FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 1, 2014

Contact:   Susan M. Jordan

     732-577-9996

MONMOUTH REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT CORPORATION

DECLARES COMMON AND PREFERRED DIVIDENDS

FREEHOLD, NJ, July 1, 2014…..On July 1, 2014, the Board of Directors of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation (NYSE:MNR) declared its quarterly cash dividend on the Company’s Common Stock of $0.15 per share payable September 15, 2014, to shareholders of record at the close of business on August 15, 2014.  The Company’s annual dividend rate on its Common Stock is $0.60 per share.

On July 1, 2014, the Board of Directors declared a dividend for the period commencing June 1, 2014 through August 31, 2014, of $0.4765625 per share on the Company’s 7.625% Series A Cumulative Redeemable Preferred Stock payable September 15, 2014, to shareholders of record at the close of business on August 15, 2014.  Series A preferred share dividends are cumulative and payable quarterly at an annual rate of $1.90625 per share.

Also on July 1, 2014, the Board of Directors declared a dividend for the period June 1, 2014 through August 31, 2014, of $0.4921875 per share on the Company’s 7.875% Series B Cumulative Redeemable Preferred Stock payable September 15, 2014, to shareholders of record at the close of business on August 15, 2014.  Series B preferred share dividends are cumulative and payable quarterly at an annual rate of $1.96875.

Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation, founded in 1968 and one of the oldest public equity REITs in the U.S., specializes in net-leased industrial properties subject to long-term leases primarily to investment grade tenants. The Company is a fully integrated and self-managed real estate company, whose property portfolio consists of eighty-one properties located in twenty-seven states, containing a total of approximately 10.7 million rentable square feet.  In addition, the Company owns a portfolio of REIT securities.

#####