Exhibit 99.1

THE PNC FINANCIAL SERVICES GROUP, INC.

UP TO 15,000,000

SHARES OF COMMON STOCK (PAR VALUE $5.00)

EQUITY DISTRIBUTION AGREEMENT

May 14, 2009

May 14, 2009

To	Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated

1585 Broadway

New York, New York 10036

Ladies and Gentlemen:

The PNC Financial Services Group, Inc., a Pennsylvania corporation (the “Company”), proposes to issue and sell through Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated, as sales agent (the “Manager”), on the terms set forth in this equity distribution agreement (this “Agreement”), up to 15,000,000 shares of its common stock, par value $5.00 (the “Shares”). The shares of common stock, par value $5.00, of the Company to be outstanding after giving effect to the sales contemplated hereby are hereinafter referred to as the “Common Stock”.

The Company has filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “Commission”) a registration statement (File No. 333-139912), including a base prospectus, on Form S-3, relating to securities (the “Shelf Securities”), including the Shares, to be issued from time to time by the Company. The registration statement as of its most recent effective date, including the information (if any) deemed to be part of the registration statement at the time of effectiveness pursuant to Rule 430A or Rule 430B under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), is hereinafter referred to as the “Registration Statement”, and the related prospectus covering the Shelf Securities and filed as part of the Registration Statement, together with any amendments or supplements thereto as of the most recent effective date of the Registration Statement, is hereinafter referred to as the “Basic Prospectus”. “Prospectus Supplement” means the prospectus supplement, relating to the Shares, to be filed by the Company with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b) under the Securities Act on or before the second business day after the date hereof, in the form furnished by the Company to the Manager in connection with the offering of the Shares. Except where the context otherwise requires, “Prospectus” means the Basic Prospectus, as supplemented by the Prospectus Supplement and the most recent Interim Prospectus Supplement (as defined in Section 6(c) below), if any. For purposes of this Agreement, “free writing prospectus” has the meaning set forth in Rule 405 under the Securities Act. “Permitted Free Writing Prospectuses” means the documents listed on Schedule I hereto or otherwise approved in writing by the Manager in accordance with Section 6(b), and “broadly available road show” means a “bona fide electronic road show” as defined in Rule 433(h)(5) under the Securities Act that has been made available without restriction to any person. As used herein, the terms “Registration Statement”, “Basic Prospectus”, “Prospectus Supplement”, “Interim Prospectus Supplement” and

“Prospectus” shall include the documents, if any, incorporated by reference therein. The terms “supplement”, “amendment” and “amend” as used herein with respect to the Registration Statement, the Basic Prospectus, the Prospectus Supplement, any Interim Prospectus Supplement, the Prospectus or any free writing prospectus shall include all documents subsequently filed by the Company with the Commission pursuant to the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”), that are deemed to be incorporated by reference therein (the “Incorporated Documents”).

1. Representations and Warranties. The Company represents and warrants to and agrees with the Manager that:

(a) The Registration Statement has become effective; no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement is in effect; and no proceedings for such purpose are pending before or threatened by the Commission. The Company is a well-known seasoned issuer (as defined in Rule 405 under the Securities Act) eligible to use the Registration Statement as an automatic shelf registration statement, and the Company has not received notice that the Commission objects to the use of the Registration Statement as an automatic shelf registration statement.

(b) (i) (A) At the respective times the Registration Statement and each amendment thereto became effective, (B) at each deemed effective date with respect to the Manager pursuant to Rule 430B(f)(2) under the Securities Act (each, a “Deemed Effective Time”), (C) as of each time Shares are sold pursuant to this Agreement (each, a “Time of Sale”), (D) at each Settlement Date (as defined below) and (E) at all times during which a prospectus is required by the Securities Act to be delivered (whether physically or through compliance with Rule 172 under the Securities Act or any similar rule) in connection with any offer or sale of Shares (the “Delivery Period”), the Registration Statement complied and will comply in all material respects with the requirements of the Securities Act and the rules and regulations under the Securities Act; (ii) the Basic Prospectus complied, or will comply, at the time it was, or will be filed with the Commission, complies as of the date hereof (if filed with the Commission on or prior to the date hereof) and, as of each Time of Sale and at all times during the Delivery Period, will comply in all material respects with the rules and regulations under the Securities Act; (iii) each of the Prospectus Supplement, any Interim Prospectus Supplement and the Prospectus will comply, as of the date that such document is filed with the Commission, as of each Time of Sale, as of each Settlement Date and at all times during the Delivery Period, in all material respects with the rules and regulations under the Securities Act; and (iv) the Incorporated Documents, when they were filed with the Commission, conformed in all material respects to the requirements of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder, and any further Incorporated Documents so filed and incorporated by reference, when they are filed with the Commission, will conform in all material respects to the requirements of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder.

(c) (i) As of the date hereof, at the respective times the Registration Statement and each amendment thereto became effective and at each Deemed Effective Time, the Registration Statement did not and will not contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading; (ii) as of each Time of Sale, the Prospectus (as amended and supplemented at such Time of Sale) and any Permitted Free Writing Prospectus then in use, considered together (collectively, the “General Disclosure Package”), did not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; (iii) as of its date, the Prospectus did not contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; and (iv) at any Settlement Date, the Prospectus (as amended and supplemented at such Settlement Date) did not and will not contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided, however, that this representation and warranty shall not apply to any statement or omission made in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by the Manager specifically for use in the Prospectus or in the General Disclosure Package.

(d) Any free writing prospectus that the Company is required to file pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Securities Act has been, or will be, filed with the Commission in accordance with the requirements of the Securities Act and the applicable rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder. Each free writing prospectus that the Company has filed, or is required to file, pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Securities Act or that was prepared by or on behalf of or used or referred to by the Company complies or will comply in all material respects with the requirements of the Securities Act and the applicable rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder. Each free writing prospectus, as of its issue date and at all subsequent times through the completion of the public offer and sale of the Shares or until any earlier date that the Company notified or notifies the Manager, did not, does not and will not include any material information that conflicted, conflicts or will conflict with the information contained in the Registration Statement or the Prospectus. Each broadly available road show, if any, when considered together with the General Disclosure Package, does not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading. Except for the Permitted Free Writing Prospectuses, if any, and electronic road shows, if any, furnished to and approved by the Manager in accordance with Section 6(b), the Company has not prepared, used or referred to, and will not prepare, use or refer to, any free writing prospectus.

(e) The financial statements (including the related notes thereto) of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus comply in all

material respects with the applicable requirements of the Securities Act and the Exchange Act, as applicable, and present fairly the financial position of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries, as of the dates indicated and the results of operations and the changes in cash flow for the periods specified; such financial statements have been prepared in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods covered thereby, and any supporting schedules included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement present fairly the information required to be stated therein; the other financial information of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus has been derived from the accounting records of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries and presents fairly the information shown thereby; and the pro forma financial information and the related notes thereto included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus have been prepared in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Securities Act and the Exchange Act, as applicable, and the assumptions underlying such pro forma financial information are reasonable and are set forth in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

(f) The financial statements (including the related notes thereto) of the Company included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus for the period as of, and for the year ended, December 31, 2006 and all prior periods were audited by Deloitte and Touche LLP, who was an independent registered public accounting firm within the meaning of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States) with respect to the Company throughout such periods of audit work on the financial statements, and all other financial data for such periods that is included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus for such periods have been derived from such audited financial statements.

(g) The financial statements (including the related notes thereto) of National City Corporation (“National City”) and its consolidated subsidiaries included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus comply in all material respects with the applicable requirements of the Securities Act and the Exchange Act, as applicable, and present fairly the financial position of National City and its consolidated subsidiaries, as of the dates indicated and the results of operations and the changes in cash flow for the periods specified; such financial statements have been prepared in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods covered thereby, and any supporting schedules included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement present fairly the information required to be stated therein; the other financial information of National City and its consolidated subsidiaries included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus has been derived from the accounting records of

National City and its consolidated subsidiaries and presents fairly the information shown thereby; and the pro forma financial information and the related notes thereto included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus have been prepared in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Securities Act and the Exchange Act, as applicable, and the assumptions underlying such pro forma financial information are reasonable and are set forth in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

(h) At the time of filing of the Registration Statement, (ii) at the time of the most recent amendment thereto for the purposes of complying with Section 10(a)(3) of the Securities Act (whether such amendment was by post-effective amendment, incorporated report filed pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act or form of prospectus), (iii) at the time the Company or any person acting on its behalf (within the meaning, for this clause only, of Rule 163(c) under the Securities Act) made a bona fide offer (within the meaning of Rule 164(h)(2) under the Securities Act) relating to the Shelf Securities, including the Shares, in reliance on the exemption of Rule 163 under the Securities Act, (iv) at the date hereof, the Company was not and is not an “ineligible issuer” as defined in Rule 405 under the Securities Act.

(i) The Company has been duly incorporated, is validly existing as a corporation in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation and has the power and authority (corporate and other) necessary to own or hold its material properties and to conduct its business substantially in the manner in which it presently conducts such business.

(j) The Company has an authorized capitalization as set forth in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus; all the outstanding shares of capital stock of the Company have been duly and validly authorized and issued and are fully paid and non-assessable and are not subject to any pre-emptive or similar rights; except pursuant to plans discussed in, or except as otherwise described in or expressly contemplated by, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, there are no outstanding rights (including, without limitation, pre-emptive rights), warrants or options to acquire, or instruments convertible into or exchangeable for, any shares of capital stock or other equity interest in the Company or any of its subsidiaries, or any contract, commitment, agreement, understanding or arrangement of any kind relating to the issuance of any capital stock of the Company or any such subsidiary, any such convertible or exchangeable securities or any such rights, warrants or options; the capital stock of the Company conforms in all material respects to the description thereof contained in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus; and all the outstanding shares of capital stock or other equity interests of PNC Bank, National Association, (“PNC Bank”) and National City Bank (“National City Bank”) owned, directly or indirectly, by the Company have been duly and validly authorized and issued, are fully paid and (except as provided in 12 U.S.C. § 55) non-assessable and are owned directly or indirectly by the Company, free and clear of any lien, charge, encumbrance, security interest, restriction on voting or transfer or any other claim of any third party.

(k) The Shares have been duly authorized and, when issued and delivered against payment therefor as provided in this Agreement, will be duly and validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable, and will have the rights set forth in the Company’s Articles of Incorporation.

(l) The Shares conform in all material respects to the description thereof in the Prospectus.

(m) The Company has all corporate power and authority necessary to execute and deliver this Agreement and to perform its obligations hereunder; the execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement and compliance with the provisions hereof by the Company will not constitute a breach of, or default under, (x) the corporate charter or by-laws of the Company, (y) any material agreement, indenture or other instrument relating to indebtedness for money borrowed to which the Company is a party, or (z) to the best of the Company’s knowledge, any law, order, rule, regulation or decree of any court, governmental agency or authority located in the United States having jurisdiction over the Company or any property of the Company, which breach or default, in case of (y) and (z), would be reasonably likely to have a material adverse effect on the Company and its subsidiaries taken as a whole; and no consent, authorization or order of, or filing or registration with, any court or governmental agency or authority is required for the execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement by the Company except such as have been made or obtained or will be made or obtained on or before each Time of Sale and except such as may be required under applicable state securities or “blue sky” laws.

(n) (i) Since the date of the latest audited financial statements of the Company included or incorporated by reference in the Basic Prospectus, as amended and supplemented immediately prior to each Time of Sale, the Company has not sustained any material loss or interference with its business from fire, explosion, flood or other calamity, whether or not covered by insurance, or from any labor dispute or court or governmental action, order or decree, except as described in the Basic Prospectus, as amended and supplemented immediately prior to each Time of Sale; and (ii) since the respective dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, as amended and supplemented immediately prior to each Time of Sale, (A) there has not been any material change in the capital stock or long term debt of the Company or any material adverse change, or any development involving a prospective material adverse change, in or affecting the general affairs, management, financial position, stockholders’ equity or results of operations of the Company, (B) the Company and its subsidiaries have not incurred any liability or obligation that is material to the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, nor entered into any transaction that is material to the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, and (C) the Company has not purchased any of its outstanding capital stock except pursuant to its employee benefit plans in the ordinary course of business, and has

not declared, paid or otherwise made any dividend or distribution of any kind on its capital stock other than ordinary and customary dividends, except, in each case as described in the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and the General Disclosure Package, as amended and supplemented immediately prior to each Time of Sale.

(o) Except as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, there are no legal, governmental or regulatory investigations, actions, suits or proceedings pending to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or to which any property of the Company or any of its subsidiaries is the subject that, individually or in the aggregate would reasonably be expected to have a material adverse effect upon the business, condition or properties of the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole; except as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, no such investigations, actions, suits or proceedings are threatened or, to the knowledge of the Company, contemplated by any governmental or regulatory authority or threatened by others; and (i) there are no current or pending legal, governmental or regulatory actions, suits or proceedings that are required under the Securities Act to be described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus that are not so described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus and (ii) there are no contracts or other documents that are required under the Securities Act to be filed as exhibits to the Registration Statement or described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus that are not so filed as exhibits to the Registration Statement or described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

(p) The Company is not, and after the issuance and sale of the Shares and application of the net proceeds from such sales as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus under the caption “Use of Proceeds” and after giving effect to the transactions described therein, will not be, an “investment company” or a company “controlled by” an “investment company” within the meaning of the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, and the rules and regulations thereunder (the “Investment Company Act”).

(q) PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, who have certified certain financial statements of the Company and its subsidiaries, are an independent registered public accounting firm with respect to the Company and its subsidiaries within the applicable rules and regulations adopted by the Commission and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States) and as required by the Securities Act.

(r) Ernst & Young LLP, who have certified certain financial statements of National City and its subsidiaries, are an independent registered public accounting firm with respect to National City and its subsidiaries within the applicable rules and regulations adopted by the Commission and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States) and as required by the Securities Act.

(s) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries nor, to the knowledge of the Company, any director, officer, agent, employee or affiliate of the Company or any of its subsidiaries is aware of or has taken any action, directly or indirectly, that would result in a violation by such persons of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act of 1977, as amended, and the rules and regulations thereunder (the “FCPA”), including, without limitation, making use of the mails or any means or instrumentality of interstate commerce corruptly in furtherance of an offer, payment, promise to pay or authorization of the payment of any money, or other property, gift, promise to give, or authorization of the giving of anything of value to any “foreign official” (as such term is defined in the FCPA) or any foreign political party or official thereof or any candidate for foreign political office, in contravention of the FCPA; and the Company, its subsidiaries and, to the knowledge of the Company, its affiliates, have conducted their businesses in compliance with the FCPA and have instituted and maintain policies and procedures designed to ensure, and which are reasonably expected to continue to ensure, continued compliance therewith.

(t) The operations of the Company and its subsidiaries are and have been conducted at all times in material compliance with applicable financial recordkeeping and reporting requirements and the money laundering statutes and the rules and regulations thereunder and any related or similar rules, regulations or guidelines, issued, administered or enforced by any governmental agency (collectively, the “Money Laundering Laws”) and no action, suit or proceeding by or before any court or governmental agency, authority or body or any arbitrator involving the Company or any of its subsidiaries with respect to the Money Laundering Laws is pending or, to the best knowledge of the Company, threatened.

(u) Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries nor, to the knowledge of the Company, any director, officer, agent, employee or affiliate of the Company or any of its subsidiaries is currently subject to any sanctions administered by the Office of Foreign Assets Control of the U.S. Treasury Department (“OFAC”); and the Company will not directly or indirectly use the proceeds of the offering, or lend, contribute or otherwise make available such proceeds to any subsidiary, joint venture partner or other person or entity, for the purpose of financing the activities of any person currently subject to any U.S. sanctions administered by OFAC.

(v) The Company maintains a system of internal control over financial reporting (as such term is defined in Rule 13a-15(f) under the Exchange Act) that complies with the requirements of the Exchange Act and has been designed by the Company’s principal executive officer and principal financial officer, or under their supervision, to provide reasonable assurance regarding the reliability of financial reporting and the preparation of financial statements for external purposes in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. As of December 31, 2008, the Company’s internal control over financial reporting was effective and the Company is not aware of any material weaknesses in its internal control over financial reporting.

(w) Except for changes in internal control over financial reporting in connection with the integration of National City’s internal control policies into the Company’s internal control policies, since the date of the latest audited financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Prospectus, there has been no change in the Company’s internal control over financial reporting that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, the Company’s internal control over financial reporting.

(x) The Company maintains disclosure controls and procedures (as such term is defined in Rule 13a-15(e) under the Exchange Act) that comply with the requirements of the Exchange Act; such disclosure controls and procedures have been designed to ensure that material information relating to the Company and its subsidiaries is made known to the Company’s principal executive officer and principal financial officer by others within those entities; and such disclosure controls and procedures are effective as of March 31, 2009.

2. Sale of Securities. On the basis of the representations, warranties and agreements herein contained, but subject to the terms and conditions herein set forth, the Company and the Manager agree that the Company may from time to time seek to sell Shares through the Manager, acting as sales agent as follows:

(a) The Company may submit its orders to the Manager by telephone (including any price, time or size limits or other customary parameters or conditions) to sell Shares on any Trading Day (as defined herein) which order shall be confirmed by the Manager (and accepted by the Company) by electronic mail using a form substantially similar to that attached hereto as Exhibit A. As used herein, “Trading Day” shall mean any trading day on the New York Stock Exchange (the “Exchange”), other than a day on which the Exchange is scheduled to close prior to its regular weekday closing time.

(b) Subject to the terms and conditions hereof, the Manager shall use its commercially reasonable efforts to execute any Company order to sell Shares submitted to it hereunder and with respect to which the Manager has agreed to act as sales agent. The Company acknowledges and agrees that (i) there can be no assurance that the Manager will be successful in selling the Shares, (ii) the Manager will incur no liability or obligation to the Company or any other person or entity if it does not sell Shares for any reason and (iii) the Manager shall be under no obligation to purchase Shares on a principal basis pursuant to this Agreement.

(c) The Manager hereby covenants and agrees not to make any sales of the Shares on behalf of the Company other than as permitted by the terms of this Agreement.

(d) The Company shall not authorize the issuance and sale of, and the Manager shall not sell, any Share at a price lower than the minimum price therefor designated by the Company pursuant to Section 2(a) above. In addition, the Company or the Manager may, upon notice to the other party hereto by telephone (confirmed

promptly by email or facsimile), suspend an offering of the Shares pursuant to this Agreement; provided, however, that such suspension or termination shall not affect or impair the parties’ respective obligations with respect to the Shares sold hereunder prior to the receipt of such notice.

(e) The Manager shall provide written confirmation (which may be by facsimile or email) to the Company following the close of trading on the Exchange each day in which Shares are sold under this Agreement setting forth (i) the amount of Shares sold on such day, (ii) the gross offering proceeds received from such sale and (iii) the commission payable by the Company to the Manager with respect to such sales.

(f) At each Time of Sale, Settlement Date and Representation Date (as defined below), the Company shall be deemed to have affirmed each representation and warranty contained in this Agreement. Any obligation of the Manager to use its commercially reasonable efforts to sell the Shares on behalf of the Company as sales agent shall be subject to the continuing accuracy of the representations and warranties of the Company herein, to the performance by the Company of its obligations hereunder and to the continuing satisfaction of the additional conditions specified in Section 5 of this Agreement.

(g) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, the Company and the Manager agree that no sales of Shares shall take place, the Company shall not request the sales of any Shares that would be sold and the Manager shall not be obligated to sell or offer to sell, during any period in which the Company’s policy with respect to its stock repurchase program, as it exists on the date of this Agreement, would prohibit the purchase or sale of Common Stock by persons subject to such policy, or during any other period in which the Company is in possession of material non-public information.

3. Fee. The fee payable to the Manager for sales of the Shares with respect to which the Manager acts as sales agent hereunder shall be equal to 1.5% of the gross offering proceeds of such Shares.

4. Payment, Delivery and Other Obligations. Settlement for sales of the Shares pursuant to this Agreement will occur on the third Trading Day (or such earlier day as is industry practice for regular-way trading) following the date on which such sales are made (each such day, a “Settlement Date”). On each Settlement Date, the Shares sold through the Manager for settlement on such date shall be issued and delivered by the Company to an account designated by the Manager against payment of the net proceeds from the sale of such Shares. Settlement for all such Shares shall be effected by free delivery of the Shares by the Company or its transfer agent to the Manager’s account or its designee’s account (provided that the Manager shall have given the Company written notice of such designee prior to the Settlement Date) at The Depository Trust Company or by such other means of delivery as may be mutually agreed upon by the parties hereto, which in all cases shall be freely tradable, transferable, registered shares in good deliverable form, in return for payment in same day funds delivered to the account

designated by the Company. If the Company, or its transfer agent (if applicable), shall default on its obligation to deliver the Shares on any Settlement Date, the Company shall (i) hold the Manager harmless against any loss, claim, damage, or expense (including reasonable legal fees and expenses), as incurred, arising out of or in connection with such default by the Company and (ii) pay the Manager any commission, discount or other compensation to which it would otherwise be entitled absent such default.

5. Conditions to the Manager’s Obligations. The obligations of the Manager are subject to the following conditions:

(a) Since the later of (i) the date of this Agreement and (ii) the immediately preceding Representation Date:

(1) except as otherwise disclosed in the General Disclosure Package prior to the applicable Time of Sale, there shall not have occurred any downgrading, nor shall any notice have been given of any intended or potential downgrading or of any review for a possible change that does not indicate the direction of the possible change, in the rating accorded any of the securities of the Company or any of its subsidiaries by any “nationally recognized statistical rating organization”, as such term is defined for purposes of Rule 436(g)(2) under the Securities Act; and

(2) there shall not have occurred any change, or any development involving a prospective change, in the condition, financial or otherwise, or in the earnings, business or operations of the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, from the respective dates of the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and the General Disclosure Package that, in the Manager’s judgment, is material and adverse and that makes it, in the Manager’s judgment, impracticable to market the Shares on the terms and in the manner contemplated in the Prospectus.

(b) The Manager shall have received on each date specified in Section 6(l) a certificate, dated such date and signed by an executive officer of the Company and the principal financial or accounting officer of the Company to the effect set forth in Section 5(a)(1) above and to the effect that (i) the representations and warranties of the Company contained in this Agreement are true and correct as of such date; (ii) the Company has complied with all of the agreements and satisfied all of the conditions on its part to be performed or satisfied hereunder on or before such date; (iii) no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement has been issued and no proceeding for that purpose has been initiated or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened by the Commission; (iv) the Prospectus Supplement, any Interim Prospectus Supplement and each Permitted Free Writing Prospectus have been timely filed with the Commission under the Securities Act (in the case of a Permitted Free Writing Prospectus, to the extent required by Rule 433 under the Securities Act), and all requests for additional information on the part of the Commission have been complied with or otherwise

satisfied; (v) as of such date and as of each Time of Sale, if any, subsequent to the immediately preceding Representation Date, the Registration Statement did not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading; and (vi) as of such date and as of each Time of Sale, if any, subsequent to the immediately preceding Representation Date, the General Disclosure Package did not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided, however, that no such certificate shall apply to any statements or omissions made in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by the Manager specifically for use in the General Disclosure Package.

The officer signing and delivering such certificate may rely upon the best of his or her knowledge as to proceedings threatened.

(c) The Manager shall have received on each date specified in Section 6(m), and on such other dates as may be reasonably requested by the Manager, an opinion of (i) Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, outside counsel for the Company addressed to the Manager and dated as of such date, substantially in the form of Annex A hereto and (ii) an opinion of George P. Long, III, Esq., Senior Counsel and Corporate Secretary of the Company, addressed to the Manager and dated as of such date, to the effect that:

(i) the Company is a corporation duly incorporated and presently subsisting as a corporation under the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania with all requisite corporate power and authority to own, lease and operate its properties and to conduct its business as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, except for such power and authority the absence of which would not have a material adverse effect on the Company or materially and adversely affect its ability to perform its obligations under this Agreement; and the Company is duly registered as a bank holding company under the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, as amended;

(ii) each of PNC Bank and National City Bank is validly organized and existing as a national banking association in good standing under the laws of the United States, with all requisite corporate power and authority to own, lease and operate its properties and conduct its business as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, except for such power and authority the absence of which would not have a material adverse effect on PNC Bank or National City Bank, as the case may be;

(iii) the Shares have been duly authorized and, when issued and delivered against payment therefor as provided in this Agreement, will be duly and validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable;

(iv) all the outstanding shares of capital stock of PNC Bank and National City Bank, respectively, have been duly and validly authorized and issued and (except as provided in 12 U.S.C. § 55) are fully paid and nonassessable, and all outstanding shares of capital stock of PNC Bank and National City Bank, respectively, are owned by the Company either directly or through wholly owned subsidiaries of the Company free and clear of any perfected security interest and, to the knowledge of such counsel after due inquiry, any other security interests, claims, liens or encumbrances;

(v) the Company’s authorized equity capitalization, if set forth in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, is as set forth in the Prospectus; the Shares conform in all material respects to the description thereof contained in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus; and the Shares have been duly authorized for listing on the New York Stock Exchange, subject to official notice of issuance;

(vi) this Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company;

(vii) the issuance and sale of the Shares and the execution, delivery and performance by the Company of this Agreement, and the consummation of any other transaction herein contemplated will not (1) violate the Articles of Incorporation or By-laws of the Company, PNC Bank or National City Bank or (2) violate, result in a breach of, or constitute a default under the terms of any material indenture or other material agreement or instrument known to such counsel to which the Company, PNC Bank or National City Bank is a party or bound or (3) violate any material order or regulation known to such counsel to be applicable to the Company, PNC Bank or National City Bank of any court, regulatory body, administrative agency, governmental body or arbitrator having jurisdiction over the Company;

(viii) to the best knowledge of such counsel, there is no pending or threatened action, suit, investigation or proceeding before any court or governmental agency, authority or body or any arbitrator involving the Company or any of its subsidiaries, of a character required to be disclosed in the Registration Statement which is not adequately disclosed in the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, and there is no franchise, contract or other document of a character required to be described in the

Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus, or to be filed as an exhibit, which is not described or filed as required; and the statements included or incorporated in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus describing any legal proceedings or material contracts or agreements relating to the Company or any of its subsidiaries fairly summarize such matters in all material respects;

(ix) (A) in the opinion of such counsel (1) each Incorporated Document (except for the financial statements and financial schedules and other financial and statistical data included therein, as to which such counsel need not express any opinion) appeared on its face to be appropriately responsive as of its filing date in all material respects to the requirements of the Exchange Act and the applicable rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder and (2) the Registration Statement and the Prospectus (except for the financial statements and financial schedules and other financial and statistical data included therein as to which such counsel need not express any opinion) appear on their face to be appropriately responsive in all material respects to the requirements of the Securities Act and the applicable rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder and (B) nothing has come to the attention of such counsel that causes such counsel to believe that (1) the Registration Statement (except for the financial statements and financial schedules and other financial and statistical data included therein as to which such counsel need not express any belief) at the time it became effective, on the date of this Agreement and at each Deemed Effective Time, contained any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, (2) the Prospectus (except for the financial statements and financial schedules and other financial and statistical data included therein, as to which such counsel need not express any belief) as of its date, or, as amended or supplemented, if applicable, as of such date, contained or contains any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted or omits to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading or (3) the General Disclosure Package (except for the financial statements and financial schedules and other financial and statistical data included therein, as to which such counsel need not express any belief), as amended or supplemented, if applicable, as of such date, contains any untrue statement of a material fact or omits to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided that, in each case, such counsel does not express any opinion or belief as to (a) that part of the Registration Statement that constitutes the Statement of Eligibility (Form T-1) under the Trust Indenture Act, and (b) regulatory actions of the applicable regulatory

authorities that are not otherwise disclosed by such regulatory authorities. In connection with the foregoing, the Manager acknowledges and understands that the character of determinations involved in the process of preparing the Registration Statement and the Prospectus (including any documents incorporated by reference) are such that such counsel need not assume any responsibility for the accuracy, completeness or fairness of the statements contained in the Registration Statement or the Prospectus (including any documents incorporated by reference) except as expressly set forth herein;

(x) no consent, approval, authorization or order of any court or governmental agency or body is required for the consummation of the transactions contemplated herein, except such as have been obtained under the Securities Act and such as may be required under the blue sky laws of any jurisdiction in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Shares and such other approvals (specified in such opinion) as have been obtained;

(xi) no holders of securities of the Company have rights to the registration of such securities under the Registration Statement (other than the rights of the holders of the warrant issued pursuant to the Capital Purchase Program of the U.S. Department of the Treasury);

(xii) the Company is not, and after the issuance and sale of the Shares and application of the net proceeds from such sale as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus under the caption “Use of Proceeds” will not be, an “investment company” or a company “controlled by” an “investment company” within the meaning of the Investment Company Act; and

(xiii) the Shares conform in all material respects to the descriptions thereof in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

In rendering such opinion, such counsel will opine only as to matters involving the application of the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or the United States and may rely (A) as to matters involving the application of laws of any jurisdiction other than the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or the United States, to the extent deemed proper and specified in such opinion, upon the opinion of other counsel of good standing believed to be reliable and who are reasonably satisfactory to counsel for the Manager, except that it will not be required that such counsel obtain an opinion of New York counsel as to matters of New York law in order to render such opinion or that such counsel express an opinion as to matters arising under the laws of any jurisdiction other than the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and matters of federal law arising under the laws of the United States of America, and (B) as to matters of fact, to the extent deemed proper, on certificates or representations of responsible officers of the Company and public officials.

(d) The Manager shall have received on each date specified in Section 6(n), and on such other dates as may be reasonably requested by the Manager, an opinion of Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP, counsel for the Manager, dated such date, in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to the Manager.

The opinion of counsel for the Company described in Section 5(c) above shall be rendered to the Manager at the request of the Company and shall so state therein.

(e) The Manager shall have received (i) on each date specified in Section 6(o), a letter dated such date in form and substance satisfactory to the Manager, from PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, independent public accountants for the Company, (A) confirming that they are an independent registered public accounting firm within the meaning of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States), (B) stating, as of such date, the conclusions and findings of such firm with respect to the financial information and other matters ordinarily covered by accountants’ “comfort letters” to underwriters in connection with registered public offerings (the first such letter, the “Initial Comfort Letter”) and (C) updating the Initial Comfort Letter with any information that would have been included in the Initial Comfort Letter had it been given on such date and modified as necessary to relate to the Registration Statement, the Prospectus Supplement, the Prospectus or any issuer free writing prospectus, as amended and supplemented to the date of such letter, and (ii) on the date hereof, a letter dated such date in form and substance satisfactory to the Manager, from Ernst & Young LLP, independent public accountants for National City, (A) confirming that they are an independent registered public accounting firm within the meaning of the Securities Act, the Exchange Act and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States) with respect to National City and (B) stating, as of such date, the conclusions and findings of such firm with respect to the financial information and other matters of National City ordinarily covered by accountants’ “comfort letters” to underwriters in connection with registered public offerings.

(f) All filings with the Commission required by Rule 424 under the Act to have been filed by each Time of Sale or related Settlement Date shall have been made within the applicable time period prescribed for such filing by Rule 424 (without reliance on Rule 424(b)(8)).

(g) The Shares shall have been approved for listing on the Exchange, subject only to a notice of issuance at or prior to the applicable Settlement Date.

(h) The Common Stock shall be an “actively-traded security” excepted from the requirements of Rule 101 of Regulation M under the Exchange Act by subsection (c)(1) of such rule.

6. Covenants of the Company. The Company covenants with the Manager as follows:

(a) To furnish to the Manager copies of the Registration Statement (excluding exhibits) and copies of the Prospectus (or the Prospectus as amended or supplemented) in such quantities as the Manager may from time to time reasonably request. In case the Manager is required to deliver, under the Securities Act (whether physically or through compliance with Rule 172 under the Securities Act or any similar rule), a prospectus relating to the Shares after the nine-month period referred to in Section 10(a)(3) of the Securities Act, or after the time a post-effective amendment to the Registration Statement is required pursuant to Item 512(a) of Regulation S-K under the Securities Act, upon the request of the Manager, and at its own expense, the Company shall prepare and deliver to the Manager as many copies as the Manager may reasonably request of an amended Registration Statement or amended or supplemented prospectus complying with Item 512(a) of Regulation S-K or Section 10(a)(3) of the Securities Act, as the case may be.

(b) Before amending or supplementing the Registration Statement or the Prospectus, to furnish to the Manager a copy of each such proposed amendment or supplement and not to file any such proposed amendment or supplement to which the Manager reasonably objects (other than (i) as the Registration Statement may be deemed to be amended or supplemented due to the filing of an Incorporated Document or (ii) any prospectus supplement relating to the offering of Shelf Securities other than the Common Stock). To the extent reasonably practicable, before filing any Incorporated Document, to furnish to the Manager a copy of each such Incorporated Document and provide the Manager reasonable opportunity to review and comment on such Incorporated Document and to consider any of the Manager’s comments in good faith if reasonably practicable. To furnish to the Manager a copy of each proposed free writing prospectus to be prepared by or on behalf of, used by, or referred to by the Company and not to use or refer to any proposed free writing prospectus to which the Manager reasonably objects. Not to take any action that would result in the Manager or the Company being required to file with the Commission pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Securities Act a free writing prospectus prepared by or on behalf of the Manager that the Manager otherwise would not have been required to file thereunder.

(c) To file, subject to Section 6(b) above, promptly all reports and any definitive proxy or information statements required to be filed by the Company with the Commission pursuant to Section 13(a), 13(c), 14 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act subsequent to the date of the Prospectus Supplement and for the duration of the Delivery Period. For the duration of the Delivery Period, to include in its quarterly reports on Form 10-Q, and in its annual reports on Form 10-K, a summary detailing, for the relevant reporting period, (i) the number of Shares sold through the Manager pursuant to this Agreement, (ii) the net proceeds received by the Company from such sales and (iii) the compensation paid by the Company to the Manager with respect to such sales (or alternatively, to prepare a prospectus supplement (each, an “Interim Prospectus Supplement”) with such summary information and, at least once a quarter and subject to

Section 6(b) above, file such Interim Prospectus Supplement pursuant to Rule 424(b) under the Securities Act (and within the time periods required by Rule 424(b) and Rules 430A, 430B or 430C under the Securities Act)).

(d) To file any Permitted Free Writing Prospectus to the extent required by Rule 433 under the Securities Act and to provide copies of the Prospectus and such Prospectus Supplement and each Permitted Free Writing Prospectus (to the extent not previously delivered or filed on the Commission’s EDGAR system or any successor system thereto) to the Manager via electronic mail in “.pdf” format on such filing date to an electronic mail account designated by the Manager and, at the Manager’s request, to also furnish copies of the Prospectus and such Prospectus Supplement to the Exchange and each other exchange or market on which sales of the Shares were effected, in each case, as may be required by the rules or regulations of the Exchange or such other exchange or market.

(e) During the Delivery Period to advise the Manager, promptly after it receives notice thereof, of (i) the occurrence of any correspondence between the Company and the Commission (and to promptly provide the Manager with copies of any such correspondence) relating to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus (including any Incorporated Documents), (ii) the issuance of any stop order by the Commission relating to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus, (iii) the suspension of the qualification of the Shares for offering or sale in any jurisdiction, (iv) the initiation or threatening of any proceeding for any such purpose, or of any request by the Commission for the amending or supplementing of the Registration Statement, the Prospectus Supplement, the Prospectus or any Permitted Free Writing Prospectus or for additional information; and, in the event of the issuance of any such stop order or of any order preventing or suspending the use of any prospectus relating to the Shares or suspending any such qualification, to promptly use its best efforts to obtain its withdrawal.

(f) If, after the date hereof and during the Delivery Period, either (i) any event shall occur or condition exist as a result of which the Prospectus would include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading, or (ii) for any other reason it shall be necessary during such same period to amend or supplement the Prospectus or to file any document in order to comply with the Securities Act or the Exchange Act, to promptly advise the Manager by telephone (with confirmation in writing or electronic mail) and to promptly prepare and file, subject to Section 6(b) above, with the Commission an amendment or supplement to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus which will correct such statement or omission or effect such compliance and to furnish to the Manager as many copies as the Manager may reasonably request of such amendment or supplement.

(g) To endeavor to qualify the Shares for offer and sale under the securities or Blue Sky laws of such jurisdictions as the Manager shall reasonably request and to continue such qualifications in effect so long as necessary under such laws for the

distribution of the Shares; provided, however, that the Company shall not be required to qualify to do business in any jurisdiction where it is not now qualified or to take any action which would subject it to general or unlimited service of process in any jurisdiction where it is not now subject.

(h) To make generally available to the Company’s security holders and to the Manager, as soon as practicable, an earnings statement covering a period of at least twelve (12) months beginning after each effective date of the Registration Statement (as determined for purposes of Rule 158(c) of the Securities Act) which shall satisfy the provisions of Section 11(a) of the Securities Act and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder with respect to the Shares.

(i) Whether or not the transactions contemplated in this Agreement are consummated or this Agreement is terminated, to pay or cause to be paid all expenses incident to the performance of its obligations under this Agreement, including: (i) the fees, disbursements and expenses of the Company’s counsel and the Company’s accountants in connection with the registration and delivery of the Shares under the Securities Act and all other fees or expenses in connection with the preparation and filing of the Registration Statement, any Prospectus Supplement, the Prospectus, any free writing prospectus prepared by or on behalf of, used by, or referred to by the Company and amendments and supplements to any of the foregoing, including the filing fees payable to the Commission relating to the Shares (within the time required by Rule 456(b)(1), if applicable), all printing costs associated therewith, and the mailing and delivering of copies thereof to the Manager, in the quantities hereinabove specified, (ii) all costs and expenses related to the transfer and delivery of the Shares, including any transfer or other taxes payable thereon, (iii) the cost of printing or producing any Blue Sky or Legal Investment memorandum in connection with the offer and sale of the Shares under state securities laws and all expenses in connection with the qualification of the Shares for offer and sale under state securities laws as provided in Section 6(g) above, including filing fees and the reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel for the Manager in connection with such qualification and in connection with the Blue Sky or Legal Investment memorandum, (iv) the reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel to the Manager incurred in connection with (A) any filing with, review by and approval of the offering by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (“FINRA”) and any FINRA filing fees (provided that the aggregate fees and disbursements required to be reimbursed under this clause (iv)(A) shall not exceed $5,000 and (B) the offering contemplated by this Agreement (provided, that the aggregate fees and disbursements required to be reimbursed under this clause (iv)(B) shall not exceed $350,000 (the “Legal Fees Cap”), provided, further, that if this Agreement has not been terminated pursuant to Section 10 on or before August 10, 2009, then the Legal Fees Cap shall be increased by $75,000), (v) all costs and expenses incident to listing the Shares on the Exchange, (vi) the costs and charges of any transfer agent, registrar or depositary, and (vii) all other costs and expenses incident to the performance of the obligations of the Company hereunder for which provision is not otherwise made in this Section. It is understood, however, that except as provided in this Section 6, Section 3(b) and Section 8, the Manager will pay all of its costs and expenses, including its costs of counsel and any advertising expenses connected with any offers the Manager may make.

(j) If the third anniversary of the initial effective date of the Registration Statement occurs before all the Shares have been sold, prior to such third anniversary, to file, subject to Section 6(b), a new shelf registration statement and to take any other action necessary to permit the public offering of the Shares to continue without interruption (references herein to the Registration Statement shall include the new registration statement declared effective by the Commission).

(k) To use its commercially reasonable efforts to cause the Shares to be listed for trading on the Exchange and to maintain such listing.

(l) On the date the Company first files the Prospectus Supplement relating to the offer and sale of the Shares pursuant to this Agreement (the “Commencement Date”), and on (i) each date that the Registration Statement or the Prospectus is amended or supplemented (other than (1) in connection with the filing of a prospectus supplement that contains solely the information required by the second sentence of Section 6(c), (2) in connection with the filing of any report or other document under Section 13, 14 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act or (3) by a prospectus supplement relating solely to the offering of Shelf Securities other than the Shares) or (ii) there is filed with the Commission any document incorporated by reference into the Prospectus (other than a Current Report on Form 8-K, unless the Manager shall otherwise reasonably request) (such Commencement Date and each such date referred to in (i) and (ii) above, a “Representation Date”), to furnish or cause to be furnished to the Manager forthwith a certificate dated and delivered as of such date, in form reasonably satisfactory to the Manager, to the effect that the statements contained in the certificate referred to in Section 5(b) of this Agreement are true and correct as of such Representation Date, as though made at and as of such time modified as necessary to relate to the Registration Statement and the Prospectus as amended and supplemented to the time of delivery of such certificate.

(m) On each Representation Date, the Company shall cause to be furnished to the Manager, dated as of such date, in form and substance satisfactory to the Manager, the written opinion of (i) Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, outside counsel for the Company, and (ii) an opinion of George P. Long, III, Esq., Senior Counsel and Corporate Secretary of the Company, as described in Section 5(c), modified as necessary to relate to the Registration Statement and the Prospectus as amended and supplemented to the time of delivery of such opinions.

(n) On each Representation Date, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP, counsel to the Manager, shall furnish to the Manager a written opinion, dated as of such date in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to the Manager.

With respect to Sections 6(m) and this Section 6(n), in lieu of delivering such an opinion for dates subsequent to the Commencement Date such counsel may furnish the Manager with a letter (a “Reliance Letter”) to the effect that the Manager may rely on a prior opinion delivered under Section 6(m) or this Section 6(n), as the case may be, to the same extent as if it were dated the date of such letter (except that statements in such prior opinion shall be deemed to relate to the Registration Statement and the Prospectus as amended or supplemented as of such subsequent date).

(o) On the Commencement Date and each time that (i) the Registration Statement or the Prospectus is amended or supplemented to include additional financial information, (ii) the Company files an annual report on Form 10-K or quarterly report on Form 10-Q, (iii) there is furnished with the Commission by the Company any document which contains financial information, including any earnings release, or (iv) there is filed with the Commission any document (other than an annual report on Form 10-K or quarterly report on Form 10-Q) incorporated by reference into the Prospectus which contains additional or amended financial information or (v) on such other dates as may be reasonably requested by the Manager, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, independent public accountants of the Company, shall deliver to the Manager the comfort letter(s) as described in Section 5(e).

(p) To comply with the Due Diligence Protocol attached hereto on Schedule II and any other due diligence review or call reasonably requested by the Manager.

(q) To keep available at all times, free of preemptive rights, Shares for the purpose of enabling the Company to satisfy its obligations hereunder.

(r) That it consents to the Manager trading in the Common Stock for the Manager’s own account and for the account of its clients at the same time as sales of the Shares occur pursuant to this Agreement.

(s) That each acceptance by the Company of an order confirmation in accordance with Section 2(a) hereunder shall be deemed to be an affirmation to the Manager that the representations and warranties of the Company contained in or made pursuant to this Agreement are true and correct as of the date of such acceptance as though made at and as of such date, and an undertaking that such representations and warranties will be true and correct as of the Time of Sale and the Settlement Date for the Shares relating to such acceptance as though made at and as of each of such dates (except that such representations and warranties shall be deemed to relate to the Registration Statement and the Prospectus as amended and supplemented relating to such Shares).

(t) Prior to instructing the Manager pursuant to Section 2 hereof to make sales on any given day (or as otherwise agreed between the Company and the Manager), the Company’s board of directors (the “Board”) or an authorized subcommittee of the Board, or such other person or persons authorized by the Board or any such subcommittee with respect to any given day (i) shall have approved the minimum price

and maximum number of Shares to be sold on such day and (ii) shall have provided to the Company a written authorizing resolution in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The instructions provided to the Manager by the Company, pursuant to Section 2, on such day shall reflect the terms of such authorizing resolution.

(u) Not to sell, offer to sell, contract or agree to sell, hypothecate, pledge, grant any option to sell or otherwise dispose of or agree to dispose of, directly or indirectly, any shares of the Common Stock or securities convertible into or exchangeable or exercisable for the Common Stock or warrants or other rights to purchase the Common Stock or any other securities of the Company that are substantially similar to the Common Stock or permit the registration under the Securities Act of any shares of the Common Stock, except for (i) the registration of the Shares and the sales through the Manager pursuant to this Agreement, (ii) any shares of Common Stock issued by the Company upon the exercise of an option or warrant or the conversion of a security outstanding on the date hereof, (iii) any shares of Common Stock issued or options to purchase Common Stock granted pursuant to employee benefit plans of the Company or (iv) any shares of Common Stock issued pursuant to any non-employee director stock plan, dividend reinvestment plan or stock purchase plan of the Company, during the Delivery Period, (A) without giving the Manager at least three (3) business days’ prior written notice specifying the nature of the proposed sale and the date of such proposed sale and (B) the Manager suspending activity under this program for such period of time as requested by the Company, it being agreed that the Manager shall so suspend activity under this program if so requested by the Company, except that the Manager may honor sales commitments that precede the making of any such request.

(v) During the period when the Shares are outstanding, the Company will not be or become an open end investment company, unit investment trust or face amount certificate company that is or required to be registered under Section 8 of the Investment Company Act.

7. Covenants of the Manager. The Manager covenants with the Company not to take any action that would result in the Company being required to file with the Commission under Rule 433(d) a free writing prospectus prepared by or on behalf of the Manager that otherwise would not be required to be filed by the Company thereunder, but for the action of the Manager.

8. Indemnity and Contribution. (a) The Company agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the Manager, the directors, officers, employees, agents of the Manager and each person, if any, who controls the Manager within the meaning of either Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act against any and all losses, claims, damages and liabilities (including, without limitation, any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred in connection with defending or investigating any such action or claim) to which they or any of them may become subject under the Securities Act, the Exchange Act or other Federal or state law or regulation, at common law or otherwise,

insofar as such losses, claims, damages or liabilities (or actions in respect thereof) are caused by any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in the Registration Statement, the Prospectus, the Prospectus Supplement (including any Interim Prospectus Supplement), the General Disclosure Package, any free writing prospectus that the Company has filed, or is required to file, pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Securities Act, or any amendment or supplement thereto, or caused by any omission or alleged omission to state therein a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, except insofar as such losses, claims, damages or liabilities are caused by any such untrue statement or omission or alleged untrue statement or omission based upon information relating to the Manager furnished to the Company in writing by the Manager specifically for use therein.

(b) The Manager agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the Company, its directors, its officers who sign the Registration Statement and each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of either Section 15 of the Securities Act or Section 20 of the Exchange Act to the same extent as the foregoing indemnity from the Company to the Manager, but only with reference to information relating to the Manager furnished to the Company in writing by the Manager specifically for use in the Registration Statement, the Prospectus, the Prospectus Supplement (including any Interim Prospectus Supplement), the General Disclosure Package, any free writing prospectus that the Company has filed, or is required to file, pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the Securities Act, or any amendment or supplement thereto.

(c) In case any proceeding (including any governmental investigation) shall be instituted involving any person in respect of which indemnity may be sought pursuant to Section 8(a) or 8(b), such person (the “indemnified party”) shall promptly notify the person against whom such indemnity may be sought (the “indemnifying party”) in writing, and the indemnifying party, upon request of the indemnified party, shall retain counsel reasonably satisfactory to the indemnified party to represent the indemnified party and any others the indemnifying party may designate in such proceeding and shall pay the fees and disbursements of such counsel related to such proceeding. In any such proceeding, any indemnified party shall have the right to retain its own counsel, but the fees and expenses of such counsel shall be at the expense of such indemnified party unless (i) the indemnifying party and the indemnified party shall have mutually agreed to the retention of such counsel or (ii) the named parties to any such proceeding (including any impleaded parties) include both the indemnifying party and the indemnified party and the indemnified party shall have reasonably concluded that there are legal defenses available to it which are different from or additional to those available to the indemnifying party. It is understood that the indemnifying party shall not, in respect of the legal expenses of any indemnified party in connection with any proceeding or related proceedings in the same jurisdiction, be liable for the fees and expenses of more than one separate firm (in addition to any local counsel) for all such indemnified parties and that all such fees and expenses shall be reimbursed as they are incurred. Such firm shall be designated in writing by the Manager, in the case of parties indemnified pursuant to Section 8(a), and by the Company, in the case of parties indemnified pursuant to

Section 8(b). The indemnifying party shall not be liable for any settlement of any proceeding effected without its written consent, but if settled with such consent or if there be a final judgment for the plaintiff, the indemnifying party agrees to indemnify the indemnified party from and against any loss or liability by reason of such settlement or judgment. Notwithstanding the foregoing sentence, if at any time an indemnified party shall have requested an indemnifying party to reimburse the indemnified party for fees and expenses of counsel as contemplated by the second and third sentences of this paragraph, the indemnifying party agrees that it shall be liable for any settlement of any proceeding effected without its written consent if (i) such settlement is entered into more than 30 days after receipt by such indemnifying party of the aforesaid request and (ii) such indemnifying party shall not have reimbursed the indemnified party in accordance with such request prior to the date of such settlement. No indemnifying party shall, without the prior written consent of the indemnified party, effect any settlement of any pending or threatened proceeding in respect of which any indemnified party is or could have been a party and indemnity could have been sought hereunder by such indemnified party, unless such settlement includes an unconditional release of such indemnified party from all liability on claims that are the subject matter of such proceeding.

(d) To the extent the indemnification provided for in Section 8(a) or 8(b) is unavailable to an indemnified party or insufficient in respect of any losses, claims, damages or liabilities referred to therein, then each indemnifying party under such paragraph, in lieu of indemnifying such indemnified party thereunder, shall contribute to the amount paid or payable by such indemnified party as a result of such losses, claims, damages or liabilities (i) in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by the Company, on the one hand, and the Manager, on the other hand, from the offering of the Shares or (ii) if the allocation provided by Section 8(d)(i) above is not permitted by applicable law, in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect not only the relative benefits referred to in Section 8(d)(i) above but also the relative fault of the Company, on the one hand, and of the Manager, on the other hand, in connection with the statements or omissions that resulted in such losses, claims, damages or liabilities, as well as any other relevant equitable considerations. The relative benefits received by the Company, on the one hand, and the Manager, on the other hand, in connection with the offering of the Shares shall be deemed to be in the same respective proportions as the net proceeds from the offering of the Shares (before deducting expenses) received by the Company bear to the total commissions received by the Manager. The relative fault of the Company, on the one hand, and the Manager, on the other hand, shall be determined by reference to, among other things, whether the untrue or alleged untrue statement of a material fact or the omission or alleged omission to state a material fact relates to information supplied by the Company or by the Manager and the parties’ relative intent, knowledge, access to information and opportunity to correct or prevent such statement or omission.

(e) The Company and the Manager agree that it would not be just or equitable if contribution pursuant to this Section 8 were determined by pro rata allocation or by any other method of allocation that does not take account of the equitable considerations

referred to in Section 8(d). The amount paid or payable by an indemnified party as a result of the losses, claims, damages and liabilities referred to in Section 8(d) shall be deemed to include, subject to the limitations set forth above, any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such indemnified party in connection with investigating or defending any such action or claim; provided, however, that in no case shall the Manager be responsible for any amount in excess of the fee, as calculated under Section 3(a) above, paid to the Manager for sales of the Shares under this Agreement. No person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the Securities Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. The remedies provided for in this Section 8 are not exclusive and shall not limit any rights or remedies which may otherwise be available to any indemnified party at law or in equity.

(f) The indemnity and contribution provisions contained in this Section 8 and the representations, warranties and other statements of the Company contained in this Agreement shall remain operative and in full force and effect regardless of (i) any termination of this Agreement,(ii) any investigation made by or on behalf of the Manager, any person controlling the Manager or any affiliate of the Manager or by or on behalf of the Company, its officers or directors or any person controlling the Company and (iii) acceptance of and payment for any of the Shares.

9. Effectiveness. This Agreement shall become effective upon the execution and delivery hereof by the parties hereto.

10. Termination. (a) The Company shall have the right, by giving written notice as hereinafter specified, to terminate this Agreement in its sole discretion at any time. Any such termination shall be without liability of any party to any other party, except that (i) with respect to any pending sale through the Manager for the Company, the obligations of the Company, including, but not limited to, its obligations under Section 4 above, shall remain in full force and effect notwithstanding such termination; and (ii) the provisions of Section 1, Section 3(b) and Section 8 of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect notwithstanding such termination.

(b) The Manager shall have the right, by giving written notice as hereinafter specified, to terminate this Agreement in its sole discretion at any time. Any such termination shall be without liability of any party to any other party except that (i) with respect to any pending sale through the Manager for the Company, the obligations of the Company, including, but not limited to, its obligations under Section 4 above, shall remain in full force and effect notwithstanding such termination; and (ii) the provisions of Section 1, Section 3(b) and Section 8 of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect notwithstanding such termination.

(c) This Agreement shall remain in full force and effect until and unless terminated pursuant to Section 10(a) or (b) above or otherwise by mutual agreement of the parties, and shall automatically terminate at such time as all Shares contemplated to

be sold in connection herewith have been sold; provided that any such termination by mutual agreement or automatically pursuant to this clause (c) shall in all cases be deemed to provide that Section 1, Section 3(b) and Section 8 of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect.

(d) Any termination of this Agreement shall be effective on the date specified in such notice of termination or upon the consummation of the final sale of Shares; provided that such termination shall not be effective until the close of business on the date of receipt of such notice by the Manager or the Company, as the case may be, in the case of any termination pursuant to Section 10(a) or (b). If such termination shall occur prior to the Settlement Date for any sale of Shares, such sale shall settle in accordance with the provisions of Section 4.

11. Entire Agreement. (a) This Agreement, including the schedules and exhibits attached hereto, represents the entire agreement between the Company and the Manager with respect to the preparation of any Registration Statement, Prospectus Supplement or the Prospectus, the conduct of the offering and the sale and distribution of the Shares.

(b) The Company acknowledges that in connection with the offering of the Shares: (i) the Manager has acted and will act at arm’s length and owes no fiduciary duties to, the Company or any other person, (ii) the Manager owes the Company only those duties and obligations set forth in this Agreement and prior written agreements (to the extent not superseded by this Agreement), if any, and (iii) the Manager may have interests that differ from those of the Company. The Company waives to the full extent permitted by applicable law any claims it may have against the Manager arising from an alleged breach of fiduciary duty in connection with the sale and distribution of the Shares.

12. Counterparts. This Agreement may be signed in two or more counterparts, each of which shall be an original, with the same effect as if the signatures thereto and hereto were upon the same instrument.

13. Applicable Law. This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the internal laws of the State of New York.

14. Headings. The headings of the sections of this Agreement have been inserted for convenience of reference only and shall not be deemed a part of this Agreement.

15. Notices. All communications hereunder shall be in writing and effective only upon receipt and if to the Manager shall be delivered, mailed, telefaxed or sent to Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated, 1585 Broadway, New York, NY 10036, facsimile number: (212) 761-0316 (Attn: Equity Capital Markets Syndicate Desk) with a copy to Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP, 825 Eighth Avenue, Worldwide Plaza, New York, New York 10019, facsimile number: (212) 474-3700 (Attn: Andrew J. Pitts, Esq.); and if to

the Company shall be delivered, mailed or sent to One PNC Plaza, 249 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222-2707 (Attn: Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer) with a copy to Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, 51 West 52nd Street, New York, New York 10019, facsimile number: (212) 403-2000 (Attn: Nicholas G. Demmo, Esq.).

16. Successors and Assigns. This Agreement will inure to the benefit of and be binding upon the parties hereto and their respective successors and the officers, directors, employees, agents, affiliates and controlling persons referred to in Section 8 hereof, and no other person will have any right or obligation hereunder.

[Signature page follows]

Very truly yours, THE PNC FINANCIAL SERVICES GROUP, INC.

By:	/s/ Randall C. King
Name:	Randall C. King
Title:	Senior Vice President

Accepted as of the date first written above MORGAN STANLEY & CO. INCORPORATED

By:	/s/ John Tyree
Name:	John Tyree
Title:	Managing Director