EXHIBIT 99.1


REPORT OF INDEPENDENT REGISTERED PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM

THE DIRECTORS AND STOCKHOLDERS
EASTGROUP PROPERTIES, INC.:

     We have audited the accompanying consolidated balance sheets of EastGroup Properties, Inc. and subsidiaries (the Company) as of December 31, 2005 and 2004, and the related consolidated statements of income, changes in stockholders' equity and cash flows for each of the years in the three-year period ended December 31, 2005. These consolidated financial statements are the responsibility of the Company's management. Our responsibility is to express an opinion on these consolidated financial statements based on our audits.
     We conducted our audits in accordance with the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States). Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain reasonable assurance about whether the financial statements are free of material misstatement. An audit includes examining, on a test basis, evidence supporting the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements. An audit also includes assessing the accounting principles used and significant estimates made by management, as well as evaluating the overall financial statement presentation. We believe that our audits provide a reasonable basis for our opinion.
     In our opinion, the consolidated financial statements referred to above present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of EastGroup Properties, Inc. and subsidiaries as of December 31, 2005 and 2004, and the results of their operations and their cash flows for each of the years in the three-year period ended December 31, 2005, in conformity with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles.
     We also have audited, in accordance with the standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (United States), the effectiveness of the Company's internal control over financial reporting as of December 31, 2005, based on the criteria established in Internal Control - Integrated Framework issued by the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission, and our report dated March 8, 2006 expressed an unqualified opinion on management's assessment of, and the effective operation of, internal control over financial reporting.

                                    KPMG LLP
Jackson, Mississippi
March 8, 2006, except as to note 19,
  which is as of June 8, 2006