Exhibit 99.1

This presentation contains forward looking statements concerning Valley’s future business outlook, financial condition and
operating results.  Generally, the words "will," "may," "should," "continue," "believes," "expects," "anticipates" or similar
expressions identify forward looking statements.  Readers are advised not to place undue reliance on these forward looking
statements as they are influenced by certain risk factors and unpredictable events.  Factors that could cause actual results
to differ materially from those predicted by the forward looking statements include among others:
unanticipated changes in the direction of interest rates;
competition from banks and other financial institutions;
changes in loan, investment and mortgage prepayment assumptions;
a higher level of net loan charge-offs and delinquencies than anticipated;
insufficient allowance for loan losses;
relationships with major customers;
changes in effective income tax rates;
higher or lower cash flow levels than anticipated;
inability to hire and retain qualified employees;
slowdown in levels of deposit growth;
a decline in the economy in New Jersey and New York;
a decrease in loan origination volume;
a change in legal and regulatory barriers including issues related to compliance with anti-money laundering and
Bank Secrecy Act laws;
the development of new tax strategies or the disallowance of prior tax strategies; and
unanticipated litigation pertaining to fiduciary responsibility
NOTE:  Valley disclaims any obligation to update or revise forward looking statements for any reason.
Information For Investors And Shareholders

Overview of Valley National Bancorp
79 Years - Commercial Bank
Listed on the NYSE:  VLY (twelve years as of December 5, 2005)
Management Longevity/Ownership
Big Bank – Act Like Small Privately Owned Company
Marketplace
Sound Asset Quality
Strong Financial Performance
Consistent Shareholder Returns

Retail Strategy
Superior customer service
Long hours – Sunday Banking
Coin counting machines
Drive-in facilities
Emphasis on cross-selling
Community focus
Take advantage of attractive growth opportunities
through expansion and acquisitions

60 Miles from Wayne 60 Minutes from Wayne
Valley National Bancorp’s
Concentrated Focus and Market Share
1
As of September 30, 2006
2 June 2006 Total Deposits
Non-Retail bank branches are excluded from market share totals.
County
Valley
Offices
1
Market
Share by
Deposits
2
Passaic 24 25.86%
Essex 26 9.11
Sussex 6 9.48
Morris 19 6.45
Warren 3 5.09
Bergen 36 4.65
Monmouth 12 2.75
Somerset 4 3.77
Hudson 13 2.08
Union 10 1.42
Middlesex 2 0.43
NJ Footprint 155 5.10
Manhattan 12 0.27

Focused Growth
Branches under Development as of September 30, 2006
2006
Open – 6 Branches
Rivervale – Bergen County
Woodbridge – Middlesex County
Hudson/Laight – Manhattan
Paterson – Passaic County
88
th
Street and 3
rd
Avenue – Manhattan
Franklin – Manhattan
Expect to Open – 5 Branches
Denville –
Morris County (opened 10/4/06)
Highlands – Monmouth County
Keansburg – Monmouth County
Upper Montclair – Essex County
18
th
Avenue – Brooklyn
Expansion concentration within one hour of Wayne
Seeking to fill in and expand to contiguous counties,
including-Kings-and
Queens Counties, NY
Properties under construction/contract include:
2007
Expect to Open – 12 Branches
Edison – Middlesex County
Freehold – Monmouth County
Hackensack – Bergen County
Hillsborough – Somerset County
Manalapan – Monmouth County
Milltown – Middlesex County
North Brunswick – Middlesex County(2)
Piscataway – Middlesex County
18th
Street & Eighth Avenue – Manhattan
1505 Avenue J – Brooklyn
Montebello – Rockland County
th

7 Deposit Composition (as of September 30, 2006) 23% 42% 35% Non-Interest Bearing Savings, NOW and Money Market Time Total Deposits $8,467 ($ in millions)

Cost of Deposits
2001- 9/30/2006
3.04%
2.57%
1.87%
1.56%
1.26%
1.02%
1.11%
0.95%
1.63%
1.49%
2.55%
2.43%
0.00%
0.50%
1.00%
1.50%
2.00%
2.50%
3.00%
3.50%
2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 9/30/2006
Peer Average Valley
Peer Source – SNL Suggested Regional Group
© 2000-2006 SNL Financial (snl.com) All rights reserved
(Qtr. -annualized)

Loan Strategy
Focus on quality and profitability over growth
Anticipate customer needs
Provide convenient products and services
Focus on small and mid-size market that is
poorly serviced by bigger banks
Remain aggressive yet disciplined
Continue to provide exceptional service while
maintaining outstanding asset quality

25%
24%
23%
28%
Commercial & Construction Loans Commercial Mortgages
Residential Mortgages Consumer Loans
($ in millions)
Total Loans $8,313
Total Loan Portfolio Composition
(as of September 30, 2006)

Loan Quality
2001- 9/30/2006
0.35%
0.27%
0.38%
0.24%
0.36%
0.11%
0.44%
0.11%
0.32%
0.05%
0.39%
0.09%
0.00%
0.50%
1.00%
1.50%
2.00%
2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 9/30/2006
Non-Performing Loans to Total Loans Net Charge-Offs to Average Loans
(annualized)

Valley’s Capital Position
Average five year annual return on
average tangible shareholders’ equity
through 12/31/05 is 24.02%
Capital position is continuously well above
minimum capital requirements
Additional benefit of unrealized gain on
Valley owned facilities

Strong Capital Position
Includes $200 Million Trust Preferred Issued November 2001.
Total Capital Ratio Includes $100 Million Sub-debt Issued July 2005.
8.2%
10.7%
12.6%
0.00%
2.00%
4.00%
6.00%
8.00%
10.00%
12.00%
14.00%
16.00%
2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 9/30/2006
Leverage Ratio Tier 1 Ratio Total Capital Ratio

14 Unrealized Capital Position (as of September 30, 2006) Marked-to-Market Facilities Number of facilities owned – 92 Approximate Unrealized Gain on Facilities owned - $200 Million over Book

Management Longevity/Ownership
Executive management has an average 30+
years of banking or financial experience
Valley’s top-tier executive team is
continually praised by Wall Street
Customer access to all levels of
management separates Valley from its
competition

16 Valley’s Competitive Shareholder Advantage High dividend payout ratio Total return exceeds indices Consistent shareholder returns

Dividend Yield Comparison
3.16%
3.36%
3.05%
3.22%
3.63%
3.26%
1.00%
1.50%
2.00%
2.50%
3.00%
3.50%
4.00%
2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 9/30/2006 LTM
Valley SNL National Public Bank Median
SNL Y- Merge Suggested Regional SNL Y- Merge Suggested Highly Valued
© 2000-2006 SNL Financial (snl.com) All rights reserved

.16
.21
.23
.25
.26 .26
.27
.30
.36
.40
.42
.47
.53
.59
.64
.67
.72
.76
.80
.83
86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 00 01 02 03 04 05
Annual Dividend paid, adjusted for stock splits and stock
dividends
Current annual rate is $0.86 per share
Dividend Growth Per Share

Total Returns – 9/30/96 – 9/30/06*
230.25%
54.61%
130.72%
44.60%
127.84%
40.04%
0%
50%
100%
150%
200%
250%
Valley Russell 1000 Index S&P 500 Index
10 Years 5 Years
12.69%
Annual
*Source- Bloomberg
9.10%
Annual
8.72%
Annual
7.65%
Annual
8.58%
Annual
6.96%
Annual

20 Future Goals Maintain exceptional asset quality Remain active in the lending community Emphasize business lending Take advantage of changing banking market in the Tri-State area

For More Information
Log onto our web site:   www.valleynationalbank.com
Visit our kids site: www.vnbkids.com
E-mail requests to:   dgrenz@valleynationalbank.com
Call Shareholder Relations at: (973) 305-3380
Write to:  Valley National Bank
1455 Valley Road
Wayne, New Jersey 07470
Attn:     Dianne M. Grenz, Senior Vice President
Director of Shareholder & Public Relations
Log onto our website above or www.sec.gov to obtain free copies
of documents filed by Valley with the SEC

Non-GAAP Disclosure Reconciliation
These materials contain the average five year annual return on average tangible shareholders’ equity, a financial
measure determined by methods other than in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the
United States of America (“GAAP”).
The average five year annual return on average tangible shareholders’ equity is computed by dividing the sum of
the return on average tangible shareholders’ equity for the last five annual periods by five. Return on average
tangible shareholders’ equity is computed by dividing net income by average tangible shareholders’ equity. The
most directly comparable GAAP measure, return on average shareholders’ equity, is determined by dividing net
income by average shareholders’ equity. Average tangible shareholders’ equity excludes from average
shareholders’ equity acquisition-related goodwill and other intangible assets. We believe that the presentation of
the average five year annual return on average tangible shareholders’ equity is helpful in understanding our
financial results, as it provides a method to assess our success in utilizing our tangible capital.
The following table reconciles average tangible shareholders’ equity to average shareholders’ equity for the
periods used to compute the average five year annual return on average tangible shareholders’ equity presented:
2005 2004 2003 2002 2001
Net income
163,449 $   154,398 $   153,415 $   154,616 $   135,204 $
Average shareholders' equity
852,834 678,068 633,744 655,447 686,159
Less:  Average goodwill and other
intangible assets
(160,607) (48,805) (45,716) (37,463) (37,317)
Average tangible shareholders' equity
692,227 $   629,263 $   588,028 $   617,984 $   648,842 $
Return on average tangible shareholders' equity
23.61% 24.54% 26.09% 25.02% 20.84%
As of or for the Years Ended December 31,
($ in thousands)