100 YEARS STRONG
ITW Conference Call
First Quarter 2012
April 24, 2012

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS
Forward-Looking Statements

Safe Harbor Statement
This conference call contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of
the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 including, without limitation,
statements regarding strategic initiatives and related benefits, operating
performance, growth in free operating cash flow, revenue growth, diluted income
per share from continuing operations, diluted net income per share,
restructuring expenses and related benefits, tax rates, exchange rates, end
market conditions, and the Company’s related 2012 forecasts. These statements
are subject to certain risks, uncertainties, and other factors which could cause
actual results to differ materially from those anticipated. Important risks that
could cause actual results to differ materially from the Company’s expectations
include those that are detailed in ITW’s Form 10-K for 2011.
Non-GAAP Measures
The Company uses certain non-GAAP measures in discussing the Company’s
performance (denoted with *).  The reconciliation of those measures to the most
comparable GAAP measures is contained within the appendix of this
presentation and is also available at our website www.ITW.com under “Investor
Relations”.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS
Conference Call Playback
• Replay number: 866-365-2451; No pass code necessary
• Telephone replay available through midnight of May 8, 2012
• Webcast / PowerPoint replay available at www.itw.com
• Supplemental financial and investor information will be available on the
 ITW website under the “Investor Relations” tab

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS
Key Long-Term Initiatives

• ITW is committed to these shareholder value-adding initiatives
• These initiatives will enable our decentralized management to better
 leverage ITW’s core competitive advantages globally
• These multi-year ongoing initiatives will enhance our long-term
 operational performance
• Prospective long-term strategic and operational benefits and
 savings for the company will be communicated in late ’12

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

• Total revenue growth of
6.4%, with mix of organic
and acquired revenues
• Strong North America
(US) demand drives
performance
• Operating margins of
15.5%; 10 bps higher
than last year
• Q1 2012 tax rate: 29%
• EPS of $0.97 at high
end of forecasted range
* Q1 2011 excludes a $166 million tax benefit, or $0.33 per share, associated with an Australian tax matter. See the Appendix for the reconciliation from
GAAP to non-GAAP measurements.
** See the Appendix for the reconciliation from GAAP to non-GAAP measurements.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS
• Organic revenue
growth: 3.2%
• Price / cost margin
impact: +40 bps

• Acquisition margins
excluding amortization:
14.5%
• Currency negatively
impacted EPS by $0.01
primarily due to weaker
Euro

• Restructuring expense
of $33m, $25m higher
than last year

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS
Free Operating Cash Flow is expected to increase as the year progresses

* See the Appendix for the reconciliation from GAAP to non-GAAP measurements.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

* See the Appendix for the reconciliation from GAAP to non-GAAP measurements.
• Organic investments focused on key
growth platforms and emerging market
opportunities

• Over $600M returned to shareholders
• $275M annualized revenues acquired in
Q1; led by Brooks Instrument
Share Repurchases
$474M YTD
Acquisitions
$481M YTD
Capital Allocation Priorities

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

• On April 2nd, completed sale of the $375 million Finishing
 businesses to Graco Inc.
 – $650 million cash transaction
 – Estimated pretax gain of $450 million to be recorded in the
 second quarter in discontinued operations
 – Brands include Gema, Ransburg, DeVilbiss, BGK and Binks
 • Divestiture aligns with ITW’s strategic focus on core
 platform growth opportunities and maximizing long
 term returns
 • We will continue to selectively divest businesses that
 no longer fit with our core platforms and long term
 growth strategies

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

• North America (US)
drives organic growth
• European performance
slightly negative but at
forecasted levels
• Asia Pacific reflects
moderating growth in
China and Australia

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

* See the Appendix for the reconciliation from GAAP to non-GAAP measurements.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

* Q1 2011 excludes a $166 million tax benefit, or $0.33 per share, associated with an Australian tax matter. See the Appendix for the reconciliation
from GAAP to non-GAAP measurements.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS
100
YEARS
STRONG

Q&A

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS
100
YEARS
STRONG

Appendix:

GAAP to Non-GAAP Reconciliations

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

* Q1 2011 excludes a $166 million tax benefit, or $0.33 per share,
associated with an Australian tax matter.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

 The Company uses return on average invested capital (“ROIC”) to measure the
 effectiveness of its operations' use of invested capital to generate profits. Invested capital
 represents the net assets of the Company, excluding cash and cash equivalents and
 outstanding debt, which are excluded as they do not represent capital investment in the
 Company's operations. Average invested capital is calculated using balances at the start of
 the period and at the end of each quarter.

  For further information on ROIC, see the Company’s annual report on Form 10-K for 2011.
* Q1 2011 excludes a $166 million tax benefit associated with an Australian tax matter. See the “Income from Continuing Operations” reconciliation
in this Appendix.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

 For further information on free operating cash flow, see the Company’s annual report on
 Form 10-K for 2011.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS

 For further information on total debt to EBITDA, see the Company’s annual report on Form
 10-K for 2011.

PROFITABLE GROWTH, STRONG RETURNS