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                               [KERR LETTERHEAD]




                                                         FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


                    KERR EXECUTES COMMITMENT FOR REFINANCING

         LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA (October 10, 1996) -- Kerr Group, Inc. (NYSE:KGM), announced today that it had executed a commitment letter with The CIT Group/Business Credit, Inc. for $48,000,000 of financing secured by all of the Company's assets to enable the Company to restructure its existing indebtedness. In addition to refinancing the Company's Accounts Receivables Facility, this new financing will provide $29,300,000 for repayment of a portion of the Company's $50,900,000 of existing indebtedness. The Company has further agreed with its existing lenders to exchange the balance of the Company's existing debt for new secured subordinated notes in the aggregate principal amount of $12,000,000 and shares of convertible preferred stock. The subordinated notes will bear interest at the rate of 10% per annum, but will be "pay-in-kind" during the first three years. The preferred stock will be convertible into approximately 748,000 shares of common stock and will have a liquidation preference of $13,000,000, but will have no stated dividends.
After the restructuring, the Company expects to have approximately $10,000,000 of additional borrowing availability.

         The consummation of the restructuring will be subject to the execution and delivery of definitive loan agreements among The CIT Group/Business Credit, Inc., the Company's existing lenders and the Company. There can be no assurance that the restructuring will be consummated.

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         In addition, the Company obtained an extension of waivers of certain
financial covenants through December 8, 1996 from its existing lenders and an extension of the maturity date of the unsecured Note to December 8, 1996 to prepare and negotiate the definitive documentation for the restructuring.

         The Company also announced that it will record a charge of approximately $4,000,000 during the third quarter to provide a valuation reserve against its deferred income tax asset. A valuation reserve has been provided due to the amount of the restructuring charges recorded in 1996 and the projected time period needed to recover the deferred income tax asset.

         Kerr, headquartered in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, is a major producer of plastic packaging products.

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Company Contact:   Geoffrey A. Whynot
                   Vice President, Finance and
                   Chief Financial Officer
                   (717) 390-8439





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