Jefferies 2011 Global Technology, Internet,
Media & Telecom Conference
May 12, 2011

Safe Harbor
This presentation and management’s public commentary contain certain forward-looking
statements that are subject to risks and uncertainties. These statements are based on
management’s current knowledge and estimates of factors affecting the Company’s operations.
Statements in this presentation that are forward-looking include, but are not limited to, the
statements regarding broadcast and publishing advertising revenues, as well as any guidance
related to the Company’s financial performance.
Actual results may differ materially from those currently anticipated. Factors that could adversely
affect future results include, but are not limited to, downturns in national and/or local economies; a
softening of the domestic advertising market; world, national, or local events that could disrupt
broadcast television; increased consolidation among major advertisers or other events depressing
the level of advertising spending; the unexpected loss or insolvency of one or more major clients;
the integration of acquired businesses; changes in consumer reading, purchasing and/or
television viewing patterns; increases in paper, postage, printing, or syndicated programming
costs; changes in television network affiliation agreements; technological developments affecting
products or the methods of distribution; changes in government regulations affecting the
Company’s industries; unexpected changes in interest rates; and the consequences of any
acquisitions and/or dispositions. The Company undertakes no obligation to update any forward-
looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise.

Agenda
•  Meredith overview
•  Growing our strong consumer connection
•  Our digital growth strategies
•  Financial overview

2002

Magazines
Integrated Marketing   Books
  Interactive
Content Library
Database
Meredith: Over 100 Years of Success…

 2003

…and Evolving
Launch of Mobile Sites, Apps
Launch of Tablet editions
Launch of Meredith Video Network

Online: Meredith Women’s
Network
Magazines: Home, Family,
Health & Well-being
Consumer Events
Custom Marketing
Database Marketing
Video Studios
Brand Licensing
Mobile
Tablet
Meredith Today: Scale Assets Across Media Platforms

*before corporate expense
Newer Businesses Growing Contribution to Operating Profit
Fiscal 2011 YTD
Fiscal 2001
7
Magazine, Television & Other
Meredith Integrated Marketing
Brand licensing
Interactive

Agenda
•  Meredith overview
•  Growing our strong consumer connection
•  Our digital growth strategies
•  Financial overview

Consistently Strong and Rising Readership
Source: Fall MRI Reports.

Adult Readership in Millions

Increasing Digital Audience
Average Monthly Unique Visitors in Millions

220
More Hours of Locally Produced News

Growing Branded Products at Retail
SKUs of Better Homes and Gardens licensed product at Walmart
500
1,000

Agenda
•  Meredith overview
•  Growing our strong consumer connection
•  Our digital growth strategies

•  Financial overview

Our Digital Growth Strategies
• Migrate the consumer relationship online
• Extend brands across consumer web
• Increase social media presence
• Develop mobile platforms
• Launch tablet editions
• Expand Meredith Integrated Marketing digital offerings

Migrate the Consumer Relationship Online

1.1
Subscriptions Generated Online in Millions

• 2007
• 2008
• 2009
• 2010
• 2011
Launch of Parents Network
Social networking development
Meredith Women’s Network,
Better.tv and Parents.tv,
Relaunch of TV station sites
Extend Brands Across Consumer Web
Redesign of BHG.com

Expansion of Better Homes and
 Gardens Network

Increase Social Media Presence

✦ Mobile sites active for
   largest brands
✦ 9 apps completed, with more
 in pipeline focused on:
 - Parenthood
 - Food
 - Health
 - Self Development
 ✦ Mobile sites launched for
  most stations

 ✦ Apps focused on high-interest
  topics such as:

 - Weather
 - Sports
 - Local information

Launch Tablet Editions
•  Additional content
•  Deeper, richer experience
•  Multiple revenue streams:
 - Single-copy sales
 - Subscriptions
 - Advertising

Expand Meredith Integrated Marketing Digital Offerings

IFOOD ASSISTANT
Provide recipe solutions to
 consumers on the go
• Kraft’s mobile
 AOR
DATABASE
8MM+ consumers
 who requested
 content from Kraft
DIGITAL MAGAZINE
www.foodandfamily.com
Cutting-edge interactivity
 of the digital magazine
 combines the best of the
 web, TV and print
• 1MM unique
 monthly visitors
• 7X annual
VIDEO
• 200 cooking videos in 4
 languages, bringing the
 brand to life.
• You Gotta LOL, a series
 of videos bringing
 comedic relief to Kraft
 consumers
PRINT MAGAZINES
Provides consumers
 with ideas for creating
 deliciously simple food,
 every day
• 4X annual frequency
• 4 languages
EMAILS
Reach opt-in consumers weekly, on special
 occasions and about topics that interest them.
KRAFTRECIPES.COM
Deliver seasonal content for one of the
 biggest food websites in the market
• 4MM+ unique
 monthly visitors
• 4 languages
BIG FORK LITTLE FORK
An innovative iPad
 app, and parents best
 resource to feed their
 kids healthy meals.
• Nutritious recipes
• Tips & Tricks
• Videos
Kraft Food & Family Marketing Engine

Kraft Food and Family Print

Kraft Food and Family Email Program

Kraft Food and Family Digital

Kraft Food and Family Custom Video

Kraft Food and Family Mobile

Agenda
•  Meredith overview
•  Growing our strong consumer connection
•  Our digital growth strategies

•  Financial overview

% of Total Revenues			Performance by Category
	Meredith	Industry	Industry 10-Year CAGR	Meredith3 rd Qtr 2011*
Food-Beverage	23%	10%	+4%	(2)%
Pharmaceutical	21%	12%	+5%	(10)%
Beauty	13%	13%	+7%	1%
Retail	6%	7%	+5%	6%
Household Supplies	6%	2%	+6%	8%

Home	4%	2%	(1)%	(25)%
Direct Response	6%	7%	0%	(7)%

TOTAL Meredith				(5)%
TOTAL Industry				6%
Meredith Top Advertising Category Mix vs. Industry
Source: Publishers Information Bureau
*January, February and March 2011 issues

Magazine Advertising Performance vs. Industry
12 Months Ending 3/31	Meredith	Industry	Meredith vs. Industry (Pct. Pts.)	Meredith Share
2008	7.7%	4.8%	3.7	9.6%
2009	(10.0)%	(11.3)%	1.3	9.8%
2010	7.2%	(14.9)%	22.1	12.3%
2011	(0.1)%	5.2%	(5.3)	11.7%
PIB Advertising Revenues
*Year-over-year change
Source: Publishers Information Bureau

Consistently Generate Strong Cash Flow
12% CAGR
5% CAGR
$ in millions; fiscal years

 200
Stock Option Exercises
$2,000
Utilization of Cash
 200
Net Debt
 300
Capital Expenditures
600
Acquisitions, Net of Dispositions
$2,000
Available Cash
$1,800
Operating Cash Flow
 300
Dividends
$600
Share Repurchases
 $900
SUBTOTAL
Returned to Shareholders
Reinvested in Business
 $900
SUBTOTAL
Use of Cash: Fiscal 2001 through 2010

$ in thousands

Outstanding Record of Dividend Increases
13% CAGR
Calendar years

Fiscal 2011 Earnings Per Share Outlook
$2.72 to $2.78
• Earnings per share
Guidance for fiscal 2011 given in July 2010
33
Guidance for fiscal 2011 given in April 2011
$2.40 to $2.75
• Earnings per share
• Represents growth of approximately 20% over fiscal 2010

Jefferies 2011 Global Technology, Internet,
Media & Telecom Conference
May 12, 2011