Exhibit 1          AMERICAN GENERAL                         WESTERN NATIONAL
 ---------          ----------------                         ----------------
 [American General  David W. Entrekin or John E. Pluhowski    Parick E. Grady
 Logo]              Vice President -     Director-Corporate   Vice President
                    Investor Relations   Communications       Investor
                    (212) 446-3109            (713) 831-1149   Relations
                                                              (713) 888-7848

 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
 ---------------------

        AMERICAN GENERAL ANNOUNCES CLOSING DATE AND EXCHANGE RATIO
                 FOR WESTERN NATIONAL CORPORATION ACQUISITION


      Houston, February 18, 1998   American General Corporation (NYSE:
 AGC) and Western National Corporation (NYSE: WNH) today jointly announced that American General expects to complete the $1.2 billion acquisition of the remaining 54% of Western National on February 25, 1998. The transaction, which was announced on September 12, 1997, is subject only to approval by Western National shareholders at a meeting to be held on February 25, 1998.

      Western National shareholders will receive consideration valued at $30.8951 for each share of Western National common stock. Shareholders may elect to have each share of their Western National common stock converted into 0.5413 shares of American General common stock or $30.8951 in cash. Elections for cash and American General common stock are each limited to no more than 50% of the aggregate consideration. The number of diluted shares outstanding will increase from 253.2 million to approximately 264.1 million as a result of the transaction.

      Both the exchange ratio and cash consideration were computed using an average price of $57.0719 per share of American General common stock. This average was determined by the average of the daily high and low price of American General common stock during the 10 consecutive trading days ending on February 18, 1998.

      Elections must be made using the Form of Election and Letter of Transmittal previously made available to Western National shareholders, and must be received, together with appropriate share certificates or notice of guaranteed delivery, by First Chicago Trust Company of New York, the Exchange Agent, no later than 5:00 p.m. EST on February 23, 1998. A description of the election and allocation procedures is included in the Proxy Statement/Prospectus previously delivered to Western National shareholders. Western National shareholders requesting additional information or a Form of Election and Letter of Transmittal should contact Morrow & Company, Inc., the Information Agent, by calling (800) 662-5200.

      In December 1994, American General acquired 40% of Western
 National for $274 million or $11 per share. American General increased its ownership interest in Western National to 46% in September 1996 for $130 million or $17.92 per share.

      Founded in 1944 and headquartered in Houston, Texas, Western National Corporation is a leading provider of retirement annuity products. The company has assets of more than $11 billion and annuity reserves of $10 billion. Western National is the parent company
 of Western National Life Insurance Company, one of the largest life insurance companies in the United States.

            __________________________________________________

      American General Corporation is one of the nation's largest diversified financial services organizations with assets of $81 billion and shareholders' equity of $7.6 billion. Headquartered in Houston, it is a leading provider of retirement services, life insurance, and consumer loans to 12 million customers. American General common stock is listed on the New York, Pacific, London, and Swiss stock exchanges.