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                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1

PART I

ITEM 1. BUSINESS OF HARTFORD LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
(DOLLAR AMOUNTS IN MILLIONS, UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED)

GENERAL

Hartford Life Insurance Company and its subsidiaries ("Hartford Life Insurance Company" or the "Company"), is a direct subsidiary of Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company ("HLA"), a wholly owned subsidiary of Hartford Life, Inc. ("Hartford Life"). Hartford Life is an indirect subsidiary of The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. ("The Hartford"). The Company, together with HLA, provides (i) investment products, including variable annuities, fixed market value adjusted ("MVA") annuities, mutual funds and retirement plan services for the savings and retirement needs of over 1.5 million customers, (ii) life insurance for wealth protection, accumulation and transfer needs for approximately 735,000 customers, (iii) group benefits products such as group life and group disability insurance for the benefit of millions of individuals and (iv) corporate owned life insurance, which includes life insurance policies purchased by a company on the lives of its employees. The Company is one of the largest sellers of individual variable annuities, variable universal life insurance and group disability insurance in the United States. The Company's strong position in each of its core businesses provides an opportunity to increase the sale of the Company's products and services as individuals increasingly save and plan for retirement, protect themselves and their families against the financial uncertainties associated with disability or death and engage in estate planning. In an effort to advance the Company's strategy of growing its life and asset accumulation businesses, The Hartford acquired the individual life insurance, annuity and mutual fund businesses of Fortis on April 2, 2001. (For additional information, see the Capital Resources and Liquidity section of the MD&A and Note 15 of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements).

In the past year, the Company's total assets, increased 21% to $171.9 billion at December 31, 2003 from $142.1 billion at December 31, 2002. The Company generated revenues of $4.9 billion, $3.9 billion and $4.5 billion in 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively. Additionally, Hartford Life Insurance Company generated net income of $626, $426 and $646 in 2003, 2002, and 2001, respectively.

CUSTOMER SERVICE, TECHNOLOGY AND ECONOMIES OF SCALE

The Company maintains advantageous economies of scale and operating efficiencies due to its growth, attention to expense and claims management and commitment to customer service and technology. These advantages allow the Company to competitively price its products for its distribution network and policyholders. In addition, the Company utilizes computer technology to enhance communications within the Company and throughout its distribution network in order to improve the Company's efficiency in marketing, selling and servicing its products and, as a result, provides high-quality customer service. In recognition of excellence in customer service for variable annuities, Hartford Life Insurance Company was awarded the 2003 Annuity Service Award by DALBAR Inc., a recognized independent financial services research organization, for the eighth consecutive year. Hartford Life Insurance Company is the only company to receive this prestigious award in every year of the award's existence. Also, in 2003 the Company earned its first DALBAR Award for Retirement Plan Service which recognizes Hartford Life Insurance Company as the No. 1 service provider of retirement plans in the industry. Additionally, the Company's Individual Life segment won its third consecutive DALBAR award for service of life insurance customers and its second DALBAR Intermediary Service Award in 2003.

RISK MANAGEMENT

The Company's product designs, prudent underwriting standards and risk management techniques are structured to protect it against disintermediation risk, greater than expected mortality and morbidity experience and, for certain product features, specifically the guaranteed minimum death benefit ("GMDB") and guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefit ("GMWB") offered with variable annuity products, equity market volatility. As of December 31, 2003, the Company had limited exposure to disintermediation risk on approximately 96% of its domestic life insurance and annuity liabilities through the use of non-

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guaranteed separate accounts, MVA features, policy loans, surrender charges and
non-surrenderability provisions. The Company effectively utilizes prudent underwriting to select and price insurance risks and regularly monitors mortality and morbidity assumptions to determine if experience remains consistent with these assumptions and to ensure that its product pricing remains appropriate. The Company also enforces disciplined claims management to protect itself against greater than expected morbidity experience. The Company uses reinsurance structures and has modified benefit features to mitigate the mortality exposure associated with guaranteed minimum death benefits. The Company also uses reinsurance to minimize the volatility associated with the GMWB liability.

REPORTING SEGMENTS

Hartford Life Insurance Company has changed its reportable operating segments from Investment Products, Individual Life and Corporate Owned Life Insurance ("COLI") to Retail Products Group ("Retail"), Institutional Solutions Group ("Institutional") and Individual Life. The Company also includes, in an "Other" category, net realized capital gains and losses other than periodic net coupon settlements on non-qualifying derivatives and net realized capital gains and losses related to guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefits; corporate items not directly allocable to any of its reportable operating segments and intersegment eliminations, as well as certain group benefit products, including group life and group disability insurance that is directly written by the Company and is substantially ceded to its parent, HLA. The following is a description of each segment, including a discussion of principal products, methods of distribution and competitive environments. Additional information on Hartford Life Insurance Company's segments may be found in the MD&A and Note 14 of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.

Retail Products Group

The Retail Products Group segment focuses, through the sale of individual variable and fixed annuities, retirement plan services and other investment products, on the savings and retirement needs of the growing number of individuals who are preparing for retirement or who have already retired. Retail generated revenues of $1.8 billion in 2003, $1.6 billion in 2002 and $1.5 billion in 2001, of which individual annuities accounted for $1.7 billion, $1.5 billion and $1.4 billion in 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively. Net income in the Retail segment was $341, $280 and $319 in 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively.

The Company sells both variable and fixed individual annuity products through a wide distribution network of national and regional broker-dealer organizations, banks and other financial institutions and independent financial advisors. The Company is a market leader in the annuity industry with sales of $16.5 billion, $11.6 billion, and $10.0 billion in 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively. The Company was the largest seller of individual retail variable annuities in the United States with sales of $15.7 billion in 2003, $10.3 billion in 2002 and $9.0 billion in 2001. In addition, the Company continues to be the largest seller of individual retail variable annuities through banks in the United States.

The Company's total account value related to individual annuity products was $97.7 billion as of December 31, 2003. Of this total account value, $86.5 billion, or 89%, related to individual variable annuity products and $11.2 billion, or 11%, related primarily to fixed MVA annuity products. In 2002, the Company's total account value related to individual annuity products was $74.9 billion. Of this total account value, $64.3 billion, or 86%, related to individual variable annuity products and $10.6 billion, or 14%, related primarily to fixed MVA annuity products.

In addition to its leading position in individual annuities, Hartford Life Insurance Company is among the top providers of retirement products and services, including asset management and plan administration sold to small and medium size corporations pursuant to Section 401(k) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (referred to as "401(k)").

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Principal Products

Individual Variable Annuities -- Hartford Life Insurance Company earns fees, based on policyholders' account values, for managing variable annuity assets and maintaining policyholder accounts. The Company uses specified portions of the periodic deposits paid by a customer to purchase units in one or more mutual funds as directed by the customer, who then assumes the investment performance risks and rewards. As a result, variable annuities permit policyholders to choose aggressive or conservative investment strategies, as they deem appropriate, without affecting the composition and quality of assets in the Company's general account. These products offer the policyholder a variety of equity and fixed income options, as well as the ability to earn a guaranteed rate of interest in the general account of the Company. The Company offers an enhanced guaranteed rate of interest for a specified period of time (no longer than twelve months) if the policyholder elects to dollar-cost average funds from the Company's general account into one or more non-guaranteed separate accounts. Additionally, the Investment Products segment sells variable annuity contracts that offer various guaranteed death benefits. For certain guaranteed death benefits, the Company pays the greater of (1) the account value at death; (2) the sum of all premium payments less prior withdrawals; or (3) the maximum anniversary value of the contract, plus any premium payments since the contract anniversary, minus any withdrawals following the contract anniversary.

Policyholders may make deposits of varying amounts at regular or irregular intervals and the value of these assets fluctuates in accordance with the investment performance of the funds selected by the policyholder. To encourage persistency, many of the Company's individual variable annuities are subject to withdrawal restrictions and surrender charges. Surrender charges range up to 8% of the contract's deposit less withdrawals, and reduce to zero on a sliding scale, usually within seven years from the deposit date. Individual variable annuity account values of $86.5 billion as of December 31, 2003, have grown from $64.3 billion as of December 31, 2002, due to strong net cash flow, resulting from high levels of sales, low levels of surrenders and equity market appreciation. Approximately 90% and 88% of the individual variable annuity account values were held in non-guaranteed separate accounts as of December 31, 2003 and 2002, respectively.

In August 2002, the Company introduced Principal First, a new guaranteed withdrawal benefit rider which is sold in conjunction with the Company's variable annuity contracts. The Principal First rider provides the policyholder with a guaranteed remaining balance ("GRB") if the account value is reduced to zero through a combination of market declines and withdrawals. The GRB is generally equal to premiums less withdrawals. However, annual withdrawals that exceed 7% of the premiums paid may reduce the GRB by an amount greater than the withdrawals and may also impact the guaranteed annual withdrawal amount that subsequently applies after the excess annual withdrawals occur. The policyholder also has the option, after a specified time period, to reset the GRB to the then-current account value, if greater.

The assets underlying the Company's variable annuities are managed both internally and by independent money managers, while the Company provides all policy administration services. The Company utilizes a select group of money managers, such as Wellington Management Company, LLP ("Wellington"); Hartford Investment Management Company ("Hartford Investment Management"), a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Hartford; Putnam Financial Services, Inc. ("Putnam"); American Funds; MFS Investment Management ("MFS"); Franklin Templeton Group; and AIM Investments ("AIM"). All have an interest in the continued growth in sales of the Company's products and enhance the marketability of the Company's annuities and the strength of its product offerings. Hartford Leaders, which is a multi-manager variable annuity that combines the product manufacturing, wholesaling and service capabilities of the Company with the investment management expertise of four of the nation's most successful investment management organizations: American Funds, Franklin Templeton Group, AIM and MFS, has emerged as the industry leader in terms of retail sales. In addition, the Director variable annuity, which is managed in part by Wellington, ranks second in the industry in terms of retail sales.

Fixed MVA Annuities -- Fixed MVA annuities are fixed rate annuity contracts which guarantee a specific sum of money to be paid in the future, either as a lump sum or as monthly income. In the event that a policyholder surrenders a policy prior to the end of the guarantee period, the MVA feature increases or decreases the cash surrender value of the annuity in respect of any interest rate decreases or increases,

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respectively, thereby protecting the Company from losses due to higher interest
rates at the time of surrender. The amount of payment will not fluctuate due to adverse changes in the Company's investment return, mortality experience or expenses. The Company's primary fixed MVA annuities have terms varying from one to ten years with an average term of approximately four years. Account values of fixed MVA annuities were $11.2 billion and $10.6 billion as of December 31, 2003 and 2002, respectively.

Corporate -- The Company sells retirement plan products and services to corporations under Section 401(k) plans targeting the small and medium case markets. The Company believes these markets are under-penetrated in comparison to the large case market. As of December 31, 2003, the Company administered over 4,100 Section 401(k) plans.

Marketing and Distribution

The Retail Products Group distribution network is based on management's strategy of utilizing multiple and competing distribution channels to achieve the broadest distribution to reach target customers. The success of the Company's marketing and distribution system depends on its product offerings, fund performance, successful utilization of wholesaling organizations, quality of customer service, and relationships with national and regional broker-dealer firms, banks and other financial institutions, and independent financial advisors (through which the sale of the Company's retail investment products to customers is consummated).

Hartford Life Insurance Company maintains a distribution network of approximately 1,500 broker-dealers and approximately 500 banks. As of December 31, 2003, the Company was selling products through the 25 largest retail banks in the United States. The Company periodically negotiates provisions and terms of its relationships with unaffiliated parties, and there can be no assurance that such terms will remain acceptable to the Company or such third parties. The Company's primary wholesaler of its individual annuities is PLANCO Financial Services, Inc. and its affiliate, PLANCO, Incorporated (collectively "PLANCO") a wholly owned subsidiary of HLA. PLANCO is one of the nation's largest wholesalers of individual annuities and has played a significant role in The Hartford's growth over the past decade. As a wholesaler, PLANCO distributes the Company's fixed and variable annuities, and 401(k) plans by providing sales support to registered representatives, financial planners and broker-dealers at brokerage firms and banks across the United States. Owning PLANCO secures an important distribution channel for the Company and gives the Company a wholesale distribution platform which it can expand in terms of both the number of individuals wholesaling its products and the portfolio of products which they wholesale. In addition, the Company uses internal personnel with extensive experience in the Section 401(k) market, to sell its products and services in the retirement plan market.

Competition

The Retail segment competes with numerous other insurance companies as well as certain banks, securities brokerage firms, independent financial advisors and other financial intermediaries marketing annuities, mutual funds and other retirement-oriented products. Product sales are affected by competitive factors such as investment performance ratings, product design, visibility in the marketplace, financial strength ratings, distribution capabilities, levels of charges and credited rates, reputation and customer service.

Regulatory Developments

Recently, there has been a significant increase in federal and state regulatory activity relating to financial services companies, particularly mutual funds companies. These regulatory inquiries have focused on a number of mutual fund issues. The Company, like many others in the financial services industry, has received requests for information from the Securities and Exchange Commission and a subpoena from the New York Attorney General's Office, in each case requesting documentation and other information regarding various mutual fund regulatory issues. The Company continues to cooperate fully with these regulatory agencies in responding to these requests. In addition, representatives from the SEC's Office of Compliance Inspections and Examinations recently concluded an on-site compliance examination of the Company's variable annuity and mutual fund operations.

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Hartford Life's mutual funds are available for purchase by the separate accounts
of different variable life insurance policies, variable annuity products, and funding agreements, and they are offered directly to certain qualified
retirement plans. Although existing products contain transfer restrictions between subaccounts, some products, particularly older variable annuity
products, do not contain restrictions on the frequency of transfers. In
addition, as a result of the settlement of litigation against the Company with respect to certain owners of older variable annuity products, the Company's ability to restrict transfers by these owners is limited.

A number of companies recently have announced settlements of enforcement actions with various regulatory agencies, primarily the Securities and Exchange Commission and the New York Attorney General's Office. No such action has been initiated against the Company. It is possible that one or more regulatory agencies may pursue action against the Company in the future.

INSTITUTIONAL SOLUTIONS GROUP

Hartford Life Insurance Company is among the top providers of retirement products and services, including asset management and plan administration sold to municipalities pursuant to Section 457 and 403(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (referred to as "Section 457" and "403(b)", respectively). The Company also provides structured settlement contracts, terminal funding products and stable value investment products such as guaranteed investment contracts ("GICs").

Additionally, Hartford Life Insurance Company is a leader in the private placement life insurance (formerly, COLI) ("PPLI") market, which includes life insurance policies purchased by a company on the lives of its employees, with the company or a trust sponsored by the company named as the beneficiary under the policy. Until the passage of Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 ("HIPAA"), the Company sold two principal types of PPLI, leveraged COLI and variable products.

The Company's total account values related to institutional investment products were $12.4 billion and $9.4 billion as of December 31, 2003 and 2002, respectively. Governmental account values were $9.0 billion and $7.2 billion as of December 31, 2003 and 2002, respectively. Variable PPLI products account values were $21.0 billion and $19.7 billion as of December 31, 2003 and 2002, respectively. Leveraged COLI account values decreased to $2.5 billion as of December 31, 2003 from $3.3 billion as of December 31, 2002, primarily due to surrender activity. The Institutional Solutions Group generated revenues of $2.0 billion, $1.7 billion and $2.1 billion for the years ended December 31, 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively and net income of $119, $94 and $92 in 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively.

Principal Products

Institutional Investment Products -- The Company sells the following institutional investment products; structured settlements, GICs and other short term funding agreements, and other annuity contracts for special purposes such as funding of terminated defined benefit pension plans (terminal funding arrangements).

Structured Settlements -- Structured settlement annuity contracts provide for periodic payments to an injured person or survivor for a generally determinable number of years, typically in settlement of a claim under a liability policy in lieu of a lump sum settlement.

Stable Value Products -- Guaranteed Interest Contracts (GICs) are group annuity contracts issued to sponsors of qualified pension or profit-sharing plans or stable value pooled fund managers. Under these contracts, the client deposits a lump sum with the Hartford for a specified period of time (usually 1-7 years) for a guaranteed interest rate. At the end of the specified period, the client receives principal plus interest earned. Funding agreements are investment contracts that perform a similar function for non-qualified assets.

Terminal Funding -- Terminal funding arrangements are group annuity contracts used to fund pension liabilities that exist when a qualified retirement plan sponsor decides to terminate an existing defined benefit pension plan. Group annuity contracts are very long-term in nature, since they must pay the pension liabilities typically on a monthly basis to all participants covered under the pension plan which is being terminated.

Governmental -- The Company sells retirement plan products and services to municipalities under Section 457 plans. The Company offers a number of different investment products, including variable annuities and fixed products, to the employees in Section 457 plans. Generally, with the variable products, the Company manages the fixed income funds and certain other outside money managers act as advisors to the equity funds offered in Section 457 plans administered by the Company. As of December 31, 2003, the Company administered over 3,000 plans under Sections 457 and 403(b).

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Leveraged COLI - Leveraged COLI is a fixed premium life insurance policy owned
by a company or a trust sponsored by a company. HIPAA phased out the deductibility of interest on policy loans under leveraged COLI at the end of 1998, virtually eliminating all future sales of leveraged COLI.

Variable products - Variable products continue to be used by employers to fund non-qualified benefits or other post-employment benefit liabilities.

Marketing and Distribution

In the Section 457 market, the Institutional Solutions Group distribution network uses internal personnel with extensive experience to sell its products and services in the retirement plan and institutional markets. The success of the Company's marketing and distribution system depends on its product offerings, fund performance, quality of customer service, and relationships with brokers, banks and other financial institutions.

In the structured settlement market, the Institutional Solutions Group sells individual fixed immediate annuity products through a small number of specialty brokerage firms that work closely with The Hartford's property and casualty claim operations. The Company also works directly with the brokerage firms on cases that do not involve The Hartford's property/casualty operations.

In the stable value marketplace, the Institutional Solutions Group sells its GICs and funding agreements to retirement plan sponsors either through investment management firms or directly, using Hartford employees.

In the terminal funding market, the Company sells its group annuity products to retirement plan sponsors through three different channels - (1) a small number of specialty brokers, (2) large benefits consulting firms and (3) directly, using Hartford employees.

Competition

The Institutional segment competes with numerous other insurance companies as well as certain banks, securities brokerage firms, independent financial advisors and other financial intermediaries marketing annuities, mutual funds and other retirement-oriented products. Product sales are affected by competitive factors such as investment performance ratings, product design, visibility in the marketplace, financial strength ratings, distribution capabilities, levels of charges and credited rates, reputation and customer service.

For institutional product lines offering fixed annuity products (i.e., terminal funding, structured settlements and stable value), financial strength, stability and credit ratings are key buying factors. As a result, the competitors in those marketplaces tend to be other large, long-established insurance companies.

INDIVIDUAL LIFE

The Individual Life segment provides life insurance solutions to a wide array of partners to solve the wealth protection, accumulation and transfer needs of their affluent, emerging affluent and business insurance clients. The individual life business acquired from Fortis in 2001 added significant scale to the Company's Individual Life segment, contributing to a significant increase in life insurance in force in that year. Revenues were $893, $858, and $774 for the years ended December 31, 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively. Net income in the Individual Life segment was $134, $116, and $106 for the years ended December 31, 2003, 2002 and 2001, respectively.

Principal Products

Hartford Life Insurance Company holds a significant market share in the variable universal life product market. In 2003, the Company's new sales of individual life insurance were 54% variable universal life, 41% universal life and other, and 5% term life insurance.

Variable universal life -- Variable universal life insurance provides a return linked to an underlying investment portfolio and the Company allows policyholders to determine their desired asset mix among a variety of underlying mutual funds. As the return on the investment portfolio increases or decreases, the surrender value of the variable universal life policy will increase or decrease, and, under certain policyholder options or market conditions, the death benefit may also increase or decrease. The Company's second-to-die products are distinguished from other products in that two lives are insured rather than one, and the policy proceeds are paid upon the death of both insureds. Second-to-die policies are frequently used in estate planning for a married couple. Variable universal life account values were $4.7 billion and $3.6 billion as of December 31, 2003 and 2002, respectively.

Universal Life and Interest Sensitive Whole Life -- Universal life and interest sensitive whole life insurance coverages provide life insurance with adjustable rates of return based on current interest rates. The Company offers both flexible and fixed premium policies and provides policyholders with flexibility in the available coverage, the timing and amount of premium payments and the amount of the death benefit, provided there are sufficient policy funds to cover all policy charges for the coming period. The Company

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also sells universal life insurance policies with a second-to-die feature
similar to that of the variable universal life insurance product offered.

Marketing and Distribution

Consistent with the Company's strategy to access multiple distribution outlets, the Individual Life distribution organization has been developed to penetrate a multitude of retail sales channels. These include independent life insurance sales professionals; agents of other companies; national, regional and independent broker-dealers; banks, financial planners, certified public accountants and property and casualty insurance organizations. The primary organization used to wholesale Hartford Life's products to these outlets is a group of highly qualified life insurance professionals with specialized training in sophisticated life insurance sales. These individuals are generally employees of the Company who are managed through a regional sales office system. Additional distribution is provided through Woodbury Financial Services, a subsidiary retail broker dealer and other marketing relationships.

Competition

The Individual Life segment competes with approximately 1,200 life insurance companies in the United States, as well as other financial intermediaries marketing insurance products. Competitive factors related to this segment are primarily the breadth and quality of life insurance products offered, pricing, relationships with third-party distributors, effectiveness of wholesaling support, pricing and availability of reinsurance and the quality of underwriting and customer service.

RESERVES

In accordance with applicable insurance regulations under which the Company operates, life insurance subsidiaries of Hartford Life establish and carry as liabilities actuarially determined reserves which are calculated to meet the Company's future obligations. Reserves for life insurance and disability contracts are based on actuarially recognized methods using prescribed morbidity and mortality tables in general use in the United States, which are modified to reflect the Company's actual experience when appropriate. These reserves are computed at amounts that, with additions from estimated premiums to be received and with interest on such reserves compounded annually at certain assumed rates, are expected to be sufficient to meet the Company's policy obligations at their maturities or in the event of an insured's disability or death. Reserves also include unearned premiums, premium deposits, claims incurred but not reported and claims reported but not yet paid. Reserves for assumed reinsurance are computed in a manner that is comparable to direct insurance reserves. Additional information on Hartford Life Insurance Company reserves may be found in the Critical Accounting Estimates section of the MD&A under "Reserves".

CEDED REINSURANCE

In accordance with normal industry practice, the Company is involved in both the cession and assumption of insurance with other insurance and reinsurance companies. As of December 31, 2003, the largest amount of life insurance retained on any one life by any one of the life operations was approximately $2.5. In addition, the Company has reinsured the majority of the minimum death benefit guarantees and the guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefits offered in connection with its variable annuity contracts. The majority of variable annuity contracts issued since August 2002 include a guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefit ("GMWB") rider. The GMWB represents an embedded derivative in the variable annuity contract that is required to be reported separately from the host variable annuity contract. For all contracts in effect through July 6, 2003, the Company entered into a third party reinsurance arrangement to offset its exposure to the GMWB for the remaining lives of those contracts. As of July 6, 2003, the Company exhausted all but a small portion of the reinsurance capacity for new business under this current arrangement and will be ceding only a very small number of new contracts subsequent to July 6, 2003. Substantially all new contracts with the GMWB are covered by a reinsurance arrangement with a related party. See Note 13 "Transactions with Affiliates" for information on this arrangement. Ceded reinsurance does not relieve the Company of its primary liability and, as such, failure of reinsurers to honor their obligations could result in losses to the Company. The Company also assumes reinsurance from other insurers. The Company

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evaluates the financial condition of its reinsurers and monitors concentrations
of credit risk. For the years ended December 31, 2003, 2002 and 2001, the Company did not make any significant changes in the terms under which reinsurance is ceded to other insurers except for the Company's recapture of a block of business previously reinsured with an unaffiliated reinsurer. For further discussion see Note 10 in "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements".

INVESTMENT OPERATIONS

An important element of the financial results of Hartford Life Insurance Company is return on invested assets. The investment portfolios are managed based on the underlying characteristics and nature of each operation's respective liabilities and within established risk parameters.

The investment portfolios of the Company are managed by Hartford Investment Management, a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Hartford. Hartford Investment Management is responsible for monitoring and managing the asset/liability profile, establishing investment objectives and guidelines and determining, within specified risk tolerances and investment guidelines, the appropriate asset allocation, duration, convexity and other characteristics of the portfolios. Security selection and monitoring are performed by asset class specialists working within dedicated portfolio management teams.

The primary investment objective of the Company's general account and guaranteed separate accounts is to maximize after-tax returns consistent with acceptable risk parameters, including the management of the interest rate sensitivity of invested assets and the generation of sufficient liquidity, relative to that of policyholder and corporate obligations.

For a further discussion of Hartford Life Insurance Company's approach to managing risks, including derivative utilization, see the Investments and Capital Markets Risk Management sections, of the MD&A, as well as Note 2 of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.

REGULATION AND PREMIUM RATES

Although there has been some deregulation with respect to large commercial insurers in recent years, insurance companies, for the most part, are still subject to comprehensive and detailed regulation and supervision throughout the United States. The extent of such regulation varies, but generally has its source in statutes which delegate regulatory, supervisory and administrative powers to state insurance departments. Such powers relate to, among other things, the standards of solvency that must be met and maintained; the licensing of insurers and their agents; the nature of and limitations on investments; establishing premium rates; claim handling and trade practices; restrictions on the size of risks which may be insured under a single policy; deposits of securities for the benefit of policyholders; approval of policy forms; periodic examinations of the affairs of companies; annual and other reports required to be filed on the financial condition of companies or for other purposes; fixing maximum interest rates on life insurance policy loans and minimum rates for accumulation of surrender values; and the adequacy of reserves and other necessary provisions for unearned premiums, unpaid claims and claim adjustment expenses and other liabilities, both reported and unreported.

Most states have enacted legislation that regulates insurance holding company systems such as the Company. This legislation provides that each insurance company in the system is required to register with the insurance department of its state of domicile and furnish information concerning the operations of companies within the holding company system which may materially affect the operations, management or financial condition of the insurers within the system. All transactions within a holding company system affecting insurers must be fair and equitable. Notice to the insurance departments is required prior to the consummation of transactions affecting the ownership or control of an insurer and of certain material transactions between an insurer and any entity in its holding company system. In addition, certain of such transactions cannot be consummated without the applicable insurance department's prior approval.

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RATINGS

Reference is made to the Capital Resources and Liquidity section of the MD&A under "Ratings".

RISK-BASED CAPITAL

Reference is made to the Capital Resources and Liquidity section of the MD&A under "Risk-Based Capital".

LEGISLATIVE AND REGULATORY INITIATIVES

Reference is made to the Regulatory Matters and Contingencies section of the MD&A under "Legislative Initiatives".

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INSOLVENCY FUND

Reference is made to the Regulatory Matters and Contingencies section of the MD&A under "Guaranty Fund".

NAIC PROPOSALS

Reference is made to the Regulatory Matters and Contingencies section of the MD&A under "NAIC Codification".

DEPENDENCE ON CERTAIN THIRD PARTY RELATIONSHIPS

Reference is made to the Regulatory Matters and Contingencies section of the MD&A under "Dependence on Certain Third Party Relationships".

EMPLOYEES

Hartford Life Insurance Company had approximately 3,800 employees at December 31, 2003.

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