EXHIBIT 99.1

                                  News Release

Date:                    February 22, 2005 2:00 P.M., EST
Contact:                 James L. Saner, Sr., President & CEO
                         Mainsource Financial Group (812) 663-0157

                         First Quarter Dividend Declared
                    MainSource Financial Group - NASDAQ, MSFG

Greensburg, Indiana (NASDAQ: MSFG) - MainSource Financial Group's Board of Directors announced today that the Company declared a first quarter common dividend of $.13 per share at its February 22, 2005 meeting. The dividend is payable on March 15, 2005 to common shareholders of record as of March 4, 2005. The dividend represents a 14.0% increase over the dividend paid to shareholders in the first quarter last year. This is MainSource Financial Group's fifty-eighth consecutive quarterly cash dividend.

MainSource Financial Group, Inc., headquartered in Greensburg, Indiana, is listed on the NASDAQ Stock Market (trading symbol: MSFG) and is a community-focused, financial services holding company with assets of $1.6 billion. Through its three banking subsidiaries, MainSource Bank, Greensburg, Indiana; Peoples Trust Company, Linton, Indiana; and MainSource Bank of Illinois, Kankakee, Illinois, it operates 54 offices in 22 Indiana counties and six offices in three Illinois counties. Through its insurance subsidiary, MainSource Insurance, it operates nine offices in Indiana as well as one in Owensboro, Kentucky.

Forward-Looking Statements

Except for historical information contained herein, the discussion in this press release may include certain forward-looking statements based upon management expectations. Factors which could cause future results to differ from these expectations include the following: general economic conditions; legislative and regulatory initiatives; monetary and fiscal policies of the federal government; deposit flows; the costs of funds; general market rates of interest; interest rates on competing investments; demand for loan products; demand for financial services; changes in accounting policies or guidelines; and changes in the quality or composition of the Company's loan and investment portfolios.

The forward-looking statements included in the press release relating to certain matters involve risks and uncertainties, including anticipated financial performance, business prospects, and other similar matters, which reflect management's best judgment based on factors currently known. Actual results and experience could differ materially from the anticipated results or other expectations expressed in the Company's forward-looking statements as a result of a number of factors, including but not limited to, those discussed in the press release.

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 MainSource Financial Group, 201 N. Broadway, P.O. Box 87, Greensburg, IN 47240