ITW Conference Call
Third Quarter
2009
Exhibit 99.2

ITW
Agenda
1. Introduction…………………...….. John Brooklier/David Speer
2. Financial Overview…………..….. Ron Kropp
3. Reporting Segments………....…. John Brooklier
4. 2009 Fourth Quarter Forecast…… Ron Kropp
5. Q & A………………......……...…... John Brooklier/Ron Kropp/David Speer

ITW
Forward - Looking Statements
 This conference call contains forward-looking statements
 within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform
 Act of 1995 including, without limitation, statements regarding
 operating performance, revenue growth, diluted income per
 share from continuing operations, restructuring expenses and
 related benefits, tax rates, end market conditions, and the
 Company’s related forecasts. These statements are subject
 to certain risks, uncertainties, and other factors which could
 cause actual results to differ materially from those
 anticipated. Important risks that could cause actual results to
 differ materially from the Company’s expectations are detailed
 in ITW’s Form 10-K, as updated by our Current Report on
 Form 8-K filed August 7, 2009, for 2008.

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Telephone replay available through midnight of
 November 3, 2009
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ITW
Quarterly Highlights

ITW
Quarterly Operating Analysis

ITW
Non Operating & Taxes

ITW
Invested Capital
ITW
Debt & Equity

ITW
Cash Flow

ITW
Acquisitions
Industrial Packaging
Quarterly Analysis

Industrial Packaging
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues show modest signs of
 improvement: -23.3% for Q3 ’09 vs. -26.1% for Q2 ’09 as
 industrial production metrics became less negative
• Total North American industrial packaging business:
 -27.0% in Q3 ’09 vs. -31.9% in Q2 ’09
 – End markets associated with residential construction
 (lumber) and primary metals show modest
 improvement as year progresses
• Total international industrial packaging business: -25.0%
 in Q3 ’09 vs. -27.3% in Q2 ’09
Power Systems and Electronics
Quarterly Analysis

Power Systems and Electronics
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues appear to have bottomed:
 -34.2% in Q3 ’09 vs. -36.5% in Q2 ’09
• In Q3, Welding’s worldwide base revenues: -36.2%
 – Q3 North America base revenues:-40.0%
 – Q3 International base revenues:-26.7%
• PC board base revenues improved in the quarter:
 -42.3% in Q3 ’09 vs. -59.2% in Q2 ’09
Transportation
Quarterly Analysis

Transportation
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues (-7.9% in Q3 ’09 vs. -23.7% in Q2 ’09)
 improved quarter to quarter as auto builds ramped up
• Auto OEM/Tiers:
 – North American Auto Q3 base revenues: -14.3% vs. -39.5% in
 Q2 ’09
 • North American auto builds increase to 2.4 million units in Q3 ’09
 vs. 1.8 million units in Q2 ’09 due to “cash for clunkers”
 – International Auto Q3 base revenues: -4.7% in Q3 ’09 vs. -22.5%
 in Q2 ’09
 • European Q3 builds: at 3.9 million units in Q3 ‘09 vs. 4.0 million
 units in Q2 ’09
• Auto aftermarket Q3 worldwide base revenues: -4.5% vs. -12.7% in
 Q2 ’09
Food Equipment
Quarterly Analysis

Food Equipment
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues: -6.3% in Q3 ’09 vs.
 -8.5% in Q2 ’09; best performing segment
 throughout 2009
• Service revenues: flat in Q3 ’09 vs. -1.1% in Q2 ’09
• International Q3 base revenues: -4.9% in Q3 ’09 vs.
 -10.2% in Q2 ‘09
• North America Q3 base revenues: -8.0% vs. -8.4%
 in Q2 ’09 as customers continue to delay
 equipment purchases
Construction Products
Quarterly Analysis

Construction Products
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues: -16.5% in Q3 ’09 vs. -22.1% in Q2 ’09
• North America Q3 base revenues: -27.3% vs. -34.0% in Q2 ‘09
 – Q3 Residential: -30.4% base revenues vs. -43.2% in Q2 ’09; new
 housing starts continue to improve to near 600,000 units
 – Q3 Commercial Construction base revenues: -27.0% vs. -32.7%
 in Q2 ‘09
 – Q3 Renovation: -20.5% vs. -19.6% in Q2 ‘09
• International Q3 base revenues: -13.2% vs. -20.2% in Q2 ‘09
 – Q3 Europe: base revenues -22.0% vs. -30.2% in Q2 ‘09
 – Q3 Asia-Pacific: base revenues flat vs. -2.5% in Q2 ‘09
Polymers and Fluids
Quarterly Analysis

Polymers and Fluids
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues: -13.9% in Q3 ’09 vs. -15.1% in Q2 ’09 as
 industrial production /MRO demand modestly improves
• Worldwide Fluids: -11.9% in Q3 ’09 vs. -15.9% in Q2 ’09
 – Both North America and International show improvement vs. Q2 ’09
• Worldwide Polymers: -16.8% in Q3 ’09 vs. -17.4% in Q2 ‘09
 – Both North American and International polymers business facing
 weak end market demand
Decorative Surfaces
Quarterly Analysis

Decorative Surfaces
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues: -15.6% in Q3 ’09 vs.
 -16.0% in Q2 ’09
• North America laminate Q3 base revenues: -20.6%
 in Q3 ’09 vs. -20.0% in Q2 ’09
 – Weak commercial construction environment
 puts pressure on demand for high pressure
 laminate
• International Q3 base revenues: -10.7% vs. -11.6%
 in Q2 ’09

All Other
Quarterly Analysis

All Other
Key Points
• Total segment base revenues: -18.9% in Q3 ’09 vs. -20.0%
 in Q2 ’09
 – Q3 worldwide consumer packaging base revenues:
 -11.7% in Q3 vs. -12.9% in Q2 ’09; Hi-Cone and Zip-Pak
 units had strong revenue performance in the quarter
 – Q3 industrial/appliance base revenues: -21.8% Q3 ’09
 vs. -26.9% in Q2; modest housing rebound provides
 some relief
 – Q3 worldwide test and measurement base revenues:
 -21.8% vs. -15.3% in Q2 ’09; weak “cap ex” spending
 in North America, Europe and Asia slowing sales

ITW
4th Quarter 2009 Forecast

ITW 4th Quarter 2009 Forecast
Key Assumptions
• Exchange rates hold at current levels
• Restructuring costs of $25 to $40 million
 (versus $31 million in 3rd quarter 2009)
• Net nonoperating expense, including interest
 expense and other nonoperating income, of
 $35 to $45 million (versus $35 million in 3rd
 quarter 2009)
• Tax rate range of 29.25% to 29.75% for the 4th
 quarter (versus effective tax rate of 32.5% in
 3rd quarter 2009)

ITW Conference Call

Q & A
Third Quarter
2009