CERTIFICATION OF PERIODIC FINANCIAL REPORTS

I, Robert J. Bahash, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc., certify, pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, that:

(1)  the Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended June 30, 2002 (the “Periodic Report”) which this statement accompanies fully complies with the requirements of Section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 78m or 78o(d)) and

(2)  information contained in the Periodic Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.

This certificate is being furnished solely for purposes of Section 906 and is not being filed as part of the Periodic Report.

/S/ ROBERT J. BAHASH
Robert J. Bahash Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Dated: August 2, 2002