DNB FINANCIAL CORPORATION
                                [GRAPHIC OMITTED]
                                  NEWS RELEASE

For further information, please contact:
Bruce E. Moroney
Sr. Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
610-873-5253

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

                            DNB FINANCIAL CORPORATION
                          ANNOUNCES FOURTH QUARTER 2003
                              AND YEAR-END EARNINGS

(February 5, 2004 -- Downingtown,  PA) DNB Financial Corporation ("DNB"), parent
of Downingtown National Bank (the "Bank"), today reported results for the fourth
quarter and year-to-date earnings. Current highlights include:

o        Progress achieved in balance sheet repositioning
o        Reorganization of DNB's Retail Bank
o        Solid growth in DNB Financial Services

EARNINGS
During  the  fourth  quarter,  DNB  reported  income  of  $583,000  or $0.30 per
share on a diluted  basis,  compared to a profit of  $652,000  or $0.33  diluted
earnings  per share in 2002.  The  decline  in fourth  quarter  results  was due
primarily to increased  salaries and employee  benefits,  legal and professional
expenses, as well as higher levels of consulting fees. Net income for the twelve
months ended  December  31, 2003  totaled $1.4 million and diluted  earnings per
share of $0.72, compared to $2.7 million and diluted earnings per share of $1.40
for the same period in 2002.  The decline in annual results was due to increased
salaries and employee  benefits of $882,000,  $368,000 of which was attributable
to pension expense. In addition,  annual results were significantly  impacted by
the  investment  portfolio  restructuring,  which  caused net losses on sales of
investment  securities  of $362,000  in 2003,  compared to net gains on sales of
securities of $165,000 in 2002.

BALANCE SHEET  REPOSITIONING
DNB grew its loan portfolio and reduced the size of its investment  portfolio in
a continuing  effort to reposition its balance sheet during the quarter.  During
the most recent  quarter,  loans grew $14.4 million or 7.6%. The majority of the
growth was in the commercial loan and commercial mortgage portfolios, which grew
a combined  $12.5  million or 9.0%.  DNB also  continued to promote its consumer
loans which grew by $3.2 million or 9.9%. DNB reduced the size of its investment
portfolio  by $29.9  million  or 14.7% to fund  loan  growth  and pay off  $26.0
million of short-term borrowings. These changes in the balance sheet contributed
to a $172,000 or 5.8% quarter-over-quarter increase in net interest income.

REORGANIZATION  OF DNB'S  RETAIL  BANK
In  order  to  support  the  Bank's 5-year strategic plan which calls for strong
growth in deposits,  loans and fee income, DNB announced an initiative that will
separate the business  development  responsibilities  from the customer  service
activities of the branch. This change will allow newly appointed Market Managers
to focus  on  business  development  efforts  without  having  to spend  time on
administrative,   sales  and  office  activities  in  the  branches.  This  will
strengthen our ability to service and  cross-sell our existing  customers in the
best possible way.

DNB   FINANCIAL   SERVICES
Through  DNB  Financial  Services,  DNB  provides  non-depository  products such
as mutual funds,  annuities,  529 Plans and insurance to its  customers.  During
2003,  management  continued to make  progress as revenues grew 128% to $336,000
for the year ended December 31, 2003, compared to $147,000 in 2002.

DNB  Financial  Corporation is a bank holding  company  whose bank  subsidiary,
Downingtown  National  Bank, is a commercial  bank and a member of the FDIC. The
Bank, headquartered in Downingtown,  Chester County, Pennsylvania,  has nine (9)
full service offices.  Through its Wealth Management Group, Downingtown National
Bank  provides  wealth  management,  trust  services and  brokerage  services to
individuals and businesses  throughout Chester County.  Customers may also visit
us on our website at http://www.dnb4you.com.

Inquiries regarding the purchase of DNB Financial  Corporation stock may be made
through the market makers listed on our website at
http://www.dnb4you.com.

This press release contains statements, that are not of historical facts and may
pertain  to future  operating  results  or events or  management's  expectations
regarding those results or events. These are "forward-looking statements" within
the meaning of Section 27A of the  Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the
Securities  and  Exchange  Act of 1934.  These  forward-looking  statements  may
include,  but are not  limited  to,  statements  about  our  plans,  objectives,
expectations and intentions and other statements contained in this press release
that are not  historical  facts.  When  used in this  press  release,  the words
"expects", "anticipates",  "intends", "plans", "believes", "seeks", "estimates",
or words of similar  meaning,  or future or conditional  verbs,  such as "will",
"would",  "should",  "could",  or  "may"  are  generally  intended  to  identify
forward-looking  statements.  These  forward-looking  statements  are inherently
subject to significant  business,  economic and  competitive  uncertainties  and
contingencies,  many of which are either  beyond our  control or not  reasonably
capable  of  predicting  at  this  time.  In  addition,   these  forward-looking
statements are subject to assumptions with respect to future business strategies
and decisions that are subject to change.  Actual results may differ  materially
from the results discussed in these forward-looking statements.  Readers of this
press  release  are  accordingly  cautioned  not  to  place  undue  reliance  on
forward-looking  statements.  DNB  disclaims  any intent or obligation to update
publicly any of the  forward-looking  statements herein,  whether in response to
new information,  future events or otherwise. With regard to DNB's balance sheet
repositioning,  the degree to which these steps can be accomplished  will depend
on a number of factors,  including  changes in the interest rate environment for
loans, investments and deposits, loan prepayments,  market opportunities for new
loan and  participation  originations,  and the  availability  of loan and lease
receivables  for  purchase  at  attractive   prices  and  yields,   as  well  as
management's  assessment of the timing of each of these  opportunities and steps
in light of future, unknown developments affecting DNB's business generally.

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<CAPTION>


                            DNB FINANCIAL CORPORATION
                         SUMMARY OF FINANCIAL STATISTICS
                  (Dollars in thousands, except per share data)

                                     Three Months Ended      Twelve Months Ended
                                         December 31             December 31
                                     ------------------     --------------------
                                      2003        2002        2003         2002
                                     ------      ------     -------      -------
  EARNINGS:
  Total interest income ........   $  4,834    $  4,967    $ 18,894     $ 21,498
  Total interest expense .......      1,696       2,221       7,421        9,430
  Net interest income ..........      3,138       2,746      11,473       12,068
  Provision for loan losses ....          0           0           0            0
  Non-interest income ..........        674         763       2,540        2,645
  Non-interest expense .........      3,164       2,723      12,622       11,257
  Income before income taxes ...        648         786       1,391        3,456
  Income tax expense ...........         65         134         (10)         728
  Net income ...................        583         652       1,401        2,728
  Net income per share, diluted*   $   0.30    $   0.33    $   0.72     $   1.40


  PERFORMANCE RATIOS:
  Interest rate spread .........       3.37%       3.10%       3.14%        3.46%
  Net interest margin ..........       3.39%       3.14%       3.17%        3.50%
  Return on average equity .....       9.25%       9.85%       5.47%       10.66%
  Return on average assets .....       0.57%       0.68%       0.35%        0.72%



                                                            December 31
                                                         --------------------
                                                           2003        2002
                                                         --------    --------
  FINANCIAL POSITION:
  Total assets .......................................   $409,013    $384,368
  Loans ..............................................    203,553     187,585
  Deposits ...........................................    292,436     287,803
  Borrowings .........................................     88,720      68,728
  Stockholders' equity ...............................     25,372      26,208


  EQUITY RATIOS:
  Tier 1 leverage ratio ..............................       7.23%       8.22%
  Risk-based capital ratio ...........................      12.66%      13.49%
  Book value per share* ..............................   $  13.35    $  13.71




* All per share amounts have been restated to reflect the 5% stock dividend paid in December 2003.