Exhibit 99.1

NEWS RELEASE
FOR RELEASE: IMMEDIATE
GATX CORPORATION ANNOUNCES LONG-TERM RAILCAR ORDER
     CHICAGO, March 15 - GATX Corporation (NYSE:GMT) today announced that it has entered into an agreement to purchase 12,500 newly built railcars that are expected to deliver ratably over a five-year period. The order encompasses a mix of tank and freight cars that will be manufactured by subsidiary entities of Trinity Industries, Inc.
     Brian A. Kenney, president and chief executive officer of GATX Corporation, said “The committed nature of this attractive order provides GATX with clear visibility into its new railcar delivery schedule. Coupled with our extensive activity in acquiring railcars in the secondary market and consistent placement of spot orders for newly built railcars, this order enhances our ability to serve our customers and continue growing our North American fleet.”
COMPANY DESCRIPTION
     GATX Corporation (NYSE:GMT) provides leasing and related services to customers operating rail, marine and other targeted assets. GATX is a leader in leasing transportation assets and controls one of the largest railcar fleets in the world. Applying over a century of operating experience and strong market and asset expertise, GATX provides quality assets and services to customers worldwide. GATX has been headquartered in Chicago, Illinois since its founding in 1898 and has traded on the New York Stock Exchange since 1916. For more information, visit the Company’s website at www.gatx.com.
FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS
This document contains statements that may constitute forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and are subject to the safe harbor provisions of those sections and the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Some of these statements may be identified by words such as “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “expect,” “intend,” “predict,” “project” or other words and terms of similar meaning. Investors are cautioned that any such forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve risks and uncertainties, including those described in GATX’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2010 and other filings with the SEC, and that actual results or developments may differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements. Specific factors that might cause actual results to differ from expectations include, but are not limited to, general economic, market, regulatory and political conditions in the rail, marine, industrial and other industries served by GATX and its customers; lease rates, utilization levels and operating costs in GATX’s primary operating segments; conditions in the capital markets; changes in GATX’s credit ratings and financing costs; regulatory rulings that may impact the economic value and operating costs of assets; costs associated with maintenance initiatives; competitive factors in GATX’s primary markets including lease pricing and asset availability; operational and financial risks associated with long-term railcar purchase commitments; changes in loss provision levels within GATX’s portfolio; impaired asset charges that may result from changing market conditions or portfolio management decisions implemented by GATX; the opportunity for

remarketing income; and the outcome of pending or threatened litigation. Given these risks and uncertainties, readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which reflect management’s analysis, judgment, belief or expectation only as of the date hereof. GATX has based these forward-looking statements on information currently available and disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise these forward-looking statements to reflect subsequent events or circumstances.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:
GATX Corporation
Jennifer Van Aken
312-621-6689
jennifer.vanaken@gatx.com
Investor, corporate, financial, historical financial, photographic and news release information may be found at www.gatx.com.
(3/15/11)