Jefferies 6th Annual Global Internet,
Media and Telecom Conference
New York City
May 2010
Stephen Lacy: Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Joe Ceryanec, Chief Financial Officer

Safe Harbor
This presentation and management’s public commentary contain certain forward-looking statements
that are subject to risks and uncertainties. These statements are based on management’s current
knowledge and estimates of factors affecting the Company’s operations. Statements in this presentation
that are forward-looking include, but are not limited to, the statements regarding broadcast pacings,
publishing advertising revenues, as well as any guidance related to the Company’s financial
performance.
Actual results may differ materially from those currently anticipated. Factors that could adversely affect
future results include, but are not limited to, downturns in national and/or local economies; a softening of
the domestic advertising market; world, national, or local events that could disrupt broadcast television;
increased consolidation among major advertisers or other events depressing the level of advertising
spending; the unexpected loss or insolvency of one or more major clients; the integration of acquired
businesses; changes in consumer reading, purchasing and/or television viewing patterns; increases in
paper, postage, printing, or syndicated programming costs; changes in television network affiliation
agreements; technological developments affecting products or the methods of distribution; changes in
government regulations affecting the Company’s industries; unexpected changes in interest rates; and
the consequences of any acquisitions and/or dispositions. The Company undertakes no obligation to
update any forward-looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future events, or
otherwise.

Broad Media and Marketing Footprint
National
Media Brands
Meredith
Integrated
Marketing
Local  Media
Brands
Revenues:
$960 million
Revenues:
$175 million
Revenues:
$275 million

Five Things to Know About Meredith
1. The largest media company serving U.S. women
 • Reach 75 million women who make the majority of household
 purchasing decisions, regardless of economic climate

Agenda

Her Family
Her Home
Her Self
Delivering The Largest Adult Female Audience
Largest Media Company Serving Women

2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
Strengthening Reach to Young Adults and Families
	2004	2009
Advertising Market Share	10%	28%
Online Unique Visitors	<1M	5M

Largest Media Company Serving Women
mobile

Five Things to Know About Meredith
1. The largest media company serving U.S. women

2. Strong consumer connection across multiple platforms
 • Magazines, Internet, Television, Retail, Mobile

Agenda

Growing Readership
Source: Fall 1999 & 2009 MRI Reports
* Traditional Home and Midwest Living
	1999	2009
Better Homes and Gardens	33	39
Family Circle	22	20
Parents	12	15
Ladies’ Home Journal	15	12
Fitness	6	6
American Baby	5	7
More	NA	2
Other*	4	8
TOTAL	97	109
+12%
Readership in Millions
Strong Consumer Connection

Growing Online Consumer Connection
Source: Meredith, in millions
20
National Media Group Average Monthly Unique Visitors
33% CAGR
12

7
2
Strong Consumer Connection

220
260
270
380
400
Strong Consumer Connection
Increased Hours of Locally Produced News Programming
Morning news hours up 40% over 5 years
Adding 4 p.m. news across group
Building 24-hour multi-platform news culture

Growing Presence in Brand Licensing
 – Sales meeting expectations
 – SKUs doubled to 2,000 from prior year
 – Introduced line of paint
 – Expanded to Canada
Garden
Interior decor
Canada
Strong Consumer Connection
Paint

Meredith’s Approach to Mobile for Consumers
• Smart device adoption rate growing
• Early-adopter advertisers showing interest
Strong Consumer Connection
Trends we see:
• Launching mobile versions of our brands
• Next Issue Media initiative among publishers
• Pearl initiative among broadcasters
What we’re doing:

Mobile Consumer Demand Growing
Unique Visitors	Page Views
40	150
115	430
35	115
#’s in thousands
Unique Visitors	Page Views
80	320
325	1,250
95	415
September 2009
March 2010
Strong Consumer Connection

• Create best-in-class consumer mobile experience
• Develop audience scale for mobile advertisers/marketers
• Leverage platform for other initiatives (e-commerce, etc.)
Mobilizing Sites for Large and Enthusiast Brands
Strong Consumer Connection

• Largest magazine companies
• Creating digital standards to:
  Ensure consistent consumer experience
  Create open standards for advertising
  Develop business model
  Be available across different device types
Meredith and Next Issue Media
Strong Consumer Connection

• JV to develop national mobile service
• 12 leading broadcast groups
• Uses existing broadcast spectrum
• Content includes:
 –  Live and on-demand video
 –  Local and national news
 –  Sports and entertainment
Meredith and Pearl Mobile DTV Initiative
Strong Consumer Connection

Five Things to Know About Meredith
1. The largest media company serving U.S. women
 • Gaining share on improving advertising revenue performance

Agenda

Source: Publishers Information Bureau (April - March issues)
Magazine Advertising Revenue Performance
Meredith Outperforming Industry
Trailing 12 Months
Meredith
7%
Time, Inc.
Martha Stewart
Readers Digest
Hachette
Rodale
Hearst
Industry
Conde Nast
(4)%
(5)%
(6)%
(9)%
(10)%
(11)%
(15)%
(21)%

Online: Meredith
Women’s Network
Magazines: Home, Family,
Health & Well-being
Consumer Events
Custom Marketing
Database Marketing
Video Studios
Brand Licensing
Emphasize 360° Marketing Approach
Meredith Outperforming Industry
Mobile
E-Reader

Fiscal	Meredith Internal	Industry TvB
Q409	(25)%	(25)%
Q110	(13)%	(19)%
Q210	5%	4%
Q310	17%	16%
Source: Meredith and Television Bureau of Advertising
Spot only revenue

Television Advertising Revenue Performance
Meredith Outperforming Industry

Production initiatives
 - Multi-media journalists
 - 24 hour content creation
Sales initiatives
 - Local, mobile and online opportunities
 - One Service
Content initiatives
 - Better, Video on Demand
 - Pearl Mobile DTV
Creating New Opportunities in Local Media
Meredith Outperforming Industry

Election Year Outlook Bright
Governor races:
 • Open seats in CT, GA, KS, MI, OR, SC, TN,
 • Incumbents facing tough races in AZ, MA, NV
Senate races:
 • Open seats in CT, KS, MO
 • Incumbents facing tough races in AZ, NC, NV
House races:
 • Open seats in AZ, KS, TN, WA
 • Incumbents facing tough races in CT, KS, MO, NV
Political Advertising

Five Things to Know About Meredith
1. The largest media company serving U.S. women
 • Revenues more than doubled in five years

Agenda

Meredith Integrated Marketing
Marketing Services Industry Spending Growing
Forecast
$ in billions; Source: VSS September 2009

Database
Mobile
Digital
Word of
mouth
Healthcare
Assembling Array of Custom Marketing Capabilities

Meredith Integrated Marketing

24% CAGR
$ in millions
Meredith Integrated Marketing
Delivering Strong Revenue Growth Over Time

iFood Assistant
Database
Digital Magazine
Video
Magazines
Emails
Social Marketing
Online
Case Study: Evolution of the Kraft CRM
Meredith Integrated Marketing

• GPS-based store locater
• Step-by-step directions
• Instructional videos
• Shopping list tool
The Kraft CRM iFood Assistant
Meredith Integrated Marketing

Five Things to Know About Meredith
1. The largest media company serving U.S. women
5. Strong balance sheet and financial position
 • Strong cash flow, low debt and consistent dividend growth

Agenda

Fiscal Third Quarter Highlights
	Q310	Q309	% var
Total Company revenue	$353	$338	+5%
Operating Profit	$56	$43	+30%
Operating Profit Margin	16%	13%	+300 bps
Earnings per share	$0.73*	$0.56	+30%
In millions except per share data and profit margin
* Includes a benefit of $0.04 from special items, primarily the
resolution of an income tax contingency
Strong Financial Management

Improving Advertising Performance
Fiscal	Total Company Advertising
Q409	(14.9%)
Q110	(9.5%)
Q210	(6.9%)
Q310	+8.1%
Q410*	+7 to 8%
* = Forecast
Strong Financial Management

Consistently Generate Strong Cash Flow
12% CAGR
5% CAGR
$ in millions; fiscal years
Strong Financial Management
$131
$160
$163
$171
$194
$211
$256
$181

$ in millions; fiscal years
Assumes revolving facilities are renewed upon expiration.
Consistent Debt Reduction
$130
Illustration of Meredith’s debt balance
assuming current maturity schedule
Strong Financial Management

$305
$205
$485
$155
$255
$380

Track Record of Dividend Increases
12% CAGR
Strong Financial Management
Calendar years

Q410
Total Company advertising revenue	+7 to 8%
National Media advertising revenue	Flat to up Slightly
Local Media advertising revenue	Up high teens
Earnings per share*	$0.61 to $0.66
Fiscal Fourth Quarter and Full Year Outlook
* Excludes special items
Fiscal 2010 earnings per share*	$2.13 to $2.18

Five Things to Know About Meredith
1. The largest media company serving U.S. women

2. Strong consumer connection across multiple platforms
3. Outperforming Peers
4. Growing marketing solutions business
5. Strong balance sheet and financial position