Exhibit 99.1
(Official Form 1) (10/06)
United States Bankruptcy Court Central District of California Voluntary Petition
Name of Debtor (If individual, enter Last, First, Middle): Name of Joint Debtor (Spouse) (Last, First, Middle):
Fremont General Corporation
All Other Names used by debtor in the last 8 years All Other Names used by joint debtor in the last 8 years (include married, maiden, and trade names): (include married, maiden, and trade names):
Last four digits of Soc. Sec./Complete EIN or other Tax Last four digits of Soc. Sec./Complete EIN or other Tax I.D. I.D. No. (if more than one, state all): 95-2815260 No. (if more than one, state all):
Street Address of Debtor (No. and Street, City and State)92821 2727 East Imperial Highway Brea, California Street Address of Joint Debtor (No. and Street, City and State)
ZIPCODE
County of Residence or of the Principal Place of Business: County of Residence or of the Principal Place of Business: Orange county
Mailing Address of Debtor (If different from street address)
ZIPCODE
ZIPCODE
Mailing Address of Joint Debtor (If different from street address)
ZIPCODE
Location of Principal Assets of Business Debtor (if different from street address above): }
Type of Debtor Nature of Business Chapter of Bankruptcy Code Under Which } (Form of Organization) (Check one box.) the Petition is Filed (Check one box) } (Check one box.) Health Care Business Chapter 7 } Individual (includes Joint Debtors) Single Asset Real Estate as defined in 11 U.S.C. § 101 Chapter 9 } See Exhibit D on page 2 of this form. (51B) Chapter 11 } Corporation (includes LLC and LLP) Railroad Chapter 12 } Partnership Stockbroker Chapter 13 } Other (If debtor is not one of the Commodity Broker Chapter 15 Petition for Recognition of a Foreign Main Proceeding } above entities, check this box and Clearing Bank Chapter 15 Petition for Recognition of a Foreign Nonmain Proceeding } state type of entity below.) Other Nature of Debts } Tax-Exempt Entity (Check one box.) } (Check box, if applicable) Debts are primarily consumer debts, defined in 11 U.S.C. § 101(8) as } Debtor is a tax-exempt organization under Title 26 of “incurred by an individual primarily for a personal, family, or household the United States Code (the Internal Revenue Code.) purpose.” Debts are primarily business debts. }
Filing Fee (Check one box.) Chapter 11 Debtors } Full Filing Fee attached. Check one box: } Filing Fee to be paid in installments (applicable to individuals Debtor is a small business debtor as defined in 11 U.S.C. § 101(51D). } only). Must attach signed application for the court’s Debtor is not a small business debtor as defined in 11 U.S.C. § 101(51D). } consideration certifying that the debtor is unable to pay fee Check if: } except in installments. Rule 1006(b). See Official Form 3A. Debtor’s aggregate noncontingent liquidated debts owed to insiders or affiliates are less than $2 million. Filing Fee waiver requested (applicable to chapter 7 individuals Check all applicable boxes: } only.). Must attach signed application for the court’s A plan is being filed with this petition. } consideration. See Official Form 3B. Acceptances of the plan were solicited prepetition from one or more classes of creditors, in accordance } with 11 U.S.C. § 1126(b). }
Statistical/Administrative Information THIS SPACE IS FOR COURT USE ONLY
Debtor estimates that funds will be available for distribution to unsecured creditors. Debtor estimates that after any exempt property is excluded and administrative expenses paid, there will be no funds available for distribution to unsecured creditors.
Estimated Number of Creditors 1- 50- 100- 200- 1,000- 5,001- 10,001- 25,001- 50,001- Over 49 99 199 999 5,000 10,000 25,000 50,000 100,000 100,000
Estimated Assets $0 to $10,001 to $100,000 to $1 million to More than 100 million $10,000 $100,000 $1 million $100 million
Estimated Liabilities $0 to $50,000 to $100,000 to $1 million to More than 100 million $50,000 $100,000 $1 million $100 million

(Official Form 1) (10/06) FORM B1, Page 2
Name of Debtor(s): . Voluntary Petition
(This page must be completed and filed in every case)
Prior Bankruptcy Cases Filed Within Last 8 Years (If more than one, attach additional sheet.)
Location Case Number: Date Filed: Where Filed:
Location Case Number: Date Filed: Where Filed:
Pending Bankruptcy Case Filed by any Spouse, Partner, or Affiliate of this Debtor (If more than one, attach additional sheet.)
Name of Debtor: Case Number: Date Filed:
District: Relationship: Judge:
Exhibit A Exhibit B
(To be completed if debtor is required to file periodic reports (e.g., (To be completed if debtor is an individual forms 10K and 10Q) with the Securities and Exchange Commission pursuant whose debts are primarily consumer debts) to Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and is I, the attorney for the petitioner named in the foregoing petition, declare that I have requesting relief under chapter 11.) informed the petitioner that [he or she] may proceed under chapter 7, 11, 12, or 13 of title r Exhibit A is attached and made a part of this petition. 11, United States Code, and have explained the relief available under each such chapter. I further certify that I have delivered to the debtor the notice required by § 342(b). X Signature of Attorney for Debtor(s) (Date)
Exhibit C
Does the debtor own or have possession of any property that poses or is alleged to pose a threat of imminent and identifiable harm to public health or safety? Yes, and Exhibit C is attached and made a part of this petition. No
Exhibit D
(To be completed by every individual debtor. If a joint petition is filed, each spouse must complete and attach a separate Exhibit D.) Exhibit D completed and signed by the debtor is attached and made a part of this petition.
If this is a joint petition: Exhibit D completed and signed by the joint debtor is attached and made a part of this petition.
Information Regarding the Debtor — Venue (Check any applicable box.)
Debtor has been domiciled or has had a residence, principal place of business, or principal assets in this District for 180 days immediately preceding the date of this petition or for a longer part of such 180 days than in any other District.There is a bankruptcy case concerning debtor’s affiliate, general partner, or partnership pending in this District.Debtor is a debtor in a foreign proceeding and has its principal place of business or principal assets in the United States in this District, or has no principal place of business in the United States but is a defendant in an action or proceeding [in a federal or state court] in this District, or the interests of the parties will be served in regard to the relief sought in this District.
Statement by a Debtor Who Resides as a Tenant of Residential Property
(Check all applicable boxes.) Landlord has a judgment against the debtor for possession of debtor’s residence. (If box checked, complete the following.)
(Name of landlord that obtained judgment)
(Address of landlord)
Debtor claims that under applicable nonbankruptcy law, there are circumstances under which the debtor would be permitted to cure the entire monetary default that gave rise to the judgment for possession, after the judgment for possession was entered, andDebtor has included with this petition the deposit with the court of any rent that would become due during the 30-day period after the filing of the petition.

(Official Form 1) (10/06) FORM B1, Page 3
Voluntary Petition Name of Debtor(s):
(This page must be completed and filed in every case)
Signatures
Signature(s) of Debtor(s) (Individual/Joint) Signature of a Foreign Representative
I declare under penalty of perjury that the information I declare under penalty of perjury that the information provided in provided in this petition is true and correct. this petition is true and correct, that I am the foreign [If petitioner is an individual whose debts are primarily representative of a debtor in a foreign proceeding, and that I am consumer debts and has chosen to file under chapter 7] I am authorized to file this petition. aware that I may proceed under chapter 7, 11, 12 or 13 of (Check only one box.) title 11, United States Code, understand the relief available I request relief in accordance with chapter 15 of title 11, United under each such chapter, and chose to proceed under chapter States Code. Certified copies of the documents required by § 1515 of 7. title 11 are attached. [If no attorney represents me and no bankruptcy petition Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 1511, I request relief in accordance with the preparer signs the petition] I have obtained and read the chapter of title 11 specified in this petition. A certified copy of notice required by 11 U.S.C. § 342(b). the order granting recognition of the foreign main proceeding is I request relief in accordance with the chapter of title 11, attached. United States code, specified in this petition.
X X Signature of Attorney for Debtor(s) (Signature of Foreign Representative) X X Signature of Joint Debtor (Printed Name of Foreign Representative) Telephone Number (if not represented by attorney) Date Date
Signature of Attorney* Signature of Non-Attorney Bankruptcy Petition Preparer
X /s/ THEODORE STOLMAN I declare under penalty of perjury that: (1) I am a bankruptcy petition preparer as defined in 11 U.S.C. § 110; (2) I prepared this Signature of Attorney for Debtor(s) document for compensation and have provided the debtor with a copy of Theodore Stolman this document and the notices and information required under 11 U.S.C. §§ 110(b), 110(h), and 342(b); and, (3) if rules or guidelines have Printed Name of Attorney for Debtor(s) been promulgated pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 110(h) setting a maximum fee for services chargeable by bankruptcy petition preparers, I have given Stutman Treister & Glatt the debtor notice of the maximum amount before preparing any document for filing for a debtor or accepting any fee from the debtor, as Firm Name required in that section. Official Form 19B is attached. Printed Name and title, if any, of Bankruptcy Petition Preparer 1901 Avenue of the Stars, 12th Floor Social-Security number (If the bankruptcy petition preparer is not an individual, state the Social-security number of the officer, Los Angeles, CA 90067 principal, responsible person or partner of the bankruptcy petition preparer.) (Required by 11 U.S.C. § 110.) Address Address X (310) 228-5650 Date Signature of bankruptcy petition preparer or officer, principal, Telephone Number responsible person, or partner whose social security number is provided above. June 18, 2008 Names and Social Security numbers of all other individuals who prepared or assisted in preparing this document unless the bankruptcy Date petition prepared is not an individual. If more than one person prepared this document, attach additional sheets conforming to the appropriate official form for each person. A bankruptcy petition preparer’s failure to comply with the provisions of title 11 and the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure may result in fines or imprisonment or both. 11 U.S.C. § 110; 18 U.S.C. § 156.
Signature of Debtor (Corporation/Partnership)
I declare under penalty of perjury that the information provided in this petition is true and correct, and that I have been authorized to file this petition on behalf of the debtor. The debtor requests the relief in accordance with the chapter of title 11, United States Code, specified in this petition.
X /s/ RICHARD A. SANCHEZ Signature of Authorized Individual
Richard A. Sanchez
Printed Name of Authorized Individual
Executive Vice President/Chief Administrative Officer
Title of Authorized Individual
June 18, 2008
Date