KRUPP REALTY LTD PARTNERSHIP IV (CIK 710389)
Form 10-Q
period 1997-09-30
filed 1997-11-13

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

                   CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS


                             ASSETS
                                        September 30,December 31,
                                            1997        1996

Multi-family apartment complexes,
  net of accumulated depreciation of
  $26,269,688 and $24,742,332, respectively$ 14,764,061$ 15,566,325
Cash and cash equivalents                       182,632     956,012
Replacement reserve and repair escrows (Note 2) 865,977      31,951
Prepaid expenses and other assets               705,972     809,579
Deferred expenses, net of accumulated
  amortization of $199,339 and $156,813,
  respectively (Notes 2 and 4)               222,429        241,845

     Total assets                       $ 16,741,071    $17,605,712


                LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' DEFICIT

Liabilities:
  Mortgage notes payable (Note 2)       $ 20,520,557 $20,192,138
  Accounts payable                            12,169      16,938
  Due to affiliates (Note 4)                  53,573      32,392
  Other liabilities                        1,033,544   1,206,076

     Total liabilities                    21,619,843  21,447,544

Partners' deficit (Note 3):
  Investor Limited Partners
     (30,000 Units outstanding)           (3,231,400) (2,246,313)
Original Limited Partner                  (1,340,034) (1,298,552)
General Partners                            (307,338)   (296,967)

     Total Partners' deficit              (4,878,772) (3,841,832)

     Total liabilities and Partners'
       deficit                          $ 16,741,071 $17,605,712









             The accompanying notes are an integral
         part of the consolidated financial statements.
      KRUPP REALTY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP-IV AND SUBSIDIARIES

              CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS


                        For the Three Months    For the Nine Months
                         Ended September 30,     Ended September 30,
                           1997        1996       1997      1996
Revenue:
  Rental                $1,935,670  $1,803,079 $5,726,699 5,414,210
  Other income                10,910    18,740     38,399    97,612

  Total revenue            1,946,580 1,821,819  5,765,098 5,511,822

Expenses:
  Operating (Note 4)         547,691   589,301  1,633,227 1,690,157
  Maintenance                161,956   202,736   531,447   519,763
  Real estate taxes          195,709   224,773   571,073   558,172
  General and adminis-
     trative (Note 4)         31,799    22,670   113,292    65,307
  Management fees (Note 4)    73,105    71,196   227,960   211,185
  Depreciation and
     amortization            545,199    534,432 1,569,882 1,570,146
  Interest                   333,062    323,022  973,345    972,356

     Total expenses        1,888,521  1,968,130 5,620,226 5,587,086

Income (loss) before minority
  interest                    58,059  (146,311)   144,872  (75,264)

Minority interest               (888)      165     (2,961)  (2,234)

Net income (loss)         $   57,171 $ (146,146)$  141,911$(77,498)

Allocation of net income (loss)
  (Note 3):

  Investor Limited Partners
     (30,000 Units
     outstanding)         $   54,313$ (138,839)$  134,816$ (73,623)

  Investor Limited
     Partners Per Unit    $     1.81$    (4.62)$     4.49$   (2.45)

  Original Limited Partner$    2,286$   (5,846)$    5,676$  (3,100)

  General Partners        $      572 $  (1,461)$    1,419$    (775)













             The accompanying notes are an integral
         part of the consolidated financial statements.
      KRUPP REALTY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP-IV AND SUBSIDIARIES

              CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                           __________

                                             For the Nine Months
                                            Ended September 30,
                                             1997          1996



Operating activities:
  Net income (loss)                      $   141,911   $ (77,498)
  Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to
     net cash provided by operating activities:
       Depreciation and amortization       1,569,882    1,570,146
       Changes in assets in liabilities:
          Decrease in prepaid expenses and
          other assets                       103,607     15,784
     Increase (decrease) in other
     liabilities                           (172,532)     70,897
  Decrease in accounts payable               (5,196)    (52,083)
Increase (decrease) in due to affiliates     21,181     (81,545)

Net cash provided by operating activities  1,658,853   1,445,701

Investing activities:
  Deposits to replacement reserve and repair
     escrows                              (947,146)     (47,146)
  Withdrawals from replacement reserve and repair
     escrows                               113,120       49,976
  Additions to fixed assets               (725,092)    (408,685)
  Increase in accounts payable for fixed asset
     additions                                 427        1,987

Net cash used in investing activities   (1,558,691)    (403,868)

Financing activities:
Principal payments on mortgage notes payable (571,581)  (557,846)
  Distributions                           (1,178,851)(2,491,882)
  Proceeds from note payable                 900,000          -
  Increase in deferred expenses              (23,110)         -

  Net cash used in financing
  activities                                (873,542) (3,049,728)

Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents  (773,380)  (2,007,895)

Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period956,012 (1,802,694)

Cash and cash equivalents, end of period   $  182,632  $  794,799


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

The consolidated financial statements present
consolidated assets, liabilities and
operations of Pavillion Partners, Ltd.,
Westbridge Partners, Ltd., and Krupp Realty
Limited Partnership-IV.  Westcop  Corporation
has a 1% interest in the operations of
Westbridge Partners, Ltd. and Pavillion
Partners, Ltd.  At September 30, 1997,
minority interest of $23,011 is included in
other assets.

In the opinion of the General Partners of the
Partnership, the accompanying unaudited
consolidated financial statements reflect all
adjustments necessary to present fairly the
Partnership's consolidated financial position
as of September 30, 1997, its results of
operations for the three and nine months ended
September 30, 1997 and 1996 and its cash flows
for the nine months ended September 30, 1997
and 1996.  Certain prior year balances have
been reclassified to conform with current year
consolidated financial statement presentation.

The results of operations for the three and
nine months ended September 30, 1997 are not
necessarily indicative of the results which
may be expected for the full year.  See
Management's Discussion and Analysis of
Financial Condition and Results of Operations
included in this report.

(2)Mortgage Notes Payable

On July 31, 1997, the General Partners secured
a $900,000 non-recourse note (the "Note") for
Walden Pond Apartments from the same lender
which holds the first mortgage note.  The Note
bears interest at a rate of 9.5% per annum
and, commencing September 1, 1997, requires
monthly, interest-only payments until the
maturity date.  The Note matures on February
28, 1999, in conjunction with the first
mortgage note, at which time all outstanding
principal and any accrued interest is due.
The Note may be prepaid in its entirety
without penalty, upon 90 days written notice,
and simultaneous payment of the first mortgage
note. Proceeds from the Note were deposited
into an escrow account and will be used to
fund capital improvements at the property.
The Partnership paid closing costs of $23,110
to secure the Note.






Continued


      KRUPP REALTY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP-IV AND SUBSIDIARIES
      NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS-Continued


(3)   Changes in Partners' Deficit

   A summary of changes in Partners' deficit for the nine months
   ended September 30, 1997 is as follows:

                        Investor     Original     Total
                        Limited      Limited   General   Partners'
                        Partners     Partner    Partners  Deficit

 Balance at
 December 31, 1996  $(2,246,313) $(1,298,552)$(296,967)$(3,841,832)

    Net income          134,816        5,676     1,419     141,911

    Distributions       (1,119,903)   (47,158)  (11,790)(1,178,851)

 Balance at
 September 30, 1997  $(3,231,400)$(1,340,034)$(307,338)$(4,878,772)

(4)Related Party Transactions

The Partnership has agreements under which
property management fees are paid to an
affiliate of the General Partners for services
as management agent.  Pursuant to the
management agreements, management fees are
payable monthly at a rate of 5% of the gross
receipts from the properties under management.
These management agreements were sold to BRI
OP Limited Partnership, a subsidiary of
Berkshire Realty Company Inc., a publicly
traded real estate investment trust and an
affiliate of the General Partners, on February
28, 1997.  The Partnership also reimburses
affiliates of the General Partners for certain
expenses incurred in connection with the
operation of the Partnership and its
properties including administrative expenses.


   Amounts accrued or paid to the General Partners' affiliates
   were as follows:

                       For the Three Months    For the Nine Months
                       Ended September 30,     Ended September 30,
                        1997        1996         1997      1996

      Property management
      fees           $ 73,105    $ 71,196      $227,960 $ 211,185

Expense reimbursements  68,177     64,030       198,691  189,732

Charged to operations $141,282   $135,226      $426,651$ 400,917

Due to affiliates consisted of expense reimbursements of $53,573
and $32,392 at September 30, 1997 and December 31, 1996,
respectively.



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

The Partnership has spent approximately
$725,000 to date, and expects to spend
approximately $1,484,000 for capital
improvements in 1997.  In order to fund the
improvements, the Partnership will use its
existing cash reserves, replacement reserve
and repair escrows, cash flow from operations
as well as any proceeds received from
refinancing.  These improvements consist of
interior and exterior enhancements which
include the replacement of appliances,
carpeting and vinyl flooring at various
properties as well as extensive painting of
the building exteriors at Walden Pond
Apartments ("Walden Pond").  The Partnership
believes that the improvements are necessary
to improve the quality of rental units and to
compete in the properties' current market.

On July 31, 1997, the General Partners secured
an additional $900,000 note for Walden Pond
which bears interest at a rate of 9.5% per
annum and matures on February 28, 1999.  The
proceeds from the note were placed in escrow
and will be used to fund capital improvements
at the property.  (See Note 2 for further
information.)

Operations


Net income increased for the three and nine
months ended September 30, 1997 as  compared
to the three and nine months ended September
30, 1996 due to increases in revenue during
the periods.

Total revenues increased for the three and
nine months ended September 30, 1997 as
compared to the three and nine months ended
September 30, 1996, as a result of rental rate
increases implemented at all the Partnership's
properties, as well as improved average
occupancy rates at Fenland Field, Walden Pond
and Pavillion Apartments.  At Fenland Field,
average occupancy increased from 97% for the
nine months ended September 30, 1996, to 100%
for the same period in 1997.  At Walden Pond,
average occupancy increased from 94% for the
nine months ended September 30, 1996, to 98%
for the same period in 1997.  Pavillion
Apartments's occupancy rates rose from an
average of 95% for the nine months ended
September 30, 1996, to an average of 96% for
the nine months ended September 30, 1997.
These increases are partially offset by a
decrease in other income due to lower cash
and cash equivalents generating interest income.



Continued

      KRUPP REALTY LIMITED PARTNERSHIP-IV AND SUBSIDIARIES


Operations - Continued

Total expenses decreased for the three month
period ended September 30, 1997 as  compared
to the three month period ended September 30,
1996, primarily due to  decreases in
operating, maintenance and real estate tax
expenses.  The decrease in operating expense
is primarily due to prior years' insurance
adjustments recorded in the third quarter of
1997.  Maintenance expense decreased as a
result of extensive parking lot repairs and
building exterior improvements completed
during the third quarter of 1996 at Indian Run
and Pavillion Apartments.  The decrease in
real estate tax expense is due to an
adjustment of 1996 real estate taxes in the
third quarter of 1996.

Total expenses increased for the nine month
period ended September 30, 1997 as compared to
same period ended September 30, 1996,
primarily due to general and administrative
and management fee expenses. General and
administrative expense increased as a result
of legal, mailing and printing costs related
to the Partnership's response to the
unsolicited tender offers to purchase
Partnership Units.  In addition, expenses
related to the preparation and mailing of
Partnership reports and other investor
communications increased.  Management fees
increased in conjunction with the higher
revenues, as discussed above.  These increases
were partially offset by a decrease in
operating expense due to prior years'
insurance adjustments recorded in the third
quarter of 1997.
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





DATE: November 12, 1997