Exhibit 99


          AMERICAN MEDICAL ALERT ANNOUNCES AWARD OF NEW YORK CITY HUMAN
                        RESOURCE ADMINISTRATION CONTRACT

American Medical Alert Corp. Oceanside, New York, August 15, 2001  - Howard M

Siegel, CEO/ President, announced today that the Human Resource Administration

has authorized a contract extending AMAC's existing contractual relationship

with the City of New York, Home Care Services Program. This program provides

personal emergency response systems to approximately 10,000 New York City home

care recipients. The contract is now in the process of going through final

review for execution.



The contract extension, which commences on January 1, 2001 through June 30,

2002, provides terms and conditions consistent with the Company's previous

contract.



AMAC is a leading provider of medical response and 24-hour on-call-monitoring

services to assist the health care community in providing at-risk patients with

instant access to assistance from trained professionals. The company is

vertically integrated with involvement in all phases of service delivery

including product design and development, manufacturing and testing, field

service and 24-hour monitoring. Through a diversified marketing and referral

network, AMAC markets its products to over 500 hospitals, home care providers,

physicians, ambulance companies, medical equipment suppliers, state social

services agencies, health maintenance organizations, as well as directly to

consumers.



This press release contains forward-looking statements that involve a number of

risks and uncertainties. Important factors that could cause actual results to

differ materially from those indicated by such forward looking statements are

set forth in the Company's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission

(SEC), including the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-KSB, the Company's

Quarterly Reports on Forms 10-QSB, and other filings and releases. These include

uncertainties relating to competition, technological development, and

trademarks.


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 Contact:
 American Medical Alert Corp.
 Randi Baldwin, Director of Marketing
 Tel: 516.536.5850
 Email: randi.baldwin@amacalert.com
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 Web Site - http://www.amacalert.com
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