REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LTD IV (CIK 355573)
Form 10-Q
period 2018-09-30
filed 2018-11-14

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

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has submitted electronically every Interactive Data File required to be submitted pursuant to Rule 405 of Regulation S-T (§232.405 of this chapter) during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to submit such files). [X] Yes [ ] No

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a large accelerated filer, an accelerated filer, a non-accelerated filer, or a smaller reporting company. See the definitions of "large accelerated filer", "accelerated filer" and smaller reporting company" in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act

Large accelerated filer [ ]	Accelerated filer [ ]
Non-accelerated filer [ ]	Smaller reporting company [X]

If an emerging growth company, indicate by check mark if the registrant has elected not to use the extended transition period for complying with any new or revised financial accounting standards provided pursuant to Section 13(a) of the Exchange Act.    [ ]

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant is a shell company (as defined in Rule 12b-2 of the Exchange Act). [ ] Yes [X] No

PART 1 - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED IV

BALANCE SHEETS

(in thousands)

	September 30, 2018	December 31, 2017
	(Unaudited)

ASSETS

Cash and cash equivalents	$241	$331
Receivable - limited partners	25	25
Total assets	$266	$356

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL (DEFICIENCY)

Liabilities:
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$16	$20

Partners' equity:
General partners	44	45
Limited partners	206	291
Total partners' equity	250	336
Total liabilities and partners' equity	$266	$356

See Accompanying Notes to Financial Statements

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED IV

STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

(Unaudited)

(in thousands, except per interest data)

	Three Months Ended September 30,		Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2018	2017	2018	2017

Revenues	$--	$--	$--	$--

Operating Expenses:
Legal and accounting	6	8	19	22
Management Fees - General Partner	2	2	5	5
General and administrative	7	7	22	30
Total operating expenses	15	17	46	57

Net loss from partnership operations	(15)	(17)	(46)	(57)
Advances in excess of investment	0	0	(40)	(31)

Net Loss	$(15)	$(17)	$(86)	$(88)

Net loss allocated to general partners (1%)	$--	$--	$(1)	$(1)

Net loss allocated to limited partners (99%)	$(15)	$(17)	$(85)	$(87)

Net loss per limited partnership interest	$(1.15)	$(1.31)	$(6.54)	$(6.69)

See Accompanying Notes to Financial Statements

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED IV

STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS' CAPITAL (DEFICIENCY)

(Unaudited)

(in thousands)

	General Partners	Limited Partners	Total
Partners' equity, December 31, 2017	$45	$291	$336

Net loss for the nine months ended September 30, 2018	(1)	(85)	(86)

Partners' equity September 30, 2018	$44	$206	$250

See Accompanying Notes to Financial Statements

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED IV

STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

(Unaudited)

(in thousands)

	Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2018	2017

Cash flows from operating activities:
Net loss	$(86)	$(88)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
Advances in excess of investment	40	31
Changes in accounts:
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	(4)	1
Net cash used in operating activities	(50)	(56)

Cash flows used in investing activities:
Advances in excess of investment	(40)	(31)
Net cash provided (used in) investing accounts	(40)	(31)

Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents	(90)	(87)

Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period	331	435

Cash and cash equivalents, end of period	$241	$348

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

Net loss per limited partnership interest is computed by dividing the limited partners' share of net loss by the number of limited partnership interests outstanding at the beginning of the year. The number of limited partnership interests used was 12,998.22 for the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017.

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

At times, advances are made to the Local Limited Partnership. Advances made by the Partnership to the Local Limited Partnership are considered part of the Partnership's investment in the limited partnership. Advances made to the Local Limited Partnership for which the investment has been reduced to zero are generally charged to expense. The Partnership made advances of approximately $40,000 and $31,000 during the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017, respectively.

Note 2 - Investments in and Advances to the Local Limited Partnership (continued)

The following are unaudited condensed combined estimated statements of operations for the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017 for the Local Limited Partnership in which the Partnership has invested:

	Three Months Ended September 30,		Nine Months Ended September 30,
	2018	2017	2018	2017
Revenues
Rental and other income	$91	$87	$264	$263

Expenses
Operating	90	72	253	248
Financial	7	7	20	20
Depreciation and amortization	21	21	65	63
Total Expenses	118	100	338	331

Income (loss) from continuing operations	$(27)	$(13)	$(74)	$(68)

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

Additionally, the Partnership reimburses NAPICO for administrative expenses incurred by NAPICO on behalf of the Partnership but paid by NAPICO for convenience. These reimbursed expenses were approximately $9,000 and $13,000 for the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017, respectively.

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

The Partnership's primary source of funds consists of distributions from the Local Limited Partnership in which the Partnership has invested. It is not expected that the Local Limited Partnership in which the Partnership has invested will generate cash flow from operations sufficient to provide for distributions to limited partners in any material amount. An infrequent source of funds is from the sale of a property held by a Local Limited Partnership or from the sale of the Partnership's interest in a Local Limited Partnership. As of September 30, 2018, the partnership had cash of approximately $241,000 compared to approximately $331,000 at December 31, 2017.

Results of Operations

At September 30, 2018, the Partnership had an investment in one Local Limited Partnership, which owns a housing project that was substantially rented as of such date. The Partnership, as a limited partner, does not have a contractual relationship with the Local Limited Partnership or exercise control over the activities and operations, including refinancing and selling decisions, of the Local Limited Partnership that would require or allow for consolidation. Accordingly, the Partnership accounts for its investment in the Local Limited Partnership using the equity method. Thus, the individual investment is carried at cost plus the Partnership's share of the Local Limited Partnership's profits less the Partnership's share of the Local Limited Partnership's losses, distributions and any impairment charges. However, since the Partnership is not legally liable for the obligations of the Local Limited Partnership, or is not otherwise committed to provide additional support to it, the Partnership does not recognize losses once its investment in a Local Limited Partnership reaches zero. Distributions from the Local Limited Partnership are accounted for as a reduction of the investment balance until the investment balance is reduced to zero. When the investment balance has been reduced to zero, subsequent distributions received are recognized as income in the statements of operations. The Partnership received no distributions during the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017. The investment balance in the Local Limited Partnership had been reduced to zero as of September 30, 2018 and December 31, 2017.

At times, advances are made to the Local Limited Partnership. Advances made by the Partnership to the Local Limited Partnership are considered part of the Partnership's investment in limited partnerships. Advances made to the Local Limited Partnership for which the investment has been reduced to zero are generally charged to expense. The Partnership made advances of approximately $40,000 during the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and $31,000 during the nine months ended September 30, 2017.

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

Operating expenses, other than management fees, consist of legal and accounting fees for services rendered to the Partnership and general and administrative expenses. Legal and accounting fees were approximately $19,000 and $22,000 for the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017, respectively, and approximately $6,000 and $8,000 for the three months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017, respectively. General and administrative expenses were approximately $22,000 and $30,000 for the nine months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017, respectively, and approximately $7,000 for the three months ended September 30, 2018 and 2017. The decrease in general and administrative expenses is due to a decrease in investor relations expenses.

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

Other

Bethesda and its affiliates owned 3,259.9 limited partnership interests in the Partnership representing 25.09% of the outstanding limited partnership interests in the Partnership at September 30, 2018. It is possible that Bethesda or its affiliates will acquire additional limited partnership interests in the Partnership, either through private purchases or tender offers. Pursuant to the Partnership's Restated Certificate and Agreement of Limited Partnership, dated December 3, 1979, as amended on January 12, 2005 (the "Partnership Agreement"), holders holding a majority of the limited partnership interests are entitled to take action with respect to a variety of matters that include, but are not limited to, voting on certain amendments to the Partnership Agreement and voting to remove the General Partner. Although the General Partner owes fiduciary duties to the limited partners of the Partnership, the General Partner also owes fiduciary duties to Bethesda as its sole stockholder. As a result, the duties of the General Partner, as general partner, to the Partnership and its limited partners may come into conflict with the duties of the General Partner to Bethesda as its sole stockholder.

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

REAL ESTATE ASSOCIATES LIMITED IV

By:National Partnership Investments, LLC
General Partner

Date: November 14, 2018	By:/s/ Brian Flaherty
Brian Flaherty
Title: Senior Managing Director

Date: November 14, 2018	By:/s/ Joseph Dryden
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