PENNS WOODS BANCORP INC (CIK 716605)
Form 10-Q
period 1999-06-30
filed 1999-08-16

secQ699
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

                                    YES [  X  ]              NO[     ]


On June 30, 1999 were were 3,121,286 shares of the
Registrant's common stock outstanding.

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
                                         (IN THOUSANDS)
ASSETS:
  Cash and due from banks                       $10,098         $12,297
  Investment securities available-for-sa        110,983         102,324
  Investment securities held-to-maturity          3,031           3,078
  Loans, net of unearned discount               222,602         216,565
  Allowance for loan and lease losses            (2,772)         (2,680)

            Loans, net                          219,830         213,885

  Bank premises and equipment, net                4,902           4,738
  Accrued interest receivable                     2,197           1,857
  Foreclosed assets held for sale                    34              40
  Other assets                                    5,223           3,401
                                        --------------------------------
            TOTAL ASSETS                       $356,298        $341,620
                                        ================================

LIABILITIES:
  Demand Deposits                               $39,843         $42,233
  Interest-bearing demand deposits               43,921          44,041
  Savings deposits                               50,108          49,737
  Time deposits                                 120,509         117,123
                                        --------------------------------
            Total deposits                     $254,381        $253,134

  Federal funds purchased                         2,550               0
  Securities sold under repurchase agree         17,364          11,223
  Accrued interest payable                        1,056           1,115
  Other Liabilities                               4,305           3,474
   Long-term borrowings                          27,783          22,778
            Total liabilities           --------------------------------
                                               $307,439        $291,724
                                        --------------------------------
SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY:
  Common stock, par value $10 per share,
            10,000,000 shares authorized        $31,249         $28,409
 Additional paid-in capital                      18,095           4,768
 Retained earnings                               (2,317)         11,975
Accumulated other comprehensive income            2,046           4,958
Less:  Treasury stock at cost, 3,656 sha           (214)           (214)
                                        --------------------------------
            Total shareholders' equity          $48,859         $49,896
                                        --------------------------------
            TOTAL LIABILITIES AND
            SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY               $356,298        $341,620
                                        ================================
            *Restated to relect the acquisition of First National Bank of Spring Mills

PENNS WOODS BANCORP, INC.
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF INCOME
FOR THE PERIODS  INDICATED


                                           SIX MONTHS      SIX MONTHS       QUARTER         QUARTER
                                             ENDED           ENDED           ENDED           ENDED
                                         June 30, 1999   June 30, 1998*  June 30, 1999   June 30, 1998*
                                        ----------------------------------------------------------------
                                        (IN THOUSANDS EXCEPT PER SHARE DATA)
INTEREST INCOME:
  Interest and fees on loans             $9,717          $9,693          $4,891          $4,953          $4,826         $4,740
  Interest and dividends on investments:--------------------------------------------------------
            Taxable interest              1,700           1,624             873             851             827            773
            Nontaxable interest             786             543             410             285             376            258
            Dividends                       379             344             194             147             185            197
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
            Total interest and dividends
            on investments                2,865           2,511           1,477           1,283           1,388          1,228
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
            Total interest income        12,582          12,204           6,368           6,236           6,214          5,968
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
INTEREST EXPENSE:
  Interest on deposits                    3,974           4,398           1,954           2,216           2,020          2,182
  Interest on Federal funds purchased        16              97              14              42               2             55
  Interest on securities sold under
     repurchase agreements                  335             247             181             129             154            118
  Interest on other borrowings              735             238             387             194             348             44
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
            Total interest expense        5,060           4,980           2,536           2,581           2,524          2,399
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
  Net interest income                     7,522           7,224           3,832           3,655           3,690          3,569
  Provision for loan losses                 130             155              52              75              78             80
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
  Net interest income after provision for
  loan losses                             7,392           7,069           3,780           3,580           3,612          3,489
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
OTHER OPERATING INCOME:
  Service charges                           643             539             333             272             310            267
  Securities gains                          279             843              94             234             185            609
  Other income                              131             134              64              47              67             87
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
            Total other operating income  1,053           1,516             491             553             562            963
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
OTHER OPERATING EXPENSES:
  Salaries and employee benefits          2,301           2,221           1,163           1,137           1,138          1,084
  Occupancy expense, net                    389             291             193             146             196            145
  Furniture and equipment expense           305             372             138             174             167            198
  Other expenses                          1,493           1,213             726             604             767            609
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
          Total other operating expenses  4,488           4,097           2,220           2,061           2,268          2,036
                                        --------------------------------------------------------
INCOME BEFORE TAXES                       3,957           4,488           2,051           2,072           1,906          2,416
INCOME TAX PROVISION                        885           1,090             454             471             431            619
                                        -------------------------------------------------------
NET INCOME                               $3,072          $3,398          $1,597          $1,601          $1,475         $1,797
                                        ========================================================
EARNINGS PER SHARE - BASIC                 0.98            1.09            0.51            0.51            0.52           0.64
                                        ========================================================
EARNINGS PER SHARE - DILUTED               0.98            1.09            0.51            0.51
                                        ========================================================
WEIGHTED AVERAGE SHARES OUTSTANDING   3,120,973     **3,111,737       3,120,973     **3,111,737
                                        ========================================================

            *Restated to reflect the acquisition of First National Bank of Spring Mills
            **Weighted average shares used for computation of net income per share reflect
               the issuance of a 10% stock dividend on June 8, 1999.

   PENNS WOODS BANCORP, INC.
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
FOR THE  SIX  MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 1999

(IN THOUSANDS EXCEPT SHARE DATA)

                                                                                                      UNREALIZED
                                                                                     ACCUMULATED       APPREC.
                             COMMON                  ADDITIONAL                         OTHER                           TOTAL
                              STOCK                    PAID-IN          RETAINED    COMPREHENSIVE      TREASURY     SHAREHOLDERS'
                              SHARES     AMOUNT         CAPITAL         EARNINGS         INCOME          STOCK          EQUITY
                          -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance, December 31, 1998    2,578,352    $25,784          $4,768         $10,462          $4,826        ($214)       $45,626

Adjustments in connection
  with pooling of interest      262,471     $2,625                          $1,513            $132                      $4,270

Balance, December 31, 1998    2,840,823     28,409           4,768          11,975           4,958         (214)        49,896
   As restated

Net income for the six months
    ended June 30, 1999                                                      3,072                                       3,072
Dividends declared, $0.3818                                                 (1,211)                                     (1,211)
Stock dividend 10%              283,399      2,833          13,320         (16,153)                                          0
Stock options exercised             720          7               7                                                          14
Net change in unrealized
     appreciation (depreciation)                                                            (2,912)                     (2,912)
                          -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Balance, June 30, 1999        3,124,942    $31,249         $18,095         ($2,317)         $2,046        ($214)       $48,859
                          =====================================================================================================


PENNS WOODS BANCORP, INC.
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT
OF CASH FLOWS
FOR THE QUARTERS ENDED JUNE 30, 1999 AND JUNE 30, 1998

                                                            JUNE 30,        JUNE 30,
                                                              1999           1998*
                                                        --------------------------------
                                                         (IN THOUSANDS)
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
  Net Income                                                     $3,072          $1,797
  Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash
  provided by operating activities
      Depreciation                                                  293             113
      Provision for loan losses                                     130              80
      Amortization of investment security premiums                   34              18
      Accretion of investment security discounts                    (57)            (25)
      Securities gains, net                                        (279)           (609)
      Gain on sale of foreclosed assets                              (3)            (12)
      (Increase) decrease in all other assets                    (2,054)           (496)
      Increase (decrease) in all other liabilities                2,166             196
                                                        --------------------------------
      Net cash provided by operating activities                   3,302            1,062
                                                        --------------------------------
CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
  Purchase of securities available-for-sale                     (40,282)          (5,287)
  Proceeds from sale and maturities of sec avail-for-sale        25,512            7,581
  Proceeds from the sale of foreclosed assets                        43               47
  Purchase of securities held-to-maturity                           (25)            (224)
  Proceeds from calls and maturities of securities held-          2,073            1,013
  Net increase in loans                                          (6,075)          (3,902)
  Acquisition of bank premises and equipment                       (457)            (24)
  Acquisition of foreclosed assets                                  (34)              0
                                                        --------------------------------
      Net cash (used in)provided by investing activities        (19,245)           (796)
                                                        --------------------------------
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
  Net increase in interest-bearing deposits                       3,637           3,558
  Net  (decrease) increase in noninterest-bearing deposits       (2,390)         (2,783)
  Net increase  in sec. sold under repurch. agree.                6,141           2,242
  Increase (Decrease)  in other borrowed funds                    2,550          (5,180)
  Proceeds from long-term borrowings                              5,005            (750)
  Dividends paid                                                 (1,211)           (462)
  Stock options exercised                                            12              11
                                                        --------------------------------
      Net cash (used in)provided by financing activities         13,744          (3,364)
                                                        --------------------------------
NET (DECREASE) INCREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS             (2,199)         (3,098)
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, BEGINNING                             12,297          13,124
                                                        --------------------------------
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, ENDING                               $10,098         $10,026
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

            The merger was treated as a pooling of
            interest for financial accounting purposes
            and constitutes a tax free reorganization for
            federal income tax purposes.  The financial
            information of Penns Woods at and for the three-and
            six month periods ended June 30, 1999 reflect
            the combined  business and operations of
            Penns Woods and FNBSM.

NOTE 3.  Comprehensive Income
            The components of other comprehensive income
             and related tax effects are as follows:

                                                           JUNE 30,         JUNE 30,
                                                              1999           1998*
                                                        --------------------------------
                                                         (IN THOUSANDS)
   Unrealized holding gains on avail-for-sale securities        ($4,133)           $916
   Less:  Reclassification adjustment for gains realized            279             843
                                                        --------------------------------
Net unrealized gains (losses)                                    (4,412)             73

Tax effect                                                       (1,500)             25

Net-of-tax amount                                               ($2,912)            $48
                                                        ================================

*Restated to reflect the acquisition of First National Bank of Spring Mills


NOTE 4.  Business Combinations

NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATMENTS
FOR THE PERIODS INDICATED

                                           THE FIRST
                                         NATIONAL BANK
                           PENNS WOODS  OF SPRING MILLS                   CONSOLIDATED

                            SIX MONTHS     SIX MONTHS     ADJUSTMENTS      SIX MONTHS
                              ENDED          ENDED                           ENDED
                          June 30, 1998  June 30, 1998        N/A        June 30, 1998
                                -              -               -               -
                          (IN THOUSANDS EXCEPT PER SHARE DATA)

  Interest income               $10,957          $1,247       N/A               $12,204
  Interest expense                4,452             528                           4,980
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
  Net interest income             6,505             719                           7,224
  Provision for possible
      loan losses                   150               5                             155
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
   Net interest income after
       provision for possible
       loan losses                6,355             714                           7,069
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
   Other non-interest income      1,466              48                           1,514
    Non-interest expense          3,631             464                           4,095
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
    Income before taxes           4,190             298                           4,488
    Income taxes                  1,028              62                           1,090
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
    Net income                   $3,162            $236                          $3,398
                          ==============================================================

EARNINGS PER SHARE - BASIC         1.23            3.15                            1.20
                          ==============================================================
EARNINGS PER SHARE -
       DILUTED                     1.23            3.15                            1.20
                          ==============================================================
WEIGHTED AVERAGE
                              2,566,381          75,000                       2,828,852
                          ==============================================================


                                           THE FIRST
                                         NATIONAL BANK
                           PENNS WOODS  OF SPRING MILLS                   CONSOLIDATED

                           THREE MONTHS   THREE MONTHS    ADJUSTMENTS     THREE MONTHS
                              ENDED          ENDED                           ENDED
                          June 30, 1998  June 30, 1998        N/A        June 30, 1998
                                -              -               -               -
                          (IN THOUSANDS EXCEPT PER SHARE DATA)

  Interest income                $5,602            $634       N/A                $6,236
  Interest expense                2,319             262                           2,581
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
  Net interest income             3,283             372                           3,655
  Provision for possible
      loan losses                    75               0                              75
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
   Net interest income after
       provision for possible
       loan losses                3,208             372                           3,580
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
   Other non-interest income        529              22                             551
    Non-interest expense          1,808             251                           2,059
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
    Income before taxes           1,929             143                           2,072
    Income taxes                    439              32                             471
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
    Net income                   $1,490            $111                          $1,601
                          ==============================================================

EARNINGS PER SHARE - BASIC         0.58            1.48                            0.57
                          ==============================================================
EARNINGS PER SHARE -
       DILUTED                     0.58            1.48                            0.57
                          ==============================================================
WEIGHTED AVERAGE
       SHARES OUTSTANDING     2,566,381          75,000                       2,828,852
                          ==============================================================

EARNINGS SUMMARY

   Interest Income

          For the six months ended June 30, 1999,
          total interest income increased by $378,000 or
          3.10% compared to the same period in 1998.
          This increase is due to an increase of $24,000 in
          interest and fees on loans and an increase in
          total interest and dividends on investments of
          $354,000.

          The increase in interest and fees on loans of
          $24,000 was primarily due to the increase in loans
          and also to an increase in fees and late charges collected . Interest and dividends on investments increased due to the net effect of a $76,000 increase in taxable interest, a $243,000 increase in nontaxable interest and an increase in dividend income of $35,000.

         Interest Expense

            For the six months ended June 30, 1999
            total interest expense increased $80,000 or
            1.61% over the same period in 1998.  The
            increase in interest expense can be attributed to the increase in interest expense paid on advances from the Federal Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh
           ("FHLB") in addition to an increase in interest
            expense paid on repurchase agreements.

         Provision for Loan Losses

            The provision for losses for the six
            months ended June 30, 1999  decreased
            $25,000 from the corresponding period in
            1998.  This decrease reflects an anticipated
            moderate decline in consumer loan losses
            for the year.

            As of the first quarter of 1999, charge offs
            exceeded recoveries by $39,000 compared to
            the second quarter of 1998 when charge offs
            exceeded recoveries by $118,000.  Provisions
            to date total $130,000 as compared to
            provisions through June 30, 1998 of
            $155,000.

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

            The ratio of non-accruing loans and those
            accruing but delinquent more than 90 days
            (collectively called "non-performing"
            loans) to the allowance for loan losses
            stood at .20 times at June 30, 1999 an
            increase  in coverage from the .26 times at
            December 31, 1998.   The decrease in
            non-performing loans occurred mainly in the
            mortgage loan portfolio.  Based upon this analysis
            as well as the others noted above, senior
            management has concluded that the allowance
            for loan losses is adequate.


         Other Operating Income

            Other operating income for the six months
            ended June 30, 1999 decreased $463,000.
            This decrease is due to the net effect of an
             increase in service charges collected of
            $104,000, a decrease in securities gains
            realized of $564,000 and a decrease in
            other income of $3,000.

            The increase in service charges  was
            a result of an increase in service charges
            collected on deposit accounts.
            The overall decrease in other operating
             income was primarily due to
             the $564,000 decrease in securities gains
            recognized.  Realized gains were on sales
            of bonds that were sold in effort to better
            match the Bank's rate-sensitive assets and
            rate-sensitive liabilities given the current
            economic conditions.  In addition, gains
            were realized on partial sales of equity securities
            that have been in the portfolio long-term
            that had reached what management had
            determined to be their maximum potential.

         Other Operating Expense

            For the six months ended June 30, 1999
            total other operating expenses increased $391,000
            over the same period in 1998.

            Employee salaries and benefits
            increased $80,000 as a result of increases in
            salary levels and the hiring of additional employees.

            Occupancy expense increased $98,000 and
             furniture and equipment expense decreased
            67,000.  The  increase in occupancy
             expense can be attributed to an increase
             in such expenses related to the opening of the
             full-service branch office in Zion, Pennsylvania,
             on May 8, 1999 and the Wal-Mart Supercenter in
             Mill Hall, Pennsylvania, in October, 1998.

             The $67,000 decrease in furniture and
             equipment expense can be attributed mainly
             to a significant reduction in lease expenses
             incurred relating to the Company's main frame
             computer equipment.

            Expenses included under the other expenses
            heading are such items as: advertising, postage, maintenance, FDIC, other insurance,
            Pennsylvania State shares tax,
            legal and professional fees, telephone,
            printing and supplies and other general and
            administrative expenses.   An overall increase
            in other expenses totalled $280,000.  This
            increase can be largely attributed to the opening
             of the two new branches mentioned above.
             In addition, included in the $280,000 increase is
            $91,137 of non-recurring expenses related to the acquisition of The First National Bank of Spring Mills.

         Provision for Income Taxes

            Provision for income taxes for the six
            months ended June 30, 1999 resulted in an
            effective income tax rate of 22.37%
            compared to 24.29% for the corresponding
            period in 1998.  The decrease noted is
            primarily a result of the decrease in the amount
            of security gains included in taxable income.


         ASSET/LIABILITY MANAGEMENT

         Assets

           At  June 30, 1999, cash, federal funds sold,
           and investment securities totalled
           $124,112,000, or a net increase of $6,413,000
           over the corresponding balance at December
           31, 1998.  Investment securities increased
           $8,612,000 while cash decreased $2,199,000.
            During this period, net loans
            increased by $5,945,000 to $219,830,000.

          The increase in investment securities from
           December 31, 1998 to June 30, 1999 is
           primarily due to the purchases of obligations
           of states and political subdivisions and
           Government securities  which were funded by
           long-term advances from FHLB.

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

           The allowance for loan losses totalled
           $2,772,000 at June 30, 1999, an  increase of
           $92,000  over the balance at December 31,
           1998.  For the six months ended
            June 30, 1999, the provision for loan
            losses totalled $130,000.  As a percent of loans,
            the allowance for loan losses at
            June 30, 1999 totalled 1.25% versus
            1.24% at December 31, 1998.

           Loans accounted for on a non-accrual basis
           totalled $541,000 and $646,000 at June 30, 1999
           December 31, 1998 respectively.

           Accruing loans, contractually delinquent 90
           days or more were $23,000 at June 30, 1999
           and $60,000 at December 31, 1998.
           These loans are predominately secured by
           first lien mortgages on residential real
           estate where appraisal values mitigate any
           potential loss of interest and principal.
           The ratio of non-accruing loans and those
           accruing but delinquent more than 90 days to
           the allowance for loan losses stood at .20
           times at  June 30, 1999 and  .26  times at
           December 31, 1998.  Presently the portfolio
           has no loans that meet the definition of
           "trouble debt restructurings" under FAS 15.

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

           At  June 30, 1999 the balance of other real
           estate was $34,000 compared to $40,000 at
           December 31, 1998.  The $40,000 property that
           was being held in the account on December 31,
           1998 was sold in March, 1999 and a $34,000
           property was placed into other real estate in
           June, 1999.

         Deposits

           At  June 30, 1999  total deposits amounted to
           $254,381,000 representing an increase of
           $1,247,000, or  .49%,  from total deposits
           at December 31, 1998.

         Other Liabilities

           At June 30, 1999, other liabilities
           totalled $4,305,000 or a $831,000 increase
           over the balance at December 31, 1998. This
           increase is primarily due to an increase in
           accrued taxes and accrued expenses.


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

           At  June 30, 1999, regulatory capital to
           total assets was 13.71% compared to 14.61%
           at December 31, 1998.  Primary capital to
           total assets at June 30, 1999  was 14.49%
           compared to 15.39% at December 31, 1998.

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

           Capital is being maintained in compliance
           with risk-based capital guidelines.
           The Company's Tier 1 Capital to total risk
           weighted assets ratio is 20.21% and the
           total capital ratio to total risk weighted
           assets ratio is 22.37%.

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


        The Bank has maintained a liquidity level at or above the
        guidelines of the FDIC and the Pennsylvania Department
        of Banking.  The Bank has available to it Federal Funds
        lines of credit totalling $8,000,000 from correspondent banks. In addition, the Bank has an agreement with the Federal
        Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh that enables the Bank
        to receive advances up to $93,032,000 through
        the Federal Home Loan Bank's "Open Repo Plus", revolving
        line of credit program, with commitment up to one year.

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
                             ONE YEAR      TWO  YEARS      FIVE YEARS        YEARS

Earning assets: (1) (2)
   Investment securities (1)    $11,943         $12,877         $24,714         $61,409

   Loans (2)                     73,024          28,704          95,024          25,849
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
Total earning assets             84,967          41,581         119,738          87,258


   Deposits (3)                 115,971          27,656          55,184          15,725
   Borrowings                    19,914           2,783          25,000               0
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
Total interest bearing liab     135,885          30,439          80,184          15,725

Net non-interest bearing
   funding (4)                   12,489           9,513          23,179          26,130
                          --------------------------------------------------------------
Total net funding sources       148,374          39,952         103,363          41,855

Excess assets (liabilities)     (63,407)          1,629          16,375          45,403
Cumulative excess
   assets (liabilities)         (63,407)        (61,778)        (45,403)              0

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

          In this analysis the company examines the
         result of a 100 and 200 basis point change in
         market interest rates and the effect on net
         interest income.  It is assumed that the change is
         instantaneous and that all rates move in a
         parallel manner.  In addition, it is assumed
         that rates on core deposit products such as NOW's,
         savings accounts, and the MMDA accounts
         will  be adjusted by 50% of the assumed rate
         change.  Assumptions are also made concerning
         prepayment speeds on mortgage loans and
         mortgage securities.  The results of  this rate
         shock are a useful tool to assist the Company in
         assessing  interest rate risk inherent in its
         balance sheet.  Below are the results of this
         rate shock analysis as of June 30, 1999.

                                        Net Interest Income
            Change in Rates             Change (After tax)
                 -200                         $762
                 -100                         $407
                 +100                        ($422)
                 +200                        ($848)

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

           In addition, Penns Woods Bancorp, Inc. was in the
           midst of upgrading hardware, software and personal
           computers as early as 1997 and continued in 1998 by
           adding a compliant phone system and more updated
           personal computers and software.  These expenses were
           not generated because of Year 2000, but rather by our
           holding company's commitment to better serve our
            customers.  "Stand alone testing" of core information
           technology systems as well as any certifications of
           non-core information technology systems and
           non-information technology systems (ie: phones, heating/ cooling) were substantially complete as of September 30, 1998. Testing of software that relates information between systems has been completed. No incompatibilities were found.

           The readiness of these systems for all companies under
           the holding company have been carefully considered. For instance, the software and personal computer used to track and operate Woods Investment Company, Inc. was
           determined to be non-compliant.  This company was added to
            the already compliant main frame system.

           Internal risks relating to deposit and loan customers were
 '         assessed to the extent possible by use of questionnaires to
           major loan customers, culminating in on-site visits where deemed necessary by management.

           The effects on investments and deposits in the year 2000 will be, in our opinion, undeterminable events. A
           contingency plan has been developed to address any
           withdrawal of funds and other issues.

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

Part II.  OTHER INFORMATION

Item 5.  Other Information.

            On May 8, 1999, Jersey Shore State Bank,
            a wholly-owned subsidiary of Penns Woods
            Bancorp, Inc. opened the Zion branch
            office.  This full-service branch is located at
            100 Cobblestone Road, Bellefonte, PA  16823.


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

                                        PENNS WOODS BANCORP, INC.
                                        (Registrant)


Date:       August  16, 1999
                                        --------------------------------
                                        Ronald A. Walko, Executive V President
                                        and Chief Executive Officer
Date:       August   16, 1999
                                        --------------------------------
                                        Sonya E. Scott, Secretary



            Description
--------------------------
(11)        Statement Regarding Computation of Per Share  Earnings

(27)        Financial Data Schedule

 EXHIBIT 11


STATEMENT OF COMPUTATION OF EARNING PER SHARE
FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 6/30/99

                                              LESS          FRACTION
                SHARES                     FRACTIONAL          OF           WEIGHTED
DATE         OUTSTANDING   RESTATEMENT       SHARES           YEAR           SHARES
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1/01/99 - 4/    2,837,167      110%            -                 97/181     1,672,517.8
4/08/99 - 6/    2,837,227      110%                              57/181       982,840.5
6/07/99 - 6/    2,837,887      110%                               4/181        68,987.3
6/08/99 - 6/    3,121,286                                        23/181       396,627.5

  WEIGHTED SHARES OUTSTANDING  6/30/99                                        3,120,973
                                                                        ================


NET INCOME 6/30/99                           $3,071,812
WEIGHTED SHARES OUTSTANDING  6/30/99          3,120,973
EARNINGS PER SHARE 6/30/99 - BASIC                                                $0.98
                                                                        ================

NET INCOME 6/30/99                           $3,071,812

WEIGHTED SHARES OUTSTANDING 6/30/99           3,120,973
DILUTIVE EFFECT OF STOCK OPTIONS 6/30/99          9,146
                                              3,130,119
EARNINGS PER SHARE 6/30/99 - DILUTED                                              $0.98
                                                                        ================