Exhibit 99.1


     American Software Reports First Quarter of Fiscal Year 2004 Results;

Marking the Tenth Consecutive Quarter of Profitability and Positive Cash Flow



    ATLANTA, Aug. 20 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ -- American Software, Inc.

(Nasdaq: AMSWA) today reported its financial results for the first quarter of

fiscal year 2004.

    Total revenues for the first quarter ended July 31, 2003 were $13.1

million compared to $14.6 million during the same period last year.  For the

first quarter, software license fees were $2.6 million compared to $3.0

million during the same period last year.  Services and other revenues were

$5.8 million compared to $6.5 million for the same period last year.

Maintenance revenues were $4.6 million compared to $5.1 million during the

same period last year.  Operating income was $420,000 for the first quarter

fiscal 2004 compared to $778,000 during the same period last year.  Net

earnings from continuing operations for the first quarter of fiscal year 2004

were $1.1 million compared to $988,000 from the same period last year.  For

the first quarter of fiscal 2004, the Company reported earnings per share

(diluted) of $0.05 compared to earnings per share (diluted) of $0.04 for the

first quarter of fiscal year 2003.

    "We are pleased with our continued profitability and cash generation given

the general market conditions and global economic uncertainty that continue to

impact capital expenditures.  We will utilize our financial strength to

reinvest in the Company as well as return cash to our shareholders through our

quarterly dividend which was announced during the first quarter," said James

C. Edenfield, President and CEO of American Software.

    "As more companies seek to decrease costs and leverage global suppliers

and manufacturing partners, the task of managing the supply chain grows

exponentially with each partner," continued Edenfield.  "In order to keep pace

and achieve needed visibility, companies are seeking the application tools in

our product portfolio which provide the ability to reduce costs, optimize

production and collaborate in real-time."

    The overall financial condition of the Company remains strong, with cash

and investments of approximately $62.7 million and zero debt as of July 31,

2003.  The Company's cash and investment position increased by $2.2 million

sequentially from April 30, 2003 and $5.3 million compared to July 31, 2002.

During the first quarter, the Company purchased approximately 25,000 of its

shares on the open market under the current stock buyback program at a cost of

approximately $113,000.  There are approximately 1.9 million shares remaining

to purchase under the total authorization of 4.2 million shares.



    Recent Highlights Include:

    *  On July 9, 2003, the Company announced initiation of a quarterly

       dividend policy, declaring the Company's initial quarterly cash

       dividend of $0.06 per share.  The Company's first cash dividend is

       payable on September 19, 2003 to both Class A and Class B shareholders

       of record at the close of business on August 20, 2003.



    Customers

    *  Notable new and existing customers placing orders with the Company in

       the first quarter of fiscal year 2004 include: Alberto-Culver Company,

       Joseph A. Banks Clothiers, Inc., Katun, Kellwood Company, SSA Global

       Technologies, VF Corporation and a leading manufacturer of branded

       apparel.



    *  The Company's 86% owned subsidiary, Logility, Inc. (Nasdaq: LGTY),

       announced Bell(R) Sports, the world's leading designer and marketer of

       helmets and accessories for bicycling and other active sports, has

       selected Logility Voyager Global Sourcing Management(TM) to streamline

       and manage the global design and production of its branded helmets,

       cycling accessories and fitness products.  A long-time Logility

       customer, Bell Sports received a "Logility Leadership Award" for supply

       chain excellence in its use of Logility Voyager Solutions to reduce

       inventory by 25.9%, slash retail out-of-stocks by 234%, and increase

       sales by 20% through improved forecast accuracy and collaborative

       planning with customers and suppliers.



    *  Facet Technologies, a division of Matria Healthcare and innovative

       provider of medical devices for the healthcare industry, has selected

       Logility as its partner in driving supply chain management

       improvements.



    *  Saks Incorporated, widely regarded for its superior customer service

       and effective store replenishment strategy, was presented the "John

       Hewson Sailing to New Heights with Logility" award for supply chain

       excellence powered by Logility solutions.  Saks' deployment of Logility

       Voyager Demand Planning and Inventory Planning solutions enabled it to

       achieve immediate benefits as well as ongoing, continuous improvements

       in service levels, inventory turns and forecast accuracy for

       replenishment items.



    *  Logility announced the fifth annual Logility Leadership Award winners

       recognizing a select group of customers who have significantly improved

       their business operations through the deployment of Logility Voyager

       Solutions(TM).  The 2003 Logility Leadership Award was presented to the

       following companies:  Bell Sports, ConAgra Foods Grocery Foods Group,

        xpedx and a leading global pharmaceutical company.



    *  The Company announced that Confecciones del Valle has selected our

       wholly-owned subsidiary, New Generation Computing's, Apparel

       Management Accounting System (AMAS) to improve its accounting and

       customer service operations.  The software, which Confecciones del

       Valle will deploy in the Fall at its manufacturing plant in El

       Salvador, will enable the company to integrate its sales, distribution,

       finance, production planning, administration, accounting, electronic

       data interchange (EDI) and other functions onto one easy-to-use, PC-

       based system.



    *  The Company announced this quarter that Wilsons, The Leather Experts

       Inc. has installed New Generation Computing's e-Pack and e-Shipment

       Tracking software to gain inbound visibility of its entire production

       process.  The installation of the two Web-based software modules, which

       are part of NGC's e-SPS product suite, will enable Wilsons Leather's

       sourcing and logistics teams to monitor and track the shipments of

       products in real time from factories in Asia to the company's

       distribution centers. "Inbound visibility will enable us to

       significantly improve our internal production and inventory controls,"

       said Scott Christian, director of supply chain systems for Wilsons

       Leather.  "The first e-SPS modules we installed have been easy to use

       and have made it possible for us to streamline many aspects of our

       sourcing of products."



    *  The Company announced that Agrotec has selected New Generation

       Computing's Apparel Management Accounting System (AMAS) and The

       Production Manager (TPM) to manage its operations in El Salvador.  The

       software, which Agrotec will install in August at its manufacturing

       plant in El Salvador, will enable the company to integrate multiple

       business processes -- sales, distribution, finance, production

       planning, administration, accounting, electronic data interchange,

       shop-floor control, incentive payroll and other functions -- onto one

       easy-to-use, PC-based system.



    Products and Technology

    *  Logility's Voyager Solutions release 7.0 was unveiled at Connections

       2003, the company's annual user group conference, providing a preview

       of its web-based collaborative supply chain optimization solutions.

       The new release focuses on streamlining and accelerating the

       collaborative supply chain between internal partners such as marketing,

       sales, finance, manufacturing, warehouse management and logistics as

       well as external trading partners such as customers, suppliers and

       carriers.  The Logility Voyager Solutions 7.0 suite helps companies

       take a performance-driven view of the supply chain to reduce costs,

       optimize inventory investments, increase sales and improve customer

       service through innovative demand management, optimized supply chain

       planning, streamlined warehouse and transportation management and real-

       time visibility of global orders, inventories and key performance

       indicators across the supply chain.



    *  Logility announced that its Logility Voyager Solutions are fast

       becoming the preferred choice for companies who are brand owners of

       softgoods products, including seasonally-influenced consumer items such

       as apparel, footwear, furnishings, accessories and textiles.  The

       company estimates that softgoods manufacturers and distributors are

       using Logility products to plan and optimize inventory representing

       more than $20 billion in annual revenue.



    *  Logility announced its repeat selection for three honors -- one of

       Georgia's 100 Top-Performing Companies (published by the Atlanta

       Journal-Constitution), one of MSI Magazine's Top 100 Software Vendors,

       and one of Inbound Logistics Magazine's Top 100 Logistics IT companies.



    *  The Company announced that New Generation Computing Inc. (NGC)

       introduced the 2003 version of e-SPS, Web-based strategic sourcing

       software that provides retailers, apparel manufacturers, brand managers

       and importers with end to-end visibility and the remote management of

       global production processes.  "Sourcing executives are cutting back

       their travel to Asia and other regions where their own production

       facilities or vendors are located," said Alan Brooks, president of NGC.

       "We developed e-SPS 2003 with this in mind and expect to build on the

       success we've already experienced in the retail and apparel

       manufacturing sectors.  The demand for e-SPS continues to rise as

       companies learn of the immediate ROI that major retailers and apparel

       manufacturers have enjoyed using our product."



    *  The Company announced the availability of Host-Access, a tool that

       extends American Software applications running on the IBM(R) zSeries(R)

       (S/390(R)) and IBM iSeries(TM) (AS/400(R)) platforms to web browsers,

       and enables customized graphical user interfaces.  American Software's

       Host-Access uses the IBM WebSphere(R) Host Access Transformation Server

       (HATS) software, a component of IBM's powerful WebSphere Host

       Integration Solution suite (HIS) and a member of the IBM WebSphere

       family of products.  American Software's Host-Access utilizes the HATS

       advanced rules-based transformation engine to apply American Software's

       enterprise application rules and screen customization, delivering HTML

       directly to the desktop requiring only a web browser.  American

       Software has extended this web browser solution with additional web

       features such as cascading menu driven navigation, popup calendars, and

       popup selection windows to aid data entry.  American Software's Host-

       Access provides a consistent web presentation to the company's strong

       supply chain management ERP solutions.  Host-Access helps maximize end

       user productivity while taking advantage of the proven, security- rich,

       enterprise-class performance of IBM's Host Integration Solution.



    About American Software, Inc.

    Headquartered in Atlanta, American Software develops, markets and supports

one of the industry's most comprehensive offerings of integrated business

applications, including enterprise-wide, supply chain management, Internet

commerce, financial, warehouse management and manufacturing packages.

e-Intelliprise(TM) is a total ERP/supply chain management suite, which

leverages Internet connectivity and includes multiple manufacturing

methodologies.  American Software owns 86% of Logility, Inc. (Nasdaq: LGTY), a

leading supplier of collaborative solutions to optimize the supply chain.

Logility is proud to serve such customers as ConAgra, Continental Tire North

America, Huhtamaki UK, McCormick & Company, Mill's Pride, Pernod-Ricard, Sigma

Aldrich, VF Corporation and xpedx.  New Generation Computing Inc. (NGC), a

wholly-owned subsidiary of American Software, is a global software company

that has 25 years of experience developing and marketing business applications

for apparel manufacturers, brand managers, retailers, importers and other

businesses in the sewn-products industry.  Headquartered in Miami, NGC has

sales offices worldwide and clients that include Dick's Sporting Goods,

Wilsons Leather, Kellwood, Hugo Boss, Russell Corp., Ralph Lauren

Childrenswear, Haggar Clothing Company, Maidenform, William Carter and VF

Corporation.



    Forward Looking Statements

    This press release contains forward-looking statements that are subject to

substantial risks and uncertainties.  There are a number of factors that could

cause actual results to differ materially from those anticipated by statements

made herein.  These factors include, but are not limited to, changes in

general economic conditions, technology and the market for the Company's

products and services including economic conditions within the e-commerce

markets; the timely availability and market acceptance of these products and

services; the effect of competitive products and pricing; the uncertainty of

the viability and effectiveness of strategic alliances; and the irregular

pattern of the Company's revenues.  For further information about risks the

Company could experience as well as other information, please refer to the

Company's Form 10-K for the year ended April 30, 2003 and other reports and

documents subsequently filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.  For

more information, contact:  Vincent C. Klinges, Chief Financial Officer,

American Software, Inc., (404) 264-5477 or fax:  (404) 237-8868.

    For more information on the Company, contact: American Software, 470 East

Paces Ferry Rd., Atlanta, GA 30305 (800) 726-2946.  (404) 261-4381.  FAX:

(404) 264-5206  INTERNET:  www.amsoftware.com or E-mail: ask@amsoftware.com





                            AMERICAN SOFTWARE, INC.

                            Statements of Operations

                     (In thousands, except per share data)

                                  (Unaudited)



                                                   First Quarter Ended

                                                        July 31,
                                             ------------------------------
                                                                      Pct

                                              2003        2002        Chg.
                                             -------     -------     ------

    Revenues:

      License                                 $2,640      $2,959      (11%)

      Services & other                         5,846       6,505      (10%)

      Maintenance                              4,604       5,094      (10%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
         Total Revenues                       13,090      14,558      (10%)
                                             -------     -------     ------


    Cost of Revenues:

      License                                  1,032       1,026        1%

      Services & other                         3,993       4,554      (12%)

      Maintenance                              1,245       1,399      (11%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
         Total Cost of Revenues                6,270       6,979      (10%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
    Gross Margin                               6,820       7,579      (10%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
    Operating expenses:

      Research and development                 2,000       2,249      (11%)

      Less: capitalized development             (833)       (809)       3%

      Sales and marketing                      2,976       3,001       (1%)

      General and administrative               2,169       2,232       (3%)

      Provision for doubtful accounts             88         128      (31%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
         Total operating expenses              6,400       6,801       (6%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
    Operating income                             420         778      (46%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
      Interest income                            293         349      (16%)

      Other, net                                 465        (158)      ---

      Minority interest                          (50)         19       ---
                                             -------     -------     ------
    Income from continuing operations

     before tax expense/(benefit)              1,128         988       14%

         Income tax expense/(benefit)            ---         ---       ---

    Income from continuing operations          1,128         988       14%
                                             -------     -------     ------
    Discontinued Operations:

      Gain on sale of discontinued

       segment                                   ---         462       ---
                                             -------     -------     ------
    Net Earnings                              $1,128      $1,450      (22%)
                                             -------     -------     ------
    Earnings per common share:

      Basic:

         Continuing operations                 $0.05       $0.04       25%

         Discontinued operations                $---        0.02       ---
                                             -------     -------     ------
                                               $0.05       $0.06      (17%)
                                             =======     =======     ======
      Diluted:

         Continuing operations                 $0.05       $0.04       25%

         Discontinued operations                $---        0.02       ---
                                             -------     -------     ------
                                               $0.05       $0.06      (17%)
                                             =======     =======     ======



    Weighted average common shares

     outstanding

         Basic                                22,346      22,625

         Diluted                              24,291      23,475







                          Balance Sheet Information

                                (in thousands)

                                 (Unaudited)

                                                           July 31,
                                                   -------------------------
                                                    2003              2002
                                                   -------           -------
    Cash and Short & Long term investments         $62,730           $57,460

    Accounts Receivable:

       Billed                                        6,630             7,404

       Unbilled                                      2,864             3,052
                                                   -------           -------
    Total Accounts Receivable, net                   9,494            10,456

    Prepaids & Other                                   600               809

    Other Assets                                    21,766            23,580
                                                   -------           -------
         Total Assets                              $94,590           $92,305
                                                   =======           =======



    Accounts Payable                                  $635              $436

    Other Current Liabilities                        4,523            10,006

    Deferred Revenues                               10,493            10,434

    Other Noncurrent Liabilities                       ---                38

    Minority Interest                                4,179             4,013

    Shareholders' Equity                            74,760            67,378
                                                   -------           -------
         Total Liabilities &

          Shareholders' Equity                     $94,590           $92,305
                                                   =======           =======



SOURCE  American Software, Inc.

    -0-                             08/20/2003

    /CONTACT:  Vincent C. Klinges, Chief Financial Officer of American

Software, Inc., +1-404-264-5477/

    /Company News On-Call:  http://www.prnewswire.com/comp/048263.html/

    /Web site:  http://www.amsoftware.com /

    (AMSWA LGTY)



CO:  American Software, Inc.; Logility, Inc.

ST:  Georgia

IN:  CPR STW ECM MLM

SU:  ERN