INDIANA GAS CO INC (CIK 50183)
Form 10-Q
period 2000-03-31
filed 2000-05-15

May 15, 2000



Securities and Exchange Commission
Operations Center
6432 General Green Way
Alexandria, VA  22312-2413

Gentlemen:

We are transmitting herewith Indiana Gas Company, Inc.'s
Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended
March 31, 2000, pursuant to the requirements of
Section 13 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.

Very truly yours,


/s/James A. Hummel, II
James A. Hummel

JAH:tmw

Enclosures

          SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
               Washington, D. C.  20549

                       FORM 10-Q


[X] QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
    SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2000

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
         Class                   Number of shares      Date



                   TABLE OF CONTENTS


Part I - Financial Information

    Consolidated Balance Sheets
      at March 31, 2000 and 1999,
      and December 31, 1999

    Consolidated Statements of Income
      Three Months Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999,
      and Twelve Months Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999

    Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
      Three Months Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999,
      and Twelve Months Ended March 31, 2000 and 1999

    Schedule of Long-term Debt
      at March 31, 2000 and 1999

    Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements

    Management's Discussion and Analysis of Results of
      Operations and Financial Condition

    Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosure about Market Risk


Part II - Other Information

    Item 1 - Legal Proceedings

    Item 6 - Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-

    Signatures




                             INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC.
                             AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES

                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                     Assets
                              (Thousands - Unaudited)


                                                        March 31          December 31
                                                   2000         1999         1999

Utility Plant
    Original cost                                 $ 1,019,811 $  958,685   $ 1,005,304
    Less - accumulated depreciation and
       amortization                                   415,781    384,207       407,887
                                                      604,030    574,478       597,417

Current Assets
    Cash and cash equivalents                           5,016      2,803           353
    Accounts receivable, less reserves of
        $2,553, $1,739 and $1,749, respectively        42,820     45,578        37,058
    Accrued unbilled revenues                          20,130     23,603        36,634
    Liquefied petroleum gas - at average cost             802        808           815
    Gas in underground storage - at last-in,
        first-out cost                                  4,146      6,106        11,627
    Prepaid gas delivery service                          114          -        20,937
    Prepayments and other                              14,253      9,402        16,468
                                                       87,281     88,300       123,892

Deferred Charges
    Unamortized debt discount and expense              11,671     12,419        11,906
    Regulatory income tax asset                           528      1,778         2,741
    Other                                               4,214      3,281         3,914
                                                       16,413     17,478        18,561

                                                 $    707,724 $  680,256  $    739,870


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated statements.





                                INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC.
                                AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES

                               CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                        LIABILITIES AND COMMON SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY
                                  (Thousands - Unaudited)


                                                                  March 31         December 31
                                                               2000      1999          1999
Capitalization
    Common stock and paid-in capital                      $  142,995  $  142,995  $  142,995
    Retained earnings                                        108,758     119,883     105,627
        Total common shareholders' equity                    251,753  $  262,878     248,622

    Long-term debt (see schedule)                            211,849     181,939     211,849

   Total Capitalization                                      463,602     444,817     460,471

Current Liabilities
    Maturities and sinking fund requirements of
          long-term debt                                           -      10,000           -
    Notes payable and commercial paper                        50,203      19,979      82,172
    Accounts payable                                          39,035      32,548      37,111
    Refundable gas costs                                      19,070      28,013      10,204
    Customer deposits and advance payments                     2,562       8,758      11,817
    Accrued taxes                                              7,834      18,004      16,208
    Accrued interest                                             872       1,416       5,252
    Other current liabilities                                 21,780      13,452      12,697
                                                             141,356     132,170     175,461

Deferred Credits and Other Liabilities
    Deferred income taxes                                     55,006      60,712      61,061
    Accrued postretirement benefits other than pensions       29,080      26,599      28,474
    Unamortized investment tax credit                          7,919       8,849       8,152
    Other                                                     10,761       7,109       6,251
                                                             102,766     103,269     103,938

                                                          $  707,724  $  680,256  $  739,870



The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated statements.





                                 INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC.
                                 AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES

                            CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                                  (Thousands - Unaudited)


                                               Three Months               Twelve Months
                                              Ended March 31              Ended March 31
                                            2000          1999         2000            1999

Operating Revenues                        $  171,618    $  161,484   $  441,495    $  418,812
Cost of gas                                   98,893        83,993      241,717       221,641
Margin                                        72,725        77,491      199,778       197,171

Operating Expenses
    Operations and maintenance                25,205        22,135       94,899        86,557
    Merger costs                              13,448             -       13,448             -
    Depreciation and amortization              9,018         8,441       35,162        33,102
    Income taxes                               6,599        14,354        8,979        16,985
    Taxes other than income taxes              4,961         4,685       15,971        14,078
                                              59,231        49,615      168,459       150,722

Operating income                              13,494        27,876       31,319        46,449

Other income - net                               370           287        1,093           886

Income before interest expense                13,864        28,163       32,412        47,335

Interest expense                               5,033         4,165       17,837        15,770

Net Income                                $    8,831    $   23,998   $   14,575    $   31,565


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated statements.




                                    INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC.
                                    AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES

                             CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                    (Thousands - Unaudited)

                                                            Three Months                Twelve Months
                                                           Ended March 31              Ended March 31
                                                         2000          1999          2000          1999
Cash Flows from Operating Activities
   Net income                                         $  8,831       $ 23,998      $ 14,575      $ 31,565

   Adjustments to reconcile net income to cash
     provided from operating activities -
       Merger costs                                     13,448              -         13,448            -
       Depreciation and amortization                     9,018          8,441         35,162       33,102
       Deferred income taxes                            (3,842)           132         (4,456)         794
       Investment tax credit                              (233)          (233)          (930)        (930)
       Loss (gain) on sale or retirement of assets           -              -              -       (1,219)
                                                        18,391          8,340         43,224       31,747

       Changes in assets and liabilities -
         Receivables - net                              12,947          3,395          5,105          834
         Inventories                                     7,799         12,095          1,412       (5,157)
         Accounts payable, customer deposits,advance
            payments and other current liabilities     (10,880)       (16,101)        (3,703)     (13,118)
         Accrued taxes and interest                    (12,754)         4,826        (10,714)        (726)
         Recoverable/refundable gas costs                8,866         13,670         (8,943)       8,731
         Accrued postretirement benefits other
            than pensions                                  606            715          2,481        2,149
         Prepayments                                    (1,111)           (32)        (4,297)      (1,104)
         Prepaid gas delivery service                   20,823              -           (114)           -
         Other - net                                     4,794            400          4,811        8,934
         Total adjustments                              49,481          27,308        29,262       32,290
         Net cash flows from (required for)
            operations                                  58,312          51,306        43,837       63,855

Cash Flows From (Required for) Financing Activities
    Sale of long-term debt                                   -              -         30,000       45,000
    Reduction in long-term debt                              -            (25)       (10,090)         (61)
    Net change in short-term borrowings                (31,969)       (28,696)        30,224      (40,096)
    Dividends on common stock                           (5,700)        (7,000)       (25,700)     (27,750)
        Net cash flows from (required for)
            financing activities                       (37,669)       (35,721)        24,434      (22,907)

Cash Flows From (Required for) Investing Activities
    Capital expenditures                               (15,980)       (12,802)       (66,058)     (54,380)
    Proceeds from sale of assets                             -              -              -        9,204
    Net cash flows from (required for) investing
        activities                                     (15,980)       (12,802)       (66,058)     (45,176)

Net increase (decrease) in cash                          4,663          2,783          2,213       (4,228)

Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period           353             20          2,803        7,031

Cash and cash equivalents at end of period            $  5,016       $  2,803       $  5,016     $  2,803

The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated statements.





                               INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC.
                               AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES

                       Consolidated Schedules of Long Term Debt
                               (Thousands - Unaudited)


                                                                           March 31
Long-term debt - Utility                      Total      Due Within    2000        1999
Notes Payable            Due Date          Outstanding    One Year    Balance     Balance
     5.75% Series F   January 15, 2003     $ 15,000       $      -    $ 15,000    $ 15,000
     6.36% Series F   December 6, 2004       15,000                     15,000      15,000
     6.54% Series E   July 9, 2007            6,500                      6,500       6,500
     6.69% Series E   June 10, 2013           5,000                      5,000       5,000
     7.15% Series E   March 15, 2015          5,000                      5,000       5,000
     6.69% Series E   December 21, 2015       5,000                      5,000       5,000
     6.69% Series E   December 29, 2015      10,000                     10,000      10,000
     9.375%           January 15, 2021       25,000                     25,000      25,000
     9.125% Series A  February 15, 2021       7,000                      7,000       7,000
     6.31% Series E   June 10, 2025           5,000                      5,000       5,000
     6.53% Series E   June 10, 2025          10,000                     10,000      10,000
     6.42% Series E   July 7, 2027            5,000                      5,000       5,000
     6.68% Series E   July 7, 2027            3,500                      3,500       3,500
     6.34% Series F   December 10, 2027      20,000                     20,000      20,000
     6.75% Series F   March 15, 2028         14,849                     14,849      14,939
     6.36% Series F   May 1, 2028            10,000                     10,000      10,000
     6.55% Series F   June 30, 2028          20,000                     20,000      20,000
     7.08% Series G   October 5, 2029        30,000                     30,000           -
Total Long-term debt                       $211,849       $       -   $211,849    $181,939


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated schedules.



PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

1. Financial Statements.
    Indiana Gas Company, Inc. and its subsidiaries (Indiana
    Gas or the Company) provide natural gas and
    transportation services to a diversified base of
    customers in 311 communities in 49 of Indiana's 92
    counties.

    The interim consolidated financial statements included in this report have been prepared by Indiana Gas, without audit, as provided in the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
    Certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles have been omitted as provided in such rules and regulations. Indiana Gas believes that the information in this report reflects all adjustments necessary to fairly state the results of the interim periods reported, that all such adjustments are of a normal recurring nature, and the disclosures are adequate to make the information presented not misleading. These interim financial statements should be read in conjunction with the financial statements and the notes thereto included in Indiana Gas' amended annual report on Form 10-K/A,
    filed on May 15, 2000, that reflects the change in fiscal year end to December 31 from September 30 to conform its year end to the year end of its parent company (see Note 2).

    Because of the seasonal nature of Indiana Gas' gas
    distribution operations, the results shown on a
    quarterly basis are not necessarily indicative of annual
    results.

2. Indiana Energy, Inc. and  SIGCORP, Inc. Merger

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

    Indiana Gas Company, Inc. and Southern Indiana Gas
    and Electric Company are operating as separate
    subsidiaries of Vectren.

3. Merger Costs.

    In connection with the merger, Vectren incurred $27.2 million of merger costs. Management has reflected these merger costs in the financial statements of the operating subsidiaries in which the merger savings are expected to be realized. The companies expect to realize merger savings from the elimination of duplicate corporate and administrative programs and greater efficiencies in operations, business processes and purchasing. Merger costs expensed by Indiana Gas at March 31, 2000 totaled $13.4 million. These costs relate primarily to transaction costs, severance and other merger integration activities and the accrual remaining for such costs at March 31, 2000 is approximately $8.6 million. The continued merger integration activities will be substantially complete by 2001.

4. Cash Flow Information.

    For the purposes of the consolidated statements of cash
    flows, Indiana Gas considers cash investments with an
    original maturity of three months or less to be cash
    equivalents.  Cash paid during the periods reported for
    interest and income taxes were as follows:


                      Three Months Ended     Twelve Months Ended
                             March 31               March 31

    Thousands          2000         1999     2000           1999
    Interest (net of
      amount
      capitalized)    $ 7,931      $ 6,683   $15,579     $13,936
    Income taxes      $21,542      $11,019   $27,442     $25,736


5. Revenues.

    To more closely match revenues and expenses, revenues
    are recorded for all gas delivered to customers but not
    billed at the end of the accounting period.

6. Gas in Underground Storage.

    Based on the average cost of purchased gas during the
    three months ended March 31, 2000 the cost of replacing
    the current portion of gas in underground storage
    exceeded last-in, first-out cost at March 31, 2000, by
    approximately $6.1 million.

7. Refundable or Recoverable Gas Costs.

    The cost of gas purchased and refunds from suppliers,
    which differ from amounts recovered through rates, are
    deferred, and are being recovered or refunded in
    accordance with procedures approved by the Indiana
    Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC).

8. Environmental Costs.

    Indiana Gas is currently conducting environmental
    investigations and work at many of the 26 sites
    that were the locations of former manufactured gas
    plants. It has been recovering the costs of the
    investigations and work from insurance carriers and
    other potentially responsible parties (PRPs). The
    IURC has determined that these costs are not
    recoverable from utility customers.

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

    In early 1999, Indiana Gas filed a complaint in
    Indiana state court to continue its pursuit of
    insurance coverage from four insurance carriers. As
    of March 31, 2000, settlement agreements were
    reached with each of these insurers and the
    litigation was dismissed.

    These environmental matters have had no material impact on earnings since costs recorded to date approximate PRP recoveries and insurance settlements received. While Indiana Gas has recorded all costs which it presently expects to incur in connection with remediation activities, it is possible that future events may require some level of additional remedial activities which are not presently foreseen.

9. Affiliate Transactions.

    ProLiance Energy, LLC (ProLiance), a non-regulated marketing affiliate of Vectren, provides natural gas supply and related services to Indiana Gas. Indiana Gas' purchases from ProLiance for resale and for injections into storage for the three-month and twelve-month periods ended March 31, 2000, totaled $66.6 million and $235.8 million, respectively. Indiana Gas' purchases from ProLiance for the three-month and twelve-month periods ended March 31, 1999, totaled $71.7 million, and $226.0 million, respectively.

    The sale of gas and provision of other services to
    Indiana Gas by ProLiance is subject to regulatory review
    through the quarterly gas cost adjustment process
    administered by the IURC.

    On September 12, 1997, the Indiana Utility
    Regulatory Commission (IURC) issued a decision
    finding the gas supply and portfolio administration
    agreements between ProLiance and Indiana Gas and
    ProLiance and Citizens Gas and Coke Utility (the
    gas supply agreements) to be consistent with the
    public interest. The IURC's decision reflected the
    significant gas cost savings to customers obtained
    by ProLiance's services and suggested that all
    material provisions of the agreements between
    ProLiance and the utilities are reasonable.
    Nevertheless, with respect to the pricing of gas
    commodity purchased from ProLiance and two other
    pricing terms, the IURC concluded that additional
    review in the gas cost adjustment (GCA) process
    would be appropriate and directed that these
    matters be considered further in the pending,
    consolidated GCA proceeding involving Indiana Gas
    and Citizens Gas. The IURC has not yet established
    a schedule for conducting these additional
    proceedings.

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

    If the Supreme Court reverses the IURC's decision,
    the case will be remanded to the IURC for further
    proceedings regarding the public interest in the
    gas supply agreements. If the Supreme Court affirms
    the IURC's decision, as described above, the
    reasonableness of certain of the gas costs incurred
    by Indiana Gas under the gas supply agreements will
    be further reviewed by the IURC in the consolidated
    GCA proceeding. The existence of significant
    benefits to the utilities and their customers
    resulting from ProLiance's services has not been
    challenged on appeal.  Indiana Gas and Citizens Gas
    are continuing to utilize ProLiance for their gas
    supplies.

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

    CIGMA, LLC, owned jointly and equally by Vectren
    Utility Services, Inc., formerly IGC Energy, Inc.,
    an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of Vectren and
    Citizens By-Products Coal Company, a wholly owned
    subsidiary of Citizens Gas,  provides materials
    acquisition and related services that are used by
    Indiana Gas. Indiana Gas' purchases of these
    services during the three-month and twelve-month
    periods ended March 31, 2000, totaled $3.8 million
    and $18.0 million, respectively.  Indiana Gas'
    purchases of these services during the three-month
    and twelve-month periods ended March 31, 1999,
    totaled $4.3 million and $16.2 million,
    respectively.

    IEI Services, now Vectren Resources, LLC, formerly a
    wholly owned subsidiary of Indiana Energy, began
    providing support services to Indiana Gas effective
    October 1, 1997.  Services provided include
    information technology, financial, human resources,
    building and fleet services.  Amounts billed by IEI
    Services to Indiana Gas for the three-month and
    twelve-month periods ended March 31, 2000, totaled
    $8.4 million and $32.6 million, respectively.
    Amounts billed by IEI Services to Indiana Gas for
    the three- month and twelve-month periods ended
    March 31, 1999, totaled $7.7 million and $27.6
    million, respectively.

    Indiana Gas also participates in a centralized cash
    management program with its parent, affiliated
    companies and banks which permits funding of checks
    as they are presented.

    Amounts owed to affiliates totaled $16.4 million and
    $20.7 million at March 1, 2000 and 1999,
    respectively, and are included in Accounts Payable
    on the Consolidated Balance Sheets.

10. Segment Reporting

    In fiscal 1999, the company adopted Statement of
    Financial Accounting Standards (SFAS) No. 131,
    Disclosures about Segments of an Enterprise and
    Related Information.  This statement establishes
    standards for the way that public companies report
    information about operating segments in annual
    financial statements and requires that those
    companies report selected information about
    operating segments in annual and interim financial
    reports issued to shareholders. Indiana Gas
    operates in one reportable segment.

11. Reclassifications.

    On May 15, 2000, Indiana Gas filed an amended
    report of Form 10-K/A to change its fiscal year end
    from September 30 to December 31, to be consistent
    with the year end of Vectren Corporation, its
    parent.

    Certain reclassifications have been made to the
    prior periods' financial statements to conform to
    the current year presentation. These
    reclassifications have no impact on net income
    previously reported.

Indiana Gas Company, Inc. and Subsidiary Companies
Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements


                 Results of Operations

                       Earnings
    Net income for the three- and twelve-month periods ended
    March 31, 2000, when compared to the same periods one year
    ago, were as follows:


    Periods Ended March 31
    (millions)                   2000(1)    1999
    Three Months                 $ 8.8     $24.0
    Twelve Months                $14.6     $31.6


    (1)includes merger costs of $13.4 million pre-tax
       ($9.4 million after tax), recognized at March 31, 2000
       upon the completion of the Vectren merger.

     Margin (Operating Revenues Less Cost of Gas)
    Utility margin for the quarter ended March 31, 2000,
    was $72.7 million compared to $77.5 million for the
    same period last year. Margins are lower than expected
    due to weather being 10% warmer than the same period
    last year and 17% warmer than normal. The decrease is
    partially offset by the addition of new residential
    and commercial customers.

    Utility margin for the twelve-month period ended March
    31, 2000, was $199.8 million compared to $197.1
    million for the same period last year. The increase is
    primarily attributable to a 2.6 percent increase in
    the average number of customers served for the twelve-
    month period. This increase is partially offset by
    weather 5 percent warmer than the same period last
    year, but 18 percent warmer than normal.

    Total system throughput (combined sales and
    transportation) decreased 5.1 percent (2.4 MMDth) for
    the first quarter of fiscal 2000, compared to the same
    period one year ago.  Throughput decreased 1.6 percent
    (1.3 MMDth) for the twelve-month period ended March
    31, 2000. Indiana Gas' rates for transportation
    generally provide the same margins as are earned on
    the sale of gas under its sales tariffs. Approximately
    one-half of total system throughput represents gas
    used for space heating and is affected by weather.

    Total average cost per unit of gas purchased increased
    to $3.82 for the three-month period ended March 31,
    2000, compared to $3.17 for the same period one year
    ago. For the twelve-month period, cost of gas per unit
    increased to $3.80 in the current period compared to
    $3.23 for the same period last year.

    Adjustments to Indiana Gas' rates and charges related
    to the cost of gas are made through gas cost
    adjustment (GCA) procedures established by Indiana law
    and administered by the Indiana Utility Regulatory
    Commission (IURC).  The GCA passes through increases
    and decreases in the cost of gas to Indiana Gas'
    customers dollar for dollar.

                  Operating Expenses
    Operation and maintenance expenses increased $3.1
    million for the three-month period ended March 31,
    2000, when compared to the same period one year ago
    due in part to administrative and service fees paid to
    Indiana Gas' affiliate, IEI Services, LLC, now Vectren
    Resources, LLC, primarily a result of costs associated
    with information systems and support. Also impacting
    this comparative increase was the reduction of the
    severance accrual by $1.3 million in the first quarter
    of 1999, originally recorded as part of the Company's
    corporate restructuring program.

    Operation and maintenance expenses increased $8.3 million for the twelve-month period when compared to the same period last year due primarily to service fees paid to Indiana Gas' affiliate, IEI Services, LLC, now Vectren Resources, LLC. Additionally, the company has incurred higher contract labor costs. Also impacting this increase was the reduction of the severance accrual in 1999 which was originally recorded as part of the Corporate Restructuring. During 1997, the Indiana Gas Board of Directors authorized management to undertake the actions necessary and appropriate to restructure Indiana Gas' operations and recognize a resulting restructuring charge which included estimated costs related to involuntary workforce reductions. Since that time, the anticipated actions have been taken. As a result, the remaining severance accrual of $1.3 million was eliminated and other operating expenses were reduced during the first quarter of 1999.

    As a result of the merger of Indiana Energy and
    SIGCORP, Indiana Gas recognized pre-tax merger costs
    of  $13.4 million ($9.4 million after tax). These
    costs relate primarily to transaction costs, severance
    and other merger integration activities.

    Depreciation and amortization increased $0.6 million
    for the three-month period and $2.0 million for the
    twelve-month period ended March 31, 2000, when
    compared to the same periods last year due primarily
    to additions to plant to serve new customers and to
    maintain dependable service to existing customers.

    Federal and state income taxes decreased $7.7 million
    for the three-month period, and $8.0 million for the
    twelve-month period  ended March 31, 2000, when
    compared to the same periods one year ago due to
    changes in taxable income, primarily attributable to
    the recognition of $13.4 million in pre-tax merger
    costs.

    Taxes other than income taxes increased $0.3 million
    for the three-month, and $1.9 million for the twelve-
    month period ended March 31, 2000, primarily due to
    higher property tax expense, the result of additions
    to plant, and an increase in the gross receipts tax.

                   Interest Expense
    Interest expense increased for the three-month and
    twelve-month periods ended March 31, 2000, when
    compared to the same periods one year ago due
    primarily to the additional average debt outstanding
    and higher interest rates. The additional debt is
    partially attributed to seasonal and weather
    shortfalls.

                Other Operating Matters

     Indiana Energy, Inc. and SIGCORP, Inc. Merger
    On June 14, 1999, Indiana Energy and SIGCORP, Inc.
    (SIGCORP) jointly announced the signing of a
    definitive agreement to combine into a new holding
    company named Vectren Corporation (Vectren).
    SIGCORP was an investor-owned energy and
    telecommunications company that through its
    subsidiaries provided electric and gas service to
    southwest Indiana and energy and telecommunications
    products and services throughout the Midwest and
    elsewhere.

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

    Indiana Gas Company, Inc. and Southern Indiana Gas
    and Electric Company are operating as separate
    subsidiaries of Vectren.

                     Merger Costs
    In connection with the merger, Vectren incurred
    $27.2 million ($19.3 million after tax or $.32 EPS)
    of merger costs.  Management has reflected these
    merger costs in the financial statements of the
    operating subsidiaries in which the merger savings
    are expected to be realized.  The companies expect
    to realize merger savings from the elimination of
    duplicate corporate and administrative programs and
    greater efficiencies in operations, business
    processes and purchasing. Merger costs expensed by
    Indiana Gas at March 31 totaled $13.4 million ($9.4
    million after tax). These costs relate primarily to
    transaction costs, severance and other merger
    integration activities and the accrual remaining
    for such costs at March 31, 2000 is approximately
    $8.6 million. The continued merger integration
    activities will be substantially complete by 2001.

                 ProLiance Energy, LLC
    ProLiance Energy, LLC (ProLiance), a 50% owned non-
    regulated marketing affiliate of Vectren, began
    providing natural gas and related services to
    Indiana Gas and Citizens Gas and Coke Utility
    (Citizens Gas) effective April 1, 1996.

    The sale of gas and provision of other services to
    Indiana Gas by ProLiance is subject to regulatory
    review through the quarterly gas cost adjustment
    process administered by the IURC.

    On September 12, 1997, the Indiana Utility
    Regulatory Commission (IURC) issued a decision
    finding the gas supply and portfolio administration
    agreements between ProLiance and Indiana Gas and
    ProLiance and Citizens Gas and Coke Utility (the
    gas supply agreements) to be consistent with the
    public interest. The IURC's decision reflected the
    significant gas cost savings to customers obtained
    by ProLiance's services and suggested that all
    material provisions of the agreements between
    ProLiance and the utilities are reasonable.
    Nevertheless, with respect to the pricing of gas
    commodity purchased from ProLiance and two other
    pricing terms, the IURC concluded that additional
    review in the gas cost adjustment (GCA) process
    would be appropriate and directed that these
    matters be considered further in the pending,
    consolidated GCA proceeding involving Indiana Gas
    and Citizens Gas. The IURC has not yet established
    a schedule for conducting these additional
    proceedings.

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

    If the Supreme Court reverses the IURC's decision,
    the case will be remanded to the IURC for further
    proceedings regarding the public interest in the
    gas supply agreements. If the Supreme Court affirms
    the IURC's decision, as described above, the
    reasonableness of certain of the gas costs incurred
    by Indiana Gas under the gas supply agreements will
    be further reviewed by the IURC in the consolidated
    GCA proceeding. The existence of significant
    benefits to the utilities and their customers
    resulting from ProLiance's services has not been
    challenged on appeal.  Indiana Gas and Citizens Gas
    are continuing to utilize ProLiance for their gas
    supplies.

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

                  The Year 2000 Issue
    Indiana Gas uses various software, systems and
    technology that could have been affected by the
    date change in 2000.  All identification, testing
    and replacement or remediation of such software,
    systems and technology at Indiana Gas was completed
    by December 31, 1999.  No significant noncompliance
    issues have been encountered in 2000 and Indiana
    Gas anticipates that no such issues will be
    encountered.  Indiana Gas estimates the expense of
    Year 2000-readiness modifications to existing
    systems or  replacements treated as expense
    incurred totaled approximately $1.5 million.

                 Environmental Matters
    Indiana Gas is currently conducting environmental
    investigations and work at many of the 26 sites
    that were the locations of former manufactured gas
    plants. It has been recovering the costs of the
    investigations and work from insurance carriers and
    other potentially responsible parties (PRPs). The
    IURC has determined that these costs are not
    recoverable from utility customers.

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

    In early 1999, Indiana Gas filed a complaint in
    Indiana state court to continue its pursuit of
    insurance coverage from four insurance carriers. As
    of March 31, 2000, settlement agreements were
    reached with each of these insurers and the
    litigation was dismissed.

    These environmental matters have had no material
    impact on earnings since costs recorded to date
    approximate PRP recoveries and insurance
    settlements received. While Indiana Gas has
    recorded all costs which it presently expects to
    incur in connection with remediation activities, it
    is possible that future events may require some
    level of additional remedial activities which are
    not presently foreseen.

            Liquidity and Capital Resources
    Indiana Gas' capitalization objectives, which are 55-
    65 percent common equity and preferred stock and 35-45
    percent long-term debt. These objectives may  vary
    from time to time, depending on particular business
    opportunities and seasonal factors that affect the
    company's operation. Indiana Gas' common equity
    component was 54 percent of its total capitalization
    at March 31, 2000.

    New construction and normal system maintenance and
    improvements needed to provide service to a growing
    customer base will continue to require substantial
    expenditures. Capital expenditures for fiscal 2000 are
    estimated at $60.8 million of which $16.0 million have
    been expended during the three-month period ended
    March 31, 2000.  For the twelve months ended March 31,
    2000, capital expenditures totaled $66.1 million.

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

    The long-term debt of Indiana Gas is currently rated
    Aa2 by Moody's Investors Service and AA- by Standard &
    Poor's Corporation.  For the twelve months ended March
    31, 2000, 40.5 percent of Indiana Gas' capital
    expenditures was funded internally (i.e. from net
    income less dividends plus charges to net income not
    requiring funds).  Indiana Gas' ratio of earnings to
    fixed charges was 2.3 for the twelve months ended
    March 31, 2000 (see Exhibit 12). Indiana Gas' ratio of
    earnings to fixed charges prior to the recording of
    the merger costs of $13.4 million was 3.0 for the
    twelve months ended March 31, 2000.

    Short-term cash working capital is required primarily
    to finance customer accounts receivable, unbilled
    utility revenues resulting from cycle billing, gas in
    underground storage and capital expenditures until
    permanently financed. Short-term borrowings tend to be
    greatest during the heating season when accounts
    receivable and unbilled utility revenues are at their
    highest. At March 31, 2000 Indiana Gas had $50.2
    million in outstanding commercial paper. Indiana Gas'
    commercial paper is rated P-1 by Moody's and A-1+ by
    Standard & Poor's.  Prior to March 1, 1999, bank lines
    of credit had been the primary source of short-term
    financing.

              Forward-Looking Information

    A "safe harbor" for forwarding-looking statements
    is provided by the Private Securities Litigation
    Reform Act of 1995 (Reform Act of 1995).  The
    Reform Act of 1995 was adopted to encourage such
    forward-looking statements without the threat of
    litigation, provided those statements are
    identified as forward-looking and are accompanied
    by meaningful cautionary statements identifying
    important factors that could cause the actual
    results to differ materially from those projected
    in the statement.  Forward-looking statements have
    been and will be made in written documents and oral
    presentations of Vectren Corporation and its
    subsidiaries.  Such statements are based on
    management's beliefs, as well as assumptions made
    by and information currently available to
    management.  When used in Vectren Corporation and
    its subsidiaries' documents or oral presentations,
    the words "believe," "anticipate," "endeavor,"
    "estimate," "expect," "objective," "projection,"
    "forecast," "goal," and similar expressions are
    intended to identify forward-looking statements.
    In addition to any assumptions and other factors
    referred to specifically in connection with such
    forward-looking statements, factors that could
    cause Vectren Corporation and its subsidiaries'
    actual results to differ materially from those
    contemplated in any forward-looking statements
    included, among others, the following:

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

      Availability or cost of capital, resulting from
      changes in Vectren Corporation and its subsidiaries,
      interest rates, and securities ratings or market
      perceptions of the utility industry and energy-related
      industries.

      Employee workforce factors including changes in
      key executives, collective bargaining agreements with
      union employees, or work stoppages.

      Legal and regulatory delays and other obstacles
      associated with mergers, acquisitions, and investments
      in joint ventures.

      Costs and other effects of legal and
      administrative proceedings, settlements,
      investigations, claims, and other matters, including,
      but not limited to, those described in periodic filings
      made with the Commission by Vectren Corporation and
      Indiana Gas Company, Inc.

      Changes in federal, state or local legislature
      requirements, such as changes in tax laws or rates,
      environmental laws and regulations.

    Vectren Corporation and its subsidiaries undertake
    no obligation to publicly update or revise any
    forward-looking statements, whether as a result of
    changes in actual results, changes in assumptions,
    other factors affecting such statements.

Item 3.   Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures
about Market Risk

    Indiana Gas' (the Company's) debt portfolio
    contains a substantial amount of fixed-rate long-
    term debt and, therefore, does not expose the
    company to the risk of material earnings or cash
    flow loss due to changes in market interest rates.
    On average, 20.5% of the company's total debt
    portfolio consists of short term notes and
    commercial paper that are subject to fluctuations
    in market interest rates and other seasonal
    factors. At March 31, 2000, the company was not
    engaged in other contracts which would cause
    exposure to the risk of material earnings or cash
    flow loss due to changes in market commodity
    prices, foreign currency exchange rates, or
    interest rates.

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

           2C   Asset Purchase Agreement dated
                December 14, 1999 between Indiana
                Energy, Inc. and Dayton Power and
                Light Co., Inc. and Number-3CHK,
                Inc. with a commitment letter for
                364 -Day Credit Facility dated
                December 16, 1999 (incorporated by
                reference to Exhibit 2 and 99.1 of
                Indiana Energy's Current Report on
                Form 8-K dated December 14, 1999
                and filed on December 28, 1999).

           12   Computation of Ratio of
                Earnings to Fixed Charges, filed herewith.

           27   Financial Data Schedule, filed herewith.

              PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

     (b) On January 27, 2000, Indiana Energy and
     Indiana Gas filed a Current Report on Form 8-K
     with respect to the release of summary financial
     information to the investment community regarding
     Indiana Energy's consolidated results of
     operations, financial position and cash flows for
     the three- and twelve-month periods ended December
     31, 1999.  Items reported include:

                    Item 5.   Other Events

                    Item 7.   Exhibits

                       Exhibit 99    Financial Analyst Report
                                     and Press Release - First
                                     Quarter 2000

     On January 27, 2000, Indiana Energy and Indiana
     Gas filed a Current Report on Form 8-K with
     respect to a analyst teleconference call., held on
     January 27, 2000.

                         Item 5. Other Events

                         Item 7. Exhibits

                            Exhibit 99.01    Analyst script
                                             teleconference call
                                             dated January 27, 2000


     On April 14, 2000, Indiana Gas filed a Current Report
     on Form 8-K with respect to the Change in Control of
     the Registrant and a Change in Fiscal Year.

                         Item 1. Change in Control of Registrant

                         Item 8. Change in Fiscal Year

     On April 17, 2000, Indiana filed an Amended Current
     Report on Form 8-K changing the signature of the
     report to M. Susan Hardwick, Vice President and
     Controller.

                         Item 1. Change in Control of Registrant

                         Item 8. Change in Fiscal Year

     On April 27, 2000, Indiana Gas filed a Current Report
     on Form 8-K with respect to the release of summary
     financial information for the quarter ending March 31,
     2000.

                         Item 5. Other Events

                         Item 7. Exhibits

                               Exhibit 99-1 Press Release -
                                            First Quarter 2000

                               Exhibit 99-2 Financial Analyst
                                            Report - First
                                            Quarter 2000

                               Exhibit 99-3 Precautionary Statement
                                            for Purposes of the "Safe
                                            Harbor" Provisions of the
                                            Private Securities
                                            Litigation Reform Act
                                            of 1995.

     On April 27, 2000, Indiana Gas filed a Current Report
     on Form 8-K with respect to the release of its
     teleconference script for the first quarter ending
     March 31, 2000.

                       Item 5. Other Events

                       Item 7. Exhibits

                               Exhibit 99   Analyst Teleconference
                                            Script-First Quarter 2000




                      SIGNATURES

   Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities
   Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused
   this report to be signed on its behalf by the
   undersigned thereunto duly authorized.


                            INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC.
                                    Registrant




   May 15, 2000          /s/M. Susan Hardwick
                         M. Susan Hardwick
                         Vice President and Controller