UNITED CAPITAL CORP /DE/ (CIK 65358)
Form 10-Q
period 2003-03-31
filed 2003-05-14

                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

                             Washington, D.C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

[X] Quarterly Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities  Exchange
    Act of 1934

For the quarterly period ending                           March 31, 2003
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                       or

[  ]    Transition  Report  Pursuant  to Section  13 or 15(d) of the  Securities
        Exchange Act of 1934

        For the transition period from                    to
                                      ------------------------------------------

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
requirements for the past 90 days.
                                                                 [X] Yes [ ] No

Indicate by check mark whether the Company is an accelerated filer.
                                                                  [ ] Yes [X] No

Indicate the number of shares  outstanding  of each of the  issuer's  classes of
common stock, as of the latest practicable date.

            Common stock, $.10 par value 4,506,705 shares outstanding
                               as of May 12, 2003.

                                  Page 1 of 26

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                                      INDEX

                          PART I FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                                                                            PAGE
                                                                            ----

ITEM 1. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

        Consolidated Balance Sheets as
        of March 31, 2003 (Unaudited) and December 31, 2002                  3

        Consolidated Statements of Income for the
        Three Months Ended March 31, 2003 and 2002 (Unaudited)               4

        Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the
        Three Months Ended March 31, 2003 and 2002 (Unaudited)             5-6

        Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements                        7-18

ITEM 2. MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
        FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS                    18-23

ITEM 3. QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURE OF
        MARKET RISK                                                         23

ITEM 4. CONTROLS AND PROCEDURES                                             23

                            PART II OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 6. EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K                                    24

SIGNATURES                                                                  24

CERTIFICATIONS                                                           25-26

                                  Page 2 of 26

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                          CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
             AS OF MARCH 31, 2003 (UNAUDITED) AND DECEMBER 31, 2002
                                 (In Thousands)

                                                                       2003         2002
                                                                    ---------    ---------
ASSETS

Current assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents                                        $  54,250    $  48,893
   Marketable securities                                               19,108       25,893
   Notes and accounts receivable, net                                   6,632        5,716
   Inventories                                                          3,159        3,677
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets                              945        1,477
   Deferred income taxes                                                2,977          207
   Current assets of discontinued operations                               14           72
                                                                    ---------    ---------

      Total current assets                                             87,085       85,935
                                                                    ---------    ---------

Property, plant and equipment, net                                      3,494        3,569
Real property held for rental, net                                     44,008       44,761
Investments in joint ventures                                          31,686       31,389
Noncurrent notes receivable                                             2,976        2,994
Other assets                                                            3,570        3,707
Noncurrent assets of discontinued operations                            2,277        4,192
                                                                    ---------    ---------

      TOTAL ASSETS                                                  $ 175,096    $ 176,547
                                                                    =========    =========

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY

Current liabilities:
   Current maturities of long-term debt                             $   4,733    $   3,977
   Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                             8,283        9,263
   Income taxes payable                                                 7,775        5,260
   Current liabilities of discontinued operations                         213          445
                                                                    ---------    ---------

      Total current liabilities                                        21,004       18,945
                                                                    ---------    ---------

Long-term debt                                                         10,533       12,347
Other long-term liabilities                                            31,187       31,016
Deferred income taxes                                                   2,084        2,605
                                                                    ---------    ---------

      TOTAL LIABILITIES                                                64,808       64,913
                                                                    ---------    ---------

Commitments and contingencies

Stockholders' equity:
   Common stock $.10 par value, authorized 7,500 shares;
      issued and outstanding 4,514 and 4,519 shares, respectively         451          452
   Retained earnings                                                  113,319      110,096
   Accumulated other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax           (3,482)       1,086
                                                                    ---------    ---------

      TOTAL STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY                                      110,288      111,634
                                                                    ---------    ---------

      TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY                    $ 175,096    $ 176,547
                                                                    =========    =========

The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are an integral part
of these statements.

                                  Page 3 of 26

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                        CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2003 AND 2002
                                   (UNAUDITED)
                      (In Thousands, Except Per Share Data)

                                                                   2003        2002
                                                                 --------    --------

REVENUES:
   Net sales                                                     $  8,156    $  8,240
   Rental revenues from real estate operations                      6,077       6,065
                                                                 --------    --------

                     Total revenues                                14,233      14,305
                                                                 --------    --------

COSTS AND EXPENSES:
   Cost of sales                                                    6,060       6,303
   Real estate operations:
      Mortgage interest expense                                       286         366
      Depreciation expense                                            780         833
      Other operating expenses                                      2,066       1,716
   General and administrative expenses                              1,437       1,374
   Selling expenses                                                   866         909
                                                                 --------    --------

                     Total costs and expenses                      11,495      11,501
                                                                 --------    --------

   Operating income                                                 2,738       2,804
                                                                 --------    --------

OTHER INCOME (EXPENSE):
   Interest and dividend income                                       333         557
   Interest expense                                                  (108)       (166)
   Other income and expense, net                                      629       2,497
                                                                 --------    --------

                     Total other income                               854       2,888
                                                                 --------    --------

   Income from continuing operations before income taxes            3,592       5,692

   Provision for income taxes                                       1,370       2,099
                                                                 --------    --------

   INCOME FROM CONTINUING OPERATIONS                                2,222       3,593
                                                                 --------    --------

DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS:
   Income from discontinued operations, net of tax
      provision of $93 and $110, respectively                         139         165
   Net gain on disposal of discontinued operations, net of tax
      provision of $756                                             1,135           0
                                                                 --------    --------

   INCOME FROM DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS                              1,274         165
                                                                 --------    --------

   NET INCOME                                                    $  3,496    $  3,758
                                                                 ========    ========

BASIC EARNINGS PER SHARE:
   Income from continuing operations                             $    .49    $    .78
   Income from discontinued operations                                .28         .03
                                                                 --------    --------
   NET INCOME PER SHARE                                          $    .77    $    .81
                                                                 ========    ========

DILUTED EARNINGS PER SHARE:
   Income from continuing operations                             $    .42    $    .73
   Income from discontinued operations                                .24         .03
                                                                 --------    --------
   NET INCOME PER SHARE ASSUMING DILUTION                        $    .66    $    .76
                                                                 ========    ========

The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are an integral part
of these statements.

                                  Page 4 of 26

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
               FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2003 AND 2002
                                   (UNAUDITED)
                                 (In Thousands)

                                                                               2003         2002
                                                                             --------    --------

CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
   Net income                                                                $  3,496    $  3,758
   Adjustments to reconcile net income
      to net cash provided by operating activities:
         Depreciation and amortization                                          1,119       1,162
         Net loss on sale of available-for-sale securities                          0       1,005
         Net gain on sale of real estate assets                                  (141)     (5,378)
         Equity in earnings of joint ventures                                    (235)       (169)
         Net gain on disposal of discontinued operations, net of tax           (1,135)          0
         Net realized and unrealized (gain) loss on derivative instruments       (315)      1,862
         Proceeds from sale of trading securities                                 884           0
         Net realized and unrealized gain on trading securities                   (57)          0
         Changes in assets and liabilities  (A)                                  (469)     (1,029)
                                                                             --------    --------

                     NET CASH PROVIDED BY OPERATING ACTIVITIES                  3,147       1,211
                                                                             --------    --------

CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Purchase of available-for-sale securities                                     (550)     (1,349)
   Proceeds from sale of available-for-sale securities                              0         268
   Proceeds from sale of real estate assets                                     3,947         560
   Proceeds from sale of derivative instruments                                   461           0
   Acquisition of property, plant and equipment                                  (245)        (81)
   Principal payments on notes receivable                                          18           5
   Acquisition of/additions to real estate assets                                 (27)        (87)
   Investment in joint ventures, net of distributions                             (62)        195
                                                                             --------    --------

                     NET CASH PROVIDED BY (USED IN) INVESTING ACTIVITIES        3,542        (489)
                                                                             --------    --------

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
   Principal payments on mortgage commitments, notes
      and loans                                                                (1,058)     (1,054)
   Net repayments under credit facilities                                           0        (175)
   Purchase and retirement of common shares                                      (420)     (1,279)
   Proceeds from exercise of stock options                                        146           7
                                                                             --------    --------

                     NET CASH USED IN FINANCING ACTIVITIES                     (1,332)     (2,501)
                                                                             --------    --------

NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS                            5,357      (1,779)

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, BEGINNING OF PERIOD                                 48,893      68,170
                                                                             --------    --------

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, END OF PERIOD                                     $ 54,250    $ 66,391
                                                                             ========    ========

                                  Page 5 of 26

                      UNITED CAPITAL CORP. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
         FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2003 AND 2002 (CONTINUED)
                                   (UNAUDITED)

                                                                    2003       2002
                                                                   -------    -------

SUPPLEMENTAL  DISCLOSURES OF CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
Cash paid during the period for:

   Interest                                                        $   311    $   462
                                                                   =======    =======

   Taxes                                                           $ 2,585    $ 2,591
                                                                   =======    =======

(A)  Changes in assets and liabilities for the three months ended March 31, 2003
     and 2002 are as follows:

                                                                    2003       2002
                                                                   -------    -------

   Accounts receivable, net                                        ($  916)   ($  698)
   Inventories                                                         518        793
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets                            12          2
   Deferred income taxes                                              (831)     1,448
   Other assets                                                        118         20
   Accounts payable and accrued liabilities                         (1,126)      (643)
   Income taxes payable                                              1,759     (1,705)
   Other long-term liabilities                                         171        (30)
   Discontinued operations - noncash charges and working capital
      changes                                                         (174)      (216)
                                                                   -------    -------

            Total                                                  ($  469)   ($1,029)
                                                                   =======    =======

The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements are an integral part
of these statements.

                                  Page 6 of 26

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
and Exchange Commission for the year ended December 31, 2002.

            All  adjustments,  all of which  are  normal  and  recurring  in the
opinion of  management,  necessary  for a fair  statement of the results for the
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
2002.  The  adoption  of SFAS No.  145 did not  have a  material  impact  on the
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
2002.  The  adoption  of SFAS No.  146 did not  have a  material  impact  on the
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

                                  Page 7 of 26

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
amount an  employee  must pay to acquire  the stock.  The  Company  adopted  the
interim  disclosure  provisions of SFAS No. 148 in its financial reports for the
quarter  ended  March 31,  2003.  The  adoption  of SFAS No.  148 did not have a
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
2002. As a result of adopting the  disclosure  provisions of FIN 45, the Company
has  provided  additional   disclosures  herein  as  required  (See  "Subsequent
Events").

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
material impact on the Company's financial condition or results of operations.

MARKETABLE SECURITIES

            The cost, gross unrealized  gains,  gross unrealized losses and fair
market value of marketable securities by type at March 31, 2003 and December 31,
2002 are as follows:

                                                   Gross            Gross            Fair
                                                 unrealized       unrealized         market
         March 31, 2003:            Cost           gains            losses           value
                                 --------        --------         --------         --------

     Available-for-sale:
        Equity securities        $ 24,459        $    594         ($ 5,950)        $ 19,103
        Bonds                           5               0                0                5
                                 --------        --------         --------         --------
                                 $ 24,464        $    594         ($ 5,950)        $ 19,108
                                 ========        ========         ========         ========

                                  Page 8 of 26

                                                      Gross            Gross             Fair
                                                   unrealized        unrealized         market
         December 31, 2002:           Cost            gains            losses           value
                                    --------        --------         --------         --------

         Available-for-sale:
           Equity securities        $ 23,389        $  2,119         ($   447)        $ 25,061
           Bonds                           5               0                0                5
                                    --------        --------         --------         --------
                                      23,394           2,119             (447)          25,066

         Trading:
           Equity securities             792              35                0              827
                                    --------        --------         --------         --------

                                    $ 24,186        $  2,154         ($   447)        $ 25,893
                                    ========        ========         ========         ========

Included in  marketable  securities  at March 31, 2003 and December 31, 2002 was
$12,917 and $20,402,  respectively, of common stock in a publicly-traded company
for which the Board Chairman and another  Director of the Company are directors.
In April 2003, the Company purchased an additional 450 shares of common stock in
this company for $2,400.

Proceeds  from the sale of  available-for-sale  and trading  securities  and the
resulting gross realized gains and losses included in the  determination  of net
income for the three months ended March 31, 2003 and 2002 are as follows:

                                          2003                 2002
                                       ----------            ---------

Available-for-sale securities:
   Proceeds                            $     0               $   268
   Gross realized losses                     0                (1,005)
Trading securities:
   Proceeds                            $   884               $     0
   Gross realized gains                     57                     0

INVENTORIES
-----------

            The components of inventory are as follows:

                                March 31, 2003         December 31, 2002
                                --------------         -----------------

Raw materials                      $1,501                    $1,765
Work in process                       441                       367
Finished goods                      1,217                     1,545
                                   ------                    ------
                                   $3,159                    $3,677
                                   ======                    ======

REAL ESTATE
-----------

Property sales:
---------------

            The  Company  adopted  the  provisions  of  Statement  of  Financial
Accounting  Standards  No. 144,  "Accounting  for the  Impairment or Disposal of
Long-Lived  Assets"  ("SFAS No. 144") in 2002.  SFAS No. 144  requires  that the
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
manner consistent with the prior periods' presentation.

                                  Page 9 of 26

            During the  quarter  ended  March 31,  2003,  the  Company  sold two
commercial  properties  from its real estate  investment and management  segment
which  had a total  net  book  value of $27.  The  properties  were  sold for an
aggregate sales price of $787, resulting in gains of $456 on a net of tax basis.
The Company  also sold a shopping  center from its real  estate  investment  and
management  segment  which had a total net book value of $136.  The property was
sold for an aggregate  sales price of $3,020,  resulting in gains of $1,730 on a
net of tax basis. One shopping center from the Company's real estate  investment
and management  segment was donated during the first quarter of 2003 which had a
total net book value of $60. The Company  received no proceeds from the donation
and recorded a loss of $36 on a net of tax basis.

            The results of operations for these  properties for the three months
ended March 31, 2003 and 2002 have been reclassified to discontinued operations,
on a net of tax basis, in accordance with SFAS No. 144. In addition,  the assets
and  liabilities  associated  with these  properties  have been  reclassified to
discontinued  operations in the Consolidated Balance Sheet at December 31, 2002.
These  amounts   primarily   consist  of  real  property,   net  of  accumulated
depreciation,  rents  receivable,  prepaid  or  accrued  charges,  and  mortgage
obligations, if any.

            Summarized  financial  information for properties sold and accounted
for as  discontinued  operations  for the three  months ended March 31, 2003 and
2002, respectively, is as follows:

                                                               2003          2002
                                                             --------      ---------

           Rental revenues from real estate operations        $ 39          $ 74
           Mortgage interest expense                             0            (1)
           Depreciation expense                                  0            (2)
           Other operating expenses                            (12)           (2)
                                                              ----          ----

           Income from operations                             $ 27          $ 69
                                                              ====          ====

Properties held for sale:
------------------------

            As of March 31, 2003, in accordance  with the provisions of SFAS No.
144, the Company considered a total of eight commercial properties from its real
estate and  investment  management  segment to be held for sale and  reported as
discontinued operations.

            In accordance with SFAS No. 144, the results of operations for these
properties  for the  three  months  ended  March  31,  2003 and 2002  have  been
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
in the Consolidated Balance Sheets at March 31, 2003 and December 31, 2002.

            Summarized  financial  information  for properties held for sale and
accounted for as  discontinued  operations  for the three months ended March 31,
2003 and 2002, respectively, is as follows:

                                 Page 10 of 26

                                                          2003           2002
                                                        -------        ---------

           Rental revenues from real estate operations   $ 216           $ 235
           Mortgage interest expense                        (3)            (17)
           Depreciation expense                              0              (6)
           Other operating expenses                         (8)             (6)
                                                         -----           -----

           Income from operations                        $ 205           $ 206
                                                         =====           =====

INVESTMENTS IN JOINT VENTURES
-----------------------------

            Investments in joint ventures  consist of the following at March 31,
2003 and December 31, 2002:

                                                        2003              2002
                                                       -------          -------

          Investment in joint ventures (a)              $23,496          $23,128
          Lease financing (b)                             8,190            8,261
                                                       -------          -------

                                                       $31,686          $31,389
                                                       =======          =======

(a)  In December 2002,  the Company  purchased a 50% interest in a joint venture
     (the "Hotel  Venture") for $23,128 together with Prime  Hospitality,  Corp.
     ("Prime"), a publicly-traded company for which the Company's Board Chairman
     and another  Director of the Company are directors.  The Hotel Venture owns
     and  operates a hotel in New Jersey.  In March 2003,  the Company and Prime
     each sold a 10% interest in the Hotel Venture to an unrelated  third party,
     at cost. See "Subsequent Events."

     In January  2003,  the Company  purchased a 50% interest in a joint venture
     (the "Quebec  Venture") for $6,114 together with Prime.  The Quebec Venture
     owns and operates a hotel in Quebec, Canada. In March 2003, the Company and
     Prime each sold a 10% interest in the Quebec Venture to an unrelated  third
     party,  at cost.  There is  currently  no debt  outstanding  in this  joint
     venture.

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
     contributions and distributions.  The Company's equity in earnings of these
     joint ventures was $113 for the three months ended March 31, 2003.

     Summarized  financial  information of the joint ventures is as follows:

                                                March 31, 2003      December 31, 2002
                                                --------------      -----------------

      BALANCE SHEET:
      Property, plant and equipment, net            $59,523               $46,397
                                                    =======               =======
      Current assets                                $ 1,248               $   347
                                                    =======               =======
      Current liabilities                           $   897               $   500
                                                    =======               =======

The  accounts  of the Quebec  Venture are  recorded in Canadian  dollars and are
translated  into U.S.  dollars,  the reporting  currency of the Quebec  Venture.
Translation adjustments relating to results of operations are generally included
in the equity in earnings  reported by the Company while  translation of balance
sheet  accounts do not generally  affect the  Company's  investment in the joint
venture.

                                 Page 11 of 26

                                                  March 31, 2003
                                                  ----------------

          STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS:
            Revenues                                       $2,859
            Expenses                                      (2,633)
                                                          --------
            Net income                                       $226
                                                          ========

     (b)  Lease financing consists of a 50.0% interest in a limited  partnership
          whose principal  assets are two  distribution  centers leased to Kmart
          Corporation  ("Kmart"),  which are accounted for as leveraged  leases.
          The Company's  share of income  arising from this  investment was $122
          and  $169  for the  three  months  ended  March  31,  2003  and  2002,
          respectively,  and is  included in rental  income in the  Consolidated
          Statements of Income.

DERIVATIVE FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS
--------------------------------

            The Company recognizes all derivative financial instruments, such as
its short stock sales and put and/or call options, in the Consolidated Financial
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
sales and put and/or call options.  At March 31, 2003 and December 31, 2002, the
fair value of such  derivatives  was ($268) and ($122),  respectively,  which is
recorded as a  component  of accounts  payable  and accrued  liabilities  in the
Consolidated  Balance  Sheets.  These  instruments  do  not  qualify  for  hedge
accounting and therefore changes in the derivatives fair value are recognized in
earnings.  The  Company  recognized  $315  and  ($1,862)  in  net  realized  and
unrealized gains (losses) from derivative instruments for the three months ended
March 31, 2003 and 2002,  respectively,  which are  included in other income and
expense, net in the Consolidated Statements of Income.

RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS
--------------------------

            The  Company  has a  50.0%  interest  in an  unconsolidated  limited
liability  corporation,  whose  principal  assets are two  distribution  centers
leased to Kmart. A group that includes the wife of the Company's Board Chairman,
two  Directors of the Company and the wife of one of the  Directors  has an 8.0%
interest in this entity (see "Investments in Joint Ventures").

                                 Page 12 of 26

            The Company's two hotel  properties,  as well as the hotels owned by
the Hotel Venture and Quebec  Venture,  are managed by Prime, a  publicly-traded
company for which the Board  Chairman  and  another  Director of the Company are
directors.  Fees paid for the  management of the Company's two hotel  properties
are based upon a percentage  of revenue and were  approximately  $26 and $31 for
the three months ended March 31, 2003 and 2002,  respectively.  See "Investments
in Joint  Ventures."  Included in  marketable  securities  at March 31, 2003 and
December  31, 2002 was $12,917 and  $20,402,  respectively,  of common  stock in
Prime which represents  approximately 5.6% of Prime's outstanding shares in both
periods. In April 2003, the Company purchased an additional 450 shares of common
stock in Prime for $2,400.

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES
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
approximately  600  of  its  stores  during  the  past  year.  Kmart's  plan  of
reorganization was approved in April 2003 and became effective in May 2003.

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

                                 Page 13 of 26

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
three months ended March 31, 2003 and 2002, the Company purchased and retired 12
and 53 shares of the Company's  common stock for $420 and $1,279,  respectively.
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

                                                                         Three Months Ended March 31,
                                                                         ----------------------------

                                                                        2003                      2002
                                                                       ------                    ------

Numerator:
   Income from continuing operations                                   $2,222                    $3,593
                                                                       ======                    ======
Denominator:
   Denominator for basic earnings per
           share - weighted-average shares                              4,515                     4,622
Effect of dilutive securities:
   Employee stock options                                                 748                       340
                                                                       ------                    ------
   Denominator for diluted earnings per
           share - adjusted weighted-average shares
           and assumed conversions                                      5,263                     4,962
                                                                       ======                    ======

Basic earnings per share - continuing operations                       $  .49                    $  .78
                                                                       ======                    ======

Diluted earnings per share - continuing operations                     $  .42                    $  .73
                                                                       ======                    ======

                                 Page 14 of 26

            Employee stock options to purchase 29 shares of the Company's common
stock that were  outstanding  during the three  months ended March 31, 2002 were
not included in the  computation  of diluted  earnings per share  because  their
effect would have been anti-dilutive.

STOCK-BASED COMPESATION
-----------------------

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
Stock-Based Compensation," to stock-based employee compensation.

                                                                   Three Months Ended March 31,
                                                                -----------------------------------

                                                                 2003                          2002
                                                                ------                    ---------
Net income, as reported                                         $3,496                    $   3,758
Deduct: Total stock-based employee
       compensation expense determined
       under fair value based method for all
       awards, net of related tax effects                         (550)                        (454)
                                                                ------                    ---------
Pro forma net income                                            $2,946                    $   3,304
                                                                ======                    =========
Earnings per share:
          Basic - as reported                                   $  .77                    $     .81
                                                                ======                    =========
          Basic - pro forma                                     $  .65                    $     .71
                                                                ======                    =========

          Diluted - as reported                                 $  .66                    $     .76
                                                                ======                    =========
          Diluted - pro forma                                   $  .57                    $     .68
                                                                ======                    =========

            Pro forma  compensation  expense may not be  indicative of pro forma
expense in future  periods.  For purposes of  estimating  the fair value of each
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

                                 Page 15 of 26

            The weighted-average  option fair values and the assumptions used to
estimate these values for grants issued during 2002 are as follows:

            Expected life (years)                               5
            Risk free interest rate                           4.4%
            Expected volatility                              34.2%
            Dividend yield                                    0.0%
            Weighted-average option fair value             $ 9.17

COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS)
---------------------------

            The components of comprehensive income (loss) are as follows:

                                                                         Three Months Ended March 31,
                                                                         ----------------------------

                                                                               2003         2002
                                                                             -------      -------

Net income                                                                   $ 3,496      $ 3,758

Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax:
   Changein net unrealized gain (loss) on available-for-sale
      securities, net of tax benefit (provision) of $2,460 and ($1,914),
      respectively
                                                                              (4,568)       3,555

   Change in fair value of cash flow hedge, net of tax provision of $2             0            4
                                                                             -------      -------

Comprehensive income (loss)                                                  ($1,072)     $ 7,317
                                                                             =======      =======

 The components of accumulated other comprehensive income (loss) are as follows:

                                                                        March 31, 2003   December 31, 2002
                                                                        --------------   -----------------

Net unrealized gain (loss) on available-for-sale securities, net
   of tax benefit (provision) of
   $1,874 and ($586), respectively
                                                                             ($3,482)     $ 1,086
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
components and transformer products.

                                 Page 16 of 26

Operating results of the Company's business segments are as follows:

                                                      Three Months Ended March 31,
                                                      ----------------------------

                                                         2003             2002
                                                       --------         --------
Net revenues and sales:
   Real estate investment and management               $  6,077         $  6,065
   Engineered products                                    8,156            8,240
                                                       --------         --------

                                                       $ 14,233         $ 14,305
                                                       ========         ========

Operating income:
   Real estate investment and management               $  2,945         $  3,150
   Engineered products                                      479              221
   General corporate expenses                              (686)            (567)
                                                       --------         --------

                                                          2,738            2,804

Other income, net                                           854            2,888
                                                       --------         --------

Income from continuing operations before income
   taxes                                               $  3,592         $  5,692
                                                       ========         ========

SUBSEQUENT EVENTS
-----------------

            In April 2003,  the Hotel  Venture  entered into a $25,000  mortgage
loan (the "Mortgage") with a bank, secured by the underlying hotel. The proceeds
of the loan were distributed to the partners of the Hotel Venture based on their
ownership interest,  thereby reducing their respective investment. In connection
with the  Mortgage,  the  Company  and  Prime  entered  into a  direct  guaranty
agreement  with the bank whereby the Company and Prime,  jointly and  severally,
guaranteed not more than $4,000 of the Mortgage.  Amounts due under the guaranty
are reduced by the scheduled principal payments under the Mortgage. The guaranty
is  enforceable  upon the occurrence of certain  events,  including a default as
defined in the Mortgage and expires upon satisfaction of the loan in April 2006.
Pursuant to the operating agreement,  any payments made under the guaranty would
increase the  guarantors'  ownership  interest.  The Company  believes  that the
collateral of the underlying  hotel is sufficient to repay the Mortgage  without
requiring  enforcement of the guaranty.  The Company is currently in the process
of evaluating the effect that reporting this guaranty in accordance  with FIN 45
will have in subsequent financial statements.

            In April 2003,  the Company  purchased an  additional  450 shares of
common stock in Prime for $2,400.

USE OF ESTIMATES
----------------

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

                                 Page 17 of 26

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
related notes thereto.

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS
THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2003 AND 2002
------------------------------------------

            Revenues  for the three  months  ended March 31,  2003 were  $14,233
compared to comparable  2002 revenues of $14,305.  Operating  income during this
period was $2,738 versus $2,804 for the comparable  2002 period.  Net income for
the first  quarter was $3,496 or $.77 per basic share  compared to net income of
$3,758 or $.81 per basic share for the same period in 2002.

            Included in the results for the three months ended March 31, 2003 is
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
during  the three  months  ended  March  31,  2003  have  been  reclassified  to
discontinued  operations for the three months ended March 31, 2002 in accordance
with SFAS No. 144.

REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT AND MANAGEMENT
-------------------------------------

            Rental  revenues  from real estate  operations  remained  relatively
consistent with the prior year, totaling $6,077 for the three months ended March
31, 2003, compared to $6,065 for the corresponding 2002 period.  Rental revenues
from 2003 property  sales and properties  held for sale have been  classified as
discontinued  operations in  accordance  with SFAS No. 144.  Property  sales and
properties  held for sale prior to the  implementation  of SFAS No. 144 have not
been similarly reclassified to discontinued operations.

            Mortgage  interest  expense  continues  to  decrease  as a result of
continuing  mortgage  amortization.  For the three  months ended March 31, 2003,
mortgage interest expense was $286 compared to $366 for the  corresponding  2002
period, a decline of 21.9% or $80.

            Depreciation expense associated with real properties held for rental
decreased  $53 or 6.4% for the three months ended March 31, 2003 compared to the
same period in 2002.  Such  decline was  primarily  due to reduced  depreciation
expense associated with fully depreciated properties and properties sold in 2002
and not  accounted for as  discontinued  operations.  Depreciation  expense from
property sales and  properties  held for sale in 2003 has been  reclassified  as
discontinued  operations  in  accordance  with SFAS No.  144.  Such  expenses on
property sales and properties held for sale prior to the  implementation of SFAS
No. 144 have not been similarly reclassified to discontinued operations.

                                 Page 18 of 26

            Other  operating  expenses  associated  with the  management of real
properties  increased  $350 or 20.4% for the three  months ended March 31, 2003,
compared to the same period in 2002.  Such  increase is primarily  the result of
increased   hotel  operating   expenses  and  increased   payroll  and  property
maintenance expenses, including insurance and real estate taxes.

ENGINEERED PRODUCTS
-------------------

            The  Company's  engineered  products  segment  includes  Metex  Mfg.
Corporation  ("Metex")  and AFP  Transformers,  LLC  ("AFP  Transformers").  The
operating results of the engineered products segment are as follows:

            (In Thousands)                                     Three Months Ended March 31,
                                                               ----------------------------

                                                                 2003          2002
                                                                ------        ------

            Net Sales                                           $8,156        $8,240
                                                                ======        ======

            Cost of Sales                                       $6,060        $6,303
                                                                ======        ======

            Selling, General and Administrative Expenses        $1,617        $1,716
                                                                ======        ======

            Operating Income                                    $  479        $  221
                                                                ======        ======

            Net sales of the  engineered  products  segment for the three months
ended March 31, 2003 remained relatively  consistent with the corresponding 2002
period.  Sales continue to increase for the Company's automotive product line as
a result of increased marketing and sales efforts while demand for the Company's
engineered  component and transformer product lines decreased as a result of the
struggling economy.

            Cost of sales as a percentage of sales  decreased 2.9% for the three
months  ended  March 31,  2003,  compared to the  corresponding  period in 2002,
principally due to the  implementation of cost containment  measures and the mix
of products sold.

            Selling,  general  and  administrative  expenses  of the  engineered
products segment decreased $99 or 5.8% for the three months ended March 31, 2003
versus the comparable 2002 period.  This decrease is primarily a result of lower
professional fees, as well as management's continuing cost containment efforts.

GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES
-----------------------------------

            General  and   administrative   expenses  not  associated  with  the
manufacturing  operations  increased  $119 or 21.0% for the three  months  ended
March 31, 2003  compared  to such  expenses  incurred  for the  comparable  2002
period. The increase is mainly due to higher pension related expenses and salary
and salary related expenses.

                                 Page 19 of 26

OTHER INCOME AND EXPENSE, NET
-----------------------------

            The components of other income and expense,  net in the Consolidated
Statements of Income are as follows:

       (In Thousands)                                                       Three Months Ended March 31,
                                                                           -----------------------------

                                                                                 2003            2002
                                                                               --------        --------

       Net gain on sale of real estate assets                                   $   141         $ 5,378

       Net loss on sale of available-for-sale securities                              0          (1,005)

       Net realized and unrealized gain on trading securities                        57               0

       Net realized and unrealized gain (loss) on derivative
          instruments                                                               315          (1,862)

       Other, net                                                                   116             (14)
                                                                                -------         -------

                                                                                $   629         $ 2,497
                                                                                =======         =======

DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS
-----------------------

            Operating income from properties sold or held for sale and accounted
for as  discontinued  operations  was $139 on a net of tax  basis  for the three
months ended March 31, 2003,  versus $165 for the comparable 2002 period.  Prior
year amounts have been  reclassified  to reflect  results of  operations of real
properties  sold in 2003 or held for sale as of March 31,  2003 as  discontinued
operations.  Net gains on real estate  accounted for as discontinued  operations
were $1,135 on a net of tax basis for the three  months  ended  March 31,  2003.
Prior to the adoption of SFAS No. 144, gains on sales of real estate assets were
not accounted for as discontinued operations.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES
-------------------------------

            The Company  experienced  a net cash inflow from  operations of $3.1
million for the three  months  ended March 31, 2003 versus $1.2  million for the
three months ended March 31, 2002.  The $1.9 million  increase in operating cash
flow  primarily  results  from  changes in working  capital  and $.9  million in
proceeds  from the sale of trading  securities  in 2003.  The  components of the
working capital changes are set forth in detail in the  Consolidated  Statements
of Cash Flows.

            For the three months ended March 31, 2003, $3.5 million was provided
by investing  activities which consisted  primarily of proceeds from the sale of
real estate  assets of $3.9  million and  proceeds  from the sale of  derivative
instruments of $.5 million  partially offset by purchases of  available-for-sale
securities of $.6 million.

            For the three months  ended March 31, 2002,  $.5 million was used in
investing  activities which consisted  primarily of $1.1 million of purchases of
available-for-sale  securities  net of proceeds  received  from the sale of such
securities.  This was offset by proceeds  from the sale of real estate assets of
$.6 million.

                                 Page 20 of 26

            Net cash used in  financing  activities  was $1.3  million  and $2.5
million  during the three  months  ended March 31, 2003 and 2002,  respectively.
This use of cash  flow was  primarily  attributable  to debt  reduction  and the
purchase and retirement of the Company's common stock.

            At March 31, 2003, the Company's cash and marketable securities were
$73.4  million  and  working  capital  was $66.1  million  compared  to cash and
marketable  securities of $74.8 million and working  capital of $67.0 million at
December 31, 2002.  Management  continues to believe that the real estate market
is overvalued and  accordingly  recent  acquisitions  have been limited to those
select  properties  that meet the Company's  stringent  financial  requirements.
Management  believes  that the  available  working  capital along with the $80.0
million of availability on the revolving credit facility,  discussed below, puts
the Company in an opportune position to fund acquisitions and grow its portfolio
of real estate properties if and when attractive long-term  opportunities become
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
of  approximately  600 of its  stores  during  the past  year.  Kmart's  plan of
reorganization was approved in April 2003 and became effective in May 2003.

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

                                 Page 21 of 26

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
At March 31, 2003,  eligibility under the Revolver was $80.0 million, based upon
the above terms and there were no amounts  outstanding  under the Revolver.  The
credit agreement contains certain financial and restrictive covenants, including
minimum  consolidated  equity,  interest  coverage,  debt  service  coverage and
capital   expenditures  (other  than  for  real  estate),   and  limitations  on
indebtedness.  The Company was in  compliance  with all  covenants  at March 31,
2003.  The credit  agreement also contains  provisions  which allow the banks to
perfect a security  interest in certain  operating and real estate assets in the
event of a default,  as defined in the credit  agreement.  Borrowings  under the
Revolver,  at the  Company's  option,  bear interest at the bank's prime lending
rate or at the London Interbank Offered Rate ("LIBOR") (1.29% at March 31, 2003)
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

RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS
--------------------------

            Refer to Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements for a discussion
of related party transactions.

                                 Page 22 of 26

CRITICAL ACCOUNTING POLICIES AND MANAGEMENT ESTIMATES
-----------------------------------------------------

            Refer  to the  Company's  2002  Annual  Report  on Form  10-K  for a
discussion of the Company's critical accounting policies,  which include revenue
recognition and accounts receivable,  marketable securities,  inventories,  real
estate, discontinued operations, long-lived assets and pension plans. During the
first quarter of 2003, there were no material changes to these policies.

RECENT ACCOUNTING PRONOUNCEMENTS
--------------------------------

            Refer to Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements for a discussion
of recent accounting pronouncements.

FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS
--------------------------

            Certain  statements in this Report on Form 10-Q and other statements
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
statements,  the  inclusion  of such  statements  should  not be  regarded  as a
representation  by the Company or any other person that the  objectives or plans
of the Company will be  achieved.  The Company  also  assumes no  obligation  to
publicly update or revise its forward-looking statements or to advise of changes
in the assumptions  and factors on which they are based.  See the Company's 2002
Annual  Report on Form 10-K for a  discussion  of risk factors that could impact
our  future  financial   performance  and/or  cause  actual  results  to  differ
significantly from those expressed or implied by such statements.

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

                                 Page 23 of 26

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
thereunto duly authorized.

                                       UNITED CAPITAL CORP.

Dated:  May 12, 2003                   By: /s/ Anthony J. Miceli
                                       -----------------------------------------
                                       Anthony J. Miceli
                                       Vice President, Chief Financial Officer
                                       and Secretary of the Company

                                 Page 24 of 26

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
      material weaknesses.

Date: May 12, 2003

                                /s/ A. F. Petrocelli
                                ------------------------------------------------
                                A. F. Petrocelli
                                Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer

                                 Page 25 of 26

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
      material weaknesses.

Date: May 12, 2003

                             /s/ Anthony J. Miceli
                             ---------------------------------------------------
                             Anthony J. Miceli
                             Chief Financial Officer

                                 Page 26 of 26