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ITW Conference Call
First Quarter
2010
Exhibit 99.2
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ITW
Agenda
1. Introduction…………………...….. John Brooklier/David Speer
2. Financial Overview…………..….. Ron Kropp
3. Reporting Segments………....…. John Brooklier
4. 2010 Forecasts…………………… Ron Kropp
5. Q & A………………......……...…... John Brooklier/Ron Kropp/David Speer
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ITW
Forward - Looking Statements
  This conference call contains forward-looking statements
 within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform
 Act of 1995 including, without limitation, statements regarding
 operating performance, revenue growth, diluted income per
 share from continuing operations, restructuring expenses and
 related benefits, tax rates, end market conditions, and the
 Company’s related 2010 forecasts. These statements are
 subject to certain risks, uncertainties, and other factors which
 could cause actual results to differ materially from those
 anticipated. Important risks that could cause actual results to
 differ materially from the Company’s expectations are detailed
 in ITW’s Form 10-K for 2009.
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Conference Call Playback
Replay number: 203-369-3795
No pass code necessary
Telephone replay available through midnight of
 May 4, 2010
Webcast / PowerPoint replay available at
 itw.com website
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ITW
Quarterly Highlights
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ITW
Quarterly Operating Analysis
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ITW
Non Operating & Taxes
ITW
Invested Capital
ITW
Debt & Equity
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ITW
Cash Flow
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ITW
Acquisitions
Transportation
Quarterly Analysis
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Transportation
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues: +32.0% in Q1 ’10 as auto
 builds significantly ramped up in North America and
 Europe versus Q1 ’09
• Auto OEM/Tiers: Worldwide base revenues +39.1% in Q1
 ’10 vs. Q1 ’09
 – North American Q1 ’10 auto builds: 2.9 million vehicles
 vs. 1.7 million vehicles in Q1 ’09
 • Detroit 3 and new domestics substantially grew auto
 builds
 – European Q1 ’10 builds: 4.2 million vehicles in Q1 ‘10 vs.
 3.0 million vehicles in Q1 ’09
 • Numerous OEM’s boosted production
• Auto aftermarket Q1 ’10 worldwide base revenues: +0.6% in
 Q1 ’10 vs. Q1 ’09
Industrial Packaging
Quarterly Analysis
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Industrial Packaging
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues continued to show signs of
 improvement: +10.9% in Q1 ’10 vs. Q1 ’09 as industrial
 production metrics in U.S. trend positive
• Total North American industrial packaging base
 revenues: +19.8% in Q1 ’10 vs. Q1 ’09
 – End markets associated with primary metals and
 manufacturing showed improvement in Q1 ’10;
 Signode consumable (plastic/steel strap) ramped up in
 Q1
• Total international industrial packaging base revenues:
 +2.5% in Q1 ’10 vs. Q1 ’09
Food Equipment
Quarterly Analysis
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Food Equipment
Key Points
• Total segment Q1 ’10 base revenues: -5.2% vs. Q1 ’09
• North America Q1 ’10 base revenues: -2.7% vs. Q1 ’09
 as customers continue to delay equipment purchases
 – Project side of business slower; replacement side of
 business stronger
• North America Q1 ’10 service base revenues continue
 to be a bright spot: +1.0% vs. Q1 ’09
• International Q1 ’10 base revenues: -7.0% vs. Q1 ’09;
 equipment demand soft in Europe and Asia-Pacific
Power Systems and Electronics
Quarterly Analysis
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Power Systems and Electronics
Key Points
• Total Q1 ’10 segment base revenues: +10.7% vs. Q1 ’09
• Q1 ’10 PC board fabrication base revenues
 significantly improved: +89.4% vs. Q1 ’09 as consumer
 electronics demand continues to be very strong
• In Q1 ’10, worldwide welding base revenues: -1.4% vs.
 Q1 ’09
 – Q1 ’10 North America welding base revenues: +1.7%
 vs. Q1 ’09
 – Q1 ’10 International welding base revenues: -8.4%
 vs. Q1 ’09
Construction Products
Quarterly Analysis
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Construction Products
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues: +0.5% in Q1 ’10 vs. Q1 ’09
• North America Q1 ’10 base revenues: -2.0% vs. Q1 ‘09
 – Q1 ’10 residential base revenues: +7.6% vs. Q1 ’09; Q1
 new housing starts at 617,000 units
 – Q1 ’10 renovation base revenues: -6.0% vs. Q1 ’09
 – Q1 ’10 commercial construction base revenues: -6.2%
 vs. Q1 ’09; reflects weak NA commercial activity
• International Q1 ’10 base revenues: +1.1% vs. Q1 ’09
 – Q1 ’10 Asia-Pacific base revenues: +4.3% vs. Q1 ‘09
 – Q1 ’10 Europe base revenues: -0.9% vs. Q1 ‘09
Polymers and Fluids
Quarterly Analysis
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Polymers and Fluids
Key Points
• Total Q1 ’10 segment base revenues: +7.6% vs.
 Q1 ’09
• Q1 ’10 base revenues for worldwide fluids: +13.9%
 vs. Q1 ’09
 – International base revenues increased 15.1% in
 Q1 ’10; North America base revenues grew 11.5%
• Q1 ’10 base revenues for worldwide polymers: +4.7%
 vs. Q1 ‘09
 – International base revenues grew 6.1% in Q1 ’10;
 North America base revenues were essentially flat
Decorative Surfaces
Quarterly Analysis
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Decorative Surfaces
Key Points
• Total Q1 ’10 segment base revenues: -2.6% vs. Q1 ’09
• North America laminate Q1 ’10 base revenues: -2.6% vs.
 Q1 ’09
 – Due to North American commercial construction mix,
 demand for high pressure laminate remained
 constrained
• International Q1 ’10 base revenues: -2.5% vs. Q1 ’09
All Other
Quarterly Analysis
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All Other
Key Points
• Total Q1 ’10 segment base revenues: +2.6% vs. Q1 ’09
 – Q1 ’10 industrial/appliance base revenues: +12.9% vs.
 Q1 ’09; improvement still related to energy efficiency
 initiatives in appliance sector
 – Q1 ’10 worldwide consumer packaging base
 revenues: +4.2% vs. Q1 ’09
 – Q1 ’10 worldwide test and measurement base
 revenues: -7.5% vs. Q1 ’09; weak “cap ex” spending in
 North America, Europe and Asia still impacting sales
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ITW
2010 Forecast
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ITW 2010 Forecast
Key Assumptions
• Exchange rates hold at current levels
• Acquired revenues in the $300 to $500 million range for
 the year
• Restructuring costs of $50 to $80 million for the full year
• Tax rate range of 28.75% to 29.25% for the 2nd quarter
 and a range of 29.75% to 30.25% for the full year
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ITW Conference Call

Q & A
First Quarter
2010