Exhibit 99.1

NEWS

For Immediate Release

Greif, Inc. Revises Fiscal 2012 Guidance

DELAWARE, Ohio (Aug. 15, 2012) – Greif, Inc. (NYSE:GEF, GEF.B) today announced revised guidance for fiscal 2012, which ends on Oct. 31, 2012. EBITDA (earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization) is expected to be $445 million - $465 million compared with the company’s previous guidance of $500 million - $525 million. This decrease is primarily due to lower than expected volumes.

Third quarter 2012 volumes for the company’s rigid industrial packaging and flexible products businesses were below expectations primarily due to softer than anticipated market conditions. While there are some signs of market firming in Europe, it is occurring at a slower pace than the company expected earlier this year, and it appears that rigid packaging markets in other regions of the world are now being impacted. In addition, the geographic mix of earnings will result in a higher book tax rate for third quarter 2012 than the company had previously anticipated.

The economic conditions noted above are expected to also impact fourth quarter 2012 results and have been included in this revised fiscal 2012 guidance.

Management believes that the company will continue to generate sufficient operating cash flow to support quarterly cash dividends consistent with past practice and reinvestment in the business.

The company plans to report its third quarter 2012 financial results on Aug. 29, 2012, following the market close. A conference call is planned for Aug. 30, 2012, at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time to discuss those results.

About Greif

Greif is a world leader in industrial packaging products and services. The company produces steel, plastic, fibre, remanufactured and reconditioned rigid industrial containers as well as flexible containers, corrugated and multiwall containers and containerboard, and provides services such as blending, filling, packaging and recycling of industrial containers for a wide range of industries. Greif also manages timber properties in North America. The company is strategically positioned in more than 55 countries to serve global as well as regional customers. Additional information is on the company’s website at www.greif.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

All statements, other than statements of historical facts, included in this news release, including without limitation statements regarding our future financial position, business strategy, budgets, projected costs, goals and plans and objectives of management for future operations, are forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. Forward-looking statements generally can be identified by the use of forward-looking terminology such as “may,” “will,” “expect,” “intend,” “estimate,” “anticipate,” “project,” “believe,” “continue,” “on track” or “target” or the negative thereof or variations thereon or similar terminology. All forward-looking statements made in this news release are based on information currently available to management. Although we believe that the expectations reflected in forward-looking statements have a reasonable basis, we can give no assurance that these expectations will prove to be correct. Forward-looking statements are subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause actual events or results to differ materially from those expressed in or implied by the statements. Such risks and uncertainties that might cause a difference include, but are not limited to, the following: (i) the current and future challenging global economy may adversely affect our business; (ii) historically, our business has been sensitive to changes in general economic or business conditions; (iii) our operations are subject to currency exchange and political risks that could adversely affect our results of operations; (iv) the continuing consolidation of our customer base and suppliers may intensify pricing pressure; (v) we operate in highly competitive industries; (vi) our business is sensitive to changes in industry demands; (vii) raw material and energy price fluctuations and shortages may adversely impact our manufacturing operations and costs; (viii) we may encounter difficulties arising from acquisitions; (ix) we may incur additional restructuring costs and there is no guarantee that our efforts to reduce costs will be successful; (x) tax legislation initiatives or challenges to our tax positions may adversely impact our financial results or condition; (xi) several operations are conducted by joint ventures that we cannot operate solely for our benefit; (xii) our ability to attract, develop and retain talented employees, managers and executives is critical to our success; (xiii) our business may be adversely impacted by work stoppages and other labor relations matters; (xiv) we may be subject to losses that might not be covered in whole or in part by existing insurance reserves or insurance coverage; (xv) our business depends on the uninterrupted operations of our facilities, systems and business functions, including our information technology and other business systems; (xvi) legislation/regulation related to climate change and environmental and health and safety matters and product liability claims could negatively impact our operations and financial performance; (xvii) changing climate conditions may adversely affect our operations and financial performance; (xviii) we may incur fines or penalties, damage to reputation or other adverse consequences if our employees, agents or business partners violate, or are alleged to have violated, anti-bribery, competition or other laws; (xix) the frequency and volume of our timber and timberland sales will impact our financial performance; and (xx) changes in business results may impact our book tax rates. The risks described above are not all-inclusive, and given these and other possible risks and uncertainties, investors should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements as a prediction of actual results. For a detailed discussion of the most significant risks and uncertainties that could cause our actual results to differ materially from those projected, see “Risk Factors” in Part I, Item 1A of our Form 10-K for the year ended Oct. 31, 2011 and our other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. All forward-looking statements made in this news release are expressly qualified in their entirety by reference to such risk factors. Except to the limited extent required by applicable law, we undertake no obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Contacts:

Analysts:

Robert Lentz

(office) +1 614-876-2000

Media:

Deb Strohmaier

(office) +1 740-549-6074

(cell) +1 740-816-0692