MADISON, NJ - October 13, 1998 --  American Home Products
Corporation (NYSE: AHP) and Monsanto Company (NYSE: MTC)
announced today that they have terminated their merger agreement
by mutual consent.  The Board of Directors of each of the two
companies has determined that the transaction is not in the best
interest of their respective stockholders.

AHP is one of the world's largest research-based pharmaceutical
and health care products companies.  It is a leader in the
discovery, development, manufacturing and marketing of
prescription drugs and over-the-counter medications.  It is also
a global leader in vaccines, biotechnology, agricultural products
and animal health care.

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