Exhibit 99.1
          McMoRan EXPLORATION CO.
        ANNOUNCES AGREEMENT TO SELL
      CERTAIN OIL AND GAS PROPERTIES


NEW ORLEANS, LA, January 28, 2002 - McMoRan
Exploration Co. (NYSE:MMR) today announced that its
oil and gas exploration and development subsidiary,
McMoRan Oil & Gas LLC, has signed a definitive
agreement to sell three of its oil and gas properties
to a third party for $60 million.  McMoRan will use
the proceeds from this transaction to repay
outstanding borrowings under its oil and gas bank
credit facility, which totaled $50.7 million as of
January 25, 2002, and for other general corporate
purposes. In connection with the transaction closing,
expected in February 2002, McMoRan Oil & Gas LLC will
terminate its existing bank credit facility and is
pursuing new financing arrangements.

     The properties are being sold subject to a
reversionary interest after "payout," which would
occur at the point at which the purchaser receives
aggregate cumulative revenues from the properties of
$60 million plus an agreed upon rate of return.
After payout, 75 percent of the interests sold revert
to McMoRan.

     The transaction will be effective January 1,
2002. Following the transaction, McMoRan estimates its
average net daily production not attributed to the
properties sold will approximate 30 million cubic
feet of natural gas equivalent (mmcfe) during the
first quarter of 2002.   In addition, McMoRan
estimates its average net daily production to
approximate 3,000 barrels of oil from Main Pass 299.

     McMoRan will continue its active deep gas
exploration program in the shallow waters on the
shelf of the Gulf of Mexico, where it holds
approximately 500,000 gross acres of offshore
exploration leases.

     McMoRan Exploration Co. is an independent public
company engaged in the exploration, development and
production of oil and natural gas offshore in the
Gulf of Mexico and onshore in the Gulf Coast area;
and the purchasing, transporting, terminaling,
processing and marketing of sulphur.  Additional
information about McMoRan is available on our
Internet web site ("www.mcmoran.com").

     Cautionary Statement: This press release
contains forward-looking statements.  Forward-looking
statements are all statements other than historical
facts, including statements regarding plans and
objectives of management for future operations,
expectations of oil and gas flow rates and
future financing activities.  Important factors
that could cause actual results to differ
materially from our expectations include the
expected flow rates and other factors described
in our most recent Form 10-K and subsequent
Forms 10-Q filed with the SEC.