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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

           3,000,000 SHARES OF COMMON STOCK, PAR VALUE $0.01 PER SHARE

                               CLINICAL DATA, INC.

                             UNDERWRITING AGREEMENT

                                  July 17, 2007

BEAR, STEARNS & CO. INC.
   As Representative of the
   several Underwriters named in
   Schedule I attached hereto (the "Representative")
c/o Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc.
383 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10179

Ladies/Gentlemen:

          Clinical Data, Inc., a corporation organized and existing under the laws of the State of Delaware (the "Company"), proposes, subject to the terms and conditions stated herein, to issue and sell to the several underwriters named in Schedule I hereto (the "Underwriters") an aggregate of 3,000,000 shares (the "Firm Shares") of its Common Stock, par value $0.01 per share, (the "Common Stock"), and, for the sole purpose of covering over-allotments in connection with the sale of the Firm Shares, at the option of the Underwriters, up to an additional 450,000 shares (the "Additional Shares") of Common Stock. The Firm Shares and any Additional Shares purchased by the Underwriters are referred to herein as the "Shares". Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc. ("Bear Stearns") is acting as lead manager (the "Lead Manager") in connection with the offering and sale of the Shares contemplated herein (the "Offering").

          1. Representations and Warranties of the Company. The Company represents and warrants to, and agrees with, each of the Underwriters that:

          (a) The Company has filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "Commission") a registration statement under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities Act"), relating to the Shares, on Form S-3 (No. 333-143883) (the initial filing and all pre-effective amendments thereto collectively being referred to as the "Initial Registration Statement"); and such Initial Registration Statement, and any post-effective amendment thereto, each in the form previously delivered to you, have been declared effective by the Commission, in such form. Other than a registration statement, if any, increasing the size of the Offering (a "Rule 462(b) Registration Statement") filed pursuant to Rule 462(b) under the Securities Act, which will become effective upon filing, no other document with respect to the Initial Registration Statement has heretofore been filed with the Commission. The various parts of the Initial Registration Statement and the 462(b) Registration Statement, if any, including all exhibits

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thereto and including (i) the information contained in the form of final
prospectus filed with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b) under the Securities Act in accordance with Section 4(a) hereof and deemed by virtue of 430B under the Securities Act to be part of the Initial Registration Statement at the time it became effective under the Securities Act with respect to the Underwriters, and (ii) the documents incorporated by reference in the prospectus contained in the Initial Registration Statement at the time such part of the Initial Registration Statement becomes effective, each as amended at the time such part of the Initial Registration Statement or the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, if any, became or hereafter becomes effective under the Securities Act with respect to the Underwriters, are hereafter collectively referred to as the "Registration Statement." Any reference to any amendment to the Registration Statement shall be deemed to refer to and include any annual report of the Company filed pursuant to Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act"), after the effective date of the Initial Registration Statement that is incorporated by reference therein. No stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Initial Registration Statement, any post-effective amendment thereto or the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, if any, has been issued and no proceeding for that purpose has been initiated or threatened by the Commission.

          The final prospectus supplement together with the base prospectus included in the Initial Registration Statement, in the form in which it has most recently been filed with the Commission on or prior to the date of this Agreement (the "Basic Prospectus") relating to the Shares, in the form first filed with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b) under the Securities Act, is hereafter referred to as the "Prospectus". Any preliminary prospectus supplement together with the Basic Prospectus included in the Initial Registration Statement or filed with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424 under the Securities Act is hereafter referred to as a "Preliminary Prospectus;" and the Preliminary Prospectus relating to the Shares, as amended or supplemented immediately prior to the Applicable Time (as defined below), is hereafter referred to as the "Pricing Prospectus". Any "issuer free writing prospectus" (as defined in Rule 433 under the Securities Act) relating to the Shares is hereafter referred to as an "Issuer Free Writing Prospectus"; and the Pricing Prospectus, as supplemented by the public offering price of the Shares, the number of Shares offered and the Issuer Free Writing Prospectuses, if any, attached and listed in Annex IV hereto, taken together, are hereafter referred to collectively as the "Pricing Disclosure Package". Any reference herein to any Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus shall be deemed to refer to and include the documents incorporated by reference therein pursuant to Item 12 of Form S- 3 that were filed under the Exchange Act on or before the date of such Preliminary Prospectus or Prospectus, as the case may be; and any reference herein to any "amendment" or "supplement" to any Preliminary Prospectus or the Prospectus shall be deemed to refer to and include (i) the filing of any document under the Exchange Act after the date of such Preliminary Prospectus or Prospectus, as the case may be, which is incorporated therein by reference and (ii) any such document so filed.

          The Company was not an "ineligible issuer" (as defined in Rule 405 under the Securities Act) as of the eligibility determination date for purposes of Rules 164 and 433 under the Securities Act with respect to the offering of the Shares contemplated hereby.

          All references in this Agreement to the Registration Statement, the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, any Preliminary Prospectus, the Pricing Prospectus, Issuer Free Writing Prospectus or the Prospectus, or any amendments or supplements to any of the foregoing, shall


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be deemed to include any copy thereof filed with the Commission pursuant to its
Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval System.

          (b) The Registration Statement complies and the Prospectus and any further amendments or supplements to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus will comply in all material respects with the applicable provisions of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder (the "Rules and Regulations"), and do not and will not, as of the applicable effective date as to each part of the Registration Statement and as of the applicable filing date as to the Prospectus and any amendment thereof or supplement thereto, contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein (i) in the case of the Registration Statement, not misleading and (ii) in the case of the Prospectus, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided, however, that this representation and warranty shall not apply to any information contained in or omitted from the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or any amendment thereof or supplement thereto in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns specifically for use therein. The parties hereto agree that such information provided by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns consists solely of the material referred to in Section 16 hereof.

          (c) No order preventing or suspending the use of any Preliminary Prospectus or any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus has been issued by the Commission, and each Preliminary Prospectus, at the time of filing thereof, complied in all material respects with the applicable provisions of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Rules and Regulations, and did not contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided, however, that this representation and warranty shall not apply to any information contained in or omitted from any Preliminary Prospectus in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns specifically for use therein. The parties hereto agree that such information provided by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns consists solely of the material referred to in Section 16 hereof.

          (d) For purposes of this Agreement, the "Applicable Time" is the time of first sale of the Shares in connection with the Offering. The Pricing Disclosure Package, as of the Applicable Time, did not, and as of the Closing Date and the Additional Closing Date, if any (each as hereinafter defined), will not, contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. Each Issuer Free Writing Prospectus complies in all material respects with the applicable provisions of the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations, and does not include information that conflicts with the information contained in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus or the Prospectus, and each Issuer Free Writing Prospectus not listed in Annex IV hereto, as supplemented by and taken together with the Pricing Disclosure Package, as of the Applicable Time, did not, and as of the Closing Date and the Additional Closing Date, if any, will not, contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which


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they were made, not misleading. No representation and warranty is made in this
Section 1(d) with respect to any information contained in or omitted from the Pricing Disclosure Package or any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns specifically for use therein. The parties hereto agree that such information provided by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns consists solely of the material referred to in Section 16 hereof.

          (e) Deloitte & Touche LLP, who have certified the consolidated financial statements and supporting schedules and information of the Company and its subsidiaries that are included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus or the Prospectus are independent public accountants as required by the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Rules and Regulations.

          (f) Subsequent to the respective dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement and the Pricing Prospectus, except as disclosed in the Pricing Prospectus, (i) the Company has not declared or paid any dividends, or made any other distributions of any kind, on or in respect of its capital stock, except for dividends declared and/or paid on the Company's Series A voting convertible preferred stock in the ordinary course, (ii) there has not been any change in the capital stock or material increase in the long-term or short-term debt of the Company or any of its subsidiaries listed in Exhibit A hereto (each, a "Subsidiary" and, collectively, the "Subsidiaries"),
(iii) neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has sustained any material loss or interference with its business or properties from fire, explosion, flood, hurricane, accident or other calamity, whether or not covered by insurance, or from any labor dispute or any legal or governmental proceeding, and (iv) there has not been any material adverse change or any development involving a prospective material adverse change, whether or not arising from transactions in the ordinary course of business, in the business, management, condition (financial or otherwise), results of operations, stockholders' equity, properties or prospects of the Company and the Subsidiaries, individually or taken as a whole (a "Material Adverse Change"). Since the date of the latest balance sheet included, or incorporated by reference, in the Registration Statement and the Pricing Prospectus, neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has incurred or undertaken any liabilities or obligations, whether direct or indirect, liquidated or contingent, matured or unmatured, or entered into any transactions, including any acquisition or disposition of any business or asset, which are material to the Company and the Subsidiaries, individually or taken as a whole, except for liabilities, obligations and transactions which are disclosed in the Registration Statement and in the Pricing Prospectus.

          (g) The issued and outstanding capital stock of the Company is as set forth in the Pricing Prospectus, under the caption "Capitalization" (other than for subsequent issuances pursuant to employee benefit plans or issuances upon the exercise of outstanding options or warrants) and all of the issued and outstanding shares of capital stock of the Company have been duly and validly authorized and are fully paid and non-assessable and were issued in compliance with all applicable state, federal and foreign securities laws and not in violation of or subject to any preemptive or similar right that entitles any person to acquire from the Company or any subsidiary any Common Stock or other equity security of the Company or any security convertible into, or exercisable or exchangeable for, Common Stock or any other such security (any "Relevant Security"), except for such rights as may have been fully satisfied or waived prior


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to the effectiveness of the Registration Statement. All of the issued shares of
capital stock of or other ownership interests in each Subsidiary have been duly and validly authorized and issued and are fully paid and non-assessable and, except as set forth in the Pricing Prospectus, are owned directly or indirectly by the Company free and clear of any lien, charge, mortgage, pledge, security interest, claim, equity, trust or other encumbrance, preferential arrangement, defect or restriction of any kind whatsoever (any "Lien").

          (h) The Shares to be delivered on the Closing Date and the Additional Closing Date (as hereinafter defined), if any, have been duly and validly authorized and, when issued and delivered in accordance with this Agreement, will be duly and validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable, will have been issued in compliance with all applicable state, federal and foreign securities laws and will not have been issued in violation of or subject to any preemptive or similar right that entitles any person to acquire any Relevant Security from the Company. The Common Stock and the Shares conform to the descriptions thereof contained in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus. Except as disclosed in the Pricing Prospectus, the Company has no outstanding warrants, options to purchase, or any preemptive rights or other rights to subscribe for or to purchase, or any contracts or commitments to issue or sell, any Relevant Security. Except as disclosed in the Pricing Prospectus, no holder of any Relevant Security has any rights to require registration under the Securities Act of any Relevant Security in connection with the offer and sale of the Shares contemplated hereby, and any such rights so disclosed have either been fully complied with by the Company or effectively waived by the holders thereof.

          (i) The Subsidiaries are the only "subsidiaries" of the Company (within the meaning of Rule 405 under the Securities Act). The Company and each Subsidiary has been duly organized and is validly existing as a corporation, partnership or limited liability company in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of organization. Each of the Company and each Subsidiary is duly qualified to do business and is in good standing as a foreign corporation, partnership or limited liability company in each jurisdiction in which the character or location of its properties (owned, leased or licensed) or the nature or conduct of its business makes such qualification necessary, except for those failures to be so qualified or in good standing which (individually and in the aggregate) could not reasonably be expected to have a material adverse effect on (i) the business, management, condition (financial or otherwise), results of operations, stockholders' equity, properties or prospects of the Company and the Subsidiaries, taken as a whole; or (ii) the ability of the Company to consummate the Offering or any other transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the Pricing Prospectus (a "Material Adverse Effect").

          (j) The Company and each Subsidiary has all requisite power and authority, and all necessary consents, approvals, authorizations, orders, registrations, qualifications, licenses, filings and permits of, with and from all judicial, regulatory and other legal or governmental agencies and bodies and all third parties, foreign and domestic (individually a "Consent" and collectively, the "Consents"), to own, lease and operate its properties and conduct its business as it is now being conducted and as disclosed in the Registration Statement and the Pricing Prospectus, and each such Consent is valid and in full force and effect, except in each case as could not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has received notice of any investigation or proceedings which, if decided adversely to the Company or any such Subsidiary, could reasonably be expected to


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result in, the revocation of, or imposition of a materially burdensome
restriction on, any such Consent.

          (k) This Agreement has been duly and validly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company.

          (l) The issue and sale of the Shares, the compliance by the Company with this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions herein contemplated do not and will not (i) conflict with or result in a breach or violation of any of the terms and provisions of, or constitute a default (or an event which with notice or lapse of time, or both, would constitute a default) under, or result in the creation or imposition of any Lien upon any property or assets of the Company or any Subsidiary pursuant to, any indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan agreement or other agreement, instrument, franchise, license or permit to which the Company or any Subsidiary is a party or by which the Company or any Subsidiary or their respective properties, operations or assets may be bound or
(ii) violate or conflict with any provision of the certificate or articles of incorporation, by-laws, certificate of formation, limited liability company agreement, partnership agreement or other organizational documents of the Company or any Subsidiary, or (iii) violate or conflict with any statute, law, rule, regulation, ordinance, directive, judgment, decree or order of any judicial, regulatory or other legal or governmental agency or body, domestic or foreign.

          (m) No Consent of, with or from any judicial, regulatory or other legal or governmental agency or body or any third party, foreign or domestic, is required for the execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement or consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, except the registration under the Securities Act of the Shares and such Consents as may be required under state securities or blue sky laws or the by-laws and rules of the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. (the "NASD") in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Shares by the Underwriters, each of which has been obtained and is in full force and effect.

          (n) Except as disclosed in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, there is no judicial, regulatory, arbitral or other legal or governmental proceeding or other litigation or arbitration, domestic or foreign, pending to which the Company or any Subsidiary is a party or of which any property, operations or assets of the Company or any Subsidiary is the subject which, individually or in the aggregate, if determined adversely to the Company or any Subsidiary, could reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect; to the Company's knowledge, no such proceeding, litigation or arbitration is threatened or contemplated; and the defense of all such proceedings, litigation and arbitration against or involving the Company or any Subsidiary could not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect.

          (o) The Company's financial statements, including the notes thereto, and the supporting schedules included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position as of the dates indicated and the cash flows and results of operations for the periods specified of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries; and except as otherwise stated in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, said financial statements have


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been prepared in conformity with United States generally accepted accounting
principles applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods involved. No other financial statements or supporting schedules are required to be included in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus or the Prospectus by the Securities Act, the Exchange Act or the Rules and Regulations. The other financial and statistical information included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus are accurately presented in all material respects and have been prepared on a basis consistent with that of the financial statements that are included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus and the books and records of the respective entities presented therein.

          (p) The statistical, industry-related and market-related data included in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus are based on or derived from sources which the Company reasonably and in good faith believes are reliable and accurate, and such data agree with the sources from which they are derived.

          (q) The Common Stock has been registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Exchange Act. The shares of Common Stock are listed on The Nasdaq Global Market ("Nasdaq"), and the Company has taken no action designed to, or likely to have the effect of, terminating the registration of the Common Stock under the Exchange Act or de-listing the Common Stock from Nasdaq, nor has the Company received any notification that the Commission or Nasdaq is contemplating terminating such registration or listing.

          (r) The Company and its Subsidiaries maintain a system of internal accounting and other controls sufficient to provide reasonable assurances that
(i) transactions are executed in accordance with management's general or specific authorizations, (ii) transactions are recorded as necessary to permit preparation of financial statements in conformity with United States generally accepted accounting principles and to maintain accountability for assets, (iii) access to assets is permitted only in accordance with management's general or specific authorization, and (iv) the recorded accounting for assets is compared with existing assets at reasonable intervals and appropriate action is taken with respect to any differences.

          (s) The Company maintains a system of internal control over financial reporting (as such term is defined in Rule 13a-15(f) under the Exchange Act) that complies with the requirements of the Exchange Act and has been designed by the Company's principal executive officer and principal financial officer, or under their supervision, to provide reasonable assurance regarding the reliability of financial reporting and the preparation of financial statements for external purposes in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. Except as disclosed in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, the Company's internal control over financial reporting is effective and the Company is not aware of any material weaknesses in its internal control over financial reporting. Since the date of the latest audited financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, there has been no change in the Company's internal control over financial reporting that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, the Company's internal control over financial reporting.


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          (t) The Company maintains "disclosure controls and procedures" (as
such term is defined in Rule 13a-15(e) under the Exchange Act) that comply with the requirements of the Exchange Act; such disclosure controls and procedures have been designed to ensure that material information relating to the Company and its subsidiaries is made known to the Company's principal executive officer and principal financial officer by others within those entities; and such disclosure controls and procedures are effective.

          (u) The Company is in compliance in all material respects with all applicable provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 and all rules and regulations promulgated thereunder or implementing the provisions thereof (the "Sarbanes-Oxley Act") and is taking commercially reasonable steps to ensure that it will be in compliance in all material respects with other provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act not currently in effect, upon the effectiveness of such provisions.

          (v) Neither the Company nor any of its affiliates (within the meaning of Rule 144 under the Securities Act) has taken, directly or indirectly, any action which constitutes or is designed to cause or result in, or which could reasonably be expected to constitute, cause or result in, the stabilization or manipulation of the price of any security to facilitate the sale or resale of the Shares.

          (w) Neither the Company nor any of its affiliates (within the meaning of Rule 144 under the Securities Act) has, prior to the date hereof, made any offer or sale of any securities which could be "integrated" (within the meaning of the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations) with the offer and sale of the Shares pursuant to the Registration Statement.

          (x) The statements set forth in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and Prospectus under the caption "Description of Capital Stock", insofar as it purports to constitute a summary of the terms of the Common Stock, and under the caption "Underwriting", insofar as they purport to describe the provisions of the laws and documents referred to therein, are accurate, complete and fair in all material respects.

          (y) The Company is subject to the reporting requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act and files periodic reports with the Commission, and the conditions for use of Form S-3 to register and offer the Shares under the Securities Act have been satisfied. The documents incorporated or deemed to be incorporated by reference in the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, at the time they were or hereafter are filed with the Commission, complied and will comply in all material respects with the requirements of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Rules and Regulations and, when read together with the other information in the Pricing Prospectus or the Prospectus, as applicable, do not contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading.

          (z) The Company is not and, at all times up to and including consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, and after giving effect to application of the net proceeds of the Offering as described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, will not be, required to register as an "investment company" under the


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Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, and is not and will not be an entity
"controlled" by an "investment company" within the meaning of such act.

          (aa) Except as disclosed in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, there are no contracts, agreements or understandings between the Company and any person that would give rise to a valid claim against the Company or any Underwriter for a brokerage commission, finder's fee or other like payment in connection with the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or, to the Company's knowledge, any arrangements, agreements, understandings, payments or issuances with respect to the Company or any of its officers, directors, shareholders, partners, employees, Subsidiaries or affiliates that may affect the Underwriters' compensation as determined by the NASD.

          (bb) The Company and each Subsidiary owns or leases all such properties as are necessary to the conduct of its business as presently operated and as proposed to be operated as described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus. The Company and the Subsidiaries have good and marketable title in fee simple to all real property and good and valid title to all personal property owned by them, in each case free and clear of any and all Liens except such as are described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus or such as do not (individually or in the aggregate) materially affect the value of such property or materially interfere with the use made or proposed to be made of such property by the Company and the Subsidiaries; and any real property and buildings held under lease or sublease by the Company and the Subsidiaries are held by them under valid, subsisting and enforceable leases with such exceptions as are not material to, and do not materially interfere with, the use made and proposed to be made of such property and buildings by the Company and the Subsidiaries. Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has received any notice of any claim adverse to its ownership of any real or personal property or of any claim against the continued possession of any real property, whether owned or held under lease or sublease by the Company or any Subsidiary.

          (cc) Each of the Company and each Subsidiary (i) owns or possesses the right to use all patents, patent applications, trademarks, service marks, domain names, trade names, trademark registrations, service mark registrations, copyrights, licenses, formulae, customer lists, and know-how and other intellectual property (including trade secrets and other unpatented and/or unpatentable proprietary or confidential information, systems or procedures, "Intellectual Property") necessary for the conduct of their respective businesses as presently conducted and as described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus and (ii) has no reason to believe that the conduct of their respective businesses does or will conflict with, and have not received any notice of any claim of conflict with, any such right of others. To the Company's knowledge, all material technical information developed by and belonging to the Company or any Subsidiary which has not been patented has been kept confidential. Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has granted, licensed or assigned to any other person or entity any right to manufacture, have manufactured, assemble or sell the current products and services of the Company and its Subsidiaries or those products and services described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus. There is no infringement by third parties of any such Intellectual Property; there is no pending or, to the Company's knowledge, threatened action, suit, proceeding or claim by others challenging the Company's or any Subsidiary's rights in or to any such Intellectual Property, and the Company is unaware of any facts which would


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form a reasonable basis for any such claim; and there is no pending or, to the
Company's knowledge, threatened action, suit, proceeding or claim by others that the Company or any Subsidiary infringes or otherwise violates any patent, trademark, copyright, trade secret or other proprietary rights of others, and the Company is unaware of any other fact which would form a reasonable basis for any such claim.

          (dd) The Company and the Subsidiaries maintain insurance in such amounts and covering such risks as the Company reasonably considers adequate for the conduct of its business and the value of its properties and as is customary for companies engaged in similar businesses in similar industries, all of which insurance is in full force and effect, except where the failure to maintain such insurance could not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. There are no material claims by the Company or any Subsidiary under any such policy or instrument as to which any insurance company is denying liability or defending under a reservation of rights clause. The Company reasonably believes that it will be able to renew its existing insurance as and when such coverage expires or will be able to obtain replacement insurance adequate for the conduct of the business and the value of its properties at a cost that would not have a Material Adverse Effect.

          (ee) Each of the Company and each Subsidiary has accurately prepared and timely filed all federal, state, foreign and other tax returns that are required to be filed by it and has paid or made provision for the payment of all taxes, assessments, governmental or other similar charges, including without limitation, all sales and use taxes and all taxes which the Company or any Subsidiary is obligated to withhold from amounts owing to employees, creditors and third parties, with respect to the periods covered by such tax returns (whether or not such amounts are shown as due on any tax return), except for such taxes that individually or in the aggregate could not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. No deficiency assessment with respect to a proposed adjustment of the Company's or any Subsidiary' federal, state, local or foreign taxes is pending or, to the best of the Company's knowledge, threatened, except for assessments that are being contested in good faith. The accruals and reserves on the books and records of the Company and the Subsidiaries in respect of tax liabilities for any taxable period not finally determined are adequate to meet any assessments and related liabilities for any such period and, since March 31, 2007, the Company and the Subsidiaries have not incurred any liability for taxes other than in the ordinary course of its business. There is no tax lien, whether imposed by any federal, state, foreign or other taxing authority, outstanding against the assets, properties or business of the Company or any Subsidiary.

          (ff) No labor disturbance by the employees of the Company or any Subsidiary exists or, to the best of the Company's knowledge, is imminent and the Company is not aware of any existing or imminent labor disturbances by the employees of any of its or any Subsidiary's principal suppliers, manufacturers', customers or contractors, which, in either case (individually or in the aggregate), could reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect.

          (gg) No "prohibited transaction" (as defined in either Section 406 of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended, including the regulations and published interpretations thereunder ("ERISA") or Section 4975 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended from time to time (the "Code")), "accumulated funding deficiency" (as
defined in Section 302 of ERISA) or other event of the kind described in Section 4043(b) of ERISA (other than events with respect to which the 30-day notice requirement under Section 4043 of ERISA has been waived) has occurred with respect to any employee benefit plan for which the Company or any Subsidiary would have any liability which could (individually or in the aggregate) reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect; each employee benefit plan for which the Company or any Subsidiary would have any liability is in compliance in all material respects with applicable law, including (without limitation) ERISA and the Code; the Company has not incurred and does not expect to incur liability under Title IV of ERISA with respect to the termination of, or withdrawal from any "pension plan"; and each plan for which the Company would have any liability that is intended to be qualified under Section 401(a) of the Code is so qualified and nothing has occurred, to the knowledge of the Company, whether by action or by failure to act, which could cause the loss of such qualification.

          (hh) There has been no storage, generation, transportation, handling, use, treatment, disposal, discharge, emission, contamination, release or other activity involving any kind of hazardous, toxic or other wastes, pollutants, contaminants, petroleum products or other hazardous or toxic substances, chemicals or materials ("Hazardous Substances") by, due to, on behalf of, or caused by the Company or any Subsidiary (or, to the Company's knowledge, any other entity for whose acts or omissions the Company is or may be liable) upon any property now or previously owned, operated, used or leased by the Company or any Subsidiary, or upon any other property, which would be a violation of or give rise to any liability under any applicable law, rule, regulation, order, judgment, decree or permit, common law provision or other legally binding standard relating to pollution or protection of human health and the environment ("Environmental Law"), except for violations and liabilities which, individually or in the aggregate, could not reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. There has been no disposal, discharge, emissions, contamination or other release of any kind at, onto or from any such property or into the environment surrounding any such property of any Hazardous Substances with respect to which the Company or any Subsidiary has knowledge, except as could not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary has agreed to assume, undertake or provide indemnification for any liability of any other person under any Environmental Law, including any obligation for cleanup or remedial action, except as could not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. There is no pending or, to the best of the Company's knowledge, threatened administrative, regulatory or judicial action, claim or notice of noncompliance or violation, investigation or proceedings relating to any Environmental Law against the Company or any Subsidiary except as could not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect. No property of the Company or any Subsidiary is subject to any Lien under any Environmental Law. Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary is subject to any order, decree, agreement or other individualized legal requirement related to any Environmental Law except as could not, individually or in the aggregate, reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect.

          (ii) None of the Company, any Subsidiary or, to the Company's knowledge, any of its employees or agents, has at any time during the last five years (i) made any unlawful contribution to any candidate for foreign office, or failed to disclose fully any such contribution in violation of law, or (ii) made any payment to any federal or state governmental officer or official, or other person charged with similar public or quasi-public duties, other than payments required or permitted by the laws of the United States of any jurisdiction thereof. The operations of the Company and each Subsidiary are and have been conducted at all times in compliance with applicable financial record-keeping and reporting requirements of the Currency and Foreign Transactions Reporting Act of 1970, as amended, the money laundering statutes of all applicable jurisdictions, the rules and regulations thereunder and any related or similar rules, regulations or guidelines issued, administered or enforced by any governmental agency (collectively, the "Money Laundering Laws") and no action, suit or proceeding by or before any court or governmental agency, authority or body or any arbitrator involving the Company or any Subsidiary with respect to the Money Laundering Laws is pending or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened. Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary nor, to the knowledge of the Company, any director, officer, agent, employee or affiliate of the Company or any Subsidiary is currently subject to any U.S. sanctions administered by the Office of Foreign Assets Control of the U.S. Treasury Department ("OFAC"); and the Company will not directly or indirectly use the proceeds of the offering, or lend, contribute or otherwise make available such proceeds to any subsidiary, joint venture partner or other person or entity, for the purpose of financing the activities of any person currently subject to any U.S. sanctions administered by OFAC.

          (jj) Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary (i) is in violation of its certificate or articles of incorporation, by-laws, certificate of formation, limited liability company agreement, partnership agreement or other organizational documents, (ii) is in default under, and no event has occurred which, with notice or lapse of time or both, would constitute a default under or result in the creation or imposition of any Lien upon any property or assets of the Company or any Subsidiary pursuant to, any indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan agreement or other agreement or instrument to which it is a party or by which it is bound or to which any of its property or assets is subject, or
(iii) is in violation of any statute, law, rule, regulation, ordinance, directive, judgment, decree or order of any judicial, regulatory or other legal or governmental agency or body, foreign or domestic, except (in the case clauses
(ii) and (iii) above) for violations or defaults that could not (individually or in the aggregate) reasonably be expected to have a Material Adverse Effect.

          (kk) The Company has complied with the requirements of Rule 433 under the Securities Act with respect to each Issuer Free Writing Prospectus including, without limitation, all prospectus delivery, filing, record retention and legending requirements applicable to any such Issuer Free Writing Prospectus. The Company has not (i) distributed any offering material in connection with the Offering other than the Pricing Prospectus, the Prospectus, and any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus set forth on Annex IV hereto, or (ii) filed, referred to, approved, used or authorized the use of any "free writing prospectus" as defined in Rule 405 under the Securities Act with respect to the Offering or the Shares, except for any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus set forth in Annex IV hereto and any electronic road show previously approved by Bear Stearns.

          (ll) The preclinical tests and clinical trials conducted by or on behalf of the Company that are described in, or the results of which are referred to in, the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus were and, if still pending, are being conducted in accordance with experimental protocols, procedures and controls filed with the appropriate regulatory authorities for each such test or trial, as the case may be; the description of the results of such tests and trials contained in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus are accurate in all material respects and fairly present the data
derived from such tests and trials, and the Company and the Subsidiaries have no knowledge of any other published or otherwise publicly available studies or tests the results of which are inconsistent with, or otherwise call into question, the results described or referred to in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus; neither the Company nor any Subsidiaries has received any notices or other correspondence from the Food and Drug Administration of the U.S. Department of Health (the "FDA") and Human Services or any committee thereof or from any other U.S. or foreign government or drug or medical device regulatory agency requiring the termination, suspension or material modification of any clinical trials conducted by or on behalf of the Company that are described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus; and the Company and the Subsidiaries have each operated and currently are in compliance in all material respects with all applicable rules, regulations and policies of the FDA and comparable foreign drug or medical device regulatory agencies outside of the United States.

          (mm) To the Company's knowledge, except as disclosed in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, there are no rulemaking or similar proceedings before the FDA, the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office or the European Patent Office which affect or involve the Company or any of the processes or products which the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus disclose the Company to have developed, to be developing or to propose to develop or use or propose to use which, if the subject of an action unfavorable to the Company, would have a Material Adverse Effect.

          Any certificate signed by or on behalf of the Company and delivered to the Representatives or to counsel for the Underwriters' shall be deemed to be a representation and warranty by the Company to each Underwriter as to the matters covered thereby.

          2. Purchase, Sale and Delivery of the Shares.

          (a) On the basis of the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements herein contained, but subject to the terms and conditions herein set forth, the Company agrees to sell to each Underwriter and each Underwriter, severally and not jointly, agrees to purchase from the Company, at a purchase price per share of $20.735, the number of Firm Shares set forth opposite their respective names on Schedule I hereto together with any additional number of Shares which such Underwriter may become obligated to purchase pursuant to the provisions of Section 10 hereof.

          (b) Payment of the purchase price for, and delivery of certificates representing, the Firm Shares shall be made at the office of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP ("Underwriters' Counsel"), or at such other place as shall be agreed upon by the Lead Manager and the Company, at 10:00 A.M., New York City time, on July 23, 2007, or such other time and date as Bear Stearns and the Company may agree upon in writing (such time and date of payment and delivery being herein called the "Closing Date"). Payment of the purchase price for the Firm Shares shall be made by wire transfer in same day funds to the Company upon delivery of certificates for the Firm Shares to the Representatives through the facilities of The Depository Trust Company for the respective accounts of the several Underwriters. Certificates for the Firm Shares shall be registered in such name or names and shall be in such denominations
as the Lead Manager may request. The Company will permit the Lead Manager to examine and package such certificates for delivery at least one full business day prior to the Closing Date.

          (c) In addition, on the basis of the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements herein contained, but subject to the terms and conditions herein set forth, the Company hereby grants to the Underwriters, acting severally and not jointly, the option to purchase up to 450,000 Additional Shares at the same purchase price per share to be paid by the Underwriters for the Firm Shares as set forth in Section 2(a) above, for the sole purpose of covering over-allotments in the sale of Firm Shares by the Underwriters. This option may be exercised at any time and from time to time, in whole or in part on one or more occasions, on or before the thirtieth day following the date of the Prospectus, by written notice from the Lead Manager to the Company. Such notice shall set forth the aggregate number of Additional Shares as to which the option is being exercised and the date and time, as reasonably determined by Bear Stearns, when the Additional Shares are to be delivered (any such date and time being herein sometimes referred to as the "Additional Closing Date"); provided, however, that no Additional Closing Date shall occur earlier than the Closing Date or earlier than the second full business day after the date on which the option shall have been exercised nor later than the eighth full business day after the date on which the option shall have been exercised. Upon any exercise of the option as to all or any portion of the Additional Shares, each Underwriter, acting severally and not jointly, agrees to purchase from the Company the number of Additional Shares that bears the same proportion of the total number of Additional Shares then being purchased as the number of Firm Shares set forth opposite the name of such Underwriter in Schedule I hereto (or such number increased as set forth in
Section 10 hereof) bears to the total number of Firm Shares that the Underwriters have agreed to purchase hereunder, subject, however, to such adjustments to eliminate fractional shares as Bear Stearns in its sole discretion shall make.

          (d) Payment of the purchase price for, and delivery of certificates representing, the Additional Shares shall be made at the office of Underwriters' Counsel, or at such other place as shall be agreed upon by the Lead Manager and the Company, at 10:00 A.M., New York City time, on the Additional Closing Date, or such other time as shall be agreed upon by Bear Stearns and the Company. Payment of the purchase price for the Additional Shares shall be made by wire transfer in same day funds to the Company upon delivery of certificates for the Additional Shares to the Representatives through the facilities of The Depository Trust Company for the respective accounts of the several Underwriters. Certificates for the Additional Shares shall be registered in such name or names and shall be in such denominations as the Lead Manager may request. The Company will permit the Lead Manager to examine and package such certificates for delivery at least one full business day prior to the Additional Closing Date.

          (e) The Company acknowledges and agrees that (i) the terms of this Agreement and the Offering (including the price of the Shares) were negotiated at arm's length between sophisticated parties represented by counsel; (ii) no fiduciary, advisory or agency relationship between the Company and the Underwriters has been created as a result of any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or the process leading to such transactions, irrespective of whether any Underwriter has advised or is advising any such party on other matters, (iii) the Underwriters' obligations to the Company in respect of the Offering are set forth in this Agreement in their entirety and
(iv) it has obtained such legal, tax, accounting and other advice as it deems appropriate with respect to this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby and any other activities undertaken in connection therewith, and it is not relying on the Underwriters with respect to any such matters.

          3. Offering. Upon authorization of the release of the Firm Shares by the Lead Manager, the Underwriters propose to offer the Shares for sale to the public upon the terms and conditions set forth in the Prospectus.

          4. Covenants of the Company. In addition to the other covenants and agreements of the Company contained herein, the Company further covenants and agrees with each of the Underwriters that:

          (a) The Company shall prepare the Prospectus in a form approved by you and file such Prospectus pursuant to, and within the time period specified in, Rule 424(b) and Rule 430B under the Securities Act; prior to the last date on which an Additional Closing Date, if any, may occur, the Company shall file no further amendment to the Registration Statement or amendment or supplement to the Prospectus to which you shall reasonably object in writing after being furnished in advance a copy thereof and given a reasonable opportunity to review and comment thereon; the Company shall notify you promptly (and, if requested by Bear Stearns, confirm such notice in writing) (i) when the Registration Statement and any amendments thereto become effective, (ii) of any request by the Commission for any amendment of or supplement to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or for any additional information, (iii) of the Company's intention to file, or prepare any supplement or amendment to, the Registration Statement, any Preliminary Prospectus, the Prospectus or any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, (iv) of the mailing or the delivery to the Commission for filing of any amendment of or supplement to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus, including but not limited to Rule 462(b) under the Securities Act, (v) of the issuance by the Commission of any stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or any post-effective amendment thereto, or suspending the use of any Preliminary Prospectus, the Prospectus or any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus or, in each case, of the initiation or threatening of any proceedings therefore, (vi) of the receipt of any comments from the Commission, and (vii) of the receipt by the Company of any notification with respect to the suspension of the qualification of the Shares for sale in any jurisdiction or the initiation or threatening of any proceeding for that purpose. If the Commission shall propose or enter a stop order at any time, the Company will make every effort to prevent the issuance of any such stop order and, if issued, to obtain the lifting of such order as soon as possible.

          (b) If at any time when a prospectus relating to the Shares (or, in lieu thereof, the notice referred to in Rule 173(a) under the Securities Act) is required to be delivered under the Securities Act, any event shall have occurred as a result of which the Pricing Disclosure Package (prior to the availability of the Prospectus) or the Prospectus as then amended or supplemented would, in the judgment of the Underwriters or the Company, include an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances existing at the time of delivery of such Pricing Disclosure Package or Prospectus (or, in lieu thereof, the notice referred to in Rule 173(a) under the Securities Act) to the purchaser, not misleading, or if to comply with the Securities Act, the Exchange Act or the Rules and Regulations it shall be necessary at any time to amend or supplement the Pricing Disclosure Package, the Prospectus or the Registration

Statement, or to file any document incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or in any amendment thereof or any supplement thereto, the Company will notify you promptly and prepare and file with the Commission an appropriate amendment, supplement or document (in form and substance satisfactory to Bear Stearns) that will correct such statement or omission or effect such compliance, and will use its best efforts to have any amendment to the Registration Statement declared effective as soon as possible.

          (c) The Company will not, without the prior consent of Bear Stearns,
(i) make any offer relating to the Shares that would constitute a "free writing prospectus" as defined in Rule 405 under the Securities Act, except for any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus set forth in Annex IV hereto and any electronic road show previously approved by Bear Stearns, or (ii) file, refer to, approve, use or authorize the use of any "free writing prospectus" as defined in Rule 405 under the Securities Act with respect to the Offering or the Shares. If at any time any event shall have occurred as a result of which any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus as then amended or supplemented would, in the judgment of the Underwriters or the Company, conflict with the information in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus or the Prospectus as then amended or supplemented or would, in the judgment of the Underwriters or the Company, include an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances existing at the time of delivery to the purchaser, not misleading, or if to comply with the Securities Act or the Rules and Regulations it shall be necessary at any time to amend or supplement any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, the Company will notify Bear Stearns promptly and, if requested by Bear Stearns, prepare and furnish without charge to each Underwriter an appropriate amendment or supplement (in form and substance satisfactory to Bear Stearns) that will correct such statement, omission or conflict or effect such compliance.

          (d) The Company has complied and will comply with the requirements of Rule 433 with respect to each Issuer Free Writing Prospectus including, without limitation, all prospectus delivery, filing, record retention and legending requirements applicable to each such Issuer Free Writing Prospectus.

          (e) The Company will promptly deliver to each of you and Underwriters' Counsel a signed copy of the Registration Statement, as initially filed and all amendments thereto, including all consents and exhibits filed therewith, and will maintain in the Company's files manually signed copies of such documents for at least five years after the date of filing. The Company will promptly deliver to each of the Underwriters such number of copies of any Preliminary Prospectus, the Prospectus, the Registration Statement, any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, all amendments of and supplements to such documents, if any, and all documents incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and Prospectus or any amendment thereof or supplement thereto, as you may reasonably request. Prior to 10:00 A.M., New York time, on the business day next succeeding the date of this Agreement and from time to time thereafter, the Company will furnish the Underwriters with copies of the Prospectus in New York City in such quantities as you may reasonably request.

          (f) Promptly from time to time, the Company will use its best efforts, in cooperation with the Lead Manager, to qualify the Shares for offering and sale under the securities laws relating to the offering or sale of the Shares of such jurisdictions, domestic or
foreign, as the Lead Manager may designate and to maintain such qualification in effect for so long as required for the distribution thereof; except that in no event shall the Company be obligated in connection therewith to qualify as a foreign corporation or to execute a general consent to service of process.

          (g) The Company will make generally available to its security holders as soon as practicable, but in any event not later than twelve months after the effective date of the Registration Statement (as defined in Rule 158(c) under the Securities Act), an earnings statement of the Company and the Subsidiaries (which need not be audited) complying with Section 11(a) of the Securities Act and the Rules and Regulations (including, at the option of the Company, Rule
158).

          (h) During the period of 120 days from the date of the Prospectus (the "Lock-Up Period"), without the prior written consent of Bear Stearns, the Company (i) will not, directly or indirectly, issue, offer, sell, agree to issue, offer or sell, solicit offers to purchase, grant any call option, warrant or other right to purchase, purchase any put option or other right to sell, pledge, borrow or otherwise dispose of any Relevant Security, or make any public announcement of any of the foregoing, (ii) will not establish or increase any "put equivalent position" or liquidate or decrease any "call equivalent position" (in each case within the meaning of Section 16 of the Exchange Act and the Rules and Regulations) with respect to any Relevant Security, and (iii) will not otherwise enter into any swap, derivative or other transaction or arrangement that transfers to another, in whole or in part, any economic consequence of ownership of a Relevant Security, whether or not such transaction is to be settled by delivery of Relevant Securities, other securities, cash or other consideration; and the Company will obtain an undertaking in substantially the form of Annex III hereto of each of its executive officers and directors listed on Schedule II attached hereto, not to engage in any of the aforementioned transactions on their own behalf, other than the sale of Shares as contemplated by this Agreement and the Company's issuance of Common Stock upon (A) the conversion or exchange of convertible or exchangeable securities outstanding on the date hereof; (B) the exercise of currently outstanding options; (C) the exercise of currently outstanding warrants; and (D) the grant and exercise of options under, or the issuance and sale of shares pursuant to, employee stock option plans in effect on the date hereof, each as described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus. The Company will not file a registration statement under the Securities Act in connection with any transaction by the Company or any person that is prohibited pursuant to the foregoing, except for registration statements on Form S-8 relating to employee benefit plans.

          Notwithstanding the foregoing, if (1) during the last 17 days of the Lock-Up Period the Company issues an earnings release or material news or a material event relating to the Company occurs; or (2) prior to the expiration of the Lock-Up Period the Company announces that it will release earnings results during the 16-day period beginning on the last day of the Lock-Up Period, the restrictions imposed by the immediately preceding paragraph shall continue to apply until the expiration of the 18-day period beginning on the issuance of the earnings release or the occurrence of the material news or material event, as applicable, unless Bear Stearns waives, in writing, such extension. The Company will provide the Lead Managers and any co-managers, each executive officer and director of the Company listed on Schedule II
attached hereto with prior notice of any such announcement that gives rise to an extension of the Lock-Up Period.

          (i) During the period of three years from the effective date of the Registration Statement, the Company will furnish to you copies of all reports or other communications (financial or other) furnished to security holders or from time to time published or publicly disseminated by the Company, and will deliver to you (i) as soon as they are available, copies of any reports, financial statements and proxy or information statements furnished to or filed with the Commission or any national securities exchange on which any class of securities of the Company is listed; and (ii) such additional information concerning the business and financial condition of the Company as you may from time to time reasonably request (such financial information to be on a consolidated basis to the extent the accounts of the Company and the Subsidiaries are consolidated in reports furnished to its security holders generally or to the Commission).

          (j) The Company will use its best efforts to maintain the listing of the Shares on Nasdaq.

          (k) The Company will apply the net proceeds from the sale of the Shares as set forth under the caption "Use of Proceeds" in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus.

          (l) The Company, during the period when a prospectus (or, in lieu thereof, the notice referred to in Rule 173(a) under the Securities Act) is required to be delivered under the Securities Act in connection with the offer or sale of the Shares, will file all reports and other documents required to be filed by the Company with the Commission pursuant to Section 13(a), 13(c), 14 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act and the Rules and Regulations within the time periods required thereby.

          (m) If the Company elects to rely upon Rule 462(b) under the Securities Act, the Company shall file a Rule 462(b) Registration Statement with the Commission in compliance with Rule 462 by 10:00 p.m. (Eastern time), on the date of this Agreement, and the Company shall at the time of filing either pay to the Commission the filing fee for the Rule 462 Registration Statement or give irrevocable instructions for the payment of such fee pursuant to Rule 111(b) under the Securities Act.

          (n) The Company will not take, and will cause its affiliates (within the meaning of Rule 144 under the Securities Act) not to take, directly or indirectly, any action which constitutes or is designed to cause or result in, or which could reasonably be expected to constitute, cause or result in, the stabilization or manipulation of the price of any security to facilitate the sale or resale of the Shares.

          5. Covenant of the Underwriters. Each Underwriter, severally and not jointly, covenants and agrees with the Company that such Underwriter will not use or refer to any "free writing prospectus" (as defined in Rule 405 under the Securities Act) without the prior written consent of the Company if such Underwriter's use of or reference to such "free writing
prospectus" would require the Company to file with the Commission any "issuer information" (as defined in Rule 433 under the Securities Act).

          6. Payment of Expenses. Whether or not the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, the Registration Statement and the Prospectus are consummated or this Agreement is terminated, the Company hereby agrees to pay all costs and expenses incident to the performance of its obligations hereunder, including the following: (i) all expenses in connection with the preparation, printing and filing of the Registration Statement, any Preliminary Prospectus, any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, the Prospectus and any and all amendments and supplements thereto and the mailing and delivering of copies thereof to the Underwriters and dealers; (ii) the fees, disbursements and expenses of the Company's counsel and accountants in connection with the registration of the Shares under the Securities Act and the Offering; (iii) the cost of producing this Agreement and any agreement among Underwriters, blue sky survey, closing documents and other instruments, agreements or documents (including any compilations thereof) in connection with the Offering; (iv) all expenses in connection with the qualification of the Shares for offering and sale under state or foreign securities or blue sky laws as provided in Section 4(f) hereof, including the fees and disbursements of counsel for the Underwriters in connection with such qualification and in connection with any blue sky survey;
(v) the filing fees incident to, and the fees and disbursements of counsel for the Underwriters in connection with, securing any required review by the NASD of the terms of the Offering; (vi) all fees and expenses in connection with listing the Shares on the Nasdaq; (vii) all travel expenses of the Company's officers and employees and any other expense of the Company incurred in connection with attending or hosting meetings with prospective purchasers of the Shares; and
(viii) any stock transfer taxes incurred in connection with this Agreement or the Offering. The Company also will pay or cause to be paid: (x) the cost of preparing stock certificates representing the Shares; (y) the cost and charges of any transfer agent or registrar for the Shares; and (z) all other costs and expenses incident to the performance of its obligations hereunder which are not otherwise specifically provided for in this Section 6. It is understood, however, that except as provided in Sections 8, 9 and 12 hereof, the Underwriters will pay all of their own costs and expenses, including the fees of their counsel and stock transfer taxes on resale of any of the Shares by them.

          7. Conditions of Underwriters' Obligations. The several obligations of the Underwriters to purchase and pay for the Firm Shares and the Additional Shares, as provided herein, shall be subject to the accuracy of the representations and warranties of the Company herein contained, as of the date hereof and as of the Closing Date (for purposes of this Section 7, "Closing Date" shall refer to the Closing Date for the Firm Shares and any Additional Closing Date, if different, for the Additional Shares), to the performance by the Company of all of its obligations hereunder, and to each of the following additional conditions:

          (a) The Prospectus shall have been filed with the Commission in a timely fashion in accordance with Section 4(a) hereof; no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or any post-effective amendment thereto, and no stop order suspending or preventing the use of any Preliminary Prospectus, any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus or the Prospectus, shall have been issued by the Commission and no proceedings therefor shall have been initiated or threatened by the Commission; all requests for additional information on the part of the Commission shall have been complied with to your reasonable satisfaction; if the

Company has elected to rely on Rule 462(b) under the Securities Act, the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement shall have become effective by 10:00 p.m. (Washington, D.C. time) on the date of this Agreement; and all necessary regulatory or stock exchange approvals shall have been received.

          (b) At the Closing Date you shall have received the written opinion of McDermott Will & Emery LLP, counsel for the Company, dated the Closing Date and addressed to the Underwriters, in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to you, to the effect set forth in Annex I hereto.

          (c) At the Closing Date you shall have received the written opinion of Matthew Catlett, in-house intellectual property counsel for the Company, dated the Closing Date and addressed to the Underwriters, in form and substance satisfactory to you, to the effect set forth in Annex II hereto.

          (d) At the Closing Date, you shall have received the written opinion of Underwriters' Counsel, dated the Closing Date and addressed to the Underwriters, in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to you, with respect to the issuance and sale of the Shares, the Registration Statement, the Pricing Disclosure Package, the Prospectus and such other matters as you may require, and the Company shall have furnished to Underwriters' Counsel such documents as they may reasonably request for the purpose of enabling them to pass upon such matters.

          (e) At the Closing Date you shall have received a certificate of the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer of the Company, dated the Closing Date, in form and substance satisfactory to you, as to the accuracy of the representations and warranties of the Company set forth in Section 1 hereof as of the date hereof and as of the Closing Date, as to the performance by the Company of all of its obligations hereunder to be performed at or prior to the Closing Date, as to the matters set forth in subsections (a) and (g) of this
Section 7, and as to such other matters as you may reasonably request.

          (f) At the time this Agreement is executed and at the Closing Date, you shall have received a comfort letter, from Deloitte & Touche LLP, independent public accountants for the Company, dated, respectively, as of the date of this Agreement and as of the Closing Date, addressed to the Underwriters and in form and substance satisfactory to the Underwriters and Underwriters' Counsel.

          (g) (i) Neither the Company nor any Subsidiary shall have sustained, since the date of the latest audited financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Pricing Prospectus, any material loss or interference with its business or properties from fire, explosion, flood, hurricane, accident or other calamity, whether or not covered by insurance, or from any labor dispute or any legal or governmental proceeding, other than as set forth in the Pricing Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto); and
(ii) subsequent to the dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement (exclusive of any amendment thereto subsequent to the date hereof) and the Pricing Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto), there shall not have been any material change in the capital stock or long-term or short-term debt of the Company or any Subsidiary or any change or any development involving a change,
whether or not arising from transactions in the ordinary course of business, in the business, management, condition (financial or otherwise), results of operations, stockholders' equity, properties or prospects of the Company and the Subsidiaries, individually or taken as a whole, the effect of which, in any such case described above, is, in the judgment of the Lead Manager, so material and adverse as to make it impracticable or inadvisable to proceed with the Offering on the terms and in the manner contemplated in the Pricing Prospectus (exclusive of any such supplement).

          (h) You shall have received a duly executed lock-up agreement from each person who is a director or executive officer of the Company listed on
Schedule II hereto, in each case substantially in the form attached hereto as Annex II.

          (i) At the Closing Date, the Shares shall have been approved for listing on Nasdaq.

          (j) At the Closing Date, the NASD shall have confirmed that it has not raised any objection with respect to the fairness and reasonableness of the underwriting terms and arrangements for the Offering.

          (k) The Company shall have furnished the Underwriters and Underwriters' Counsel with such other certificates, opinions or other documents as they may have reasonably requested.

          If any of the conditions specified in this Section 7 shall not have been fulfilled when and as required by this Agreement, or if any of the certificates, opinions, written statements or letters furnished to you or to Underwriters' Counsel pursuant to this Section 7 shall not be reasonably satisfactory in form and substance to the Lead Manager and to Underwriters' Counsel, all obligations of the Underwriters hereunder may be cancelled by the Lead Manager at, or at any time prior to, the Closing Date and the obligations of the Underwriters to purchase the Additional Shares may be cancelled by the Lead Manager at, or at any time prior to, the Additional Closing Date. Notice of such cancellation shall be given to the Company in writing or by telephone. Any such telephone notice shall be confirmed promptly thereafter in writing.

          8. Indemnification.

          (a) The Company shall indemnify and hold harmless each Underwriter and each person, if any, who controls any Underwriter within the meaning of Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act, and each affiliate of any Underwriter within the meaning of Rule 405 under the Securities Act from and against any and all losses, liabilities, claims, damages and expenses whatsoever as incurred (including but not limited to reasonable attorneys' fees and any and all reasonable expenses whatsoever incurred in investigating, preparing or defending against any litigation, commenced or threatened, or any claim whatsoever, and any and all amounts paid in settlement of any claim or litigation), joint or several, to which they or any of them may become subject under the Securities Act, the Exchange Act or otherwise, insofar as such losses, liabilities, claims, damages or expenses (or actions in respect thereof) arise out of or are based upon (i) any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in (A) the Registration Statement, as originally
filed or any amendment thereof, or in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Pricing Disclosure Package or the Prospectus, or in any supplement thereto or amendment thereof, or in any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, or in any "issuer information" (as defined in Rule 433(h)(2) under the Securities Act) filed or required to be filed pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Securities Act, or (B) any other materials or information provided to investors by, or with the approval of, the Company in connection with the Offering, including in any "road show" (as defined in Rule 433 under the Securities Act) for the Offering ("Marketing Materials"), or (ii) the omission or alleged omission to state (A) in the Registration Statement, as originally filed or any amendment thereof, a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, or (B) in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Pricing Disclosure Package or the Prospectus, or in any supplement thereto or amendment thereof, or in any Issuer Free Writing Prospectus, or in any "issuer information" (as defined in Rule 433(h)(2) under the Securities Act) filed or required to be filed pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Securities Act, or in any Marketing Materials, a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided, however, that the Company will not be liable in any such case to the extent but only to the extent that any such loss, liability, claim, damage or expense arises out of or is based upon any such untrue statement or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission made therein in reliance upon and in conformity with written information furnished to the Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns expressly for use therein. The parties agree that such information provided by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns consists solely of the material referred to in Section 16 hereof. This indemnity agreement will be in addition to any liability which the Company may otherwise have, including but not limited to other liability under this Agreement.

          (b) Each Underwriter, severally and not jointly, shall indemnify and hold harmless the Company, each of the directors of the Company, each of the officers of the Company who shall have signed the Registration Statement, and each other person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of
Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act, against any losses, liabilities, claims, damages and expenses whatsoever as incurred (including but not limited to reasonable attorneys' fees and any and all reasonable expenses whatsoever incurred in investigating, preparing or defending against any litigation, commenced or threatened, or any claim whatsoever, and any and all amounts paid in settlement of any claim or litigation), joint or several, to which they or any of them may become subject under the Securities Act, the Exchange Act or otherwise, insofar as such losses, liabilities, claims, damages or expenses (or actions in respect thereof) arise out of or are based upon (i) any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in the Registration Statement, as originally filed or any amendment thereof, or the omission or alleged omission therefrom of a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading or (ii) any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact included in any Preliminary Prospectus, the Pricing Disclosure Package or the Prospectus, or in any amendment thereof or supplement thereto, or the omission or alleged omission therefrom of a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading, in each case to the extent, but only to the extent, that any such loss, liability, claim, damage or expense arises out of or is based upon any such untrue statement or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission made therein in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the

Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns specifically for use therein; provided, however, that in no case shall any Underwriter be liable or responsible for any amount in excess of the underwriting discount applicable to the Shares to be purchased by such Underwriter hereunder. The parties agree that such information provided by or on behalf of any Underwriter through Bear Stearns consists solely of the material referred to in Section 16 hereof.

          (c) Promptly after receipt by an indemnified party under subsection
(a) or (b) above of notice of any claims or the commencement of any action, such indemnified party shall, if a claim in respect thereof is to be made against the indemnifying party under such subsection, notify each party against whom indemnification is to be sought in writing of the claim or the commencement thereof (but the failure so to notify an indemnifying party shall not relieve the indemnifying party from any liability which it may have under this Section
8). In case any such claim or action is brought against any indemnified party, counsel to such indemnified party shall be selected by such indemnified party. An indemnifying party may participate at its own expense in the defense of any such claim or action; provided, however, that counsel to the indemnifying party shall not (except with the consent of the indemnified party) also be counsel to the indemnified party. In no event shall the indemnifying parties be liable for fees and expenses of more than one counsel (in addition to any local counsel) separate from their own counsel for all indemnified parties in connection with any one action or separate but similar or related actions in the same jurisdiction arising out of the same general allegations or circumstances. No indemnifying party shall, without the prior written consent of the indemnified parties, effect any settlement or compromise of, or consent to the entry of judgment with respect to, any pending or threatened claim, investigation, action or proceeding in respect of which indemnity or contribution may be or could have been sought by an indemnified party under this Section 8 or Section 9 hereof (whether or not the indemnified party is an actual or potential party thereto), unless such settlement, compromise or judgment (i) includes an unconditional release of the indemnified party from all liability arising out of such claim, investigation, action or proceeding and (ii) does not include a statement as to or an admission of fault, culpability or any failure to act, by or on behalf of the indemnified party. If at any time an indemnified party shall have requested an indemnifying party to reimburse the indemnified party for fees and expenses of counsel, such indemnifying party agrees that it shall be liable for any settlement of the nature contemplated by subsections (a) or (b), as applicable, effected without its written consent if (A) such settlement is entered into more than 45 days after receipt by such indemnifying party of the aforesaid request,
(B) such indemnifying party shall have received notice of the terms of such settlement at least 30 days prior to such settlement being entered into and (C) such indemnifying party shall not have reimbursed such indemnified party in accordance with such request prior to the date of such settlement.

          9. Contribution. In order to provide for contribution in circumstances in which the indemnification provided for in Section 8 hereof is for any reason held to be unavailable from any indemnifying party or is insufficient to hold harmless a party indemnified thereunder, the Company and the Underwriters shall contribute to the aggregate losses, claims, damages, liabilities and expenses of the nature contemplated by such indemnification provision (including any investigation, legal and other expenses incurred in connection with, and any amount paid in settlement of, any action, suit or proceeding or any claims asserted, but after deducting in the case of losses, claims, damages, liabilities and expenses suffered by the Company, any contribution received by the Company from persons, other than the Underwriters, who may also
be liable for contribution, including persons who control the Company within the meaning of Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act, officers of the Company who signed the Registration Statement and directors of the Company) as incurred to which the Company and one or more of the Underwriters may be subject, in such proportions as is appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other from the Offering or, if such allocation is not permitted by applicable law, in such proportions as are appropriate to reflect not only the relative benefits referred to above but also the relative fault of the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other in connection with the statements or omissions which resulted in such losses, claims, damages, liabilities or expenses, as well as any other relevant equitable considerations. The relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and the Underwriters on the other shall be deemed to be in the same proportion as (x) the total proceeds from the Offering (net of underwriting discounts and commissions but before deducting expenses) received by the Company bears to (y) the underwriting discount or commissions received by the Underwriters, in each case as set forth in the table on the cover page of the Prospectus. The relative fault of each of the Company and of the Underwriters shall be determined by reference to, among other things, whether the untrue or alleged untrue statement of a material fact or the omission or alleged omission to state a material fact relates to information supplied by the Company on the one hand or the Underwriters on the other and the parties' relative intent, knowledge, access to information and opportunity to correct or prevent such statement or omission. The Company and the Underwriters agree that it would not be just and equitable if contribution pursuant to this Section 9 were determined by pro rata allocation (even if the Underwriters were treated as one entity for such purpose) or by any other method of allocation which does not take account of the equitable considerations referred to above in this Section. The aggregate amount of losses, liabilities, claims, damages and expenses incurred by an indemnified party and referred to above in this Section 9 shall be deemed to include any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such indemnified party in investigating, preparing or defending against any litigation, or any investigation or proceeding by any judicial, regulatory or other legal or governmental agency or body, commenced or threatened, or any claim whatsoever based upon any such untrue or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission. Notwithstanding the provisions of this Section 9, (i) no Underwriter shall be required to contribute any amount in excess of the amount by which the discounts and commissions applicable to the Shares underwritten by it and distributed to the public exceeds the amount of any damages which such Underwriter has otherwise been required to pay by reason of such untrue or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission and (ii) no person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the Securities Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. For purposes of this Section 9, each person, if any, who controls an Underwriter within the meaning of Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act and each affiliate of any Underwriter within the meaning of Rule 405 under the Securities Act shall have the same rights to contribution as such Underwriter, and each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act, each officer of the Company who shall have signed the Registration Statement and each director of the Company shall have the same rights to contribution as the Company, as applicable, subject in each case to clauses (i) and (ii) of the immediately preceding sentence. Any party entitled to contribution will, promptly after receipt of notice of commencement of any action, suit or proceeding against such party in
respect of which a claim for contribution may be made against another party or parties, notify each party or parties from whom contribution may be sought, but the omission to so notify such party or parties shall not relieve the party or parties from whom contribution may be sought from any obligation it or they may have under this Section 9 or otherwise. The obligations of the Underwriters to contribute pursuant to this Section 9 are several in proportion to the respective number of Shares to be purchased by each of the Underwriters hereunder and not joint.

          10. Underwriter Default.

          (a) If any Underwriter or Underwriters shall default in its or their obligation to purchase Firm Shares or Additional Shares hereunder, and if the Firm Shares or Additional Shares with respect to which such default relates (the "Default Shares") do not (after giving effect to arrangements, if any, made by the Lead Manager pursuant to subsection (b) below) exceed in the aggregate 10% of the number of Firm Shares or Additional Shares, each non-defaulting Underwriter, acting severally and not jointly, agrees to purchase from the Company that number of Default Shares that bears the same proportion of the total number of Default Shares then being purchased as the number of Firm Shares set forth opposite the name of such Underwriter in Schedule I hereto bears to the aggregate number of Firm Shares set forth opposite the names of the non-defaulting Underwriters, subject, however, to such adjustments to eliminate fractional shares as the Lead Manager in its sole discretion shall make.

          (b) In the event that the aggregate number of Default Shares exceeds 10% of the number of Firm Shares or Additional Shares, as the case may be, the Lead Manager may in its discretion arrange for itself or for another party or parties (including any non-defaulting Underwriter or Underwriters who so agree) to purchase the Default Shares on the terms contained herein. In the event that within five calendar days after such a default the Lead Manager does not arrange for the purchase of the Default Shares as provided in this Section 10, this Agreement or, in the case of a default with respect to the Additional Shares, the obligations of the Underwriters to purchase and of the Company to sell the Additional Shares shall thereupon terminate, without liability on the part of the Company with respect thereto (except in each case as provided in Sections 6, 8, 9, 11 and 12) or the Underwriters, but nothing in this Agreement shall relieve a defaulting Underwriter or Underwriters of its or their liability, if any, to the other Underwriters and the Company for damages occasioned by its or their default hereunder.

          (c) In the event that any Default Shares are to be purchased by the non-defaulting Underwriters, or are to be purchased by another party or parties as aforesaid, the Lead Manager or the Company shall have the right to postpone the Closing Date or Additional Closing Date, as the case may be for a period, not exceeding five business days, in order to effect whatever changes may thereby be made necessary in the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or in any other documents and arrangements, and the Company agrees to file promptly any amendment or supplement to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus which, in the opinion of Underwriters' Counsel, may thereby be made necessary or advisable. The term "Underwriter" as used in this Agreement shall include any party substituted under this Section 10 with like effect as if it had originally been a party to this Agreement with respect to such Firm Shares and Additional Shares.

          11. Survival of Representations and Agreements. All representations and warranties, covenants and agreements of the Underwriters and the Company contained in this Agreement or in certificates of officers of the Company or any Subsidiary submitted pursuant hereto, including the agreements contained in
Section 4 and 5, the indemnity agreements contained in Section 8 and the contribution agreements contained in Section 9, shall remain operative and in full force and effect regardless of any investigation made by or on behalf of any Underwriter or any controlling person thereof or by or on behalf of the Company, any of its officers and directors or any controlling person thereof, and shall survive delivery of and payment for the Shares to and by the Underwriters. The representations contained in Section 1 and the agreements contained in Sections 6, 8, 9 and 12 through 15 hereof shall survive any termination of this Agreement, including termination pursuant to Section 10 or 12 hereof.

          12. Effective Date of Agreement; Termination.

          (a) This Agreement shall become effective when the parties hereto have executed and delivered this Agreement.

          (b) The Lead Manager shall have the right to terminate this Agreement at any time prior to the Closing Date or to terminate the obligations of the Underwriters to purchase the Additional Shares at any time prior to the Additional Closing Date, as the case may be, if, at or after the Applicable Time, (i) any domestic or international event or act or occurrence has materially disrupted, or in the opinion of the Lead Manager will in the immediate future materially disrupt, the market for the Company's securities or securities in general; or (ii) a suspension or material limitation in trading in securities generally on the NYSE or Nasdaq shall have occurred; or (iii) a suspension or material limitation in trading in the Company's securities on Nasdaq shall have occurred; or (iv) a banking moratorium has been declared by any state or federal authority or any material disruption in commercial banking or securities settlement or clearance services shall have occurred; or (v) any downgrading shall have occurred in the Company's corporate credit rating or the rating accorded the Company's debt securities or preferred stock by any "nationally recognized statistical rating organization" (as defined for purposes of Rule 436(g) under the Securities Act) or any such organization shall have publicly announced that it has under surveillance or review, with possible negative implications, its rating of any of the Company's debt securities; or
(vi) in the judgment of the Lead Manager, any Material Adverse Change shall have occurred since the respective dates as of which information is given in the Pricing Prospectus; or (vii)(A) there shall have occurred any outbreak or escalation of hostilities or acts of terrorism involving the United States or there is a declaration of a national emergency or war by the United States or
(B) there shall have been any other calamity or crisis or any change in political, financial or economic conditions if the effect of any such event in
(A) or (B), in the judgment of the Lead Manager, makes it impracticable or inadvisable to proceed with the offering, sale and delivery of the Firm Shares or the Additional Shares, as the case may be, on the terms and in the manner contemplated by the Prospectus.

          (c) Any notice of termination pursuant to this Section 12 shall be in writing.

          (d) If this Agreement shall be terminated pursuant to any of the provisions hereof (other than pursuant to Section 10(b) hereof), or if the sale of the Shares provided for herein is not consummated because any condition to the obligations of the Underwriters set forth
herein is not satisfied or because of any refusal, inability or failure on the part of the Company to perform any agreement herein or comply with any provision hereof, the Company will, subject to demand by the Lead Manager, reimburse the Underwriters for all out-of-pocket expenses (including the fees and expenses of their counsel), incurred by the Underwriters in connection herewith.

          13. Notices. All communications hereunder, except as may be otherwise specifically provided herein, shall be in writing, and:

          (a) if sent to any Underwriter, shall be mailed, delivered, or faxed and confirmed in writing, to such Underwriter c/o Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc., 383 Madison Avenue, New York, New York 10179, Attention: Stephen Parish, Senior Managing Director, Equity Transactions Group, with a copy to Underwriter's Counsel at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, Attention: David J. Goldschmidt, Esq.;

          (b) if sent to the Company, shall be mailed, delivered, or faxed and confirmed in writing to the Company and its counsel at the addresses set forth in the Registration Statement, Attention: Caesar J. Belbel, Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and Secretary, with a copy to John Hession, McDermott Will & Emery LLP, 28 State Street, Boston 02109;

provided, however, that any notice to an Underwriter pursuant to Section 8 shall be delivered or sent by mail or facsimile transmission to such Underwriter at its address set forth in its acceptance facsimile to Bear Stearns, which address will be supplied to any other party hereto by Bear Stearns upon request. Any such notices and other communications shall take effect at the time of receipt thereof.

          14. Parties. This Agreement shall inure solely to the benefit of, and shall be binding upon, the Underwriters and the Company and the controlling persons, directors, officers, employees and agents referred to in Sections 8 and 9 hereof, and their respective successors and assigns, and no other person shall have or be construed to have any legal or equitable right, remedy or claim under or in respect of or by virtue of this Agreement or any provision herein contained. This Agreement and all conditions and provisions hereof are intended to be for the sole and exclusive benefit of the parties hereto and said controlling persons and their respective successors, officers, directors, heirs and legal representatives, and it is not for the benefit of any other person, firm or corporation. The term "successors and assigns" shall not include a purchaser, in its capacity as such, of Shares from any of the Underwriters.

          15. Governing Law and Jurisdiction; Waiver of Jury Trial. THIS AGREEMENT SHALL BE GOVERNED BY AND CONSTRUED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK. The Company irrevocably (a) submits to the jurisdiction of any court of the State of New York or the United State District Court for the Southern District of the State of New York for the purpose of any suit, action, or other proceeding arising out of this Agreement, or any of the agreements or transactions contemplated by this Agreement, the Registration Statement and the Prospectus (each, a "Proceeding"), (b) agrees that all claims in respect of any Proceeding may be heard and determined in any such court, (c) waives, to the fullest extent permitted by law,
any immunity from jurisdiction of any such court or from any legal process therein, (d) agrees not to commence any Proceeding other than in such courts, and (e) waives, to the fullest extent permitted by law, any claim that such Proceeding is brought in an inconvenient forum. THE COMPANY (ON BEHALF OF ITSELF AND, TO THE FULLEST EXTENT PERMITTED BY LAW, ON BEHALF OF ITS RESPECTIVE EQUITY HOLDERS AND CREDITORS) HEREBY WAIVES ANY RIGHT IT MAY HAVE TO A TRIAL BY JURY IN RESPECT OF ANY CLAIM BASED UPON, ARISING OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THIS AGREEMENT AND THE TRANSACTIONS CONTEMPLATED BY THIS AGREEMENT, THE REGISTRATION STATEMENT AND THE PROSPECTUS.

          16. The parties acknowledge and agree that, for purposes of Sections 1(b), 1(c), 1(d) and 8 hereof, the information provided by or on behalf of any Underwriter consists solely of the material included in the third paragraph under the caption "Underwriting" in the Prospectus and the paragraph under the caption "Underwriting - Price Stabilization and Short Positions" in the Prospectus, but only insofar as such statements relate to the amount of selling concessions, reallowance and stabilization activities that may be undertaken by the Underwriters.

          17. Counterparts. This Agreement may be executed in any number of counterparts, each of which shall be deemed to be an original, but all such counterparts shall together constitute one and the same instrument. Delivery of a signed counterpart of this Agreement by facsimile transmission shall constitute valid and sufficient delivery thereof.

          18. Headings. The headings herein are inserted for convenience of reference only and are not intended to be part of, or to affect the meaning or interpretation of, this Agreement.

          19. Time is of the Essence. Time shall be of the essence of this Agreement. As used herein, the term "business day" shall mean any day when the Commission's office in Washington, D.C. is open for business.

                            [signature page follows]

          If the foregoing correctly sets forth your understanding, please so indicate in the space provided below for that purpose, whereupon this letter shall constitute a binding agreement among us.

                                        Very truly yours,

                                        CLINICAL DATA, INC.


                                        By:
                                            ------------------------------------
                                        Name:
                                              ----------------------------------
                                        Title:
                                               ---------------------------------

Accepted as of the date first above written

BEAR, STEARNS & CO. INC.


By:
    ---------------------------------
Name:
      -------------------------------
Title:
       ------------------------------

On behalf of itself and the other
Underwriters named in Schedule I hereto.

                                   SCHEDULE I

                                                            Number of Additional
                                 Total Number of Firm    Shares to be Purchased if
Underwriter                     Shares to be Purchased    Option is Fully Exercised
-----------                     ----------------------   --------------------------
Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc                2,700,000                   405,000
Lazard Capital Markets LLC               300,000                    45,000

   Total .................             3,000,000                   450,000
                                       =========                   =======

                                   SCHEDULE II

Andrew J. Fromkin

C. Evan Ballantyne

Caesar J. Belbel

Carol Reed, M.D.

Randal J. Kirk

Arthur B. Malman

Larry D. Horner

Burton E. Sobel, M.D.

Kevin L. Rakin

                                    EXHIBIT A

                                  Subsidiaries

Clinical Data BV

Cogenics, Inc.

Cogenics Genome Express S.A.

Cogenics Icoria, Inc.

Cogenics Lark, Inc.

Electa Lab s.r.l

NovaChem BV

PGxHealth, LLC

Vital Scientific BV

Spectronetics NV

                                     ANNEX I

                       Form of Opinion of Company Counsel

          1. Each of the Company and its U.S. Subsidiaries is validly existing as a corporation or limited liability company in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation, with requisite power and authority to own its properties and conduct its business as described in the Pricing Prospectus. Each of the Company and its Subsidiaries is qualified and in good standing as a foreign corporation in each jurisdiction in which the character or location of its properties (owned, leased or licensed) or the nature or conduct of its business makes such qualification necessary, except for those failures to be so qualified or in good standing which do not have a Material Adverse Effect.

          2. The Company has an authorized capitalization as set forth in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus. The Shares to be delivered on the Closing Date and the Additional Closing Date, if any, have been duly and validly authorized and, when delivered in accordance with the Underwriting Agreement, will be duly and validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable and will not have been issued in violation of or subject to preemptive or, to the best of such counsel's knowledge, similar rights that entitle or will entitle any person to acquire any Shares from the Company upon issuance or sale thereof. All of the issued shares of capital stock of each Subsidiary of the Company have been duly and validly authorized and issued and are fully paid and non-assessable and are owned directly or indirectly by the Company, free and clear of all Liens. The Common Stock, the Firm Shares and the Additional Shares conform to the descriptions thereof contained in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus.

          3. The Common Stock currently outstanding is listed, and the Shares are duly authorized for listing on the NASDAQ.

          4. The Underwriting Agreement has been duly and validly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company.

          5. To the best of such counsel's knowledge and other than as set forth in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, there are no judicial, regulatory or other legal or governmental proceedings pending to which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is a party or of which any property of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is the subject which, if determined adversely to the Company or any of its Subsidiaries, would individually or in the aggregate have a Material Adverse Effect; and, to the best of such counsel's knowledge, no such proceedings are threatened or contemplated.

          6. The execution, delivery, and performance of the Underwriting Agreement by the Company and consummation by the Company of the transactions contemplated by Underwriting Agreement do not and will not (A) conflict with or result in a breach of any of the terms and provisions of, or constitute a default (or an event which with notice or lapse of time, or both, would constitute a default) under, or result in the creation or imposition of any lien, charge or encumbrance upon any property or assets of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries pursuant to, any indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan agreement or any other agreement or instrument
known to such counsel to which the Company or any of its Subsidiaries is a party or by which any of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries or their respective properties or assets may be bound and which is listed as an exhibit to the Company's most recently filed 10-K or (B) violate any provision of the certificate of incorporation or by-laws of the Company or any of its Subsidiaries, or, to the best knowledge of such counsel, any judgment, decree, order, statute, rule or regulation of any court or any judicial, regulatory or other legal or governmental agency or body.

          7. No consent, approval, authorization, order, registration, filing, qualification, license or permit of or with any court or any judicial, regulatory or other legal or governmental agency or body is required for the execution, delivery and performance by the Company of this Agreement or consummation of the transactions contemplated by the Underwriting Agreement, except for (1) such as may be required under state securities or blue sky laws in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Shares by the Underwriters (as to which such counsel need express no opinion), (2) such as have been made or obtained under the Securities Act, (3) such as would not have a Material Adverse Effect if not obtained or made, and (4) such as are required by the NASD.

          8. The Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus and any amendments thereof or supplements thereto (other than the financial statements and schedules and other financial data included or incorporated by reference therein, as to which no opinion need be rendered) comply as to form in all material respects with the requirements of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Rules and Regulations. The documents incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus or any amendment thereof or supplement thereto (other than the financial statements and schedules and other financial data included or incorporated by reference therein, as to which no opinion need be rendered) when they became effective or were filed with the Commission, as the case may be, complied as to form in all material respects with the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, as applicable, and the Rules and Regulations.

          9. The statements under the captions "Description of Capital Stock" and "Underwriting" in the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus and Items 14 and 15 of Part II of the Registration Statement, insofar as such statements constitute a summary of the legal matters, documents or proceedings referred to therein, fairly present in all material respects the information called for with respect to such legal matters, documents and proceedings.

          10. The Company is not and, after giving effect to the offering and sale of the Shares and the application of the proceeds thereof as described in the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, will not be, required to register as an "investment company" as such term is defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended.

          11. The Registration Statement was declared effective under the Securities Act on June 28, 2007 and, to the best knowledge of such counsel, no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or any post-effective amendment thereof has been issued and no proceedings therefor have been initiated or threatened by the Commission and all filings required by Rule 424(b), Rule 430A and Rule 433 under the Securities Act have been made in the manner and in the time period required therein.

          12. To the best knowledge of such counsel, no contract or agreement is required to be filed as an exhibit to the Registration Statement that is not so filed.

          In addition, such opinion shall also contain a statement that such counsel has participated in conferences with officers and representatives of the Company, representatives of the independent public accountants for the Company and the Underwriters at which the contents of the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus and related matters were discussed and no facts have come to the attention of such counsel which lead such counsel to believe that (A) the Registration Statement, at the time it became effective (including the information deemed to be part of the Registration Statement at the time of effectiveness pursuant to Rule 430A(b)), or any amendment thereof made prior to the Closing Date, as of the date of such amendment, contained any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, or (B) the Prospectus, as of its date (or any amendment thereof or supplement thereto made prior to the Closing Date as of the date of such amendment or supplement) and as of the Closing Date, contained or contains an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted or omits to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; or (C) the Pricing Disclosure Package, as of the Applicable Time and as of the Closing Date, contained or contains an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted or omits to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading (it being understood that such counsel need express no belief or opinion with respect to the financial statements and schedules and other financial data included or incorporated by reference therein).

                                    ANNEX II

                Form of Opinion of Intellectual Property Counsel

1. To the best of our knowledge, the information in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus under "Risk Factors-Risks Related to Our Intellectual Property," and
     "Business-Intellectual Property" to the extent that it constitutes matters of law, summaries of legal matters, documents or proceedings, or legal conclusions, has been reviewed by us and is correct in all material respects and fairly and correctly presents the information called for with respect thereto.

2. To the best of our knowledge, there are no pending or threatened legal or governmental proceedings, nor allegations on the part of any person of infringement, relating to patent rights, trade secrets, trademarks, service marks, copyrights or other proprietary information or know-how of the Company and no such proceedings are threatened or contemplated.

3. To the best of our knowledge, the Company is not infringing or otherwise violating any patents, trade secrets, trademarks, service marks, copyrights or other proprietary information or know-how of any persons and, to our knowledge, no person is infringing or otherwise violating any of the Company's patents, trade secrets, trademarks, service marks, copyrights or other proprietary information or know-how of the Company.

4. To the best of our knowledge, the Company owns or possesses sufficient licenses or other rights to use all technology covered by patents or trade secrets, and to use all trademarks, service marks or other proprietary information or know-how necessary to conduct the business now being or proposed to be conducted by the Company as described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus.

5. To the best of our knowledge, all pertinent art references known to the Company or their counsel during the prosecution of the patents and the applications described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus were disclosed to the PTO and, to the best of our knowledge, neither such counsel nor the Company made any misrepresentation to, or concealed any material fact from, the PTO during such prosecution.

6.   We are not aware of any fact with respect to any patent applications that
     (i) would preclude the issuance of patents with respect to such applications described in the Registration Statement, the Pricing Prospectus and the Prospectus, (ii) would lead us to conclude that such patents, when issued, would not be valid and enforceable in accordance with applicable regulations or (iii) would result in a third party having any rights in any patents issuing from such patent applications.

7. To the best of our knowledge, the Company takes security measures adequate to assert trade secret protection in its non-patented technology.

8. Nothing has come to our attention that leads us to believe that, with respect to licenses, patents, trademarks, service marks, trade secrets, copyrights or other proprietary information
     or know-how owned or used by the Company which are the subject of the foregoing opinions, (A) the Registration Statement, at the time it became effective (including the information deemed to be part of the Registration Statement at the time of effectiveness pursuant to Rule 430A(b)), or any amendment thereof made prior to the Closing Date, as of the date of such amendment, contained any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, or (B) the Prospectus, as of its date (or any amendment thereof or supplement thereto made prior to the Closing Date as of the date of such amendment or supplement) and as of the Closing Date, contained or contains an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted or omits to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; or (C) the Pricing Disclosure Package, as of the Applicable Time and as of the Closing Date, contained or contains an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted or omits to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading.

                                    ANNEX III

                            Form of Lock-Up Agreement

                                     [Date]

Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc.
   As Representative of the several
   Underwriters referred to below
c/o Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc.
383 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10179
Attention: Equity Transactions Group

                      Clinical Data, Inc. Lock-Up Agreement

Ladies and Gentlemen:

     This letter agreement (this "Agreement") relates to the proposed public offering (the "Offering") by Clinical Data, Inc., a Delaware corporation (the "Company"), of its common stock, $.01 par value (the "Stock").

     In order to induce you and the other underwriters for which you act as representative (the "Underwriters") to underwrite the Offering, the undersigned hereby agrees that, without the prior written consent of Bear, Stearns & Co. Inc. ("Bear Stearns"), during the period from the date hereof until one hundred eighty (180) days from the date of the final prospectus for the Offering (the "Lock-Up Period"), the undersigned (a) will not, directly or indirectly, offer, sell, agree to offer or sell, solicit offers to purchase, grant any call option or purchase any put option with respect to, pledge, borrow or otherwise dispose of any Relevant Security (as defined below), and (b) will not establish or increase any "put equivalent position" or liquidate or decrease any "call equivalent position" with respect to any Relevant Security (in each case within the meaning of Section 16 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder), or otherwise enter into any swap, derivative or other transaction or arrangement that transfers to another, in whole or in part, any economic consequence of ownership of a Relevant Security, whether or not such transaction is to be settled by delivery of Relevant Securities, other securities, cash or other consideration. As used herein "Relevant Security" means the Stock, any other equity security of the Company or any of its subsidiaries and any security convertible into, or exercisable or exchangeable for, any Stock or other such equity security.

     Notwithstanding the preceding paragraph, if (1) during the last 17 days of the Lock-Up Period the Company issues an earnings release or material news or a material event relating to the Company occurs; or (2) prior to the expiration of the Lock-Up Period the Company announces that it will release earnings results during the 16-day period beginning on the last day of the Lock-Up Period, the restrictions imposed by the immediately preceding paragraph shall continue to apply until the expiration of the 18-day period beginning on the issuance of the earnings release or the occurrence of the material news or material event, as applicable, unless

Bear Stearns waives, in writing, such extension. The undersigned acknowledges that the Company has agreed in the underwriting agreement for the Offering to provide notice to the undersigned of any event that would result in an extension of the Lock-Up Period pursuant to this paragraph, and the undersigned agrees that any such notice properly delivered will be deemed to have been given to, and received by, the undersigned.

     The undersigned hereby authorizes the Company during the Lock-Up Period to cause any transfer agent for the Relevant Securities to decline to transfer, and to note stop transfer restrictions on the stock register and other records relating to, Relevant Securities for which the undersigned is the record holder and, in the case of Relevant Securities for which the undersigned is the beneficial but not the record holder, agrees during the Lock-Up Period to cause the record holder to cause the relevant transfer agent to decline to transfer, and to note stop transfer restrictions on the stock register and other records relating to, such Relevant Securities. The undersigned hereby further agrees that, without the prior written consent of Bear Stearns, during the Lock-up Period the undersigned (x) will not file or participate in the filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission of any registration statement, or circulate or participate in the circulation of any preliminary or final prospectus or other disclosure document with respect to any proposed offering or sale of a Relevant Security and (y) will not exercise any rights the undersigned may have to require registration with the Securities and Exchange Commission of any proposed offering or sale of a Relevant Security.

     The undersigned hereby represents and warrants that the undersigned has full power and authority to enter into this Agreement and that this Agreement constitutes the legal, valid and binding obligation of the undersigned, enforceable in accordance with its terms. Upon request, the undersigned will execute any additional documents necessary in connection with enforcement hereof. Any obligations of the undersigned shall be binding upon the successors and assigns of the undersigned from the date first above written.

     This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of New York. Delivery of a signed copy of this letter by facsimile transmission shall be effective as delivery of the original hereof.

                                        Very truly yours,


                                        By:
                                            ------------------------------------
                                        Print Name:
                                                    ----------------------------

                                    ANNEX IV

   Issuer Free Writing Prospectuses included in the Pricing Disclosure Package

None.