EXHIBIT 99.2

                          AGREEMENT AND PLAN OF MERGER

AGREEMENT AND PLAN OF MERGER (this "Agreement"), made as of March 27, 2003, among MAINSOURCE FINANCIAL GROUP, INC., an Indiana corporation ("Parent"), FCBY MERGER CORPORATION, an Indiana corporation and a wholly owned subsidiary of Parent ("Merger Sub"), and FIRST COMMUNITY BANCSHARES, INC. , an Indiana corporation (the "Company"). The members of the Company's Board of Directors, Albert R. Jackson, Jr., Albert R. Jackson III, Frank D. Neese, Roy Martin Umbarger and Merrill M. Wesemann, M.D. (the "Affiliate Shareholders"), solely in their non-fiduciary capacities as shareholders of the Company and as individuals, join in this Agreement for purposes of making the covenants and agreements in Sections 5.9 and 5.10.

R E C I T A L S:
- - - - - - - -

         A. The Boards of Directors of Parent, Merger Sub and the Company each have determined that a business combination involving the merger of the Company into Merger Sub is in the best interests of their respective companies and shareholders and presents an opportunity for Parent and the Company and their respective shareholders to achieve long-term strategic and financial benefits, and accordingly have agreed to effect the merger provided for herein (the "Merger") upon the terms and subject to the conditions set forth herein.

            B. Parent, Merger Sub and the Company desire to make certain representations, warranties, covenants and agreements in connection with the Merger and to prescribe various conditions to the Merger.

         C. Each Affiliate Shareholder wishes to join in this Agreement for purposes of making the covenants and agreements set forth in Sections 5.9 and
5.10 to facilitate the execution of this Agreement and the consummation of the Merger and the other transactions contemplated hereby, and to acknowledge and agree that, in consideration for making such covenants and performing such agreements, he will benefit from a smooth and orderly transition in the ownership and control of the Company and its Subsidiaries as well as from any consideration he will be entitled to receive as a shareholder of the Company as a result of the Merger, and that such consideration is adequate for making such covenants and performing such agreements. Each Affiliated Shareholder also wishes to hereby acknowledge and agree that he has carefully read and considered the provisions of Sections 5.9 and 5.10 with counsel and that such provisions are fair and reasonable and may be deemed reasonably required by Parent for the protection of its interests in executing this Agreement, consummating the Merger and other transactions contemplated hereby, and receiving the economic benefits from the Merger expected by Parent following the Merger.


A G R E E M E N T:
- - - - - - - - -

         NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the foregoing and the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements contained herein, the parties hereto agree as follows:


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                                    ARTICLE I

                                   THE MERGER

         1.1 Effective Time of the Merger. Subject to the terms and conditions of this Agreement and in reliance upon the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements contained herein, at the Effective Time (as defined below) the Company will merge with and into Merger Sub (the "Merger"), with Merger Sub being the surviving corporation in the Merger. (As used in this Agreement, "Surviving Corporation" shall mean Merger Sub.) The parties will cause the Merger to be consummated by filing articles of merger or other appropriate documents (in any such case, the " Articles of Merger") with the Secretary of State of the State of Indiana in such form as required by, and executed in accordance with the provisions of, the Indiana Business Corporation Law ("IBCL"), as soon as practicable on or after the Closing Date (as defined in
Section 1.2). The Merger shall become effective at the time specified in the Articles of Merger (the time the Merger becomes effective being the "Effective Time").

         1.2 Closing . The closing of the Merger (the "Closing") will take place at 10:00 a.m. on a date to be specified by the parties, which shall be the first business day that is five business days after satisfaction of the latest to occur of the conditions set forth in Sections 6.1, 6.2(b) and 6.3(b) (other than the delivery of the officers' certificates referred to in Sections 6.2(b) and 6.3(b)), provided that the other closing conditions set forth in Article VI have been met or waived as provided in Article VI at or prior to the Closing (the "Closing Date"), at the offices of Parent at 210 N. Broadway, Greensburg, Indiana, unless another time, date or place is agreed to in writing by the parties hereto.

         1.3 Effects of the Merger. At and after the Effective Time, the Merger will have the effects set forth in Section 23-1-40-6 of the IBCL. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, and subject thereto, at the Effective Time all the property, rights, privileges, powers and franchises of the Company and Merger Sub shall vest in the Surviving Corporation, and all debts, liabilities, obligations, restrictions, disabilities and duties of the Company and Merger Sub shall become the debts, liabilities, obligations, restrictions, disabilities and duties of the Surviving Corporation.

         1.4  Articles of Incorporation; Bylaws.

                  (a) Articles of Incorporation. At the Effective Time, the articles of incorporation of Merger Sub as in effect immediately prior to the Effective Time shall be the articles of incorporation of the Surviving Corporation until thereafter changed or amended as provided by applicable law and such articles of incorporation.

                  (b) Bylaws. The bylaws of Merger Sub as in effect immediately prior to the Effective Time shall be the bylaws of the Surviving Corporation until thereafter changed or amended as provided by applicable law, the articles of incorporation of the Surviving Corporation and such bylaws.

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         1.5 Directors and Officers. The directors and officers of Merger Sub
shall be the directors and officers of the Surviving Corporation until duly changed in accordance with applicable law.


                                   ARTICLE II

                EFFECT OF THE MERGER ON THE SHARES OF THE COMPANY
                    AND MERGER SUB; EXCHANGE OF CERTIFICATES

         2.1 Effect on Capital Stock . At the Effective Time, by virtue of the Merger and without any action on the part of the holder of any common stock, without par value, of the Company ("Company Common Stock"):

          (a) Cancellation of Certain Shares. All Company Common Stock that is owned by the Company as treasury stock or by Parent, Merger Sub or any other Subsidiary (as defined in Section 3.1(a)) of Parent (other than shares in trust accounts, managed accounts and the like that are beneficially owned by third parties (any such shares, "trust account shares")) shall be canceled and shall cease to exist and no cash or other consideration shall be delivered in exchange therefor.

          (b) Conversion of Merger Sub Common Stock. Each of the shares of common stock of Merger Sub ("Merger Sub Common Stock") issued and outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time of the Merger shall be converted into 1,000 shares of common stock of the Surviving Corporation, without par value.

         (c) Conversion of Company Common Stock. Each of the shares of Company Common Stock issued and outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time of the Merger shall be converted into the right to receive $21.00 (the "Cash Amount"), all in accordance with Section 2.2.

         (d) Cancellation of Options to Acquire Company Common Stock. As of the Effective Time, each of the options to purchase shares of Company Common Stock that is outstanding immediately prior to the Effective Time (a "Company Option") shall be canceled and converted into the right to receive in cash an amount equal to the Cash Amount less the exercise price of such Company Option immediately prior to the Effective Time.

         (e)  Dissenting Shares.

                  (i) Each outstanding share of Company Common Stock, the holder of which has demanded and perfected his demand for payment of the fair value of his shares in accordance with Chapter 44 of the IBCL ("Chapter 44 ") and has not effectively withdrawn or lost his right to such payment ("Dissenting Shares") shall not be converted into or represent a right to receive the Cash Amount pursuant to Section 2.1(c) hereof, and the holder thereof shall be entitled only to such rights as are granted by Chapter 44. Each holder of Dissenting Shares who becomes entitled to payment for his Company Common Stock pursuant to Chapter 44 shall receive

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payment therefor from the Surviving Corporation from funds provided by Parent
(but only after the amount thereof shall have been agreed upon or finally determined pursuant to Chapter).

                    (ii) If any holder of Company Common Stock who demands appraisal of his shares under Chapter 44 shall effectively withdraw or lose (through failure to perfect or otherwise) his right to payment, such holder shall be entitled to receive the Cash Amount for each of his shares of Company Common Stock, without interest.

                  (iii) The Company shall give Parent (A) prompt notice of any written demands for payment, withdrawals of demands for payment and any other instruments served pursuant to Chapter 44 received by the Company, and (B) the opportunity to participate in all negotiations and proceedings with respect to demands for appraisal under Chapter 44. The Company will not voluntarily make any payment with respect to any demands for payment and will not, except with the prior written consent of Parent, settle or offer to settle any such demands. Parent will, to the extent necessary, make available to the Surviving Corporation sufficient funds to enable the Surviving Corporation to pay for the Dissenting Shares using funds not acquired from the Company.

         2.2 Exchange of Company Certificates and Options For Cash.

          (a) Exchange Agent. Parent shall authorize MainSource Bank, Greensburg, Indiana (or such other person or persons as shall be acceptable to Parent and the Company), to act as exchange agent hereunder (the "Exchange Agent"). As soon as practicable, but not later than one business day after the Effective Time, Parent shall deposit with the Exchange Agent, in trust for the holders of certificates which immediately prior to the Effective Time represented Company Common Stock converted in the Merger (the "Company Certificates") and the holders of Company Options, for exchange in accordance with this Article II, an amount in cash equal to the sum of (i) the Cash Amount multiplied by the number of shares of Company Common Stock that are converted into the right to receive cash in the Merger pursuant to Section 2.1(c) and (ii) the Cash Amount multiplied by the number of shares of Company Common Stock that are subject to outstanding unexercised Company Options at the Effective Time that are converted into the right to receive cash in the Merger pursuant to
Section 2.1(d), less the aggregate exercise price for all Company Options (such monies, together with any dividends or distributions with respect thereto in accordance with Section 2.2(c), being hereinafter referred to as the "Exchange Fund"). As soon as practicable after the Effective Time, the Exchange Agent shall mail to each recordholder of a Company Certificate and/or a Company Option a letter of transmittal (which shall specify that delivery shall be effected, and risk of loss and title to the Company Certificates shall pass, only upon the actual delivery of such letter of transmittal to the Exchange Agent and shall contain instructions for use in effecting the surrender of the Company Certificates in exchange for the consideration described in the next sentence).

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         (b)  Exchange Procedures.

               (i) Payment of Cash. At or after the Effective Time and upon surrender for cancellation to the Exchange Agent by a recordholder of all Company Certificates representing shares converted into the right to receive cash pursuant to Section 2.1(c) and Company Options, if any, converted into the right to receive cash pursuant to Section 2.1(d), together with a letter of transmittal duly executed and in proper form, such holder shall be entitled to receive in exchange therefor a check in immediately available Indianapolis, Indiana funds for an amount equal to the sum of (i) the Cash Amount for each share of Company Common Stock so converted pursuant to Section 2.1(c) and (ii) the Cash Amount for each Company Option converted pursuant to Section 2.1(d) less the exercise price of such option.

         (ii) Until Surrender of Company Certificates. Until Company Certificates and Company Options have been surrendered and exchanged for cash as herein provided, each outstanding Company Certificate and Company Option shall be deemed at any time after the Effective Time to represent only the right to receive upon such surrender cash pursuant to Section 2.2(b). No transfer taxes shall be payable in connection with any such exchange, except that if any check is to be issued in a name other than that in which the Company Certificate and/or Company Option surrendered in exchange therefor is registered, it shall be a condition of such exchange that the person requesting such exchange shall pay to the Exchange Agent any transfer or other taxes required by reason of the issuance of the check in a name other than that of the registered holder of the Company Certificate and/or Company Option, or shall establish to the satisfaction of the Exchange Agent that such tax has been paid or is not applicable. Parent or the Exchange Agent shall be entitled to deduct and withhold from the consideration otherwise payable pursuant to this Agreement to any holder of Company Common Stock and/or Company Option such amounts as Parent or the Exchange Agent are required to deduct and withhold under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the "Code"), or any provision of state, local or foreign tax law, with respect to the making of such payment. To the extent that amounts are so withheld by Parent or the Exchange Agent, such withheld amounts shall be treated for all purposes of this Agreement as having been paid to the holder of the Company Common Stock and/or Company Option in respect of whom such deduction and withholding was made by Parent or the Exchange Agent. If outstanding Company Certificates or Company Options are not surrendered or the right to receive cash payment therefor not claimed prior to six years after the Effective Time of the Merger (or, in any particular case, prior to such earlier date on which such cash payment would otherwise escheat to or become the property of any governmental unit or agency), the amount of the cash payment not claimed, to the extent permitted by abandoned property or other applicable law, shall become the property of Parent (and, to the extent not in its possession, shall be paid over to it), free and clear of all claims or interest of any person previously entitled thereto.

         (c) No Further Ownership Rights in Company Common Stock and Company Options. All cash paid upon conversion of Company Common Stock or Company Options in accordance with the terms hereof shall be deemed to have been paid in full satisfaction of all rights pertaining to such Company Common Stock and such options, subject, however, to the Surviving Corporation's obligation to pay any dividends or make any other distributions with a record date prior to the Effective Time that may have been declared or made by the Company on Company

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Common Stock in accordance with the terms of this Agreement on or prior to the
Effective Time and which remain unpaid at the Effective Time. At the Effective Time, the stock transfer books of the Company shall be closed to holders of Company Common Stock immediately prior to the Effective Time and no transfer of Company Common Stock by any such holder shall thereafter be made or recognized. If, after the Effective Time, Company Certificates or Company Options are presented to the Surviving Corporation for any reason, they shall be canceled and exchanged as provided in this Article II.

         (d) Termination of Exchange Fund. Any portion of the Exchange Fund that remains undistributed to the shareholders of the Company for six months after the Effective Time shall be delivered to Parent, upon demand, and any shareholders or options holders of the Company who have not theretofore complied with this Article II shall thereafter look only to Parent for payment of their claim for cash.

            (e) No Liability. Neither Parent, Merger Sub, the Company nor the Surviving Corporation shall be liable to any holder of Company Common Stock for any amount paid or property delivered in good faith to a public official pursuant to any applicable abandoned property, escheat or similar law.

                                   ARTICLE III

                         REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES

         3.1 Representations and Warranties of the Company . The Company represents and warrants to Parent and Merger Sub that:

          (a) Organization, Standing and Power. The Company is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of the State of Indiana. Each of the Company's Subsidiaries is a corporation or association duly organized and validly existing under the laws of the United States or its state of incorporation or organization. Each of the Company and its Subsidiaries has all requisite power and authority to own, lease and operate its properties and to carry on its business as now being conducted, and is duly qualified and in good standing to do business in each jurisdiction in which the nature of its business or the ownership or leasing of its properties makes such qualification necessary, except where the failure to be so qualified would not reasonably be expected to have, individually or in the aggregate, a Material Adverse Effect on the Company.

         For purposes of this Agreement: "Material Adverse Effect" means, when used with respect to Parent, the Company or the Surviving Corporation, as the case may be, any state of facts, change, development, effect, condition or occurrence (including any state of facts, change, development, effect, condition or occurrence (i) relating to the economy or financial markets generally or (ii) relating to the banking industry generally even if not specifically relating to Parent, the Company or the Surviving Corporation) that is or could reasonably be expected (so far as can be foreseen at the time) to be material and adverse to the (A) business, (B) properties, (C) assets, (D) condition (financial or otherwise), (E) value or (F) results of the operations, of Parent and its

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Subsidiaries taken as a whole, the Company and its Subsidiaries taken as a
whole, or the Surviving Corporation and its Subsidiaries taken as a whole, as the case may be. For purposes of analyzing whether any state of facts, change, development, effect, condition or occurrence constitutes a "Material Adverse Effect" under this definition, the parties agree that (aa) materiality shall be analyzed from the viewpoint of whether there is a significant likelihood that the disclosure of such state of facts, change, development, effect, condition or occurrence would be viewed by a reasonable investor (and not Parent in the case of viewing the Company and its Subsidiaries or the Surviving Corporation, the Company in the case of viewing Parent and its Subsidiaries, or any other particular investor) as having significantly altered the total mix of information available to such investor if the total mix of information about Parent or the Company, as the case may be, had consisted solely of its SEC Documents and the representations and warranties made by it in this Agreement (other than any qualification as to materiality in Section 3.1(e) in the case of the Company and Section 3.2(e) in the case of Parent), as such party's representations and warranties are qualified by the Company Letter or Parent Letter, as the case may be, (bb) the analysis of materiality shall not be limited to the viewpoint of the long-term investor, (cc) each of the terms contained in (A) through (F) above are intended to be separate and distinct, and
(dd) the words of the definition of "Material Adverse Effect" are intended to be read literally without any regard to the holding or reasoning of IBP, Inc. v. Tyson Foods, Inc., No. 18373, 2001 Del. Ch. LEXIS 81 (Del Ch June 18, 2001); and

         "Subsidiary" means any corporation, partnership, joint venture or other legal entity of which Parent or the Company, as the case may be (either alone or through or together with any other Subsidiary), owns, directly or indirectly, 50% or more of the capital stock or other equity interest the holders of which are generally entitled to vote for the election of the board of directors or other governing body of such corporation, partnership, joint venture or other legal entity.

         (b)  Capital Structure.

               (i) The authorized capital stock of the Company consists of 4,000,000 shares of Common Stock, without par value ("Company Common Stock"), and 1,000,000 shares of Preferred Stock, without par value (Company Preferred Stock). As of the date hereof, there are 1,044,926 shares of Company Common Stock outstanding, 34,700 shares of Company Common Stock reserved for issuance under Company Options granted prior to the date of this Agreement, 90,910 shares of Company Common Stock reserved for issuance under convertible debt securities and no shares of Company Common Stock held by the Company in its treasury. There are no shares of Preferred Stock outstanding, reserved for issuance or held by the Company in its Treasury.

               (ii) ) Except as set forth in the letter dated the date hereof and delivered to Parent concurrent with the execution of this Agreement (the "Company Letter"), which relates to this Agreement and is designated therein as being the Company Letter, or in the Company SEC Documents (as defined in Section 3.1(d)) filed prior to the date of this Agreement, no bonds, debentures, notes or other indebtedness having the right to vote (or convertible into or exercisable for securities having the right to vote) on any matters on which

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shareholders of the Company may vote ("Voting Debt") are issued or outstanding.
All outstanding shares of Company Common Stock are, and any Company Common Stock that may be issued pursuant to the exercise of any outstanding stock option or convertible debt security will be, duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable and not subject to preemptive rights.

               (iii) Except as set forth in the Company Letter or the Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, there is no option, warrant, call, right (including any preemptive right), commitment or any other agreement of any character that the Company or any Subsidiary is a party to, or may be bound by, requiring it to issue, transfer, sell, purchase or redeem any shares of capital stock, any Voting Debt, or any securities or rights convertible into, exchangeable for, or evidencing the right to subscribe for any shares of capital stock of the Company or any Subsidiary, or to provide funds to, or make an investment (in the form of a loan, capital contribution or otherwise) in, any of the Company's Subsidiaries or (excepting loans made in the ordinary course of a commercial banking business) any other corporation, partnership, association, firm, individual, trust or other legal entity (each, and any group of any two or more of the foregoing, a "Person").

               (iv) Except as set forth in the Company Letter or the Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, there is no voting trust or other agreement or understanding to which the Company or any Subsidiary is a party, or may be bound by, with respect to the voting of the capital stock of the Company or any Subsidiary.

               (v) Since December 31, 2001, except as set forth in the Company Letter or the Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, the Company has not (A) issued or permitted to be issued any shares of capital stock, or securities exercisable for or convertible into shares of capital stock, of the Company or any Subsidiary; (B) repurchased, redeemed or otherwise acquired, directly or indirectly through any Subsidiary, any shares of capital stock of the Company or any Subsidiary (other than the acquisition of trust account shares); or (C) declared, set aside, made or paid to shareholders of the Company dividends or other distributions on the outstanding shares of capital stock of the Company, other than regular quarterly cash dividends at a rate not in excess of the regular quarterly cash dividend most recently declared by the Company prior to January 1, 2003.

         (c)  Authority.

               (i) The Company has all requisite corporate power and authority to execute and deliver this Agreement and to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. This Agreement and the consummation by the Company of the transactions contemplated hereby have been duly and validly authorized by the Board of Directors of the Company and no other corporate proceedings on the part of the Company are necessary to authorize this Agreement or to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby (other than the approval of this Agreement by the shareholders of the Company in accordance with the IBCL and the Company's articles of incorporation). This Agreement has been duly and validly executed and delivered by the Company and, assuming this Agreement constitutes the valid and binding agreement of Parent and Merger Sub, constitutes the valid and binding agreement of the Company, enforceable in accordance with its terms,

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except that the enforcement hereof may be limited by (A) bankruptcy, insolvency,
reorganization, moratorium or other similar laws now or hereafter in effect, relating to creditors' rights generally, (B) general principles of equity (regardless of whether enforceability is considered in a proceeding in equity or at law) and (C) judicial discretion.

               (ii) The execution and delivery of this Agreement does not, and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby (subject to approval by the shareholders of the Company of this Agreement) will not, conflict with or result in any violation of, or default (with or without notice or lapse of time, or both) under, or give rise to a right of termination, amendment, cancellation, acceleration or payment of any obligation or the loss of a material benefit under, or the creation of a lien, pledge, security interest, charge or other encumbrance on assets (any such conflict, violation, default, right of termination, amendment, cancellation, acceleration or payment, loss or creation, a "Violation") pursuant to, any provision of the certificate of incorporation or bylaws of the Company or any Subsidiary or, except as set forth in the Company Letter, and subject to obtaining or making the consents, approvals, orders, authorizations, registrations, declarations and filings referred to in Subsection (iii) below, result in any Violation of any loan or credit agreement, note, mortgage, indenture, lease, Benefit Plan (as defined in Section 3.1(o)) or other agreement, obligation, instrument, permit, concession, franchise, license, judgment, order, decree, statute, law, ordinance, rule or regulation applicable to the Company or any Subsidiary or their respective properties or assets.

               (iii) No consent, approval, order or authorization of, or registration, declaration or filing with, any federal or state court, administrative agency or commission or other governmental authority or instrumentality (a "Governmental Entity") is required by or with respect to the Company or any Subsidiary in connection with the execution and delivery of this Agreement, or the consummation by the Company of the transactions contemplated hereby, the failure to obtain which would have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company, except for (A) the filing by Parent and Merger Sub of an application with the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (the "Federal Reserve") under the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, as amended ("BHC Act"), and approval of same (B) the filing of an application by Parent with the Indiana Department of Financial institutions ("IDFI"), and approval thereof, (C) notices to or filings with the Small Business Administration ("SBA"), or the Internal Revenue Service (the "IRS") or the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (the "PBGC") with respect to any Benefit Plans, (D) the filing by the Company of a
Schedule 14A (the "Proxy Statement") with the Securities and Exchange Commission ("SEC") and (E) the filing by Merger Sub of the Articles of Merger with the Secretary of State of the State of Indiana, and appropriate documents with the relevant authorities of other states in which the Company is qualified to do business.

          (d) SEC Documents: Financial Statements. The Company has made available to Parent each document filed by it with the SEC under the Securities Act or the Exchange Act since January 1, 1999, including without limitation, (i) the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001,
(ii) the Company's Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002 and (iii) the Company's definitive proxy statement for its 2002 Annual Meeting of Shareholders held May 29, 2002, each in the form (including exhibits and any amendments) filed with the SEC (collectively, the

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"Company SEC Documents"). As of their respective dates, each of the Company SEC
Documents did not, and each of the Company SEC Documents filed with the SEC subsequent to the date hereof will not, contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements made therein, in light of the circumstances in which they were made, not misleading, provided, that the Company makes no representation with respect to information supplied by Parent for use in Company SEC Documents after the date hereof. Each of the consolidated balance sheets included in or incorporated by reference into the Company SEC Documents (including their related notes and schedules) fairly presents (or will fairly present if filed after the date hereof) the consolidated financial condition of the Company and its consolidated Subsidiaries as of its date and each of the consolidated statements of income, shareholders' equity and cash flows included or incorporated by reference into the Company SEC Documents (including any related notes and schedules) fairly presents (or will fairly present if filed after the date hereof) the results of operations, shareholders' equity and cash flows of the Company and its consolidated Subsidiaries for the periods set forth therein (subject, in the case of unaudited statements to normal year-end adjustments and any other adjustments described therein that individually or in the aggregate will not be material in amount or effect), in each case in accordance with generally accepted accounting principals consistently applied during the periods involved, except as may be noted therein.

          (e) Absence of Certain Changes or Events. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, since December 31, 2001, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has
(i) incurred any material liability or obligation (indirect, direct or contingent), except in the ordinary course of its business consistent with past practices and except for the entering into of this Agreement and the incurring of professional expenses in connection therewith, (ii) taken any of the prohibited actions set forth in Section 4.1, or (iii) suffered any change, or any event involving a prospective change, in its business, financial condition or results of operations that has had, or is reasonably likely to have, a Material Adverse Effect on the Company.

          (f) Absence of Undisclosed Liabilities. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or reflected or reserved against in the financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2001 included in the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the SEC, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has any obligations or liabilities (contingent or otherwise) that might reasonably be expected to have, individually or in the aggregate, a Material Adverse Effect on the Company. The Company has set forth in the Company Letter, as of the date hereof, all interest rate and currency exchange agreements, and all trading positions regarding any form or type of derivative financial product the value of which is linked to, or derived from, the value of an underlying asset, rate or index.

          (g) Allowance for Credit Losses. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, the allowance for credit losses (the "Allowance") shown on the consolidated balance sheets of the Company as of December 31, 2001 included in the financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2001 included in the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the SEC was, and the Allowance shown in each SEC Document as of a date subsequent to the execution of this Agreement will be, in

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each case as of the dates thereof, determined in accordance with safe and sound
banking practices and the guidelines and policies of the FDIC, and is (and will
be) adequate, in the reasonable judgment of management, to provide for losses relating to or inherent in the loan and lease portfolios (including accrued interest receivables) of the Company and its Subsidiaries and other extensions of credit (including letters of credit and commitments to make loans or extend credit) by the Company and its Subsidiaries.

         (h) Environmental Matters. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has (i) used, stored, manufactured, or suffered to exist (collectively, "Utilized") any hazardous or toxic substance, material or constituent (collectively, a "Hazardous Substance") within the meaning of any applicable Environmental Law on, in or under any of its property, whether currently or previously owned or leased by the Company or any Subsidiary, or
(ii) transported or disposed, or caused or permitted any Person to transport or dispose, of any Hazardous Substance, in each case ((i) and (ii) above), other than in accordance with all Environmental Laws and other than at the locations identified on Item 3.1(h) of the Company Letter. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, to the knowledge of the Company no Hazardous Substances have been Utilized at any time on, in or under any of the Company's or any Subsidiary's property, whether currently or previously owned or leased by either of them, including without limitation any other real estate owned (OREO) or leased by them or, to the knowledge of the Company, held by either as collateral for any loan, financing or other indebtedness. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement: neither the Company nor any Subsidiary is subject to any asserted or, to the knowledge of the Company, unasserted liabilities, nor are any of the properties of the Company or any Subsidiary, whether currently or previously owned or leased by the Company or any Subsidiary, subject to any asserted or, to the knowledge of the Company, unasserted lien, under any of the Environmental Laws; neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has ever violated any Environmental Laws in any material respect, and each of them is presently in compliance in all material respects with all Environmental Laws (without limiting the generality of the foregoing, no asbestos, PCBs or other Hazardous Substance or any petroleum product or constituents thereof is present on, in or under any of the property of the Company or any Subsidiary, whether currently or previously owned or leased); to the knowledge of the Company, none of the borrowers of the Company or any Subsidiary has materially violated any of the Environmental Laws or has any of its property (whether currently or previously owned or leased) subject to a lien under any of the Environmental Laws; to the knowledge of the Company, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has ever permitted any property currently or previously owned or leased by any of them to be used as a landfill or dump site; and to the knowledge of the Company, there are no underground storage tanks or underground pipelines located on any property owned or leased by the Company or any Subsidiary, and no underground storage tanks have ever been located on any property currently or previously owned or leased by any of them. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, to the knowledge of the Company, there are no actions, suits or proceedings, or demands, claims, notices or, to the knowledge of the Company, investigations (including notices, demand letters or requests for information from any environmental agency), instituted or pending, or to the knowledge of the Company, threatened, relating to the liability of any properties owned or operated by the Company or any of its Subsidiaries under any Environmental Law.

"Environmental Law" means any federal, state or local law, statute, ordinance, rule, regulation, code, license, permit, authorization, approval, consent, order, judgment, decree, injunction or agreement between the Company and any Governmental Entity relating to (i) the protection, preservation or restoration of the environment (including, without limitation, air, water vapor, surface water, ground water, drinking water supply, surface soil, subsurface soil, plant and animal life or any other natural resource), and/or (ii) the use, storage, recycling, treatment, generation, transportation, processing, handling, labeling, production, release or disposal of any substance presently listed, defined, designated or classified as hazardous, toxic, radioactive or dangerous, or otherwise regulated, whether by type or by quantity, including any material containing any such substance as a component; and includes, without limitation, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, the Clean Air Act, the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, the Toxic Substances Control Act and the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act.

          (i) Information Supplied. None of the information supplied or to be supplied by the Company for inclusion in (i) the Proxy Statement to be filed with the SEC by the Company in connection with the Merger will, at the time the Proxy Statement is filed with the SEC and at the time it becomes effective under the Securities Act, contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading, and (ii) the Proxy Statement of the Company will, at the date of mailing to shareholders of the Company and at the time of the meeting of shareholders of the Company to be held in connection with the Merger, contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. The Proxy Statement (except for such portions thereof that relate only to Parent and Merger Sub) will comply as to form in all material respects with the provisions of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act"), and the rules and regulations thereunder, to the extent applicable. The information set forth in the Company Letter by the Company for purposes of this Agreement is true and accurate in all material respects.

          (j) No Default. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, no Violation exists on the part of the Company or any Subsidiary with respect to any term, condition or provision of (i) its articles of incorporation or bylaws,
(ii) any note, mortgage, indenture, other evidence of indebtedness, guaranty, license, agreement or other contract, instrument or contractual obligation to which the Company or any Subsidiary is now a party or by which it or any of its properties or assets may be bound, or (iii) any order, writ, injunction or decree applicable to the Company or any Subsidiary, except for possible Violations that, individually or in the aggregate, do not, and, insofar as reasonably can be foreseen, in the future will not, have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company.

          (k) Compliance with Licenses, Permits and Applicable Laws. The Company and its Subsidiaries have received such certificates, permits, licenses, franchises, consents, approvals, orders, authorizations and clearances from appropriate governmental entities (the "Company Permits") as are necessary to own or lease and operate its properties and to conduct its business as currently owned or leased and conducted, and all such Company Permits are valid and in full force and effect. The Company and its Subsidiaries are in compliance in all material respects with its obligations under the Company Permits, with only such exceptions as, individually or in the aggregate, would not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company, and no event has occurred that allows, or after notice of lapse of time, or both, would allow, revocation or termination of any material Company Permit. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, the businesses of the Company and its Subsidiaries are not being conducted in violation of any law, ordinance or regulation of any Governmental Entity, except for possible violations that individually or in the aggregate do not, and in the future will not, have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company. Except for routine examinations by Governmental Entities charged with the supervision or regulation of savings associations or savings banks or savings association or thrift holding companies, or the insurance of their deposits ("Bank Regulators"), as of the date of this Agreement, to the knowledge of the Company, no investigation by any Governmental Entity with respect to the Company or any Subsidiary is pending or threatened.

          (l) Actions and Proceedings. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, there are no outstanding orders, judgments, injunctions, awards or decrees of any Governmental Entity against or affecting the Company or any Subsidiary, any of its or their current or to its knowledge former directors, employees, consultants, agents or shareholders, as such, any of its or their properties, assets or business or any Company Benefit Plan (as defined in
Section 3.1(o)). Except as set forth in the Company Letter, there are no actions, suits or claims or legal, administrative or arbitration proceedings or, to the knowledge of the Company, investigations pending or threatened, against or affecting the Company or any Subsidiary, any of its or their current or former directors, officers, employees, consultants, agents or shareholders, as such, any of its or their properties, assets or business, or any Company Benefit Plan that if brought (if not now pending) would reasonably be expected to have, individually or in the aggregate, a Material Adverse Effect on the Company. There are no actions, suits or claims or legal, administrative or arbitration proceedings or, to the knowledge of the Company, investigations or labor disputes pending or threatened, against or affecting the Company or any Subsidiary, any of its or their current or former directors, officers, employees, consultants, agents or shareholders, as such, any of its or their properties, assets or business or any Company Benefit Plan relating to the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

          (m) Taxes. The Company and each of its Subsidiaries have filed all tax returns required to be filed by any of them and have paid (or the Company has paid on their behalf), or have set up an adequate liability for the payment of, all Taxes required to be paid as shown on such returns, and the most recent Company Financial Statements reflect an adequate liability for all Taxes payable by the Company and its Subsidiaries accrued through the date of such financial statements. No material deficiencies for any Taxes have been proposed, asserted or assessed against the Company or any of its Subsidiaries that are not adequately accrued. Except with respect to claims for refund, the federal income tax returns of the Company and each of its Subsidiaries have been examined by and settled with the IRS, or the statute of limitations with respect to such years has expired (and no waiver extending the statute of limitations has been requested or granted), for all years through 1998. For the purpose of this Agreement, the term "Taxes" (including, with correlative meaning, the term "tax") shall include, except where the context otherwise requires, all federal, state, local and foreign income, profits, franchise, gross receipts, payroll, sales, employment, unemployment (including unemployment insurance premiums or contributions), use, property, withholding, excise, occupancy, and other taxes, duties or assessments of any nature whatsoever, together with all interest, penalties and additions imposed with respect to such amounts.

          (n) Certain Agreements. Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, and except for this Agreement, as of the date of this Agreement, neither the Company nor any of its Subsidiaries is a party to any oral or written (i) employment or other agreement, contract, commitment, program, policy or arrangement requiring the Company or any Subsidiary to pay compensation (including any salary, bonus, deferred compensation, incentive compensation, severance, vacation or sick pay, or any other fringe benefit payment) or any other type of remuneration to any Person, (ii) agreement or plan, including any stock option plan, any of the benefits of which will be increased, or the vesting of the benefits of which will be accelerated, by the occurrence of any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, or the value of any of the benefits of which will be calculated on the basis of any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, (iii) contract or agreement not terminable without penalty on 30 days' or less notice or involving the payment of more than $10,000 in any 12 month period; (iv) contract or agreement that materially limits the ability of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries to compete in any line of business or with any Person or in any geographic area or during any period of time, or (v) contract or agreement with any legal, accounting, investment banking, business or other advisor or consultant obligating the Company and/or any Subsidiary to pay, individually or in the aggregate, more than $ 50,000.

          (o)  Benefit Plans.

               (i) The Company has disclosed in the Company Letter each employee benefit plan (including, without limitation, any "employee benefit plan," as defined in Section 3(3) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended, ("ERISA")) (all the foregoing being herein called "Benefit Plans"), maintained or contributed to by the Company or any Subsidiary (the "Company Benefit Plans"). The Company will make available to Parent a true and correct copy of (a) the most recent annual report (Form 5500) filed with the IRS, (B) each such Company Benefit Plan, (C) each trust agreement relating to such Company Benefit Plan, (D) the most recent summary plan description for each Company Benefit Plan for which a summary plan description is required, (E) the most recent actuarial report or valuation relating to a Company Benefit Plan subject to Title IV of ERISA and (F) the most recent determination letter issued by the IRS with respect to any Company Benefit Plan qualified under Section 401(a) of the Code.

               (ii) With respect to the Company Benefit Plans, individually and in the aggregate, except as set forth in the Company Letter, no event has occurred and, to the knowledge of the Company, there exists no condition or set of circumstances, in connection with which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries could be subject to any liability (except liability for benefits, claims and funding obligations payable in the ordinary course) under ERISA, the Code or any other applicable law.

          (p) Subsidiaries. First Community Bank & Trust is the sole banking Subsidiary of the Company ("First Community Bank"). First Community Bank is a commercial bank and trust company duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of the State of Indiana. The deposits of First Community Bank are insured to the maximum extent permitted by law under the Bank Insurance Fund of the FDIC. First Community Real Estate Management, Inc. is the only other Subsidiary of the Company.

          (q) Agreements With Bank Regulators. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary is a party to any written agreement or memorandum of understanding with, or a party to any commitment letter or similar undertaking to, or subject to any order or directive by, nor is it a recipient of any extraordinary supervisory letter from, any Bank Regulator which restricts materially the conduct of its business, or in any manner relates to its capital adequacy, its credit policies or its management, nor has the Company been advised by any Bank Regulator that it is contemplating issuing or requesting (or is considering the appropriateness of issuing or requesting) any such order, directive, agreement, memorandum of understanding, extraordinary supervisory letter, commitment letter or similar submission.

         (r) Business Combination Provisions of the IBCL Not Applicable. The provisions of Sections 23-1-43-18 and 23-1-43-19 of the IBCL will not, prior to the termination of this Agreement, assuming the accuracy of the representations contained in Section 3.2(i) (without giving effect to the knowledge qualification thereof), apply to this Agreement, the Merger or the transactions contemplated hereby and thereby.

         (s) Vote Required. The affirmative vote of the holders of a majority of the outstanding shares of Company Common Stock entitled to vote thereon is the only vote of the holders of any class or series of Company capital stock necessary to approve this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby.

                  (t)  Properties.

               (i) Except as set forth in the Company Letter or Company SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, the Company or one of its Subsidiaries (A) has good, valid and marketable title to all the properties and assets reflected in the latest audited financial statements included in the Company Financial Statements as being owned by the Company or one of its Subsidiaries, or acquired after the date thereof (except properties sold or otherwise disposed of since the date thereof in the ordinary course of business), free and clear of all mortgages, pledges, security interests, claims, liens, charges, options or other encumbrances of any nature whatsoever (including, without limitation, in the case of real property, easements and rights-of-way) (collectively, "Liens"), except (x) statutory Liens securing payments not yet due, (y) Liens on assets of any Subsidiary incurred in the ordinary course of a banking business and (z) such Liens and imperfections or irregularities of title that do not materially affect the present use of the properties or assets subject thereto or affected thereby or otherwise materially impair business operations at such properties, and (B) is the lessee of all leasehold estates reflected in the latest audited financial statements included in the Company SEC Documents or acquired after the date thereof (except for leases that have expired by their terms since the date thereof) and is in possession of the properties purported to be leased thereunder, and each such lease is valid without default thereunder by the lessee or, to the Company's knowledge, the lessor.

               (ii) The Company has set forth in the Company Letter or the Company SEC Documents the street address of all real property currently owned by the Company or any Subsidiary, including properties held by the Company or any Subsidiary as a result of foreclosure or repossession or carried on the Company's or any Subsidiary's books as "other real estate owned" or similar type classification ("OREO") ( collectively, the "Current Real Properties"). Except as set forth in the Company Letter, the Current Real Properties except OREO properties are, and the OREO properties to the knowledge of the Company are, generally in good condition and have been well maintained in accordance with reasonable and prudent business practices applicable to like facilities. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, there are no proceedings, claims, disputes or conditions affecting any of the Current Real Properties or leasehold interests of the Company or any Subsidiary that, insofar as reasonably can be foreseen, may curtail or interfere with the current use of such property (or, in the case of OREO property, the use of such property at the time of making the loan secured by such property).

          (u) Corporate Documents, Books and Records. The Company has made available to Parent true and complete copies of the articles of incorporation and bylaws of the Company and its Subsidiaries. The minute books of the Company and each of its Subsidiaries contain complete and accurate records in all material respects of all meetings and other corporate actions of their respective shareholders and Board of Directors (including committees of the Board of Directors). The stock transfer records of the Company and each of its Subsidiaries are, to the knowledge of the Company, complete and accurate in all material respects.

          (v) Insurance. The Company and its Subsidiaries maintain (or the Company maintains on their behalf) with financially sound and reputable insurance companies insurance policies and bonds in force in such amounts and against such liabilities and risks as companies engaged in a similar business, in accordance with good business practice, customarily would be insured. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, to the Company's knowledge, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary is liable for any material, retroactive premium adjustments. All such insurance policies and bonds are valid, enforceable and in full force and effect and, except as set forth in the Company Letter, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has received any notice of premium increases or cancellation and, to the Company's knowledge, no grounds for any cancellation notice exists. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, since December 31, 2000, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has failed to make a timely claim with respect to any matter giving rise to a claim or potential claim under any such insurance policies and bonds where such failure to make a timely claim would have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company.

          (w) Potential Competing Interests. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, (i) no director, officer or key employee of the Company or any Subsidiary or, to the Company's knowledge, any beneficial owner of 5% or more of any class of capital stock of the Company (a "Five Percent Owner"), or any "affiliate" or "associate" (as each such term is defined in Rule 12b-2 under the Exchange Act ) of any of the foregoing directly or indirectly beneficially owns a 5% or more interest in any institution (other than the Company and its Subsidiaries) that is engaged in the business of making loans and/or taking deposits, (ii) no director, officer or key employee of the Company or any Subsidiary or, to the Company's knowledge, any Five Percent Owner, or any affiliate or associate of any of the foregoing, has any interest, direct or indirect, in any contract or agreement with, commitment or obligation of or to, or claim against, the Company or any Subsidiary (excluding contracts, agreements or obligations with respect to monies borrowed from, or claims to deposits maintained with, First Community Bank in the ordinary course of a banking business consistent with safe and sound banking practices), and (iii) neither the Company nor any Subsidiary uses any real or personal property in which any director, officer or key employee of the Company or any Subsidiary or, to the Company's knowledge, Five Percent Owner, or any affiliate or associate of any of the foregoing directly or indirectly beneficially owns a 5% or more interest in any such real or personal property.

         (x) Software. The consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement will not result in the loss by the Company or any Subsidiary of any rights to use computer or telecommunication software, including source and object code and documentation and any other media (including manuals, journals and reference books), necessary to carry on its business substantially as currently conducted and the loss of which would have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company.

         (y) Brokers. Except as set forth in the Company Letter, no broker, investment banker, financial advisor or other Person is entitled to any broker's, finder's, financial advisor's or other similar fee or commission in connection with the transactions contemplated by this Agreement based upon arrangements made by or on behalf of the Company or any Subsidiary.

         (z) Interest Rate Risk Management Instruments. Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary is a party or counterparty to any interest rate swaps, caps, floors or option agreements or other interest rate risk management arrangements, whether entered into for its account or for the account of a customer.

         (aa) Modification Agreements. With respect to (i) the Waiver and Termination Agreements between First Community Bank , on the one hand, and respectively Messrs. Albert R. Jackson, III, Keith Lindauer and William Dean Jackson on the other hand, (ii) the Acknowledgement of Amendment instruments executed by First Community Bank, on the one hand, and respectively by each of the Affiliated Shareholders and Messrs. Keith Lindauer, Donald Goeb and William Dean Jackson, on the other hand, and (iii) the Resignation and Election of Early Retirement instruments respectively executed by Messrs. Albert R. Jackson, Jr.,

Frank D. Neese and Merrill M. Wesemann (collectively, the " Modification Agreements"): each of the parties respectively executing and delivering the Modification Agreements has all requisite personal capacity (or in the case of First Community Bank, corporate power and authority) to execute and deliver the Modification Agreements to which he or it is a party and to effect the waivers, acknowledgments and other actions respectively contemplated thereby. The Company has delivered true and complete copies of such signed Modification Agreements to Parent prior to the execution of this Agreement by Parent.

         3.2 Representations and Warranties of Parent and Merger Sub . Each of Parent and Merger Sub jointly and severally represent and warrant to the Company as follows:

            (a) Organization, Standing and Power. Parent is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of the State of Indiana. Each of Parent's Subsidiaries is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of its state of incorporation or organization. Each of Parent and its Subsidiaries has all requisite power and authority to own, lease and operate its properties and to carry on its business as now being conducted, and is duly qualified and in good standing to do business in each jurisdiction in which the nature of its business or the ownership or leasing of its properties makes such qualification necessary, except where the failure to be so qualified would not reasonably be expected to have, individually or in the aggregate, a Material Adverse Effect on Parent.

          (b)  Capital Structure.

               (i) The authorized capital stock of Parent consists of 10,000,000 Common Shares, without par value ("Parent Common Stock"), and 400,000 Preferred Shares, without par value ("Parent Preferred Stock"), of which on the date hereof 6,717,715 shares of Parent Common Stock are outstanding , 350,000 shares of Parent Common Stock are reserved for issuance under Parent's 2003 Stock Option Plan and 56,910 shares of Parent Common Stock are held by Parent in its treasury. There are on the date hereof no shares of Parent Preferred Stock outstanding, reserved for issuance or held by Parent in its treasury.

               (ii) No Voting Debt of Parent is issued or outstanding. All outstanding shares of Parent Common Stock are duly authorized, validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable and not subject to preemptive rights.

               (iii) Except as set forth in the Parent SEC Documents (as defined in Section 3.2(d)) or a letter, if any, dated the date hereof and delivered to the Company concurrent with the execution of this Agreement (the "Parent Letter"), which relates to this Agreement and is designated therein as the Parent Letter, there is no option, warrant, call, right (including any preemptive right), commitment or any other agreement of any character that Parent or any Subsidiary is a party to, or may be bound by, requiring it to issue, transfer, sell, purchase or redeem any shares of capital stock, any Voting Debt, or any securities or rights convertible into, exchangeable for, or evidencing the right to subscribe for any shares of capital stock of Parent or any Subsidiary, or to provide funds to, or make an investment (in the form of a loan, capital contribution or otherwise) in, any of Parent's Subsidiaries or (excepting loans made in the ordinary course of a commercial banking business) any other Person.

               (iv) Except as set forth in the Parent SEC Documents or the Parent Letter, and except for this Agreement, there is no voting trust or other agreement or understanding to which Parent or any Subsidiary is a party, or may be bound by, with respect to the voting of the capital stock of Parent or any Subsidiary.

               (v) Since December 31, 2002, except as set forth in the Parent SEC Documents or the Parent Letter, Parent has not (A) issued or permitted to be issued any shares of capital stock, or securities exercisable for or convertible into shares of capital stock, of Parent or any Subsidiary; (B) repurchased, redeemed or otherwise acquired, directly or indirectly through any Subsidiary, any shares of capital stock of Parent or any Subsidiary (other than the acquisition of trust account shares); or (C) declared, set aside, made or paid to shareholders of Parent dividends or other distributions on the outstanding shares of capital stock of Parent, other than regular quarterly cash dividends.

         (c)  Authority.

               (i) Each of Parent and Merger Sub has all requisite corporate power and authority to execute and deliver this Agreement and to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. This Agreement and the consummation by Parent and Merger Sub of the transactions contemplated hereby have been duly and validly authorized by the Board of Directors of Parent and Merger Sub, and by Parent as the shareholder of Merger Sub, and no other corporate proceedings on the part of Parent or Merger Sub are necessary to authorize this Agreement or to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. This Agreement has been duly and validly executed and delivered by Parent and Merger Sub, and assuming this Agreement constitutes the valid and binding agreement of the Company, constitutes the valid and binding agreement of Parent and Merger Sub, enforceable in accordance with its terms, except that the enforcement hereof may be limited by (A) bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, moratorium or other similar laws now or hereafter in effect, relating to creditors' rights generally, (B) general principles of equity (regardless of whether enforceability is considered in a proceeding in equity or at law) and (C) judicial discretion.

               (ii) The execution and delivery of this Agreement does not, and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby will not, create any Violation under any provisions of the articles of incorporation or bylaws of Parent or any Subsidiary or, except as set forth in the Parent Letter and subject to obtaining or making the consents, approvals, orders, authorizations, registrations, declarations and filings referred to in Subsection (iii) below, result in any Violation of any loan or credit agreement, note, mortgage, indenture, lease, Benefit Plan (as defined in Section 3.1(o)) or other agreement, obligation, instrument, permit, concession, franchise, license, judgment, order, decree, statute, law, ordinance, rule or regulation applicable to Parent or any Subsidiary or their respective properties or assets.

               (iii) No consent, approval, order or authorization of, or registration, declaration or filing with, any Governmental Entity is required by or with respect to Parent or any Subsidiary in connection with the execution and delivery of this Agreement, or the consummation by Parent and Merger Sub of the transactions contemplated hereby, the failure to obtain which would have a Material Adverse Effect on Parent, except for (A) the filing by Parent and Merger Sub of an application with the Federal Reserve under the BHC Act, and approval of same, (B) the filing of an application by Parent with the IDFI, and approval thereof, (C) notices to or filings with the SBA, or the IRS or the PBGC with respect to any Benefit Plans, (D) the filing by the Company of a Proxy Statement with the SEC, and (G) the filing by Merger Sub of the Articles of Merger with the Secretary of State of the State of Indiana, and appropriate documents with the relevant authorities of other states in which the Company is qualified to do business.

          (d) SEC Documents: Financial Statements. Parent has made available to the Company each document filed by it since December 31, 1999 with the SEC under the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, including (i) Parent's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001, (ii) Parent's Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the period ended September 30, 2002, and (iii) Parent's definitive proxy statement for its 2003 Annual Meeting of Shareholders to be held April 23, 2003, each in the form (including exhibits and any amendments) filed with the SEC (collectively, the "Parent SEC Documents"). As of their respective dates, each of the Parent SEC Documents did not, and each of the Parent SEC Documents filed with the SEC subsequent to the date hereof will not, contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements made therein, in light of the circumstances in which they were made, not misleading, provided, that Parent makes no representation with respect to information supplied by the Company for use in Parent SEC Documents after the date hereof. Each of the consolidated balance sheets included in or incorporated by reference into the Parent SEC Documents (including their related notes and schedules) fairly presents (or will fairly present if filed after the date hereof) the consolidated financial condition of Parent and its consolidated Subsidiaries as of its date and each of the consolidated statements of income, shareholders' equity and cash flows included or incorporated by reference into the Parent SEC Documents (including any related notes and schedules) fairly presents (or will fairly present if filed after the date hereof) the results of operations, shareholders' equity and cash flows of Parent and its consolidated Subsidiaries for the periods set forth therein (subject, in the case of unaudited statements to normal year-end adjustments and any other adjustments described therein which individually or in the aggregate will not be material in amount or effect), in each case in accordance with generally accepted accounting principals consistently applied during the periods involved, except as may be noted therein.

          (e) Absence of Certain Changes or Events. Except as set forth in the Parent Letter or Parent SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, since December 31, 2002, neither Parent nor any Subsidiary has incurred any material liability or obligation (indirect, direct or contingent), except in the ordinary course of its business consistent with past practices, or suffered any change, or any event involving a prospective change, in its business, financial condition or results of operations that has had, or is reasonably likely to have, a Material Adverse Effect on Parent.

          (f) Absence of Undisclosed Liabilities. Except as set forth in the Parent Letter or Parent SEC Documents filed prior to the date of this Agreement, neither Parent nor any Subsidiary has any obligations or liabilities (contingent or otherwise) that might reasonably be expected to have, individually or in the aggregate, a Material Adverse Effect on Parent. Parent has set forth in the Parent Letter, as of the date hereof, all interest rate and currency exchange agreements, and all trading positions regarding any form or type of derivative financial product the value of which is linked to, or derived from, the value of an underlying asset, rate or index.

          (g) Information Supplied. None of the information supplied or to be supplied by Parent for inclusion in the Proxy Statement to be filed with the SEC by the Company and mailed to shareholders of the Company in connection with the Merger will contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. The information set forth in the Parent Letter by Parent for purposes of this Agreement is true and accurate in all material respects.

         (h) Brokers. No broker, investment banker, financial advisor or other Person is entitled to any broker's, finder's, financial advisor's or other similar fee or commission in connection with the transactions contemplated by this Agreement based upon arrangements made by or on behalf of Parent or any Subsidiary.

         (i) Ownership of Company Stock. As of the date hereof, neither Parent nor, to its knowledge, any of its affiliates or associates (as such terms are defined under the Exchange Act), (i) beneficially owns, directly or indirectly, or (ii) are parties to any agreement, arrangement or understanding for the purpose of acquiring, holding, voting or disposing of, in each case, shares of capital stock of the Company that, in the aggregate, represent 10% or more of the outstanding shares of capital stock of the Company entitled to vote generally in the election of directors (other than trust account shares).

         (j) Resources. Subject to the Requisite Regulatory Approvals contemplated in Section 6.01(b) , Parent has on hand or has timely access to capital funds sufficient to enable Parent to (i) satisfy the capital adequacy guidelines and requirements of the Federal Reserve and any other applicable federal or state regulator or agency as those guidelines are applied to Parent and the Merger, and (ii) pay the consideration for the Company Common Stock and the Company Options provided for in Section 2.1.

                                   ARTICLE IV

                    CONDUCT OF THE COMPANY PRIOR TO CLOSING

         4.1  Conduct of Business.

          (a) Except as set forth in the Company Letter, the Company agrees that during the period from the date of this Agreement to the Effective Time (unless Parent shall otherwise agree in writing and except as otherwise contemplated by this Agreement), the Company will, and will cause each of its Subsidiaries to, conduct their respective business operations in the ordinary and usual course of business consistent with past practice and, to the extent consistent therewith, with no less diligence and effort than would be applied in the absence of this Agreement, seek to preserve intact its respective current business organization, keep available the service of its respective current directors, officers and employees and preserve its respective relationships with customers, suppliers and others having business dealings with it to the end that goodwill and ongoing business shall not be impaired in any material aspect at the Effective Time. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, and except as otherwise permitted in this Agreement prior to the Effective Time or except as set forth in the Company Letter, the Company will not, and it will cause each Subsidiary not to, without the prior written consent of Parent:

               (i) issue, sell, grant, dispose of, pledge or otherwise encumber, or authorize or propose the issuance, sale, disposition or pledge or other encumbrance of (A) any additional shares of capital stock of any class (including shares of Company Common Stock), or any securities or rights convertible into, exchangeable for, or evidencing the right to subscribe for any shares of capital stock, or any rights, warrants, options, calls, commitments or any other agreements of any character to purchase or acquire any shares of capital stock or any securities or rights convertible into, exchangeable for, or evidencing the right to subscribe for, any shares of capital stock, or any other ownership interest (including, without limitation, any phantom interest), other than the issuance of Company Common Stock upon the exercise of Company Options or the conversion of convertible debt securities identified in Section 3.1(b)(i), or (B) any other securities in respect of, in lieu of, or in substitution for, shares of Company Common Stock or Company Options outstanding on the date hereof;

               (ii) redeem, purchase or otherwise acquire, or propose to redeem, purchase or otherwise acquire, any of its outstanding shares of Company Common Stock (except for the acquisition of trust account shares);

               (iii) split, combine, subdivide or reclassify any shares of Company Common Stock or declare, set aside for payment or pay any dividend, or make any other actual, constructive or deemed distribution, whether in cash, stock, property or otherwise, in respect of any shares of Company Common Stock or otherwise make any payments to shareholders in their capacity as such, except
(A) the Company may continue the declaration and payment of the regular quarterly cash dividend for the first fiscal quarter of 2003 not in excess of $0.05 per share of Company Common Stock, with the usual record and payment date for such dividend in accordance with past dividend practice, and (B) for dividends by a wholly owned Subsidiary;

               (iv) adopt a plan of complete or partial liquidation, dissolution, merger, consolidation, restructuring, recapitalization or other reorganization of the Company (other than the Merger);

               (v) adopt any amendments to its articles of incorporation or bylaws;

               (vi) make any acquisition or disposition of assets or securities, except in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practices and except for the acquisition and prepayment of its outstanding convertible debt securities as contemplated by Section 5.12;

               (vii) incur any indebtedness for borrowed money or guarantee any such indebtedness or make any loans, advances or capital contributions to, or investments in, any other Person, other than in the ordinary course of a banking business consistent with past practices, it being understood and agreed that the incurrence of indebtedness in the ordinary course of a banking business shall include the creation of deposit liabilities, purchases of federal funds, sales of certificates of deposit and entering into repurchase agreements;

               (viii) offer any new deposit, loan or investment product or service or change its lending, investment, liability management, loan loss provision, loan loss charge-off or other material banking policies;

               (ix) grant any increases in the compensation of any of its directors, officers or employees, except as may be required by any contract or agreement disclosed in the Company Letter pursuant to Section 3.1(n) or in the ordinary course of business and in accordance with past practice, or as may be approved on a case by case basis by Parent;

               (x) pay or agree to pay any pension, retirement allowance, severance or other employee benefit not required or contemplated by any of the existing Company Benefit Plans or any agreements or arrangements as in effect on the date hereof to any such director, officer or employee, whether past or present;

               (xi) enter into any new or amend any existing employment or severance or termination agreement with any director, officer or employee;

               (xii) except in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice or as may be required to comply with applicable law, become obligated under any new Benefit Plan or amend any Company Benefit Plan in existence on the date hereof if such amendment would have the effect of materially enhancing any benefits thereunder;

               (xiii) make any capital expenditures or commitments for any capital expenditures, other than capital expenditures or commitments for any capital expenditures set forth in the Company Letter;

               (xiv) make any material changes in its customary methods of marketing;

               (xv) take, or agree to commit to take, any action that would make any representation or warranty of the Company contained herein inaccurate in any material respect at, or as of any time prior to, the Effective Time; or

               (xvi) change its method of accounting in effect at December 31, 2001, except as required by changes in generally accepted accounting principles as concurred in by each party's independent auditors, or change its fiscal year;

               (xvii) take any action that would, or reasonably might be expected to, adversely affect the ability of Parent to obtain any of the Requisite Regulatory Approvals (as defined in Section 6.1(b)) without imposition of a condition or restriction of the type referred to in Section 6.1(e);

               (xviii) authorize, recommend, propose or announce an intention to do any of the foregoing, or enter into any contract, agreement, commitment or arrangement to do any of the foregoing.

         4.2  Acquisition Proposals .

         (a) The Company shall not, and the Company shall direct and cause its officers, directors, employees, agents and representatives (including without limitation any attorney, accountant, investment banker or other advisor retained by it) not to, initiate, solicit or encourage, directly or indirectly, any inquiries or the making or implementation of any proposal or offer (including, without limitation, any proposal or offer to its shareholders) with respect to a merger, acquisition, consolidation or similar transaction involving, or any purchase of all or any significant portion of the assets or any equity securities of, the Company (any such proposal or offer being hereinafter referred to as an "Acquisition Proposal") or engage in any negotiations or discussions with, or furnish any information or data to, any third party relating to an Acquisition Proposal. The Company and its officers, directors, employees, agents and representatives shall immediately cease any existing discussions or negotiations with any parties conducted heretofore with respect to any Acquisition Proposal.

         (b) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in this Section 4.2, the Company and the Board of Directors of the Company (A) may furnish information to, and participate in discussions or negotiations with any third party that after the date hereof submits an unsolicited bona fide written Acquisition Proposal to the Company if the Company's Board of Directors determines in good faith, based upon the written advice of outside legal counsel, that the failure to furnish such information or participate in such discussions or negotiations may reasonably constitute a breach of the Board's fiduciary duties under applicable law, and (B) shall be permitted to (y) take and disclose to the Company's shareholders a position with respect to the Merger or an Acquisition Proposal, or amend or withdraw such position, or (z) make disclosure to the Company's shareholders, in each case either with respect to or as a result of an Acquisition Proposal, if the Company's Board of Directors determines in good faith, based upon the written advice of outside legal counsel, that the failure to take such action may reasonably constitute a breach of the Board's fiduciary duties under applicable law; provided, that the Company shall not enter into any acquisition agreement with respect to any Acquisition

Proposal except concurrently with the termination of this Agreement in accordance with the provisions of Section 7.1(d) and shall not enter into any other agreements with respect to an Acquisition Proposal except concurrently with such termination unless, and only to the extent that, such other agreements would facilitate the process of providing information to, or conducting discussions or negotiations with, the parties submitting such an Acquisition Proposal, such as confidentiality and standstill agreements.

                                    ARTICLE V

                              ADDITIONAL AGREEMENTS

         5.1 Access to Information . Upon reasonable notice, the Company shall (and the Company shall cause its Subsidiaries to) afford to the officers, directors, employees, accountants, counsel and other authorized representatives of Parent ("Representatives") reasonable access, during normal business hours throughout the period prior to the Effective Time, to its books and records, properties, officers, directors, employees, counsel, accountants and other representatives, and, during such period, shall (and shall cause its Subsidiaries to) make available to such Representatives of Parent (i) a copy of each report, schedule, registration statement and other document filed or received by it during such period pursuant to the requirements of federal securities laws or federal or state banking laws (other than reports or documents that such party is not permitted to disclose under applicable law) and
(ii) all other information concerning its business, properties and personnel and all financial operating and other data as may reasonably be requested. Parent will hold (and cause its Representatives to hold) any such information that is non-public in confidence and, without limitation on its obligations under the preceding clause, Parent will hold (and cause its Representatives to hold) any such information in confidence until such time that such information is or becomes generally available to the public other than as a result of a disclosure by Parent or any of its Representatives; provided, however, that this sentence shall not prohibit disclosure of such information to the extent required or reasonably contemplated by any subpoena, civil investigative demand or other similar process, following 48-hours' prior notice to the Company of such intended disclosure if reasonably possible under the circumstances. No investigation by either Parent or Merger Sub shall affect the representations and warranties of the Company , except to the extent such representations and warranties are by their terms qualified by information set forth in the Company Letter.

          5.2 Shareholder Meeting . The Company shall duly call, give notice of, convene and hold a meeting of its shareholders to be held for the purpose of voting upon the approval and adoption of this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby (the "Shareholders' Meeting"). Unless the Company has determined to recommend an Acquisition Proposal in accordance with Section 4.2(b), the Company will, through its Board of Directors, recommend to its shareholders approval and adoption of this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby, except where such recommendation would violate the IBCL. The Company shall cooperate with Parent with respect to the timing of the Shareholders' meeting and shall use its best efforts to hold such meeting as soon as reasonably practicable after the expiration of 45 days from the date on which the Proxy Statement has been filed with and cleared by the SEC.

        5.3 Reasonable Efforts . Each of the Company and Parent shall, and the Company and Parent shall cause its Subsidiaries to, use all reasonable efforts to take, or cause to be taken, all actions necessary, proper or advisable to comply promptly with all legal requirements that may be imposed on such party or its Subsidiaries with respect to the Merger and to consummate and make effective the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, subject to the appropriate vote of shareholders of the Company described in Section 3.1(s), including using all reasonable efforts (i) to obtain (and to cooperate with the other party to obtain) any necessary or appropriate consent, authorization, order or approval of, or any exemption by, any Governmental Entity and/or any other public or private third party in connection with the Merger and the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, (ii) to effect all necessary registrations, filings and submissions and (iii) to lift any injunction or other legal bar to the Merger (and, in such case, to proceed with the Merger as expeditiously as possible), subject, however, to the requisite vote of the shareholders of the Company.

         5.4 Post-September 30, 2002 Company Financial Statements . The Company shall make available to Parent true and complete copies of the following:

          (a) Unaudited Financial Statements. Any monthly and quarterly unaudited consolidated balance sheet and the related consolidated statements of income, shareholders' equity and cash flows of the Company for any monthly or quarterly period ended subsequent to September 30, 2002 and prior to the Effective Time; and

          (b) Audited Financial Statements. Any audited consolidated balance sheet and the related consolidated statements of income, shareholders' equity and cash flows of the Company for any year ended after September 30, 2002 and prior to the Effective Time.

         5.5 Expenses . Whether or not the Merger is consummated, all costs and expenses incurred in connection with this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby shall be paid by the party incurring such expense, except as expressly provided herein and except that expenses incurred in connection with printing and mailing the Proxy Statement shall be shared equally by Parent and the Company.

         5.6 Additional Agreements. In case at any time after the Effective Time any further action is necessary or desirable to carry out the purposes of this Agreement or to vest the Surviving Corporation with full title to all properties, assets, rights, approvals, immunities and franchises of either of the Company or Merger Sub, the proper officers and directors of the Company and Merger Sub shall take all such necessary action.

         5.7 Indemnification.

         (a) Indemnification. Subject to the last sentence of this Section 5.7(a), for a period of three years after the Effective Time, Parent shall indemnify, defend and hold harmless each person who is now or who becomes prior to the Effective Time, an officer or director of the Company or any Subsidiary (each, an "Indemnified Party" and, collectively, the "Indemnified Parties") against (i) all losses, claims, damages, costs, expenses, liabilities or judgments or amounts that are paid in settlement with the approval of Parent (which approval shall not be unreasonably withheld) of or in connection with any claim, action, suit, proceeding or investigation based in whole or in part on or arising in whole or in part out of the fact that such person is or was a director, officer or employee of the Company or any Subsidiary, whether pertaining to any matter existing or occurring at or prior to the Effective Time and whether asserted or claimed prior to, or at or after, the Effective Time ("Indemnified Liabilities") and (ii) all Indemnified Liabilities based in whole or in part on, or arising in whole or in part out of, or pertaining to this Agreement or the transactions contemplated hereby, in each case to the full extent the Company of any Subsidiary would have been permitted under Indiana law and its articles of incorporation and bylaws to indemnify such person (and Parent shall pay expenses in advance of the final disposition of any such action or proceeding to each Indemnified Party to the full extent permitted by law if the determination that indemnification is not precluded contemplated by Section 23-1-37-10(a)(3) of the IBCL is made and the undertaking required by the IBCL is provided. Without limiting the foregoing, in the event any such claim, action, suit, proceeding or investigation is brought against Indemnified Parties (whether arising before or after the Effective Time), (i) any counsel retained by the Indemnified Parties for any period after the Effective Time shall be reasonably satisfactory to Parent; (ii) after the Effective Time, Parent shall pay all reasonable fees and expenses of such counsel for the Indemnified Parties promptly as statements therefor are received; and (iii) after the Effective Time, Parent will use all reasonable efforts to assist in the vigorous defense of any such matter, provided that Parent shall not be liable for any settlement of any claim effected without its written consent, which consent, however, shall not be unreasonably withheld. Any Indemnified Party wishing to claim indemnification under this Section 5.7, upon learning of any such claim, action, suit, proceeding or investigation, shall promptly notify Parent (but the failure so to notify Parent shall not relieve it from any liability which it may have under this Section 5.7 except to the extent such failure materially prejudices Parent), and shall deliver to Parent the undertaking, if any, required by the IBCL. The Indemnified Parties as a group may retain only one law firm to represent them with respect to each such matter unless there is, under applicable standards of professional conduct, a conflict on any significant issue between the positions of any two or more Indemnified Parties. In any case in which the approval by the Surviving Corporation is required to effectuate any indemnification, Parent shall cause the Surviving Corporation to direct, at the election of any Indemnified Party (or, if more than one Indemnified Party, a majority of the Indemnified Parties), that the determination of any such approval shall be made by independent counsel mutually satisfactory to the Surviving Corporation and the Indemnified Party (or, if applicable, a majority of the Indemnified Parties). Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained elsewhere herein, Parent's agreement to indemnify as set forth above shall be limited to cover claims only to the extent that those claims are not covered under the Company's directors' and officers' insurance policies (or any substitute policies permitted by Section 5.7(b)).

         (c) Benefit. The provisions of this Section 5.7 are intended to be for the benefit of, and shall be enforceable by, each Indemnified Party, his heirs and his representatives.

         5.8 Employee Benefit Plans . As soon as administratively feasible after the Effective Time, and subject to any provisions to the contrary that may be set forth in any employment agreement referenced in Section 5.11, the employees of the Company's Subsidiaries shall be
provided with such employee benefits as Parent, directly or through its Subsidiaries, generally provides to employees of its Subsidiaries from time to time, including life, medical, hospitalization and disability insurance and sick pay, personal leave and retirement plan benefits, on a non-discriminatory and substantially similar basis. For purposes of providing such benefits to employees of the Company's Subsidiaries after the Effective Time, and subject to any provisions to the contrary that may be set forth in any employment agreement referenced in Section 5.11, Parent shall credit such employees for years of service at the Company prior to the Effective Time for purposes of (i) eligibility to participate, vesting and eligibility to receive benefits under any Parent Benefit Plan and (ii) benefit accrual under any sickness, personal leave or vacation pay plan. At and after the Effective Time, the directors and officers of the Company's Subsidiaries shall be provided with such directors' and officers' liability insurance coverage as Parent from time to time determines to provide to the directors and officers of its Subsidiaries.

         5.9 Affiliate Shareholders' Vote. Each Affiliate Shareholder shall (a) continue to own and shall not assign, transfer, or otherwise dispose of, or in any way from the date hereof further encumber, his shares of Company Common Stock except as contemplated by this Agreement or set forth in the Company Letter, and shall at all times from the date hereof, through the Shareholders' Meeting, have the full right, power and authority to vote his shares of Company Common Stock free of restrictions, arrangements or limitations thereon, and (b) except with respect to any shares assigned, transferred or disposed of as set forth in the Company Letter, vote, or cause to be voted at the Shareholders' Meeting and at any annual or special meeting of shareholders of the Company where such matters arise, all shares of Company Common Stock held of record or beneficially owned by him on the date hereof and any additional shares that he may hold or beneficially own after the date hereof (i) in favor of the approval of this Agreement, the Merger and the other transactions contemplated hereby, and (ii) against (A) approval of any Acquisition Proposal other than the Merger, or any other proposal made in opposition to or in competition with the Merger or any of the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement and (B) any other action that may reasonably be expected to impede, interfere with, delay, postpone or attempt to discourage the Merger or any of the other transactions contemplated by this Agreement or result in a breach of any of the covenants, representations, warranties or other obligations or agreements of the Company or any Affiliate Shareholder that would materially and adversely affect the Company or its ability to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

         5.10 Releases. At the Closing, each of the directors of the Company and its Subsidiaries shall execute a written general release (in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to Parent ) that releases Parent, Merger Sub, the Surviving Corporation, the Company and each of the Company's Subsidiaries from any and all claims of any type, contractual or otherwise, known or unknown, contingent or direct or indirect, that he may have against Parent, Merger Sub, the Surviving Corporation, the Company or any Subsidiary of the Company as of the Closing Date, whether as a director, officer or employee of the Company or any Subsidiary or otherwise, provided that such general release shall expressly state that there shall be no release effected of (i) claims arising under this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby, (ii) claims arising out of monies on deposit with any banking Subsidiary of the Company or Parent , (iii) claims for compensation accrued and vested but not yet payable as reflected on the books and records of the Company or any Subsidiary made available to Parent and (iv) claims under any deferred compensation or other type agreement specifically identified with respect to such individual and this Section 5.10 in the Company Letter.

         5.11 Employment Agreements. Within 7 days from the date of this Agreement, the Company shall cause First Community Bank & Trust to offer to respectively execute and deliver an employment agreement with Albert R. Jackson III, Keith Lindauer and William Dean Jackson in the forms respectively attached as Exhibits 5.11.1, 5.11.2 and 5.11.3., and if acceptable to such individuals, to execute such agreements within such time period.

         5.12 Redemption of Unconverted Convertible Debt Securties. The Company shall take all necessary actions in sufficient time prior to the Closing to cause all outstanding convertible debt securities to either be redeemed and cancelled or converted into Company Common Stock concurrent with the Closing in accordance with the terms of the redemption and cancellation, or conversion , of such convertible debt securities in effect on the date of the issuance of such securities.


                                   ARTICLE VI

                              CONDITIONS PRECEDENT

         6.1 Conditions to Each Party's Obligation to Effect the Merger . The respective obligation of each party to effect the Merger shall be subject to the satisfaction prior to the Closing Date of the following conditions:

         (a) Shareholder Approval. This Agreement shall have been respectively approved and adopted by the affirmative vote of the holders of the outstanding shares of Company Common Stock.

          (b) Other Approvals. Other than the filing of the Articles of Merger provided for by Section 1.1, all authorizations, consents, orders or approvals of, or declarations or filings with, and all expirations of waiting periods imposed by, any Governmental Entity (all of the foregoing, "Consents") that are necessary for the consummation of the Merger, other than immaterial Consents the failure to obtain which would not have a significant adverse effect on the consummation of the Merger or on Parent and its Subsidiaries, taken as a whole, after consummation of the Merger, shall have been filed, occurred or been obtained (all such permits, approvals, filings and consents and the lapse of all such waiting periods being referred to as the "Requisite Regulatory Approvals") and all such Requisite Regulatory Approvals shall be in full force and effect.

          (c) No Injunctions or Restraints; Illegality. No temporary restraining order, preliminary or permanent injunction or other order issued by any court of competent jurisdiction or other legal restraint or prohibition (an "Injunction") preventing the consummation of the Merger shall be in effect, nor shall any proceeding by any Governmental Entity seeking any of the foregoing be pending. There shall not be any action taken, or any statute, rule, regulation or order enacted, entered, enforced or deemed applicable to the Merger, which makes the consummation of the Merger illegal.

          (d) Burdensome Condition. There shall not be any action taken, or any statute, rule, regulation or order enacted, entered, enforced or deemed applicable to the Merger, by any Governmental Entity which, in connection with the grant of a Requisite Regulatory Approval, imposes any condition or restriction upon Parent or its Subsidiaries, the Company or the Surviving Corporation that would so materially adversely impact the economic or business benefits of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement as to render inadvisable the consummation of the Merger.

         6.2 Conditions to Obligations of Parent and Merger Sub. The obligations of Parent and Merger Sub to effect the Merger are subject to the satisfaction of the following conditions or waiver by Parent on or prior to the Closing Date:

                  (a) Representations and Warranties. The representations and warranties of the Company set forth in this Agreement that are qualified as to materiality shall be true and correct, and the representations and warranties of the Company set forth in this Agreement that are not so qualified shall be true and correct in all material respects, in each case as of the date of this Agreement, and as of the Closing Date as though made on and as of the Closing Date, except to the extent such representation or warranty expressly relates to an earlier date (in which case as of such date), and Parent shall have received a certificate signed on behalf of the Company by the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of the Company to such effect; and further, the representations and warranties of the Company in this Agreement that are qualified by the Company's knowledge shall be true and correct without regard to any such knowledge qualification, and if not true and correct, the inaccuracy or incorrectness of any such representation and warranty (after disregarding any knowledge qualification solely for purposes of this Section 6.2(a)) shall not in Parent's good faith determination be reasonably likely to have a Material Adverse Effect on the Company prior to the Merger or Parent or the Surviving Corporation after consummation of the Merger.

                  (b) Performance of Obligations of the Company and Affiliated Shareholders. The Company and the Affiliated Shareholders shall have performed in all material respects all obligations required to be performed by it under this Agreement at or prior to the Closing Date, and Parent shall have received a certificate signed on behalf of the Company by the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of the Company with respect to the Company to such effect.

                  (c) Consents Under Agreements. The Company shall have obtained the consent or approval of each person (other than the Governmental Entities referred to in Section 6.1(b)) whose consent or approval shall be required in order to permit the succession by the Surviving Corporation pursuant to the Merger to any obligation, right or interest of the Company under any loan or credit agreement, note, mortgage, indenture, lease, license or other agreement or instrument, except those for which failure to obtain such consents and approvals would not, in the reasonable opinion of Parent, individually or in the aggregate, have a Material Adverse Effect on the Surviving Corporation or upon the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby.

                  (d) Employment Agreements. Each of the employment agreements contemplated by Section 5.11 shall have been respectively executed and delivered within 7 days from the date of this Agreement.

         6.3 Conditions to Obligations of the Company . The obligations of the Company to effect the Merger are subject to the satisfaction or waiver by the Company on or prior to the Closing Date of the following conditions:

                  (a) Representations and Warranties. The representations and warranties of Parent and Merger Sub set forth in this Agreement that are qualified as to materiality shall be true and correct, and the representations and warranties of Parent and Merger Sub set forth in this Agreement that are not so qualified shall be true and correct in all material respects, in each case as of the date of this Agreement and as of the Closing Date as though made on and as of the Closing Date, except to the extent such representation or warranty expressly relates to another date (in which case as of such date), and the Company shall have received a certificate signed on behalf of Parent and Merger Sub by the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of Parent and Merger Sub to such effect.

                  (b) Performance of Obligations of Parent and Merger Sub. Parent and Merger Sub shall have performed in all material respects all obligations required to be performed by them under this Agreement at or prior to the Closing Date, and the Company shall have received a certificate signed on behalf of Parent and Merger Sub by the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of Parent and Merger Sub to such effect.

                  (c) Consents Under Agreements. Parent and Merger Sub shall have obtained the consent or approval of each person (other than the Governmental Entities referred to in Section 6.1(b)) whose consent or approval shall be required in connection with the transactions contemplated hereby under any loan or credit agreement, note, mortgage, indenture, lease, license or other agreement or instrument, except those for which failure to obtain such consents and approvals would not, in the reasonable opinion of the Company, individually or in the aggregate, have a Material Adverse Effect on Parent or upon the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby.

                  (d) Fairness Opinion. The Company shall have received an opinion from Austin and Associates, dated as of the date of the Proxy Statement and in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to the Company, that the Merger is fair to the shareholders of the Company from a financial point of view.

                                   ARTICLE VII

                         TERMINATION; AMENDMENT; WAIVER

         7.1 Termination . This Agreement may be terminated at any time prior to the Effective Time of the Merger, whether before or after the approval of this Agreement by the shareholders of the Company:

                  (a)      by mutual written consent of Parent and the Company;

                  (b)      by either Parent or the Company:

                           (i)  if, at a duly held shareholders meeting of the
Company or any adjournment thereof at which approval of this Agreement is voted upon, the approval of the shareholders of the Company shall not have been obtained;

                           (ii)  if the Merger shall not have been consummated
on or before June 30, 2003, unless the failure to consummate the Merger is the result of a willful and material breach of this Agreement by the party seeking to terminate this Agreement;

                           (iii)  if any court of competent jurisdiction or
other Governmental Entity shall have issued an order, decree or ruling or taken any other action permanently enjoining, restraining or otherwise prohibiting the Merger and such order, decree, ruling or other action shall have become final and non-appealable;

                           (iv)   in the event of a breach by the other party of
any representation, warranty, covenant or other agreement contained in this Agreement which (A) would give rise to the failure of a condition set forth in
Section 6.2(a) or 6.2(b) or Section 6.3(a) or 6.3(b), as applicable, and (B) cannot be or has not been cured within 30 days after the giving of written notice to the breaching party of such breach ("Material Breach") (provided that the terminating party is not then in breach of any representation, warranty, covenant or other agreement that would give rise to a failure of a condition described in clause (A) above);

                  (c) by either Parent or the Company in the event that (i) all the conditions to the obligation of such party to effect the Merger set forth in
Section 6.1 shall have been satisfied and (ii) any condition to the obligation of such party to effect the Merger set forth in Section 6.2 (in the case of Parent) or Section 6.3 ( in the case of the Company) is not capable of being satisfied prior to the date on which this Agreement may be terminated pursuant to Section 7.1(b)(ii); and

                  (d) by the Company, subject to Section 7.5(b), if the Board of Directors of the Company shall concurrently approve, and the Company shall concurrently enter into, a definitive agreement providing for the implementation of the transactions contemplated by an Acquisition Proposal; provided, however, that (i) the Company is not then in breach of Section 4.2 or in breach of any other representation, warranty, covenant or agreement that would give rise to a failure of a condition set forth in Section 6.2(a) or 6.2(b); (ii) the Board of Directors of the Company shall have complied with Section 7.5(b) in connection with such Acquisition Proposal and (iii) no termination pursuant to this Section 7.1(d) shall be effective unless the Company shall simultaneously make the payment required by Section 7.2(a).

         7.2  Effect of Termination .

                  (a) In the event that any person shall make an Acquisition Proposal with respect to the Company and thereafter (i) this Agreement is terminated (A) pursuant to Section 7.1(b)(i), (B) pursuant to Section 7.1(b)(ii) (if at the time of termination (x) the Company is in breach of any representation, warranty, covenant or other agreement that would give rise to a failure of a condition set forth in Section 6.2(a) or 6.2(b) and (y) such breach cannot be or has not been cured within 30 days after the Company becomes aware of such breach or such shorter period that may elapse between the date the Company becomes aware of such breach and the time of termination), (C) pursuant to Section 7.1(b)(iii) (if at the time of termination (x) the Company is in breach of any representation, warranty, covenant or other agreement that would give rise to a failure of a condition set forth in Section 6.2(a) or 6.2(b) and
(y) such breach cannot be or has not been cured within 30 days after the Company becomes aware of such breach or such shorter period that may elapse between the date the Company becomes aware of such breach and the time of termination), (D) by Parent pursuant to Section 7.1(b)(iv), (E) by Parent pursuant to Section 7.1(c) unless the termination relates to the failure of a condition set forth in
Section 6.2 (c) or (d), or (F) by the Company pursuant to Section 7.1(d), and
(ii) a definitive agreement with respect to an Acquisition Proposal is executed, or an Acquisition Proposal is consummated, at or within 12 months after such termination, then Parent shall be paid a fee of $460,000, which amount shall be payable by wire transfer of same day funds on the date such agreement is executed, or such Acquisition Proposal is consummated, as applicable. The Company acknowledges that the agreements contained in this Section 7.2(a) are an integral part of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, and that without these agreements, Parent would not enter into this Agreement; accordingly, if the Company fails to promptly pay the amount due pursuant to this Section 7.2(a), and, in order to obtain such payment, Parent commences a suit that results in a judgment against the Company for the fees set forth in this Section 7.2(a), the Company shall also pay to Parent its costs and expenses (including reasonable attorneys' fees) in connection with such suit.

                  (b) In the event of termination of this Agreement by either Parent or the Company as provided in Section 7.1, this Agreement shall forthwith become void and have no effect, without any liability or obligation on the part of Parent, Merger Sub or the Company, other than the provisions of Section 5.1 (penultimate sentence), Section 5.7, this Section 7.2 and Article VIII and except to the extent that such termination results from the willful and material breach by a party of any its representations, warranties, covenants or other agreements set forth in this Agreement.

         7.3 Amendment. This Agreement may be amended by the parties at any time before or after the approval of this Agreement by the shareholders of the Company; provided, however, that after such approval by the shareholders of the

Company, there shall be made no amendment that pursuant to the IBCL requires further approval by the shareholders of the Company without the further approval of such shareholders. This Agreement may not be amended except by an instrument in writing signed on behalf of each of the parties.

         7.4 Extension; Waiver. At any time prior to the Effective Time of the Merger, the parties may (i) extend the time for the performance of any of the obligations or other acts of the other parties; (ii) waive any inaccuracies in the representations and warranties contained in this Agreement or in any document delivered pursuant to this Agreement; or (iii) subject to the proviso of Section 7.3, waive compliance with any of the agreements or conditions contained in this Agreement. Any agreement on the part of a party to any such extension or waiver shall be valid only if set forth in an instrument in writing signed on behalf of such party. The failure of any party to this Agreement to assert any of its rights under this Agreement or otherwise shall not constitute a waiver of such rights.

         7.5      Procedure for Termination, Amendment, Extension or Waiver.

         (a) A termination of this Agreement pursuant to Section 7.1, an amendment of this Agreement pursuant to Section 7.3 or an extension or waiver pursuant to Section 7.4 shall, in order to be effective, require, in the case of Parent, Merger Sub or the Company, action by its Board of Directors or, in the case of an extension or waiver pursuant to Section 7.4, the duly authorized designee of its Board of Directors.

         (b) The Company shall provide to Parent written notice prior to any termination of this Agreement pursuant to Section 7.1(d) advising Parent (i) that the Board of Directors of the Company in the exercise of its good faith judgment as to its fiduciary duties to the shareholders of the Company under applicable law, after receipt of written advice of outside legal counsel, has determined (on the basis of such Acquisition Proposal and the terms of this Agreement, as then in effect) that such termination is required in connection with an Acquisition Proposal that is more favorable to the shareholders of the Company than the transactions contemplated by this Agreement (taking into account all terms of such Acquisition Proposal and this Agreement, including all conditions) and (ii) as to the material terms of any such Acquisition Proposal. At any time after five business days following receipt of such notice, the Company may terminate this Agreement as provided in Section 7.1(d) only if the Board of Directors of the Company determines that such Acquisition Proposal is more favorable to the shareholders of the Company than the transactions contemplated by this Agreement (taking into account all terms of such Acquisition Proposal and this Agreement, including all conditions, and which determination shall be made in light of any revised proposal made by Parent prior to the expiration of such five business day period) and concurrently enters into a definitive agreement providing for the implementation of the transactions contemplated by such Acquisition Proposal.

                                  ARTICLE VIII

                               GENERAL PROVISIONS

         8.1 Non-Survival of Representations and Warranties . None of the representations and warranties in this Agreement or in any instrument delivered pursuant to this Agreement shall survive the Effective Time of the Merger. This
Section 8.1 shall not limit any covenant or agreement of the parties that by its terms contemplates performance after the Effective Time of the Merger.

         8.2 Notices. All notices and other communications required or sought to be given hereunder shall be in writing and shall be deemed given upon (i) transmitter's confirmation of receipt of a facsimile transmission, (ii) confirmed delivery by a standard overnight carrier or when delivered by hand or
(iii) the expiration of five business days after the day when mailed by certified or registered mail, postage prepaid, addressed to the parties at the following addresses (or at such other address for a party as shall be specified by like notice):

          (a)      If to Parent or
                           Merger Sub, to:  MainSource Financial Group, Inc.
                                            201 N. Broadway
                                            Greensburg, Indiana 47240
                                            Attn: Donald A. Benziger,
                                                   Senior Vice President and
                                                   Chief Financial Officer

                                            Telecopy No. (812) 663-4812

          With a copy (which
         shall not constitute
         notice) to:                        David W. Harper, Esq.
                                            The Summit Suite 110
                                            4350 Brownsboro Road
                                            Louisville, Kentucky 40207

                                            Telecopy No. (502) 893-4503


         (b)  If to the Company, to:        First Community Bancshares, Inc.
                                            34 W. Jefferson Street
                                            P.O. Box 970
                                            Franklin, Indiana 46106

                                            Attn: Albert R. Jackson, III,
                                                  Chief Executive Officer

                                            Telecopy No. (317)  346-7210

         With a copy (which
         shall not constitute
         notice)  to:                       O. Wayne  Davis, Esq.
                                            Henderson Daily Withrow and DeVoe
                                            2600 One Indiana Square
                                            Indianapolis, Indiana 46204-2071

                                            Telecopy No. (317) 639-0191


and

(d)      If to any Affiliated Shareholder,
            to:                          [Name of Noticed Affiliate Shareholder]
                                         [Address of Record on Company's Books]

         8.3 Interpretation . Unless the context otherwise requires, words describing the singular number shall include the plural and vice versa, and words denoting any gender shall include all genders and words denoting natural persons shall include corporations and other entities and vice versa. Any table of contents, index of terms, headings and captions contained in this Agreement are for reference purposes only and shall not affect in any way the meaning or interpretation of this Agreement. When a reference is made in this Agreement to any "Section, "Annex," "Exhibit" or "Schedule," such reference shall be to a section, annex, exhibit or schedule to this Agreement unless otherwise indicated. Whenever the words "include," "includes" or "including" are used in this Agreement, they shall be deemed to be followed by the words "without limitation." Whenever the words "or any Subsidiary", "or any Subsidiaries," "nor any Subsidiary" or "nor any Subsidiaries" are used in this Agreement in connection with a preceding reference to a party to this Agreement, they shall be deemed to refer to a Subsidiary or Subsidiaries of that party. The phrase "made available" in this Agreement shall mean that the information referred to has been made available if requested by the party to whom such information is to be made available, and the correlative phrase "make available" shall mean that such information shall be promptly made available if so requested. The phrases "the date of this Agreement," "the date hereof" and terms of similar import, unless the context otherwise requires, shall be deemed to refer to March 26, 2003. The "knowledge" of Parent, Merger Sub or the Company for purposes of certain provisions of this Agreement qualified by the knowledge of any of such party shall mean the actual knowledge, without additional inquiry, of any one or more of the directors and executive officers of that party and its direct and indirect Subsidiaries.

         8.4 Assignment; Binding Effect; Benefit . Neither this Agreement nor any of the rights, interests or obligations hereunder shall be assigned by any of the parties hereto (whether by operation of law or otherwise) without the prior written consent of the other parties. Subject to the preceding sentence, this Agreement shall be binding upon and shall inure to the benefit of the parties hereto and their respective successors and assigns. Notwithstanding anything contained in this Agreement to the contrary, except for the provisions of Article II and Sections 5.7 and 5.8 (collectively, the "Third Party Provisions"), nothing in this Agreement, express or implied, is intended to confer on any person other than the parties hereto or their respective heirs, successors, executors, administrators and assigns any rights, remedies, obligations or liabilities under or by reason of this Agreement. The Third Party Provisions may be enforced on behalf of the Company or the other respective beneficiaries thereof by those individuals who were the directors of the Company immediately prior to the Effective Time and also by the holder of Company Common Stock converted in the Merger, the Indemnified Party or the officer or employee that such provisions respectively are intended to benefit and their respective heirs and representatives. Parent shall pay all expenses, including attorneys' fees, that may be incurred by such directors or other persons in enforcing the Third Party Provisions.

         8.5 Governing Law . This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of Indiana regardless of the laws that might otherwise govern under applicable principles of conflicts of laws thereof.

         8.6 Counterparts . This Agreement may be executed in separate counterparts, each of which when so executed and delivered shall be an original, but all of which shall together constitute one and the same instrument. Each counterpart may consist of a number of copies hereof each signed by less than all, but together signed by all of the parties hereto. It shall not be necessary, in making proof of this Agreement or any counterpart hereof, to produce or account for any of the other counterparts.

         8.7 Severability . Any term or provision of this Agreement that is invalid or unenforceable shall be ineffective to the extent of such invalidity or unenforceability without rendering invalid or unenforceable the remaining terms and provisions of this Agreement. If any provision of this Agreement is so broad as to be unenforceable, the provision shall be interpreted to be only so broad as is enforceable.

         8.8 Incorporation of Documents . The Company Letter, Parent Letter, and all Annexes, Exhibits and Schedules, if any, attached hereto and referred to herein are incorporated into this Agreement and made a part hereof for all purposes as if fully set forth herein.

         8.9 Enforcement. The parties agree that irreparable damage would occur in the event that any of the provisions of this Agreement were not performed in accordance with its specific terms or were otherwise breached. It is accordingly agreed that the parties shall be entitled to seek an injunction or injunctions to prevent breaches of this Agreement and to enforce specifically the terms and provisions of this Agreement in any court of the United States located in the State of Indiana or in Indiana state court, this being in addition to any other remedy to which a party is entitled at law or in equity.

         8.10 Waivers. Except as provided in this Agreement or in any waiver pursuant to Section 7.4, no action taken pursuant to this Agreement, including any investigation by or on behalf of any party, shall be deemed to constitute a waiver by the party taking such action of compliance with any representations, warranties, covenants or agreements contained in this Agreement. The waiver by any party hereto of a breach of any provision hereunder shall not operate or be construed as a waiver of any prior or subsequent breach of the same or any other provision hereunder.

         8.11 Entire Agreement . This Agreement constitutes the entire agreement between the parties with respect to the subject matter hereof and supersedes all prior agreements and understandings, both written and oral, among the parties with respect to the subject matter hereof.



                            [Signature page follows]

         IN WITNESS WHEREOF, each of the corporate parties has caused this Agreement to be signed on its behalf by its officers thereunto duly authorized, and each of the Affiliated Shareholders has signed this Agreement, in each case as of the date first set out in the first paragraph of this Agreement.


                                                 ("Parent")
                                       MAINSOURCE FINANCIAL GROUP, INC.

                                       By: /s/ James L. Saner, Sr.
                                           --------------------------
                                           James L. Saner, Sr., President and
                                           Chief Executive Officer

                                                ("Merger Sub")
                                       FCBY MERGER CORPORATION


                                       By: /s/ James L. Saner, Sr.
                                           --------------------------
                                           President and Chief Executive Officer

                                               (the "Company")
                                       FIRST COMMUNITY  BANCSHARES, INC.

                                       By: /s/ Albert R. Jackson, III
                                           --------------------------
                                           Albert R. Jackson, III,
                                           Chief Executive Officer

                                           (the "Affiliated Shareholders")

                                           /s/ Albert R. Jackson, Jr.
                                           --------------------------
                                           Albert R. Jackson, Jr.

                                           /s/ Albert R. Jackson, III
                                           --------------------------
                                           Albert R. Jackson, III

                                           /s/ Frank D. Neese
                                           --------------------------
                                           Frank D. Neese

                                           /s/ artin Umbarger
                                           --------------------------
                                           Roy Martin Umbarger

                                           /s/ Merrill M. Wesemann, M. D.
                                           --------------------------
                                           Merrill M. Wesemann, M. D.