Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results

The following termsareusedthroughoutthispresentationtoreferSVB-specific tocertain metrics: Contents andGlossary 38 39 41 14 37 15 4 8 3 • • • Q2 2018 maturity ("HTM") securities heldonthebalance sheet. ("HTM") securities maturity Fixed Income Securities investment funds. Total Client Funds– Please seenon-GAAPreconciliations attheendofthis presentationfor moreinformation. charges, foreign exchange andlending-related fees, inaggregate. This isanon-GAAPmeasure. Core Fee Income – Non-GAAP reconciliations Capital environment Regulatory Interest ratesensitivity Financial performance Outlook for 2018 ofresults Q2 2018overview About SVB non-GAAP financialmeasures informationImportant regardingforward-lookingstatements and useof Corporate and Financial Results Overview fees clientinvestments, creditcards,depositservice fromlettersofcredit, the sumofon-balance sheetdeposits andoff-balance sheetclient – Comprised primarily ofavailable-for-sale ("AFS") primarily Comprised andheld-to- 2 SVB20144:3

non-GAAP calculation ofthefinancial measure.Please refertothatsection formore information. provided reconciliations of,whereapplicable,the most comparableGAAP financialmeasures to thenon-GAAP financialmeasuresusedin thispresentation,orareconciliation ofthe superior to,netincome orotherfinancialmeasures preparedinaccordancewithGAAP. Under the“Non-GAAP reconciliations”sectionat theendofthispresentation,we have other interestedparties intheevaluationofcompanies inourindustry. However, thesenon-GAAP financialmeasuresshould beconsideredinadditionto,not asasubstituteforor non-GAAP financial measuresalsofacilitateacomparisonofourperformance topriorperiods.We believethesemeasures arefrequentlyusedbysecuritiesanalysts,investorsand that investorsbenefitfromreferring to,thesenon-GAAP financialmeasuresin assessingouroperatingresultsandwhenplanning,forecasting analyzingfutureperiods. These indicated, or(ii) providingadditional informationusedbymanagementthatisnototherwiserequired byGAAP orotherapplicablerequirements. Ourmanagementuses,andbelieves information regardingourperformance by:(i) excludingamountsattributabletonon-controllinginterests forwhichweeffectively donotreceivethe economicbenefitorcostof,where We believe that thesenon-GAAP financialmeasures,when takentogetherwiththecorrespondingGAAP financialmeasures(asapplicable),providemeaningfulsupplemental   presented inaccordancewithGAAP. A non-GAAP financialmeasuremayalsobeametricthatisnotrequiredbyGAAP orotherapplicablerequirement. measure ofacompany’s performancethateither excludesorincludesamountsthatarenotnormallyexcludedincludedinthemostdirectlycomparablemeasurecalculatedand by othercompaniesinourindustry. Non-GAAP financialmeasuresarenotinaccordancewith,oranalternativefor, GAAP. Generally, anon-GAAP financialmeasureisanumerical expense andnon-GAAP financialratios)of performance. These supplementalperformancemeasuresmayvaryfrom,andnotbecomparable to,similarlytitledmeasures GAAP corefeeincome,non-GAAP noninterestincome,non-GAAP netgainsoninvestmentsecurities,non-GAAP non-marketableandothersecurities,non-GAAP noninterest To supplementourfinancialdisclosuresthatarepresentedinaccordancewithGAAP, weusecertainnon-GAAP measuresoffinancialperformance(including,butnotlimitedto,non-   Use ofNon-GAAP FinancialMeasures   This presentationshallnotconstituteanoffer orsolicitationinconnectionwithanysecurities.   as requiredbylaw. are madeonlyasofthedatethispresentation.We assumenoobligationanddonotintendtoreviseorupdateanyforward-lookingstatementscontainedinthispresentation, except Company’s actualresultstodiffer materiallyfromthosecontainedinourprojectionsorotherforward-lookingstatements. All forward-lookingstatementsincludedinthispresentation Quarterly ReportonForm10-Q;and(iii)ourmostrecentearningsreleasefiled8-K. These documentscontainandidentifyimportantriskfactorsthatcouldcausethe We referyoutothedocumentsCompanyfilesfromtimewithSecuritiesandExchangeCommission,including(i)ourlatest Annual ReportonForm10-K;(ii)ourlatest   required byGenerally Accepted Accounting Principles(GAAP); andregulatory, taxorlegalchangestheirimpactonus. liquidity ofourclientsorunanticipatedeffects ofcreditconcentrationriskswhichcreateorexacerbatedeteriorationsuchcreditworthinessliquidity;accountingchanges,as hold derivativeinstrumentsorequitywarrantassets;variationsfromourexpectationsastofactorsimpactingcoststructure;changes inourassessmentofthecreditworthinessor especially onourloanandinvestmentportfolios;changesindepositlevels;theperformanceorequityvaluationsoffunds orcompaniesinwhichwehaveinvested of IPOsandM&A activities);changesinthevolumeandcreditqualityofourloans;impact changesininterestratesormarketlevelsfactorsaffecting oraffected bythem, deterioration, weakerthanexpectedimprovement,orotherchangesinthestateofeconomymarketswhichweconduct businessorareservedbyus(includingthelevels Important factorsthatcouldcauseouractualresultsandfinancialconditiontodiffer fromtheexpectationsstatedinforward-lookingstatementsinclude,amongothers: trends. Ouractualresultsofoperationsandfinancialperformancecoulddiffer significantlyfromthoseexpressedinorimpliedbyourmanagement’s forward-lookingstatements. We wishtocautionyouthatsuchstatementsarejustpredictionsandactualeventsorresultsmaydiffer materially, duetochangesineconomic,businessandregulatoryfactors   these expectationsonourcurrentbeliefsaswellassumptions,andsuchmayprovetobeincorrect. such results)forcertainquartersin,andthefullyear2018. Although webelievethattheexpectations reflectedintheseforward-lookingstatementsarereasonable,wehavebased including potentialinvestmentgains,loangrowth,mix,yields,creditquality, deposits,noninterestincome,andexpenselevels; andfinancialresults(andthecomponentsof expectations about,amongotherthings:economicconditions;opportunitiesinthemarket;outlookonourclients'performance;financial, credit,andbusinessperformance, “seek,” “expect,”“plan,”“intend,”thene Forward-Looking Statements Important information Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview " could, " would, " “predict,” “potential,”“continue,”“anticipate,”“believe,”“estimate,” 3 SVB 2014 4:3

SVB: A unique financial services company 35 years of focus on innovation companies, investors and influencers Strong market position Robust client funds franchise Diversified revenue streams $54B assets Global presence $25B loans $119B total client funds Average balances for Q2'18 Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 4

(Early Stage) Accelerator Revenue <$5M Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview Technology +LifeHealthcare Sciences $5M-$75M Growth Revenue Innovation Economy We serve theglobal Corp Fin Corp Revenue >$75M Venture Capital Private Equity Investors Wealth Management Individuals Private Bank 5 SVB 2014 4:3

Serving innovative companies and the investors and individuals behind them Silicon Valley Bank SVB Capital SVB Private Bank/ Global commercial banking Private venture investing Wealth Advisory for innovators, enterprises expertise, oversight Private banking and investment and investors and fund management strategies for influencers in the innovation ecosystem Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 6

A strong, seasoned management team • • Q2 2018 Diverse experience andskillsets to helpdirectourgrowth Average tenureof11years atSVB Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 2 years atSVB CHIEF RISKOFFICER Laura Izurieta 5 years atSVB CHIEF MARKETINGOFFICER Michelle Draper 22 years atSVB HEAD OFTECHNOLOGY BANKING John China 1 year atSVB CHIEF FINANCIALOFFICER Dan Beck 3 years atSVB CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER Roger Leone 2 years atSVB CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER Mike Dreyer 9 years atSVB PRESIDENT OFTHEUKBRANCH HEAD OFEMEAAND Phil Cox 25 years atSVB SVB FINANCIALGROUP PRESIDENT ANDCEO Greg Becker 4 years atSVB GENERAL COUNSEL Michael Zuckert 14 years atSVB OFFICER CHIEF HUMANRESOURCES Chris Edmonds-Waters 13 years atSVB SILICON VALLEY BANK PRESIDENT Mike Descheneaux years26 atSVB CHIEF CREDIT OFFICER Marc Cadieux 7 SVB 2014 4:3

StrongQ2'18 Market Market Factors Tailwinds in First Half 2018 Strong Liquidity Higher Interest Rates Lower Taxes • Strong VC funding • Fed Funds +25 bps in • SVB's effective tax rate ($57.5B), exceeds full year March and June decreased to 25.9%, total for six of the past 10 • 1M LIBOR +53 bps compared to 42.0% for years 3M LIBOR +65 bps FY 2017 and reflects: • Improving pace of U.S. VC- • 5Y Treasury +53 bps ◦ Federal tax cuts backed, Tech/LS IPOs (43) ◦ Share-based comp. • Healthy valuation trends in excess tax benefits public/private markets Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 8

Q2'18 takeaways EPS: $4.42 Net Income: $238 million Highlights (vs. Q1'18) • Outstanding Growth • Non-interest expense: +15.2% – Average total client funds: +8.0% • Stable credit quality – Average client funds: +10.8% • Lower effective tax rate – Average deposit growth: +4.0% • Bank Tier 1 Leverage ratio: 7.72% – Average loans: +4.4% (+3 bps) – Net interest income: +11.2% • Improved revenue growth outlook as a – Core fee income: +7.1% result of June rate hike – Investment gains, net of NCI: $26.4M • Regulatory relief from passage of – Efficiency ratio: 46.4% Regulatory Relief Act* – Return on equity: 20.82% (+270 bps) Challenges • Improved momentum in exit markets, but still not back to historical levels • Impact of market liquidity on valuations and loan growth • Market anxiety over escalating global trade/tariff war Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results * Economic Growth, Regulatory Relief and Consumer Protection Act 9

Q2'18 key earnings drivers • +$48.5M of loan and investment interest income from strong loan and deposit growth, higher rates • +$8.1M of core fees due to higher client investment fees driven by higher balances and spreads • $19.1M of equity warrant gains due to positive funding and exit environments for our clients • $26.4M of investment securities gains, net of NCI, due to positive funding and Positive earnings impact earnings Positive exit environments for our clients • Lower income tax expense due to excess tax benefits from share-based compensation (24.5% effective tax rate) • Stable credit quality +$40.3M of noninterest expense including ◦ $16.2M of higher compensation and benefits expense, mostly related to outperformance and investments in people ◦ $12.0M for planned investments in our processes and growth initiatives ◦ $7.0M write-off of previously capitalized costs related to CCAR Negative earnings impact earnings Negative preparation* * As a result of the passage of the Economic Growth , Regulatory Relief and Consumer Protection Act. which will raise the SIFI threshold from $50B to $250B, investments in software/systems for SIFI preparation that were no longer needed were written off. The total write-off was $7.0M of which $6.0M was previously capitalized professional services costs and $1.0M was capitalized employee compensation costs. Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 10

Quarterly highlights Return onaverage assets(annualized) (annualized) Return onaverage SVBFG stockholders’equity Effective taxrate Non-interest expense (annualized) Net charge-offs /Average totalgross loans controlling interests non-interestincome,Non-GAAP netofnon- non-interestincomeGAAP Net interestincome Net interestmargin Average fixed income securities Change Average off-balancesheetclient investment funds Change Average deposits Change Average loans Net income available tocommon stockholders Diluted earnings pershare 3) 2) 1) Q2 2018 following taxreform. interests. Q4'17included$37.6M ofadditionalincometaxexpenseduetotherevaluationdeferred taxassetsandinvestmentsinlowincomehousingcreditfunds Our effective taxrateiscalculatedbydividingincomeexpensethesum ofincomebeforetaxexpenseandnetattributable tononcontrolling This isanon-GAAP measure.Pleaseseenon-GAAP reconciliations atendofthispresentationformoreinformation. treasury andtaxmanagementobjectives. EPS wasimpacted$0.80dueto the $37.6Mofadditionalincometaxexpenseduetoreformand $8.8Mofpre-taxlosseson AFS securitysalesinconnectionwithour Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 3 2 $119.0M $342.7M $128.5M $251.2M $123.2M 36.78% 12.75% $20.5B $49.1B 0.44% $42.1B 3.00% $21.5B 1.04% Q2'17 $2.32 6.5% 5.5% 2.2% $374.0M $148.6M $158.8M $257.8M $153.2M 39.58% 14.59% $44.0B $21.6B $53.3B $23.1B 0.19% 3.10% 1.18% $2.79 Q3'17 4.5% 8.5% 5.2% $264.0M $144.5M $393.7M $152.3M $117.2M 53.54% 11.09% $44.8B $22.4B $57.6B $23.8B 0.92% 0.23% 3.20% Q4'17 $2.19 4.0% 8.1% 1.7% 1 $419.9M $265.4M $195.0M $142.5M $155.5M 27.50% 18.12% $64.4B $24.0B $46.1B $23.8B 0.15% 3.38% 1.51% 11.8% Q1'18 $3.63 3.0% 6.1% $466.4M $305.7M $237.8M $183.2M $192.7M 20.82% 24.53% $48.0B $24.9B $25.2B $71.3B 0.22% 3.59% 10.8% 1.75% $4.42 Q2'18 4.0% 4.4% 11 SVB 2014 4:3

Return onaverage assets(annualized) (annualized) Return onaverage SVBFG stockholders’equity Effective taxrate Non-interest expense (annualized) Net charge-offs /Average totalgross loans controlling interests non-interestincomeNon-GAAP ,netofnon- non-interestincomeGAAP Net interestincome Net interestmargin Average fixed-income securities funds Average off-balancesheetclient investment Change Average deposits Change Average loans Net income available tocommon stockholders Diluted earnings pershare Annual highlights 7) 6) 5) 4) 3) 2) 1) tax reform. Included in2017 is$37.6Mofadditionalincometax expenseduetotherevaluation ofdeferredtaxassetsandinvestments inlowincomehousingtax creditfundsfollowing Our effective taxrateiscalculated bydividingincometaxexpense bythesumofincomebefore incometaxexpenseandnet attributabletononcontrolling interests. Non-GAAP noninterestincome, netofnon-controllinginterests isanon-GAAP measure.Pleaseseenon-GAAP reconciliations atendofthispresentation formoreinformation Includes available-for-sale andheld-to-maturitysecurities heldonthebalancesheet and taxmanagementobjectives. EPS wasimpacted$0.80dueto the $37.6Mofadditionalincometaxexpenseduetoreformand $8.8Moflosseson AFS security salesinconnectionwithourtreasury component ofnoninterestexpense. All priorperiodshavebeen revisedtoreflectthischange. for unfundedcreditcommitments togetherasour“provisionforcreditlosses”.Inpriorperiods’ presentation,ourprovision forunfundedcreditcommitmentswerereportedasa In Q1'17werevisedpriorperiods’ presentationof noninterestexpensetoconformthecurrentperiodpresentation, whichreflectourprovisionforloanlossesand prospective basiswithnochanges topriorperiodamounts. of Accounting StandardsUpdate2016-09,ImprovementstoEmployee Share-BasedPayment Accounting inthefirstquarterof2017. This guidancewasadoptedona Included indilutedearningspercommonshareandnetincomeavailable tocommonstockholdersin2017and2018aretaxbenefitsrecognizedassociatedwiththeadoption Includes post-taxnetlossof$11.4M relatedtothesaleofourSVBIF entityinIndia Q2 2018 Change Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 7 6 5 $263.9M $856.6M $700.7M 10.46% $352.5M $572.2M 41.02% 0.80% $30.0B $16.6B $28.3B 24.0% 44.4% $11.5B 0.32% 23.0% 2.81% $5.31 2014 1 1 1 1 $1,006.4M $780.0M $343.9M $472.8M $441.1M 39.95% 11.18% $14.8B $36.3B $39.2B 0.84% 0.30% $22.3B 30.6% 28.2% 28.3% 2.57% $6.62 2015 $1,150.5M $448.5M $456.6M $859.8M $382.7M 10.90% 39.55% $43.4B $38.8B 0.46% $18.3B $21.5B 0.87% 10.5% 23.8% 2.72% 6.8% 2016 $7.31 $1,420.4M $1,010.7M $490.5M $527.8M $557.2M 42.02% 12.38% $22.4B $42.7B 2017 $51.5B $9.20 $21.2B 3.05% 0.27% 18.8% 1.01% 10.3% 15.7% 2,3 4 6/30/18 YTD $886.3M $432.8M $348.2M $325.7M $571.2M 25.90% 19.51% $24.6B $47.0B $24.3B $67.8B 3.50% 0.18% 14.6% 1.63% 31.7% 10.1% $8.05 12 SVB 2014 4:3

Key performance indicators A v $ Billions g $ Millions . $ $ $ $ Q2 2018 $ L 2 3 $ 1 2 $ 1 $ $ 0 0 0 0 5 5 5 o 1 1 $ , , a 0 5 5 n 0 0 0 2 $ N $ Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0 0 0 s 1 1 e , 4 1 t . 2 n 5 0 $ I e 1 8 n 2 4 $ 0 t 5 1 t 1 7 o 4 e 5 2 $ . f r 8 0 1 e , 1 u 5 0 2 s $ 0 n 0 t 1 1 e 6 2 6 8 $ I 0 a . 1 n 1 3 , 6 r 1 c 2 n 5 Y $ o 0 e 1 T 1 2 $ Y 2 m D 7 1 d T 0 1 6 . D , 1 2 e 4 / 6 7 3 i n / 2 0 $ 3 0 / c 0 1 2 $ o / 8 4 1 8 . 8 m 3 8 6 e $ Billions $ $ 1 $ 1 0 5 5 $ 0 0 0 $ Millions 0 $ A $ $ $ A 4 2 2 3 1 v 0 v $ g $ $ 0 0 0 0 $ g . 1 3 5 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 c 0 8 8 . l i . e . . T 2 0 3 3 n 0 C t o $ o 1 2 f 2 t 4 0 u $ $ $ r n a 1 3 3 1 7 d e 0 5 l s 6 2 9 5 . . . C F 5 2 0 3 $ e 1 l 2 5 2 i e 6 0 e $ $ $ 5 4 3 1 n 8 2 I 6 8 3 2 n 0 t $ . . . 8 4 c 1 2 F 6 3 o A 1 2 u v 6 m Y g $ 0 $ n Y $ 2 T . 9 4 1 5 d T 0 d e D 7 $ 4 1 2 D 1 e s 3 . p . 6 . 7 5 7 2 6 o 7 / / 3 s 9 3 i 0 t $ 0 s $ / $ 1 $ / 1 4 6 1 8 1 2 7 7 8 4 3 . . 0 . 8 8 8 0 4 5 2 3 1% % % % % % $ Millions 2 2 $ 0 $ 1 1 . 1 8 $ $ $ $ , 4 , 0 4 6 8 1 2 2 N % 0 0 0 0 0 0 N $ e 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 o 2 t 2 2 n 0 I 0 1 . 5 i $ 5 n 1 n 7 4 7 t % t 0 e e 1 2 2 r r e 0 0 2 $ e 1 . 7 1 s 7 5 s 6 8 t 2 t 0% 2 M 0 E $ x 1 2 a 8 Y 0 3 6 p r 6 T 1 . 0 g e Y 0 D 7 2 5 i T n $ 6 0 % D n 1 1 s / 6 , 3 7 e 0 0 / 3 3 1 / . 1 1 0 4 8 / 9 1 $ 5 8% 7 13 1 SVB 2014 4:3

Assumes nointerest rate increases 2019 5) 4) 3) 2) 1) * These arenon-GAAP measures 2018 full-year outlook Allowance for loanlosses for totalgross Non-performing loans/total grossloans Non-performing performing loansasa%of totalgross performing Outlook doesnotassumeanyfuturerateincreases change, andactualresultsmaydiffer, basedonourperformancerelativetointernaltargets. Our outlookfornoninterestexpenseispartlybasedonmanagement's currentforecastofperformance-basedincentivecompensationexpenses.Suchforecastsaresubjectto investors. See"UseofNon-GAAP Financial Measures"attheendofourquarterlyearningsreleaseforfurtherinformationregardingcalculationandlimitationsthismeasure. noninterest expenseforfiscal2017isincludedinthispresentation, aswebelievesuchreconciliationwouldimplyadegreeofprecisionthatbeconfusingormisleadingto presented withoutunreasonable efforts, noreconciliationfortheoutlookofnon-GAAP noninterestexpense(excludingexpenses relatedtononcontrollinginterests)GAAP to noncontrollinginterests. As weareunabletoquantifysuch line itemsthatwouldberequiredtoincludedinthecomparable GAAP financialmeasureforthefutureperiod Noninterest expense(excludingexpenses relatedtononcontrollinginterests)isanon-GAAP measure,whichrepresentsnoninterestexpense,but excludesexpensesattributable release forfurtherinformationregarding thecalculationandlimitationsofthismeasure. believe suchreconciliationwould implyadegreeofprecisionthatwouldbeconfusingormisleading toinvestors.See"UseofNon-GAAP Financial Measures"attheendofthis presented withoutunreasonable efforts, noreconciliationfortheoutlookofnon-GAAP corefeeincometoGAAP noninterestincomeforfiscal2017isincludedinthisrelease, aswe conditions beyondourcontrol. As weareunabletoquantifysuch lineitemsthatwouldberequiredtoincludedinthecomparable GAAP financialmeasureforthefutureperiod Core feeincomeisanon-GAAP measure,whichrepresentsnoninterestincome, butexcludescertainlineitemswhereperformanceistypically subject tomarketorother described under the section"Forward-LookingStatements". cash intoinvestment securities.Suchforecastsare subjecttochange,andactualresults maydiffer, basedonmarketconditions, actualprepaymentratesand otherfactors Our outlookfornet interestincomeandnet marginisbasedprimarilyonmanagement's currentforecastofaverage depositandloanbalances anddeploymentofsurplus expenses relatedtonon-controlling Non-interest expense (excluding expenses Non-interest expense (excluding Q2 2018 related tonon-controlling interests) Please see our most recent Financial Release and earnings call transcript forcomplete Please seeourmostrecent Financial Releaseandearnings calltranscript Net loancharge-offs Net interestincome Net interestmargin Effective Tax Rate Core fee income* Average deposits information onmanagement'sthis outlook. assumptionsandforecastsregarding Business Driver performing loans performing Corporate andFinancial Results Overview Average loans Preliminary interests)* Net loancharge-offs Net interestincome Business Driver Average deposits Core fee income Average loans Between 0.20% and0.40% ofavg. 2018 FullYear Outlookvs. 2017 Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Between 0.40% and0.60% of Between 26.0% and28.0% Between 3.55% and3.65% Comparable to2017 levels outlook Full Year Results total grossloans total grossloans the midthirties the lowthirties the highteens the lowteens the lowteens 2018 FullYear Outlookvs. 2017 Full (as of Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Increase atapercentage ratein Between 0.30%-0.50% ofavg. (as of the highteenstolowtwenties the mid-teenstohighteens 7/26/2018 Outlook increased Outlook increased Outlook decreased Outlook decreased Outlook increased Outlook increased the lowdoubledigits the highsingledigits gross loansfrompreviousoutlookof0.50% and 0.70% Outlook decreased total grossloansfrompreviousoutlookof0.30% and Outlook increased total grossloans 7/26/2018 previous outlookofbetween 27.0% and30.0% Year Results the mid-teens previous outlookof3.50%and3.60% ) Change from4/26/18 to mid thirties frompreviousoutlookof tomidthirties to low thirties frompreviousoutlookof tolowthirties tobetween0.40% and0.60% oftotal tolowteensfromprevious outlookof tolowteensfrompreviousoutlookof tobetween0.20% and0.40% ofavg. low doubledigits low doubledigits tobetween26.0% and 28.0% from tobetween3.55% and3.65% from high twenties ) low thirties No change No change 0.50% 14 SVB 2014 4:3

Q2'18 Growth driven primarily by Private Equity and Private Bank andPrivate Equity by Private primarily driven Growth Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview Billions $ $ $ $ : Average loansgrew 2 3 2 1 0 0 5 5 $ $ Q 2 2 2 0 1 ' 1 . . 0 5 7 A v e r a g Q $ $ e 2 2 3 l 1 2 o ' 1 . . a 6 2 7 n s Q $ $ 2 2 4 2 3 ' P 1 . . 4 1 7 e 4.4% r i o d - e n $ Q $ d 2 2 1 l 4 3 ' o 1 . . a 8 8 6 n s $ Q $ 2 2 2 6 4 ' 1 . . 0 9 8 15 SVB 2014 4:3

W $ P 0 3 i A diversified loanportfolio n r % . 9 i e v a t e Q2 2018 B $ 1 a 2 1 n V Gross Loans: P . % 9 k e Corporate andFinancial Results Overview r i n v t a u $ 4 t r 1 e e 7 2 % E C . O q 2 a $ u t p 0 2 h i i t . % e t y 4 a r / l 3 $26.2 billion S I o n f 2 $ t t e 4 6 w r % . a n 3 r e Life Science/ e t 1,2 Healthcare / $2.2, 8% $1.3, 5% Hardware Technology andLife Science/Healthcare Only 3) 2) 1) Primarily capitalcalllinesofcredit Primarily loans) inourearnings releasesandourForm 10-Kand10-Q reports. Bankincludes loansdesignatedasConsumerPrivate Loans (includingreal estatesecured As of 6/30/2018 $9.8 billion ; grossloansdonot includedeferred fees andcosts. Sponsored Buyout Non-Early Stage Balance Sheet Early Stage $1.6 $2.3 $2.1 $1.3 $2.4 Other ( ( ( ( ( ( 37% 8% 9% 6% 5% 9% ) ) ) ) ) ofGrossLoans) is asset-based lending Investor-dependent 2 Investor-dependent 1 Cash flowdependent2 Cash flowdependent1 covered by current Cash flowandhybrid Revenue: $0-$5M Revenue >$5M Balance-sheet assets; dependent $1.0B 16 1 SVB 2014 4:3

Our loan portfolio has evolved over time • Private Equity has driven the majority of recent growth, although we have seen growth in all niches • Our Private Equity portfolio has historically been characterized by lower yields (relative to the rest of our portfolio) and high credit quality Loans, net of unearned income 12% $30 11% 10% $26.0 $24.6 $25 9% 9% $23.1 $1.3 $1.3 $2.1 8% 8% $19.9 $1.2 $1.9 $20 $1.8 $2.9 $2.7 s $16.7 $1.2 $2.6 n $1.9 o i $14.4 l $15 $1.1 $6.2 l $2.2 i $1.7 $6.2 B $1.1 $6.2 6% $10.9 $1.3 $1.8 $8.9 $1.3 $5.6 $10 $1.2 $7.0 $1.1 $1.2 $5.4 $5.5 $5.5 $1.1 $1.0 $5.0 $4.5 $0.8 $11.2 $12.2 $5 $4.1 $10.0 $0.7 $3.3 $7.7 $0.6 $2.5 $4.6 $5.5 $1.7 $1.4 $1.8 $2.4 $0 $1.1 $0.9 $1.0 $1.1 $1.7 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 3/31/18 6/30/18 Private equity/venture capital Hardware Software/internet Premium wine Private Bank Other Life science/healthcare Early-stage loans as % of loan portfolio Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 17

Large loan concentration in Private Equity capital call lines, which have a history of zero credit losses Capital call lines have maturities of less than a year and are secured by contractual capital commitments and the invested assets of the fund borrowers. Gross loans to any single client equal to or greater than $20 million $14 $12.6 $12 $10.5 $10 $8.9 $2.1 s n $8 $2.2 o $6.8 i l l $6.2 i $1.9 B $6 $4.3 $1.9 $8.7 $4 $3.2 $1.9 $6.8 $2.1 $5.3 $2 $1.6 $1.3 $1.0 $1.3 $1.1 $3.1 $3.6 $0.7 $1.0 $1.5 $0 $0.5 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 6/30/18 Private equity/venture capital Private Bank Software/internet Premium wine Life science/healthcare Other Hardware Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 18

Q2'18 Q2 2018 federal statutory tax rate of 35 percent for periods prior to2018and 21 percent forfederal tax rateof35percentprior 2018 statutory for periods * Net interest income ispresentedon afully taxableequivalent basistoconsistently andtax-exempt income reflect from taxableloansandsecurities basedon the securities Millions $ $ $ $ $ 4 5 2 3 1 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0 0 0 $ 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 5 $ Q N Higher average loanandinvestment balances andhigher interest . . 8 0 2 e 6 : Net interest income grew 11.2% ' t 7 0 2 0 . i % % 4 n 8 t e r Q e s 2 t ' 0 i n 9 c o rates drove netinterestincome increase m Q e 2 * ' 1 0 Q 2 ' 1 1 N e Q t 2 i ' n 1 t 2 e r e s Q t 2 m ' 1 a 3 r g i n Q 2 ' 1 4 Q 2 ' 1 5 F e d e Q r 2 a ' l 1 F 6 u n d Q s 2 $ t ' a 4 2 3 1 r . 7 . 6 g 0 5 e 8 0 9 t . % % Q 5 r a 2 t ' e 1 0 2 4 6 8 8% % % % % 19 SVB 2014 4:3

Higher rates driving continued margin improvement Interest Rates/Yields Q2 2018 1 0 0 5% % % Corporate andFinancial Results Overview Q * Consolidated loanyields havebeenimpactedbythechange inthemixofourloanportfolio toPE/VC toTechnology loans,whichhavelowerloanyields incomparison andLife Science lending. 2 ' 0 8 F N Q e e d t 2 e i ' n r 0 a t 9 l e r F e u s n t d m s Q a t 2 a r g r ' 1 g i n e 0 t r a t e Q 2 ' 1 1 Q 2 ' 1 L 1 o 2 M a o n n y t i h e Q l L d I 2 B ' O 1 R 3 Q 2 ' 1 4 Q 2 2 ' . 1 5 5 0% 3 P r M i v Q o a n 2 t t e ' h 1 E 4 6 L q I u . B 4 i O t 8 y R / % V Q e 2 n ' t 4 1 u 2 r 7 6 3 5 e . . . . 0 5 7 C 3 0 a 9 6 3 p % % % % i Q t * a 2 l ' 1 8 0 2 5 5 0% % % PE/VC % of Loan Portfolio 20 SVB 2014 4:3

Q2'18 • • Q2 2018 Millions Millions Allowance for(vs. loanlosses/total grossloans:at1.10% 1.11% inQ1) Provision for creditlossesof$29.1M (vs. $28.0M inQ1) $ $ $ $ $ $ 1 2 $ 1 $ 1 2 $ 1 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0 0 5 5 $ 5 5 5 0 0 0 0 : Credit quality remained stable $ 0 $ Q 2 0 . 1 Q 4 2 2 2 . ' 2 . 4 5 N 0 1 5 ' 7 % o 7 1 M . % 3 n 7 M - p e r f o r m i n g l N N o $ $ 0 Q a e e 1 0 1 . Q n t t 0 3 1 2 . s 3 5 c c 9 ' . 5 1 / 5 h h ' 6% . t 1 7 M a a 4 o % 7 r r t M g g a e e l - - g o o r f f o N f f s s s o s / n a N l - v o e p e a t e r n r c a s f h g $ o $ 0 a Q e 0 1 r 1 Q . r m 4 2 1 2 . t g 4 5 o . 9 ' 3 i e 9 1 ' 1 n t % . 1 - 7 a 5 % M g o 7 l M f l f g o s r a o T n o s s s t a l l o n a o n n s - ( p a $ e n 0 $ 0 Q 1 r Q n 8 . f . 1 1 1 1 o 4 u . 6 ' 5 8 ' 1 r a 7 1 . m % M 8 l 7% 8 i M z i n e g d ) l o a n s $ $ 0 0 Q 1 Q 1 . . 2 2 3 2 4 2 5 ' . ' 2 8 1 1 5 . % 3 8% 8 M M 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 . . . . . . . . . 0 0 1 2 3 4 5 0 5% % % % % % % % % 21 SVB 2014 4:3

History ofstrong, resilient credit quality Five non-dot-com loansdrove - 0 4 2 3 1 1% % % % % % Q2 2018 (2000: Dot-com bust) 2 1 0 3 increase inNCOs . 0 . 0 0 3 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 2 7% 2% 0 0 1 2 0 0 2 2 0 0 3 2 0 0 4 2 0 N N N 0 e o o 5 t n n - - c 2 p p Five problemloansdrove short- h 0 (2008-2009: Financial Crisis) (2008-2009: FinancialCrisis) e e a 0 lived spike inNPLs andNCOs r r r 6 f f g o o e 2 r r - 0 m m o 0 f i i n n f 7 s g g 2 1 a 0 l l . s o o 0 5 a a % 8 7 n n % s s 2 2 o 0 a . f 0 6 s a 9 4 v % e 2 % r 0 o a f 1 g 0 t e o t t 2 o a 0 Post-crisis NCOs remainedbelow50bps l t 1 a g 1 l r g o 2 r s 0 o s 1 s 2 l s o a l 2 o n 0 a primarily duetofour Sponsored primarily s 1 n 3 resolved) andoneCorporate s 2 NPLs elevatedsince Q2'15 ( 0 Buyout loans(twowere a 1 n 4 n u 2 a 0 Finance loan l i 1 z 5 e d 2 ) 0 1 6 Y T 2 D 0 6 1 / 7 3 0 $ 0 0 1 . / . 4 1 1 8 2 8 8 5% % . 3 $ $ $ $ 5 1 1 0 0 5 0 0 0 Millions 22 SVB 2014 4:3

A high quality balance sheet $1.1, 2% $1.1, Other Q2 2018 3) 2) 1) N reconciliations at endofpresentationformoreinformation. Non-marketable securities netofnon-controllinginterests were Net loansrepresents grossloansnetoftheallowance forloanlossesandunearned interestincome.Grossloansat Balances asof e $ 4 Period-end assets: Corporate andFinancial Results Overview t 2 6 l 5 o % . a 7 n s 2 6/30/2018 C $ 5 a 2 % s . 7 h securities maturity Held-to- $7.8B 18% F F i i s x s x e e e e ( ( c $ c d $ d 1 2 H $55.9B Non-marketable A u u 1 securities 9 7 8 i T Investments) F i r 5 r n % n . % i S M i 6 . t c t $0.9, 2% c 9 ) i i o ) o e e m m s s e e 3 (VC $722 million . This isanon-GAAP measure.Please see non-GAAP 2 B o r Period-end liabilities: I r d 1 b o n e e 1 w $ t p e a 6 8 i $ o r r n % 2 . 1 e i s 3 g n % i . s t 1 s g t s - 6/30/2018 O $ bearing deposits bearing 2 t 1 h % Non-interest- . e 1 r were $40.6 80% $26B $51.1B 23 SVB 2014 4:3

Robust balance sheet growth Billions Strong growth inloansandsecurities Strong growth $ $ $ $ $ $ Q2 2018 4 6 5 2 3 $ 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview $ 2 3 0 9 1 . 4 3 Other assets Net loans VC-relatedNon-marketable (primarily investments) securities securities Held-to-maturity Available-for-sale securities $ 2 4 0 4 1 . 5 7 Assets $ 2 4 0 4 1 . 6 7 $ 2 5 0 1 1 . 7 2 6 $ / 3 5 0 5 / . 9 1 8 Billions $ $ $ $ $ $ Non-interest-bearing deposits Non-interest-bearing 4 6 5 2 3 $ 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 83% $ 2 3 0 5 1 . 4 3 oftotaldeposits Non-interest-bearing deposits Non-interest-bearing Other liabilities Interest-bearing deposits Interest-bearing Borrowings $ 2 4 0 1 1 Liabilities . 5 4 $ 2 4 0 0 1 . 6 9 $ 2 4 0 6 1 . As of 7 9 6 6/30/2018 / $ 3 5 0 1 / . 1 1 8 24 SVB 2014 4:3

Billions A high quality investment portfolio • • • $ $ $ 2 $ 1 $ 1 Q2 2018 0 0 0 5 5 Agency-issued rate collateralized residentialmortgage-backed –variable securities Agency-issued collateralized residentialmortgage-backed –fixed securities rate U.S. agencydebentures U.S. Treasury securities backed andmunicipalbonds securities New purchasesinQ2'18includedcommercial andresidentialmortgage- U.S. Treasuries make up Liquid, fixed-income primarily adurationof3.7years with portfolio $ Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 2 1 0 3 A 1 . 4 v 5 a i l a b $ 2 l 1 e 0 6 - 1 f . o 5 4 r - S a l $ 2 e 1 0 S 2 1 . e 6 6 c u r i t i $ 2 e 1 0 s 1 1 . 7 1 6 22% / $ 3 9 0 . / 5 1 8 ofinvestment portfolio Billions $ $ $ 2 $ 1 $ 1 0 0 0 5 5 Municipal bondsandnotes Agency-issued residentialmortgage-backed securities Agency-issued commercial mortgage-backed securities 2 $ 0 7 1 . 4 H 4 e l d - t 2 o $ 0 - 8 M 1 . 8 5 a t u r i t y 2 $ 0 8 S 1 e . 4 6 c u r i t i e $ 2 s 1 0 2 1 . 7 7 As of 6 6/30/2018 $ / 3 1 0 5 . / 9 1 8 25 SVB 2014 4:3

during arisingrate environment ofaliquid fixed-incomeBenefits portfolio securities. only comprised Available-for-Sale portfolio AFS certain ourinvestment* InJune 2014, toJune2014, securities Prior securities. were re-designated asHeld-to-Maturity (AFS) securities • • • Q2 2018 Billions Purchases primarily ofmortgage-backed andmunicipalbonds Purchases primarily securities Reinvestment ratessignificantly run-off higherthanportfolio Since Q2'17, average cashflows portfolio of$1.3Bperquarter $ $ $ $ $ 0 4 2 3 1 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview F i x e F d i x i n e c d o Q 2 1 m $ i . . 2 n 1 e 4 4 ' c . c 1% % 3 o a 7 s m h e f l o p w o s r t f o l i o Q c 1 2 $ a . . 3 1 6 5 s ' . 1 h % % 2 7 f l o w W s e , i g r h u t n e d - o a f v Q f g 3 1 $ . y . 4 . 1 y 3 2 i ' i . e % % 1 e 3 l l 7 d d s o f a p n u d r c h r a e s i e n s v e Q 1 3 s $ . . t 1 1 6 5 m ' . 1% % 4 e 8 n W t e y i i g e h l t d e d s a b v y g . q y Q 3 1 u $ i e . 2 . 1 a 6 7 l ' d . r 1% % 3 t o 8 e f r c As of a s h f l 6/30/2018 o 0 1 2 3 4 w % % % s % % 26 SVB 2014 4:3

Billions Q2'18 • • • $ $ $ 1 $ 1 Q2 2018 0 0 5 5 Billions $2.2 millioninadditionalinterestexpense Total depositcostsinitiatives,representingonly increased 11bpsduetodepositgrowth 17% oftotaldeposits Deposit betaremainedlowat16 percent; interest-bearing depositsaccount for only Healthy fundingandexit activityfor ourclientsdroveclientfundsgrowth $ $ 1 $ T S M I $ $ 1 0 5 $ n 2 2 7 o w Corporate andFinancial Results Overview o 0 0 0 5 5 5 t t e . n a e b e l p y e a T A A A 0 $ $ : Average total client fundsgrew 8.0% Q $ a v Q o $ v v v d m 3 4 $ 9 $ $ . 2 r e t e e e 7 2 1 4 e A 5 9 1 a 1 ' 7 i . a r r r r 1 0 n 5 ' . . l v p . a a a . . . a 1 6 r 2 7 1 2 5 1 e a g g g g o % k g 7 r v e e e s e e a c e i o n i g t h r t n d $ Q $ $ f o e a s d e $ t f 3 5 e 9 g n 3 e - T 7 c e 6 i b 3 e p i 7 ' r . o n k 1 n p 5 . . a e . o t c 3 6 3 7 t i l s o a f l e n s a t i o l s r e n i - g C e b r t i n c / $ t s e s l e e Q $ t $ s s i 1 t $ i a e 3 5 - f a 4 0 s g 7 r i b u n 7 7 h v ' n i . 2 n n e t 1 0 . 8 n . e Q i 0 6 . 7 a d F $ $ g n $ f 4 e o . r o 3 u s 1 5 7 t 1 g f i d n ' r 2 n f . c . . s e 1 4 e d i 1 7 $ g l % $ $ Q p c 7 i s i $ 1 e 6 3 o d e g 1 1 8 n 8 4 s e ' s n 0 1 . t i . p . 2 t 8 0 . 4 f o o s 5 u s f n i f t d i $ s c Q $ s $ $ 1 e 3 7 2 8 1 9 s 1 ' 9 . P 1 . . 2 . 3 8 8 e 3 r 0 i Q o $ $ $ . 4 d 1 5 1 7 2 ' . . . E 1 0 5 8 % C T M n 7 i o d o m s i n 0 0 0 0 0 n t 0 0 0 e e . . . . g . o . . . 0 0 2 3 1 2 3 d y 1 f 0 0 0 0 5 5 5 5 e m i % % % % % % % % p n a o t r e s k r i t e e 0 0 Q s t s . . 2 0 1 1 t Q d $ ' $ 2 1 - $ . 1 e b 1% % 6 1 1 7 7 S C ' p e 2 . . . 1 o p 8 0 0 o a % 8 s r r s e t i 0 0 i a Q o n t d . . f s 3 g 1 1 d o ' 2 2 Y 1 d e n % % 7 i p e e c o l p l d i s o e / i t 0 0 R n s Q s t i a . . 4 1 1 t t i s 2 3 ' n e 1 0% % v 0 Q 7 $ $ $ e . . 2 2 s 2 1 6 8 t ' 0 0 . . . m 1 0 2 3 0% % Q 8 e . 1 1 n ' 4 t 1 % f 8 e e s 0 0 Q . . 2 1 3 ' 7 1 1% % 8 27 SVB 2014 4:3

Robust client liquidity over past 5years Q2 2018 Billions • $ $ clients), have driven clientfunds growth clients), havedriven healthy newclientacquisition(especially early-stage equity andprivate Strong fundingandsolidexit activityfor ourclients,plussustained 1 $ $ $ 1 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 5 $ 2 2 7 0 0 0 5 5 5 2 $ $ $58.4 0 $ $ 3 2 1 5 7 0 4 0 8 A A A A . 9 . . . v v v v 0 4 3 e e e e r r r r a a a a g g g 2 g e e e $ $ 0 $ e $ o n i 3 7 2 n 1 8 f o T 9 5 t 5 f 7 n e - . o . . b . 5 i r 8 5 t 2 n a e a t l s e l a t r n - C e b 2 c l s e $ e 0 $ $ i t $ a e 4 8 - 1 3 s r b 7 n h 6 i 3 1 2 e . n e t 6 . . . a g e 2 4 2 F r t i d u n c e n g l p i d e 2 o d $94.3 $ $ $ n 0 s s e $ 9 t 3 5 i p Y 1 t 7 f 4 5 1 o 7 s T u . s 5 . D . . n 5 2 i 2 t d 6 s s / 3 $114.9 0 $ $ $ 1 / $ 4 1 6 2 8 8 7 7 3 . . . 2 . 0 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 . . . . . . . 0 0 2 3 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 5 5 5% % % % % % % 2 0 0 0 . 1 . 0 4 1 5 5% % S C o p s r 2 0 0 e t 0 a . . o 1 0 0 d f 5 Y 6 6 d o i e n e % % p l c o d l i s / e 2 i 0 R t n 0 s . t 1 a 0 i 6 t n e 7 0 v 0 % e . . s 1 0 t 2 m 2 7 % e 0 % n Y 1 t T 7 f D e 0 e 6 . s / 1 3 0 1 0 / % 1 . 8 2 6 0% . 1 6% 28 SVB 2014 4:3

Expanding international business activity $11.1B $2.6B Q2 2018 international international deposits* Corporate and Financial Results Overview loans* * management segment view and does not tie to regulatory definitions for foreignmanagement exposure anddoesnottietoregulatory segmentview Includes average Israel loananddepositbalances for andAsia internationaloperations inU.K., for Q2'18;thisisa Hong Kong Germany Location Canada Israel China U.K. Branch application inprogress (Beijing, Shanghai,Shenzhen) Business development office Business development and Business development and SPD Silicon Valley Bank Representative office representative office representative office Full service branch Full service Description (Beijing) opened 2008 2005 2018 2012 2012 2013 Year TBD 29 SVB20144:3

early-stage over time charge-offs Net warrant gains have more thanoffset Q2 2018 Millions - $ $ - 1 1 $ $ 0 0 5 5 $ Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 $ ( C N 0 3 $ u e 2 ) ( m t 1 g 3 u 2 a 0 $ ) l a i 0 8 n t 3 $ i s v ( o e 2 1 n 0 ) $ n 0 e 3 e 4 q t $ u g 0 Aggregate warrantgainsnetofearly-stage losses i a 2 t 0 i $ y n 0 3 w s 5 $ ( a ( w 2 r 2 r $ ) a 0 a 2 r 0 n r 6 2 t a $ n ( a 7 t s 2 $ s ) s 0 2 e l 0 e 3 $ t 7 s s ( s 1 2 0 E 0 $ ) S 0 1 1 $ N 8 (2002 -2018) ( C 1 O 2 6 0 s 0 ) ) 9 $ ( 5 2 8 0 $ ) 1 7 0 $ ( 2 E 2 3 a $ 0 ) r 3 l 1 7 y 1 $ - ( s 1 t 2 $ a 0 ) 1 g 1 9 e 2 $ ( n 2 e 1 2 $ t 0 ) 4 c 1 6 $ h 3 ( a 2 r 6 g 2 0 $ e ) 1 7 - $ 1 o 4 ( f 3 f s 2 0 0 $ ) 1 7 1 5 $ ( 1 2 2 $ 0 ) 1 3 8 6 $ ( 4 Y 2 5 T $ 0 ) 5 D 1 5 6 7 $ ( / 3 3 5 0 $ ) / 3 1 $141M 8 8 $ ( 1 1 ) 30 SVB 2014 4:3

Investment securities andwarrant gains Q2 2018 Millions * This isanon-GAAP measure.Please see non-GAAP reconciliationsatendofpresentation formoreinformation. $ $ $ $ 1 $ $ 1 $ 1 0 4 4 6 8 2 2 $ Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 n N N e o e t t n 2 o - g 0 $ $ G f a 1 3 7 A n i 4 1 0 n A o . s . n 0 P 7 o - n c n o e 2 e n t 0 $ $ q t g 1 7 5 r u 5 1 a o 7 i . i . l t 0 n 3 l y i s n w o g 2 a n 0 $ $ i r n 1 4 3 i r n t 6 a 3 7 e v n . . r 9 4 e t e s a s t s t m 2 s s $ 0 $ * e Y e 5 1 3 t T n 4 7 5 s D t . . s 4 6 6 e / c 3 u 0 $ $ r / i 2 1 3 t 8 2 8 i e . . 6 s 3 Millions $ $ $ $ $ - 4 5 2 3 $ $ 1 5 5 5 5 5 5 5 s N N e o e c t n u $ Q - g $ r G 1 2 a i 8 0 t A i ' . i 1 n . A 2 e 8 7 s s P o n n n e $ e Q $ t e losses onsale 2 t 3 9 q o 4 g ' $22.2M of securities . u f 1 Includes a . 7 of Roku 9 i 7 n i t n o y s n w - Q ( $ $ c l a 1 4 o o 8 r 2 s ' n r . 1 s . 0 a t 1 7 e r n o s t ) l a l o Q i $ - s n $ n 1 s 1 g 3 9 e ' i 1 . t n i . 8 8 n s 2 v t e e s r t $ Q e $ m 2 s 1 2 6 t 9 e ' s 1 n . . * 4 8 1 t 31 SVB 2014 4:3

to higherclient fundbalances andrateincreases by higherclient investment primarily fees driven due Strong growth Q2'18 Q2 2018 Millions $ $ 1 $ $ $ 1 0 5 $ 2 2 7 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0 5 5 5 T L F $ Q o e o 6 n r t 3 a e 8 : Corefee income grew 7.1% d ' l 1 i . i g 4 5 n c n o g r e r e x e Q f c $ l e a h 7 4 e t a 2 ' e 1 n i . d n 7 5 g c f e e o f e m e s Q $ e e 7 s * 1 6 ' 1 . 6 5 Q $ 7 2 4 ' 1 . 6 5 C C $ Q l r 8 3 i e e 0 ' d 1 n . i 6 5 t t i c n a v r $ Q e d 8 s 4 f t 4 e ' m 1 e . 6 6 e s n t f e $ Q e 8 1 s 2 ' 1 . 6 7 Q $ 8 2 7 ' 1 . 3 7 $ Q L D 1 3 e 0 e t ' p 2 1 t o e . 7 7 r s s i t o $ s f Q e 1 c r 4 0 r v ' e 6 1 i d c . 7 4 e i t / c S h $ t a Q a 1 $ $ r $ $ $ 1 $ n 1 g 3 1 2 2 1 ' 8 5 d e 1 8 4 1 2 3 . b s 8 0 y L O $ Q C 1 $ $ $ $ $ 2 $ 2 3 1 2 1 2 ' 8 3 0 1 9 4 9 3 . 8 1 32 SVB 2014 4:3

A history ofstrong core fee income growth • • Higher client investment dueto feeinrecent growth quarters competitive spreads Strong FX volumein2017 growth partiallyby offset lower higher client investment fundbalances andrate increases Q2 2018 Millions $ $ $ $ 4 2 3 1 0 0 0 0 $ Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0 0 0 T L F o e o n r t a e d l i i g n c n o g r e r e x e 2 $ f c l e 0 a 2 h e t 1 a 1 e 0 n 4 i d n g c f e e o f e m e s e e s * 2 $ 2 0 6 1 5 5 C C l r i e e d n i t t i c n a v r e d s f t e m e e s 2 $ n 0 3 t 1 1 f 6 6 e e s 2 $ $ $ $ $ $ $ 0 3 1 5 4 5 2 7 L D 1 7 1 9 e 6 9 7 3 e 6 9 7 t p t o e r s s i t o s f e c r r v e i d c e i t Y / c S T h t D a a r $ n $ $ $ $ 6 g $ $ 2 d 6 2 4 3 5 e 1 / 3 3 b 0 6 s 7 8 2 5 8 0 y / L 1 O 8 C 33 SVB 2014 4:3

Performance and growth driving non-interest expense Revenue and growth investment initiatives: • Client experience • People (staffing, enablement, performance-based incentive compensation) • Infrastructure improvements (banking, risk & compliance) Compensation and Benefits Expense Other Noninterest Expenses 2,591 2,396 $404 2,225 $606 $346 2,004 $185 $120 1,815 $514 $307 $474 $291 $150 $105 s $409 $138 $42 s $97 n $77 n $224 o i $348 o l $121 i l $40 $48 l i $145 l i M $120 $100 $40 $40 $60 M $40 $ $122 $30 $101 $277 $35 $72 $23 $244 $98 $66 $27 $214 $50 $52 $187 $38 $150 $122 $94 $83 $95 $76 2014 2015 2016 2017 YTD 6/30/18 2014 2015 2016 2017 YTD 6/30/18 Salaries/wages and other Incentive comp. plans employee comp. Professional svcs. Premises & equip. Net occupancy Business dev. Other employee Avg. full-time equivalent incentives/benefits employees Other expenses* * Includes costs for FDIC and state assessments, correspondent bank fees, lending and other client-related processing, telephone, data processing and other expenses; please see our Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 34 quarterly filings for more information.

Efficiency ratio has trended downover time Drivers Q2 2018 Millions $ $ $ • • 2 1 1 $ , , , 0 0 5 5 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview and support efficient growth overthelong-term growth efficient and support Focus onsystems, processes andinfrastructuretooptimizecost efficiencies Continued strongrevenuegrowth * 0 0 0 0 $ 0 0 0 0 0 net ofnon-controlling interestsandnon-GAAP efficiency ratioexcludethe impactofnon-controllinginterests. These arenon-GAAP measures.Pleaseseenon-GAAP reconciliationsatendofthispresentationformoreinformation.Non-GAAP non-interestexpense $ 1 , 2 57.8% 1 2 1 0 1 4 $ 6 N N N 8 o o o 2 n n n - - - G G G A A A A A A P P P 56.3% $ 1 o n t , a p o 4 x n e 4 a r - 2 b 9 i a n 0 l t e t i 1 n e e 5 r g $ q e e 7 u s f 7 t i f v 9 e i a c x i l p e e 53.8% e n n n t c y s r e e $ r , v 1 a n e , t 6 i n e o 0 t u * 2 e 0 o 0 , f n n 1 e 6 o $ t 53.7% n 8 o - c 5 f o 9 n n o t n r o - c l l o i n n $ t g 1 r o , i 9 n l l t 5 i e n 2 1 r g 0 51.8% e s 1 i n $ t 7 s t 1 e * , 0 r e 1 s 0 t s * $ 47.0% 1 Y , 2 T 1 D 4 6 / 3 0 $ / 5 1 7 8 1 35 SVB 2014 4:3

rates andlower taxes duetohigherinterest primarily Increase in2018ROEYTD Above-peer return onaverage equity Q2 2018 2. Annualized the averageofour peergroupbasedonthemost recent datafromSNL Financial. 1. “Peers”referstopeergroupas reportedinourproxystatementsspecifictotheyearsand aresubjecttochangeonanannualbasis.PeerROEis 2 1 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 0 0 0% % % 1 8 0 2 . . 0 9 4 8 1 6 4% % 1 8 1 2 . . 0 1 1 7 1 8% 5 % S V B 1 8 0 2 . . 0 8 9 3 1 0 6% % P e e r s 1 1 9 2 2 . . 0 7 3 7 1 8% 7 % Y T D 1 1 9 2 6 . . 1 5 / 3 7 1 0% % / 1 8 2 36 SVB 2014 4:3

We expect rising rates to benefit us significantly We estimate that each 25 bps increase in short-term rates to contribute approximately $49 million to Net Interest Income* Changes in short-term interest rates Changes in Fed Changes in Net impact interest earned on: Funds Rate Interest Income (basis points) • Variable rate loans • Variable rate investment securities and reinvestment +100 +$195M • Cash and cash equivalents Primary benchmark indices: • National and SVB Prime rates +200 +$407M • 1-month and 3-month LIBOR • Federal Funds target rate * As reported in our sensitivity analysis included in our Q2 2018 Form 10-Q reports pursuant to applicable SEC requirements; these estimates are reported on a pre-tax basis and are based on a static balance sheet and assumptions as of June 30, 2018. Actual results may differ. Simulations used to analyze interest rate sensitivity may differ from actual results due to, among other things: differences in timing, frequency, and magnitude of changes in market rates; impact of competition; fluctuating business conditions and impact of strategies taken by management to mitigate these risks. Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 37

Complex regulatory environment Despite the recent raising of the CCAR threshold, as a growing global, commercial bank with a holding company structure, we still face a complex regulatory landscape We have ongoing investments in regulatory and compliance infrastructure -- people, processes and systems, including a focus on the following areas: "Advanced Approaches" capital rules for banking organizations with >$10B foreign exposure ◦ Standardized capital floor ◦ More stringent capital buffer and leverage ratio requirements ◦ Full LCR • Risk Management program enhancements • BSA/AML • Current Expected Credit Loss (CECL) implementation Q2 2018 Corporate Overview and Financial Results 38

We are well capitalized: SVBFG capital ratios 2) 1) Q2 2018 Tangible commontotangible equity These arenon-GAAP measures. Pleaseseenon-GAAP reconciliationsat endofthispresentationformore information. are asreportedin ourmostrecentquarterlyearnings releases. All ratios,except TCE/TA and TCE/RWA, areasreportedinourmostrecentbank holdingcompanyconsolidatedreportsonFormFR Y-9C. TCE/TA and TCE/RWA ratios Tangible commontorisk- equity Corporate andFinancial Results Overview Tier 1risk-based capital CET 1risk-based capital Total risk-based capital weighted assets Tier 1leverage assets 2 2 12.91% 12.93 13.92 2014 7.74 7.15 - 12.28% 13.84 12.34 12.83 2015 7.63 7.16 12.80% 12.89 13.26 14.21 2016 8.34 8.15 12.78% 13.96 12.97 12.77 2017 8.34 8.16 12.87% 13.06 Q1'18 13.99 12.65 8.67 8.25 12.92% Q2'18 14.03 12.68 13.10 8.34 8.81 1 39 SVB 2014 4:3

• • • We are well capitalized: bank capital ratios Tangible commontotangible equity $90M in2017 and$40M in2016 Strong Bankearnings resultedin$30M fromBanktoSVBFG ofdividends inQ2'18, $25MinQ1'18, Q1’15 $350M debtraise)increasedbankcapitalratiosacrosstheboard Down-streaming ofcapitalfromholdingcompany (Q2’14 $435Mcommonraise and equity Pressure onTier 1Leverage ratiofromexceptional in2014and2015 depositandtotalassetgrowth 3) 2) 1) Q2 2018 Tangible commontorisk- equity These arenon-GAAP measures. Pleaseseenon-GAAP reconciliationsat endofthispresentationformore information. Basel IIIadopted inJanuary2015 are asreportedin ourmostrecentquarterlyearnings releases. All ratios,except TCE/TA and TCE/RWA, areasreportedinourmostrecentbank holdingcompanyconsolidatedreportsonFormFR Y-9C. TCE/TA and TCE/RWA ratios CET 1risk-based capital Tier 1risk-based capital Corporate andFinancial Results Overview Total risk-based capital weighted assets Tier 1leverage assets 3 3 2 11.09% 2014 11.19 12.12 6.64 6.38 - 12.52% 13.60 12.59 12.52 2015 7.09 6.95 12.65% 13.66 12.65 12.75 2016 7.67 7.77 12.06% 13.04 12.06 11.98 2017 7.56 7.47 11.90% Q1'18 11.90 12.88 11.68 7.69 7.41 11.76% Q2'18 11.76 12.72 11.52 7.39 7.72 1 40 SVB 2014 4:3

Q2 2018 Reconciliations Non-GAAP Corporate and Financial Results Overview 41 SVB20144:3

Core fee income reconciliationNon-GAAP Non-GAAP corefeeincome Less: othernoninterestincome (loss) Less: netgainsonequity warrantassets Less: gainsoninvestmentsecurities,net GAAP noninterestincome Non-GAAP corefeeincome(dollarsinthousands) Non-GAAP corefeeincome Less: othernoninterestincome Less: netgainsonequitywarrantassets Less: gainsoninvestmentsecurities,net GAAP noninterestincome Non-GAAP corefeeincome(dollarsinthousands) Non-GAAP corefeeincome Less: othernoninterestincome Less: netgainsonequitywarrantassets Less: gainsoninvestmentsecurities,net GAAP noninterestincome Non-GAAP corefeeincome(dollarsinthousands) 2) 1) to deconsolidation ofourinvestmentsinVC-and PE-related funds(ASU2015-02). Amounts priorto December31,2015havenotbeen revisedtoreflecttheretrospective applicationofnewaccounting guidanceadoptedinthesecond quarterof2015related calculation andlimitations ofthismeasure. This isanon-GAAP measure.See“UseofNon-GAAP Financial Measures”attheendofourmostrecentquarterlyearnings releaseforfurtherinformationregardingthe Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 1 Sep 30, Mar 31, $117,659 $108,477 2017 2015 $82,578 $68,388 2014 12,421 15,970 10,636 10,685 18,768 $209,631 $572,239 6,690 267,023 24,573 71,012 Dec 31, Jun 30, $128,528 $114,506 2017 2015 $87,267 $72,705 Year endedDecember 31, 12,811 10,820 17,630 12,978 16,384 12,439 2015 $265,382 $472,794 47,004 70,963 89,445 2 Sep 30, Mar 31, $102,722 $158,778 2017 2016 $76,542 $86,134 Quarter ended Quarter ended 15,896 24,922 15,238 (4,684 7,670 6,606 2016 $316,170 $456,552 ) 50,750 37,892 51,740 Dec 31, Jun 30, $106,396 $152,266 $112,776 2017 2016 $74,454 17,982 12,123 15,765 23,270 9,963 5,089 2017 $378,963 $557,231 Sep 30, Mar 31, 59,110 54,555 64,603 $115,010 $155,518 $144,140 2018 2016 $80,526 12,259 19,191 18,878 21,558 23,178 9,058 Jun 30,2018 Dec 31, Jun 30, YTD $238,134 $348,207 $123,124 $192,689 $113,502 2018 2016 $84,648 26,649 38,252 45,172 14,390 19,061 36,114 14,239 4,639 9,976 42 SVB 2014 4:3

Non-marketable andother equity securities reconciliationNon-GAAP Total non-marketableandotherequitysecurities Investments inqualifiedaffordablehousing projects,net Non-marketable securities(equitymethod accounting): Other equitysecuritiesinpubliccompanies Non-marketable andotherequitysecurities(fairvalueaccounting): interests (dollarsinthousands) Composition ofnon-GAAP non-marketableandotherequitysecurities,netofnon-controlling Non-GAAP non-marketable andotherequitysecurities,netofnon-controllinginterests Less: amountsattributabletonon-controllinginterests GAAP non-marketable andotherequitysecurities (dollars inthousands) Non-GAAP non-marketable andotherequitysecurities,netofnon-controllinginterests Other investments China JointVenture Investment Debt funds Venture capitalandprivateequityfundinvestments Investments withoutareadilydeterminablefairvalue Unconsolidated venturecapitalandprivateequityfundinvestments Consolidated venturecapitalandprivateequityfundinvestments * Q2 2018 and limitationsof thismeasure. See “UseofNon-GAAP Financial Measures”attheendofour mostrecentquarterlyearnings release forfurtherinformationregarding thecalculation Corporate andFinancial Results Overview * Jun 30,2018 Jun 30,2018 $722,289 $722,289 $852,505 251,479 211,113 130,216 $34,331 35,589 75,837 14,215 71,742 24,015 3,968 43 SVB 2014 4:3

Net gains (losses)oninvestment securities reconciliationNon-GAAP noncontrolling interests Non-GAAP netgainsoninvestmentsecurities,of including carriedinterest Less: incomeattributabletononcontrollinginterests, GAAP netgainsoninvestmentsecurities (dollars inthousands) Non-GAAP netgains(losses)oninvestmentsecurities noncontrolling interests Non-GAAP netgainsoninvestmentsecurities,of including carriedinterest Less: incomeattributabletononcontrollinginterests, GAAP netgainsoninvestmentsecurities (dollars inthousands) Non-GAAP netgains(losses)oninvestmentsecurities 2) 1) to deconsolidationofourinvestments inVC-andPE-relatedfunds(ASU2015-02). Amounts priortoDecember31,2015 havenotbeenrevisedtoreflecttheretrospectiveapplication of newaccountingguidanceadoptedinthesecondquarter2015 related calculation andlimitationsofthis measure. This isanon-GAAP measure.See“UseofNon-GAAP Financial Measures”attheendofourmostrecentquarterlyearnings releaseforfurtherinformationregardingthe Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 1 Jun 30, $267,023 2014 2017 236,294 $17,630 30,729 $8,165 9,465 Year endedDecember 31, Sep 30, 2015 2017 $89,445 $15,238 57,330 32,115 $9,742 5,496 2 Quarter ended Dec 31, 2016 2017 $51,740 $15,765 43,428 $8,001 8,312 7,764 Mar 31, 2017 2018 $64,603 $(3,847) 35,416 29,187 12,905 $9,058 Jun 30, Jun 30, 2018 YTD 2018 $22,595 $45,172 $26,442 $36,114 22,577 9,672 44 SVB 2014 4:3

Bank only TCE/TA andTCE/RWA Consolidated (SVBFG) TCE/TA andTCE/RWA reconciliationNon-GAAP Capital ratios Tangible commonequitytorisk-weighted assets Tangible commonequitytotangibleassets Risk-weighted assets(RWA) Tangible assets(TA) Tangible commonequity(TCE) assets (dollarsinthousands,exceptratios) Non-GAAP tangiblecommonequityand Tangible commonequitytorisk-weightedassets Tangible commonequitytotangibleassets Risk-weighted assets(RWA) Tangible assets(TA) Less: Intangibleassets GAAP Total assets Tangible commonequity(TCE) Less: Intangibleassets GAAP SVBFGstockholders’ equity assets (dollarsinthousands,exceptratios) Non-GAAP tangiblecommonequityand measure. * See“UseofNon-GAAP FinancialMeasures”attheendofourmostrecent quarterlyearningsreleaseforfurtherinformationregardingthecalculation andlimitationsofthis Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview * $21,755,091 $39,337,869 $39,337,869 $21,450,480 $37,607,973 $2,813,072 $2,813,072 $2,399,411 2014 2014 12.93 11.19 7.15 6.38 — — % % % % Year endedDecember31, $25,919,594 $44,686,703 $44,686,703 Year endedDecember31, $24,301,043 $44,045,967 $3,198,134 $3,198,134 2015 $3,059,045 2015 12.34 12.59 7.16 6.95 — — % % % % $28,248,750 $44,683,660 $44,683,660 $26,856,850 $44,059,340 $3,642,554 $3,642,554 2016 $3,423,427 2016 12.89 12.75 8.15 7.77 — — % % % % $32,736,959 $51,214,467 $51,214,467 $31,403,489 $50,383,774 $4,179,795 $4,179,795 2017 $3,762,542 2017 12.77 11.98 8.16 7.47 — — % % % % March 31, $34,903,720 $53,500,787 $53,500,787 March 31, $4,415,446 $4,415,446 $33,396,675 $52,622,450 2018 $3,900,094 2018 12.65 8.25 11.68 7.41 — — % % % % June 30, $36,727,118 $55,867,745 $55,867,745 June 30, $4,657,653 $4,657,653 2018 $35,326,564 $55,035,371 $4,068,918 2018 12.68 8.34 11.52 7.39 — — % % % % 45 SVB 2014 4:3

2) 1) one timeadjustments Non-GAAP noninterestincome,netofnoncontrolling interestsandexcluding Less: net(losses)ontheSVBIFsaletransaction Non-GAAP noninterestincome,netofnoncontrolling interests Less: incomeattributabletononcontrollinginterests,including carriedinterest GAAP noninterestincome thousands) Non-GAAP Non-interestincome,netofnon-controllinginterests(dollarsin Non-GAAP non-interestincome,netofnon-controllinginterests interests Less: incomeattributabletonon-controllinginterests,includingcarried GAAP non-interestincome thousands) Non-GAAP non-interestincome,netofnon-controllinginterests(dollarsin Non-interest income reconciliationNon-GAAP Deconsolidation). Amounts priortoDecember31,2015 havenotbeenrevisedfortheadoptionofaccountingguidance relatedtoourinvestmentsinVC-andPE-relatedfunds(ASU2015-02 measure. See “UseofNon-GAAP FinancialMeasures”attheendofourmostrecentquarterly earningsreleaseforfurtherinformationregardingthecalculation andlimitationsofthis Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 1 2 Jun 30,2017 2014 $128,528 $352,549 $338,615 $572,239 118,992 233,624 (13,934 9,536 ) Sep 30,2017 2015 $158,778 $441,058 $441,058 $472,794 153,164 31,736 2 5,614 Year ended — Quarter ended Dec 31,2017 2016 $152,266 $448,513 $448,513 $456,552 144,523 7,743 8,039 1 — Mar 31,2018 2017 $155,518 $527,779 $527,779 $557,231 142,494 13,024 29,452 — Jun 30,2018 Jun 30,2018 YTD $192,689 $325,738 $325,738 $348,207 183,244 22,469 9,445 — 46 SVB 2014 4:3

Non-GAAP operatingefficiencyratio GAAP operatingefficiencyratio interests Non-GAAP taxableequivalentrevenue,netofnoncontrolling GAAP totalrevenue and excludingonetimeadjustments Non-GAAP noninterestincome,netofnoncontrollinginterests GAAP noninterestincome noncontrolling interests Non-GAAP taxableequivalentnetinterestincome, netof Less: incomeattributabletononcontrollinginterests Non-GAAP taxableequivalentnetinterestincome Adjustments fortaxableequivalentbasis GAAP netinterestincome Non-GAAP noninterestexpense,netofnoncontrolling interests Less: amountsattributabletononcontrollinginterests GAAP noninterestexpense (Dollars inthousands,exceptratios) 2) 1) Non-GAAP operatingNon-GAAP efficiency ratio, net ofnon-controlling interests reconciliationNon-GAAP reported separately asacomponentofnoninterest expense. loan lossesandprovision forunfundedcreditcommitments togetherasour“provision forcreditlosses”.Inpriorperiods, ourprovisionforunfundedcredit commitmentswere Our consolidatedGAAP noninterestexpensesweremodifiedfrompriorperiods’ presentation toconformthecurrentperiod'spresentation,whichreflectsour provisionfor measure. See “UseofNon-GAAP FinancialMeasures”attheendofourmostrecentquarterly earningsreleaseforfurtherinformationregardingthecalculation andlimitationsofthis Q2 2018 Corporate andFinancial Results Overview 2 $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ 1,210,800 1,428,834 2014 352,549 572,239 858,251 858,284 856,595 681,802 700,669 18,867 56.31 49.04 1,689 33% % $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ Year endedDecember31, 1,449,039 1,479,219 1,007,981 1,007,989 1,006,425 2015 441,058 472,794 779,134 779,962 53.77 52.73 1,564 828 8% % $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ 1,600,173 1,607,075 1,151,660 1,151,726 1,150,523 2016 448,513 456,552 859,273 859,797 53.70 53.50 1,203 524 66% % $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ 1,951,191 1,977,600 1,423,412 1,423,445 1,420,369 1,009,842 1,010,655 2017 527,779 557,231 51.76 51.11 3,076 813 33% % $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ $ Jun 30,2018 1,215,416 1,234,513 YTD 325,738 348,207 889,678 889,697 886,306 570,961 571,156 46.98 46.27 3,391 1 195 19% % 47 SVB 2014 4:3

Q2 2018 Find Find Find moleary@svb.com T 408 654 6364 M 650 255 9934 9934 255 650 M 6364 654 408 T 3005 Tasman 95054 CA 3005 Clara, Drive Santa Head of Investor Relations Investor of Head MeghanO’Leary SVB SVB Corporate andFinancial Results Overview on LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter and Facebook LinkedIn, on onLinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter 48 SVB 2014 4:3