MCGRAW-HILL COMPANIES INC (CIK 64040)
Form 10-Q
period 2000-03-31
filed 2000-05-05

UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                            WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549
                                   FORM 10-Q


[X]        QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15 (d) OF THE
                        SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                 For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2000

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

                        YES  [X]         NO  [ ]

On April 30, 2000 there were approximately 194.5 million shares of common stock (par value $1.00 per share) outstanding.

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

   Item 1.  Financial Statements
   -------
             Consolidated Statement of Income for
             the three months ended March 31, 2000 and 1999           3

             Consolidated Balance Sheet at March 31, 2000,
             December 31, 1999 and March 31, 1999                    4-5

             Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows for the three       6
             months ended March 31, 2000 and 1999

             Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements              7-10


   Item 2.  Management's Discussion and Analysis of Operating
   ------   Results and Financial Condition                         11-13


Part II.  OTHER INFORMATION
---------------------------

   Item 1.  Legal Proceedings                                         14
   ------

   Item 6.  Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                        15-30
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
                  Three Months Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999
                  ------------------------------------------


                                                      2000           1999
                                                   -----------    -----------
                                                     (in thousands, except
                                                        per-share data)

Operating revenue                                  $   802,534    $   716,471
Expenses:
   Operating                                           373,845        351,081
   Selling and general                                 291,508        267,590
  Depreciation and amortization                         59,197         52,867
                                                   -----------    -----------
      Total expenses                                   724,550        671,538

Other income - net                                      25,039          4,586
                                                   -----------    -----------
Income from operations                                 103,023         49,519

Interest expense - net                                   9,345          9,441
                                                   -----------    -----------

Income before taxes on income                           93,678         40,078

Provision for taxes on income                           36,066         15,630
                                                   -----------    -----------
Net Income                                         $    57,612    $    24,448
                                                   ===========    ===========

Earnings per common share:

   Basic                                           $      0.30    $      0.12
                                                   ===========    ===========

   Diluted                                         $      0.29    $      0.12
                                                   ===========    ===========
Average number of common
   shares outstanding:  (Note 9)

   Basic                                               194,391        196,847

   Diluted                                             196,104        199,330


                                The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.
                                ------------------------------
                                 Consolidated Balance Sheet
                                --------------------------


                                            March 31,    Dec. 31,   March 31,
                                              2000         1999       1999
                                            ---------- -----------   ----------
                                                       (In thousands)
ASSETS

Current assets:                                  <C>           <C>         <C>
   Cash and equivalents                     $   6,812    $    6,489   $   36,041
   Accounts receivable (net of allowance
     for doubtful accounts and sales
     returns)  (Note 4)                       786,047     1,048,991      773,667
   Receivable from broker-dealers and
     dealer banks (Note 5)                     12,920         3,615        7,286
   Inventories (Note 4)                       356,301       295,255      300,318
   Deferred income taxes                      111,345       113,206       92,820
   Prepaid and other current assets           110,197        86,169      107,293
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
       Total current assets                 1,383,622     1,553,725    1,317,425
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------

Prepublication costs (net of accumulated
amortization)  (Note 4)                       454,833       439,351      365,919

Investments and other assets:
   Investment in Rock-McGraw, Inc. - at
     equity                                    88,268        85,997       81,115
   Prepaid pension expense                    127,870       119,495      110,758
   Other                                      201,091       206,770      192,660
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
      Total investments and other assets      417,229       412,262      384,533
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------

Property and equipment  -  at cost            949,210       993,704      962,471
   Less - accumulated depreciation            539,034       563,296      568,103
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
       Net property and equipment             410,176       430,408      394,368

Goodwill and other intangible assets - at
   cost (net of accumulated amortization)   1,201,342     1,253,051    1,238,722
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
                                           $3,867,202    $4,088,797   $3,700,967
                                           ==========    ==========   ==========


                         The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.
                         -------------------------------
                            Consolidated Balance Sheet
                            --------------------------


                                            March 31,    Dec. 31,    March 31,
                                              2000         1999        1999
                                            ---------- -----------   ----------
                                                       (In thousands)
LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY

Current liabilities:
   Notes payable                           $  139,976    $   86,631   $  189,113
   Current portion of long-term debt           95,043        95,043         -
   Accounts payable                           218,782       340,220      226,310
   Payable to broker-dealers and dealer
     banks  (Note 5)                           12,781         2,725        5,790
   Accrued liabilities                        224,800       345,339      204,555
   Income taxes currently payable             130,118       105,066       62,917
   Unearned revenue                           253,959       242,494      247,825
   Other current liabilities                  294,875       307,935      278,859
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
       Total current liabilities            1,370,334     1,525,453    1,215,369
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
Other liabilities:
   Long-term debt (Note 6)                    353,175       354,775      451,825
   Deferred income taxes                      123,157       135,426      123,224
   Accrued postretirement healthcare and
     other benefits                           186,593       187,485      192,297
   Other non-current liabilities              195,132       194,165      159,380
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
      Total other liabilities                 858,057       871,851      926,726
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
      Total liabilities                     2,228,391     2,397,304    2,142,095
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
Shareholders' equity (Note 7 & 8):
   Capital stock                              205,852       205,852      205,852
   Additional paid-in capital                  36,806        24,305       19,998
   Retained income                          1,938,780     1,926,816    1,652,249
   Accumulated other comprehensive income     (87,842)     (87,731)     (78,975)
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
                                            2,093,596     2,069,242    1,799,124

   Less - common stock in treasury-at cost    440,091       363,728      222,505
   Unearned compensation on restricted stock   14,694        14,021       17,747
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
      Total shareholders' equity            1,638,811     1,691,493    1,558,872
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
                                           $3,867,202    $4,088,797   $3,700,967
                                           ==========    ==========   ==========


                         The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.
                         -------------------------------
                      Consolidated Statement of Cash Flows
                      ------------------------------------
               For The Three Months Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999
               --------------------------------------------------

                                                           2000         1999
<S>                                                     ----------  -----------
Cash flows from operating activities                         (In thousands)
---------------------------------------------                <C>           <C>
Net income                                               $  57,612     $  24,448
Adjustments to reconcile net income to
    cash provided by operating activities:
   Depreciation                                             21,180        19,515
   Amortization of goodwill and intangibles                 13,954        13,227
   Amortization of prepublication costs                     24,063        20,125
   Gain on sale of Tower Group International               (16,587)          -
   Provision for losses on accounts receivable              14,505        10,033
   Other                                                    (2,443)      (1,546)
Changes in assets and liabilities net of effect of
    acquisitions and dispositions:
   Decrease in accounts receivable                         149,312       166,161
   Increase in inventories                                 (61,612)     (15,957)
   Increase in prepaid and other current assets            (25,020)     (21,525)
   Decrease in accounts payable and accrued expenses      (205,724)    (200,296)
   Increase in unearned revenue                             11,981        11,857
   (Decrease) / increase in other current liabilities      (17,290)        3,947
   Increase / (decrease) in interest and income taxes
     currently payable                                      28,815       (4,235)
   Increase / (decrease) in deferred income taxes              658         (176)
   Net change in other assets and liabilities               (9,665)        (545)
---------------------------------------------------      ---------     ---------
Cash provided by operating activities                      (16,261)       25,033
---------------------------------------------------      ---------     ---------
Investing activities
-------------------------
   Investment in prepublication costs                      (35,845)     (27,026)
   Purchases of property and equipment                     (16,377)     (51,507)
   Disposition of property, equipment and businesses       139,150          189
---------------------------------------------------      ---------     ---------
   Cash used for investing activities                       86,928      (78,344)
---------------------------------------------------       ---------    ---------
   Financing activities
----------------------------
   Additions to / (repayments of) short-term debt - net     53,414       114,122
   Dividends paid to shareholders                          (45,648)     (42,300)
   Repurchase of treasury shares                           (78,611)        -
   Exercise of stock options                                 2,115         7,563
   Other                                                      (888)           62
---------------------------------------------------       ---------    ---------
Cash provided by financing activities                      (69,618)       79,447
---------------------------------------------------       ---------    ---------
Effect of exchange rate fluctuations on cash                  (726)        (546)
                                                          ---------    ---------
Net change in cash and equivalents                             323        25,590

Cash and equivalents at beginning of period                  6,489        10,451
---------------------------------------------------       ---------    ---------
Cash and equivalents at end of period                       $6,812     $  36,041
                                                          =========    =========

                       The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.
                       -------------------------------

                        Notes to Financial Statements
                        -----------------------------


1. The financial information in this report has not been audited, but
   in the opinion of management all adjustments (consisting only of normal recurring adjustments) considered necessary to present fairly such information have been included. The operating results for the three months ended March 31, 2000 and 1999 are not necessarily indicative of results to be expected for the full year due to the seasonal nature of some of the company's businesses. The financial statements included herein should be read in conjunction with the financial statements and notes included in the company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 1999.

   Certain prior year amounts have been reclassified for comparability
   purposes.


2. The following table is a reconciliation of the company's net income
   to comprehensive income for the three month period ended March 31, 2000:

<TABLE>                                              2000             1999
<CAPTION>                                         -----------    -----------
                                                     (in thousands, except
                                                      per-share data)

    Net income                                   $    57,612     $    24,448
    Other comprehensive income, net of tax:
    Foreign currency translation adjustments            (111)         (3,013)
                                                 -----------     -----------
    Total other comprehensive income                    (111)         (3,013)
                                                 -----------     -----------
    Comprehensive income                         $    57,501     $    21,435
                                                 ===========     ===========

3. The company has three reportable segments: Educational and
   Professional Publishing, Financial Services, and Information and Media
   Services.  The educational and professional publishing segment provides
   educational and professional reference materials, training and lifetime
   learning for students and professionals.  The financial services segment
   consists of Standard & Poor's operations, which provide a wide range of
   financial information, credit ratings and analysis globally.  The
   information and media services segment includes business and professional
   media offering information, insight and analysis.

                       The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.
                       -------------------------------

                        Notes to Financial Statements
                        -----------------------------

  Operating profit by segment is the primary basis for the chief operating
  decision maker of the company, the CEO Council, to evaluate the
  performance of each segment.  A summary of operating results by segment
  for the three months ended March 31, 2000 and 1999 follows:

                                            2000                  1999
                                    -------------------  --------------------
                                          Operating            Operating
                                     Revenue    Profit    Revenue     Profit
                                    --------  ---------  ---------   ---------
                                                  (in thousands)
    Educational and Professional        <C>         <C>      <C>         <C>
       Publishing                    $238,682   $(36,770)  $208,983  $(43,857)
    Financial Services                317,041    101,511    292,846    91,653
    Information and Media Services    246,811     57,066    214,642    18,084
    -------------------------------- --------   --------   --------  --------
    Total operating segments          802,534    121,807    716,471    65,880
    General corporate expense             -      (18,784)      -      (16,361)
    Interest expense - net                -       (9,345)      -       (9,441)
    -------------------------------- --------   --------   --------  --------
    Total company                    $802,534  $ 93,678*   $716,471  $ 40,078*
                                     ========   ========   ========  ========

*Income before taxes on income.

4. The allowance for doubtful accounts and sales returns, the
   components of inventory and the accumulated amortization of prepublication
   costs were as follows:

                                           March 31,    Dec. 31,    March 31,
                                              2000         1999        1999
                                           ----------  ----------    ----------
                                                       (In thousands)


  Allowance for doubtful accounts          $  127,131   $   125,144   $  107,377
                                           ==========   ===========   ==========
    Allowance for sales returns            $   87,677   $   107,382   $   83,220
                                           ==========   ===========   ==========

    Inventories:
    Finished goods                         $  294,047   $   239,139   $  241,897
    Work-in-process                            29,758        25,205       39,191
    Paper and other materials                  32,496        30,911       19,230
                                           ----------   -----------   ----------
    Total inventories                      $  356,301   $   295,255   $  300,318
                                           ==========   ===========   ==========

    Accumulated amortization of
      prepublication costs                 $  540,096   $   661,207   $  512,610
                                           ==========   ===========   ==========

5.  A subsidiary of J.J. Kenny Co. acts as an undisclosed agent in the
   purchase and sale of municipal securities for broker-dealers and dealer
   banks and the company had $182.1 million of matched purchase and sale
   commitments at

<PAGE>                 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.
<TABLE>                -------------------------------
                        Notes to Financial Statements
                        -----------------------------

   March 31, 2000.  Only those transactions not closed at the settlement date
   are reflected in the balance sheet as receivables and payables.

6.    A summary of long-term debt follows:

                                            March 31,    Dec. 31,     March 31,
                                              2000         1999         1999
                                           ----------  ----------    ----------
                                                       (In thousands)


   9.43% Notes due 2000                    $   95,043    $   95,043   $   95,043
   Commercial paper supported by
      bank revolving credit agreement         350,000       350,000      350,000
   Other                                        3,175         4,775        6,782
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
   Total long-term debt                       448,218       449,818      451,825
   Less: Current portion of long-term debt    (95,043)      (95,043)        -
                                           ----------    ----------   ----------
                                           $  353,175    $  354,775   $  451,825
                                           ==========    ==========   ==========

7. Common shares reserved for issuance for conversions and stock based awards
   were as follows:
                                            March 31,     Dec. 31,     March 31,
                                              2000          1999          1999
<S>                                        ----------   ----------    ----------
   $1.20 convertible preference stock
      at the rate of 13.2 shares for each         <C>         <C>          <C>
      share of preference stock                17,846        17,846       17,978
   Stock based awards                      15,554,930    15,941,131   17,081,129
                                            ---------     ---------    ---------
                                           15,572,776    15,958,977   17,099,107
                                           ==========    ==========   ==========

8. Cash dividends per share declared during the three months ended March 31,
   2000 and 1999 were as follows:

                                     2000     1999
                                     ----     ----
   Common stock                     $.235    $.215
   Preference stock                  .300     .300

9. A reconciliation of the number of shares used for calculating basic
   earnings per common share and diluted earnings per common share for the
   three months ended March 31, 2000 and 1999 follows:
                                                           2000          1999
                                                          ----------  ----------
                                                             (In thousands)

Average number of common shares outstanding                  194,391     196,847
   Effect of stock options and other dilutive securities       1,713       2,483
                                                          ----------  ----------
   Average number of common shares outstanding including
     effect of dilutive securities                           196,104     199,330
                                                          ==========  ==========

   Restricted performance shares outstanding at March 31, 2000 of 580,000
   were not included in the computation of diluted earnings per common shares
   because the necessary vesting conditions have not yet been made.

10.In June  1998,  the FASB  issued  SFAS No.  133,  Accounting  for  Derivative
   Instruments  and Hedging  Activities.  The new standard is effective
   January 1, 2001. SFAS No. 133 establishes accounting and reporting standards
   for derivative instruments  and for hedging  activities,  requiring
   companies to recognize all derivatives as either assets or liabilities on
   their balance sheet and measuring them at fair value. The adoption of
   SFAS No. 133 will not have a material impact on the company's financial
   statements.

  Management's Discussion and Analysis of Operating Results and Financial
  -----------------------------------------------------------------------
                                 Condition
                                 ---------
Operating Results - Comparing Three Months Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Consolidated Review
-------------------
Operating  revenue for the first  quarter grew 12.0% over prior year's first
quarter  to  $802.5  million.   The  revenue  increase  reflects  the  solid
performance  of Standard & Poor's  Ratings,  a strong start on education and
outstanding  results at Business  Week.  Net income,  including  the gain on
the sale of  Tower  Group  International  on  February  29,  2000 was  $57.6
million,  an increase of $33.2 million,  or 135.7%,  over prior year's first
quarter.

Excluding  the gain on the sale,  net income was $47.4  million an  increase
of $23.0  million,  or 93.9%,  over  prior  year's  first  quarter.  Diluted
earnings per share  including  the gain  increased to 29 cents and excluding
the gain  increased  to 24 cents  from 12 cents in the  prior  year's  first
quarter.  The first quarter  represents the Company's  smallest  quarter due
to the seasonal aspect of the Company's educational publishing operations.

Total  expenses in 2000  increased  7.9% due to  investments in new products
and services in addition to increases in normal recurring expenses.

Net interest  expense  decreased 1.0% to $9.3 million from $9.4 million over
the first  quarter of 1999.  The primary  reason for  decrease is lower debt
levels  due to cash  proceeds  from the sale of Tower  Group  International.
The average  interest rate on commercial  paper  borrowings  increased  from
5.1% in 1999 to 5.9% in 2000.

The  provision  for taxes as a  percent  of  income  before  taxes is 38.5%,
compared to 39% in 1999.

Segment Review
--------------
Educational and  Professional  Publishing  revenue  increased 14.2% over the
prior year's first quarter to $238.7 million.

SRA/McGraw-Hill  performed  well on its basic reading  skills  program.  The
School  division did well in  California  with its social  studies  program.
Glencoe/McGraw-Hill    showed    solid    gains    in   open    territories.
Glencoe/McGraw-Hill  also experienced  good sales on its literature  program
in Texas.  CTB/McGraw-Hill  had an  outstanding  quarter with its  TerraNova
program.  The  Higher  Education  Group had growth in  virtually  all of its
titles.  The  combination  of texts with  digital  solutions is adding sales
in  the  college  and  university   market.   The   Professional   Book  and
International  operations  had increased  revenue for the quarter.  Appleton
& Lange, the medical  publisher  acquired in June 1999,  contributed to this
growth.    International   Publishing   benefited   from   improvements   in
Australia,  Asia/Pacific  and  Canadian  markets.  The gains came  primarily
from volume increases.

The operating  loss for the Education and  Professional  Publishing  segment
decreased  $7.1 million to $36.8  million  over prior year's first  quarter,
reflecting  the  impact  of the  strong  first  quarter  performance  on the
segment's  seasonal  operating  loss  for  spending  in  preparation  of the
segment's selling period.

Financial  Services'  revenue increased 8.3% to $317.0 million and operating
profits  increased  10.8% to  $101.5  million.  Standard  &  Poor's  Ratings
Services  revenue and operating  profit  increased  double digit even though
new  issue  dollar  volume in the  first  quarter  was down 6.9% in the U.S.
bond  market and off 12.8% in Europe.  The areas  that  contributed  most to
the growth were Corporate Finance,  Financial  Institutions,  and Insurance.
Growth came from the  European,  Asian and Latin  American  markets and such
products as bank loan ratings and ratings  evaluation  services.  Standard &
Poor's   Information   Services  showed  revenue  increase  from  index  and
portfolio   services  as  expansion   continued.   Internet   redistribution
services  benefited  from the  strong  sales of quote  feeds and  analytical
commentary  to financial  Websites and  Internet  redistributors.  Continued
softness in the  secondary  municipal  bond market  negatively  affected the
Capital Markets group.

Information and Media Services' revenue  increased $32.2 million,  15.0%, to
$246.8  million  during  the  quarter.  Operating  profit  for  the  segment
including  the gain on the sale of Tower Group  International  increased  to
$57.1  million,  a $39.0  million  increase  over  the  prior  year's  first
quarter.  Excluding  the  gain on the  sale of  Tower  Group  International,
operating  profit  for the  segment  increased  to  $40.5  million,  a $22.4
million increase over the prior year's first quarter.

Business Week continued its outstanding  performance  with a 32% increase in
advertising  pages,  according to the Publishers  Information  Bureau.  This
was  the  best  first   quarter  in   Business   Week's   71-year   history.
Broadcasting also had an outstanding  quarter due to political  advertising,
the   Super   Bowl   and    increases    in   its   base    business.    The
Business-to-Business  Group,  comprised  of the  Aviation  Week  Group,  the
Energy Group, the Healthcare Group and the Construction  Information  Group,
displayed   increased   revenue  with  a  decline  in   operating   profits.
Investments  in the  launching of vertical hubs for  Construction,  Aviation
and Energy negatively impacted profits.

Financial Condition
-------------------
The company  continues to maintain a strong  financial  position.  Cash used
by  operating   activities  in  the  first  quarter  totaled  $16.3  million
compared  to  $25.0  million   provided  in  the  prior  year.   Total  debt
increased  $52.0 million since  year-end,  reflecting  seasonal  spending by
the company for inventory and  prepublication  costs,  dividend payments and
costs  related  to the share  repurchase  program,  offset  somewhat  by the
proceeds from the  divestiture of Tower Group  International.  The company's
strong  presence in school and higher  education  significantly  impacts the
seasonality  of its earnings and borrowing  patterns  during the year,  with
the  company  borrowing  during  the first  half of the year and  generating
cash in the second half of the year, primarily in the fourth quarter.

Commercial  paper  borrowings at March 31, 2000 totaled $465.4  million,  an
increase of $54.4  million  from  December  31,  1999.  Commercial  paper is
supported  by a $800  million  revolving  credit  agreement  with a group of
banks  terminating in February  2002,  and $350 million has been  classified
as long term.  There are no amounts outstanding under this agreement.

$95 million of 9.43% Notes,  due in September  of the current  year,  remain
outstanding.  Under a shelf  registration  that  became  effective  with the
Securities  and  Exchange  Commission  in 1990,  the  company  can  issue an
additional  $300 million of debt  securities.  The new debt could be used to
replace  a portion  of the  commercial  paper  borrowings  with  longer-term
securities   when   management  has  determined   that  interest  rates  are
attractive and markets are favorable.

Gross  accounts  receivable of $1,000.9  million  decreased  $280.7  million
from the end of 1999  primarily  from the impact of the  seasonality  of the
educational    publishing   business   and   the   sale   of   Tower   Group
International.  Inventories  increased  $61.0  million  from the end of 1999
to $356.3  million as the  company  prepares  itself  for school  publishing
adoptions later this year.

Net  prepublication  costs  increased  $15.5 million from the end of 1999 to
$454.8  million  due to  spending  for school  publishing  programs,  higher
education  and   professional   publishing   titles.   Prepublication   cost
spending in the first  quarter  totaled $35.8  million,  an increase of $8.8
million over last year's  first  quarter  spending.  Spending is expected to
increase  over  the  remainder  of  the  year.  Purchases  of  property  and
equipment  were $16.4  million,  $35.1  million  lower than the prior  year.
Spending has decreased  from the prior year as the  consolidation  of office
space in New York winds down.

The Board of  Directors  approved a 9.3%  increase in the regular  quarterly
dividend  on the  company's  common  stock  from  $.215 to $.235 per  common
share.  The Board of Directors  also  authorized in 1999 a stock  repurchase
program of up to 15 million shares of outstanding  shares.  The  repurchased
shares will be used for general corporate  purposes,  including the issuance
of shares for the  exercise  of  employee  stock  options.  Purchases  under
this  program  may be made  from  time to time  on the  open  market  and in
private  transactions  dependent  on market  conditions.  Approximately  4.8
million  shares have been  repurchased  under this  program as of the filing
date of this document.

Year 2000 Issue
---------------
The Company  completed  substantially  all of its Year 2000  readiness  work
and  experienced  no  significant  problems  or  disruption  to  its  normal
business  activities  related to this issue as of April 30,  2000.  The cost
to assess,  remediate  and test systems that were not replaced  approximated
$19 million from 1998 to the present.

No material  expenditures  were made in the first quarter or are expected to
be incurred in the future related to the Year 2000 issue.

                                 Part II
                                 -------
                             Other Information
                             -----------------

Item 1.     Legal Proceedings
            -----------------
While the Registrant and its  subsidiaries  are defendants in numerous legal
proceedings  in the United  States and abroad,  neither the  Registrant  nor
its  subsidiaries  are a party to, nor are any of their  properties  subject
to, any known material pending legal proceedings  which Registrant  believes
will result in a material  adverse  effect on its  financial  statements  or
business operations.


Item 6.  Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                      Page Number
         --------------------------------                      -----------

 (a)   Exhibits

 (3)   By-laws (as amended to date)                                16-28

(12)   Computation of ratio of earnings to fixed charges             29

(27)   Financial data schedule                                       30

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
                                                  Talia M. Griep
                                               Corporate Controller

                        THE McGRAW-HILL COMPANIES, INC.
                         -----------------------------
                                    BY-LAWS
                                    -------

                      (As amended as of January 1, 2000)
                       --------------------------------
                                   ARTICLE I
                                   ---------
                                 STOCKHOLDERS
                                 ------------

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

                                 ARTICLE IV
                                 ----------
                                  Officers
                                  --------
1. The elective officers of the Corporation other than directors shall be a Chairman of the Board, a President, one or more Vice-Presidents, a Secretary and a Treasurer. Any two of the aforesaid offices may be filled by the same person, except the offices of President and Secretary. For purposes of these By-Laws the office of Vice-President also may include
one or more Executive Vice-Presidents and one or more Senior Vice-Presidents. The term of office of each of said officers shall continue until the next annual election of directors and the selection of his successor by the Board of Directors. Any officer may, at any time, with or without cause, be suspended or removed from office by the affirmative vote of a majority of the entire Board at a meeting thereof. The Chairman of the Board and the President shall be chosen from among the directors.

2. The Chairman of the Board when present shall preside at all meetings of the Board of Directors and at all meetings of the stockholders. He shall perform all duties incident to the office of the Chairman of the Board. He may execute on behalf of the Corporation all authorized deeds, bonds, mortgages, contracts, documents and papers and may affix thereto the corporate seal when required. He shall have power to sign debentures and certificates of stock of the Corporation.

3.    The   President   shall  be  the  chief   executive   officer  of  the
Corporation   and  shall  be   responsible   for  the   general  and  active
supervision and direction of the business, policies and activities of the Corporation, subject to the control of the Board of Directors. He may
execute  on  behalf  of  the  Corporation  all  authorized   deeds,   bonds,
mortgages, contracts, documents and papers and may affix thereto the corporate seal when required. He shall have power to sign debentures and certificates of stock of the Corporation. He shall also have such duties as the Board may from time to time determine or as may be prescribed by these By-Laws. He shall be responsible for seeing that the orders and resolutions of the Board are carried into effect.

4. If the office of the Chairman of the Board shall be vacant, or if the person holding that office shall be absent, the President shall preside at meetings of stockholders and of the Board of Directors. In the absence or inability to act of both the Chairman and the President, the Board may designate any director or senior corporate officer to perform the duties of temporary Chairman which shall include presiding at meetings of stockholders and of the Board of Directors.

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

                          Periods Ended March 31, 2000
                          ----------------------------



                                                Three         Twelve
                                                Months        Months
                                               ---------    ---------
                                                    (In thousands)
Earnings

    Earnings from continuing operations
      Before income tax expense and
      extraordinary item (Note)                $  91,407    $ 744,421
    Fixed charges                              $  19,008    $  77,001
                                               ---------    ---------
Total Earnings                                 $ 110,415    $ 821,422
                                               =========    =========
Fixed Charges (Note)
    Interest expense                           $  10,121    $  44,911
    Portion of rental payments deemed to be
       interest                                    8,887       32,090
                                               ---------    ---------
       Total Fixed Charges                     $  19,008    $  77,001
                                               =========    =========

Ratio of Earnings to Fixed Charges                 5.8x         10.7x

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

        Earnings  from  continuing  operations  before income taxes for the
        three month and twelve month  period ended March 31, 2000  includes
        a $16.6 million gain on the sale of Tower Group International.

