Maytag Announces Resignation of CFO;
                 Changes in Staff to fill out Senior Team



     NEWTON, IOWA (Nov. 18, 1999)--Maytag Corporation today announced that

Gerald J. Pribanic, executive vice president and chief financial officer,

has chosen to resign from the corporation to pursue other CFO

opportunities.  A search is underway to fill the CFO position.  Pribanic

will continue in his current responsibilities through a transition period.

      Jerry managed the CFO s role during one of the more profitable

periods in Maytag s history,  said Maytag Chairman and CEO Lloyd D. Ward.

 His integrity and commitment to financial discipline are indicative of his

contribution to Maytag.

     Ward also announced his intention to create a group president position

to lead the corporation s Home Solutions group, which encompasses the

corporation s major appliance and floor care divisions.

      The major appliance division and the floor care division are key

engines to Maytag s earnings and value creation,  Ward said.   We have

talented leadership at the division level, and the Maytag, Hoover, and

Jenn-Air brands are among the best known in the marketplace.  We also know

we can help accelerate growth and profitability with additional world-class

leadership at the group level, taking advantage of our strengths across the

enterprise and within each division.  As I fill out the senior team that

will deliver growth from innovation and operating excellence, this is a key

position.

     Another senior level change involves the promotion of Thomas P.

Schwartz, vice president, corporate communications, to chief administrative

officer, a newly created position.  The appointment is effective Dec. 1,

1999.  The chief administrative officer will directly support the CEO, with
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additional responsibility for corporate communications, corporate branding

and public relations, and the Maytag Foundation.   No successor was named

immediately for the vice president, corporate communications, position.

     The corporation also announced several other executive changes.

     Edward H. Graham, senior vice president, general counsel and

secretary, will retire at the end of the year, as planned.  A search is

underway for his successor, who will fill the position of chief legal

officer, reporting to Ward, with broad responsibility for leading the

corporation s law functions.

     Jon O. Nicholas, vice president of human resources, has also announced

his intention to retire within the next 18 months.  A search is underway to

fill the position of chief human resource officer, reporting to Ward. The

position carries broad responsibility for all human resource and

organizational transformation strategy, planning, and implementation across

the corporation.  Until the new position is filled, Nicholas will continue

to manage corporate-wide human resource functions.  Once the position is

filled, Nicholas will manage Maytag s talent development and Maytag

University until he retires.  Maytag University is the corporation s

internal training and development program.

     When fully constituted, Ward s senior staff will include the positions

named above, the corporation s chief technology officer, the Commercial

Solutions group president, the Worldwide Solutions group president, and the

vice president and general manager of the Emerging Solutions group.

     Pribanic, 56, joined Maytag s floor care division, the Hoover Company,

in 1990 as vice president of finance and controller.  He was named

executive vice president and CFO at Maytag Corporation in 1996.  Prior to

joining Maytag, Pribanic was with Borg-Warner, serving as vice president,
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controller, Borg-Warner automotive, and as director of finance for Borg-

Warner Chemical in Europe.  He joined Borg-Warner in 1974, after nine years

with the American Cyanamid companies.

     Schwartz, 49, joined Maytag in 1995 as director, corporate

communications.  He was named vice president in 1996.  Before joining

Maytag, he held positions in corporate communications at the Mead

Corporation and American Airlines.  Schwartz also held speechwriting and

public affairs positions at Vanderbilt University and the University of

Illinois.

     Graham, 64, joined Maytag in 1986.  His career includes private

practice and general counsel positions at AGRI Industries and Massey-

Ferguson.

     Nicholas, 60, has been with Maytag s major appliance business since

1972.  He served in human resource positions in the appliance division from

1972 to 1993, when he was named vice president, human resources, for Maytag

Corporation.

     Maytag Corporation is a leading producer of home and commercial

appliances.  Its products are sold to customers throughout North America

and in international markets.



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CPI9936

Media Contact:                                              Additional
Information:
James G. Powell
www.maytagcorp.com
Maytag Communications
515-787-8392
jpowel@maytag.com<PAGE>