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                                  EXHIBIT 99.1

STATEMENT UNDER OATH OF PRINCIPAL EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF MAYTAG CORPORATION REGARDING FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES RELATING TO EXCHANGE ACT FILINGS

I, Ralph F. Hake, Chief Executive Officer, state and attest that:

     (1) To the best of my knowledge, based upon a review of the covered reports of Maytag Corporation, and, except as corrected or supplemented in a subsequent covered report:

         .    no covered report contained an untrue statement of a material
              fact as of the end of the period covered by such report (or in
              the case of a report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials,
              as of the date on which it was filed); and

         .    no covered report omitted to state a material fact necessary to
              make the statements in the covered report, in light of the
              circumstances under which they were made, not misleading as of the
              end of the period covered by such report (or in the case of a
              report on Form 8-K or definitive proxy materials, as of the date
              on which it was filed).

     (2) I have reviewed the contents of this statement with Maytag Corporation's audit committee.

     (3) In this statement under oath, each of the following, if filed on or before the date of this statement, is a "covered report":

         .    Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001 of
              Maytag Corporation;

         .    all reports on Form 10-Q, all reports on Form 8-K and all
              definitive proxy materials of Maytag Corporation filed with the
              Commission subsequent to the filing of the Form 10-K identified
              above; and

         .    any amendments to any of the foregoing.



/s/ Ralph F. Hake                                Subscribed and sworn to before
-----------------                                me this 9th day of August 2002.
Ralph F. Hake, Chief Executive Officer                   ---



                                                 -------------------------------
                                                 Notary Public
August 9,2002                                    My Commission Expires:
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Date