MAYTAG S FULL-YEAR PERFORMANCE WITHIN RANGE OF EXPECTATIONS;
           EXPECTS WEAKER FIRST QUARTER RESULTS COMPARED TO 1999



NEWTON, IOWA-(Feb. 14, 2000)-Maytag Corporation confirmed today that it

expects full year results within the lower end of the range of current

estimates in the investment community, which is from $3.80 to $4.00 per

share in 2000.  Maytag also said it expects first quarter 2000 diluted

earnings per share (EPS) results could be off 10 percent or more from

1999 s record first quarter performance of $.95 a share.

      In spite of indications of somewhat slower growth in the first

quarter than anticipated, we will continue to invest strategically in high

return, CFROI-based initiatives for future growth, including smart and

aggressive expansion of our intelligent innovation business model outside

North America,  said Maytag Chairman and CEO Lloyd D. Ward.   The Sanyo

alliance, which we announced this morning, is one specific step we are

taking to extend our business model.  Additionally, during this year we do

not anticipate curtailing other critical investments in R&D and the next

wave of innovative products and services, in e-Business initiatives, or in

smart, connected Internet-based appliances.  Investments in these areas are

one reason for slower growth early in 2000.

      We had said previously that our EPS growth would be slower in the

first half, while accelerating through the second half of 2000; that

continues to be our view.  Now, based on early information, we can provide

additional perspective, especially around the first quarter.

     Dixie-Narco vending equipment sales to major soft drink bottlers in

the quarter will be off significantly compared to the prior year, due to a

major customer curtailing purchases. This impact is expected to last at

least through the first half and may continue to affect the business for

most of 2000.<PAGE>




     The decline in sales for Dixie-Narco is not likely to be offset by

home appliance sales, which are expected to be flat in the first quarter

compared to the prior year.

     In floor care, competitive pressures from products in the new bagless

upright vacuum category continue to dampen growth of sales at Hoover.

Hoover will introduce its own innovation advances on bagless upright

vacuums in the second quarter.

     In major appliances, Maytag Neptune and Gemini continue to sell well.

Value brands Admiral and Magic Chef continue to be under attack in what is

an increasingly competitive segment of the market for those brands. Maytag

Performa laundry, which competes in value brand price segments, continues

to sell extremely well.  Maytag is expanding the Performa line into every

product category and to all retailers as it moves its focus away from less

profitable brands.

       We already anticipated the first quarter would be slow as we build

EPS momentum through the year,  Ward said.   Now, the first quarter will

have some added weakness we had not anticipated due to slower Dixie-Narco

sales.  And, as we had reported previously, the Y2K shutdown schedule in

the major appliance division benefited results in the fourth quarter 1999

by several cents a share and will hurt results in the first quarter of 2000

similarly.

      During the second half, we expect EPS to increase in the range of 15

to 20 percent year over year.  The biggest lift to top line growth and to

earnings in the second half will be new product introductions in floor

care, cooking, dishwashing, foodservice, and refrigeration.  We also have

opportunities to drive top and bottom line growth through new distribution

initiatives during the year.  <PAGE>


       We expect improved margins in the second half due to specific

actions we already have begun, such as global sourcing initiatives, and

through productivity gains resulting from our on-going initiative that

combines Lean Manufacturing and Six Sigma quality.  Late in the second

quarter we will deploy our plan to reduce G&A costs by $25 million over two

years. And we are continuing to put the strategic building blocks in place

to construct a value creation model for shareowners that consistently

drives top line growth, margin improvement, and asset turns.



Forward-Looking Statements: Certain statements in this news release, including any discussion of management expectations for future periods, constitute "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from the future results expressed or implied by those statements. Refer to Part II, Item 7 of Maytag's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 1998, for a description of such factors.

                                   # # #
CPI007

Media Contact:
Additional Information:

James G. Powell                    www.maytagcorp.com
Maytag Corporate Communications
515-787-8392
jpowel@maytag.com<PAGE>


                    MAYTAG AND SANYO ANNOUNCE ALLIANCE

          FOR JOINT PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT, TECHNOLOGY AND MARKETING



TOKYO, JAPAN  (Feb. 14, 2000) Maytag Corporation and SANYO Electric Co.,

Ltd., today announced a master alliance agreement that provides a framework

for the two corporations to work jointly on product development, mutual

product supply and joint purchasing of parts.

     The two companies officially announced the alliance on February 14 in

Osaka, Japan.

     The alliance agreement provides the business framework that will

enable Maytag and SANYO jointly to develop and market home appliance

products for the Japanese and Pacific Rim markets.  This involves major

appliances and floor care products, with an initial focus on laundry, new

cooking technologies, and floor and fabric care products.  Both companies

separately have developed and marketed high-efficiency clothes washers.

Through the alliance, both companies expressed an interest in jointly

developing a high efficiency clothes washer for home use.  This is a

product development area under the alliance that also is of interest to

Procter & Gamble, which has co- promoted high-efficiency wash systems with

Maytag in North America and with SANYO in Japan.  Procter & Gamble is

expected to support the Maytag and SANYO alliance through efforts to

accelerate high-efficiency wash systems.

     Secondly both companies will supply strategic products to each other.

The first project under the alliance agreement brings Maytag brand high

efficiency commercial laundry equipment into Japan for distribution by

SANYO.  Initial product shipments arrived in Japan in January.  SANYO,

which holds a leading position in the home and commercial laundry market in

Japan, will distribute the Maytag-manufactured commercial laundry equipment

under the Maytag brand name.<PAGE>


SANYO also will explore the possibility of exporting its home appliance

products to Maytag.

            Finally both companies will explore component parts procurement

to reduce cost and enhance design efficiency.

     Maytag previously had indicated its approach to international markets

would be to focus on targeting specific markets where its innovation

strategy could be successful and to focus on establishing partnerships and

alliances, rather than  building and owning  assets worldwide.  Commenting

on the alliance, Maytag Chairman and CEO Lloyd D. Ward said,  Maytag is

committed to taking its innovation strategy to markets worldwide in ways

that will benefit consumers and, ultimately, Maytag s shareowners.  The

alliance with SANYO is a significant step forward in that strategy.

Together, Maytag and SANYO offer remarkably complementary strengths in

businesses, brands, and products.  SANYO certainly enjoys marketing and

distribution strength in Japan and elsewhere, as well as manufacturing

prowess; we believe we add critical strengths around innovation,

technology, and product concepts that will meet the needs of consumers in

Japan and other markets.

     Mr. Satoshi Iue, Chairman and CEO, SANYO Electric Co., Ltd.,

commented,  Maytag has been very successful in the North American market

with its brand name products, advanced technology and innovative marketing

strategies.   Complementing these assets, SANYO is globally involved in the

fields of multi-media equipment, clean energy and environmental related

products, and home appliance products. In addition to these traditional

areas, we are aggressively developing digitized information appliances and

related key components which will meet the needs of the multi-media

society. In a mature industry, the creation of this alliance is the first

step in mutually developing future new sources of revenue in both our core

local markets and others around the world.

     Ward concluded by saying,  Over the next five years, this alliance<PAGE>


could return to its partners as much as $100 million (U.S.) pre-tax income

growth from new products and cost reduction benefits from global sourcing

and product supply initiatives.  While those benefits won t be realized

immediately, after a start up phase that is the dimension of the target we

have in sight.



Maytag Corporation is a leading producer of home and commercial appliances. SANYO Electric Co., Ltd. is one of the world s leading home appliance manufacturers, producing and selling AV/Information and communications systems, in addition to both electrical and industrial appliances.

Forward-Looking Statements: Certain statements in this news release, including any discussion of management expectations for future periods, constitute "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause actual results to differ materially from the future results expressed or implied by those statements. Refer to Part II, Item 7 of Maytag's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 1998, for a description of such factors.

                                   # # #


Media Contacts


Maytag Corporation
James G. Powell
Maytag Corporate Communications
(1) 515-787-8392
jpowel@maytag.com


Additional Information: www.maytagcorp.com

SANYO Electric Co., Ltd.
Kaoru Tanaka
Sanyo Corporate Communications
(81) 6-6994-3546 or 3547
Additional Information:
www.sanyo.co.jp<PAGE>


SANYO Sales & Supply Company
Keisuke Honda
(1) 630-875-3511 / (81) 6-6994-3546 or 3547


Burson-Marsteller, Tokyo
Paul Allen
(81) 3-3264-6693<PAGE>