Exhibit 99.1


                      AMERICAN AIRLINES
                 2007 ANNUAL INCENTIVE PLAN



Background

As part of the restructuring process that took place in April 2003, three new broad-based variable compensation plans were created: the Broad Based Employee Stock Option Plan, a new Profit Sharing Plan and the Annual Incentive Plan (the "Plan" or "AIP").

The   framework  for  the  Plan  was  developed  during  the
restructuring, but the specific plan metrics  were  left  to
the discretion of the Board of Directors (sometimes referred
to as the "Board").

The Board has determined that for 2007 there will be two components to the Plan - customer service and financial. While related, the two components will be treated separately. The financial component will provide an award if the company meets annual financial goals. The customer service component will provide an award if the company meets customer satisfaction and dependability goals, regardless of its financial performance. Providing the opportunity for a customer service payout without meeting financial hurdles recognizes that the company's performance in the two areas most important to our customers - dependability and customer satisfaction - will contribute to improved profitability.

These broad-based compensation plans have been designed to allow all employees throughout the American Airlines team to share in the company's success. The Plan provides the opportunity to share immediately in that success by taking concrete steps in each employee's everyday work that will move the company towards profitability.

With input from our employees, the unions and the Board, these broad-based variable compensation programs will continue to evolve. Today, they form the building blocks necessary to ensure that everyone is able to share in the company's success.

Definitions

Capitalized  terms not otherwise defined in  the  Plan  will
have  the  meanings  set forth in the  2003  Employee  Stock
Incentive Plan (the "2003 Stock Plan").

"AMR" is defined as AMR Corporation.

"Affiliate" is defined as a subsidiary of AMR or any entity that is designated by the Committee as a participating
employer under the Plan, provided that AMR directly or indirectly owns at least 20% of the combined voting power of all classes of stock of such entity.

"American"  is  defined as AMR less AMR  subsidiaries  other
than American Airlines, Inc. and its subsidiaries.

"American Airlines" is defined as American Airlines, Inc.

"American's Pre-Tax Earnings Margin" is a percentage and is defined as American's earnings, relative to its revenues, before any applicable income tax expense and is exclusive of any profit sharing payments, payments under the Plan and any special, extraordinary or one-time items as may be determined by the Committee in its discretion, after consultation with AMR's independent auditors.

"Committee" is defined as the Compensation Committee of  the
AMR Board of Directors.

"Competitor" is defined as one of AirTran Airways, Alaska Airlines, Continental Airlines, Delta Air Lines, JetBlue Airways, Northwest Airlines, Southwest Airlines, United Air Lines and US Airways. During the Plan year, the Committee delegates to the Incentive Compensation Committee the authority to modify the universe of companies that comprise the definition of "Competitor".

"Disabled", "Disability" or variants thereof will  have  the
meaning  as defined in section 409(a)(2)(C) of the  Internal
Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the "Code").

"DOT Rank" is defined as American's relative rank with respect to the Competitors in the category of "arrivals+14 (A+14)" as determined by the U.S. Department of
Transportation (DOT). This monthly ranking is based on DOT's aggregated A+14 data for the period January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2007 inclusive. To the extent that at any point during the year a Competitor ceases to report A+14 data, it will be excluded from the calculation for the month in which it ceases to report A+14 data, and for future months, until it begins to report A+14 data for a full month.

"Eligible Earnings" is defined by the nature of the work group. For employees who are represented by a union, the definition of Eligible Earnings will be the definition contained in the Letter of Agreement between the union and the company. For employees who are not represented by a union the definition of Eligible Earnings will be identical to the term "Qualified Earnings" under the 2003 American Airlines Employee Profit Sharing Plan.

"Fund"  is  defined  as  the fund, if  any,  accumulated  in
accordance with this Plan.

"Letters of Agreement" is defined as the agreements reached with the Allied Pilots Association, Association of Professional Flight Attendants and the Transport Workers Union during the April 2003 restructuring process that define the framework of the Plan.

"Measure" is defined, as appropriate, as American's  Pre-Tax
Earnings Margin, DOT Rank or Survey America Rank.

"Named  Executive Officers" is defined as  the  officers  of
American  who  are  named in the AMR  proxy  statement  that
reports  income for the year in which awards under the  Plan
are earned.

"Other Cash Compensation Programs" is defined as cash payments to management employees that are not predicated upon the criteria and thresholds contained in the Plan. Per discussions and as specified in the Letters of Agreement, this term does not include salary, stock-based compensation, severance, retirement benefits or deferred payments of base compensation, or eligible cash bonuses from prior years.

  "Profit  Sharing  Plan" is defined as  the  2007  Employee
Profit Sharing Plan.

"Survey America Rank" is defined as American's relative rank with respect to its Competitors in the category of "Overall Travel Experience", using a blended ranking of first class and coach cabin, as reported in Plog Inc.'s Survey America. The Survey America ranking is based on monthly data for American and the Competitors for the period January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2007, inclusive. To the extent that at any point during such year a Competitor ceases to participate, it will be excluded from the calculation for the month in which it ceased to participate, and for future months, until it begins to participate again for a full month period.

"Target Award" is defined as the award (stated as a percentage of Eligible Earnings) for an eligible participant when target level is achieved on the financial measure. The Target Award is determined by the employee's job level.

Plan Measures

As   outlined  earlier,  the  Plan  is  comprised   of   two
components: customer service and financial.

Customer Service Component

The  customer service component of the Plan will include two
performance    metrics   -   customer    satisfaction    and
dependability.  The Plan will reward employees  if  American
achieves at least one of the two metrics.

The customer satisfaction metric will be based on American's
Survey America Rank.  The dependability metric will be based
on American's DOT Rank.

Monthly awards will be based on the higher of the monthly rankings for DOT Rank or for Survey America Rank, as per the payout schedule below. These award levels are the same for all employees regardless of full-time or part-time status or job level.

                                   Payout
                                 Per Person
               Monthly Rank       Per Month
                   First             $100
               Second - Third        $ 50
               Fourth - Fifth        $ 25

If both metrics are achieved in any single month, the awards
will  not be additive.  Awards will be based solely  on  the
higher ranking of the two metrics.

Awards under the customer service component will be paid regardless of performance under the financial component. The awards under the customer service component will be paid, net of applicable taxes, within 75 days after DOT Rank and Survey America Rank are available and employee eligibility is established...


For example:


            Monthly Ranking     Higher
            Survey              Rank
            America   DOT     Achieved       Payout
January        2       7           2      2nd place = $ 50
February       4       5           4      4th place = $ 25
March          3       1           1      1st place = $100
                                   Quarterly Payout   $175


Financial Component

The financial component of the Plan will be based upon American's Pre-Tax Earnings Margin for the full-year 2007. The measure has a threshold (performance below this level earns no award), a target and a maximum as reflected below:

                                American's Pre-Tax
                                 Earnings Margin
               Threshold             5%
               Target               10%
               Maximum              15%

For non-management, support staff and management levels 1-4, awards under the financial component, in combination with the customer service awards, will provide total annual Plan payouts ranging from 2.5% of Eligible Earnings at threshold, 5% of Eligible Earnings at target and 10% of Eligible Earnings at Maximum. Award levels have a linear progression as American's Pre-Tax Earnings Margin increases between the threshold and target levels, and between the target and maximum levels.


                  American's Pre-Tax         Award as a % of
                    Earnings Margin          Eligible Earnings
Threshold                5%                        2.5%
Target                  10%                        5.0%
Maximum                 15%                       10.0%

For management Levels 5 and above, none of whom participate in the Profit Sharing Plan; the Plan is the successor to the traditional Incentive Compensation Plan. As in the past, the awards for employees at Level 5 and above will be determined by the senior management of AMR or, in certain instances, by the Board; will vary by level; and will be based on an assessment of individual performance.
If the company does not achieve the threshold level of American's Pre-Tax Earnings Margin, there will be no financial performance payout. However, a participant retains any awards earned in 2007 for customer service performance. When the threshold level of American's Pre-Tax Earnings Margin is met, participants may be entitled to a payment under the Plan (refer to the example below). In this case, any customer service awards earned during 2007 act as a "deposit" against the amount to be awarded pursuant to the
financial component.   The amount of the financial
performance payout a participant receives will be the difference, if any, between what is earned under the financial performance formula and what has already been earned through the customer service awards (net of applicable taxes).

For example (an individual employee's sample annual payout):

Customer Service
1 month ~ 1st Place            1 x $100 = $100
3 months ~ 2nd - 3rd Place     3 x $50  = $150
8 months ~ 4th - 5th Place     8 x $25  = $200
        Customer Service Payout           $450

Financial ~ achieve 5% American's pre-tax earnings threshold
and have $40,000 in Eligible Earnings
2.5% x $40,000 =                      $1,000
less Customer Service payout           ($450)
   Financial Payout                     $550

Total Annual payout is $1,000 ($450 + $550), or 2.5% of
Eligible Earnings (net of applicable taxes).

The AIP Letters of Agreement provide that Other Cash Compensation Programs for management employees may be no more than 20% of the maximum possible award that was or could have been earned by the individual management employee under the Plan formula (the "20% Limitation"). Any payment under the 20% Limitation shall be made by March 15, 2008.

The Board has established a program that, based on an individual's performance, anticipates payouts to Level 5 and above management employees up to the 20% Limitation. (Level 5 and above employees are not eligible for the Profit Sharing Plan) This program is designed to commence payments at $500 million in American's pre-tax earnings, the same financial threshold as exists in the Profit Sharing Plan. This is consistent with the company's past practice of restricting payouts under any management incentive compensation program until payouts occur under the corresponding employee Profit Sharing Plan. Payouts under this program will cease when the financial threshold under the Plan (a 5% Pre-Tax Earnings Margin for American) is achieved. Any payment under the program described in this paragraph shall be made by March 15, 2008.
Although the Board has determined that a program to use the flexibility provided for in the Letters of Agreement will not commence until reaching a threshold of $500 million in American's pre-tax earnings and will be discontinued when the financial threshold of the Plan is achieved, the company also retains the ability to make a payment to an individual under the 20% Limitation as provided for in the Letters of Agreement.

The Letters of Agreement and related discussions specify that for purposes of the 20% Limitation, Other Cash Compensation Programs does not include salary, stock-based compensation, severance, retirement benefits or deferred payments of base compensation, or eligible cash bonuses from prior years.


Eligibility for Participation

Customer Service Component:

To earn an award under the customer service component of the Plan, an individual must have been employed as a regular full-time or part-time employee at American, in a participating workgroup (employees in the United States, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands) during the applicable month to be eligible to participate in the Plan.

The Committee, at its discretion, may permit participation by employees of Affiliates who have been so employed by the Affiliate since the first day in the applicable month, if they become employed by American during the applicable month during 2007.

In addition to the terms listed above, in order for full-time and part-time employees to earn a payout under the customer service measure, an individual cannot be on any type of leave during the applicable month, except approved FMLA, injury on duty, military, overage or time-card leave, as provided for under the company's policies, collective bargaining agreement or state law as applicable.

Moreover,  an  individual will not be  eligible  to  earn  a
customer  service award if such individual is, at  the  same
time, eligible to participate in:

     i)   any   incentive   compensation,  profit   sharing,
          commission  or  other bonus plan sponsored  by  an
          Affiliate of American
     ii)  any commission or bonus plan, with the exception of
          American's Profit Sharing Plan or provisions of the Annual Incentive Plan, sponsored by American, any division of
          American or any Affiliate of American
In order to earn a customer service award under the Plan, an
individual   must  satisfy  the  aforementioned  eligibility
requirements  and  must be an employee  of  American  or  an
Affiliate at the time an award under the Plan is  paid.   If
at  the  time awards are paid under the Plan, an  individual
has  retired  from American or an Affiliate, has  been  laid
off,  is  on leave of absence with reinstatement rights,  is
Disabled,  or  has  died,  the award  which  the  individual
otherwise  would have received under the Plan but  for  such
retirement,  lay-off, leave, Disability, or  death  will  be
paid  (on  a  pro rata basis) to the individual, or  his/her
estate in the event of death.

The percentage of the payout that an individual receives for any given month will be determined based upon the percentage of his/her schedule that the individual fulfills in that month. For Plan purposes, an individual will be considered to have fulfilled his/her schedule if he/she actually works at least 50% of his/her scheduled time (50% of monthly guarantee hours for flight crew) or takes a scheduled vacation or time-card leave, which, together with his/her
actual work time, amounts to at least 50% of his/her scheduled time for the month. If an individual does not fulfill his scheduled time due to one of the aforementioned leaves, his award will be pro rated based on actual hours worked in that month (vis-a-vis hours scheduled in that month); otherwise, no payment will be made.


Financial Component

To earn an award under the financial component of the Plan, an individual must have been employed as a regular full-time or part-time employee at American, in a participating workgroup (employees in the United States, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands) during 2007 to be eligible to participate in the Plan.

The Committee, at its discretion, may permit participation by employees of Affiliates who have been so employed by the Affiliate during the Plan year, if they become employed by American during the Plan year. In such instances, only eligible earnings at American will be included in the payout calculation.

Notwithstanding  the forgoing, however, an  individual  will
not   be  eligible  to  participate  in  the  Plan  if  such
individual is, at the same time, eligible to participate in:

     i)   any incentive compensation, profit sharing, commission
          or other bonus plan sponsored by an Affiliate of American
     ii) any commission or bonus plan, with the exception of American's Employee Profit Sharing Plan or provisions of the Annual Incentive Plan, sponsored by American, any division of American or any Affiliate of American
In  order to earn an award under the financial component  of
the Plan, an individual must satisfy the aforementioned eligibility requirements and must be an employee of American
or  an Affiliate at the time such financial award under  the
Plan is paid.  If at the time such awards are paid under the
Plan,  an  individual  has  retired  from  American  or   an
Affiliate, has been laid off, is on leave of absence with reinstatement rights, is Disabled, or has died, the award
which the individual otherwise would have received under the
Plan but for such retirement, lay-off, leave, Disability, or
death  may  be paid (on a pro rata basis) to the individual,
or  his/her  estate in the event of death, at the discretion
of the Committee.


Allocation of Individual Awards

The Committee, in consultation with the Chairman, President and CEO of American, will approve awards for officers of American, including the Named Executive Officers. The award for an officer will be equal to an amount calculated in accordance with this Plan, as adjusted for individual performance. Provided, however, that the sum of all awards made to officers may not exceed the sum of officer awards as calculated in accordance with this Plan. Awards for the Named Executive Officers will be equal to the award earned under the financial component of the Plan. An award under the Plan to an officer may not exceed the amount set forth in Section 11 of the 1998 Long Term Incentive Plan, as amended.

The Chairman, President and CEO of American, in consultation with the executive and senior vice presidents of American, will approve awards for non-officer eligible employees (Level 5 and above). An award for a non-officer will be equal to an amount calculated in accordance with this Plan, as adjusted for individual performance. Provided, however, that the sum of all awards made to non-officers may not exceed the sum of non-officer awards calculated in accordance with this Plan.


Administration

The Committee shall have authority to administer and interpret the Plan, establish administrative rules, approve eligible participants, and take any other action necessary for the proper and efficient operation of the Plan, consistent with the Letters of Agreement reached with each of the unions. The amount, if any, of the Fund shall be
audited by the General Auditor of American based on a certification of American's Pre-Tax Earnings Margin by AMR's independent auditors. For the Financial Measure, a summary of awards under the Plan shall be provided to the Committee at the first regular meeting following determination of the awards. To the extent a Measure is no longer compiled by the DOT or Survey America as applicable, during a Plan year, the Committee will substitute a comparable performance measure for the remainder of the Plan year.

Method of Payment

The  Committee  will  determine the  method  of  payment  of
awards. The financial awards shall be paid (net of applicable taxes) as soon as practicable after audited financial statements for the year 2007 are available, but no later than March 15, 2008. The customer service measure is paid independently of the financial measure. The customer service award will be paid (net applicable taxes) quarterly within 75 days after the DOT Rank and Survey America Rank are available and employee eligibility is established.


General

Neither  this Plan nor any action taken hereunder  shall  be
construed as giving any employee or participant the right to
be retained in the employ of American or an Affiliate.

Nothing in the Plan shall be deemed to give any employee any right, contractually or otherwise, to participate in the Plan or in any benefits hereunder, other than the right to receive payment of such incentive compensation as may have been expressly awarded by the Committee.

In consideration of the employee's privilege to participate in the Plan, the employee agrees (i) not to disclose any trade secrets of, or other confidential/restricted information of, American or its Affiliates to any unauthorized party and (ii) not to make any unauthorized use of such trade secrets or confidential or restricted information during his or her employment with American or its Affiliates or after such employment is terminated, and
(iii) not to solicit any then current employees of American or any other subsidiaries of AMR to join the employee at his or her new place of employment after his or her employment with American or its Affiliates is terminated.

The  employee shall not have the right to defer any  payment
under  the Plan.   The Committee and American Airlines shall
not accelerate any payment under the plan.

Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, if an employee is a person subject to section 409(a)(2)(B)(i) of the Code, any payment under the Plan due to Retirement or termination of employment for reasons other than Death or Disability shall be delayed until the sixth month anniversary of the date of the separation from employment due to Retirement or termination for Cause.