The PNC Financial Services Group, Inc. Second Quarter 2008 Earnings Conference Call July 17, 2008 Exhibit 99.2

Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking
Information and Adjusted Information
This presentation contains forward-looking statements regarding our outlook or expectations relating to PNC’s future business, operations, financial
condition, financial performance and asset quality. Forward-looking statements are necessarily subject to numerous assumptions, risks and
uncertainties, which change over time.
The forward-looking statements in this presentation are qualified by the factors affecting forward-looking statements identified in the more detailed
Cautionary Statement included in the Appendix, which is included in the version of the presentation materials posted on our corporate website at
www.pnc.com/investorevents. We provide greater detail regarding these factors in our 2007 Form 10-K and first quarter 2008 Form 10-Q, including
in the Risk Factors and Risk Management sections, and in our other SEC reports (accessible on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov and on or through
our corporate website at www.pnc.com/secfilings).
Future events or circumstances may change our outlook or expectations and may also affect the nature of the assumptions, risks and uncertainties
to which our forward-looking statements are subject. The forward-looking statements in this presentation speak only as of the date of this
presentation. We do not assume any duty and do not undertake to update those statements.
In this presentation, we will sometimes refer to adjusted results to help illustrate the impact of the deconsolidation of BlackRock near the end of
third quarter 2006 and the impact of certain types of items. Adjusted results reflect, as applicable, the following types of adjustments: (1) 2006
and earlier periods reflect the impact of the deconsolidation of BlackRock by adjusting as if we had recorded our BlackRock investment on the equity
method prior to its deconsolidation; (2) adjusting 2006 periods, as applicable, to exclude the impact of the third quarter 2006 gain on the
BlackRock/MLIM transaction and losses on the repositioning of PNC’s securities and mortgage loan portfolios; (3) adjusting fourth quarter 2006 and
2007 periods to exclude the net mark-to-market adjustments on PNC’s remaining BlackRock LTIP shares obligation and, as applicable, the gain PNC
recognized in first quarter 2007 in connection with the company’s transfer of BlackRock shares to satisfy a portion of its BlackRock LTIP shares
obligation; (4) adjusting 2007 and 2006 periods to exclude, as applicable, integration costs related to acquisitions and to the BlackRock/MLIM
transaction; (5) adjusting 2007 periods, as applicable, for the fourth quarter 2007 Visa litigation charge; and (6) adjusting, as appropriate, for the
tax impact of these adjustments. We have provided these adjusted amounts and reconciliations so that investors, analysts, regulators and others
will be better able to evaluate the impact of these items on our results for the periods presented, in addition to providing a basis of comparability for
the impact of the BlackRock deconsolidation given the magnitude of the impact of deconsolidation on various components of our income statement
and balance sheet. We believe that information as adjusted for the impact of the specified items may be useful due to the extent to which these
items are not indicative of our ongoing operations as the result of our management activities on those operations. While we have not provided other
adjustments for the 2007 and earlier periods discussed, this is not intended to imply that there could not have been other similar types of
adjustments, but any such adjustments would not have been similar in magnitude to the amount of the adjustments shown.
In certain discussions, we may also provide information on yields and margins for all interest-earning assets calculated using net interest income on
a taxable-equivalent basis by increasing the interest income earned on tax-exempt assets to make it fully equivalent to interest income earned on
taxable investments. We believe this adjustment may be useful when comparing yields and margins for all earning assets.
This presentation may also include a discussion of other non-GAAP financial measures, which, to the extent not so qualified therein or in the
Appendix, is qualified by GAAP reconciliation information available on our corporate website at www.pnc.com under “About PNC–Investor Relations.”

Business Model Performed Well
Delivered strong second quarter 2008 results
- Reported earnings of $1.45 per diluted share, $1.37 adjusted
- Diversified revenue growth created positive operating leverage
Key Messages
- Well-positioned balance sheet resulted in strong revenue growth
- Asset quality migration and related costs remained manageable
- Strengthened capital and maintained strong liquidity position
Despite Ongoing Market Volatility, PNC Despite Ongoing Market Volatility, PNC
Delivered Excellent Results. Delivered Excellent Results.
(1) Adjusted diluted earnings per share of $1.37 for the second quarter of 2008 excludes the after-tax gain of $52 million, or $.15 per diluted
share, on the mark to market of our BlackRock LTIP shares obligation and $24 million, or $.07 per share, of after-tax integration costs.
1

Differentiated Balance Sheet
As of June 30, 2008.  Annualized net charge-off percentage is to average loans for the three months ended.
PNC’s Moderate Risk Profile Helps
Differentiate the Balance Sheet.
2 2.3 Loans held for sale
19 27.3 Other assets
22 31.0 Securities available for sale
51 73.0 Loans, net of unearned income
$142.8
$9.2
June 30,
2008
100%
6%
% of
assets
Total assets
Cash and short-term investments
Category (billions)
% NPA
Net
charge-off
% (billions)
.77 .73 $33.5 Commercial, including lease financing
1.50 .78 7.4 Comm’l real estate (non-residential)
13.60 1.38 2.1 Commercial residential real estate
1.47 .77 $43.0 Total commercial lending
Loans, net of unearned income
% 90 days past due
.35
.39
.39
.32
Excluding
NPLs
.60 .41 $30.0 Total consumer lending
6.3
9.0
$14.7
.63
.01
.53
Net
charge-off
%
.47 Other
.94 Residential mortgage
.44 Home equity
Including
NPLs
(billions)

1.10%
1.09% 1.09%
1.22%
1.21%
1.35%
1.00%
1.05%
1.10%
1.15%
1.20%
1.25%
1.30%
1.35%
1.40%
Credit Quality Migration Remained Manageable
PNC’s Credit Coverage Ratios Are
Consistent with a Moderate Risk Profile.
Net charge-offs to average loans
(1) Annualized for the three months ended. (2) At period end.
1Q07 2Q07 3Q07 4Q07 1Q08 2Q08
Allowance for loan and lease losses to loans
1Q07 2Q07 3Q07 4Q07 1Q08 2Q08
1
2
0.27%
0.20%
0.57%
0.62%
0.30%
0.49%
0.10%
0.20%
0.30%
0.40%
0.50%
0.60%
0.70%
0.80%
0.90%
1.00%

Target
Range
Staying Liquid and Building Capital Flexibility
Tier 1 Capital Ratio
8.5%
7.5%
PNC Is Well-Positioned in Terms of
Liquidity and Capital Flexibility.
4Q07 1Q08 2Q08
Numbers at period end.  (1) Unused borrowing capacity.  (2) Estimated.
6.8%
7.7%
8.1%
Available Liquidity
4Q07 1Q08 2Q08
$30B
$27B $27B
1
2

+14% +32%
+10% +9%
+12% +19%
For the three months ended June 30, 2008.  The sum of deposit NII and loan NII equals GAAP net interest income.  Further information
regarding revenue mix is provided in the Appendix.
Change vs.
1Q08 2Q07
Strong and Diverse Revenue Growth
PNC’s Revenue Mix Is Valuable and
Relies Less on Credit
Capital.
.
Deposit and
other net interest
income
Loan
net interest
income
10%
29%
19%
Corporate
services
12%
Consumer
services and
deposit
charges
9%
Other
10%
Asset
management
11%
Fund
servicing
Total
revenue
$2.0 billion
Net interest income
Noninterest income
Total revenue
Contribution to
total revenue
2Q08

$0
$1
$2
$3
$4
$5
$6
$7
Revenue
+12%
Creating Positive Operating Leverage
Adjusted Revenue
(as reported $5.5 billion, $6.3 billion, $8.6 billion, $6.7 billion for 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, respectively)
Adjusted Noninterest Expense
(as reported $3.7 billion, $4.3 billion, $4.4 billion, $4.3 billion for 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, respectively)
Adjusted Net Income
(as reported $1.2 billion, $1.3 billion, $2.6 billion, $1.5 billion for 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, respectively)
$1.2
$1.3
$1.5
(1) As reported: revenue 7%, expense 5%, operating leverage 2%. Adjusted amounts are reconciled to GAAP amounts in the Appendix.
2004
2005 2006
Expense
+9%
Compound Annual Growth
(2004-2007, as adjusted)¹
Revenue
+16%
Expense
+9%
For the six months
ended June 30
2008 vs. 2007
Operating
Leverage
+3%
Operating
Leverage
+7%
$1.7
2007
PNC’s Disciplined Growth Strategies
Help Drive Positive Operating Leverage.

Markets
Sales across franchise at or above goals
New markets outperforming expectations
Corporate banking posting excellent cross-sell results
Fund servicing revenue pipeline strong
ARCS providing diversity with record production levels
Innovative Products and Solutions
Virtual Wallet
Healthcare Advantage
PFPC transformation to PNC Global Investment Servicing
- Albridge Solutions and Coates Analytics
Strategic Growth Initiatives
PNC’s Strategic Decisions and Focus Are
Paying Off.
.

10 Product Innovation: Capturing Gen Y

Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking
Information
Appendix
We make statements in this presentation, and we may from time to time make other statements, regarding our outlook or expectations for
earnings, revenues, expenses and/or other matters regarding or affecting PNC that are forward-looking statements within the meaning of the
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act. Forward-looking statements are typically identified by words such as “believe,” “expect,” “anticipate,”
“intend,” “outlook,” “estimate,” “forecast,” “will,” “project” and other similar words and expressions.
Forward-looking statements are subject to numerous assumptions, risks and uncertainties, which change over time. Forward-looking statements
speak only as of the date they are made. We do not assume any duty and do not undertake to update our forward-looking statements. Because
forward-looking statements are subject to assumptions and uncertainties, actual results or future events could differ, possibly materially, from
those that we anticipated in our forward-looking statements, and future results could differ materially from our historical performance.
Our forward-looking statements are subject to the following principal risks and uncertainties. We provide greater detail regarding some of these
factors in our 2007 Form 10-K and our Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March 31, 2008, including in the Risk Factors and Risk Management
sections of those reports, and in our other SEC reports. Our forward-looking statements may also be subject to other risks and uncertainties,
including those that we may discuss elsewhere in this presentation or in our filings with the SEC, accessible on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov
and on or through our corporate website at www.pnc.com/secfilings.
•Our businesses and financial results are affected by business and economic conditions, both generally and specifically in the principal markets in
which we operate. In particular, our businesses and financial results may be impacted by:
oChanges in interest rates and valuations in the debt, equity and other financial markets.
oDisruptions in the liquidity and other functioning of financial markets, including such disruptions in the markets for real estate and other assets
commonly securing financial products.
oActions by the Federal Reserve and other government agencies, including those that impact money supply and market interest rates.
oChanges in our customers’, suppliers’ and other counterparties’ performance in general and their creditworthiness in particular.
oChanges in customer preferences and behavior, whether as a result of changing business and economic conditions or other factors.
A continuation of recent turbulence in significant portions of the global financial markets could impact our performance, both directly by affecting
our revenues and the value of our assets and liabilities and indirectly by affecting the economy generally.
Given current economic and financial market conditions, our forward-looking financial statements are subject to the risk that these conditions will
be substantially different than we are currently expecting. These statements are based on our current expectations that interest rates will remain
low through 2008 with continued wide market credit spreads and our view that national economic conditions currently point toward a mild
recession followed by a subdued recovery.
Our operating results are affected by our liability to provide shares of BlackRock common stock to help fund certain BlackRock long-term incentive
plan (“LTIP”) programs, as our LTIP liability is adjusted quarterly (“marked-to-market”) based on changes in BlackRock’s common stock price and
the number of remaining committed shares, and we recognize gain or loss on such shares at such times as shares are transferred for payouts
under the LTIP programs.
Legal and regulatory developments could have an impact on our ability to operate our businesses or our financial condition or results of
operations or our competitive position or reputation. Reputational impacts, in turn, could affect matters such as business generation and
retention, our ability to attract and retain management, liquidity, and funding. These legal and regulatory developments could include: (a) the
unfavorable resolution of legal proceedings or regulatory and other governmental inquiries; (b) increased litigation risk from recent regulatory
and other governmental developments; (c) the results of the regulatory examination process, our failure to satisfy the requirements of
agreements with governmental agencies, and regulators’ future use of supervisory and enforcement tools; (d) legislative and regulatory reforms,
including changes to laws and regulations involving tax, pension, education lending, and the protection of confidential customer information; and
(e) changes in accounting policies and principles.

Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking
Information (continued)
Appendix
Our business and operating results are affected by our ability to identify and effectively manage risks inherent in our businesses, including, where
appropriate, through the effective use of third-party insurance, derivatives, and capital management techniques.
The adequacy of our intellectual property protection, and the extent of any costs associated with obtaining rights in intellectual property claimed
by others, can impact our business and operating results.
Our ability to anticipate and respond to technological changes can have an impact on our ability to respond to customer needs and to meet
competitive demands.
Our ability to implement our business initiatives and strategies could affect our financial performance over the next several years.
Competition can have an impact on customer acquisition, growth and retention, as well as on our credit spreads and product pricing, which can
affect market share, deposits and revenues.
Our business and operating results can also be affected by widespread natural disasters, terrorist activities or international hostilities, either as a
result of the impact on the economy and capital and other financial markets generally or on us or on our customers, suppliers or other
counterparties specifically.
Also, risks and uncertainties that could affect the results anticipated in forward-looking statements or from historical performance relating to our
equity interest in BlackRock, Inc. are discussed in more detail in BlackRock’s filings with the SEC, including in the Risk Factors sections of
BlackRock’s reports. BlackRock’s SEC filings are accessible on the SEC’s website and on or through BlackRock’s website at www.blackrock.com.
We grow our business from time to time by acquiring other financial services companies. Acquisitions in general present us with risks in addition
to those presented by the nature of the business acquired. In particular, acquisitions may be substantially more expensive to complete (including
as a result of costs incurred in connection with the integration of the acquired company) and the anticipated benefits (including anticipated cost
savings and strategic gains) may be significantly harder or take longer to achieve than expected. In some cases, acquisitions involve our entry
into new businesses or new geographic or other markets, and these situations also present risks resulting from our inexperience in these new
areas. As a regulated financial institution, our pursuit of attractive acquisition opportunities could be negatively impacted due to regulatory delays
or other regulatory issues. Regulatory and/or legal issues related to the pre-acquisition operations of an acquired business may cause reputational
harm to PNC following the acquisition and integration of the acquired business into ours and may result in additional future costs arising as a result
of those issues. Our recent acquisition of Sterling Financial Corporation (“Sterling”) presents regulatory and litigation risk, as a result of financial
irregularities at Sterling’s commercial finance subsidiary, that may impact our financial results.
Any annualized, proforma, estimated, third party or consensus numbers in this presentation are used for illustrative or comparative purposes only
and may not reflect actual results. Any consensus earnings estimates are calculated based on the earnings projections made by analysts who
cover that company. The analysts’ opinions, estimates or forecasts (and therefore the consensus earnings estimates) are theirs alone, are not
those of PNC or its management, and may not reflect PNC’s or other company’s actual or anticipated results.

Non-GAAP to GAAP Reconcilement
Appendix
In millions, for the three months ended June 30, 2008 March 31, 2008 June 30, 2007 March 31, 2008 June 30, 2007
Net interest income $977 $854 $738 14% 32%
Loan net interest income 396 337 274 18% 45%
Deposit and other net interest income 581 517 464 12% 25%
Noninterest income 1,062 967 975 10% 9%
Total revenue $2,039 $1,821 $1,713 12% 19%
Consumer services $149 $170
Service charges on deposits 92 82
Consumer services and deposit charges 241 252 (4%)
Revenue attributable to Hilliard Lyons 33
Consumer services and deposit charges
excluding Hilliard Lyons $241 $219 10%
% Change for 2Q08 vs.

Non-GAAP to GAAP Reconcilement
Appendix
For the year ended December 31, 2007 PNC PNC
In millions As Reported  Adjustments (a) As Adjusted
Net interest income $2,915 $2,915
Noninterest income 3,790 $131 3,921
Total revenue 6,705 131 6,836
Provision for credit losses 315 (45) 270
Noninterest expense 4,296 (184) 4,112
Income before income taxes 2,094 360 2,454
Income taxes 627 125 752
Net income $1,467 $235 $1,702
BlackRock
For the year ended December 31, 2006 PNC Deconsolidation and BlackRock PNC
In millions As Reported Adjustments (a) Other Adjustments Equity Method As Adjusted
Net interest income $2,245 $(10) $2,235
Noninterest income 6,327 $(1,812) (1,087) $144 3,572
Total revenue 8,572 (1,812) (1,097) 144 5,807
Provision for credit losses 124 124
Noninterest expense 4,443 (91) (765) 3,587
Income before minority interest and income taxes 4,005 (1,721) (332) 144 2,096
Minority interest in income of BlackRock 47 18 (65)
Income taxes 1,363 (658) (130) 7 582
Net income $2,595 $(1,081) $(137) $137 $1,514
(a) Amounts adjusted to exclude the impact of the following pretax items: (1) the gain of $83 million recognized in connection with PNC's transfer of BlackRock shares
to satisfy a portion of our BlackRock LTIP shares obligation, (2) the $210 million net loss representing the mark-to-market adjustment on our remaining BlackRock
LTIP shares obligation, (3) acquisition integration costs totaling $151 million, and (4) Visa indemnification charge of $82 million. The net tax impact of these items is
reflected in the adjustment to income taxes.
(a) Includes the impact of the following pretax items: $2,078 million gain on BlackRock/MLIM transaction, $196 million securities portfolio rebalancing loss, $101
million of BlackRock/MLIM transaction integration costs ($91 million of noninterest expense and $10 million impact on noninterest income), $48 millionmortgage loan
portfolio repositioning loss, and $12 million net loss related to our BlackRock LTIP shares obligation. The net tax impact of these items is reflected in the adjustment to
income taxes.

Non-GAAP to GAAP Reconcilement
Appendix
For the year ended December 31, 2005 BlackRock
PNC Deconsolidation and BlackRock PNC
In millions As Reported Other Adjustments Equity Method As Adjusted
Net interest income $2,154 $(12) $2,142
Noninterest income 4,173 (1,214) $163 3,122
Total revenue 6,327                      (1,226)                          163                           5,264
Provision for credit losses 21 21
Noninterest expense 4,306 (853) 3,453
Income before minority interest and income taxes 2,000 (373) 163 1,790
Minority interest in income of BlackRock 71 (71)
Income taxes 604 (150) 11 465
   Net income $1,325 $(152) $152 $1,325
For the year ended December 31, 2004 BlackRock
PNC Deconsolidation and BlackRock PNC
In millions As Reported Other Adjustments Equity Method As Adjusted
Net interest income $1,969 $(14) $1,955
Noninterest income 3,572 (745) $101 2,928
Total revenue 5,541                      (759)                             101                           4,883
Provision for credit losses 52 52
Noninterest expense 3,712 (564) 3,148
Income before minority interest and income taxes 1,777 (195) 101 1,683
Minority interest in income of BlackRock 42 (42)
Income taxes 538 (59) 7 486
   Net income $1,197 $(94) $94 $1,197

Non-GAAP to GAAP Reconcilement
Appendix
Adjusted
In millions 2004 2005 2006 2007 '04-'07 CAGR
Adjusted net interest income $1,955 $2,142 $2,235 $2,915 14%
Adjusted noninterest income 2,928 3,122 3,572 3,921 10%
Adjusted total revenue 4,883 5,264 5,807 6,836 12%
Adjusted noninterest expense 3,148 3,453 3,587 4,112 9%
Adjusted net income 1,197                          1,325                    1,514               1,702                  12%
Adjusted operating leverage 3%
Reported
In millions 2004 2005 2006 2007 '04-'07 CAGR
Net interest income, as reported $1,969 $2,154 $2,245 $2,915 14%
Noninterest income, as reported 3,572 4,173 6,327 3,790 2%
Total revenue, as reported 5,541 6,327 8,572 6,705 7%
Noninterest expense, as reported 3,712 4,306 4,443 4,296 5%
Net income, as reported 1,197                          1,325                    2,595               1,467                  7%
Operating leverage, as reported 2%
For the year ended December 31, as adjusted
For the year ended December 31, as reported