue
                                     on the outstanding undrawn amount of any
                                     Letter of Credit, payable monthly in
                                     arrears and computed on a 360-day basis. In
                                     addition, the Borrowers will pay to the
                                     applicable Issuer standard opening,
                                     amendment, presentation, wire and other
                                     administration charges applicable to each
                                     Letter of Credit.

                                     During the continuance of an event of
                                     default (as defined in the loan
                                     documentation), the Letter of Credit Fees
                                     will increase by an additional 2.0% per
                                     annum.

Optional Prepayments and             Terra Canada may prepay in full or in part,
Commitment Reductions:               without premium or penalty, the Term Loan;
                                     provided that each such partial prepayment
                                     shall be in such minimum amounts and with
                                     advance notification in a manner to be set
                                     forth in the loan documents. Such
                                     prepayments shall be applied to the
                                     remaining installments of the Term Loan in
                                     the inverse order of their maturity.

                                     The Borrowers under the Revolving Credit
                                     Facility may repay the Revolving Loans at
                                     any time without premium or penalty (other
                                     than breakage costs, if applicable) and may
                                     reduce the commitments under the Revolving
                                     Credit Facility in such minimum amounts and
                                     with advance notification in a manner to be
                                     set forth in the loan documents and any
                                     mandatory prepayment resulting from such
                                     reduction shall have been made.

Mandatory Prepayments and            Mandatory prepayments of the Facilities
Commitment Reductions:               shall be required in an amount equal to (i)
                                     100% of the net cash proceeds from any
                                     issuance or incurrence of balance sheet
                                     debt, subject to customary exceptions to be
                                     agreed upon (including a Permitted Sale
                                     Leaseback Transaction), (ii) a percentage
                                     to be determined of the net cash proceeds
                                     from equity issuances and capital
                                     contributions, subject to customary
                                     exceptions to be agreed upon, (iii) 100% of
                                     the net sale proceeds from asset sales,
                                     subject to customary exceptions to be
                                     agreed upon and (iv) 100% of insurance and
                                     condemnation proceeds, with certain
                                     reinvestment rights to be agreed upon, in
                                     each case received by any of the Borrowers
                                     or any Guarantor.

                                     Mandatory prepayments pursuant to the
                                     preceding paragraph will be applied first
                                     to repay Loans outstanding of the
                                     applicable Borrower under the Canadian Term
                                     Loan or the Revolving Credit Facility and
                                     then to repay reimbursement obligations
                                     under outstanding Letters of Credit, if
                                     any, until paid in full, and thereafter, to
                                     collateralize undrawn Letter of Credit
                                     obligations and obligations in respect of
                                     any guaranty of the Facilities. Any
                                     mandatory repayment required to be applied
                                     to the Revolving Facility pursuant to the
                                     preceding paragraph will result in a
                                     corresponding permanent reduction of the
                                     commitments thereunder (other than any such
                                     prepayment of net cash proceeds from a
                                     Permitted Sale Leaseback Transaction). For
                                     purposes of this

                                     Commitment Letter, "Permitted Sale
                                     Leaseback Transaction" shall mean a sale
                                     leaseback of the Company's US wholly-owned
                                     nitrogen facilities on terms and conditions
                                     satisfactory to the Administrative Agent.

                                     Any amount collected in the concentration
                                     account of Terra Capital and TNLP under the
                                     control of the Administrative Agent will be
                                     applied to the repayment of Revolving Loans
                                     of such Borrower (or held as cash
                                     collateral). After the occurrence of an
                                     event of default under the loan
                                     documentation, any amount collected in a
                                     concentration account of Terra UK or Terra
                                     Canada will be converted to US dollars (at
                                     such Borrower's expense) and applied to the
                                     repayment of Loans of such Borrower (or
                                     held as cash collateral).

                                     Terra Capital, Terra UK and TNLP shall
                                     repay the outstanding Revolving Loans (and
                                     cash collateralize outstanding Letters of
                                     Credit) to the extent that such Loans and
                                     Letters of Credit of such Borrower exceed
                                     the lesser of the maximum amount of the
                                     Revolving Credit Facility and the
                                     Availability for such Borrower. In
                                     addition, Terra Canada shall repay the
                                     Canadian Term Loan to the extent that the
                                     Borrowing Base of Terra Canada and the
                                     unutilized Borrowing Base (under the
                                     Revolving Credit Facility) of Terra Capital
                                     and Terra UK is less than the principal
                                     amount of the Canadian Term Loan.

Security:                            All obligations of each Borrower and
                                     Guarantor under the Facilities (including,
                                     without limitation, any exposure of a
                                     Lender in respect of cash management or
                                     hedging transactions incurred on behalf of
                                     such Borrower or Guarantor) will be secured
                                     by (i) a first priority perfected pledge of
                                     (x) all notes owned by such Borrower or
                                     Guarantor and (y) all capital stock owned
                                     by such Borrower or Guarantor (but not more
                                     than 65% of the capital stock of foreign
                                     subsidiaries to the extent the pledge of
                                     such stock would secure US borrowings) and
                                     (ii) a first priority perfected security
                                     interest in substantially all other assets
                                     owned by such Borrower or Guarantor,
                                     including, without limitation, accounts,
                                     inventory, equipment, investment property,
                                     instruments, chattel paper, real estate,
                                     leasehold interests, contracts, patents,
                                     copyrights, trademarks and other general
                                     intangibles, subject to customary
                                     exceptions for transactions of this type.
                                     We will use reasonable efforts to minimize
                                     the impact of "deemed dividend" issues
                                     under the Internal Revenue Code.

Conditions Precedent to the          The loan documentation will contain
Closing:                             conditions to the closing of the Facilities
                                     customarily found in the Administrative
                                     Agent's loan agreements for similar
                                     financings and other conditions deemed by
                                     the Administrative Agent to be appropriate
                                     to the specific transaction and in any
                                     event including without limitation:

                                     .  All documentation relating to the
                                        Facilities shall be in form and
                                        substance satisfactory to each of the
                                        Borrowers and its counsel
                                        and each Lender and its counsel.

                                     .  All fees and expenses (including
                                        reasonable fees and expenses of counsel)
                                        required to be paid to the
                                        Administrative Agent and to the
                                        Arranger, for itself and for the benefit
                                        of the Lenders, on or before the Closing
                                        Date shall have been paid.

                                     .  The Lenders shall have received and be
                                        satisfied with (i) audited financial
                                        statements of the Company and its
                                        subsidiaries for the fiscal period
                                        ending December 31, 1998 by Deloitte &
                                        Touche LLP which statements shall be
                                        unqualified, (ii) interim unaudited
                                        monthly and quarterly financial
                                        statements of the Company and its
                                        subsidiaries through the fiscal month
                                        ending September 30, 1999 and (iii)
                                        business plan for the Company and its
                                        subsidiaries which shall include a
                                        financial forecast on a monthly basis
                                        for the year 2000, on an annual basis
                                        thereafter through 2002, prepared by the
                                        Company's management.

                                     .  The Lenders shall be satisfied in their
                                        reasonable judgment that (i) the Company
                                        and its subsidiaries' existing debts and
                                        liens do not exceed an amount agreed
                                        upon prior to the Closing Date, and
                                        there shall not occur as a result of the
                                        funding of the Facilities a default (or
                                        any event which with the giving of
                                        notice or lapse of time or both would be
                                        a default) under any of the Company's or
                                        its subsidiaries' debt instruments and
                                        other material agreements, including,
                                        without limitation, the Senior Note
                                        Indenture dated as of October 15, 1993
                                        and the Senior Note Indenture dated as
                                        of June 22, 1995 (the "Indentures").

                                     .  The Lenders shall be satisfied in their
                                        reasonable judgment that the Company and
                                        its subsidiaries will be able to meet
                                        their obligations under all employee and
                                        retiree welfare plans of the Company and
                                        its subsidiaries, that such employee
                                        benefit plans are, in all material
                                        respects, funded in accordance with the
                                        minimum statutory requirements, that no
                                        material "reportable event" (as defined
                                        in ERISA, but excluding events for which
                                        reporting has been waived) has occurred
                                        as to any such employee benefit plan and
                                        that no termination of, or withdrawal
                                        from, any such employee benefit plan has
                                        occurred or is contemplated that could
                                        result in a material liability. The
                                        Administrative Agent shall have reviewed
                                        and be satisfied with all employee
                                        benefit plans of the Company and its
                                        subsidiaries.

                                     .  The Borrowers shall have delivered
                                        letters, in form and substance
                                        satisfactory to the Lenders, attesting
                                        to the solvency of each of the Borrowers
                                        and each of the Guarantors after giving
                                        effect to the transactions contemplated
                                        hereby, from the Company's chief
                                        financial officer.

                                     .  The Lenders shall have received
                                        satisfactory opinions of independent
                                        counsel to the Borrowers (including New
                                        York, Canadian and English counsel and
                                        other U.S. local counsel to be
                                        determined), addressing such matters as
                                        the Lenders shall reasonably request,
                                        including, without limitation, the
                                        enforceability of all loan
                                        documentation, no adverse Canadian
                                        withholding tax consequences, compliance
                                        with all laws and regulations (including
                                        Regulations T, U and X of the Board of
                                        Governors of the Federal Reserve
                                        System), the perfection of all security
                                        interests purported to be granted and no
                                        conflicts with material agreements,
                                        including, without limitation, the
                                        Indentures.

                                     .  There shall have occurred no material
                                        adverse change in (i) the business,
                                        condition (financial or otherwise),
                                        operations, performance, properties or
                                        prospects of any Borrower, or the
                                        Company and its subsidiaries taken as a
                                        whole, since December 31, 1998, (ii) the
                                        ability of any Borrower or Guarantor to
                                        perform its obligations under the loan
                                        documentation or (iii) the ability of
                                        the Administrative Agent and the Lenders
                                        to enforce the loan documentation (any
                                        of the foregoing being a "Pre-Closing
                                        Material Adverse Change").

                                     .  Except as disclosed to the
                                        Administrative Agent prior to the date
                                        of the Commitment Letter, there shall
                                        exist no action, suit, investigation,
                                        litigation or proceeding pending or
                                        threatened in any court or before any
                                        arbitrator or governmental
                                        instrumentality that (i) could
                                        reasonably be expected to result in a
                                        Pre-Closing Material Adverse Change or,
                                        except as disclosed, if adversely
                                        determined, could reasonably be expected
                                        to result in a Pre-Closing Material
                                        Adverse Change or (ii) restrains,
                                        prevents or imposes or can reasonably be
                                        expected to impose materially adverse
                                        conditions upon the Facilities or the
                                        transactions contemplated thereby.

                                     .  All necessary governmental and third
                                        party consents and approvals necessary
                                        in connection with the Facilities and
                                        the transactions contemplated thereby
                                        shall have been obtained (without the
                                        imposition of any conditions that are
                                        not reasonably acceptable to the
                                        Lenders) and shall remain in effect; and
                                        no law or regulation shall be applicable
                                        in the reasonable judgment of the
                                        Lenders that restrains, prevents or
                                        imposes materially adverse conditions
                                        upon the Facilities or the transactions
                                        contemplated thereby.

                                     .  The Lenders shall have completed a due
                                        diligence investigation of the Company
                                        and its subsidiaries in scope, and with
                                        results, reasonably satisfactory to the
                                        Lenders and the Administrative Agent
                                        shall have been given such access to the
                                        management, records, books of account,
                                        contracts, and properties of the

                                        Company and its subsidiaries and shall
                                        have received such financial, business,
                                        legal and other information regarding
                                        the Company and its subsidiaries as they
                                        shall have requested.

                                     .  The Lenders shall have a valid and
                                        perfected first priority lien on and
                                        security interest in the collateral
                                        referred to above under "Security"; all
                                        filings, recordations and searches
                                        necessary or desirable in connection
                                        with such liens and security interests
                                        shall have been duly made; and all
                                        filing and recording fees and taxes
                                        shall have been duly paid.

                                     .  The Administrative Agent and Lenders
                                        shall be satisfied with the amount,
                                        types and terms and conditions of all
                                        insurance and bonding maintained by the
                                        Company and its subsidiaries, and the
                                        Lenders shall have received endorsements
                                        naming the Administrative Agent, on
                                        behalf of the Lenders, as an additional
                                        insured and loss payee under all
                                        insurance policies to be maintained with
                                        respect to the properties of the Company
                                        and its subsidiaries forming part of the
                                        Lenders' collateral.

                                     .  There shall not have occurred any change
                                        in loan syndication, financial or
                                        capital market conditions generally
                                        that, in the Arranger's reasonable
                                        judgment, would materially impair
                                        syndication of the Facilities.

                                     .  The Lenders shall have received such
                                        environmental review reports as the
                                        Lenders may request, in form and
                                        substance satisfactory to them, as to
                                        any environmental hazards or liabilities
                                        to which the Company and its
                                        subsidiaries may be subject, and the
                                        Lenders shall be satisfied with the
                                        amount and nature of any such hazards or
                                        liabilities and with the Company's plans
                                        with respect thereto.

                                     .  The Terra Capital Credit Agreement and
                                        all liens granted thereunder shall have
                                        been terminated in form and substance
                                        satisfactory to the Administrative
                                        Agent.

Conditions Precedent to each         On the funding date of each Revolving Loan
Revolving Loan:                      and each Swing Loan (and on the date of
                                     issuance of any Letter of Credit) there
                                     shall exist no default under the loan
                                     documentation, the representations and
                                     warranties of each of the Borrowers and
                                     each of the Guarantors therein shall be
                                     true and correct immediately prior to and
                                     after giving effect to the requested
                                     funding, a notice of borrowing shall be
                                     received by the Administrative Agent, no
                                     Borrowing Base deficiency shall have
                                     occurred, and the making of such Revolving
                                     Loan (or the issuance of such Letter of
                                     Credit) shall not violate any requirement
                                     of law and shall not be enjoined,
                                     temporarily, preliminarily or permanently.

Representations and Warranties:      The loan documentation will contain
                                     representations and warranties customarily
                                     found in the Administrative Agent's loan
                                     agreements
                                     for similar financings and other
                                     representations and warranties reasonably
                                     deemed by the Administrative Agent
                                     appropriate to the specific transaction
                                     (which will be applicable to the Company
                                     and its subsidiaries), including, without
                                     limitation with respect to: valid
                                     existence, requisite power, due
                                     authorization, no conflict with agreements
                                     or applicable law, enforceability of loan
                                     documentation, accuracy in all material
                                     respects of financial statements and all
                                     other information provided, compliance with
                                     law in all material respects, absence of
                                     (i) (up to and including the Closing Date)
                                     a Pre-Closing Material Adverse Change and
                                     (ii) (following the Closing Date) a Post-
                                     Closing Material Adverse Change (as defined
                                     below), no default under the loan
                                     documentation, absence of material
                                     litigation, ownership of properties and
                                     necessary rights to intellectual property,
                                     no burdensome restrictions, inapplicability
                                     of Investment Company Act or Public Utility
                                     Holding Company Act and Y2K compliance.

                                     "Post-Closing Material Adverse Change"
                                     means the occurrence of an event which has
                                     resulted in or could reasonably be expected
                                     to result in a material adverse change in
                                     any of (i) the business, condition
                                     (financial or otherwise), operations,
                                     performance or properties of any Borrower,
                                     or the Company and its subsidiaries taken
                                     as a whole, since December 31, 1998, (ii)
                                     the ability of any Borrower or Guarantor to
                                     perform its obligations under the loan
                                     documentation or (iii) the ability of the
                                     Administrative Agent and the Lenders to
                                     enforce the loan documentation.

Affirmative, Negative and            The loan documentation will contain
Financial Covenants:                 affirmative, negative and financial
                                     covenants customarily found in the
                                     Administrative Agent's loan agreements for
                                     similar financings and other covenants
                                     reasonably deemed by the Administrative
                                     Agent appropriate to the specific
                                     transaction (which will be applicable to
                                     the Company and its subsidiaries),
                                     including, without limitation, the
                                     following (but in each case fashioned so as
                                     not to conflict with the provisions of the
                                     Indentures):

                                     .  Comply in all material respects with
                                        laws (including, without limitation,
                                        ERISA and environmental laws); pay
                                        taxes; maintain all necessary licenses
                                        and permits and trade names trademarks,
                                        patents and other intellectual property;
                                        preserve corporate existence; maintain
                                        appropriate and adequate insurance;
                                        permit inspection of properties, books
                                        and records; allow the Administrative
                                        Agent at any time to communicate
                                        directly with the independent certified
                                        public accountants of the Company and
                                        its subsidiaries; and provide all
                                        information concerning the business of
                                        the Company and its subsidiaries and all
                                        financial information as the
                                        Administrative Agent may reasonably
                                        require (including, but not limited to,
                                        periodic Fixed Asset appraisals).

                                     .  Perform obligations under material
                                        leases, related documents,
                                        material contracts and other material
                                        agreements.

                                     .  Conduct all transactions with affiliates
                                        on terms reasonable equivalent to those
                                        obtainable in arm's length transactions,
                                        including, without limitation,
                                        restrictions on management fees to
                                        affiliates.

                                     .  Maintain with the Administrative Agent
                                        main cash concentration accounts for the
                                        Borrowers, and with the Administrative
                                        Agent or other banks acceptable to the
                                        Administrative Agent blocked accounts
                                        for the Borrowers into which all
                                        proceeds of collateral are paid and
                                        which are swept daily, in the case of a
                                        single account of Terra Capital, TNLP
                                        (and in respect of its US dollar
                                        denominated receivables) Terra Canada
                                        and which are subject to blockage upon
                                        the occurrence of an event of default or
                                        a reduction in total Availability (to an
                                        amount to be determined), in the case of
                                        Terra UK and Terra Canada (and with
                                        respect to accounts at other banks
                                        blocked account agreements in form and
                                        substance acceptable to the
                                        Administrative Agent have been
                                        executed).

                                     .  Maintain existing interest rate hedging
                                        arrangements in respect of interest rate
                                        obligations arising under the existing
                                        Canadian Term Loan.

                                     .  Maintain natural gas hedging
                                        arrangements in respect of the Company's
                                        and its subsidiaries' natural gas
                                        requirements consistent with past
                                        practices.

                                     .  Financial covenants as set forth on
                                        Exhibit B attached hereto, and
                                        including, but not limited to (A)
                                        minimum cash flow (minimum EBITDA minus,
                                        to the extent not reflected in the
                                        calculation of EBITDA, the sum of (i)
                                        minority interest payments and (ii) net
                                        cash used for obligations of
                                        discontinued operations) and (B) maximum
                                        capital expenditures (including net cash
                                        used to purchase the ownership units of
                                        TNCLP to the extent permitted under the
                                        loan documentation), subject to
                                        customary exceptions to be agreed.

                                     .  Except in connection with a Permitted
                                        Sale Leaseback Transaction, not incur or
                                        assume any additional debt, give any
                                        guaranties, create any liens, charges or
                                        encumbrances or incur additional lease
                                        obligations, in each case beyond agreed
                                        upon limits; not merge or consolidate
                                        with any other person, or change the
                                        nature of business or corporate
                                        structure or create new subsidiaries
                                        beyond agreed upon limits or amend its
                                        charter or by-laws except within agreed
                                        parameters; not sell, lease or otherwise
                                        dispose of assets (other than a
                                        Permitted Sale Leaseback Transaction)
                                        beyond agreed upon limits; not give a
                                        negative pledge on any assets in favor
                                        of any person other than
                                        the Administrative Agent and the Lenders
                                        (subject to customary exceptions to be
                                        agreed); and not permit to exist any
                                        consensual encumbrance on the ability of
                                        any subsidiary to pay dividends or other
                                        distributions to the Borrowers (subject
                                        to customary exceptions to be agreed).

                                     .  Not prepay, redeem, purchase, defease,
                                        exchange or repurchase any debt or amend
                                        or modify any of the terms of any such
                                        debt or other similar agreements entered
                                        into by the Company or its subsidiaries,
                                        subject to certain exceptions to be
                                        agreed.

                                     .  Not make any loans, advances, capital
                                        contributions or acquisitions, form any
                                        joint ventures or partnerships or make
                                        any other investments in subsidiaries or
                                        any other person (including the
                                        Company), subject to agreed upon
                                        exceptions and loan repurchase
                                        requirements. Intercompany loans from
                                        Terra Capital and its US subsidiaries to
                                        foreign subsidiaries will be limited to
                                        loans for normal operating purposes
                                        only. Cash held at the Company and Terra
                                        Holdings will be limited to amounts to
                                        be determined.

                                     .  Not have cash outside of the US in
                                        excess of US $20,000,000 for more than
                                        five business days unless intercompany
                                        loans made after the Closing Date by
                                        Terra Capital and its US subsidiaries to
                                        foreign subsidiaries have been repaid in
                                        full.

                                     .  Not make or commit to make any payments
                                        in respect of warrants, options,
                                        repurchase of stock, dividends or any
                                        other distributions to shareholders,
                                        subject to agreed upon exceptions and
                                        loan repurchase requirements; provided,
                                        however, so long as no default or event
                                        of default has occurred and is
                                        continuing, (i) dividends not exceeding
                                        US $5,000,000 per annum will be allowed
                                        to fund discontinued operations, (ii)
                                        expenditures not exceeding US $5,000,000
                                        will be allowed to repurchase up to
                                        500,000 ownership units of TNCLP and
                                        (iii) dividends to fund certain
                                        operating expenses, debt service
                                        (including under the Indentures) and
                                        taxes within the limitations to be
                                        agreed.

                                     .  Not permit any change in ownership or
                                        control of Terra Holdings or any of its
                                        subsidiaries or any change in accounting
                                        treatment or reporting practices, except
                                        as required by GAAP and as permitted by
                                        the loan documentation.

                                     .  Not amend the Indentures and other
                                        material agreements, subject to certain
                                        exceptions to be agreed.

Financial Reporting                  The Borrowers shall provide: (i) monthly
Requirements:                        consolidated and consolidating financial
                                     statements of the Company and its
                                     subsidiaries, including balance sheet,
                                     income statement and cash flow statement
                                     within 30 days of month-end, certified by
                                     the

                                     Company's chief financial officer (setting
                                     forth in comparative form the figures for
                                     the corresponding period in the prior year
                                     and the figures contained in the
                                     projections for the current period); (ii)
                                     quarterly consolidated and consolidating
                                     financial statements of the Company and its
                                     subsidiaries within 45 days of quarter-end,
                                     certified by the Company's chief financial
                                     officer (setting forth in comparative form
                                     the figures for the corresponding period in
                                     the prior year and the figures contained in
                                     the projections for the current period);
                                     (iii) annual audited consolidated and
                                     consolidating financial statements of the
                                     Company and its subsidiaries within 90 days
                                     of year-end, certified with respect to such
                                     consolidated statements by independent
                                     certified public accountants acceptable to
                                     the Administrative Agent; (iv) copies of
                                     all reports on Form 10-K, 10-Q or 8-K filed
                                     with the Securities and Exchange
                                     Commission; (v) projections for the balance
                                     of the term of the Facilities provided
                                     annually and annual business and financial
                                     plans provided in each case within 30 days
                                     after fiscal year-end, with the business
                                     and financial plans being updated
                                     quarterly; and (vi) schedules of all Loans
                                     and all intercompany loans and advances
                                     provided quarterly, or more frequently as
                                     requested by the Administrative Agent.

Other Reporting Requirements:        The loan documentation will contain other
                                     reporting requirements customarily found in
                                     the Administrative Agent's loan documents
                                     for similar financings and other reporting
                                     requirements deemed by the Administrative
                                     Agent appropriate to the specific
                                     transaction, including, without limitation,
                                     with respect to litigation, contingent
                                     liabilities, ERISA or environmental events
                                     and borrowing base certificates and
                                     appropriate supporting data for such
                                     borrowing base certificates at such times
                                     and in form and substance as is
                                     satisfactory to the Administrative Agent.

Events of Default:                   The loan documentation will contain events
                                     of default customarily found in the
                                     Administrative Agent's loan agreements for
                                     similar financings and other events of
                                     default reasonably deemed by the
                                     Administrative Agent appropriate to the
                                     specific transaction (which will be
                                     applicable to the Company and its
                                     subsidiaries), including, without
                                     limitation (and subject in certain cases to
                                     cure periods and threshold amounts to be
                                     agreed), failure to make payments when due,
                                     defaults under other indebtedness,
                                     noncompliance with covenants, breaches of
                                     representations and warranties, bankruptcy
                                     events, failure to satisfy or stay
                                     execution of judgments in excess of
                                     specified amounts, the existence (which
                                     constitutes a Post-Closing Material Adverse
                                     Change) of certain employee benefit or
                                     environmental liabilities or non-monetary
                                     judgments, impairment of loan documentation
                                     or security and change of ownership or
                                     control (to be defined). Each of the
                                     Revolving Credit Facility and the Canadian
                                     Term Loan will be cross-defaulted.

Indemnification:                     The Borrowers shall jointly and severally
                                     indemnify and hold harmless the
                                     Administrative Agent, the Arranger, each
                                     Lender and each of their affiliates and
                                     each of the respective officers, directors,
                                     employees, agents, advisors, attorneys and
                                     representatives of each (each, an
                                     "Indemnified Party") from and against any
                                     and all claims, damages, losses,
                                     liabilities and expenses (including,
                                     without limitation, reasonable and
                                     documented fees and disbursements of
                                     counsel), joint or several, that may be
                                     incurred by or asserted or awarded against
                                     any Indemnified Party, in each case arising
                                     out of or in connection with or relating to
                                     any investigation, litigation or proceeding
                                     or the preparation of any defense with
                                     respect thereto, arising out of or in
                                     connection with or relating to the
                                     Facilities, the loan documentation or the
                                     transactions contemplated thereby, or any
                                     use made or proposed to be made with the
                                     proceeds of the Facilities, whether or not
                                     such investigation, litigation or
                                     proceeding is brought by the Company or any
                                     of its subsidiaries, any of their
                                     shareholders or creditors, an Indemnified
                                     Party or any other person, or an
                                     Indemnified Party is otherwise a party
                                     thereto and whether or not the transactions
                                     contemplated hereby are consummated, except
                                     to the extent such claim, damage, loss,
                                     liability or expense is found in a final
                                     non-appealable judgment by a court of
                                     competent jurisdiction to have resulted
                                     from such Indemnified Party's gross
                                     negligence or willful misconduct. No
                                     Indemnified Party shall have any liability
                                     (except for breach by it of the loan
                                     documentation) (whether direct or indirect,
                                     in contract, tort or otherwise) to the
                                     Company or any of its subsidiaries or any
                                     of their shareholders or creditors for or
                                     in connection with the transactions
                                     contemplated hereby, except to the extent
                                     such liability is found in a final non-
                                     appealable judgment by a court of competent
                                     jurisdiction to have resulted from such
                                     Indemnified Party's gross negligence or
                                     willful misconduct. In no event, however,
                                     shall any Indemnified Party be liable on
                                     any theory of liability for any special,
                                     indirect, consequential or punitive
                                     damages.

Expenses:                            Each of the Borrowers and each of the
                                     Guarantors shall jointly and severally pay
                                     all (i) reasonable and documented costs and
                                     expenses of the Administrative Agent and
                                     Arranger (including all reasonable fees,
                                     expenses and disbursements of outside
                                     counsel) in connection with the
                                     preparation, execution and delivery of the
                                     loan documentation and the funding of all
                                     loans under the Facilities, including,
                                     without limitation, all due diligence,
                                     syndication (including printing,
                                     distribution and bank meeting),
                                     transportation, computer, duplication,
                                     messenger, audit, insurance, appraisal and
                                     consultant costs and expenses, and all
                                     search, filing and recording fees, incurred
                                     or sustained by the Administrative Agent or
                                     the Arranger in connection with the
                                     Facilities, the loan documentation or the
                                     transactions contemplated thereby, the
                                     administration of the Facilities (including
                                     the cost of any non-income tax, duty or
                                     other similar assessment or reserve,
                                     special deposit or charge) and any
                                     amendment or waiver of any provision of the
                                     loan documentation and (ii) costs and
                                     expenses of the Lenders (including fees,
                                     expenses and disbursements of counsel) in
                                     connection with the enforcement of any of
                                     their rights and remedies under the loan
                                     documentation.

Assignments and Participations:      Assignments must be in a minimum amount of
                                     US $5 million, other
                                     than in the case of an assignment to a
                                     Lender (or an affiliate of a Lender) or an
                                     assignment of a Lender's entire interest in
                                     the Facilities, and are subject to the
                                     approval of the Administrative Agent and,
                                     except for assignments to Lenders or their
                                     affiliates (absent the occurrence and
                                     continuance of an Event of Default) the
                                     reasonable approval of the Borrowers. No
                                     participation shall include voting rights,
                                     other than for matters requiring consent of
                                     100% of the Lenders. Lenders may pledge
                                     their interests in the loans made under the
                                     Revolving Credit Facility to Federal
                                     Reserve Banks under Regulation A.

Requisite Lenders:                   Lenders holding at least 51% of the
                                     outstanding commitments and/or exposure
                                     under the Facilities (the "Requisite
                                     Lenders").

Amendments:                          Requisite Lenders except for provisions
                                     customarily requiring unanimous approval.

Miscellaneous:                       The loan documentation will include
                                     standard yield protection provisions
                                     (including, without limitation, provisions
                                     relating to compliance with risk-based
                                     capital guidelines, increased costs
                                     (including, but not limited to, interest
                                     period breakage costs and maximum statutory
                                     Eurodollar reserve costs, whether or not
                                     incurred) and payments free and clear of
                                     withholding taxes).

Governing Law                        State of New York.

Counsel to Administration            Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP.
Agent:

                                   EXHIBIT A


                             Interest Pricing Grid


I.   Revolving Credit Facility

     Pricing after the date of delivery of the December 2000 financial statements for the Company and its subsidiaries will be based on the Debt to Cash Flow Ratio:


                                                                 Applicable Margin (% per annum)
                                                                 -------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
        Range of Debt                      Base Rate                      Eurodollar Rate
      to Cash Flow Ratio                    Advances                          Advances
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Greater than 5.00 to 1                         1.75%                              2.75

Less than or equal to 5.00 to 1                1.50%                              2.50%
  and greater than 4.00 to 1

Less than 4.00 to 1                            1.25%                              2.25%
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


II.  Term Loan

     Pricing after the date of delivery of the December 2000 financial statements for the Company and its subsidiaries will be based on the Debt to Cash Flow Ratio:



                                                                  Applicable Margin (% per annum)
                                                                  -------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
        Range of Debt                      Base Rate                      Eurodollar Rate
      to Cash Flow Ratio                    Advances                          Advances
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Greater than 5.00 to 1                        2.25%                                 3.25%

Less than or equal to 5.00 to 1               2.00%                                 3.00%
   and greater than 4.00 to 1

Less than 4.00 to 1                           1.75%                                 2.75%
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                   EXHIBIT B


                      Financial Covenants (in US dollars)


I.  Cash Flow Covenant

     Period                                  Covenant Level
     ------                                  --------------
     1 quarter ended 3/00                    $0 million
     2 quarters ended 6/00                   $25.0 million
     3 quarters ended 9/00                   $35.0 million
     4 quarters ended 12/00                  $45.0 million

     4 quarters ended 3/01                   $57.0 million
     4 quarters ended 6/01                   $77.0 million
     4 quarters ended 9/01                   $83.0 million
     4 quarters ended 12/01                  $90.0 million

     4 quarters ended 3/02                   $90.0 million
     4 quarters ended 6/02                   $90.0 million
     4 quarters ended 9/02                   $90.0 million
     4 quarters ended 12/02                  $90.0 million


II.  Capital Expenditure Covenant (including purchases of units of TNCLP)

     Period                                  Covenant Level
     ------                                  --------------
     year ended 12/00                        $25.0 million
     year ended 12/01                        $35.0 million
     year ended 12/02                        $35.0 million