UNITED CAPITAL CORP /DE/ (CIK 65358)
Form 10-Q
period 2005-03-31
filed 2005-05-13

                                  UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

                Quarterly Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)
                     of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
                  For the quarterly period ended MARCH 31, 2005

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

The registrant had 9,160,142 shares of common stock, $.10 par value, outstanding
as of May 12, 2005

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                                      INDEX
                                                                            PAGE
                                                                            ----
                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.     FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

            Consolidated Balance Sheets as
            of March 31, 2005 (Unaudited) and December 31, 2004................3

            Consolidated Statements of Income for the
            Three Months Ended March 31, 2005 and 2004 (Unaudited).............4

            Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the
            Three Months Ended March 31, 2005 and 2004 (Unaudited)...........5-6

            Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements (Unaudited)..........7-15

ITEM 2.     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
            FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS..................15-20

ITEM 3.     QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURE OF
            MARKET RISK.......................................................20

ITEM 4.     CONTROLS AND PROCEDURES...........................................20

                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 6.     EXHIBITS..........................................................21

SIGNATURES  ..................................................................21

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                 (In thousands)

                                                                             March 31,             December 31,
                                                                                2005                  2004
                                                                          ---------------       ---------------
                                                                            (Unaudited)
ASSETS

Current assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents                                                $  86,409             $  84,783
   Marketable securities                                                       52,719                54,456
   Notes and accounts receivable, net                                           7,393                 7,350
   Inventories                                                                  4,537                 4,132
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets                                    1,026                   892
   Deferred income taxes                                                        1,314                   354
                                                                            ---------             ---------

      TOTAL CURRENT ASSETS                                                    153,398               151,967
                                                                            ---------             ---------

Property, plant and equipment, net                                              3,235                 2,337
Real property held for rental, net                                             31,731                31,545
Investments in joint ventures                                                  18,938                19,398
Noncurrent notes receivable                                                     1,814                 4,462
Other assets                                                                    2,016                 2,051
Noncurrent assets of discontinued operations                                      946                   964
                                                                            ---------             ---------

      TOTAL ASSETS                                                          $ 212,078             $ 212,724
                                                                            =========             =========

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Current liabilities:
   Current maturities of long-term debt                                     $   2,171             $   2,394
   Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                     9,074                10,144
   Income taxes payable                                                         6,604                 7,014
   Current liabilities of discontinued operations                                  11                     7
                                                                            ---------             ---------

      TOTAL CURRENT LIABILITIES                                                17,860                19,559
                                                                            ---------             ---------

Long-term debt                                                                  5,610                 6,041
Other long-term liabilities                                                    30,173                30,316
Deferred income taxes                                                           2,917                 2,739
                                                                            ---------             ---------

      TOTAL LIABILITIES                                                        56,560                58,655
                                                                            ---------             ---------

Commitments and contingencies

Stockholders' equity:
   Common stock $.10 par value, authorized 17,500 shares;
      issued and outstanding 9,160 and 9,130 shares, respectively                 916                   913
   Retained earnings                                                          155,309               152,266
   Accumulated other comprehensive income, net of tax                            (707)                  890
                                                                            ---------             ---------

      TOTAL STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY                                              155,518               154,069
                                                                            ---------             ---------

      TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY                            $ 212,078             $ 212,724
                                                                            =========             =========

         The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are
                     an integral part of these statements.

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                        CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                                   (Unaudited)
                      (In thousands, except per share data)

                                                                                                              Three Months Ended
                                                                                                                   March 31,
                                                                                                         ---------------------------
                                                                                                           2005              2004
                                                                                                           ----              ----
REVENUES:
    Net sales                                                                                            $ 10,093          $  9,290
    Rental revenues from real estate operations                                                             5,229             5,307
                                                                                                         --------          --------

          Total revenues                                                                                   15,322            14,597
                                                                                                         --------          --------

COSTS AND EXPENSES:
    Cost of sales                                                                                           7,454             6,681
    Real estate operations:
       Mortgage interest expense                                                                              133               192
       Depreciation expense                                                                                   473               597
       Other operating expenses                                                                             2,071             1,746
    General and administrative expenses                                                                     1,654             1,519
    Selling expenses                                                                                          972             1,016
                                                                                                         --------          --------

          Total costs and expenses                                                                         12,757            11,751
                                                                                                         --------          --------

          Operating income                                                                                  2,565             2,846
                                                                                                         --------          --------

OTHER INCOME (EXPENSE):
    Interest and dividend income                                                                            1,144               386
    Interest expense                                                                                         (133)             (120)
    Other income and expense, net                                                                             789             1,635
                                                                                                         --------          --------

          Total other income                                                                                1,800             1,901
                                                                                                         --------          --------

Income from continuing operations before income taxes                                                       4,365             4,747

Provision for income taxes                                                                                  1,519             1,268
                                                                                                         --------          --------

INCOME FROM CONTINUING OPERATIONS                                                                           2,846             3,479
                                                                                                         --------          --------

DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS:
    (Loss) income from discontinued  operations,  net of tax (benefit) provision
       of ($7) and $34, respectively                                                                          (11)               49
    Net gain (loss) on disposal of discontinued operations, net of provision
       (benefit) of $20 and ($56), respectively                                                                30               (83)
                                                                                                         --------          --------

INCOME (LOSS) FROM DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS                                                                     19               (34)
                                                                                                         --------          --------

NET INCOME                                                                                               $  2,865          $  3,445
                                                                                                         ========          ========

BASIC EARNINGS PER SHARE:

    Income from continuing operations                                                                    $    .31          $    .38
    Income from discontinued operations                                                                      --                --
                                                                                                         --------          --------
    NET INCOME PER SHARE                                                                                 $    .31          $    .38
                                                                                                         ========          ========

DILUTED EARNINGS PER SHARE:

    Income from continuing operations                                                                    $    .26          $    .32
    Income from discontinued operations                                                                      --                --
                                                                                                         --------          --------
    NET INCOME PER SHARE ASSUMING DILUTION                                                               $    .26          $    .32
                                                                                                         ========          ========

         The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are
                     an integral part of these statements.

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)
                                 (In thousands)

                                                                                                              Three Months Ended
                                                                                                                   March 31,
                                                                                                         ---------------------------
                                                                                                           2005              2004
                                                                                                           ----              ----
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Net income                                                                                            $  2,865          $  3,445
   Adjustments to reconcile net income
      to net cash provided by operating activities:
         Depreciation and amortization                                                                        705               845
         Net gain on sale of available-for-sale securities                                                   (445)             (594)
         Gain on sale of other assets                                                                           --             (363)
         Equity in losses of joint ventures                                                                   266                34
         Net (gain) loss on disposal of discontinued operations, net of tax                                   (30)               83
         Net realized and unrealized (gain) loss on derivative instruments                                   (605)                3
         Changes in assets and liabilities:
            Notes and accounts receivable, net                                                               (261)             (823)
            Inventories                                                                                      (405)              (55)
            Prepaid expenses and other current assets                                                        (134)              (46)
            Deferred income taxes                                                                              78            (1,708)
            Noncurrent notes receivable                                                                         --             (110)
            Other assets                                                                                       28               102
            Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                                                         (489)             (403)
            Income taxes payable                                                                             (430)              862
            Other long-term liabilities                                                                      (143)               64
            Discontinued operations - noncash charges and
               working capital changes                                                                          4              (725)
                                                                                                         --------          --------

                     NET CASH PROVIDED BY OPERATING ACTIVITIES                                              1,004               611
                                                                                                         --------          --------

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Purchase of available-for-sale securities                                                               (2,196)          (10,264)
   Proceeds from sale of available-for-sale securities                                                      1,921             8,394
   Proceeds from sale of other assets                                                                           --            1,363
   Proceeds from sale of real estate assets                                                                    68               202
   Purchase of derivative instruments                                                                           --              (13)
   Proceeds from sale of derivative instruments                                                                24                 --
   Purchase of notes receivable                                                                                 --           (1,000)
   Acquisition of property, plant and equipment                                                            (1,122)              (37)
   Principal payments on notes receivable                                                                   2,866                12
   Acquisition of/additions to real estate assets                                                            (660)             (236)
   Distributions from joint ventures                                                                          194               195
                                                                                                         --------          --------

                     NET CASH PROVIDED BY (USED IN) INVESTING ACTIVITIES                                    1,095            (1,384)
                                                                                                         --------          --------

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS (CONTINUED)
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                                                                              Three Months Ended
                                                                                                                   March 31,
                                                                                                         ---------------------------
                                                                                                           2005              2004
                                                                                                           ----              ----
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Principal payments on mortgage obligations                                                                (654)             (864)
   Proceeds from exercise of stock options                                                                    181               121
                                                                                                         --------          --------

                     NET CASH USED IN FINANCING ACTIVITIES                                                   (473)             (743)
                                                                                                         --------          --------

NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS                                                        1,626            (1,516)

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                                             84,783            59,210
                                                                                                         --------          --------

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, END OF PERIOD                                                                 $ 86,409          $ 57,694
                                                                                                         ========          ========

SUPPLEMENTAL  DISCLOSURES OF CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
   Cash paid during the period for:

            Interest                                                                                     $    213          $    291
                                                                                                         ========          ========

            Taxes                                                                                        $  1,862          $  1,913
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
included in the Company's  Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the  Securities
and Exchange Commission ("SEC") for the year ended December 31, 2004.

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
during  the three  months  ended  March  31,  2005 or 2004.  Repurchases  of the
Company's  common  stock  may be made  from  time to time in the open  market at
prevailing market prices and may be made in privately  negotiated  transactions,
subject to available resources. During the three months ended March 31, 2005 and
2004, the Company received proceeds of $181 and $121 from the exercise of 30 and
20 stock options, respectively.

3.    EARNINGS PER SHARE

The following table sets forth the computation of basic and diluted earnings per
share from continuing operations:

                                                                 Three Months Ended
                                                                      March 31,
                                                           -------------------------------
                                                             2005                   2004
                                                             ----                   ----
Numerator:
    Income from continuing operations                       $ 2,846                $ 3,479
                                                            =======                =======

Denominator:

    Basic - weighted-average shares outstanding               9,142                  9,097
    Dilutive effect of employee stock options                 1,868                  1,858
                                                            -------                -------
    Diluted - weighted-average shares outstanding            11,010                 10,955
                                                            =======                =======

Basic earnings per share - continuing operations            $   .31                $   .38
                                                            =======                =======
Diluted earnings per share - continuing operations          $   .26                $   .32
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
Compensation," ("SFAS No. 123") to stock-based employee compensation.

                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                       March 31,
                                                            -------------------------------
                                                              2005                   2004
                                                              ----                   ----
Net income, as reported                                     $  2,865               $  3,445
Deduct: Total stock-based employee
    compensation expense determined
    under fair value based method for
    all awards, net of related tax effects                      (497)                  (726)
                                                            --------               --------
Pro forma net income                                        $  2,368               $  2,719
                                                            ========               ========

Earnings per share:

    Basic - as reported                                     $    .31               $    .38
                                                            ========               ========
    Basic - pro forma                                       $    .26               $    .30
                                                            ========               ========

    Diluted - as reported                                   $    .26               $    .32
                                                            ========               ========
    Diluted - pro forma                                     $    .22               $    .25
                                                            ========               ========

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
its employee stock options.

As discussed  in Note 15,  "Recent  Accounting  Pronouncements,"  the  Financial
Accounting  Standards  Board  ("FASB")  issued  SFAS  No.  123  (revised  2004),
"Share-Based  Payment" in December  2004.  The  provisions of this statement are
effective as of the  beginning of the first annual period that begins after June
15, 2005, as amended by the SEC, which would be January 1, 2006 for the Company.

5.    MARKETABLE SECURITIES

The cost, gross unrealized gains,  gross unrealized losses and fair market value
of marketable securities by type are as follows:
                                                               Gross                 Gross                  Fair
                                                             Unrealized            Unrealized              Market
                                          Cost                 Gains                 Losses                Value
                                        --------             --------              --------              --------
      March 31, 2005:
      ---------------
      Available-for-sale:
          Equity securities             $ 48,801             $  2,629              $ (3,716)             $ 47,714
          Bonds                            5,005                 --                    --                   5,005
                                        --------             --------              --------              --------
                                        $ 53,806             $  2,629              $ (3,716)             $ 52,719
                                        ========             ========              ========              ========

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
      December 31, 2004:
      ------------------
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
                                        ========             ========              ========              ========

Proceeds from the sale of available-for-sale  securities and the resulting gross
realized gains included in the determination of net income are as follows:

                                                                              Three Months Ended
                                                                                   March 31,
                                                                        -------------------------------
                                                                          2005                   2004
                                                                          ----                   ----
            Available-for-sale securities:
               Proceeds                                                 $  1,921               $  8,394
               Gross realized gains                                          445                    594

6.    INVENTORIES

The components of inventories are as follows:
                                                                     March 31,            December 31,
                                                                       2005                   2004
                                                                     --------               --------
               Raw materials                                         $  1,997               $  1,985
               Work in process                                            467                    361
               Finished goods                                           2,073                  1,786
                                                                     --------               --------
                                                                     $  4,537               $  4,132
                                                                     ========               ========

7.    REAL ESTATE

      PROPERTY SALES

During the three months ended March 31, 2005, the Company  divested  itself of a
commercial  property  which  had a net book  value  of $18 from its real  estate
investment and management  segment.  The proceeds from this transaction were $68
resulting  in a gain  of  $30,  on a net  of tax  basis.  This  property  had no
operating costs during the three months ended March 31, 2005.

During the three  months ended March 31, 2004,  the Company  contributed,  for a
nominal amount,  two commercial  properties from its real estate  investment and
management  segment  which had a total net book value of $341.  Net of  proceeds
received, the Company recorded a loss of $83, on a net of tax basis.

The result of operations  for these  properties for the three months ended March
31, 2005 and 2004 have been reclassified to discontinued operations, on a net of
tax  basis.  In  addition,  the  assets and  liabilities  associated  with these
properties have been reclassified to discontinued operations in the accompanying
Consolidated Balance Sheet at December 31, 2004. These amounts primarily consist
of real property, net of accumulated depreciation,  rents receivable, prepaid or
accrued charges, and mortgage obligations, if any.

Summarized  financial  information  for  properties  sold and  accounted  for as
discontinued operations for the three months ended March 31, 2004 is as follows:

                                                                         2004
                                                                   ----------------
               Rental revenues from real estate operations            $      300
               Mortgage interest expense                                     (19)
               Depreciation expense                                          (23)
               Other operating expenses                                     (211)
                                                                      ----------

               Income from operations                                 $       47
                                                                      ==========

      PROPERTIES HELD FOR SALE

As of March 31, 2005, the Company considered two commercial  properties from its
real estate and investment  management  segment to be held for sale and reported
as discontinued  operations.  The results of operations of these properties have
been  reclassified  to  discontinued  operations,  on a net of tax basis, in the
Consolidated  Statements of Income for the three months ended March 31, 2005 and
2004. In addition,  the assets and liabilities associated with these properties,
primarily consisting of real property,  net of accumulated  depreciation,  rents
receivable,  prepaid or accrued charges and mortgage  obligations,  if any, have
been  reclassified to discontinued  operations in the accompanying  Consolidated
Balance Sheets at March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004.

One of the Company's  properties,  previously  classified as held for sale,  was
reclassified  to continuing  operations as the Company no longer expects to sell
this property, but expects to negotiate a favorable lease.

Summarized financial  information for properties held for sale and accounted for
as discontinued operations is as follows:
                                                                              Three Months Ended
                                                                                   March 31,
                                                                        -------------------------------
                                                                          2005                   2004
                                                                          ----                   ----
               Rental revenues from real estate operations              $     13               $     46
               Depreciation expense                                           --                    (10)
               Other operating expenses                                      (31)                    --
                                                                        --------               --------
               (Loss) income from operations                            $    (18)              $     36
                                                                        ========               ========

8.    INVESTMENTS IN JOINT VENTURES

Investments in joint ventures consist of the following:
                                                                     March 31,            December 31,
                                                                       2005                   2004
                                                                     --------               --------
                      Investment in hotel ventures                   $ 11,416               $ 11,771
                      Lease financing                                   7,522                  7,627
                                                                     --------               --------
                                                                     $ 18,938               $ 19,398
                                                                     ========               ========

      INVESTMENTS IN HOTEL VENTURES

The Company has a 40% interest in two joint  ventures which each own and operate
a hotel.  The hotels are located in New Jersey (the "Hotel Venture") and Quebec,
Canada (the "Quebec  Venture").  The New Jersey hotel secures a $25,000 mortgage
loan (the "Mortgage") with a bank. In connection with the Mortgage,  the Company
and another joint venture partner entered into a direct guaranty  agreement with
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

                                       10

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
Company's equity in losses of these hotel ventures was ($355) and ($141) for the
three months ended March 31, 2005 and 2004, respectively.

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
follows:

                                                               March 31,                   December 31,
      Balance Sheets:                                            2005                          2004
                                                        ----------------------        ----------------------
            Current assets                                  $        3,296                $        4,073
                                                            ==============                ==============
            Property, plant and equipment, net              $       59,751                $       60,778
                                                            ==============                ==============
            Other non-current assets                        $          145                $          179
                                                            ==============                ==============
            Current liabilities                             $        2,798                $        2,807
                                                            ==============                ==============
            Long-term liabilities                           $       29,233                $       29,766
                                                            ==============                ==============
            Equity                                          $       31,161                $       32,457
                                                            ==============                ==============

                                                                              Three Months Ended
                                                                                   March 31,
                                                                        -------------------------------
      Operating results:                                                  2005                   2004
                                                                          ----                   ----
            Revenues                                                    $  5,527               $  5,573
                                                                        ========               ========
            Operating profit                                            $    358               $    730
                                                                        ========               ========
            Net loss                                                    $   (887)              $   (353)
                                                                        ========               ========

      LEASE FINANCING

Lease  financing  consists  of a 50%  interest  in a limited  partnership  whose
principal  assets  are two  distribution  centers  leased  to Kmart  Corporation
("Kmart"),  which are accounted for as leveraged leases.  The Company's share of
income arising from this  investment was $89 and $107 for the three months ended
March 31, 2005 and 2004,  respectively,  and is included in rental income in the
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

                                       11

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
and/or call options.  At March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004, the fair value of
such  derivatives  was ($1) and  ($581),  respectively,  which is  recorded as a
component  of  accounts  payable  and accrued  liabilities  in the  Consolidated
Balance  Sheets.  These  instruments  do not  qualify for hedge  accounting  and
therefore  changes in the derivatives  fair value are recognized in income.  The
Company  recognized $605 and ($3) in net realized and unrealized  gains (losses)
from derivative  instruments for the three months ended March 31, 2005 and 2004,
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
approximately $18 for the three months ended March 31, 2004.

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

                                       12

legal basis,  could cause the Company to change its  estimate of liability  with
respect to such matters in the future. The Company had approximately $10,000 and
$10,200 recorded in accounts payable and accrued liabilities and other long-term
liabilities at March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004, respectively, to cover such
matters.

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
anticipated  payment date. At March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004,  the Company
had approximately  $20,000 recorded in other long-term  liabilities  relating to
such matters. None of these matters are expected to result in a material adverse
effect  on  the  Company's   consolidated   financial  position  or  results  of
operations.

12.   COMPREHENSIVE INCOME

The components of comprehensive income are as follows:

                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                       March 31,
                                                            -------------------------------
                                                              2005                   2004
                                                              ----                   ----
Net income                                                  $ 2,865                $ 3,445
Other comprehensive income, net of tax:
    Change in net unrealized (loss) gain on
       available for sale securities, net of
       tax effect of $704 and ($1,627), respectively         (1,308)                 3,022

    Reclassification adjustment for net gains
       realized in net income, net of tax effect
       of $156 and $208, respectively                          (289)                  (386)
                                                            -------                -------

Comprehensive income                                        $ 1,268                $ 6,081
                                                            =======                =======

Accumulated other comprehensive  income included as a component of stockholders'
equity at March 31,  2005 and  December  31,  2004  consists  of net  unrealized
(losses) gains on available-for-sale securities of ($707) and $890, which is net
of ($381) and $479 of taxes, respectively.

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

                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                       March 31,
                                                            -------------------------------
                                                              2005                   2004
                                                              ----                   ----
Net revenues and sales:
  Real estate investment and management                     $ 5,229                $ 5,307
  Engineered products                                        10,093                  9,290
                                                            -------                -------

                                                            $15,322                $14,597
                                                            =======                =======

                                       13

                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                       March 31,
                                                            -------------------------------
                                                              2005                   2004
                                                              ----                   ----
Operating income:
    Real estate investment and management                   $ 2,552                $ 2,772
    Engineered products                                         902                    839
    General corporate expenses                                 (889)                  (765)
                                                            -------                -------
                                                              2,565                  2,846

Other income, net                                             1,800                  1,901
                                                            -------                -------

Income from continuing operations before
    income taxes                                            $ 4,365                $ 4,747
                                                            =======                =======

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

                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                       March 31,
                                                            -------------------------------
                                                              2005                   2004
                                                              ----                   ----
Service cost                                                  $ (74)                 $ (71)
Interest cost                                                  (165)                  (163)
Actual return on plan assets                                   (204)                   165
Net amortization and deferral                                   394                    (21)
                                                              -----                  -----
Net periodic pension expense                                  $ (49)                 $ (90)
                                                              =====                  =====

The Company did not contribute to the pension plan during the three months ended
March 31, 2005 as the plan is overfunded.

15.   RECENT ACCOUNTING PRONOUNCEMENTS

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
operating  cash flow as required under current  literature.  Under the effective
date provisions  included in SFAS No. 123R, the Company would have been required
to implement  SFAS No. 123R as of the first interim or annual period that begins
after June 15, 2005. On April 14, 2005, the SEC delayed the effective date which
allows companies to implement SFAS No. 123R at the beginning of the first fiscal
year after June 15, 2005,  which would be January 1, 2006 for the  Company.  The
Company is  evaluating  the  requirements  of SFAS No. 123R and expects that the
adoption will have a material impact on the  consolidated  results of operations
and earnings per share similar to the current  pro-forma  disclosures under SFAS
No. 123 (see Note 4).

                                       14

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
            CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS
            (In thousands, except as otherwise noted)

The following  discussion  should be read in conjunction  with the  Consolidated
Financial  Statements of United Capital Corp.  (the "Company") and related notes
thereto.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS: THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2005 AND 2004

Total revenues for the quarter ended March 31, 2005 were $15,322, an increase of
$725 or 5% from the comparable 2004 period.  Income from  continuing  operations
during the current period was $2,846 versus $3,479 during the three months ended
March 31, 2004.  Net income for the first quarter of 2005 was $2,865 or $.31 per
basic  share  compared  to net income of $3,445 or $.38 per basic  share for the
first quarter of 2004.

      REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT AND MANAGEMENT

Rental revenues from real estate operations decreased slightly to $5,229 for the
three  months  ended March 31, 2005 from $5,307 for the three months ended March
31, 2004.  This decrease was primarily  attributable to a decrease in percentage
rents ($191) and the receipt of a non-recurring  amount ($165) in 2004 partially
offset by an increase in hotel  operating  revenue  ($190).  In general,  rental
revenues  do not  fluctuate  significantly  due to the  long-term  nature of the
Company's leases.  However,  future rental revenues could be affected by changes
in hotel operating revenues,  which are generally  influenced by local and other
economic conditions,  as well as by lease renewals,  terminations,  step-ups and
escalations and by the purchase or sale of additional properties.

Mortgage  interest expense  decreased $59 or 30.7% to $133 for the quarter ended
March 31, 2005, as compared to $192 for the first quarter of 2004. This decrease
was the result of  continuing  mortgage  amortization.  At March 31,  2005,  the
outstanding mortgage balance on the Company's real estate properties was reduced
to $7.8 million. Mortgage interest expense on existing obligations will continue
to decline with scheduled principle reductions.

Depreciation  expense  associated with real properties held for rental decreased
$124 or 20.8% to $473 for the three  months  ended March 31,  2005,  compared to
$597 for the same period in 2004.  This decrease was primarily  attributable  to
reduced  depreciation expense associated with certain properties or improvements
becoming fully depreciated in the current and prior year.

Other  operating  expenses  associated  with the  management of real  properties
increased  $325 or 18.6% for the three months ended March 31, 2005,  compared to
the same period in 2004.  The  increase  was  primarily  the result of increased
hotel  operating  expenses  ($210) and an increase  in reported  real estate tax
expense  ($177)  which  was  primarily  the  result  of   non-recurring   tenant
reimbursements received in the prior year. These increases were partially offset

                                       15

by a decrease in insurance expense ($101) primarily due to non-recurring  tenant
reimbursements received in the current year.

      ENGINEERED PRODUCTS

The  Company's  engineered  products  segment  includes  Metex Mfg.  Corporation
("Metex") and AFP Transformers, LLC ("AFP Transformers").  The operating results
of the engineered products segment are as follows:

                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                       March 31,
                                                            -------------------------------
                                                              2005                   2004
                                                              ----                   ----
            Net sales                                       $10,093                $ 9,290
            Cost of sales                                     7,454                  6,681
            Selling, general and administrative
               expenses                                       1,737                  1,770
                                                            -------                -------
            Operating income                                $   902                $   839
                                                            =======                =======

Net sales of the  engineered  products  segment  increased  $803 or 8.6% for the
three  months  ended  March  31,  2005,   compared   with  the  results  of  the
corresponding  2004 period.  This increase was primarily due to increased demand
in the Company's  transformer  and  engineered  product lines offset by a slight
decrease  in the  automotive  products  which is a result  of  softening  in the
automotive  industry.  Although management believes that sales of its engineered
products  segment  are  directly  influenced  by  general  economic  conditions,
worldwide  automotive demand and industrial  capital  spending,  future sales of
this segment could also be affected by changes in technology, competitive forces
or challenges to its intellectual property.

Cost of sales as a percentage of sales  increased  slightly for the three months
ended  March 31,  2005,  compared  to the  corresponding  period  in 2004.  This
increase  is  primarily  due to the  change in  product  sales  noted  above and
increases in material purchase costs,  primarily  associated with steel which is
experiencing a higher then usual worldwide  demand.  Continued  increases in the
price of raw materials could effect the gross margin and operating profit of the
engineered products segment.

Selling,  general and administrative expenses of the engineered products segment
remained  relatively  consistent,  decreasing  $33 or 1.9% for the three  months
ended March 31,  2005,  from the  comparable  2004  period.  This  decrease  was
primarily  due to decreases in payroll and payroll  related  expenses  ($85) and
freight costs ($36) partially offset by increases in professional fees ($38) and
travel expenses ($32).

      GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES

General  and  administrative  expenses  not  associated  with the  manufacturing
operations  increased  $124 or 16.2% for the three  months ended March 31, 2005,
compared to such expenses incurred for the comparable 2004 period. This increase
was primarily the result of increased  compensation and benefit ($83) and travel
expenses ($62) partially offset by a decrease in pension related expenses ($41).

                                       16

      OTHER INCOME AND EXPENSE, NET

The components of other income and expense,  net in the Consolidated  Statements
of Income are as follows:

                                                                  Three Months Ended
                                                                       March 31,
                                                            -------------------------------
                                                              2005                   2004
                                                              ----                   ----
Net gain on sale of available-for sale securities            $  445                $   594
Net realized and unrealized gain (loss) on derivative
   instruments                                                  605                     (3)
Gain on sale of other assets                                   --                      363
Equity in losses of hotel ventures                             (355)                  (141)
Casualty insurance settlement                                  --                      831
Other, net                                                       94                     (9)
                                                             ------                -------
                                                             $  789                $ 1,635
                                                             ======                =======

      INCOME TAXES

The effective  tax rate from  continuing  operations  for the three months ended
March 31, 2004  reflects the benefits of the donation of certain  properties  to
qualified organizations in 2004.

      DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS

(Loss) income from  operations on properties sold or held for sale and accounted
for as discontinued  operations was ($11), on a net of tax basis,  for the three
months ended March 31, 2005,  versus $49 for the comparable  2004 period.  Prior
year amounts have been  reclassified  to reflect  results of  operations of real
properties  held for sale as of March 31,  2005,  or disposed of during 2005 and
2004, as  discontinued  operations.  Net gains  (losses) on the disposal of real
estate assets  accounted for as  discontinued  operations were $30 and ($83) for
the three  months ended March 31, 2005 and 2004,  respectively,  on a net of tax
basis.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

The Company  experienced  a net cash inflow  from  operations  of $1,004 for the
three  months  ended March 31, 2005 versus $611 for the three months ended March
31, 2004.  The change in operating  cash flow during these periods is the result
of current and  deferred  income tax  fluctuations  associated  with  unrealized
marketable  securities gains and property  donations during the first quarter of
2004 and are offset by other  working  capital  changes  and a decline in income
from operations.

Net cash provided by investing  activities increased $2,479 for the three months
ended  March 31,  2005,  compared  with the same period of 2004.  This  increase
primarily results from additional  proceeds received from principal  payments on
notes  receivables  ($2,854),  the timing of the purchase or sale of  marketable
securities ($1,632) and from the purchase of a notes receivable in 2004 ($1,000)
partially  offset by  proceeds  received  in 2004 from the sale of other  assets
($1,363) and  additional  purchases of property,  plant and  equipment  and real
property ($1,509).

Net cash used in financing  activities was $473 and $743 during the three months
ended  March  31,  2005  and  2004,  respectively.   These  uses  of  cash  were
attributable  to debt  reduction  partially  offset  by cash  proceeds  from the
exercise of stock options.

At March 31, 2005, the Company's cash and marketable  securities  totaled $139.1
million and working  capital was $135.5 million  compared to cash and marketable
securities of $139.2  million and working  capital of $132.4 million at December
31,  2004.  Management  continues  to  believe  that the real  estate  market is
overvalued  and  accordingly  acquisitions  have been  limited  to those  select
properties that meet the Company's stringent financial requirements.  Management
believes  that the  available  working  capital  along  with the $80  million of
availability on the revolving credit facility, discussed below, puts the Company
in an opportune  position to fund  acquisitions  and grow its portfolio,  if and
when attractive long-term opportunities become available.

                                       17

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
companies in exchange for its equity securities or any debt securities.

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
cash and other interest  bearing  investments held by the Company and the recent
increase in U.S.  interest  rates,  the Company's  earnings have been  favorably
impacted.

Effective  December 10, 2002, the Company  entered into a credit  agreement with
five  banks  which  provides  for  an  $80  million  revolving  credit  facility
("Revolver").  The Revolver may be increased  under  certain  circumstances  and
expires on December  31,  2005.  The Company  expects to  renegotiate  a similar
facility prior to the expiration of the Revolver.

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
and (vi) 50% of marketable securities, as defined. At March 31, 2005 eligibility
under the Revolver was $80 million, based upon the above terms and there were no
amounts outstanding under the Revolver.

The credit agreement  contains certain financial and restrictive  covenants,  as
follows:  (i) total debt cannot exceed 50% of capitalization  value, as defined,
(ii) equity value,  as defined,  must be at least $150 million,  (iii)  interest
coverage,  as  defined,  must not be less  than  2.25:1.00,  (iv)  debt  service

                                       18

coverage, as defined,  must not be less than 1.35:1.00,  (v) eligible properties
debt service coverage, as defined, must not be less than 1.50:1.00, (vi) capital
expenditures,  exclusive  of real estate,  must not exceed $3 million  annually,
(vii) capitalization  value, as defined,  must not be less than $200 million and
(viii)  operating lease  obligations  must not exceed $1 million  annually.  The
Company was in  compliance  with all  covenants  at March 31,  2005.  The credit
agreement also contains  provisions  which allow the banks to perfect a security
interest in certain  operating and real estate assets in the event of a default,
as  defined in the  credit  agreement.  Borrowings  under the  Revolver,  at the
Company's  option,  bear  interest at the bank's  prime  lending  rate or at the
London  Interbank  Offered Rate  ("LIBOR")  (2.9% at March 31, 2005) plus 2% for
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
Company's  sales are  denominated  in U.S.  dollars.  For the three months ended
March  31,  2005  and  2004,  9.3% and  9.0% of the net  sales of the  Company's
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
anticipated  payment date. At March 31, 2005 and December 31, 2004,  the Company
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
during  the three  months  ended  March  31,  2005 or 2004.  Repurchases  of the
Company's  common  stock  may be made  from  time to time in the open  market at
prevailing  market prices or in privately  negotiated  transactions,  subject to
available resources.

RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS

Refer to Notes to Consolidated  Financial Statements for a discussion of related
party transactions.

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
assumptions and conditions.

Refer to the  Company's  2004 Annual Report on Form 10-K for a discussion of the
Company's critical  accounting  policies,  which include revenue recognition and
accounts   receivable,   marketable   securities,   inventories,   real  estate,
discontinued  operations,  long-lived assets and pension plans. During the three
months ended March 31, 2005, there were no material changes to these policies.

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
factors on which they are based.  See the  Company's  2004 Annual Report on Form
10-K for a discussion  of risk  factors  that could impact our future  financial
performance  and/or  cause  actual  results to differ  significantly  from those
expressed or implied by such statements.

ITEM 3.     QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURE OF MARKET RISK

See Note 9 of Notes to  Consolidated  Financial  Statements  for a discussion of
derivative  financial activity since December 31, 2004. There have been no other
material  changes  in  quantitative  and  qualitative  market  risks  from those
disclosed in item 7A of the  Company's  Annual  Report on form 10-K for the year
ended December 31, 2004, which is incorporated herein by reference.

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
their evaluation.

                                       20

                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 6.     EXHIBITS

31.1        Certification  of the  Chief  Executive  Officer  pursuant  to  Rule
            13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e).
31.2        Certification  of the  Chief  Financial  Officer  Pursuant  to  Rule
            13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e).
32.1        Certification  of the Chief Executive  Officer pursuant to 18 U.S.C.
            Section 1350, as adopted  pursuant to Section 906 of  Sarbanes-Oxley
            Act of 2002.
32.2        Certification  of the Chief Financial  Officer pursuant to 18 U.S.C.
            Section 1350, as adopted  pursuant to Section 906 of  Sarbanes-Oxley
            Act of 2002.

                                   SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Company
has duly  caused  this  report to be signed  on its  behalf by the  undersigned,
thereunto duly authorized.

                                     UNITED CAPITAL CORP.

Date:  May 12, 2005

                                     By: /s/ Anthony J. Miceli
                                         ---------------------------------------
                                         Anthony J. Miceli
                                         Vice President, Chief Financial Officer
                                         and Secretary of the Company

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