Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 9, 2010

Contact: Susan Jordan

   732-577-9996

MONMOUTH REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT CORPORATION

REPORTS 4th QUARTER AND YEAR END FINANCIAL RESULTS

FREEHOLD, NJ, December 9, 2010........Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation (the Company) (NYSE:MNR) reported funds from operations (FFO) of $5,381,000 or $0.16 per share for the three months ended September 30, 2010, as compared to $3,951,000 or $0.16 per share for the three months ended September 30, 2009.  FFO totaled $19,109,000 or $0.63 per share for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2010, as compared to $9,152,000 or $0.37 per share for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2009.

A summary of significant financial information for the three months ended September 30, 2010 and 2009 is as follows:

          Three Months Ended

                    September 30,

	2010	2009
Rental and Reimbursement Revenue	$11,750,000	$10,241,000
Total Expenses	$6,175,000	$5,361,000
Interest and Dividend Income	$692,000	$650,000
Gain on Securities Transactions, net	$826,000	$88,000
Net Income Applicable to Common Shareholders	$2,407,000	$1,524,000
Net Income Applicable to Common Shareholders Per Share	$.07	$.06
FFO (1)	$5,381,000	$3,951,000
FFO Per Common Share (1)	$.16	$.16
Weighted Avg. Common Shares Outstanding	33,666,000	25,450,000

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Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

A summary of significant financial information for the fiscal years ended September 30, 2010 and 2009 is as follows:

Fiscal Year Ended

  September 30,

	2010	2009
Rental and Reimbursement Revenue	$45,213,000	$41,318,000
Total Expenses	$24,157,000	$21,338,000
Interest and Dividend Income	$2,511,000	$2,502,000
Gain (Loss) on Securities Transactions, net	$2,609,000	$(6,601,000)
Income from Continuing Operations	$11,353,000	$1,983,000
Loss from Discontinued Operations	$(138,000)	$(177,000)
Net Income (Loss) Applicable to Common Shareholders	$8,486,000	$(868,000)
Net Income (Loss) Applicable to Common Shareholders Per Share	$.28	$(.03)
FFO (1)	$19,109,000	$9,152,000
FFO Per Common Share (1)	$.63	$.37
Weighted Avg. Common Shares Outstanding	30,382,000	24,988,000

A summary of significant balance sheet information as of September 30, 2010 and 2009 is as follows:

	September 30, 2010	September 30, 2009
Total Real Estate Investments	$389,588,000	$345,881,000
Securities Available for Sale	$42,518,000	$27,825,000
Total Assets	$454,119,000	$394,994,000
Mortgage Notes Payable	$210,578,000	$192,050,000
Subordinated Convertible Debentures	$13,990,000	$13,990,000
Loans Payable	$9,274,000	$19,064,000
Total Shareholders’ Equity	$215,512,000	$164,891,000

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Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

 Eugene W. Landy, President, commented on the results of fiscal year 2010, “We made significant progress in fiscal 2010 which has resulted in an excellent year for the Company. Management is very pleased with our many accomplishments over the year. To highlight a few, the Company:

·

Raised a total of $51.2 million in new equity capital.

·

Acquired 840,000 square feet of high quality industrial space, representing a 14% increase in our gross leasable area.

·

Renewed 100% of our leases expiring in fiscal 2010.

·

Maintained our 96% occupancy rate.

·

Increased our total market capitalization by 25% from approximately $440 million to over $550 million.

·

Maintained our $0.60 per share cash dividend.

·

Listed our common and preferred stock on the New York Stock Exchange.”

Mr. Landy stated, “Our business model of investing in net-leased industrial properties on long-term leases to investment grade tenants delivered solid performance despite weaknesses in the broader economy.”

“The Company has significant liquidity at September 30, 2010 with $42 million in REIT securities, $6 million in cash and a strong balance sheet. We are very well positioned to build upon the positive results that were achieved in fiscal 2010”, Mr. Landy concluded.

Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation will host its Fourth Quarter and Fiscal Year-End 2010 Financial Results Webcast and Conference Call.  Senior management will discuss the results, current market conditions and future outlook on Friday, December 10, 2010 at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time.

The Company’s fourth quarter and fiscal year-end financial results being released herein will be available on the Company’s website at www.mreic.com in the “Financial Filings” section.

To participate in the Webcast, select the microphone icon at the top of the homepage on the Company’s website at www.mreic.com.  Interested parties can also participate via conference call by calling toll free 877-317-6789 (domestically) or 412-317-6789 (internationally).

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Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

The replay of the conference call will be available at 12:00 p.m. Eastern Time on Friday, December 10, 2010.  It will be available until January 31, 2011, and can be accessed by dialing toll free 877-344-7529 (domestically) and 412-317-0088 (internationally) and entering the passcode 445596.  A transcript of the call and the webcast replay will be available at the Company’s website, www.mreic.com.

Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corporation is a publicly-owned real estate investment trust specializing in net-leased industrial property.  The Company’s portfolio consists of sixty-four industrial properties and one shopping center located in twenty-five states.  In addition, the Company owns a portfolio of REIT securities.

Certain statements included in this press release which are not historical facts may be deemed forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Any such forward-looking statements are based on the Company’s current expectations and involve various risks and uncertainties.  Although the Company believes the expectations reflected in any forward-looking statements are based on reasonable assumptions, the Company can provide no assurance those expectations will be achieved. The risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results or events to differ materially from expectations are contained in the Company’s annual report on Form 10-K and described from time to time in the Company’s other filings with the SEC. The Company undertakes no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise.

Notes:

(1)  Non-GAAP Information:  FFO is defined by the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts ("NAREIT") as net income applicable to common shareholders, excluding gains or losses from sales of depreciable assets, plus real estate-related depreciation and amortization.   FFO per common share is defined as FFO divided by weighted average common shares outstanding.  FFO and FFO per common share should be considered as supplemental measures of operating performance used by real estate investment trusts (REITs).  FFO and FFO per common share exclude historical cost depreciation as an expense and may facilitate the comparison of REITs which have different cost basis.  The items excluded from FFO and FFO per common share are significant components in understanding the Company’s financial performance.

FFO and FFO per common share (A) do not represent cash flow from operations as defined by generally accepted accounting principles; (B) should not be considered as an alternative to net income as a measure of operating performance or to cash flows from operating, investing and financing activities; and (C) are not alternatives to cash flow as a measure of liquidity.  FFO and FFO per common share, as calculated by the Company, may not be comparable to similarly entitled measures reported by other REITs.

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Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.

The Company’s FFO, FFO per common share for the quarter and years ended September 30, 2010 and 2009 are calculated as follows:

                                             Three Months Ended

                    Year Ended

	9/30/10	9/30/09	9/30/10	9/30/09

Net Income	$3,093,000	$2,215,000	$11,215,000	$1,807,000
Income to Noncontrolling Interest	(56,000)	(61,000)	(208,000)	(154,000)
Preferred Dividend	(630,000)	(630,000)	(2,521,000)	(2,521,000)
Depreciation Expense	2,441,000	2,243,000	9,283,000	8,554,000
Depreciation Expense Related to Discontinued Operations	89,000	(40,000)	124,000	23,000
Amortization of In-Place Lease Intangible Assets	444,000	224,000	1,216,000	1,443,000
FFO	$5,381,000	$3,951,000	$19,109,000	$9,152,000

The following are the cash flows provided (used) by operating, investing and financing activities for the years ended September 30, 2010 and 2009:

	2010	2009

Operating Activities	18,996,000	19,591,000
Investing Activities	(55,702,000)	(11,656,000)
Financing Activities	37,440,000	7,203,000

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Fourth Quarter FY 2010 Supplemental of Monmouth Real Estate Investment Corp.