Exhibit 99

NEWS RELEASE

CONTACT:
Randi Sonenshein
Senior Vice President, Finance and Strategy
713-331-4967
(rsonenshein@stage.com)

Stage Stores Announces Plan to Streamline Supply Chain

HOUSTON, TX, September 27, 2017 - Stage Stores, Inc. (NYSE: SSI) announced that, as part of a plan to increase the efficiency of its distribution network, the Company will close its distribution center located in South Hill, Virginia by the end of fiscal 2017. The Company operates three other distribution centers in Texas, Ohio and Nebraska. Operations from the Virginia distribution center will be transferred to these facilities.

Michael Glazer, President and Chief Executive Officer, stated, “We have made the strategic decision to consolidate operations across our distribution network, resulting in the closure of our facility in South Hill, Virginia. Our other distribution centers have ample capacity to service all of our department store and off-price locations as well as providing our e-commerce fulfillment, enabling us to streamline our distribution network and enhance efficiency. The South Hill distribution center associates have always risen to meet the needs of our stores and guests, and we are very proud of their contribution. We thank them for their dedication to Stage Stores.”

The Company will offer the affected employees separation benefits, including severance, outplacement service and career counseling.

About Stage Stores
Stage Stores, Inc. is a leading retailer of trend-right, name-brand values for apparel, accessories, cosmetics, footwear and home goods.  As of September 27, 2017, the Company operates in 42 states through 792 BEALLS, GOODY'S, PALAIS ROYAL, PEEBLES and STAGE specialty department stores and 58 GORDMANS off-price stores, as well as an e-commerce website at www.stage.com.  For more information about Stage Stores, visit the Company’s website at corporate.stage.com.

Caution Concerning Forward-Looking Statements
Certain statements in this release are forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, and such statements are intended to qualify for the protection of the safe harbor provided by the Act. The words “anticipate,” “estimate,” “expect,” “objective,” “goal,” “project,” “intend,” “plan,” “believe,” “will,” “should,” “may,” “target,” “forecast,” “guidance,” “outlook” and similar expressions generally identify forward-looking statements. Similarly, descriptions of the Company’s objectives, strategies, plans, goals or targets are also forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements relate to the expectations of management as to future occurrences and trends, including statements expressing optimism or pessimism about future operating results or events and projected sales, earnings, capital

expenditures and business strategy. Forward-looking statements are based upon a number of assumptions concerning future conditions that may ultimately prove to be inaccurate. Forward-looking statements are based upon management’s then-current views and assumptions regarding future events and operating performance. Although management believes the expectations expressed in forward-looking statements are based on reasonable assumptions within the bounds of its knowledge, forward-looking statements involve risks, uncertainties and other factors which may materially affect the Company’s business, financial condition, results of operations or liquidity.

Forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and actual results may differ materially from those discussed in the forward-looking statements as a result of various factors, including, but not limited to, economic conditions, cost and availability of goods, inability to successfully execute strategic initiatives, competitive pressures, economic pressures on the Company and its customers, freight costs, the risks discussed in the Risk Factors section of the Company’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”), and other factors discussed from time to time in the Company’s other SEC filings. This release should be read in conjunction with such filings, and you should consider all of such risks, uncertainties and other factors carefully in evaluating forward-looking statements.

You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date thereof. The Company undertakes no obligation to publicly update forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. You are advised, however, to consult any further disclosures the Company makes on related subjects in its public announcements and SEC filings.