Exhibit 99.1
For additional information, please contact US Airways Media Relations at 480-693-5729.

Contact:	Dan Cravens 480/693-5729
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
US AIRWAYS GROUP, INC. REPORTS JULY TRAFFIC
TEMPE, Ariz., Aug. 5, 2008 — US Airways Group, Inc. (NYSE: LCC) today reported July and year-to-date 2008 traffic results. Mainline revenue passenger miles (RPMs) for the month were 5.9 billion, down 0.8 percent from July 2007. Capacity was 6.9 billion available seat miles (ASMs), up 0.4 percent versus July 2007. Passenger load factor for the month of July was 85.1 percent, down 1.2 points versus July 2007.
US Airways President Scott Kirby said, “July consolidated (mainline and Express) passenger revenue per available seat mile (PRASM) increased between two and four percent versus the same period last year. Industry capacity discipline coupled with a la carte pricing is encouraging and we remain optimistic about the positive impact that these initiatives will have on revenue. In addition, we are pleased and grateful for the tremendous job our 35,000 employees have done in turning our operation around. As a result of their hard work, the airline has ranked in the top three among the ten largest US Airlines in on-time arrivals as measured by the Department of Transportations’ (DOT) Air Travel Consumer Report for six consecutive months.”
For the month of July US Airways’ preliminary on-time performance as measured by the DOT was 78.4 percent, with a completion factor of 98.3 percent.
The following summarizes US Airways Group’s traffic results for the month and year-to-date ended July 31, 2008 and 2007, consisting of mainline operated flights as well as US Airways Express flights operated by wholly owned subsidiaries PSA Airlines and Piedmont Airlines.

US Airways Mainline
July

	2008	2007	% Change

Mainline Revenue Passenger Miles (000)
Domestic	4,495,902	4,573,559	(1.7)
Atlantic	1,022,344	1,013,371	0.9
Latin	388,657	370,561	4.9

Total Mainline Revenue Passenger Miles	5,906,903	5,957,491	(0.8)

Mainline Available Seat Miles (000)
Domestic	5,275,821	5,264,162	0.2
Atlantic	1,206,423	1,196,796	0.8
Latin	454,931	445,672	2.1

Total Mainline Available Seat Miles	6,937,175	6,906,630	0.4

Mainline Load Factor (%)
Domestic	85.2	86.9	(1.7	) pts
Atlantic	84.7	84.7	—	pts
Latin	85.4	83.1	2.3	pts

Total Mainline Load Factor	85.1	86.3	(1.2	) pts

Mainline Enplanements
Domestic	4,478,022	4,804,052	(6.8)
Atlantic	256,821	260,221	(1.3)
Latin	321,889	307,729	4.6

Total Mainline Enplanements	5,056,732	5,372,002	(5.9)
YEAR TO DATE

	2008	2007	% Change

Mainline Revenue Passenger Miles (000)
Domestic	28,853,122	29,707,590	(2.9)
Atlantic	4,935,836	4,401,062	12.2
Latin	2,800,015	2,560,631	9.3

Total Mainline Revenue Passenger Miles	36,588,973	36,669,283	(0.2)

Mainline Available Seat Miles (000)
Domestic	34,950,859	36,032,183	(3.0)
Atlantic	6,346,549	5,669,333	11.9
Latin	3,361,264	3,284,239	2.3

Total Mainline Available Seat Miles	44,658,672	44,985,755	(0.7)

Mainline Load Factor (%)
Domestic	82.6	82.4	0.2	pts
Atlantic	77.8	77.6	0.2	pts
Latin	83.3	78.0	5.3	pts

Total Mainline Load Factor	81.9	81.5	0.4	pts

Mainline Enplanements
Domestic	29,476,709	31,531,142	(6.5)
Atlantic	1,259,459	1,126,511	11.8
Latin	2,266,829	2,069,615	9.5

Total Mainline Enplanements	33,002,997	34,727,268	(5.0)
Notes:

1)	Canada, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands are included in the domestic results.

2)	Latin numbers include the Caribbean.

US Airways Express (Piedmont Airlines, PSA Airlines)
July

	2008	2007	% Change

Express Revenue Passenger Miles (000)
Domestic	207,177	191,633	8.1

Express Available Seat Miles (000)
Domestic	291,911	265,236	10.1

Express Load Factor (%)
Domestic	71.0	72.2	(1.2	) pts

Express Enplanements
Domestic	735,433	705,337	4.3
YEAR TO DATE

	2008	2007	% Change

Express Revenue Passenger Miles (000)
Domestic	1,291,768	1,402,712	(7.9)

Express Available Seat Miles (000)
Domestic	1,912,681	1,981,589	(3.5)

Express Load Factor (%)
Domestic	67.5	70.8	(3.3	) pts

Express Enplanements
Domestic	4,606,323	4,932,646	(6.6)
Notes:

1)	Canada is included in domestic results.

Consolidated US Airways Group, Inc.
July

	2008	2007	% Change

Consolidated Revenue Passenger Miles (000)
Domestic	4,703,079	4,765,192	(1.3)
Atlantic	1,022,344	1,013,371	0.9
Latin	388,657	370,561	4.9

Total Consolidated Revenue Passenger Miles	6,114,080	6,149,124	(0.6)

Consolidated Available Seat Miles (000)
Domestic	5,567,732	5,529,398	0.7
Atlantic	1,206,423	1,196,796	0.8
Latin	454,931	445,672	2.1

Total Consolidated Available Seat Miles	7,229,086	7,171,866	0.8

Consolidated Load Factor (%)
Domestic	84.5	86.2	(1.7	) pts
Atlantic	84.7	84.7	—	pts
Latin	85.4	83.1	2.3	pts

Total Consolidated Load Factor	84.6	85.7	(1.1	) pts

Consolidated Enplanements
Domestic	5,213,455	5,509,389	(5.4)
Atlantic	256,821	260,221	(1.3)
Latin	321,889	307,729	4.6

Total Consolidated Enplanements	5,792,165	6,077,339	(4.7)
YEAR TO DATE

	2008	2007	% Change

Consolidated Revenue Passenger Miles (000)
Domestic	30,144,890	31,110,302	(3.1)
Atlantic	4,935,836	4,401,062	12.2
Latin	2,800,015	2,560,631	9.3

Total Consolidated Revenue Passenger Miles	37,880,741	38,071,995	(0.5)

Consolidated Available Seat Miles (000)
Domestic	36,863,540	38,013,772	(3.0)
Atlantic	6,346,549	5,669,333	11.9
Latin	3,361,264	3,284,239	2.3

Total Consolidated Available Seat Miles	46,571,353	46,967,344	(0.8)

Consolidated Load Factor (%)
Domestic	81.8	81.8	—	pts
Atlantic	77.8	77.6	0.2	pts
Latin	83.3	78.0	5.3	pts

Total Consolidated Load Factor	81.3	81.1	0.2	pts

Consolidated Enplanements
Domestic	34,083,032	36,463,788	(6.5)
Atlantic	1,259,459	1,126,511	11.8
Latin	2,266,829	2,069,615	9.5

Total Consolidated Enplanements	37,609,320	39,659,914	(5.2)
Notes:

1)	Canada, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands are included in the domestic results.

2)	Latin numbers include the Caribbean.

Other Notable Accomplishments
US Airways is also providing a brief update on notable company accomplishments during the month of July:
•	The airline announced additional capacity cuts of one to two percent for 4Q08 and FY09. The Company now expects capacity to be down four to six percent for both 4Q08 and FY09.

•
The Company’s a la carte pricing strategy is working well. Based on early results, the Company now anticipates it will generate $400 to $500 million annually from these initiatives, up $100 million from previous estimates.

•	Began new non-stop service to Montreal from the airline’s Charlotte hub.

•	Took delivery of the first of five new Airbus A321 aircraft set to be delivered this year.
US Airways is the fifth largest domestic airline employing more than 35,000 aviation professionals worldwide. US Airways, US Airways Shuttle and US Airways Express operate approximately 3,500 flights per day and serve more than 230 communities in the U.S., Canada, Europe, the Caribbean and Latin America. US Airways is a member of the Star Alliance network, which offers our customers 18,000 daily flights to 965 destinations in 162 countries worldwide. This press release and additional information on US Airways can be found at www.usairways.com. (LCCT)

Forward Looking Statements
Certain of the statements contained herein should be considered “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward looking statements may be identified by words such as “may,” “will,” “expect,” “intend,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “plan,” “could,” “should,” and “continue” and similar terms used in connection with statements regarding the outlook, expected fuel costs, revenue and pricing environment, and expected financial performance of US Airways Group (the “Company”). Such statements include, but are not limited to, statements about the benefits of the business combination transaction involving America West Holdings Corporation and US Airways Group, including future financial and operating results, the Company’s plans, objectives, expectations and intentions, and other statements that are not historical facts. These statements are based upon the current beliefs and expectations of the Company’s management and are subject to significant risks and uncertainties that could cause the Company’s actual results and financial position to differ materially from these statements. Such risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, the following: the impact of high fuel costs, significant disruptions in fuel supply and further significant increases to fuel prices; the impact of future significant operating losses; the Company’s high level of fixed obligations (including compliance with financial covenants related to those obligations) and the ability of the Company to obtain and maintain any necessary financing for operations and other purposes; the impact of changes in the Company’s business model; the ability of the Company to maintain adequate liquidity; changes in prevailing interest rates and increased costs of financing; the impact of economic conditions; the ability of the Company to obtain and maintain commercially reasonable terms with vendors and service providers and reliance on those vendors and service providers; reliance on third party service providers and the impact of any failure or disruption by these providers; labor costs, relations with unionized employees generally and the impact and outcome of the labor negotiations; reliance on automated systems and the impact of any failure or disruption of these systems; the impact of industry consolidation; competitive practices in the industry, including significant fare restructuring activities, capacity reductions or other restructuring or consolidation activities by major airlines; the ability to attract and retain qualified personnel; the impact of global instability including the potential impact of current and future hostilities, terrorist attacks, infectious disease outbreaks or other global events; security-related and insurance costs; government legislation and regulation, including environmental regulation; the Company’s ability to obtain and maintain adequate facilities and infrastructure to operate and grow the Company’s network; costs of ongoing data security compliance requirements and the impact of any data security breach; interruptions or disruptions in service at one or more of the Company’s hub airports; the impact of any accident involving the Company’s aircraft; delays in scheduled aircraft deliveries or other loss of anticipated fleet capacity; weather conditions; the cyclical nature of the airline industry; the impact of foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations; the ability to use pre-merger NOLs and certain other tax attributes; ability to integrate management, operations and labor groups; the ability to maintain contracts critical to the Company’s operations; the ability of the Company to attract and retain customers; and other risks and uncertainties listed from time to time in the Company’s reports to the SEC. There may be other factors not identified above of which the Company is not currently aware that may affect matters discussed in the forward-looking statements, and may also cause actual results to differ materially from those discussed. The Company assumes no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statement to reflect actual results, changes in assumptions or changes in other factors affecting such estimates other than as required by law. Additional factors that may affect the future results of the Company are set forth in the section entitled “Risk Factors” in the Company’s Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2008 and in the Company’s filings with the SEC, which are available at www.usairways.com
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