FURNITURE BRANDS INTERNATIONAL, INC.

and

AMERICAN STOCK TRANSFER AND TRUST COMPANY, LLC

as Rights Agent

AMENDED AND RESTATED
STOCKHOLDERS
RIGHTS AGREEMENT

Dated as of
June 18, 2012

i

ii

This AMENDED AND RESTATED STOCKHOLDERS RIGHTS AGREEMENT, dated as of June 18, 2012 (this “Agreement”) by and between Furniture Brands International, Inc., a Delaware corporation (the “Company”), and American Stock Transfer and Trust Company, LLC, a New York limited liability trust company (the “Rights Agent”).

WHEREAS, the Company previously entered the Stockholders Rights Agreement, dated as of August 3, 2009 (the “Original Rights Agreement”).

WHEREAS, in connection with the Original Rights Agreement, effective August 3, 2009 (the “Rights Dividend Declaration Date”), the Board of Directors of the Company authorized and declared a distribution of one right for each share of Common Stock, no par value, of the Company (the “Common Stock”) outstanding at the Close of Business (as such term is defined herein) on August 13, 2009 (the “Record Date”), and authorized the issuance of one such right (as such number may hereafter be adjusted pursuant hereto) for each share of Common Stock that shall become outstanding (whether originally issued or delivered from the Company's treasury) between the Record Date and, except as otherwise provided in Section 23 herein, the Distribution Date, each such right (a “Right” and together with all other such rights distributed or issued pursuant hereto, the “Rights”) initially representing the right to purchase, upon the terms and subject to the conditions hereinafter set forth, one Unit of Series B Preferred Stock (as defined herein).

WHEREAS, the Company amended and restated the Original Rights Agreement, effective February 26, 2010 (the “2010 Rights Agreement”).

WHEREAS, as of the date hereof, the Rights are redeemable under the 2010 Rights Agreement, and the Company desires to amend and restate the terms of the 2010 Rights Agreement.

WHEREAS, effective as of 5:00 p.m. New York time, on June 18, 2012, this Agreement amends and restates, and supersedes in its entirety, the 2010 Rights Agreement, and from and after such time, each outstanding Right and each Right hereafter issued shall be exercisable in accordance with and subject to the terms and conditions set forth herein.

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the premises and the mutual agreements herein set forth, the parties hereby agree as follows:

Section 1. Certain Definitions. For purposes of this Agreement, the following terms have the meanings indicated:

(a)    “Acquiring Person” shall mean any Person who or which, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Person, is or becomes the Beneficial Owner of 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding, but shall not include the Company, any Related Person, or any Exempt Person. Notwithstanding the foregoing:

(i)    No Person shall become an “Acquiring Person” as the result of: (A) an acquisition of Common Stock by the Company, which, by reduc-ing the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding, increases the percentage of the shares of Common Stock Beneficially Owned by such Person, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Person, to 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding, (B) the grant of any equity compensation award (including, without limitation, an equity compensation award in the form of options, warrants, rights, restricted stock, or similar securities) by the Company to such Person if such person is a director, officer, employee, or agent of the Company, or any adjustment to the number of shares of Common Stock represented by such equity compensation award pursuant to the terms thereof, (C) any unilateral grant of any security by the Company to such Person, or (D) an Exempt Transaction; provided, however, that a Person who or which, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Person, becomes the Beneficial Owner of shares of Common Stock representing 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding by reason of any of the transactions described in (A) through (D) of this Section 1(a)(i) shall nevertheless be deemed to be an “Acquiring Person” if, subject to Section 1(a)(ii), such Person, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Person, thereafter (and while such Person, together with the Affiliates and Associates of such Person, continues to be the Beneficial Owner of 4.75% or more of the then outstanding shares of Common Stock) becomes the Beneficial Owner of any additional shares of Common Stock, except as a result of (w) a dividend or distribution of shares by the Company made on a pro rata basis to all holders of Common Stock, (x) the issuance of shares by the Company pursuant to a split or subdivision of the outstanding Common Stock, (y) the grant of any equity compensation award (including, without limitation, an equity compensation award in the form of options, warrants, rights, restricted stock, or similar securities) by the Company to such Person if such person is a director, officer, employee, or agent of the Company, or any adjustment to the number of shares of Common Stock represented by such equity compensation award pursuant to the terms thereof, or (z) any unilateral grant of any security by the Company to such Person; and

(ii)    If the Board of Directors determines that a Person who would otherwise be an “Acquiring Person,” as defined pursuant to this Section 1(a), has become such inadvertently (including, without limitation, because (A) such Person was unaware that it Beneficially Owned a percentage of the then-outstanding Common Stock that would otherwise cause such Person to be an “Acquiring Person” or (B) such Person was aware of the extent of its Beneficial Ownership of Common Stock but had no actual knowledge of the consequences of such Beneficial Ownership under this Agreement) (such a Person, an “Inadvertent Acquiror”), then (except as provided in the next sentence of this subsection (a)(ii)) such Person shall not be deemed to be or to have become an “Acquiring Person” for any purposes of this Agreement. Notwithstanding the first sentence of this subsection (a)(ii), unless the Board of Directors determines pursuant to Section 1(s)(ii) of this Agreement that an Inadvertent Acquiror is an Exempt Person, if an Inadvertent Acquiror (or such Inadvertent Acquiror's Affiliates and Associates) does not divest as promptly as practicable (but in no event later than 15 Business Days (or such later date as determined by the Board of Directors) after receipt of written notice from the Company that the Board of Directors has determined such Person to be an

Inadvertent Acquiror) a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock so that such Person, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Person, no longer Beneficially Owns 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding, then such Person shall, at the end of such 15 Business Day Period (or the end of such longer period as determined by the Board of Directors), become an “Acquiring Person” (and the exception provided by this subsection (a)(ii) shall no longer apply to such Person).

(b)     “Affiliate” and “Associate” shall have the respective meanings ascribed to such terms in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act Regulations, as in effect on the date of this Agreement, and to the extent not included within the foregoing clause of this Section 1(b), shall also include, with respect to any Person, any other Person (whether or not a Related Person or an Exempt Person) whose shares of Common Stock would be deemed constructively owned by such first Person, owned by a single “entity” as defined in Section 1.382-3(a)(1) of the Treasury Regulations, or otherwise aggregated with shares owned by such first Person pursuant to the provisions of the Code, or any successor provision or replacement provision, and the Treasury Regulations thereunder, provided, however, that a Person shall not be deemed to be the Affiliate or Associate of another Person solely because either or both Persons are or were directors or officers of the Company.

(c)    A Person shall be deemed the “Beneficial Owner” of and shall be deemed to “Beneficially Own” and to have “Beneficial Ownership” of any securities:

(i)    that such Person or any of such Person's Af-filiates or Associates beneficially owns, directly or indirectly (as determined pursuant to Rule 13d-3 of the Exchange Act Regulations as in effect on the date of this Agreement); provided, however, that a Person shall not be deemed the Beneficial Owner of, or to Beneficially Own or to have Beneficial Ownership of, any security if the agreement, ar-rangement, or understanding to vote such security that would otherwise render such Person the Beneficial Owner of such security (1) arises solely from a revocable proxy or consent given to such Person in response to a public proxy or consent solicitation made pursuant to, and in accordance with, the applicable provisions of the Exchange Act and the Exchange Act Regulations, and (2) is not also then reportable on Schedule 13D under the Exchange Act (or any comparable or successor report);

(ii)    that such Person or any of such Person's Af-filiates or Associates has (A) the right to acquire (whether such right is exercisable immediately or only after the passage of time) pursuant to any agreement, arrangement, or understanding, whether or not in writing (other than customary agreements with and between underwriters and selling group members with respect to a bona fide public offer-ing of securities), or upon the exercise of conversion rights, exchange rights, rights, warrants, or options, or otherwise; provided, however, that a Person shall not be deemed the Beneficial Owner of, or to Beneficially Own or to have Beneficial Ownership of (x) securities tendered pursuant to a tender or exchange offer made in accordance with the Exchange Act Regulations by or on behalf of such Person or any of such Person's Af-filiates or Associates until such tendered securities are accepted for purchase or exchange, or (y) securities issuable upon exercise of Rights at any time prior to the occurrence of a Triggering Event, or (z) securities issuable upon exercise of Rights from and after the occurrence of a Triggering Event if such Rights were acquired by such Person or

any of such Person's Affiliates or Associates prior to the Distribution Date or pursuant to Section 3(a) or Section 22 hereof (the “Original Rights”) or pursuant to Section 11(a) hereof in connection with an adjustment made with respect to any Original Rights; or (B) the right to vote pursuant to any agreement, arrangement, or understanding (except to the extent contemplated by the proviso to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph (c));

(iii) that are Beneficially Owned, directly or indirectly, by any other Person (or any Affiliate or Associate of such Person) with which such Person (or any of such Person's Affiliates or Associates) has any agreement, arrangement, or understanding, whether or not in writing (other than customary agreements with and between underwriters and selling group members with respect to a bona fide public offering of securities) for the purpose of acquiring, holding, voting (except to the extent contemplated by the proviso to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph (c)), or disposing of any such securities; or

(iv) to the extent not included within the foregoing subparts (i), (ii), or (iii) of this Section 1(c), and notwithstanding anything in this Section 1(c) to the contrary, that such Person would be deemed to constructively own or that otherwise would be aggregated with shares owned by such Person pursuant to Section 382 of the Code, or any successor provision or replacement provision and the Treasury Regulations thereunder.

Notwithstanding anything in this definition of Beneficial Ownership to the contrary, the phrase “then outstanding,” when used with reference to a Person's Beneficial Ownership of securities of the Company, shall mean the number of such securities then issued and outstanding together with the number of such securities not then actually issued and outstanding that such Person would be deemed to Beneficially Own hereunder.

(d)    “Board of Directors” shall mean the Board of Directors of the Company or any duly authorized committee thereof.

(e)    “Book Entry” shall mean an uncertificated book entry for the Common Stock.

(f)    “Business Day” shall mean any day other than a Saturday, Sunday, or a day on which banking institutions in New York City, New York are authorized or obligated by law or executive order to close.

(g)    “Certificate of Incorporation” shall mean the Restated Certificate of Incorporation of the Company, as filed with the Office of the Secretary of State of the State of

Delaware (the “Secretary of State”) on August 3, 1992, as amended by the Certificate of Amendment filed with the Secretary of State on May 5, 1993, the Certificate of Ownership and Merger filed with the Secretary of State on February 26, 1996, the Certificate of Amendment filed with the Secretary of State on April 26, 2002, the Certificate of Elimination filed with the Secretary of State on August 3, 2009, and the Certificate of Designation of the Series B Preferred Stock of the Company filed with the Secretary of State on August 3, 2009 (the “Certificate of Designation”), as the same may hereafter be amended or restated.

(h)    “Close of Business” on any given date shall mean 5:00 P.M., New York City time, on such date; provided, however, that if such date is not a Business Day, it shall mean 5:00 P.M., New York City time, on the next succeeding Business Day.

(i)    “Closing Price” shall mean, with respect to any security on any given day, the last sale price, regular way, of such security or, in case no such sale takes place on such day, the average of the closing bid and asked prices, regular way, on the principal trading market on which such security is then traded.

(j)    “Code” shall mean the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.

(k)    “Common Stock” shall have the meaning set forth in the Preamble to this Agreement.

(l)    “Common Equity Interest” when used with reference to any Person other than the Company shall mean the class or series of capital stock (or equity interest) with the greatest voting power (in relation to any other classes or series of capital stock (or equity interest)) of such other Person.

(m)    “Definitive Acquisition Agreement” shall mean any agreement entered into by the Company that is conditioned on the approval by the holders of not less than a majority of the voting power of the outstanding shares of Common Stock, at a meeting of stockholders with respect to (A) a merger, consolidation, recapitalization, reorganization, share exchange, business combination or similar transaction involving the Company or (B) the acquisition in any manner, directly or indirectly, of more than 50% of the consolidated total assets (including, without limitation, equity securities of its subsidiaries) of the Company)

(n)    “Distribution Date” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 3(a).

(o)    “Equivalent Preferred Stock” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 11(b).

(p)    “Exchange Act” shall mean the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended.

(q)    “Exchange Act Regulations” shall mean the General Rules and Regulations under the Exchange Act.

(r)    “Exchange Ratio” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 24(a).

(s)    “Exempt Person” shall mean any Person who or which, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Person:

(i) is the Beneficial Owner of securities on the Rights Dividend Declaration Date representing 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock outstanding on the Rights Dividend Declaration Date, provided, however, that any such Person described in this clause (i) shall no longer be deemed to be an Exempt Person and shall be deemed an Acquiring Person if such Person, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Person (and while such Person, together with the Affiliates and Associates of such Person, continues to be the Beneficial Owner of 4.75% or more of the then outstanding shares of Common Stock) either (A) becomes the Beneficial Owner of additional securities representing one-half of one percent (0.5%) or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding or (B) becomes the Beneficial Owner of additional securities and upon acquiring such Beneficial Ownership is, together with such Person's Affiliates and Associates, the Beneficial Owner of 20% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding, except in each case when Beneficial Ownership of such additional securities is a result of (w) a dividend or distribution of shares by the Company made on a pro rata basis to all holders of Common Stock, (x) the issuance of shares by the Company pursuant to a split or subdivision of the outstanding Common Stock, (y) the grant of any equity compensation award (including, without limitation, an equity compensation award in the form of options, warrants, rights, restricted stock, or similar securities) by the Company to such Person if such person is a director, officer, employee, or agent of the Company, or any adjustment to the number of shares of Common Stock represented by such equity compensation award pursuant to the terms thereof, or (z) any unilateral grant of any security by the Company to such Person; or

(ii) is a Beneficial Owner of 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock outstanding (but less than 20% of the shares of Common Stock outstanding) and whose Beneficial Ownership the Board of Directors has determined, in its sole discretion, would not jeopardize or endanger the availability to the Company of its NOLs; provided, however, that the Board of Directors makes such determination either (x) before the time such Person otherwise would have become an Acquiring Person, or (y) after the time such Person otherwise would have become an Acquiring Person if the Board of Directors has determined, in accordance with Section 1(a)(ii) of this Agreement, that such a person is an “Inadvertent Acquiror”; and provided, further, that, if a Person is an Exempt Person solely by reason of this clause (ii), then such Person shall cease to be an Exempt Person if (A) such Person, together with the Affiliates and Associates of such Person, ceases to Beneficially Own 4.75% or more of the shares of the then outstanding Common Stock or (B) the Board of Directors, in its sole discretion, makes a contrary determination about the effect of such Person's Beneficial Ownership on the availability to the Company of its NOLs.

For the avoidance of doubt, the Board of Directors, in its sole discretion, may condition its determination that any Person, together with the Affiliates and Associates of such Person, is an Exempt Person upon such Person and/or such Person's Affiliates or Associates entering into an agreement with the Company providing for restrictions or limitations on the right or ability of such Person and/or such Person's Affiliates and Associates to acquire or dispose of Beneficial Ownership of Common Stock.

A purchaser, assignee, or transferee of the shares of Common Stock (or options, rights, or warrants exercisable for Common Stock) from an Exempt Person shall not thereby become an Exempt Person, except that a transferee from the estate of an Exempt Person who receives Common Stock as a bequest or inheritance from an Exempt Person shall be an Exempt Person so long as such Person continues to be the Beneficial Owner of 4.75% or more of the then outstanding shares of Common Stock. For the avoidance of doubt, nothing in this definition of “Exempt Person” is intended to limit the authority of the Board of Directors to redeem the Rights in accordance with Section 23 of this Agreement, to exchange all or part of the then outstanding and exercisable Rights in accordance with Section 24 of this Agreement, to supplement or amend this Agreement in accordance with Section 27 of this Agreement, or to interpret and administer this Agreement in accordance with Section 29 of this Agreement.

(t)    “Exempt Transaction” shall mean any transaction that the Board of Directors determines, in its sole discretion and before the consummation of such transaction, is exempt, which determination shall be irrevocable; provided, however, that the Board of Directors may not exempt any transaction that results in any Person (other than the Company or a Related Person), together with the Affiliates and Associates of such Person, beneficially owning 20% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding. For the avoidance of doubt, nothing in this definition of “Exempt Transaction” is intended to limit the authority of the Board of Directors to redeem the Rights in accordance with Section 23 of this Agreement, to exchange all or part of the then outstanding and exercisable Rights in accordance with Section 24 of this Agreement, to supplement or amend this Agreement in accordance with Section 27 of this Agreement, or to interpret and administer this Agreement in accordance with Section 29 of this Agreement.

(u)    “Expiration Date” has the meaning set forth in Section 7(a).

(v)    “Final Expiration Date” has the meaning set forth in Section 7(a).

(w)     “NOLs” shall mean the Company's net operating loss carryforwards and shall also include any other tax benefits or attributes that may potentially be subject to the limitations imposed by Section 382 or 383 of the Code and the Treasury Regulations thereunder.

(x)    “Original Rights Agreement” shall have the meaning set forth in the Preamble to this Agreement.

(y)    “Outside Meeting Date” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 23(b).

(z)    “Person” shall mean any individual, firm, corporation, partnership (general or limited), limited liability company, limited liability partnership, association, unincorporated organization, trust, or other legal entity, and also (i) any syndicate or group deemed to be a Person under Section 13(d)(5)(b) of the Exchange Act, (ii) any other legal entity, group, or person making a “coordinated acquisition” of shares or otherwise treated as an entity within the meaning of Section 1.382-3(a)(1) of the Treasury Regulations or otherwise, and (iii) any successor (by merger or otherwise) of any such firm, corporation, partnership (general or limited), limited liability company, limited liability partnership, association, unincorporated organization, trust, or other group or entity.

(aa)    “Principal Party” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 13(b).

(bb)    “Purchase Price” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 7(b).

(cc)    “Qualified Offer” shall mean an offer determined by a majority of the independent members of the Board of Directors of the Company to have each of the following characteristics:
(i) A fully financed all-cash tender offer, or an exchange offer offering shares of common stock of the offeror, or a combination thereof, in each such case for any and all of the outstanding shares of Common Stock at the same per-share consideration;
(ii) An offer that has commenced within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations;
(iii) An offer whose per-share offer price exceeds the greater of (A) a reasonable premium above the highest reported market price for the Common Stock during the immediately preceding twenty-four (24) months (determined as of the Trading Day immediately preceding the commencement of such offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations), and (B) represents a reasonable premium above the average of the Closing Prices for the ten (10) Trading Days immediately preceding the commencement of the offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations; provided, however, that, if, at the time any offer is commenced within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations, any other offer that is a Qualified Offer has been commenced and remains open, the per share offer price with respect to such subsequent offer must equal or exceed the per share price with respect to such earlier Qualified Offer (in lieu of exceeding the thresholds set forth in clauses (A) and (B) above); provided, further, that, to the extent that an offer includes shares of common stock of the offeror or any subsidiary or Affiliate of the offeror, such per-share offer price with respect to such common stock of the offeror or a subsidiary or Affiliate of the offeror will be determined for purposes of the foregoing provision to be the average of the daily Closing Prices per share for such common stock for the thirty (30) Trading Days immediately preceding the commencement of such offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) under the Exchange Act Regulations;
(iv) An offer that, within twenty (20) Business Days after the commencement date of the offer (or within ten (10) Business Days after any increase in the offer consideration), does not result in a nationally recognized investment banking firm retained by the Board of Directors rendering an opinion to the Board of Directors that the consideration being

offered to the stockholders of the Company is either inadequate or unfair;
(v) If the offer includes shares of common stock of the offeror, an offer pursuant to which (A) the offeror shall permit representatives of the Company (including a nationally recognized investment banking firm retained by the Board of Directors of the Company and legal counsel and an accounting firm designated by the Company) to have access to such offeror's books, records, management, accountants, financial advisors, counsel and any other appropriate outside advisers for the purposes of permitting such representatives to conduct a due diligence review of the offeror in order to permit the Board of Directors of the Company to evaluate the offer and make an informed decision and, if requested by the Board of Directors of the Company, to permit such investment banking firm (relying as appropriate on the advice of such legal counsel) to be able to render an opinion to the Board of Directors of the Company with respect to whether the consideration being offered to the stockholders of the Company is fair from a financial point of view, and (B) within ten (10) Business Days after such representatives of the Company (including a nationally-recognized investment banking firm retained by the Board of Directors of the Company and legal counsel and an accounting firm designated by the Company) shall have notified the Company and the offeror that it had completed such due diligence review to its satisfaction (or, following completion of such due diligence review, within ten (10) Business Days after any increase in the consideration being offered), such investment banking firm does not render an opinion to the Board of Directors of the Company that the consideration being offered to the stockholders of the Company is either unfair or inadequate and such investment banking firm does not, after the expiration of such ten (10) Business Day period, render an opinion to the Board of Directors of the Company that the consideration being offered to the stockholders of the Company has become either unfair or inadequate based on a subsequent disclosure or discovery of a development or developments that have had or are reasonably likely to have an adverse effect on the value of the common stock of the offeror;
(vi) An offer that is subject only to the minimum tender condition described below in Section 1(cc)(ix) and other customary terms and conditions, which conditions shall not include any financing, funding or similar conditions or any requirements with respect to the offeror or its agents being permitted any due diligence with respect to the books, records, management, accountants or other outside advisers of the Company;
(vii) An offer pursuant to which the Company has received an irrevocable written commitment of the offeror that the offer will remain open for at least one hundred twenty (120) Business Days and, if a Special Meeting is duly requested in accordance with Section 23(b), for, at least ten (10) Business Days after the date of the Special Meeting or, if no Special Meeting is held within ninety (90) Business Days following receipt of the Special Meeting Notice in accordance with Section 23(b), for at least ten (10) Business Days following such ninety (90) Business Day Period;
(viii) An offer pursuant to which the Company has received an irrevocable written commitment of the offeror that, in addition to the minimum time periods specified above in Section 1(cc)(vii), the offer, if it is otherwise to expire prior thereto, will be extended for at least twenty (20) Business Days after any increase in the consideration being offered or after any bona fide alternative offer is commenced within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of

the Exchange Act Regulations; provided, however, that such offer need not remain open, as a result of Section 1(cc)(vii) and this Section 1(cc)(viii), beyond (A) the time that any other offer satisfying the criteria for a Qualified Offer is then required to be kept open under such Section 1(cc)(vii) and this Section 1(cc)(viii), or (B) the expiration date, as such date may be extended by public announcement (with prompt written notice to the Rights Agent) in compliance with Rule 14e-1 of the Exchange Act Regulations, of any other tender offer for the Common Stock with respect to which the Board of Directors of the Company has agreed to redeem the Rights immediately prior to acceptance for payment of Common Stock thereunder (unless such other offer is terminated prior to its expiration without any Common Stock having been purchased thereunder), or (C) one Business Day after the stockholder vote with respect to approval of any Definitive Acquisition Agreement has been officially determined and certified by the inspectors of elections;
(ix) An offer that is conditioned on a minimum of at least two-thirds of the outstanding shares of the Common Stock not held by the Person making such offer (and such Person's Affiliates and Associates) being tendered and not withdrawn as of the offer's expiration date, which condition shall not be waivable;
(x) An offer pursuant to which the Company has received an irrevocable written commitment by the offeror to consummate, as promptly as practicable upon successful completion of the offer, a second step transaction whereby all shares of the Common Stock not tendered into the offer will be acquired at the same consideration per share actually paid pursuant to the offer, subject to stockholders' statutory appraisal rights, if any;
(xi) An offer pursuant to which the Company and its stockholders have received an irrevocable written commitment of the offeror that no amendments will be made to the offer to reduce the consideration being offered or to otherwise change the terms of the offer in a way that is adverse to a tendering stockholder;
(xii) An offer (other than an offer consisting solely of cash consideration) pursuant to which the Company has received the written representation and certification of the offeror and the written representations and certifications of the offeror's Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer, acting in such capacities, that (A) all facts about the offeror that would be material to making an investor's decision to accept the offer have been fully and accurately disclosed as of the date of the commencement of the offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations, (B) all such new facts will be fully and accurately disclosed on a prompt basis during the entire period during which the offer remains open, and (C) all required Exchange Act reports will be filed by the offeror in a timely manner during such period; and
(xiii) If the offer includes non-cash consideration (A) the non-cash portion of the consideration offered must consist solely of common stock of a Person that is a publicly-owned United States corporation, (B) such common stock must be freely tradable and listed or admitted to trading on either the NYSE or the Nasdaq Global Market or the Nasdaq Global Select Market, (C) no stockholder approval of the issuer of such common stock is required to issue such common stock, or, if such approval is required, such approval has already been obtained, (D) no Person (including such Person's Affiliates and Associates) beneficially owns 20% or more of the shares of common stock of the issuer then outstanding at the time of commencement of the offer or at any time during the term of the offer, (E) the

issuer of such common stock has no other class of voting stock or other voting securities, and (F) the issuer of such common stock meets the registrant eligibility requirements for use of Form S-3 for registering securities under the Securities Act, including the filing of all required Exchange Act reports in a timely manner during the twelve calendar months prior to the date of commencement of such offer.
For the purposes of this definition of “Qualified Offer,” “fully financed” shall mean that the offeror has sufficient funds for the offer and related expenses which shall be evidenced by (i) firm, unqualified, legally binding, written commitments from responsible financial institutions having the necessary financial capacity, accepted by the offeror, to provide funds for such offer subject only to customary terms and conditions, (ii) cash or cash equivalents then available to the offeror, set apart and maintained solely for the purpose of funding the offer with an irrevocable written commitment being provided by the offeror to the Board of Directors of the Company to maintain such availability until the offer is consummated or withdrawn, or (iii) a combination of the foregoing; which evidence has been provided to the Company prior to, or upon, commencement of the offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations. If an offer becomes a Qualified Offer in accordance with this definition, but subsequently ceases to be a Qualified Offer as a result of the failure at a later date to continue to satisfy any of the requirements of this definition, such offer shall cease to be a Qualified Offer and the provisions of Section 23(b) shall no longer be applicable to such offer, provided the actual redemption of the Rights pursuant to Section 23(b) shall not have already occurred.

(dd)    “Record Date” shall have the meaning set forth in the Preamble to this Agreement.

(ee)    “Redemption Resolution” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 23(b).

(ff)    “Related Person” shall mean (i) any Subsidiary of the Company or (ii) any employee benefit or stock ownership plan of the Company or of any Subsidiary of the Company or any trustee or fiduciary holding shares of Common Stock for or pursuant to the terms of any such plan, acting in such capacity.

(gg)    “Right” and “Rights” shall have the meaning set forth in the Preamble to this Agreement.

(hh)    “Rights Certificates” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 3(a).

(ii)    “Rights Dividend Declaration Date” shall have the meaning set forth in the Preamble to this Agreement.

(jj)    “Section 11(a)(ii) Event” shall mean the event described in Section 11(a)(ii) hereof that triggers the adjustment provided in Section 11(a)(ii).

(kk)    “Section 13 Event” shall mean any event described in clause (x), (y), or (z) of Section 13(a) hereof.

(ll)    “Securities Act” shall mean the Securities Act of 1933, as amended.

(mm)    “Series B Preferred Stock” shall mean the Series B Junior Participating Preferred Stock of the Company, no par value, having the voting rights, powers, designations, preferences, and relative, participating, optional, or other special rights and qualifications, limitations, and restrictions set forth in the Certificate of Designation.

(nn)    “Special Meeting” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 23(b).

(oo)    “Special Meeting Notice” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 23(b).

(pp)    “Special Meeting Period” shall have the meaning set forth in Section 23(b).

(qq)    “Stock Acquisition Date” shall mean the first date of public announcement (including, without limitation, the filing of any report pursuant to Section 13(d) of the Exchange Act) by the Company or an Acquiring Person that an Acquiring Person has become such.

(rr)    “Subsidiary” shall mean, with reference to any Person, any other Person of which (1) a majority of the voting power of the voting securities or equity interests is Beneficially Owned, directly or indirectly, by such first-mentioned Person or otherwise controlled by such first-mentioned Person, or (2) an amount of voting securities or equity interests sufficient to elect at least a majority of the directors or equivalent governing body of such other Person is Beneficially Owned, directly or indirectly, by such first-mentioned Person, or otherwise controlled by such first‑mentioned Person.

(ss)    “Summary of Rights” and “Original Summary of Rights” shall have the meanings set forth in Section 3(b).

(tt)    “Trading Day” shall mean, with respect to any security, a day on which the principal national securities exchange on which the security is listed or admitted to trading is open for the transaction of business.

(uu)    “Treasury Regulations” shall mean final, temporary, and proposed income tax regulations promulgated under the Code, as amended.

(vv)    “Triggering Event” shall mean any Section 11(a)(ii) Event or any Section 13 Event.

(ww)    “Trust” has the meaning set forth in Section 24(d).

(xx)    “Trust Agreement” has the meaning set forth in Section 24(d).

(yy)    “Unit” has the meaning set forth in Section 7(b).

Section 2.    Appointment of Rights Agent. The Company hereby appoints the Rights Agent to act as agent for the Company and the holders of the Rights (who, in accordance with Section 4 hereof, shall prior to the Distribution Date also be holders of Common Stock) in accordance with

the terms and conditions hereof, and the Rights Agent hereby accepts such appointment. With the consent of the Rights Agent, the Company may from time to time appoint such Co‑Rights Agents as it may deem necessary or desirable. The Rights Agent shall have no duty to supervise, and in no event shall it be liable for, the acts or omissions of any such co-Rights Agent.

Section 3.    Issue of Rights Certificates. (a) Until the earlier of (i) the Close of Business on the tenth Business Day after the Stock Acquisition Date and (ii) the Close of Business on the tenth Business Day (or such later date as may be determined by action of a majority of the Board of Directors before such time as any Person becomes an Acquiring Person and of which later date the Company will give the Rights Agent prompt written notice) after the date that a tender or exchange offer by any Person (other than the Company, any Subsidiary of the Company, any employee benefit plan maintained by the Company or any of its Subsidiaries or any trustee or fiduciary holding Common Stock for, or pursuant to the terms of, any such plan, acting in such capacity) is first published or sent or given within the meaning of Rule 14d‑4(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations or any successor rule, if upon consummation thereof such Person, together with the Affiliates and Associates of such Person, would be the Beneficial Owner of shares of Common Stock representing 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding (including any such date that is after the Rights Dividend Declaration Date and prior to the issuance of the Rights) (the earlier of (i) and (ii) above being the “Distribution Date”):

(x)
the Rights will be evidenced by the balances indicated in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock registered in the names of the holders thereof (which Common Stock will also be deemed to represent certificates for Rights) or, in the case of certificated shares, by the certificates for shares of Common Stock registered in the names of the holders of shares of Common Stock as of and subsequent to the Record Date (which certificates for shares of Common Stock shall be deemed also to be certificates for Rights) and not by separate rights certificates; and

(y)	the Rights will be transferable only in connection with the transfer of the underlying shares of Common Stock (including a transfer to the Company).

As soon as practicable after the Distribution Date, the Company will prepare and execute, the Rights Agent will countersign, and the Company will send or cause to be sent (and the Rights Agent, if so requested, will send) by first‑class, insured, postage prepaid mail, to each record holder of shares of Common Stock as of the Close of Business on the Distribution Date, at the address of such holder shown on the records of the Company, one or more rights certificates, in substantially the form of Exhibit A (the “Rights Certificates”), evidencing one Right for each share of Common Stock so held, subject to adjustment as provided herein. If an adjustment in the number of Rights per share of Common Stock has been made pursuant to Section 11(i) or Section 11(p) hereof, at the time of distribution of the Rights Certificates, the Company may make the necessary and appropriate rounding adjustments (in accordance with Section 14(a) hereof) so that Rights Certificates representing only whole numbers of Rights are distributed and cash is paid in lieu of any fractional Rights. As of and after the Distribution Date, the Rights will be evidenced solely by such Rights Certificates.

(b)    In 2009, a Summary of Rights in substantially the form as attached as Exhibit B to the Original Rights Agreement (hereinafter referred to as the “Original Summary of Rights”) was sent to each record holder of Common Stock as of the Close of Business on the Record Date, at the address of such holder shown on the records of the Company at that time. From and after the effective time of this Agreement, upon the request of any record holder of Common Stock, the Company will send (without charge) a copy of a revised Summary of Rights to Purchase Series B Preferred Stock in substantially the form attached hereto as Exhibit B (hereinafter referred to as the “Summary of Rights”), by first‑class, postage prepaid mail, to such holder at the address of such holder shown on the records of the Company or at such other address as such holder may request. Until the Distribution Date, the Rights will be evidenced by the balances indicated in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock, or in the case of certificated shares, by such certificates registered in the names of the holders thereof (which certificates may, but need not, be accompanied by a copy of the Summary of Rights or the Original Summary of Rights attached thereto). Until the earlier of the Distribution Date or the Expiration Date, the transfer of any shares of Common Stock (whether represented by certificate(s) or evidenced by the balances indicated in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock, and in either case regardless of whether a copy of the Summary of Rights or the Original Summary of Rights is submitted with the surrender or request for transfer), shall also constitute the transfer of the Rights associated with such shares of Common Stock.

(c)    Rights shall, without any further action, be issued in respect of all shares of Common Stock that become outstanding (whether originally issued or delivered from the Company's treasury) after the Record Date but prior to the earlier of the Distribution Date and the Expiration Date; provided, however, that Rights shall also be issued to the extent provided in Section 22 hereof. Confirmation and account statements sent to holders of Common Stock for Book Entry form or, in the case of certificated shares, certificates, representing such shares of Common Stock, issued after the effective time of this Agreement shall bear a legend or statement substantially in the following form:

“This certificate also evidences and entitles the holder hereof to certain Rights as set forth in the Amended and Restated Stockholders Rights Agreement between Furniture Brands International, Inc. (the “Company”) and American Stock Transfer and Trust Company, LLC (the “Rights Agent”) dated as of June 18, 2012 as the same may be amended from time to time (the “Rights Agreement”), the terms of which are incorporated herein by reference and a copy of which is on file at the principal office of the Company. Under certain circumstances, as set forth in the Rights Agreement, such Rights will be evidenced by separate certificates and will no longer be evidenced by this certificate. The Company will mail to the holder of this certificate a copy of the Rights Agreement, as in effect on the date of mailing, without charge after receipt of a written request therefor. Under certain circumstances, as set forth in the Rights Agreement, Rights that are Beneficially Owned by any Person who is, was, or becomes an Acquiring Person or any Affiliate or Associate thereof (as such capitalized terms are defined in the Rights Agreement), or specified transferees of such Acquiring Person (or Affiliate or Associate thereof) may become null and void.”

With respect to Common Stock in Book Entry form for which there has been sent a confirmation or account statement containing a statement in substantially the form of the foregoing (or substantially the form set forth in Section 3(c) of the Original Rights Agreement or the 2010 Rights Agreement), until the earliest of the Distribution Date or the Expiration Date, the Rights associated with such Common Stock shall be evidenced by such Common Stock alone and registered holders of Common Stock shall also be the registered holders of the associated Rights, and the transfer of any such Common Stock shall also constitute the transfer of the Rights associated with such shares of Common Stock. Before the earlier of the Distribution Date and the Expiration Date, if new certificate(s) representing shares of Common Stock are issued in connection with the transfer, split up, combination, or exchange of certificate(s) representing shares of Common Stock or if new certificate(s) representing shares of Common Stock are issued to replace any certificate(s) that have been mutilated, destroyed, lost, or stolen, then such new certificate(s) shall bear a legend in substantially the form of the foregoing. With respect to all certificates containing a legend in substantially the form of the foregoing (or substantially the form set forth in Section 3(c) of the Original Rights Agreement or the 2010 Rights Agreement), until the earlier of the Distribution Date or the Expiration Date, the Rights associated with the shares of Common Stock represented by such certificates shall be evidenced by such certificates alone and registered holders of the shares of Common Stock shall also be the registered holders of the associated Rights, and the transfer of any of such certificates shall also constitute the transfer of the Rights associated with the shares of Common Stock represented by such certificates. Notwithstanding anything in this Section 3(c), the omission of a legend or statement substantially in the form specified in this Section 3(c) shall not affect the enforceability of any part of this Agreement or the rights of any holder of Rights.
(d) If the Company purchases or acquires any shares of Common Stock after the Record Date but prior to the Distribution Date, any Rights associated with such shares of Common Stock shall be deemed cancelled and retired so that the Company shall not be entitled to exercise any Rights as-sociated with the shares of Common Stock that are no longer outstand-ing.

Section 4.    Form of Rights Certificate. (a) The Rights Certificates (and the forms of election to purchase and of assignment and the certificate to be printed on the reverse thereof) shall be substantially in the form set forth in Exhibit A hereto and may have such marks of identification or designation and such legends, statements, summaries, or endorsements printed thereon as the Company may deem appropriate (but which do not affect the rights, duties, or responsibilities of the Rights Agent) and as are not inconsistent with the provisions of this Agreement, or as may be required to comply with any applicable law or any rule or regulation thereunder or with any rule or regulation of any stock exchange upon which the Rights may from time to time be listed, or to conform to usage. Subject to the provisions of Sections 7, 11, 13, 22, 23, 24, and 27 hereof, the Rights Certificates, whenever distributed, shall be dated as of the Distribution Date and on their face shall entitle the holders thereof to purchase such number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock as shall be set forth therein at the price set forth therein, but the amount and type of securities, cash, or other assets that may be acquired upon the exercise of each Right and the Purchase Price thereof shall be subject to adjustment as provided herein.

(b)    Any Rights Certificate issued pursuant hereto that represents Rights Beneficially Owned by: (i) an Acquiring Person or any Associate or Affiliate of an Acquiring Person, (ii) a

transferee of an Acquiring Person (or of any such Associate or Affiliate) that becomes a transferee after the Acquiring Person becomes such, or (iii) a transferee of an Acquiring Person (or of any such Associate or Affiliate) that becomes a transferee prior to or concurrently with the Acquiring Person becoming such and that receives such Rights pursuant to either (A) a transfer (whether or not for consideration) from the Acquiring Person (or any such Associate or Affiliate) to holders of equity interests in such Acquiring Person (or such Associate or Affiliate) or to any Person with whom such Acquiring Person (or such Associate or Affiliate) has any continuing written or oral agreement, arrangement, or understanding regarding either the transferred Rights, shares of Common Stock, or the Company, or (B) a transfer that the Board of Directors has determined in good faith to be part of a plan, agreement, arrangement, or understanding that has as a primary purpose or effect the avoidance of Section 7(e) hereof shall, upon the written direction of the Board of Directors, contain (to the extent feasible), the following legend:

“The Rights represented by this Rights Certificate are or were Beneficially Owned by a Person who was or became an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate of an Acquiring Person (as such capitalized terms are defined in the Amended and Restated Stockholders Rights Agreement, dated as of June 18, 2012 as the same may be amended from time to time (the “Rights Agreement”), by and between Furniture Brands International, Inc. and American Stock Transfer and Trust Company, LLC, as Rights Agent). Accordingly, this Rights Certificate and the Rights represented hereby may become null and void in the circumstances specified in Section 7(e) of the Rights Agreement.”

Section 5.    Countersignature and Registration. (a) Rights Certificates shall be executed on behalf of the Company by its Chairman of the Board, its Chief Executive Officer, or its Treasurer, shall have affixed thereto the Company's corporate seal (or a facsimile thereof), and shall be attested by the Company's Secretary or one of its Assistant Secretaries. The signature of any of these officers on the Rights Certificates may be manual or by facsimile. Rights Certificates bearing the manual or facsimile signatures of the individuals who were at any time the proper officers of the Company shall bind the Company, notwithstanding that such individuals or any of them have ceased to hold such offices prior to the countersigning of such Rights Certificates by the Rights Agent or did not hold such offices at the date of such Rights Certificates. No Rights Certificate shall be entitled to any benefit under this Agreement or be valid for any purpose unless there appears on such Rights Certificate a countersignature duly executed by the Rights Agent by manual or facsimile signature of an authorized officer, and such countersignature upon any Rights Certificate shall be conclusive evidence, and the only evidence, that such Rights Certificate has been duly countersigned as required hereunder.

(b)    Following the Distribution Date, the Rights Agent will keep or cause to be kept, at its office designated for surrender of Rights Certificates upon exercise or transfer, books for registration and transfer of the Rights Certificates issued hereunder. Such books shall show the name and address of each holder of the Rights Certificates, the number of Rights evidenced on its face by each Rights Certificate, and the date of each Rights Certificate.

Section 6.    Transfer, Split Up, Combination, and Exchange of Rights Certificates;

Mutilated, Destroyed, Lost, or Stolen Rights Certificates. (a) Subject to the provisions of Sections 4(b), 7(e), and 14 hereof, at any time after the Close of Business on the Distribution Date, and at or prior to the Close of Business on the Expiration Date, any Rights Certificate or Certificates (other than Rights Certificates representing Rights that have become null and void pursuant to Section 7(e) hereof, that have been redeemed pursuant to Section 23 hereof, or that have been exchanged pursuant to Section 24 hereof) may be transferred, split up, combined, or exchanged for another Rights Certificate or Certificates, entitling the registered holder to purchase a like number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or, following a Triggering Event, other securities, cash or other assets, as the case may be) as the Rights Certificate or Certificates surrendered then entitled such holder to purchase. Any registered holder desiring to transfer, split up, combine, or exchange any Rights Certificate or Certificates shall make such request in writing delivered to the Rights Agent, and shall surrender the Rights Certificate or Certificates to be transferred, split up, combined, or exchanged at the office of the Rights Agent designated for such purpose. Neither the Rights Agent nor the Company shall be obligated to take any action whatsoever with respect to the transfer of any such surrendered Rights Certificate until the registered holder shall have completed and executed the certificate set forth in the form of assignment on the reverse side of such Rights Certificate and shall have provided such additional evidence of the identity of the Beneficial Owner (or former Beneficial Owner) of the Rights represented by such Rights Certificate or Affiliates or Associates thereof as the Company shall reasonably request; whereupon the Rights Agent shall, subject to the provisions of Section 4(b), Section 7(e) and Section 14 hereof, countersign and deliver to the Person entitled thereto a Rights Certificate or Rights Certificates, as the case may be, as so requested. The Company may require payment of a sum sufficient to cover any tax or governmental charge that may be imposed in connection with any transfer, split up, combination, or exchange of Rights Certificates.

(b)    If a Rights Certificate shall be mutilated, lost, stolen, or destroyed, upon request by the registered holder of the Rights represented thereby and upon payment to the Company and the Rights Agent of all reasonable expenses incident thereto, there shall be issued, in exchange for and upon cancellation of the mutilated Rights Certificate, or in substitution for the lost, stolen, or destroyed Rights Certificate, a new Rights Certificate, in substantially the form of the prior Rights Certificate, of like tenor and representing the equivalent number of Rights, but, in the case of loss, theft, or destruction, only upon receipt of evidence satisfactory to the Company and the Rights Agent of such loss, theft or destruction of such Rights Certificate and, if requested by the Company or the Rights Agent, indemnity also satisfactory to it.

Section 7.    Exercise of Rights; Purchase Price; Expiration Date of Rights. (a) Prior to the earlier of (i) the Close of Business on June 18, 2015 (the “Final Expiration Date”), (ii) the time at which the Rights are redeemed as provided in Section 23 hereof, (iii) the time at which the Rights are exchanged as provided in Section 24 hereof, or (iv) the Close of Business on June 18, 2013 if stockholder ratification of this Agreement has not been received on or prior to such date (the earlier of (i), (ii), (iii), and (iv) being the “Expiration Date”), the registered holder of any Rights Certificate may, subject to the provisions of Sections 7(e), 9(c), and 9(f) hereof, exercise the Rights evidenced thereby (except as otherwise provided herein) in whole or in part at any time after the Distribution Date upon surrender of the Rights Certificate, with the form of election to purchase and the certificate on the reverse side thereof duly executed, to the Rights Agent at the office of the Rights Agent designated for such purpose, together with payment of the aggregate Purchase Price (as hereinafter

defined) for the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or, following a Triggering Event, other securities, cash or other assets, as the case may be) for which such surrendered Rights are then exercisable.

(b)    The purchase price for each one one‑thousandth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock purchasable upon exercise of a Right shall be $7.00 (as adjusted from time to time as provided in Sections 11 and 13(a) hereof) (the “Purchase Price”). The Purchase Price shall be subject to adjustment from time to time as provided in Sections 11 and 13(a) hereof and shall be payable in lawful money of the United States of America in accordance with paragraph (c)(2) below. Each one one‑thousandth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock shall be referred to herein as a “Unit” of Series B Preferred Stock.

(c)    (1) Subject to Section 14(b) hereof, following the Distribution Date, the Company may (at the direction of the Board of Directors) deposit with a corporation in good standing organized under the laws of the United States or any State of the United States, which is authorized under such laws to exercise corporate trust or stock transfer powers and is subject to supervision or examination by federal or state authority (the “Depositary Agent”) certificates representing the shares of Series B Preferred Stock that may be acquired upon exercise of the Rights and may cause such Depositary Agent to enter into an agreement pursuant to which the Depositary Agent shall issue receipts representing interests in the shares of Series B Preferred Stock so deposited.

(2) Upon receipt of a Rights Certificate representing exercisable Rights, with the form of election to purchase and the certificate duly executed, accompanied by payment, with respect to each Right so exercised, of the Purchase Price for the Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or, following a Triggering Event, other securities, cash, or other assets, as the case may be) to be purchased thereby as set forth below and an amount equal to any applicable tax or charge required to be paid by the holder of such Rights Certificate in accordance with Section 9 hereof, or evidence satisfactory to the Company of payment of such tax or charge, the Rights Agent shall, subject to Section 20(k) hereof, thereupon promptly (i)(A) requisition from any transfer agent of the Series B Preferred Stock certificates representing such number of shares of Series B Preferred Stock (or fractions of shares that are integral multiples of one one-thousandth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock) as are to be purchased and the Company will direct its transfer agent to comply with all such requests, and/or (B) requisition from the Depositary Agent depositary receipts representing such number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock as are to be purchased and the Company will direct the Depositary Agent to comply with all such requests, (ii) requisition from the Company the amount of cash, if any, to be paid in lieu of fractional shares in accordance with Section 14 hereof, (iii) after receipt of such certificates or such depositary receipts, cause the same to be delivered to or upon the order of the registered holder of such Rights Certificate, registered in such name or names as may be designated by such holder, and (iv) after receipt thereof, deliver such cash, if any, to or upon the order of the registered holder of such Rights Certificate. In the event that the Company is obligated to issue Common Stock or other securities of the Company, pay cash, and/or distribute other property pursuant to Section 11(a) hereof, the Company will make all arrangements necessary so that such Common Stock, other securities, cash, and/or other property is available for distribution by the Rights Agent, if and when necessary to comply with this Agreement. The payment of the Purchase Price (as such amount may be reduced pursuant to Section 11(a)(iii) hereof) may be made in cash or by certified

or bank check or money order payable to the order of the Company.

(d)    In case the registered holder of any Rights Certificate shall exercise less than all the Rights evidenced thereby, a new Rights Certificate evidencing the Rights remaining unexercised shall be issued by the Rights Agent and delivered to, or upon the order of, the registered holder of such Rights Certificate, registered in such name or names as may be designated by such holder, subject to the provisions of Sections 6 and 14 hereof.

(e)    Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the contrary, from and after the time that any Person becomes an Acquiring Person, any Rights Beneficially Owned by (i) an Acquiring Person or an Associate or Affiliate of an Acquiring Person, (ii) a transferee of an Acquiring Person (or of any such Associate or Affiliate) who becomes a transferee after the Acquiring Person becomes such, or (iii) a transferee of an Acquiring Person (or of any such Associate or Affiliate) who becomes a transferee prior to or concurrently with the Acquiring Person becoming such and who receives such Rights pursuant to either (A) a transfer (whether or not for consideration) from the Acquiring Person (or any such Associate or Affiliate) to holders of equity interests in such Acquiring Person (or any such Associate or Affiliate) or to any Person with whom the Acquiring Person (or such Associate or Affiliate) has any continuing written or oral agreement, arrangement, or understanding regarding the transferred Rights, shares of Common Stock, or the Company or (B) a transfer that the Board of Directors has determined in good faith to be part of a plan, agreement, arrangement, or understanding that has as a primary purpose or effect the avoidance of this Section 7(e), shall be null and void without any further action, and any holder of such Rights thereafter shall have no rights or preferences whatsoever with respect to such Rights, whether under any provision of this Agreement, the Rights Certificates, or otherwise (including, without limitation, rights and preferences pursuant to Sections 7, 11, 13, 23, and 24 hereof). The Company shall use reasonable efforts to ensure compliance with the provisions of this Section 7(e) and Section 4(b), but neither the Company nor the Rights Agent shall have any liability to any holder of Rights or any other Person as a result of the Company's failure to make any determination under this Section 7(e) or such Section 4(b) with respect to an Acquiring Person or its Affiliates, Associates, or transferees.

(f)    Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement or any Rights Certificate to the contrary, neither the Rights Agent nor the Company shall be obligated to undertake any action with respect to a registered holder upon the occurrence of any purported exercise as set forth in this Section 7 by such registered holder unless such registered holder shall have (i) completed and executed the certificate following the form of election to purchase set forth on the reverse side of the Rights Certificate surrendered for such exercise, and (ii) provided such additional evidence of the identity of the Beneficial Owner (or former Beneficial Owner) of the Rights represented by such Rights Certificate or Affiliates or Associates thereof as the Company shall reasonably request.

Section 8.    Cancellation and Destruction of Rights Certificates. All Rights Certificates surrendered for the purpose of exercise, transfer, split up, combination or exchange shall, if surrendered to the Company or any of its agents, be delivered to the Rights Agent for cancellation or in cancelled form, or, if surrendered to the Rights Agent, shall be cancelled by it, and no Rights Certificates shall be issued in lieu thereof except as expressly permitted by this Agreement. The Company shall deliver to the Rights Agent for cancellation and retirement, and the Rights Agent

shall so cancel and retire, any Rights Certificates acquired by the Company otherwise than upon the exercise thereof. The Rights Agent shall deliver all cancelled Rights Certificates to the Company, or shall, at the written request of the Company, destroy such cancelled Rights Certificates, and in such case shall deliver a certificate of destruction thereof to the Company.

Section 9.    Reservation and Availability of Capital Stock. (a) The Company shall at all times prior to the Expiration Date cause to be reserved and kept available out of its authorized but unissued shares of Series B Preferred Stock and/or out of any shares of Series B Preferred Stock held in its treasury (and following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, out of the authorized but unissued shares of such other equity securities of the Company as may be issuable upon exercise of the Rights and/or out of any shares of such securities held in its treasury), the number of shares of Series B Preferred Stock (and following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, the number of shares of such other equity securities of the Company) that, as provided in this Agreement, will be sufficient to permit the full exercise of all outstanding Rights. Upon the occurrence of any events resulting in an increase in the aggregate number of shares of Series B Preferred Stock (or other equity securities of the Company) issuable upon exercise of all outstanding Rights above the number then reserved, the Company shall make appropriate increases in the number of shares so reserved.

(b)    So long as the shares of Series B Preferred Stock (and following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, any other equity securities of the Company) to be issued and delivered upon the exercise of the Rights may be listed on any stock exchange, the Company shall during the period from the Distribution Date through the Expiration Date use its best efforts to cause all securities reserved for such issuance to be listed on such exchange upon official notice of issuance upon such exercise.

(c)    The Company shall use its reasonable best efforts (i) either (A) as soon as practicable following the first occurrence of a Section 11(a)(ii) Event and a determination by the Company in accordance with Section 11(a)(iii) hereof, if applicable, of the consideration to be delivered by the Company upon exercise of the Rights, or (B) if so required by law, as soon as required following the Distribution Date (the earliest of (A) and (B) being the “Registration Date”), to file a registration statement on an appropriate form under the Securities Act, with respect to the securities that may be acquired upon exercise of the Rights (the “Registration Statement”); (ii) to cause the Registration Statement to become effective as soon as practicable after such filing; (iii) to cause the Registration Statement to remain effective (and to include a prospectus at all times complying with the requirements of the Securities Act) until the earlier of (A) the date as of which the Rights are no longer exercisable for the securities covered by the Registration Statement and (B) the Expiration Date; and (iv) to take as soon as practicable following the Registration Date such action as may be required to ensure that any acquisition of securities upon exercise of the Rights complies with any applicable state securities or “Blue Sky” laws. The Company may temporarily suspend, for a period of time not to exceed 90 days after the date set forth in clause (i) of the first sentence of this Section 9(c), the exercisability of the Rights in order to prepare and file such registration statement and permit it to become effective. Upon any such suspension, the Company shall notify the Rights Agent thereof in writing and shall issue a public announcement stating that the exercisability of the Rights has been temporarily suspended, as well as a public announcement (with written notice thereof to the Rights Agent) at such time as the suspension is no longer in effect, stating that the suspension on the

exercisability of the Rights is no longer in effect. Notwithstanding any provision of this Agreement to the contrary, the Rights shall not be exercisable in any jurisdiction (x) if the requisite qualification in such jurisdiction shall not have been obtained and until a registration statement has been declared effective or (y) if the exercise thereof shall not be permitted under applicable law.

(d)    The Company shall take such action as may be necessary to ensure that all shares of Series B Preferred Stock (and, following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, any other securities that may be delivered upon exercise of Rights) shall be, at the time of delivery of the certificates or depositary receipts for such securities (subject to payment of the Purchase Price), duly and validly authorized and issued, fully paid and non‑assessable.

(e)    The Company shall pay when due and payable any and all documentary, stamp, or transfer tax, or other tax or charge, that is payable in respect of the issuance and delivery of the Rights Certificates or the issuance and delivery of any certificates or depository receipts for Series B Preferred Stock (or other equity securities of the Company that may be delivered upon exercise of the Rights) upon the exercise of Rights; provided, however, the Company shall not be required to pay any such tax or charge that may be payable in connection with the issuance or delivery of Units of Series B Preferred Stock, or any certificates or depositary receipts or entries in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for such Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or, following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, any other securities, cash or other assets, as the case may be) to any Person other than the registered holder of the Rights Certificates evidencing the Rights surrendered for exercise. The Company shall not be required to issue or deliver any certificates or depositary receipts or entries in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or, following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, any other securities, cash or other assets, as the case may be) to, or in a name other than that of, the registered holder upon the exercise of any Rights until any such tax or charge shall have been paid (any such tax or charge being payable by the holder of such Rights Certificate at the time of surrender) or until it has been established to the Company's satisfaction that no such tax or charge is due.

(f)    The Company shall use its reasonable best efforts, on or prior to the date that is either (A) as soon as practicable following the first occurrence of a Section 11(a)(ii) Event and a determination by the Company in accordance with Section 11(a)(iii) hereof, if applicable, of the consideration to be delivered by the Company upon exercise of the Rights, or (B) if so required by law, as soon as required following the Distribution Date, to obtain any and all regulatory approvals that may be required with respect to the securities purchasable upon exercise of the Rights. The Company may temporarily suspend, for a period of time not to exceed 90 days after the date set forth in the first sentence of this Section 9(f), the exercise of the Rights in order to permit the Company to obtain the necessary regulatory approvals. Upon any such suspension, the Company shall notify the Rights Agent thereof in writing and issue a public announcement stating that the exercise of the Rights has been temporarily suspended, as well as a public announcement (with written notice thereof to the Rights Agent) at such time as the suspension is no longer in effect stating that the suspension on the exercise of the Rights is no longer in effect. Notwithstanding any provision of this Agreement to the contrary, the Rights shall not be exercisable unless and until all required regulatory approvals have been obtained with respect to the securities purchasable upon exercise of the Rights.

Section 10.    Series B Preferred Stock Record Date. Each Person in whose name any certificate or entry in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or, following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, other securities) is issued upon the exercise of Rights shall for all purposes be deemed to have become the holder of record of the Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or, following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, other securities) represented thereby on, and such certificate or entry in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent shall be dated, the date upon which the Rights Certificate evidencing such Rights was duly surrendered and payment of the Purchase Price (and any applicable transfer taxes) was made; provided, however, that if the date of such surrender and payment is a date upon which the Series B Preferred Stock (or, following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, other securities) transfer books of the Company are closed, such Person shall be deemed to have become the record holder of such securities on, and such certificate or entry in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent shall be dated, the next succeeding Business Day on which the Series B Preferred Stock (or, following the occurrence of a Triggering Event, other securities) transfer books of the Company are open and, provided further, that if delivery of Units of Series B Preferred Stock is delayed pursuant to Section 9(c) hereof, such Persons shall be deemed to have become the record holders of such Units of Series B Preferred Stock only when such Units first become deliverable. Prior to the exercise of the Rights evidenced thereby, the holder of a Rights Certificate shall not be entitled to any rights of a shareholder of the Company with respect to securities for which the Rights shall be exercisable, including, without limitation, the right to vote, to receive dividends or other distributions or to exercise any preemptive rights, and shall not be entitled to receive any notice of any proceedings of the Company, except as provided herein.

Section 11.    Adjustment of Purchase Price, Number and Kind of Shares or Number of Rights. The Purchase Price, the number and kind of securities covered by each Right, and the number of Rights outstanding are subject to adjustment from time to time as provided in this Section 11.

(a)    (i)    In the event the Company shall at any time after the Rights Dividend Declaration Date (A) declare a dividend on the Series B Preferred Stock payable in shares of Series B Preferred Stock, (B) subdivide the outstanding Series B Preferred Stock, (C) combine the outstanding Series B Preferred Stock into a smaller number of shares, or (D) issue any shares of its capital stock in a reclassification of the Series B Preferred Stock (including any such reclassification in connection with a consolidation or merger in which the Company is the continuing or surviving corporation), except as otherwise provided in this Section 11(a), the Purchase Price in effect at the time of the record date for such dividend or of the effective date of such subdivision, combination or reclassification, and the number and kind of shares (or fractions thereof) of Series B Preferred Stock or capital stock, as the case may be, issuable on such date upon exercise of the Rights, shall be proportionately adjusted so that the holder of any Right exercised after such time shall be entitled to receive, upon payment of the Purchase Price then in effect, the aggregate number and kind of shares (or fractions thereof) of Series B Preferred Stock or capital stock, as the case may be, which, if such Right had been exercised immediately prior to such date, such holder would have owned upon such exercise and been entitled to receive by virtue of such dividend, subdivision, combination or reclassification; provided, however, that in no event shall the consideration to be paid upon the exercise of one Right be less than the aggregate par value of the shares (or fractions thereof) of capital stock of the Company issuable upon exercise of one Right. If an event occurs that would require an

adjustment under both this Section 11(a)(i) and Section 11(a)(ii) hereof, the adjustment provided for in this Section 11(a)(i) shall be in addition to, and shall be made prior to, any adjustment required pursuant to Section 11(a)(ii) hereof.

(ii) In the event any Person becomes an Acquiring Person, provision shall be made so that each holder of a Right (except as provided below in Section 11(a)(iii) and in Sections 7(e), 13, and 24 hereof) shall thereafter have the right to receive, upon exercise thereof, at a price equal to the then current Purchase Price multiplied by the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock for which a Right was exercisable immediately prior to the first occurrence of a Section 11(a)(ii) Event (such product thereafter being, for all purposes of this Agreement other than Section 13 hereof, the “Purchase Price”), in accordance with the terms of this Agreement, in lieu of the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock for which a Right was exercisable immediately prior to the first occurrence of a Section 11(a)(ii) Event, such number of shares of Common Stock as shall equal the result obtained by dividing (x) the Purchase Price (as the same has been adjusted pursuant to the foregoing provisions of this Section 11(a)(ii)), by (y) 50% of the then current market price (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) per share of Common Stock on the date of such first occurrence (such shares of Common Stock being the “Adjustment Shares”).

(iii) In the event that the number of shares of Common Stock that are authorized by the Company's Certificate of Incorporation but are not outstanding or reserved for issuance for purposes other than upon exercise of the Rights is insufficient to permit the exercise in full of the Rights in accordance with the foregoing subparagraph (ii) of this Section 11(a), the Company shall take all such action as may be necessary to authorize additional shares of Common Stock for issuance upon exercise of the Rights. In the event that the Company shall, after good faith effort, be unable to take all such actions as may be necessary to authorize such additional shares of Common Stock, then the Company shall issue Common Stock to the extent shares thereof are available in connection with exercise of the Rights and to the extent sufficient shares of Common Stock are not available therefor shall substitute, for each share of Common Stock that would otherwise be issuable upon exercise of a Right, a number of Units of Series B Preferred Shares such that the current per share market price of one Unit of Series B Preferred Stock multiplied by such number of Units is equal (as nearly as possible) to the current per share market price of one share of Common Stock as of the date of issuance of such Units of Series B Preferred Stock. In the event that the number of shares of Common Stock, together with the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock, that are authorized by the Company's Certificate of Incorporation but are not outstanding or reserved for issuance for purposes other than upon exercise of the Rights is insufficient to permit the exercise in full of the Rights in accordance with the foregoing provisions of this subparagraph (iii) and subparagraph (ii) of this Section 11(a), then the Company shall take all such action as may be necessary to authorize additional shares of Series B Preferred Stock for issuance upon exercise of the Rights. In the event that the Company shall, after good faith effort, be unable to take all such actions as may be necessary to authorize such additional shares of Common Stock and/or Units of Series B Preferred Stock, then the Company, by the vote of a majority of the Board of Directors, shall: (A) determine the excess of (1) the value of the Adjustment Shares issuable upon the exercise of each such Right (the “Current Value”) over (2) the Purchase Price (such excess being the “Spread”), and (B) with respect to each such Right, make adequate provision to substitute for such Adjustment Shares, upon exercise of such Rights and payment of the applicable Purchase Price, (1) cash, (2) a reduction in the Purchase Price,

(3) Common Stock, Units of Series B Preferred Stock, and/or other equity securities of the Company, each to the extent permitted by the Company's Certificate of Incorporation (including, without limitation, shares, or units of shares, of preferred stock that the Board of Directors has deemed to have the same value as shares of Common Stock (the “Preferred Stock Equivalents”)), (4) debt securities of the Company, (5) other assets, or (6) any combination of the foregoing, having an aggregate value equal to the Current Value, where such aggregate value has been determined by a majority of the Board of Directors, after receiving advice from a nationally recognized investment banking firm; provided, however, that if the Company shall not have made adequate provision to deliver value pursuant to clause (B) above within thirty days following the first occurrence of a Section 11(a)(ii) Event (for purposes hereof, the “Section 11(a)(iii) Trigger Date”), then the Company shall be obligated to deliver, upon the surrender for exercise of a Right and without requiring payment of the Purchase Price, shares of Common Stock (to the extent available) and then, if necessary, Units of Series B Preferred Stock (to the extent available) and then, if necessary, cash, which shares of Common Stock, Units of Series B Preferred Stock and/or cash shall have an aggregate value equal to the Spread. To the extent that the Company determines that some action need be taken pursuant to this Section 11(a)(iii), the Company shall provide, subject to Section 7(e) hereof, that such action shall apply uniformly to all outstanding Rights. For purposes of this Section 11(a)(iii), the value of a share of Common Stock shall be the current market price (as determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) per share of Common Stock on the Section 11(a)(iii) Trigger Date, the value of a Unit of Series B Preferred Stock shall be the current market price (as determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) per Unit of Series B Preferred Stock on the Section 11(a)(iii) Trigger Date, and the value of a unit or share, as applicable, of any Preferred Stock Equivalent shall be deemed to have the same value as the Common Stock on such date.

(b) If the Company shall fix a record date for the issuance of rights, options, or warrants to all holders of any Series B Preferred Stock entitling them to subscribe for or purchase (for a period expiring within forty‑five calendar days after such record date) shares of Series B Preferred Stock (or shares having substantially the same rights, privileges, and preferences as shares of Series B Preferred Stock (“Equivalent Preferred Stock”)) or securities convertible into Series B Preferred Stock or Equivalent Preferred Stock at a price per share of Series B Preferred Stock or per share of Equivalent Preferred Stock (or having a conversion price per share, if a security convertible into Series B Preferred Stock or Equivalent Preferred Stock) less than the current market price (as determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) per share of Series B Preferred Stock on such record date, then the Purchase Price with respect to the Series B Preferred Stock to be in effect after such record date shall be determined by multiplying the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior to such record date by a fraction, the numerator of which shall be the sum of the number of shares of Series B Preferred Stock outstanding on such record date plus the number of shares of Series B Preferred Stock that the aggregate offering price of the total number of shares of Series B Preferred Stock and/or Equivalent Preferred Stock so to be offered (and/or the aggregate initial conversion price of the convertible securities so to be offered) would purchase at such current market price, and the denominator of which shall be the number of shares of Series B Preferred Stock outstanding on such record date plus the number of additional shares of Series B Preferred Stock and/or Equivalent Preferred Stock to be offered for subscription or purchase (or into which the convertible securities so to be offered are initially convertible). In case such subscription price may be paid by delivery of consideration all or part of which may be in a form other than cash, the value of such consideration

shall be as determined by the Board of Directors, whose determination shall be described in a statement filed with the Rights Agent and shall be binding on the Rights Agent and the holders of the Rights. Shares of Series B Preferred Stock owned by or held for the account of the Company or any Subsidiary shall not be deemed outstanding for the purpose of such computation. Such adjustment shall be made successively whenever such a record date is fixed, and in the event that such rights or warrants are not so issued, the Purchase Price shall be adjusted to be the Purchase Price that would then be in effect if such record date had not been fixed.

(c) If the Company shall fix a record date for a distribution to all holders of shares of Series B Preferred Stock (including any such distribution made in connection with a consolidation or merger in which the Company is the continuing corporation), evidences of indebtedness, cash (other than a regular quarterly cash dividend out of the earnings or retained earnings of the Company), assets (other than a dividend payable in shares of Series B Preferred Stock, but including any dividend payable in stock other than Series B Preferred Stock), or subscription rights, options, or warrants (excluding those referred to in Section 11(b) hereof), then, in each case, the Purchase Price to be in effect after such record date shall be determined by multiplying the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior to such record date by a fraction, the numerator of which shall be the current market price (as determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) per share of Series B Preferred Stock on such record date minus the fair market value (as determined in good faith by a majority of the Board of Directors, whose determination shall be described in a statement filed with the Rights Agent and shall be binding and conclusive for all purposes on the Rights Agent and the holder of the Rights) of the cash, assets, or evidences of indebtedness so to be distributed or of such subscription rights or warrants distributable in respect of a share of Series B Preferred Stock and the denominator of which shall be such current market price (as determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) per share of Series B Preferred Stock on such record date. Such adjustments shall be made successively whenever such a record date is fixed, and in the event that such distribution is not so made, the Purchase Price shall be adjusted to be the Purchase Price that would have been in effect if such record date had not been fixed.

(d)(i)     For the purpose of any computation hereunder, the “current market price” per share of any security, including the Common Stock or any Common Equity Interest, on any date shall be deemed to be the average of the daily closing prices per share of such security for the ten consecutive Trading Days (as such term is hereinafter defined) immediately prior to such date; provided, however, if prior to the expiration of such requisite ten Trading Day period, the issuer announces either (A) a dividend or distribution on such security payable in shares of such security or securities convertible into such shares (other than the Rights), or (B) any subdivision, combination, or reclassification of such shares, then, following the ex‑dividend date for such dividend or the record date for such subdivision, as the case may be, the “current market price” for such security shall be properly adjusted to take into account such event. The closing price for each day shall be, if the shares of such security are listed and admitted to trading on a national securities exchange, as reported in the principal consolidated transaction reporting system with respect to securities listed on the principal national securities exchange on which such shares of such security are listed or admitted to trading or, if such shares are not listed or admitted to trading on any national securities exchange, the last quoted price or, if not so quoted, the average of the high bid and low asked prices in the over‑the‑counter market, as reported by the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. Automated Quotation System

(“NASDAQ”) or such other system then in use, or, if on any such date such shares are not quoted by any such organization, the average of the closing bid and asked prices as furnished by a professional market maker making a market in such shares selected by a majority of the Board of Directors. If on any such date no market maker is making a market in such shares, the fair value of such shares on such date as determined in good faith by a majority of the Board of Directors shall be used. If such shares are not publicly held or not so listed or traded, “current market price” per share shall mean the fair value per share as determined in good faith by a majority of the Board of Directors, whose determination shall be described in a statement filed with the Rights Agent and shall be conclusive for all purposes. The term “Trading Day” shall mean, if such shares of such security are listed or admitted to trading on any national securities exchange, a day on which the principal national securities exchange on which such shares are listed or admitted to trading is open for the transaction of business or, if such shares are not so listed or admitted, a Business Day.

(ii) For the purpose of any computation hereunder, the “current market price” per share of Series B Preferred Stock shall be determined in the same manner as set forth above for Common Stock in clause (i) of this Section 11(d) (other than the fourth sentence thereof). If the current market price per share of Series B Preferred Stock cannot be determined in the manner provided above or if the Series B Preferred Stock is not publicly held or listed or traded in a manner described in clause (i) of this Section 11(d), the “current market price” per share of Series B Preferred Stock shall be conclusively deemed to be the “current market price” per share of the Common Stock multiplied by 1000 (as such amount may be appropriately adjusted to reflect any stock split, reverse stock split, stock dividend, or any similar transaction with respect to Common Stock occurring after the date of this Agreement). If neither the Common Stock nor the Series B Preferred Stock is publicly held or so listed or traded, “current market price” per share of Series B Preferred Stock shall mean the fair value per share as determined in good faith by the Board of Directors, whose determination shall be described in a statement filed with the Rights Agent and shall be binding on the Rights Agent and the holders of the Rights. For all purposes of this Agreement, the “current market price” of a Unit of Series B Preferred Stock shall be equal to the “current market price” of one share of Series B Preferred Stock divided by 1000.

(e) Anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding, no adjustment in the Purchase Price shall be required unless such adjustment would require an increase or decrease of at least one percent in the Purchase Price; provided, however, that any adjustments that by reason of this Section 11(e) are not required to be made shall be carried forward and taken into account in any subsequent adjustment. All calculations under this Section 11 shall be made to the nearest cent or to the nearest ten‑thousandth of a share of Common Stock or Common Equity Interest or other share or one‑millionth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock, as the case may be. Notwithstanding the first sentence of this Section 11(e), any adjustment required by this Section 11 shall be made no later than the earlier of (i) three years from the date of the transaction that mandates such adjustment or (ii) the Expiration Date.

(f) If, as a result of an adjustment made pursuant to Sections 11(a)(ii) or 13(a) hereof, the holder of any Right thereafter exercised shall become entitled to receive any shares of capital stock other than Series B Preferred Stock, thereafter the number of such other shares so receivable upon exercise of any Right and the Purchase Price thereof shall be subject to adjustment from time to time in a manner and on terms as nearly equivalent as practicable to the provisions with respect to the

Series B Preferred Stock contained in Sections 11(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (1), and (m), and the provisions of Sections 7, 9, 10, 13, and 14 hereof with respect to the Series B Preferred Stock shall apply on like terms to any such other shares.

(g) All Rights originally issued by the Company subsequent to any adjustment made to the Purchase Price hereunder shall evidence the right to purchase, at the adjusted Purchase Price, the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or other securities or amount of cash or combination thereof) that may be acquired from time to time hereunder upon exercise of the Rights, all subject to further adjustment as provided herein.

(h) Unless the Company shall have exercised its election as provided in Section 11(i), upon each adjustment of the Purchase Price as a result of the calculations made in Sections 11(b) and (c), each Right outstanding immediately prior to the making of such adjustment shall thereafter evidence the right to purchase, at the adjusted Purchase Price, that number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock (calculated to the nearest one ten-thousandth of a Unit) obtained by (i) multiplying (x) the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock covered by a Right immediately prior to this adjustment by (y) the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior to such adjustment of the Purchase Price and (ii) dividing the product so obtained by the Purchase Price in effect immediately after such adjustment of the Purchase Price.

(i) The Company may elect on or after the date of any adjustment of the Purchase Price to adjust the number of Rights, in lieu of any adjustment in the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock that may be acquired upon the exercise of a Right. Each of the Rights outstanding after the adjustment in the number of Rights shall be exercisable for the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock for which a Right was exercisable immediately prior to such adjustment. Each Right held of record prior to such adjustment of the number of Rights shall become that number of Rights (calculated to the nearest one ten-thousandth of a Right) obtained by dividing the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior to adjustment of the Purchase Price by the Purchase Price in effect immediately after adjustment of the Purchase Price. The Company shall make a public announcement, and notify the Rights Agent in writing, of its election to adjust the number of Rights, indicating the record date for the adjustment, and, if known at the time, the amount of the adjustment to be made. This record date may be the date on which the Purchase Price is adjusted or any day thereafter, but, if the Rights Certificates have been issued, shall be at least ten days later than the date of such public announcement. If Rights Certificates have been issued, upon each adjustment of the number of Rights pursuant to this Section 11(i), the Company shall, as promptly as practicable, cause to be distributed to holders of record of Rights Certificates on such record date Rights Certificates evidencing, subject to Section 14 hereof, the additional Rights to which such holders shall be entitled as a result of such adjustment, or, at the option of the Company, shall cause to be distributed to such holders of record in substitution and replacement for the Rights Certificates held by such holders prior to the date of adjustment, and upon surrender thereof, if required by the Company, new Rights Certificates evidencing all the Rights to which such holders shall be entitled after such adjustment. Rights Certificates to be so distributed shall be issued, executed, and countersigned in the manner provided for herein (and may bear, at the option of the Company, the adjusted Purchase Price) and shall be registered in the names of the holders of record of Rights Certificates on the record date specified in the public announcement.

(j) Irrespective of any adjustment or change in the Purchase Price or the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock issuable upon the exercise of the Rights, the Rights Certificates theretofore and thereafter issued may continue to express the Purchase Price per Unit and the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock that was expressed in the initial Rights Certificates issued hereunder.

(k) Before taking any action that would cause an adjustment reducing the Purchase Price below the then par value of the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock issuable upon exercise of the Rights, the Company shall take any corporate action that may, in the opinion of its counsel, be necessary in order that the Company may validly and legally issue such fully paid and non‑assessable number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock at such adjusted Purchase Price.

(l) In any case in which this Section 11 shall require that an adjustment in the Purchase Price be made effective as of a record date for a specified event, the Company may elect to defer (and shall notify the Rights Agent in writing of any such election) until the occurrence of such event the issuance to the holder of any Right exercised after such record date of that number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock and shares of other capital stock or securities of the Company, if any, issuable upon such exercise over and above the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock and shares of other capital stock or securities of the Company, if any, issuable upon such exercise on the basis of the Purchase Price in effect prior to such adjustment; provided, however, that the Company shall deliver to such holder a due bill or other appropriate instrument evidencing such holder's right to receive such additional shares (fractional or otherwise) or securities upon the occurrence of the event requiring such adjustment.

(m) Anything in this Section 11 to the contrary notwithstanding, prior to the Distribution Date, the Company shall be entitled to make such reductions in the Purchase Price, in addition to those adjustments expressly required by this Section 11, as and to the extent that the Board of Directors shall determine that any (i) consolidation or subdivision of the Series B Preferred Stock, (ii) issuance wholly for cash of any shares of Series B Preferred Stock at less than the current market price, (iii) issuance wholly for cash of shares of Series B Preferred Stock or securities that by their terms are convertible into or exchangeable for shares of Series B Preferred Stock, (iv) stock dividends, or (v) issuance of rights, options, or warrants referred to in this Section 11, hereafter made by the Company to holders of its Series B Preferred Stock, shall not be taxable to such holders or shall reduce the taxes payable by such holders.

(n) The Company shall not, at any time after the Distribution Date, (i) consolidate with any other Person (other than a direct or indirect, wholly-owned Subsidiary of the Company in a transaction that complies with Section 11(o) hereof), (ii) merge with or into any other Person (other than a direct or indirect, wholly-owned Subsidiary of the Company in a transaction that complies with Section 11(o) hereof), or (iii) sell or transfer (or permit any Subsidiary to sell or transfer), in one transaction, or a series of transactions, assets or earning power aggregating more than 50% of the assets or earning power of the Company and its Subsidiaries (taken as a whole) to any other Person or Persons (other than the Company and/or any of its direct or indirect, wholly-owned Subsidiaries in one or more transactions, each of which complies with Section 11(o) hereof), if (x) at the time of or immediately after such consolidation, merger, or sale there are any rights, warrants, or other instruments or

securities outstanding or agreements in effect that would substantially diminish or otherwise eliminate the benefits intended to be afforded by the Rights or (y) prior to, simultaneously with, or immediately after such consolidation, merger, or sale, the Person that constitutes, or would constitute, the “Principal Party” for purposes of Section 13(a) hereof shall have distributed or otherwise transferred to its shareholders or other persons holding an equity interest in such Person Rights previously owned by such Person or any of its Affiliates and Associates; provided, however, this Section 11(n) shall not affect the ability of any Subsidiary of the Company to consolidate with, merge with or into, or sell or transfer assets or earning power to, any other Subsidiary of the Company.

(o) After the Distribution Date and so long as any Rights shall then be outstanding (other than Rights that have become null and void pursuant to Section 7(e) hereof), the Company shall not, except as permitted by Sections 23, 24, and 27 hereof, take (or permit any Subsidiary of the Company to take) any action if at the time such action is taken it is reasonably foreseeable that such action will diminish substantially or otherwise eliminate the benefits intended to be afforded by the Rights.

(p) Anything in this Agreement to the contrary notwithstanding, in the event that the Company shall at any time after the effective date of this Agreement and prior to the Distribution Date (i) declare a dividend on the outstanding shares of Common Stock payable in shares of Common Stock, (ii) subdivide any outstanding shares of Common Stock, (iii) combine any of the outstanding shares of Common Stock into a smaller number of shares, or (iv) issue any shares of its capital stock in a reclassification of the Common Stock (including any such reclassification in connection with a consolidation or merger in which the Company is the continuing or surviving corporation), the number of Rights associated with each share of Common Stock then outstanding, or issued or delivered thereafter but prior to the Distribution Date, shall be proportionately adjusted so that the number of Rights thereafter associated with each share of Common Stock following any such event shall equal the result obtained by multiplying the number of Rights associated with each share of Common Stock immediately prior to such event by a fraction the numerator of which shall be the total number of shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately prior to the occurrence of the event and the denominator of which shall be the total number of shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately following the occurrence of such event. The adjustments provided for in this Section 11(p) shall be made successively whenever such a dividend is declared or paid or such a subdivision, combination, or reclassification is effected. If an event occurs that would require an adjustment under Section 11(a)(ii) and this Section 11(p), the adjustments provided for in this Section 11(p) shall be in addition and prior to any adjustment required pursuant to Section 11(a)(ii).

Section 12.    Certificate of Adjusted Purchase Price or Number of Shares. Whenever an adjustment is made as provided in Section 11 or Section 13 hereof, the Company shall (a) promptly prepare a certificate setting forth such adjustment and a brief statement of the facts and computations accounting for such adjustment, (b) promptly file with the Rights Agent, and with each transfer agent for the Series B Preferred Stock and the Common Stock, a copy of such certificate and (c) mail a brief summary thereof to each holder of a Rights Certificate (or, if prior to the Distribution Date, each registered holder of shares of Common Stock) in accordance with Section 26 hereof. The Rights Agent shall be fully protected in relying on any such certificate and on any adjustment or statement therein contained and shall have no duty or liability with respect to, and shall not be deemed to have knowledge of, any adjustment or any such event unless and until it shall have received such a certificate.

Section 13.    Consolidation, Merger or Sale or Transfer of Assets or Earning Power.

(a) At any time after a Person has become an Acquiring Person (provided that such Person, together with all Affiliates or Associates of such Person, shall be the Beneficial Owner of 20% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding), in the event that, directly or indirectly, either (x) the Company shall consolidate with, or merge with and into, any other Person (other than a direct or indirect, wholly-owned Subsidiary of the Company in a transaction that complies with Section 11(o) hereof), and the Company shall not be the continuing or surviving entity of such consolidation or merger, (y) any Person (other than a direct or indirect, wholly-owned Subsidiary of the Company in a transaction that complies with Section 11(o) hereof) shall consolidate with, or merge with or into, the Company, and the Company shall be the continuing or surviving entity of such consolidation or merger and, in connection with such consolidation or merger, all or part of the outstanding shares of Common Stock shall be converted into or exchanged for stock or other securities of any other Person (or the Company) or cash or any other property or (z) the Company shall sell or otherwise transfer (or one or more of its Subsidiaries shall sell or otherwise transfer) to any Person or Persons (other than the Company or any of its direct or indirect, wholly-owned Subsidiaries in one or more transactions, each of which complies with Section 11(o) hereof), in one or more transactions, assets or earning power aggregating 50% or more of the assets or earning power of the Company and its Subsidiaries (taken as a whole) (any such event described in (x), (y), or (z) being herein referred to as a “Section 13 Event”); then, and in each such case, proper provision shall be made so that:

(i) each holder of a Right, except as provided in Section 7(e) hereof, shall thereafter have the right to receive, upon the exercise thereof at the then current Purchase Price multiplied by the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock for which a Right is then exercisable, in accordance with the terms of this Agreement and in lieu of Units of Series B Preferred Stock, such number of validly authorized and issued, fully paid, and non‑assessable shares of Common Equity Interest of the Principal Party (which shares shall not be subject to any liens, encumbrances, rights of first refusal, transfer restrictions, or other adverse claims) as shall be equal to the result obtained by (1) multiplying such then current Purchase Price by the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock for which such Right is exercisable immediately prior to the first occurrence of a Section 13 Event (or, if a Section 11(a)(ii) Event has occurred prior

to the first occurrence of a Section 13 Event, multiplying the number of such Units of Series B Preferred Stock for which a Right would be exercisable hereunder but for the occurrence of such Section 11(a)(ii) Event by the Purchase Price that would be in effect hereunder but for such first occurrence) and (2) dividing that product (which, following the first occurrence of a Section 13 Event, shall be the “Purchase Price” for all purposes of this Agreement) by 50% of the then current market price (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) per share of the Common Equity Interest of such Principal Party on the date of consummation of such Section 13 Event.;

(ii) such Principal Party shall thereafter be liable for, and shall assume, by virtue of such Section 13 Event, all the obligations and duties of the Company pursuant to this Agreement;

(iii) the term “Company” shall thereafter be deemed to refer to such Principal Party, it being specifically intended that the provisions of Section 11 hereof shall apply only to such Principal Party following the first occurrence of a Section 13 Event;

(iv) such Principal Party shall take such steps (including, but not limited to, the reservation of a sufficient number of shares of its Common Equity Interest) in connection with the consummation of any such transaction as may be necessary to ensure that the provisions hereof shall thereafter be applicable, as nearly as reasonably may be possible, to its shares of Common Equity Interest thereafter deliverable upon the exercise of the Rights; and

(v) the provisions of Section 11(a)(ii) hereof shall be of no further effect following the first occurrence of any Section 13 Event, and the Rights that have not theretofore been exercised shall thereafter become exercisable in the manner described in this Section 13.

(b)    “Principal Party” shall mean:

(i) in the case of any transaction described in clause (x) or (y) of the first sentence of Section 13(a), (A) the Person (including the Company as successor thereto or as the surviving entity) that is the issuer of any securities or other equity interests into which shares of Common Stock are converted in such merger or consolidation, or, if there is more than one such issuer, the issuer of Common Equity Interest that has the highest aggregate current market price (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) and (B) if no securities or other equity interests are so issued, the Person (including the Company as successor thereto or as the surviving entity) that is the other constituent party to such merger or consolidation, or, if there is more than one such Person, the Person that is a constituent party to such merger or consolidation, the Common Equity Interest of which has the highest aggregate current market price (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof); and

(ii) in the case of any transaction described in clause (z) of the first sentence of Section 13(a), the Person that is the party receiving the largest portion of the assets or earning power transferred pursuant to such transaction or transactions, or, if each Person that is a party to

such transaction or transactions receives the same portion of the assets or earning power transferred pursuant to such transaction or transactions or if the Person receiving the largest portion of the assets or earning power cannot be determined, whichever Person that has received assets or earning power pursuant to such transaction or transactions, the Common Equity Interest of which has the highest aggregate current market price (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof);

provided, however, that in any such case, (1) if the Common Equity Interest of such Person is not at such time and has not been continuously over the preceding twelve‑month period registered under Section 12 of the Exchange Act (“Registered Common Equity Interest”), and such Person is a direct or indirect Subsidiary of another Person that has Registered Common Equity Interest outstanding, “Principal Party” shall refer to such other Person; (2) if the Common Equity Interest of such Person is not Registered Common Equity Interest, and such Person is a direct or indirect Subsidiary of another Person (other than an individual), but is not a direct or indirect Subsidiary of another Person that has Registered Common Equity Interest outstanding, “Principal Party” shall refer to the ultimate parent entity of such first‑mentioned Person; (3) if the Common Equity Interest of such Person is not Registered Common Equity Interest, and such Person is directly or indirectly controlled by more than one Person, and one or more of such other Persons has Registered Common Equity Interest outstanding, “Principal Party” shall refer to whichever of such other Persons is the issuer of the Registered Common Equity Interest having the highest aggregate current market price (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof); and (4) if the Common Equity Interest of such Person is not Registered Common Equity Interest, and such Person is directly or indirectly controlled by more than one Person (one or more of which is a Person other than an individual), and none of such other Persons has Registered Common Equity Interest outstanding, “Principal Party” shall refer to whichever ultimate parent entity is the corporation having the greatest stockholders' equity or, if no such ultimate parent entity is a corporation, shall refer to whichever ultimate parent entity is the entity having the greatest net assets.

(c) The Company shall not consummate any Section 13 Event unless the Principal Party shall have a sufficient number of authorized shares of its Common Equity Interest that have not been issued (or reserved for issuance) or that are held in its treasury to permit the exercise in full of the Rights in accordance with this Section 13, and unless prior thereto the Company and such Principal Party shall have executed and delivered to the Rights Agent a supplemental agreement providing for the terms set forth in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section 13 and further providing that the Principal Party shall use its best efforts to:

(i) (A) prepare and file on an appropriate form, as soon as practicable following the execution of such agreement, a registration statement under the Securities Act with respect to the shares of Common Equity Interest that may be acquired upon exercise of the Rights, (B) cause such registration statement to remain effective (and to include a prospectus at all times complying with the requirements of the Securities Act) until the Expiration Date, and (C) take such action as may be required to ensure that any acquisition of such shares of Common Equity Interest upon the exercise of the Rights complies with any applicable state security or “Blue Sky” laws as soon as practicable following the execution of such agreement;

(ii) as soon as practicable after the execution of such agreement, deliver to holders of the Rights historical financial statements for the Principal Party and each of its Affiliates that comply in all respects with the requirements for registration on Form 10 (or any successor form) under the Exchange Act; and

(iii) obtain any and all regulatory approvals as may be required with respect to the shares of Common Equity Interest securities that may be acquired upon exercise of the Rights.

(d) In case the Principal Party that is to be a party to a transaction referred to in this Section 13 has at the time of such transaction, or immediately following such transaction will have, a provision in any of its authorized securities or in its certificate of incorporation or by‑laws or other instrument governing its affairs, or any other agreements or arrangements, which provision would have the effect of (i) causing such Principal Party to issue, in connection with, or as a consequence of, the consummation of a transaction referred to in this Section 13, shares of Common Equity Interest of such Principal Party at less than the then current market price per share (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) or securities exercisable for, or convertible into, Common Equity Interest of such Principal Party at less than such then current market price (other than to holders of Rights pursuant to this Section 13); (ii) providing for any special payment, tax, or similar provisions in connection with the issuance of the Common Equity Interest of such Principal Party pursuant to the provisions of Section 13; or (iii) otherwise eliminating or substantially diminishing the benefits intended to be afforded by the Rights in connection with, or as a consequence of, the consummation of a transaction referred to in this Section 13; then, in such event, the Company shall not consummate any such transaction unless prior thereto the Company and such Principal Party shall have executed and delivered to the Rights Agent a supplemental agreement providing that the provision in question of such Principal Party shall have been cancelled, waived, or amended, or that the authorized securities shall be redeemed, so that the applicable provision will have no effect in connection with, or as a consequence of, the consummation of the proposed transaction.

(e) The provisions of this Section 13 shall similarly apply to successive mergers or consolidations or sales or other transfers. In the event that a Section 13 Event shall occur at any time after the occurrence of a Section 11(a)(ii) Event, the Rights that have not theretofore been exercised shall thereafter become exercisable in the manner described in Section 13(a).

Section 14.    Fractional Rights; Fractional Shares; Waiver. (a) The Company shall not be required to issue fractions of Rights or to distribute Rights Certificates that evidence fractional Rights. In lieu of such fractional Rights, there shall be paid to the Persons to which such fractional Rights would otherwise be issuable, an amount in cash equal to such fraction of the market value of a whole Right. For purposes of this Section 14(a), the market value of a whole Right shall be the closing price of the Rights for the Trading Day immediately prior to the date that such fractional Rights would have been otherwise issuable. The closing price of the Rights for any day shall be, if the Rights are listed or admitted to trading on a national securities exchange, as reported in the principal consolidated transaction reporting system with respect to securities listed on the principal national securities exchange on which the Rights are listed or admitted to trading or, if the Rights are not listed or admitted to trading on any national securities exchange, the last quoted price or, if not so quoted, the average of the high bid and low asked prices in the over‑the‑counter market, as reported

by NASDAQ or such other system then in use or, if on any such date the Rights are not quoted by any such organization, the average of the closing bid and asked prices as furnished by a professional market maker making a market in the Rights selected by the Board of Directors. If on any such date no such market maker is making a market in the Rights, the fair value of the Rights on such date as determined in good faith by the Board of Directors shall be used and such determination shall be described in a statement filed with the Rights Agent and delivered to the holders of the Rights, which shall be conclusive for all purposes.

(b) The Company shall not be required to issue fractions of shares of Series B Preferred Stock (other than fractions that are integral multiples of one one-thousandth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock) upon exercise of the Rights or to distribute certificates or make any entries in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent that evidence such fractional shares of Series B Preferred Stock (other than fractions that are integral multiples of one one‑thousandth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock). Subject to Section 7(c)(1) hereof, fractions of shares of Series B Preferred Stock in integral multiples of one one-thousandth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock may, at the election of the Company, be evidenced by depositary receipts, pursuant to an appropriate agreement between the Company and a Depositary Agent selected by it; provided, however, that such agreement shall provide that the holders of such depositary receipts shall have all the rights, privileges, and prefer-ences to which they are entitled as Beneficial Owners of the shares of Series B Preferred Stock represented by such depositary receipts. In lieu of such fractional shares of Series B Preferred Stock that are not integral multiples of one one‑thousandth of a share, the Company may pay to the registered holders of Rights Certificates at the time such Rights are exercised as herein provided an amount in cash equal to the same fraction of the then current market price of a share of Series B Preferred Stock on the day of exercise, determined in accordance with Section 11(d) hereof.

(c) The holder of a Right, by the acceptance of the Right, expressly waives his right to receive any fractional Rights or any fractional shares upon exercise of a Right, except as permitted by this Section 14.

Section 15.    Rights of Action. All rights of action in respect of this Agreement, other than rights of action vested in the Rights Agent pursuant to Section 18 hereof, are vested in the respective registered holders of the Rights Certificates (and, prior to the Distribution Date, the registered holders of shares of Common Stock); and any registered holder of a Rights Certificate (or, prior to the Distribution Date, any registered holder of shares of Common Stock), without the consent of the Rights Agent or of the holder of any other Rights Certificate (or, prior to the Distribution Date, any registered holder of shares of Common Stock), may, in his own behalf and for his own benefit, enforce, and may institute and maintain any suit, action or proceeding against the Company or any other Person to enforce, or otherwise act in respect of, his right to exercise the Rights evidenced by such Rights Certificate in the manner provided in such Rights Certificate and in this Agreement. Without limiting the foregoing or any remedies available to the holders of Rights, it is specifically acknowledged that the holders of Rights would not have an adequate remedy at law for any breach of this Agreement and shall be entitled to specific performance of the obligations hereunder and injunctive relief against actual or threatened violations of the obligations hereunder of any Person subject to this Agreement.

Section 16.    Agreement of Rights Holders. Every holder of a Right, by accepting the same, consents and agrees with the Company and the Rights Agent and with every other holder of a Right that:

(a) prior to the Distribution Date, the Rights will be evidenced by the balances indicated in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock registered in the names of the holders of Common Stock (which Common Stock shall also be deemed to represent certificates for Rights) or, in the case of certificated shares, the certificates for the Common Stock registered in the names of the holders of the Common Stock (which certificates for shares of Common Stock shall also constitute certificates for Rights) and each Right will be transferable only in connection with the transfer of Common Stock;

(b) after the Distribution Date, the Rights Certificates are transferable only on the registry books of the Rights Agent if surrendered at the office of the Rights Agent designated for such purposes, duly endorsed or accompanied by a proper instrument of transfer and with the appropriate forms and certificates duly executed;

(c) subject to Section 6(a) and Section 7(f) hereof, the Company and the Rights Agent may deem and treat the Person in whose name a Rights Certificate (or, prior to the Distribution Date, the associated balance indicated in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock, or in the case of certificated shares, by the associated Common Stock certificate) is registered as the absolute owner thereof and of the Rights evidenced thereby (notwithstanding any notations of ownership or writing on the Rights Certificates or the associated balance indicated in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock, or in the case of certificated shares, by the associated Common Stock certificate made by anyone other than the Company or the Rights Agent) for all purposes whatsoever, and neither the Company nor the Rights Agent, subject to the last sentence of Section 7(e) hereof, shall be affected by any notice to the contrary; and

(d) notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the contrary, neither the Company nor the Rights Agent shall have any liability to any holder of a Right or any other Person as a result of its inability to perform any of its obligations under this Agreement by reason of any preliminary or permanent injunction or other order, decree, judgment, or ruling issued by a court of competent jurisdiction or by a governmental, regulatory, or administrative agency or commission, or any statute, rule, regulation, or executive order promulgated or enacted by any governmental authority, prohibiting or otherwise restraining performance of such obligation; provided, however, the Company must use its best efforts to have any such order, decree, judgment, or ruling lifted or otherwise overturned as promptly as practicable.

Section 17.    Rights Certificate Holder Not Deemed a Stockholder. No holder, as such, of any Rights Certificate shall be entitled to vote, receive dividends or be deemed for any purpose the holder of shares of Series B Preferred Stock or any other securities of the Company that may at any time be issuable on the exercise of the Rights represented thereby, nor shall anything contained herein or in any Rights Certificate be construed to confer upon the holder of any Rights Certificate, as such, any of the rights of a stockholder of the Company or any right to vote for the election of directors or upon any matter submitted to stockholders at any meeting thereof, or to give or withhold consent to any corporate action, or, except as provided in Section 25 hereof, to receive notice of meetings or other actions affecting shareholders, or to receive dividends or subscription rights, or otherwise, until the Right or Rights evidenced by such Rights Certificate shall have been exercised in accordance with the provisions hereof.

Section 18.    Concerning the Rights Agent. (a) The Company agrees to pay to the Rights Agent reasonable compensation for all services rendered by it hereunder and, from time to time, on demand of the Rights Agent, its reasonable expenses, including reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel and other reasonable disbursements, incurred in the preparation, delivery, amendment, administration, or execution of this Agreement and the acceptance, administration, exercise and performance of its duties hereunder. The Company also agrees to indemnify the Rights Agent for, and to hold it harmless against, any loss, liability, damage, judgment, fine, penalty, claim, demand, settlement, cost, or expense (including, without limitation, the reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel), incurred without negligence, bad faith, or willful misconduct on the part of the Rights Agent, for any action taken, suffered, or omitted by the Rights Agent in connection with the acceptance, administration, exercise, and performance of its duties under this Agreement, including the costs and expenses of defending against any claim of liability hereunder.

(b) The Rights Agent shall be authorized and protected and shall incur no liability for, or in respect of any action taken, suffered, or omitted by it in connection with, its acceptance and administration of this Agreement and the exercise and performance of its duties hereunder, in reliance upon any Rights Certificate or certificate for shares of Series B Preferred Stock or any balance indicated in the Book Entry account system of the transfer agent or for other capital stock or securities of the Company, instrument of assignment or transfer, power of attorney, endorsement, affidavit, letter, notice, direction, consent, certificate, statement, or other paper or document believed by it to be genuine and to have been signed, executed and, where necessary, verified or acknowledged by the proper Person or Persons.

(c) The provisions of this Section 18 and Section 20 below shall survive the termination of this Agreement, the exercise or expiration of the Rights, and the resignation, replacement, or removal of the Rights Agent.

Section 19.     Merger or Consolidation or Change of Name of Rights Agent. (a) Any Person into which the Rights Agent or any successor Rights Agent may be merged or with which it may be consolidated, or any Person resulting from any merger or consolidation to which the Rights Agent or any successor Rights Agent shall be a party, or any Person succeeding to the corporate trust or

shareholder services businesses of the Rights Agent or any successor Rights Agent, shall be the successor to the Rights Agent under this Agreement without the execution or filing of any document or any further act on the part of any of the parties hereto; provided, however, that such Person would be eligible for appointment as a successor Rights Agent under the provisions of Section 21 hereof. In case at the time such successor Rights Agent shall succeed to the agency created by this Agreement, any of the Rights Certificates shall have been countersigned but not delivered, any such successor Rights Agent may adopt the countersignature of a predecessor Rights Agent and deliver such Rights Certificates so countersigned; and in case at that time any of the Rights Certificates shall not have been countersigned, any successor Rights Agent may countersign such Rights Certificates either in the name of the predecessor Rights Agent or in the name of the successor Rights Agent; and in all such cases such Rights Certificates shall have the full force provided in the Rights Certificates and in this Agreement.

(b) In case at any time the name of the Rights Agent shall be changed and at such time any of the Rights Certificates shall have been countersigned but not delivered, the Rights Agent may adopt the countersignature under its prior name and deliver Rights Certificates so countersigned; and in case at that time any of the Rights Certificates shall not have been countersigned, the Rights Agent may countersign such Rights Certificates either in its prior name or in its changed name; and in all such cases such Rights Certificates shall have the full force provided in the Rights Certificates and in this Agreement.

Section 20.    Duties of Rights Agent. The Rights Agent undertakes to perform only the duties and obligations imposed by this Agreement, upon the following terms and conditions, by all of which the Company and the holders of Rights Certificates, by their acceptance thereof, shall be bound:

(a) The Rights Agent may consult with legal counsel (who may be legal counsel for the Company or an employee of the Rights Agent), and the advice or opinion of such counsel shall be full and complete authorization and protection to the Rights Agent as to, and the Rights Agent shall incur no liability for or in respect of, any action taken, suffered, or omitted by the Rights Agent in good faith and in accordance with such advice or opinion.

(b) Whenever in the performance of its duties under this Agreement the Rights Agent shall deem it necessary or desirable that any fact or matter (including, without limitation, the identity of an Acquiring Person and the determination of “current market price”) be proved or established by the Company prior to the Rights Agent taking, suffering, or omitting to take any action hereunder, such fact or matter (unless other evidence in respect thereof be specified herein) may be deemed to be conclusively proved and established by a certificate signed by any one of the Chairman of the Board, the Chief Executive Officer, the Treasurer, any Assistant Treasurer, the Secretary, or any Assistant Secretary of the Company and delivered to the Rights Agent, and such certificate shall be full and complete authorization and protection to the Rights Agent, and the Rights Agent shall incur no liability, for or in respect of any action taken, suffered, or omitted in good faith by it under the provisions of this Agreement in reliance upon such certificate.

(c) The Rights Agent shall be liable hereunder to the Company or any other Person only for its own negligence, bad faith, or willful misconduct. Anything herein to the contrary notwithstanding,

in no event shall the Rights Agent be liable for special, punitive, indirect, consequential, or incidental loss or damage of any kind whatsoever (including but not limited to lost profits).

(d) The Rights Agent shall not be liable for or by reason of any of the statements of fact or recitals contained in this Agreement or in the Rights Certificates or be required to verify the same (except as to its countersignature on such Rights Certificates), but all such statements and recitals are and shall be deemed to have been made by the Company only.

(e) The Rights Agent shall not have any responsibility for the validity of this Agreement or the execution and delivery hereof (except the due execution and delivery hereof by the Rights Agent) or for the validity or execution of any Rights Certificate (except its countersignature thereon); nor shall it be responsible for any breach by the Company of any covenant or failure by the Company to satisfy conditions contained in this Agreement or in any Rights Certificate; nor shall it be responsible for any change in the exercisability of the Rights (including Rights becoming void pursuant to Section 7(e) hereof) or any adjustment in the terms of the Rights required under the provisions of Sections 11, 13, 23, or 24 hereof or for the manner, method, or amount of any such change or adjustment or the ascertaining of the existence of facts that would require any such change or adjustment (except with respect to the exercise of Rights evidenced by Rights Certificates after receipt by the Rights Agent of the certificate describing any such adjustment contemplated by Section 12); nor shall it by any act hereunder be deemed to make any representation or warranty as to the authorization or reservation of any shares of Series B Preferred Stock or any other securities to be issued pursuant to this Agreement or any Rights Certificate or as to whether any shares of Series B Preferred Stock or any other securities will, when so issued, be validly authorized and issued, fully paid and non‑assessable.

(f) The Company shall perform, execute, acknowledge, and deliver or cause to be performed, executed, acknowledged, and delivered all such further acts, instruments, and assurances as may reasonably be required by the Rights Agent for the performance by the Rights Agent of its duties under this Agreement.

(g) The Rights Agent is hereby authorized and directed to accept instructions with respect to the performance of its duties hereunder from any one of the Chairman of the Board, the Chief Executive Officer, the Secretary, any Assistant Secretary, the Treasurer, or any Assistant Treasurer of the Company, and to apply to such officers for advice or instructions in connection with its duties, and such instructions shall be full authorization and protection to the Rights Agent, and the Rights Agent shall not be liable for or in respect of any action taken, suffered, or omitted by it in good faith in accordance with instructions of any such officer.

(h) The Rights Agent and any shareholder, affiliate, director, officer, or employee of the Rights Agent may buy, sell, or deal in any of the Rights or other securities of the Company or become pecuniarily interested in any transaction in which the Company may be interested, or contract with or lend money to the Company or otherwise act as fully and freely as though the Rights Agent were not Rights Agent under this Agreement. Nothing herein shall preclude the Rights Agent or any such stockholder, affiliate, director, officer, or employee from acting in any other capacity for the Company or for any other Person.

(i) The Rights Agent may execute and exercise any of the rights or powers hereby vested in it or perform any duty hereunder either itself (through its directors, officers, and employees) or by or through its attorneys or agents, and the Rights Agent shall not be answerable or accountable for any act, default, neglect, or misconduct of any such attorneys or agents or for any loss to the Company or any other Person resulting from any such act, default, neglect, or misconduct, absent gross negligence, bad faith, or willful misconduct of the Rights Agent in the selection and continued employment thereof.

(j) No provision of this Agreement shall require the Rights Agent to expend or risk its own funds or otherwise incur any financial liability in the performance of any of its duties hereunder or in the exercise of its rights hereunder if the Rights Agent shall have reasonable grounds for believing that repayment of such funds or adequate indemnification against such risk or liability is not reasonably assured to it.

(k) If, with respect to any Rights Certificate surrendered to the Rights Agent for exercise or transfer, the certificate attached to the form of assignment or form of election to purchase, as the case may be, has not been completed, has not been signed, or indicates an affirmative response to clause 1 and/or 2 thereof, the Rights Agent shall not take any further action with respect to such requested exercise or transfer without first consulting with the Company. If such certificate has been completed and signed and shows a negative response to clauses 1 and 2 of such certificate, unless previously instructed otherwise in writing by the Company (which instructions may impose on the Rights Agent additional ministerial responsibilities, but no discretionary responsibilities), the Rights Agent may assume without further inquiry that the Rights Certificate is not owned by a person described in Section 4(b) or Section 7(e) hereof and shall not be charged with any knowledge to the contrary.

Section 21.    Change of Rights Agent. The Rights Agent or any successor Rights Agent may resign and be discharged from its duties under this Agreement upon thirty days' prior notice in writing mailed to the Company, and to each transfer agent of the Series B Preferred Stock and the Common Stock, by registered or certified mail, in which case the Company shall give or cause to be given written notice to the registered holders of the Rights Certificates by first‑class mail. The Company may remove the Rights Agent or any successor Rights Agent upon thirty days' prior notice in writing, mailed to the Rights Agent or successor Rights Agent, as the case may be, and to each transfer agent of the Series B Preferred Stock and the Common Stock, by registered or certified mail, and to the registered holders of the Rights Certificates by first‑class mail. If the Rights Agent shall resign or be removed or shall otherwise become incapable of acting, the Company shall appoint a successor to the Rights Agent. If the Company shall fail to make such appointment within a period of thirty days after giving notice of such removal or after it has been notified in writing of such resignation or incapacity by the resigning or incapacitated Rights Agent or by the holder of a Rights Certificate (who shall, with such notice, submit his Rights Certificate for inspection by the Company), then any registered holder of any Rights Certificate may apply to any court of competent jurisdiction for the appointment of a new Rights Agent. Any successor Rights Agent, whether appointed by the Company or by such a court, shall be (a) a Person organized and doing business under the laws of the United States or any state of the United States, in good standing, shall be authorized under such laws to

exercise corporate trust, stock transfer, or shareholder services powers, shall be subject to supervision or examination by federal or state authorities, and shall have at the time of its appointment as Rights Agent a combined capital and surplus of at least $50,000,000 or (b) an Affiliate of a Person described in clause (a) of this sentence. After appointment, the successor Rights Agent shall be vested with the same powers, rights, duties and responsibilities as if it had been originally named as Rights Agent without further act or deed; but the predecessor Rights Agent shall deliver and transfer to the successor Rights Agent any property at the time held by it hereunder, and execute and deliver any further assurance, conveyance, act or deed necessary for the purpose. Not later than the effective date of any such appointment, the Company shall file notice thereof in writing with the predecessor Rights Agent and each transfer agent of the Series B Preferred Stock and the Common Stock, and mail a notice thereof in writing to the registered holders of the Rights Certificates by first-class mail. Failure to give any notice provided for in this Section 21, however, or any defect therein, shall not affect the legality or validity of the resignation or removal of the Rights Agent or the appointment of the successor Rights Agent.

Section 22.    Issuance of New Rights Certificates. Notwithstanding any of the provisions of this Agreement or the Rights Certificates to the contrary, the Company may, at its option, issue new Rights Certificates evidencing Rights in such form as may be approved by a majority of the Board of Directors to reflect any adjustment or change made in accordance with the provisions of this Agreement in the Purchase Price or the number or kind or class of shares or other securities or property that may be acquired under the Rights Certificates. In addition, in connection with the issuance or sale of shares of Common Stock following the Distribution Date and prior to the Expiration Date, the Company (a) shall, with respect to shares of Common Stock so issued or sold pursuant to the exercise of stock options or under any employee plan or arrangement, or upon the exercise, conversion or exchange of securities hereinafter issued by the Company, and (b) may, in any other case, if deemed necessary or appropriate by the Board of Directors, issue Rights Certificates representing the appropriate number of Rights in connection with such issuance or sale; provided, however, that (i) no such Rights Certificate shall be issued if, and to the extent that, the Company shall be advised by counsel that such issuance would create a significant risk of material adverse tax consequences to the Company or the person to whom such Rights Certificate would be issued, and (ii) no such Rights Certificate shall be issued if, and to the extent that, appropriate adjustment shall otherwise have been made in lieu of the issuance thereof.

Section 23.    Redemption. (a) The Board of Directors may, within its sole discretion, at any time prior to the earlier of (i) such time as any Person becomes an Acquiring Person and (ii) the Final Expiration Date, redeem all, but not less than all, of the then outstanding Rights at a redemption price of $0.001 per Right, appropriately adjusted to reflect any stock split, reverse stock split, stock dividend, or similar transaction occurring after the date hereof (such redemption price, as adjusted, being hereinafter referred to as the “Redemption Price”). The redemption of the Rights by the Board of Directors pursuant to this paragraph (a) may be made effective at such time, on such basis, and with such conditions as the Board of Directors in its sole discretion may establish. The Company may, at its option, pay the Redemption Price in cash, shares of Common Stock (based on the current market price (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) of the Common Stock at the time of redemption) or any other form of consideration deemed appropriate by the Board of Directors.

(b) If the Company receives a Qualified Offer and the Board of Directors of the Company has not redeemed the outstanding Rights or exempted such Qualified Offer from the terms of this Agreement or called a special meeting of stockholders for the purpose of voting on whether or not to exempt such Qualified Offer from the terms of this Agreement, in each case by the end of the ninetieth (90th) Business Day following the commencement of such Qualified Offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations, and if the Company receives, not earlier than ninety (90) Business Days nor later than one hundred twenty (120) Business Days following the commencement of such Qualified Offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations, a written notice complying with the terms of this Section 23(b) (the “Special Meeting Notice”), properly executed by the holders of record of outstanding shares of Common Stock having ten percent (10%) or more of the total voting power of all shares of Common Stock then outstanding (or their duly authorized proxy) (excluding shares of Common Stock beneficially owned by the Person making the Qualified Offer and such Person's Affiliates and Associates), directing the Board of Directors of the Company to submit to a vote of stockholders at a special meeting of the stockholders of the Company (a “Special Meeting”) a resolution authorizing the redemption of all, but not less than all, of the then outstanding Rights at the Redemption Price (the “Redemption Resolution”), then the Board of Directors of the Company shall take such actions as are necessary or desirable to cause the Redemption Resolution to be submitted to a vote of stockholders within ninety (90) Business Days following receipt by the Company of the Special Meeting Notice (the “Special Meeting Period”), including by including a proposal relating to adoption of the Redemption Resolution in the proxy materials of the Company for the Special Meeting; provided, however, that in any twelve-month period the Company shall not be required to submit more than one Redemption Resolution to a vote of stockholders with respect to Qualified Offers from any given potential Acquiring Person (including any Affiliates or Associates thereof); provided, further, however, that if the Company, at any time during the Special Meeting Period and prior to a vote on the Redemption Resolution, enters into a Definitive Acquisition Agreement, the Special Meeting Period may be extended (and any Special Meeting called in connection therewith may be cancelled) if the Redemption Resolution will be separately submitted to a vote at the same meeting as the Definitive Acquisition Agreement or if the Board of Directors has irrevocably determined to redeem the Rights or terminate this Agreement in connection with the closing of the transaction contemplated by the Definitive Acquisition Agreement. For purposes of a Special Meeting Notice, to the full extent permitted by applicable law, the record date for determining eligible holders of record shall be the ninetieth (90th) Business Day following the commencement of a Qualified Offer. Any Special Meeting Notice must be delivered to the Secretary of the Company at the principal executive offices of the Company and must set forth as to the stockholders of record executing the request (x) the name and address of such stockholders, as they appear on the Company's books and records, (y) the class and number of shares of Common Stock which are owned of record by each of such stockholders, and (z) in the case of Common Stock that is owned beneficially by another Person, an executed certification by the holder of record that such holder has executed such Special Meeting Notice only after obtaining instructions to do so from such beneficial owner and attaching evidence thereof. Subject to the requirements of applicable law, the Board of Directors of the Company may take a position in favor of or opposed to the adoption of the Redemption Resolution, or no position with respect to the Redemption Resolution, as it determines to be appropriate in the exercise of its fiduciary duties. In the event that (A) no Person has become an Acquiring Person prior to the effective date of redemption referred to below in this sentence, (B) the Qualified Offer continues to be a Qualified Offer prior to the last day of the Special

Meeting Period (the “Outside Meeting Date”) and (C) either (1) the Special Meeting is not held on or prior to the ninetieth (90th) Business Day following receipt of the Special Meeting Notice or (2) at the Special Meeting at which a quorum is present, the holders of shares of Common Stock outstanding as of the record date for the Special Meeting (excluding shares of Common Stock beneficially owned by the Person making the Qualified Offer and such Person's Affiliates and Associates) having a majority of the total voting power of all such shares of Common Stock, shall vote in favor of the Redemption Resolution, then all of the Rights shall automatically be redeemed at the Redemption Price (unless the Board of Directors of the Company shall have first taken such other irrevocable action as may be necessary to prevent the existence of the Rights from interfering with the consummation of the Qualified Offer), such redemption to be effective, as the case may be, (x) as of the close of business on the Outside Meeting Date if a Special Meeting is not held on or prior to such date, or (y) if a Special Meeting is held on or prior to the Outside Meeting Date, as of the date on which the results of the vote adopting the Redemption Resolution at the Special Meeting are certified as official by the appointed inspectors of election for the Special Meeting.

(c) Immediately upon the action of the Board of Directors ordering the redemption of Rights pursuant to paragraph (a) of this Section 23 or the effectiveness of such redemption pursuant to Section 23(b), and without any further action and without any notice, the right to exercise the Rights will terminate and the only right thereafter of the holders of Rights shall be to receive the Redemption Price for each Right held. The Company shall promptly give (i) written notice to the Rights Agent of any such redemption and (ii) public notice of any such redemption; provided, however, that the failure to give, or any defect in, any such notice shall not affect the validity of such redemption. Within 10 days after such action of the Board of Directors ordering the redemption of the Rights or the effectiveness of such redemption pursuant to Section 23(b), the Company shall mail a notice of redemption to all the holders of the then outstanding Rights at their last addresses as they appear upon the registry books of the Rights Agent or, prior to the Distribution Date, on the registry books of the transfer agent for the Common Stock. Any notice that is mailed in the manner herein provided shall be deemed given, whether or not the holder receives the notice. Each such notice of redemption will state the method by which the payment of the Redemption Price will be made. Neither the Company nor any of its Affiliates or Associates may redeem, acquire, or purchase for value any Rights at any time in any manner other than that specifically set forth in this Section 23 or in Section 24 hereof, or other than in connection with the purchase of shares of Common Stock or the conversion or redemption of shares of Common Stock in accordance with the applicable provisions of the Certificate of Incorporation prior to the Distribution Date.

Section 24.    Exchange. (a) The Board of Directors may, at its option, at any time after any Person becomes an Acquiring Person, exchange all or part of the then outstanding and exercisable Rights (which shall not include Rights that have become null and void pursuant to the provi-sions of Section 7(e) hereof) for Common Stock at an exchange ratio of one share of Common Stock per Right, appropriately adjusted to reflect any stock split, stock dividend, or similar transaction occurring after the date hereof (such exchange ratio being hereinafter referred to as the “Exchange Ratio”). Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Board of Direc-tors shall not be empowered to effect such exchange at any time after any Acquiring Person, together with all Affiliates and Associates of such Acquiring Person, becomes the Beneficial Owner of shares of Common Stock representing 50% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding. From and after the occurrence of an event

specified in Section 13(a) hereof, any Rights that theretofore have not been exchanged pursuant to this Section 24(a) shall thereafter be exercisable only in accordance with Section 13 and may not be exchanged pursuant to this Section 24(a).

(b)    Immediately upon the action of the Board of Directors ordering the exchange of any Rights pursuant to paragraph (a) of this Section 24 and without any further action and without any notice, the right to exercise such Rights shall terminate and the only right thereafter of a holder of such Rights shall be to receive that number of shares of Common Stock equal to the number of such Rights held by such holder multiplied by the Exchange Ratio. The Company shall promptly give (i) written notice to the Rights Agent of any such exchange and (ii) public notice of any such exchange; provided, however, that the failure to give, or any defect in, such notice shall not affect the validity of such exchange. The Company promptly shall mail a notice of any such exchange to all of the holders of such Rights at their last addresses as they appear upon the registry books of the Rights Agent. Any notice that is mailed in the manner herein provided shall be deemed given, whether or not the holder receives the notice. Each such notice of exchange will state the method by which the exchange of the shares of Common Stock for Rights will be effected- and, in the event of any partial exchange, the number of Rights that will be exchanged. Any partial exchange shall be effected pro rata based on the number of Rights (other than Rights that have become void pursuant to the provisions of Section 7(e) hereof) held by each holder of Rights.

(c)    If there are not sufficient shares of Common Stock issued but not outstanding or authorized but unissued to permit any exchange of Rights as contemplated in accordance with this Section 24, the Company shall take all such action as may be necessary to authorize additional shares of Common Stock for issuance upon exchange of the Rights. If the Company, after good faith effort, is unable to take all such action as may be necessary to authorize such additional shares of Common Stock, the Company shall substitute Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or Equivalent Preferred Stock) for Common Stock exchangeable for Rights, at the initial rate of one Unit of Series B Preferred Stock (or Equivalent Preferred Stock) for each share of Common Stock, as appropriately adjusted to reflect stock splits, stock dividends, and other similar transactions after the date hereof.

(d)    Following the action of the Board of Directors ordering the exchange of any Rights pursuant to this Section 24, the Company may implement such procedures as it deems appropriate, in its sole discretion, for the purpose of ensuring that the Common Stock (or such other consideration) issuable upon an exchange pursuant to this Section 24 is not received by holders of Rights that have become null and void pursuant to Section 7(e). Before effecting an exchange pursuant to this Section 24, the Board may direct the Company to enter into a Trust Agreement in such form and with such terms as the Board of Directors shall then approve (the “Trust Agreement”). If the Board of Directors so directs, the Company shall enter into the Trust Agreement and shall issue to the trust created by such agreement (the “Trust”) all or a portion (as designated by the Board of Directors) of the shares of Common Stock (or other securities) issuable pursuant to the exchange, and all holders of Rights entitled to receive such shares or securities pursuant to the exchange shall be entitled to receive such shares or securities (and any dividends paid or distributions made thereon after the date on which such shares are deposited in the Trust) only from the Trust and solely upon compliance with the relevant terms and provisions of the Trust Agreement. Prior to effecting an exchange and registering shares of Common Stock (or other such securities) in any Person's name, including any nominee or

transferee of a Person, the Company may require (or cause the trustee of the Trust to require), as a condition thereof, that any holder of Rights provide evidence, including, without limitation, the identity of the Beneficial Owners thereof and their Affiliates and Associates (or former Beneficial Owners thereof and their Affiliates and Associates) as the Company shall reasonably request in order to determine if such Rights are null and void. If any Person shall fail to comply with such request, the Company shall be entitled conclusively to deem the Rights formerly held by such Person to be null and void pursuant to Section 7(e) and not transferable or exerciseable or exchangeable in connection herewith Any shares of Common Stock or other securities issued at the direction of the Board of Directors in connection herewith shall be validly issued, fully paid, and non-assessable shares of Common Stock or of such other securities (as the case may be), and the Company shall be deemed to have received as consideration for such issuance a benefit having a value that is at least equal to the aggregate par value of the shares so issued.

(e)    The Company shall not be required to issue fractions of shares of Common Stock or to distribute certificates that evidence fractional shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exchange of any Rights pursuant to this Section 24. In lieu of such fractional shares of Common Stock, there shall be paid to the registered holders of the Rights with regard to which such fractional shares of Common Stock would otherwise be issuable, an amount in cash equal to the same fraction of the current market value of a whole share of Common Stock. For the purposes of this subsection (e), the current market value of a whole share of Common Stock shall be the closing price per share of Common Stock (as determined pursuant to the second sentence of Section 11(d)(i) hereof) for the Trading Day immediately prior to the date of exchange pursuant to this Section 24.

Section 25.    Notice of Certain Events. (a) If the Company shall propose, at any time after the Distribution Date, (i) to pay any dividend payable in stock of any class or series to the holders of Series B Preferred Stock or to make any other distribution to the holders of Series B Preferred Stock (other than a regular quarterly cash dividend out of earnings or retained earnings of the Company); (ii) to offer to the holders of Series B Preferred Stock rights or warrants to subscribe for or to purchase any additional shares of Series B Preferred Stock or shares of stock of any class or any other securities, rights or options; (iii) to effect any reclassification of Series B Preferred Stock (other than a reclassification involving only the subdivision of outstanding shares of Series B Preferred Stock); (iv) to effect any consolidation or merger into or with any other Person (other than a Subsidiary of the Company in a transaction which complies with Section 11(o) hereof), or to effect any sale or other transfer (or to permit one or more of its Subsidiaries to effect any sale or other transfer), in one or more transactions, of more than 50% of the assets or earning power of the Company and its Subsidiaries (taken as a whole) to any other Person or Persons (other than the Company and/or any of its Subsidiaries in one or more transactions each of which complies with Section 11(o) hereof); or (v) to effect the liquidation, dissolution or winding up of the Company; then, in each such case, the Company shall give to each registered holder of a Rights Certificate, to the extent feasible, and to the Rights Agent in accordance with Section 26 hereof, a written notice of such proposed action, which shall specify the record date for the purposes of such stock dividend, distribution of rights or warrants, or the date on which such reclassification, consolidation, merger, sale, transfer, liquidation, dissolution, or winding up is to take place and the date of participation therein by the holders of the shares of Series B Preferred Stock if any such date is to be fixed, and such notice shall be so given in the case of any action covered by clause (i) or (ii) above at least ten (10) days prior

to the record date for determining holders of the shares of Series B Preferred Stock for purposes of such action, and in the case of any such other action, at least ten (10) days prior to the date of the taking of such proposed action or the date of participation therein by the holders of the shares of Series B Preferred Stock whichever shall be the earlier; provided, however, that no such action shall be taken pursuant to this Section 25(a) that will or would conflict with any provision of the Certificate of Incorporation; provided further, that no such notice shall be required pursuant to this Section 25, if any Subsidiary of the Company effects a consolidation or merger with or into, or effects a sale or other transfer of assets or earnings power to, any other Subsidiary of the Company.

(b) If any of the events set forth in Section 11(a)(ii) hereof shall occur, then, in any such case, (i) the Company shall, as soon as practicable thereafter, give to each holder of a Rights Certificate, to the extent feasible, and to the Rights Agent in accordance with Section 26 hereof, a written notice of the occurrence of such event, which notice shall describe such event and the consequences of the event to holders of Rights under Section 11(a)(ii) hereof, and (ii) all references in the preceding Section 25(a) to Series B Preferred Stock shall be deemed to refer, if appropriate, to any other securities that may be acquired upon exercise of a Right.

(c)    If any Section 13 Event shall occur, then the Company shall, as soon as practicable thereafter, give to each registered holder of a Rights Certificate, to the extent feasible, and to the Rights Agent in accordance with Section 26 hereof, a written notice of the occurrence of such event, which notice shall describe such event and the consequences of such event to holders of Rights under Section 13(a) hereof.

Section 26.    Notices. All notices and other communications provided for hereunder shall, unless otherwise stated herein, be in writing (including by facsimile, telegram or cable) and mailed or sent or delivered, if to the Company, at its address at:

Furniture Brands International, Inc.
1 N. Brentwood Boulevard
St. Louis, Missouri 63105
Attention: General Counsel

And if to the Rights Agent, at its address at:

American Stock Transfer and Trust Company, LLC
6201 15th Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11219
Attention: Corporate Trust Department

Notices or demands authorized by this Agreement to be given or made by the Company or the Rights Agent to the holder of any Rights Certificate (or, if prior to the Distribution Date, the registered holder of any shares of Common Stock) shall be sufficiently given or made if sent by first‑class mail, postage prepaid, addressed to such holder at the address of such holder as shown on the registry books of the Company or the Rights Agent, as the case may be.

Section 27.    Supplements and Amendments. Except as otherwise provided in this Section 27, the Company, by action of the Board of Directors, may from time to time and in its sole and absolute discretion, and the Rights Agent shall if the Company so directs, supplement or amend this Agreement in any respect without the approval of any holders of Rights, including, without limitation, in order to (a) cure any ambiguity, (b) correct or supplement any provision contained herein that may be defective or inconsistent with any other provisions herein, (c) shorten or lengthen any time period hereunder, or (d) otherwise change, amend, or supplement any provisions hereunder in any manner that the Company may deem necessary or desirable; provided, however, that (A) the adoption by the Board of Directors of any amendment to this Agreement that extends the Final Expiration Date shall be submitted for ratification by the Company's stockholders within one year of the date of the adoption of such an amendment (and no such amendment shall be effective beyond such one-year period unless ratified by the Company's stockholders), and (B) without approval of the Company's stockholders, the Board of Directors may not supplement or amend this Agreement to (1) remove or modify Section 23(b) or (2) remove or modify any provision hereof with respect to a Qualified Offer; and provided further that from and after such time as any Person becomes an Acquiring Person, this Agreement shall not be supplemented or amended in any manner that would adversely affect the interests of the holders of Rights (other than Rights that have become null and void pursuant to Section 7(e) hereof) as such or cause this Agreement to become amendable other than in accordance with this Section 27. Without limiting the foregoing, (i) the Company, by action of the Board of Directors, may at any time before any Person becomes an Acquiring Person amend this Agreement to make the provisions of this Agreement inapplicable to a particular transaction by which a Person might otherwise become an Acquiring Person or to otherwise alter the terms and conditions of this Agreement as they may apply with respect to any such transaction and (ii) the Company, by action of the Board of Directors, shall amend this Agreement, as appropriate, to remove provisions intended only to protect the Company's NOLs if at any time (x) Section 382 or any successor thereof is repealed and the Board of Directors determines that this Agreement is no longer necessary for the preservation of NOLs or (b) the Board of Directors determines that no NOLs may be carried forward. Upon the delivery of a certificate from an appropriate officer of the Company that states that the proposed supplement or amendment is in compliance with the terms of this Section 27, the Rights Agent shall execute such supplement or amendment; provided, however, that any supplement or amendment that does not amend Section 18, Section 19, Section 20, Section 21, or this Section 27 in a manner adverse to the Rights Agent shall become effective immediately upon execution by the Company, whether or not also executed by the Rights Agent.

Notwithstanding anything contained in this Agreement to the contrary, the Rights Agent may, but shall not be obligated to, enter into any supplement or amendment that affects the Rights Agent's own rights, duties, obligations or immunities under this Agreement.

Prior to the Distribution Date, the interests of the holders of Rights shall be deemed coincident with the interests of the holders of Common Stock.

Section 28.    Successors. All the covenants and provisions of this Agreement by or for the benefit of the Company or the Rights Agent shall bind and inure to the benefit of their respective successors and assigns hereunder.

Section 29.    Determinations and Actions by the Board of Directors. Except as otherwise specifically provided herein, the Board of Directors shall have the exclusive power and authority to administer this Agreement and to exercise all rights and powers specifically granted to the Board of Directors or to the Company hereunder, or as may be necessary or advisable in the administration of this Agreement, including, without limitation, the right and power (i) to interpret the provisions of this Agreement, and (ii) to make all determinations deemed necessary or advisable for the administration of this Agreement (including, without limitation, a determination to redeem or not redeem the Rights in accordance with Section 23, to exchange or not exchange the rights in accordance with Section 24, to amend or not amend this Agreement in accordance with Section 27, and to determine whether a Person should or should not be deemed an Inadvertent Acquiror or whether a Person should or should not be an Exempt Person or whether a transaction should or should not be an Exempt Transaction). All such actions, calculations, interpretations, and determinations (including, for purposes of clause (y) below, all omissions with respect to the foregoing) that are done or made by the Board of Directors shall (x) be final, conclusive, and binding on the Company, the Rights Agent, the holders of the Rights, and all other parties, and (y) not subject the Board of Directors or any member thereof to any liability to the holders of the Rights.

Section 30.    Benefits of this Agreement. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to give to any Person other than the Company, the Rights Agent and the registered holders of the Rights Certificates (and, prior to the Distribution Date, registered holders of shares of Common Stock) any legal or equitable right, remedy or claim under this Agreement; but this Agreement shall be for the sole and exclusive benefit of the Company, the Rights Agent and the registered holders of the Rights Certificates (and, prior to the Distribution Date, registered holders of shares of Common Stock).

Section 31.    Severability. If any term, provision, covenant, or restriction of this Agreement is held by a court of competent jurisdiction or other authority to be invalid, void or unenforceable, the remainder of the terms, provisions, covenants and restrictions of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect and shall in no way be affected, impaired or invalidated.

Section 32.    Governing Law. This Agreement, each Right, and each Rights Certificate issued hereunder shall be deemed to be a contract made under the laws of the State of Delaware and for all purposes shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of such State applicable to contracts to be made and performed entirely within such State.

Section 33.    Counterparts. This Agreement may be executed in one or more counterparts, and by the different parties hereto in separate counterparts, each of which when executed shall be deemed to be an original, but all of which taken together shall constitute one and the same instrument.

Section 34.    Descriptive Headings. The headings contained in this Agreement are for descriptive purposes only and shall not affect in any way the meaning or interpretation of this Agreement.

[Signature Page To Follow On Next Page]

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have caused this Agreement to be duly executed, all as of the date first above written.

ATTEST:                    FURNITURE BRANDS INTERNATIONAL, INC.

By_/s/ Meredith M. Graham________     By__/s/ Ralph P. Scozzafava________
Name: Meredith M. Graham        Name: Ralph P. Scozzafava
Title: Corporate Secretary            Title: Chief Executive Officer

ATTEST:                    AMERICAN STOCK TRANSFER AND
TRUST COMPANY, LLC

By__/s/ Donna Ansbro____________     By__/s/ Paula Caroppoli___________
Name: Donna Ansbro            Name: Paula Caroppoli
Title: Vice President            Title: Senior Vice President

Exhibit A

Certificate No. _____                                    ____ Rights

NOT EXERCISABLE AFTER THE EXPIRATION DATE (AS DEFINED IN THE STOCKHOLDERS RIGHTS AGREEMENT REFERRED TO BELOW). THE RIGHTS ARE SUBJECT TO REDEMPTION, AT THE OPTION OF THE COMPANY, ON THE TERMS SET FORTH IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT. UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES (SPECIFIED IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT), RIGHTS THAT ARE OR WERE BENEFICIALLY OWNED BY ACQUIRING PERSONS (AS DEFINED IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT) OR BY THEIR AFFILIATES OR ASSOCIATES (AS DEFINED IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT) OR, IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES, BY TRANSFEREES OF SUCH ACQUIRING PERSONS OR THEIR AFFILIATES OR ASSOCIATES MAY BECOME NULL AND VOID.

RIGHTS CERTIFICATE

FURNITURE BRANDS INTERNATIONAL, INC.

This certifies that ______________, or registered assigns, is the registered holder of the number of Rights set forth above, each of which entitles the registered holder thereof, subject to the terms and conditions of the Amended and Restated Stockholders Rights Agreement dated as of June 18, 2012 (the “Rights Agreement”) between Furniture Brands International, Inc., a Delaware corporation (the “Company”), and American Stock Transfer and Trust Company, LLC, a New York limited liability trust company, as Rights Agent (which term shall include any successor Rights Agent under the Rights Agreement), to purchase from the Company at any time after the Distribution Date and prior to the Expiration Date at the office of the Rights Agent, one one-thousandth of a fully paid and non-assessable share of Series B Junior Participating Preferred Stock, no par value, of the Company (the “Series B Preferred Stock”), at the Purchase Price initially of $7.00 per one one-thousandth share (each such one one-thousandth of a share being a “Unit”) of Series B Preferred Stock, upon presentation and surrender of this Rights Certificate with the Election to Purchase and related certificate duly executed. The number of Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate as set forth above, the number of Units that may be purchased upon exercise thereof as set forth above, and the Purchase Price per Unit as set forth above shall be subject to adjustment in certain events as provided in the Rights Agreement. Terms defined in the Rights Agreement are used herein with the same meaning unless otherwise defined herein.

Upon the occurrence of a Section 11(a)(ii) Event or Section 13 Event, if the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate are beneficially owned by an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate of any such Acquiring Person or, under certain circumstances described in the Rights Agreement, a transferee of any such Acquiring Person, Associate or Affiliate, such Rights shall become null and

void and no holder hereof shall have any right with respect to such Rights from and after the occurrence of such Section 11(a)(ii) Event or Section 13 Event.

In certain circumstances described in the Rights Agreement, the Rights evidenced hereby may entitle the registered holder thereof to purchase capital stock of an entity other than the Company or receive common stock, cash or other assets of an entity other than the Company, all as provided in the Rights Agreement.

This Rights Certificate is subject to all of the terms and conditions of the Rights Agreement applicable to a Right, which terms and conditions are hereby incorporated herein by reference and made a part hereof and to which Rights Agreement reference is hereby made for a full description of the rights, limitations of rights, obligations, duties and immunities hereunder of the Rights Agent, the Company and the holders of the Rights Certificates. Copies of the Rights Agreement are on file at the principal office of the Company and are available from the Company upon written request.

This Rights Certificate, with or without other Rights Certificates, upon surrender at the office of the Rights Agent designated for such purpose, may be exchanged for another Rights Certificate or Rights Certificates of like tenor and date evidencing an aggregate number of Rights equal to the aggregate number of Rights evidenced by the Rights Certificate or Rights Certificates surrendered. If this Rights Certificate shall be exercised in part, the registered holder shall be entitled to receive, upon surrender hereof, another Rights Certificate or Rights Certificates for the number of whole Rights not exercised.

Subject to the provisions of the Rights Agreement, the Rights evidenced by this Certificate may be redeemed by the Company under certain circumstances at its option at a redemption price of $0.001 per Right, payable at the Company's option in cash or other securities or property of the Company, subject to adjustment for certain events as provided in the Rights Agreement.

The Company is not required to issue fractional shares of Series B Preferred Stock upon the exercise of any Right or Rights evidenced hereby (other than fractions that are integral multiples of one one-thousandth of a share of Series B Preferred Stock), but in lieu thereof a cash payment will be made, as provided in the Rights Agreement.

No holder of this Rights Certificate, as such, shall be entitled to vote or receive dividends or be deemed for any purpose the holder of Series B Preferred Stock or of any other securities that may at any time be issuable upon the exercise hereof; nor shall anything contained in the Rights Agreement or herein be construed to confer upon the holder hereof, as such, any of the rights of a stockholder of the Company or any right to vote for the election of directors or upon any matter submitted to stockholders at any meeting thereof, or to give or withhold consent to any corporate action, or to receive dividends or subscription rights, or otherwise, until the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate shall have been exercised as provided in the Rights Agreement.

This Rights Certificate shall not be valid or obligatory for any purpose until it shall have been countersigned by the Rights Agent.

WITNESS the signature of the proper officers of the Company and its corporate seal.

Dated as of ______________________

ATTEST:                FURNITURE BRANDS INTERNATIONAL, INC.

By______________________    By_________________________
Name:                 Name:
Title:                 Title:

Countersigned:

AMERICAN STOCK TRANSFER AND TRUST COMPANY, LLC
as Rights Agent

By_______________________
Name:
Title:

[Reverse Side of Rights Certificate]

FORM OF ASSIGNMENT

(To be executed by the registered
holder if such holder desires
to transfer the Rights Certificate.)

FOR VALUE RECEIVED______________________________________
hereby sells, assigns and transfers unto______________________

______________________________________________________________
(Please print name and address of transferee)
______________________________________________________________
this Rights Certificate, together with all right, title and interest therein, and does hereby irrevocably constitute and appoint ________________ Attorney, to transfer the within Rights Certificate on the books of the within-named Company, with full power of substitution.

Dated:______________

_______________________
Signature

Signature Guaranteed:

CERTIFICATE

The undersigned hereby certifies by checking the appropriate boxes that:

(1)    this Rights Certificate [ ] is [ ] is not being sold, assigned and transferred by or on behalf of a Person who is or was an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate of any such Acquiring Person (as such terms are defined pursuant to the Rights Agreement); and

(2)    after due inquiry and to the best knowledge of the undersigned, it [ ] did [ ] did not acquire the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate from any Person who is, was or subsequently became an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate of an Acquiring Person.

Dated:_______________                _____________________
Signature

Signature Guaranteed:

_______________________________________

NOTICE

The signature to the foregoing Assignment and Certificate must correspond to the name as written upon the face of this Rights Certificate in every particular, without alteration or enlargement or any change whatsoever.

Signatures must be guaranteed by an approved eligible financial institution acceptable to the Rights Agent in its sole discretion or by a participant in the Securities Transfer Agents Medallion Program, the Stock Exchange Medallion Program or the New York Stock Exchange Medallion Program.

In the event the certification set forth above is not completed, the Company will deem the beneficial owner of the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate to be an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate thereof (as defined in the Rights Agreement) and, in the case of an Assignment, will affix a legend to that effect on any Rights Certificates issued in exchange for this Rights Certificate.

FORM OF ELECTION TO PURCHASE

(To be executed if the registered
holder desires to exercise
Rights represented by the Rights Certificate)

To: FURNITURE BRANDS INTERNATIONAL, INC.

The undersigned hereby irrevocably elects to exercise _______________ Rights represented by this Rights Certificate to purchase the Units of Series B Preferred Stock issuable upon the exercise of the Rights (or such other securities of the Company or of any other person or such other property as may be issuable upon the exercise of the Rights) and requests that certificates for such Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or such other securities of the Company or of any other person or such other property as may be issuable upon the exercise of the Rights) be issued in the name of and delivered to:

____________________________________________________
(Please print name and address)

____________________________________________________

Please insert social security
or other identifying number:________________________

If such number of Rights shall not be all the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate, a new Rights Certificate for the balance of such Rights shall be registered in the name of and delivered to:

____________________________________________________
(Please print name and address)

_____________________________________________________

Please insert social security
or other identifying number:________________________

Dated:___________________

____________________________
Signature
Signature Guaranteed:

CERTIFICATE

The undersigned hereby certifies by checking the appropriate boxes that:

(1)    the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate [ ] are [ ] are not beneficially owned by an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or an Associate thereof (as defined in the Rights Agreement); and

(2)    after due inquiry and to the best knowledge of the undersigned, the undersigned [ ] did [ ] did not acquire the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate from any person who is, was or subsequently became an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate thereof.

Dated:_________________                    _____________________
Signature

Signature Guaranteed:

____________________________________

NOTICE

The signature in the foregoing Election to Purchase and Certificate must conform to the name as written upon the face of this Rights Certificate in every particular, without alteration or enlargement or any change whatsoever.

Signatures must be guaranteed by an approved eligible financial institution acceptable to the Rights Agent in its sole discretion or by a participant in the Securities Transfer Agents Medallion Program, the Stock Exchange Medallion Program or the New York Stock Exchange Medallion Program.

In the event the certification set forth above is not completed, the Company will deem the beneficial owner of the Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate to be an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate thereof (as defined in the Rights Agreement) and, in the case of an Assignment, will affix a legend to that effect on any Rights Certificates issued in exchange for this Rights Certificate.

Exhibit B

SUMMARY OF RIGHTS TO PURCHASE
SERIES B JUNIOR PARTICIPATING PREFERRED STOCK

Effective August 3, 2009, the Board of Directors of Furniture Brands International, Inc. (the “Company”) declared a distribution of one Right (a “Right”) for each outstanding share of Common Stock, no par value (the “Common Stock”), to stockholders of record at the close of business on August 13, 2009, and for each share of Common Stock issued (including shares distributed from Treasury) by the Company thereafter and prior to the Distribution Date (as described below and defined in the Rights Agreement). The Board of Directors approved adoption of an Amended and Restated Rights Agreement on February 26, 2010, which was approved by the Company's stockholders on May 6, 2010. On June 18, 2012, the Board of Directors adopted an Amended and Restated Rights Agreement that extended the duration and further amended the 2010 Amended and Restated Rights Agreement. Each Right entitles the registered holder, subject to the terms of the Rights Agreement (as defined below), to purchase from the Company one one-thousandth of a share (a “Unit”) of Series B Junior Participating Preferred Stock, no par value (the “Series B Preferred Stock”), at a Purchase Price of $7.00 per Unit, subject to adjustment (the “Purchase Price”). The description and terms of the Rights are set forth in an Amended and Restated Stockholders Rights Agreement, dated June 18, 2012, between the Company and American Stock Transfer and Trust Company, LLC, as Rights Agent (the “Rights Agreement”).

          Copies of the Rights Agreement have been filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission as exhibits to a Registration Statement amendment on Form 8-A/A dated June 19, 2012 and a Current Report on Form 8-K dated June 19, 2012. Copies of the Certificate of Designation for the Series B Preferred Stock (the “Certificate of Designation”) were previously filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission as exhibits to a Registration Statement on Form 8-A dated August 4, 2009, and a Current Report on Form 8-K dated August 3, 2009. Copies of the Rights Agreement and the Certificate of Designation are available free of charge from the Company. This summary description of the Rights and of the Series B Preferred Stock does not purport to be complete and is qualified in its entirety by reference to all of the provisions of the Rights Agreement and the Certificate of Designation, including the definitions therein of certain terms, which Rights Agreement and Certificate of Designation are incorporated herein by reference. Capitalized terms herein and defined in the Rights Agreement and not otherwise defined herein shall have the meaning set forth in the Rights Agreement.

The Rights Agreement

          Initially, no separate Rights Certificates will be distributed and instead the Rights will attach to all certificates representing shares of outstanding Common Stock, or, with respect to Common Stock held in book entry form, to the outstanding shares of Common Stock evidenced by the balances indicated in the book entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock. The Rights will separate from the Common Stock and the “Distribution Date” will occur upon the earlier of (i) ten Business Days following a public announcement that a person or group of affiliated or associated persons has become an “Acquiring Person,” or (ii) ten Business Days (or such later date

as may be determined by the Board of Directors prior to such time as any person or group of affiliated or associated persons becomes an Acquiring Person) following the commencement of a tender offer or exchange offer that would result in a person or group of affiliated and associated persons beneficially owning 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding. Until the Distribution Date, (i) the Rights will be evidenced by the balances indicated in the book entry account system of the transfer agent for the Common Stock registered in the names of the holders thereof or, in the case of certificated shares, by Common Stock certificates, and will be transferred with and only with such underlying shares of Common Stock, (ii) confirmation and account statements sent to holders of Common Stock held in book entry form or, in the case of certificated shares, certificates, representing such shares of Common Stock (including shares distributed from Treasury) will contain a notation incorporating the Rights Agreement by reference, and (iii) the transfer of any shares of outstanding Common Stock will also constitute the transfer of the Rights associated with such shares of Common Stock.

          As used in the Rights Agreement, an “Acquiring Person” means a person or group of affiliated or associated persons that has acquired, obtained the right to acquire, or otherwise obtained beneficial ownership of 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding. The following, however, are not Acquiring Persons: (A) the Company, its subsidiaries, any employee benefit plan of the Company or any of its subsidiaries, or any trustee or fiduciary holding shares of Common Stock pursuant to the terms of any such plan; or (B) an “Exempt Person” (as described below and defined in the Rights Agreement). Moreover, no person or group of affiliated or associated persons will be deemed to be an Acquiring Person as a result of the following: (1) an acquisition of Common Stock by the Company, which, by reducing the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding, increases the percentage of the shares of Common Stock that such person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, beneficially owns to 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding, (2) the grant of any equity compensation award to such person if such person is a director, officer, employee, or agent of the Company, or any adjustment to the number of shares of Common Stock represented by such equity compensation award pursuant to the terms thereof, (3) any unilateral grant of any security by the Company to such person, or (4) an “Exempt Transaction” (as described below and defined in the Rights Agreement). Notwithstanding the foregoing, a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, who would be considered an Acquiring Person but for the exceptions in (1) through (4) in the foregoing sentence, will nonetheless be considered an Acquiring Person if such person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, continues to hold 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock outstanding and becomes the beneficial owner of additional shares of Common Stock, subject to certain exceptions described in the Rights Agreement.

The Rights Agreement also contains an exception to the definition of Acquiring Person for an “Inadvertent Acquiror,” defined as a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, who otherwise would be deemed an “Acquiring Person” but whom the Board of Directors of the Company has determined became such inadvertently (including, without limitation, because (A) such person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, was unaware that it beneficially owned a percentage of the then-outstanding Common Stock that would otherwise cause such person to be an Acquiring Person, or (B) such person, or group of affiliated or associates persons, was aware of the extent of its beneficial ownership of Common Stock but had no actual knowledge of the consequences of such beneficial ownership under the Rights Agreement). If the Board of Directors of the Company

determines that a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, is an Inadvertent Acquiror, and such person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, promptly divests a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock so that it would no longer be an Acquiring Person, then such person or group of affiliated or associated persons shall not be deemed to be or to have become an Acquiring Person for any purposes of the Rights Agreement. In addition, if the Board of Directors of the Company determines that an “Inadvertent Acquiror” is an “Exempt Person,” then that person or group would not be required to divest shares of Common Stock to no longer be deemed to be or have become an Acquiring Person.

An “Exempt Person” is a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, who:

(1) beneficially owned 4.75% or more of the shares of Common Stock outstanding on the date the Board of Directors of the Company declares the distribution of Rights to holders of the Common Stock, provided, however, that such person or persons will no longer be an Exempt Person if such person or persons (a) acquires beneficial ownership of additional securities representing 0.5% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding, or (b) acquires beneficial ownership of additional securities, and upon such acquisition, becomes, together with all affiliated or associated persons, the beneficial owner of 20% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding, subject to certain exceptions described in the Rights Agreement; or

(2) beneficially owns 4.75% or more, but less than 20%, of the shares of Common Stock outstanding, and whose beneficial ownership of 4.75% or more of shares of the Common Stock then outstanding the Board of Directors of the Company determines would not endanger the availability of the Company's NOLs, subject to certain exceptions described in the Rights Agreement. The Board of Directors of the Company shall make the determination of whether a person or group of affiliated or associated persons is an “Exempt Person” either (x) before the time such person or group otherwise would have become an Acquiring Person, or (y) after the time such person or group otherwise would have become an Acquiring Person if the Board of Directors has determined, in accordance with Section 1(a)(ii) of the Agreement, that such a person or group is an “Inadvertent Acquiror.”

          An “Exempt Transaction” is a transaction that otherwise would result in a person or group becoming an Acquiring Person but that the Board of Directors of the Company determines should not cause a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, to become an Acquiring Person, except that the Board of Directors of the Company may not determine that any transaction that results in a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, beneficially owning 20% or more of the shares of Common Stock is an Exempt Transaction.

The Board of Directors of the Company, in its sole discretion, may condition its determination that any person, together with the affiliates and associates of such person, is an Exempt Person upon such person and/or such person's affiliates or associates entering into an agreement with the Company providing for restrictions or limitations on the right or ability of such person and/or such person's affiliates and associates to acquire or dispose of beneficial ownership of Common Stock.

The Rights are not exercisable until the Distribution Date and will expire at the Close of Business on June 18, 2015, unless earlier redeemed or exchanged by the Company as described below, but if stockholder approval of the Rights Agreement is not obtained on or prior to June 18, 2013, the Rights will expire on June 18, 2013.

          As soon as practicable after the Distribution Date, Rights Certificates will be mailed to holders of record of Common Stock as of the Close of Business on the Distribution Date and, thereafter, the separate Rights Certificates alone will represent the Rights.

          In the event that a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, becomes an Acquiring Person, then each holder of a Right will thereafter have the right to receive, upon exercise, shares of Common Stock (or, in certain circumstances, Units of Series B Preferred Stock, other securities, cash, property, or a combination thereof) having a value equal to two times the exercise price of the Right. The exercise price is the Purchase Price multiplied by the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock issuable upon exercise of a Right prior to the events described in this paragraph.

          Notwithstanding any of the foregoing, following the time any person or group becomes an Acquiring Person, all Rights that are, or under certain circumstances specified in the Rights Agreement were, beneficially owned by any Acquiring Person or its Affiliates or Associates will be null and void.

          If at any time after a person or group becomes an “Acquiring Person” (provided that such person or group, together with all affiliates or associates of such person or group, shall beneficially own 20% of more of the Company's Common Stock then outstanding), (i) the Company is acquired in a merger or other business combination with another company and the Company is not the surviving corporation, (ii) another company consolidates or merges with the Company and all or part of the Common Stock is converted or exchanged for other securities, cash, or property, or (iii) 50% or more of the consolidated assets or earning power of the Company and its subsidiaries is sold or transferred to another company, then each holder of a Right (except Rights that previously have been voided as described above) shall thereafter have the right to receive, upon exercise, common stock or other equity interest of the ultimate parent of such other company having a value equal to two times the exercise price of the Right.

 The Purchase Price payable, and the number of Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or other securities, as applicable) issuable, upon exercise of the Rights are subject to adjustment from time to time to prevent dilution (i) in the event of a stock dividend on, or a subdivision, combination or reclassification of, the Series B Preferred Stock, (ii) if holders of the Series B Preferred Stock are granted certain rights or warrants to subscribe for Series B Preferred Stock or convertible securities at less than the current market price of the Series B Preferred Stock, or (iii) upon the distribution to the holders of the Series B Preferred Stock of evidences of indebtedness, cash or assets (excluding regular quarterly cash dividends or dividends payable in the Series B Preferred Stock) or of subscription rights or warrants (other than those referred to above).

          With certain exceptions, no adjustment in the Purchase Price will be required until cumulative adjustments amount to at least 1% of the Purchase Price. The Company is not required to issue

fractional shares of Series B Preferred Stock (other than fractional shares that are integral multiples of one one-thousandth of a share). In lieu thereof, an adjustment in cash may be made based on the market price of the Series B Preferred Stock prior to the date of exercise.

          At any time prior to such time as any person or group or affiliated or associated persons becomes an Acquiring Person, the Company's Board of Directors may redeem the Rights in whole, but not in part, at a price of $0.001 per Right (subject to adjustment in certain events) (the “Redemption Price”). Immediately upon the action of the Company's Board of Directors ordering the redemption of the Rights, the Rights will terminate and the only right of the holders of such Rights will be to receive the Redemption Price for each Right held.

If the Company receives a Qualified Offer, the Rights may be redeemed by way of stockholder action taken at a special meeting of stockholders called by the Board for the purpose of voting on a resolution accepting the Qualified Offer and authorizing the redemption of the Rights pursuant to the provisions of the Rights Agreement. A “Qualified Offer” is an offer that meets, as determined by a majority of the independent members of the Board, the conditions set forth under the definition of “Qualified Offer” in the Rights Agreement. Specifically the offer must have, among others, the following characteristics:

·
A fully financed all-cash tender offer, or an exchange offer offering shares of common stock of the offeror, or a combination thereof, in each such case for any and all of the outstanding shares of Common Stock at the same per-share consideration;

·	An offer that has commenced within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations;

·
An offer whose per-share offer price exceeds the greater of (A) a reasonable premium above the highest reported market price for the Common Stock during the immediately preceding twenty-four (24) months, and (B) represents a reasonable premium above the average of the Closing Prices for the ten (10) trading days immediately preceding the commencement of the offer, with certain exceptions;

·
An offer that, within twenty (20) business days after the commencement date of the offer (or within ten (10) business days after any increase in the offer consideration), does not result in a nationally recognized investment banking firm retained by the Board of Directors rendering an opinion to the Board of Directors that the consideration being offered to the stockholders of the Company is either inadequate or unfair;

·
If the offer includes shares of common stock of the offeror, an offer pursuant to which the offeror shall permit Company representatives to perform certain due diligence upon the offeror to allow the Company to evaluate the offer and make an informed decision;

·
An offer that is subject only to the minimum tender condition described in the Rights Agreement and other customary terms and conditions, which conditions shall not include any financing, funding or similar conditions or any requirements with respect

to the offeror or its agents being permitted any due diligence on the Company;

·
An offer pursuant to which the Company has received an irrevocable written commitment of the offeror that the offer will remain open for at least one hundred twenty (120) business days and, if a special meeting is duly requested for, at least ten (10) business days after the date of the special meeting or, if no special meeting is held within ninety (90) business days following receipt of the Special Meeting Notice, for at least ten (10) business days following such ninety (90) business day period;

·
An offer pursuant to which the Company has received an irrevocable written commitment of the offeror that the offer will be extended for at least twenty (20) business day after any increase in the consideration being offered or after any bona fide alternative offer is commenced, with limited exception.

·
An offer that is conditioned on a minimum of at least two-thirds (23rds) of the outstanding shares of the Common Stock not held by the person or group making such offer being tendered and not withdrawn as of the offer's expiration date, which condition shall not be waivable;

·
An offer pursuant to which the Company has received an irrevocable written commitment by the offeror to consummate, as promptly as practicable upon successful completion of the offer, a second step transaction whereby all shares of the Common Stock not tendered into the offer will be acquired at the same consideration per share actually paid pursuant to the offer, subject to stockholders' statutory appraisal rights, if any;

·
An offer pursuant to which the Company and its stockholders have received an irrevocable written commitment of the offeror that no amendments will be made to the offer to reduce the consideration being offered or to otherwise change the terms of the offer in a way that is adverse to a tendering stockholder;

·
An offer (other than an offer consisting solely of cash consideration) pursuant to which the Company has received the written representation and certification of the offeror and the written representations and certifications of the offeror's Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer, acting in such capacities, that (A) all facts about the offeror that would be material to making an investor's decision to accept the offer have been fully and accurately disclosed as of the date of the commencement of the offer within the meaning of Rule 14d-2(a) of the Exchange Act Regulations, (B) all such new facts will be fully and accurately disclosed on a prompt basis during the entire period during which the offer remains open, and (C) all required Exchange Act reports will be filed by the offeror in a timely manner during such period; and

·
If the offer includes non-cash consideration (A) the non-cash portion of the consideration offered must consist solely of common stock of a person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, that is a publicly-owned United States corporation,

(B) such common stock must be freely tradable and listed or admitted to trading on either the NYSE or the Nasdaq Global Market or the Nasdaq Global Select Market, (C) no stockholder approval of the issuer of such common stock is required to issue such common stock, or, if such approval is required, such approval has already been obtained, (D) no person, or group of affiliated or associated persons, beneficially owns 20% or more of the shares of common stock of the issuer then outstanding at the time of commencement of the offer or at any time during the term of the offer, (E) the issuer of such common stock has no other class of voting stock or other voting securities, and (F) the issuer of such common stock meets the registrant eligibility requirements for use of Form S-3 for registering securities under the Securities Act, including the filing of all required Exchange Act reports in a timely manner during the twelve calendar months prior to the date of commencement of such offer.

          At any time after any person or group of affiliated or associated persons becomes an Acquiring Person and before any such Acquiring Person shall become the beneficial owner of 50% or more of the total voting power of the aggregate of all shares of Common Stock then outstanding, the Board of Directors, at its option, may exchange each Right (other than Rights that previously have become void as described above) in whole or in part, at an exchange ratio of one share of Common Stock (or under certain circumstances one Unit of Series B Preferred Stock or equivalent preferred stock) per Right (subject to adjustment in certain events).

Following the action of the Board of Directors ordering the exchange of any Rights pursuant to the Rights Agreement, the Company may implement such procedures as it deems appropriate, in its sole discretion, for the purpose of ensuring that the Common Stock (or such other consideration) issuable upon an exchange pursuant to the Rights Agreement is not received by holders of Rights that have become null and void. In addition, before effecting a Rights exchange pursuant the Rights Agreement, the Board of Directors of the Company may direct the Company to enter into a Trust Agreement in such form and with such terms as the Board of Directors shall then approve (the “Trust Agreement”). If the Board of Directors so directs, the Company shall enter into the Trust Agreement and shall issue to the trust created by such agreement (the “Trust”) all or a portion (as designated by the Board of Directors) of the shares of Common Stock (or other securities) issuable pursuant to the exchange, and all holders of Rights entitled to receive such shares or securities pursuant to the exchange shall be entitled to receive such shares or securities (and any dividends paid or distributions made thereon after the date on which such shares are deposited in the Trust) only from the Trust and solely upon compliance with the relevant terms and provisions of the Trust Agreement.

The Company shall not be required to issue fractions of shares of Common Stock or to distribute certificates that evidence fractional shares of Common Stock issuable upon the exchange of any Rights pursuant the Rights Agreement. In lieu of such fractional shares of Common Stock, there shall be paid to the registered holders of the Rights with regard to which such fractional shares of Common Stock would otherwise be issuable, an amount in cash equal to the same fraction of the current market value of a whole share of Common Stock.

Until a Right is exercised, the holder thereof, as such, will have no rights as a stockholder of the Company, including, without limitation, the right to vote or to receive dividends. While the

distribution of the Rights will not be taxable to stockholders or to the Company, stockholders may, depending upon the circumstances, recognize taxable income in the event that the Rights become exercisable for Units of Series B Preferred Stock (or other consideration).

          Any of the provisions of the Rights Agreement may be amended from time to time without the approval of the holders of Rights in order to cure any ambiguity, defect, inconsistency or to make any other changes that the Board may deem necessary or desirable. After any person or group of affiliated or associated persons becomes an Acquiring Person, the provisions of the Rights Agreement may not be amended in any manner that would adversely affect the interests of the holders of Rights excluding the interests of any Acquiring Person. The Board may not, however, amend the Rights Agreement to remove the Company's stockholders' ability to redeem for a Qualified Offer.

Description of Series B Preferred Stock

          The Units of Series B Preferred Stock that may be acquired upon exercise of the Rights will not be redeemable and will rank junior to any other shares of preferred stock that may be issued by the Company with respect to the payment of dividends and as to distribution of assets in liquidation.

          Each Share of Series B Preferred Stock will have a minimum preferential quarterly dividend of the greater of $1.00 per share or 1000 times the aggregate per share amount of any cash dividend declared on the Common Stock since the immediately preceding quarterly dividend, subject to certain adjustments.

          In the event of liquidation, the holder of Series B Preferred Stock will be entitled to receive a preferred liquidation payment per share equal to the greater of $1.00 (plus accrued and unpaid dividends thereon) or 1000 times the amount paid in respect of a share of Common Stock, subject to certain adjustments.

          Generally, each share of Series B Preferred Stock will vote together with the Common Stock and any other class or series of capital stock entitled to vote in such a manner, and will be entitled to 1000 votes per share, subject to certain adjustments. The holders of the Series B Preferred Stock, voting as a separate class, shall be entitled to elect two directors if dividends on the Series B Preferred Stock are in arrears in an amount equal to six quarterly dividends thereon.

          Because of the nature of the Series B Preferred Stock's dividend, liquidation and voting rights, the economic value of one Unit of Series B Preferred Stock is expected to approximate the economic value of one share of Common Stock.