GREIF BROTHERS CORP (CIK 43920)
Form 10-Q
period 1997-04-30
filed 1997-06-11

U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                     	WASHINGTON, D.C.  20549

                            	FORM 10-Q

         	QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 or 15 (d)
               	OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934


For Quarter Ended  April 30, 1997   Commission File Number  1-566


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


Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15 (d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports) and (2) has been subject to such filing
requirements for the past 90 days.  Yes  X  .  No     .


Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer's
classes of common stock as of the close of the period covered by
this report:

	Class A Common Stock 10,873,172 shares
	Class B Common Stock 12,001,793 shares