[Logo of James River Corporation          [Logo of Fort Howard
     of Virginia]                              Corporation]


    Contacts:
    JAMES RIVER:                              FORT HOWARD:
    On May 5:    Media -- Dick Elder          Media -- Clifford A. Bowers
                 (212) 403-1901               (414) 435-8821
                 Financial -- Celeste Gunter  Financial -- J. Michael Lempke
                 (212) 403-1901               (414) 435-8821
    Subsequent:  Media -- Dick Elder
                 (804) 343-4785
                 Financial -- Celeste Gunter
                 (804) 649-4307



                     JAMES RIVER, FORT HOWARD AGREE TO MERGE
                 CREATING A PREEMINENT CONSUMER PRODUCTS COMPANY

                   NEW YORK, NY -- May 5, 1997 -- James River Corpora-

         tion (NYSE:JR) and Fort Howard Corporation (NASDAQ:FORT) an-

         nounced today that they have signed a definitive merger agree-

         ment creating a preeminent worldwide consumer products company

         with a strong competitive position and outstanding prospects

         for growth.  The new company, which will be named Fort James

         Corporation, will have annual sales in excess of $7 billion.

                   Under the agreement, shareholders of Fort Howard will

         receive 1.375 shares of Fort James common stock for each share

         of Fort Howard common stock.  This represents a per share value

         of $42.45 and a total value of $5.8 billion to Fort Howard

         shareholders, including the assumed Fort Howard debt, based on

         the James River closing stock price of $30.875 on May 2.

         Shareholders of James River will retain their current number of

         shares.  Excluding non-recurring items and an anticipated reor-

         ganization charge, the merger is expected to be accretive to

         pro forma 1997 earnings, without anticipated synergies, and

         accretive to 1998 earnings by approximately 10 percent, includ-

         ing synergies.

                   The transaction is structured to qualify as a tax-

         free reorganization and will be accounted for as a pooling of

         interests.  The merger, which is expected to be completed at

         the end of the summer, is conditioned on receiving regulatory

         clearances in the United States and Europe and requires the

         approval of the shareholders of both companies.  Morgan Stanley

         and certain other shareholders, representing approximately 20

         percent of Fort Howard's fully diluted shares, have agreed to

         vote in favor of the merger.

                   "This merger opens the way for two strong companies

         to emerge as a powerful single force in the consumer goods in-

         dustry," said Miles L. Marsh, James River's chairman and chief

         executive officer.  "Because Fort James will be able to compete

         more effectively as a combined company than we could have indi-

         vidually, this merger will be attractive to shareholders, cus-

         tomers and employees."

                   Marsh added, "Fort James will benefit from the com-

         plementary strengths of James River's strong brands and market-

         ing skills and Fort Howard's exceptional, low-cost manufactur-

         ing base and leadership in commercial products.


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         Page 2 -- James River,                              May 5, 1997
         Fort Howard Agree to Merge


          The broad North American focus of both companies, as well as

         their strong pan-European presence, represents a gateway to

         tremendous global opportunities."

                   Michael T. Riordan, Fort Howard's chairman and chief

         executive officer, noted "Our combined product lines, supported

         by strategically located assets and world-class manufacturing

         capabilities, create a strong competitive position that will

         fuel long-term growth.  In addition, the significant operating

         cash flow of the combined company, which totaled more than $1

         billion on a pro forma basis in 1996, will allow for an aggres-

         sive pace of debt reduction, while at the same time support

         strong business growth.  Both James River and Fort Howard have

         made significant recent progress in reducing debt, and Fort

         James remains committed to this important objective."

                   Fort James will be able to offer a broad range of

         tissue and tabletop products.  Its retail products, to be dis-

         tributed in grocery and drug stores, mass merchandisers, and

         warehouse clubs, include such well-known North American brands

         as Quilted Northern, Soft 'n Gentle, Brawny, Mardi Gras, Vanity

         Fair, Green Forest and Dixie.  In addition, Fort James will

         have a strong presence in the European market with brands such

         as Lotus, Nouvelle, Colhogar  and Tenderly.  The company will

         also be a leading supplier of store brands.  Away-from-home

         products will be sold primarily through paper, foodservice and

         janitorial distributors to serve the lodging, industrial,

         health care, restaurant, foodservice, leisure, transportation

         and office building sectors, as well as schools, governments

         and retail establishments.

                   The merger is expected to generate cost savings esti-

         mated to total at least $150 million in 1998, increasing to

         more than $200 million per year over time.  Fort James intends

         to reduce expenses and increase efficiency by combining comple-

         mentary technologies, optimizing product manufacturing and lo-

         gistics across the combined systems, increasing purchasing ef-

         ficiencies, eliminating redundant overhead costs, consolidating

         work forces where duplication exists and increasing product

         quality and productivity.  To cover the cost of implementing

         these plans, Fort James expects to take a reorganization charge

         in the quarter in which the merger is completed.  The amount of

         the charge has not been determined.

                   At the same time, Fort James will continue the cost

         reduction program begun by James River in 1995, which is ex-

         pected to deliver enhanced savings as this program matures.  A

         portion of the expected incremental savings will be reinvested

         in Fort James' brands in order to grow market share and accel-

         erate top-line growth.

                   Under the terms of the merger agreement, which has

         been unanimously approved by the boards of directors of both

         companies, Marsh will serve as chairman and chief executive

         officer of Fort James and Riordan will be president and chief

         operating officer.  The board of directors of Fort James will

         be comprised  of 15 directors, 11 from James River and four

         from Fort Howard.  Fort James' senior management team will also

         include key James River and Fort Howard executives.  A new ex-

         ecutive headquarters for Fort James' senior management will be

         established in the Chicago area.


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         Page 3 -- James River,                              May 5, 1997
         Fort Howard Agree to Merge





                   "From the beginning, we have looked at this as a

         merger of equals," said Marsh, "with both companies

         contributing important product strengths, strategic assets and

         management talent."

                   "There has been a very high level of mutual respect

         in all of our discussions," added Riordan, "and I believe we

         will be able to move very quickly to capitalize on synergies

         and aggressively pursue growth opportunities."

                   As a result of the merger, Fort James will have a

         total market capitalization of $11 billion, including debt of

         $4.4  billion.  Fort James will have approximately 218 million

         outstanding fully diluted common shares.

                   Fort Howard currently pays no dividend.  James River

         pays a current quarterly cash dividend of $.15 per share, which

         will be the initial dividend rate of Fort James.

                   James River Corporation, with 1996 consolidated sales

         of $5.7 billion, is a leading marketer and manufacturer of

         paper-based consumer products, packaging, and business, print-

         ing and converting papers.  The company has a total of approx-

         imately 60 manufacturing facilities located in the United

         States, Canada and ten European countries.  The second largest

         worldwide producer of tissue products, James River markets such

         widely recognized brands as Quilted Northern bathroom tissue,

         Brawny paper towels, Vanity Fair napkins, and Dixie cups and

         plates in North America, and Lotus bathroom tissue, towels, and

         facial tissue in Europe.

                   Fort Howard, with 1996 consolidated sales of $1.6

         billion, is a leading producer of tissue products for away-

         from-home customers in the United States, and a leading sup-

         plier of value brands and private label products for retail

         tissue customers.  With three manufacturing facilities in the

         United States, one operation in the United Kingdom and a joint

         venture in China, Fort Howard's products include bath and fa-

         cial tissue, towels, napkins, wipers and specialty nonwoven

         products.  Familiar brand names include Mardi Gras, Soft 'n

         Gentle, and Green Forest.

                   Forward-looking statements in this release are made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securi-ties Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and are subject to risks and uncertainties regarding this transaction. Such risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, the satisfaction of the conditions to close the transaction; determinations by regulatory and governmental authorities; the ability to successfully integrate the James River and Fort Howard businesses; the ability to achieve synergistic and other cost reductions and efficiencies; general business and economic conditions; competitive pricing pressures for the company's products; changes in raw material, energy and other costs; and opportunities that may be presented to and pursued by the com-pany. Any of these risks or uncertainties may cause actual results or future circumstances to differ materially from the forward-looking statements contained in this news release.

                                      # # #

                   Today's news release, along with past releases from James River, is available by fax, at no charge, by calling
         (800) 758-5804, ext. 457350. You may access James River's corporate-wide site at Internet address http:// www.jamesrivercorp.com, and Fort Howard's corporate-wide site at Internet address http:// www.forthoward.com.


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