MONMOUTH REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT CORPORATION
Juniper Business Plaza
3499 Route 9 North, Suite 3-C
Freehold, NJ 07728

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 8, 2012

Contact: Susan Jordan

   732-577-9996

MONMOUTH REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT CORPORATION

REPORTS 1st QUARTER FINANCIAL RESULTS

FREEHOLD, NJ, February 8, 2012........Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation (the Company) (NYSE:MNR) reported funds from operations (FFO) of $7,450,000 or $0.20 per share for the three months ended December 31, 2011, as compared to $6,596,000 or $0.19 per share for the three months ended December 31, 2010.

A summary of significant financial information for the three months ended December 31, 2011 and 2010 is as follows:

      Three Months Ended

             December 31,

	2011	2010
Rental and Reimbursement Revenue	$12,795,000	$12,037,000
Total Expenses	$7,312,000	$6,983,000
Interest and Dividend Income	$949,000	$727,000
Gain on Securities Transactions, net	$2,788,000	$2,808,000
Income from Continuing Operations	$5,367,000	$4,753,000
Income from Discontinued Operations	$20,000	$61,000
Net Income Applicable to Common Shareholders	$4,346,000	$3,766,000
Net Income Applicable to Common Shareholders Per Share	$.12	$.11
FFO (1)	$7,450,000	$6,596,000
FFO Per Common Share (1)	$.20	$.19
Weighted Avg. Common Shares Outstanding	37,472,000	34,095,000

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First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

A summary of significant balance sheet information as of December 31, 2011 and September 30, 2011 is as follows:

	December 31, 2011	September 30, 2011
Total Real Estate Investments	$441,211,000	$409,024,000
Securities Available for Sale	$44,950,000	$44,265,000
Total Assets	$511,507,000	$476,987,000
Mortgage Notes Payable	$222,385,000	$211,614,000
Subordinated Convertible Debentures	$8,790,000	$8,915,000
Loans Payable	$19,456,000	$16,861,000
Total Shareholders’ Equity	$255,565,000	$234,543,000

Eugene W. Landy, President, commented on the results of the first quarter of fiscal year 2012, “The first quarter represented a strong start to the new year. We acquired four new properties comprised of 540,000 square feet for a total of $35.7 million. We gained inclusion in the MSCI US REIT Index and opportunistically raised $16.8 million in new capital. We realized $2.8 million in gains on our REIT securities investments and we have now secured lease renewals on 974,000 of the 1.3 million square feet in leases originally set to expire this year. Additional lease renewals are currently under discussion. The Company remains very focused on continuing to deliver positive results and we look forward to building upon the substantial growth that was achieved in the first quarter of 2012.”

Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation will host its First Quarter 2012 Financial Results Webcast and Conference Call.  Senior management will discuss the results, current market conditions and future outlook on Thursday, February 9, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time.

The Company’s first quarter financial results being released herein will be available on the Company’s website at www.mreic.com in the “Financial Information and Filings” section.

To participate in the Webcast, select the microphone icon at the top of the homepage on the Company’s website at www.mreic.com.  Interested parties can also participate via conference call by calling toll free 877-317-6789 (domestically) or 412-317-6789 (internationally).

The replay of the conference call will be available at 12:00 p.m. Eastern Time on Thursday February 9, 2012.  It will be available until March 10, 2012, and can be accessed by dialing toll free 877-344-7529 (domestically) and 412-317-0088 (internationally) and entering the passcode 10008445.  A transcript of the call and the webcast replay will be available at the Company’s website, www.mreic.com.

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First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation is a publicly-owned real estate investment trust specializing in net-leased industrial properties subject to long-term leases primarily to investment grade tenants.  The Company's property portfolio consists of sixty-eight industrial properties and one shopping center located in twenty-five states.  In addition, the Company owns a portfolio of REIT securities.

Certain statements included in this press release which are not historical facts may be deemed forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Any such forward-looking statements are based on the Company’s current expectations and involve various risks and uncertainties.  Although the Company believes the expectations reflected in any forward-looking statements are based on reasonable assumptions, the Company can provide no assurance those expectations will be achieved. The risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results or events to differ materially from expectations are contained in the Company’s annual report on Form 10-K and described from time to time in the Company’s other filings with the SEC. The Company undertakes no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise.

Notes:

(1)  Non-GAAP Information:  FFO is defined by the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts ("NAREIT") as net income applicable to common shareholders, excluding gains or losses from sales of depreciable assets, plus real estate-related depreciation and amortization.   FFO per common share is defined as FFO divided by weighted average common shares outstanding.  FFO and FFO per common share should be considered as supplemental measures of operating performance used by real estate investment trusts (REITs).  FFO and FFO per common share exclude historical cost depreciation as an expense and may facilitate the comparison of REITs which have different cost basis.  The items excluded from FFO and FFO per common share are significant components in understanding the Company’s financial performance.

FFO and FFO per common share (A) do not represent cash flow from operations as defined by generally accepted accounting principles; (B) should not be considered as an alternative to net income as a measure of operating performance or to cash flows from operating, investing and financing activities; and (C) are not alternatives to cash flow as a measure of liquidity.  FFO and FFO per common share, as calculated by the Company, may not be comparable to similarly entitled measures reported by other REITs.

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First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

The Company’s FFO for the three months ended December 31, 2011 and 2010 are calculated as follows:

                                             Three Months Ended

	12/31/11	12/31/10

Net Income	$5,387,000	$4,815,000
Income to Noncontrolling Interest	(21,000)	(28,000)
Preferred Dividend	(1,020,000)	(1,020,000)
Depreciation Expense	2,786,000	2,535,000
Amortization of In-Place Lease Intangible Assets	318,000	294,000
FFO	$7,450,000	$6,596,000

The following are the cash flows provided (used) by operating, investing and financing activities for the quarters ended December 31, 2011 and 2010:

	2011	2010

Operating Activities	$5,762,000	$4,218,000
Investing Activities	(32,379,000)	(13,695,000)
Financing Activities	28,958,000	10,500,000

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First Quarter FY 2012 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.