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                                                     Exhibit 99.1

               ALLEGHENY ENERGY TAKES LEGAL ACTION
                   TO ENFORCE MERGER AGREEMENT


      Hagerstown, Md., October 5, 1998 -- Allegheny Energy,  Inc.
(NYSE:  AYE) today took legal action in federal court  to  compel
DQE, Inc. (NYSE: DQE) to honor its obligation to proceed with the
companies' proposed merger.

       Michael P. Morrell, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Allegheny Energy, said, "DQE's purported basis for attempting to terminate our merger agreement is meritless. Its action represents nothing more than a
disagreement  over  an  overall business  strategy  for  the  new
company  --  which  is not a legitimate reason to  terminate  the
merger.

     "While we are profoundly disappointed by DQE's failure to honor its contractual obligations, our position remains clear and consistent: The merger is good for both companies' employees, shareholders, and the communities we serve. It is a unique opportunity, and its value and benefits cannot be replicated. We will continue to pursue the merger's completion through all available options.

      "In the meantime," added Morrell, "Allegheny Energy will move forward as a robust, strong company, constantly seeking new opportunities to strengthen our business. We will continue our record of outstanding performance while building our reputation and brand, particularly in Pennsylvania as the Commonwealth implements customer choice for electricity."

      Allegheny Energy today filed both a request for a temporary restraining order and a formal complaint against DQE in the Unites States District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania. A brief summary of the complaint can be found on the fact sheet provided with this news release.

      Headquartered near Hagerstown, Md., Allegheny Energy, an investor-owned electric utility with operating subsidiaries doing business as Allegheny Power, provides electric service to approximately 1.4 million customers in parts of five states. Under the merger agreement signed in April 1997, the new Allegheny Energy would become the tenth largest investor-owned utility in the nation based on total electric sales and serve a population of more than 4.5 million, with 2 million customers in a 30,000-square-mile service area in Pennsylvania, Maryland, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia.

                               ##
For  a  copy of the legal actions filed today, please access  our
web site at www.alleghenypower.com.


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       SYNOPSIS OF LAWSUIT FILED BY ALLEGHENY ENERGY, INC.
    IN UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT
               OF PENNSYLVANIA ON OCTOBER 5, 1998



ACTIONS REQUESTED BY ALLEGHENY ENERGY

-     The  suit requests the Court to grant specific performance,
  requiring DQE to abide by the terms of the merger agreement and
  to  resume full cooperation in seeking the remaining regulatory
  approvals for the merger.

-     The suit requests preliminary and permanent injunctions  to
  prevent DQE from taking any action which would impair the Court's ability to require specific performance.

-     If  specific performance is not awarded, the suit  requests
  damages (expected to amount to hundreds of millions of dollars)
  in an amount to be determined at trial; attorneys' fees and costs of suit; and possible other relief.


BREACH OF THE MERGER AGREEMENT

- DQE seeks to renege on its obligations under the merger agreement because a disagreement has developed between the two
  companies   on  future  strategy.   Instead  of  leaving   this
  disagreement to the board of directors of the combined company to resolve, DQE seeks to withdraw from the agreement.

-     After July 28, in direct violation of the merger agreement,
  DQE   urged  the  Federal  Energy  Regulatory  Commission,  the
  Department of Justice, and the Securities and Exchange Commission to suspend review of the merger and later rejected the conditions to merger approval set by the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission and Federal Energy Regulation Commission even though conditions are reasonable.

-      No  event  has  occurred  that  gives  DQE  the  right  to
  unilaterally terminate the merger agreement.


DISAGREEMENT OVER STRATEGY

-     DQE's  dispute with Allegheny actually reflects a differing
  business  view about the wisdom of remaining in the  generation
  business.


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-     DQE  not  only  contracted away its right to  control  that
  strategic question when it entered into the merger agreement, but it endorsed staying in the generation business as a reason to
  merge.

-     DQE's  position  is  based  on a  false  premise:  sale  of
  generation capacity does not eliminate or necessarily even reduce the adverse consequences of the restructuring order. It merely
  changes the nature of the business risks.

- Allegheny's board has concluded that, in its business judgment, generation has been and will, at least for now, continue to be a basic part of the business. Its decision not to sell its generation at present preserves the company and its businesses and supports one of the core rationales for merging with DQE in the first place.

- Allegheny has historically excelled in efficiently operating generation assets, and there is every reason to believe its low-cost plants will be attractive in a competitive environment. By maintaining its generation assets, Allegheny is best positioned to leverage such assets into future earnings as well as to participate in the ongoing consolidation in the electric power market, either as an acquirer of other utilities and utility assets or as an acquisition candidate.