Exhibit 99.1

January 13, 2026

Fifth Third and Comerica Announce Receipt of All Material Approvals to Combine

CINCINNATI and DALLAS – Fifth Third Bancorp (Nasdaq: FITB) and Comerica Incorporated (NYSE: CMA) today announced that the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System approved the combination of the two companies. As a result, all material regulatory and shareholder approvals to merge have been received. The transaction is expected to close on February 1, 2026, subject to the satisfaction or waiver of the remaining customary closing conditions, and will form the ninth largest U.S. bank with $290 billion in assets and a footprint that includes 17 of the 20 fastest-growing large markets in the U.S.

“We are thrilled to have all material approvals secured so we can begin an exciting new chapter as one combined company,” said Tim Spence, Chairman, CEO and President of Fifth Third. “Together, Fifth Third and Comerica will create a stronger, more diversified bank with industry-leading capabilities; a leading position in markets across the Midwest, Southeast, Texas and California; and a proven platform for innovation and expansion.”

“With the material regulatory and shareholder approvals in place, we are eager to proceed with Fifth Third to combine our organizations. For 175 years, Comerica’s identity has been built on deep customer trust and dedicated service; we are proud to join an organization that shares these enduring principles,” said Curt Farmer, Chairman, President and CEO of Comerica.

Integration teams are working closely to facilitate a smooth transition for employees and customers. Full system and brand conversions are expected later this year. Until then, customers at both banks will see little change in their day-to-day business, and Comerica locations will continue to operate under the Comerica brand.

“As we move forward, our focus will be on leveraging our expanded footprint and complementary strengths to provide exceptional value to current and future customers,” Spence continued. “With immediate earnings accretion, no dilution to tangible book value per share, and a clear path to more than half a billion dollars in annual revenue synergies, we are confident that this combination will deliver superior outcomes and set a new standard for what a modern, innovative bank can achieve.”

About Fifth Third

Fifth Third is a bank that’s as long on innovation as it is on history. Since 1858, we’ve been helping individuals, families, businesses and communities grow through smart financial services that improve lives. Our list of firsts is extensive, and it’s one that continues to expand as we explore the intersection of tech-driven innovation, dedicated people and focused community impact. Fifth Third is one of the few U.S.-based banks to have been named among Ethisphere’s World’s Most Ethical Companies® for several years. With a commitment to taking care of our customers, employees, communities and shareholders, our goal is not only to be the nation’s highest performing regional bank, but to be the bank people most value and trust.

Fifth Third Bank, National Association is a federally chartered institution. Fifth Third Bancorp is the indirect parent company of Fifth Third Bank and its common stock is traded on the NASDAQ® Global Select Market under the symbol “FITB.” Investor information and press releases can be viewed at www.53.com. Deposit and credit products provided by Fifth Third Bank, National Association. Member FDIC.

About Comerica

Comerica Incorporated is a financial services company headquartered in Dallas, Texas, and strategically aligned by three business segments: The Commercial Bank, The Retail Bank and Wealth Management. Comerica, one of the 25 largest commercial U.S. financial holding companies, focuses on building relationships and helping people and businesses be successful. Comerica provides banking centers across the country with locations in Arizona, California, Florida, Michigan and Texas. Founded on Aug. 17, 1849, in Detroit, Michigan, Comerica has offices in 15 states and services 13 of the 15 largest U.S. metropolitan areas, as well as Canada and Mexico. Comerica reported total assets of $77.4 billion at Sept. 30, 2025. Learn more about how Comerica is raising expectations of what a bank can be by visiting www.comerica.com.

CONTACT

Fifth Third

Jennifer Hendricks Sullivan (Media Relations)

jennifer.hendricks.sullivan@53.com

Matt Curoe (Investor Relations)

matt.curoe@53.com | 513-534-2345

Comerica

Nicole Hogan (Media Relations)

nihogan@comerica.com | 214-462-6657

Kelly Gage (Investor Relations)

kgage@comerica.com | 469-827-3322

FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

This communication contains statements that constitute “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of, and subject to the protections of, Section 27A of the Securities Act, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and the safe harbor provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements can be identified by words such as “achieve,” “anticipate,” “assume,” “believe,” “could,” “deliver,” “drive,” “enhance,” “estimate,” “expect,” “focus,” “future,” “goal,” “grow,” “guidance,” “intend,” “may,” “might,” “plan,” “position,” “potential,” “predict,” “project,” “opportunity,” “outlook,” “should,” “strategy,” “target,” “trajectory,” “trend,” “will,” “would,” and other similar words and expressions or the negative of such terms or other comparable terminology. Forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements about our business strategy, goals and objectives, projected financial and operating results, including outlook for future growth, and future common share dividends, common share repurchases and other uses of capital. These statements are not historical facts, but instead represent our beliefs regarding future events, many of which, by their nature, are inherently uncertain and outside of our control.

Comerica Incorporated’s (“Comerica”) and Fifth Third Bancorp’s (“Fifth Third”) actual results and financial condition may differ materially from those indicated in these forward-looking statements. Important factors that could cause Comerica’s and Fifth Third’s actual results, financial condition and predictions to differ materially from those indicated in such forward-looking statements include, in addition to those set forth in our and Fifth Third’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”): (1) the risk that the cost savings and synergies from the merger of Comerica with Fifth Third (the “Transaction”) may not be fully realized or may take longer than anticipated to be realized; (2) the failure of the closing conditions in the merger agreement between Comerica and Fifth Third providing for the Transaction to be satisfied, or any unexpected delay in closing the Transaction or the occurrence of any event, change or other circumstances, including the impact and timing of any government shutdown, that could delay the Transaction or could give rise to the termination of the merger agreement; (3) the outcome of any legal or regulatory proceedings or governmental inquiries or investigations that may be currently pending or later instituted against Comerica, Fifth Third or the combined company; (4) the possibility that the Transaction does not close when expected or at all because required regulatory, stockholder or other approvals and other conditions to closing are not received or satisfied on a timely basis or at all (and the risk that such approvals may result in the imposition of conditions that could adversely affect the combined company or the expected benefits of the proposed Transaction); (5) the risk that the benefits from the Transaction may not be fully realized or may take longer to realize than expected, including as a result of changes in, or problems arising from, general economic and market conditions, interest and exchange rates, monetary policy, laws and regulations and their enforcement, and the degree of competition in the geographic and business areas in which Comerica and Fifth Third operate; (6) disruption to the parties’ businesses as a result of the announcement and pendency of the Transaction; (7) the costs associated with the

anticipated length of time of the pendency of the Transaction, including the restrictions contained in the definitive merger agreement on the ability of Comerica or Fifth Third to operate its business outside the ordinary course during the pendency of the Transaction; (8) risks related to management and oversight of the expanded business and operations of the combined company following the closing of the proposed Transaction; (9) the risk that the integration of each party’s operations will be materially delayed or will be more costly or difficult than expected or that the parties are otherwise unable to successfully integrate each party’s businesses into the other’s businesses; (10) the possibility that the Transaction may be more expensive to complete than anticipated, including as a result of unexpected factors or events; (11) reputational risk and potential adverse reactions of Comerica or Fifth Third customers, employees, vendors, contractors or other business partners, including those resulting from the announcement or completion of the Transaction; (12) the dilution caused by Fifth Third’s issuance of additional shares of its common stock in connection with the Transaction; (13) a material adverse change in the condition of Comerica or Fifth Third; (14) the extent to which Comerica’s or Fifth Third’s businesses perform consistent with management’s expectations; (15) Comerica’s and Fifth Third’s ability to take advantage of growth opportunities and implement targeted initiatives in the timeframe and on the terms currently expected; (16) the inability to sustain revenue and earnings growth; (17) the execution and efficacy of recent strategic investments; (18) the timing and impact of Comerica’s Direct Express transition; (19) the impact of macroeconomic factors, such as changes in general economic conditions and monetary and fiscal policy, particularly on interest rates; (20) changes in customer behavior; (21) unfavorable developments concerning credit quality; (22) declines in the businesses or industries of Comerica’s or Fifth Third’s customers; (23) the possibility that the combined company is subject to additional regulatory requirements as a result of the proposed Transaction of expansion of the combined company’s business operations following the proposed Transaction; (24) general competitive, political and market conditions and other factors that may affect future results of Comerica and Fifth Third including changes in asset quality and credit risk; (25) security risks, including cybersecurity and data privacy risks, and capital markets; (26) inflation; (27) the impact, extent and timing of technological changes; (28) capital management activities; (29) competitive product and pricing pressures; (30) the outcomes of legal and regulatory proceedings and related financial services industry matters; and (31) compliance with regulatory requirements. Any forward-looking statement made in this communication is based solely on information currently available to us and speaks only as of the date on which it is made. We undertake no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statement, whether written or oral, that may be made from time to time, whether as a result of new information, future developments or otherwise, except to the extent required by law. These and other important factors, including those discussed under “Risk Factors” in Comerica’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2024 (available at: https://www.sec.gov/ix?doc=/Archives/edgar/data/0000028412/000002841225000108/cma-20241231.htm), and in Fifth Third’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2024 (available at: https://www.sec.gov/ix?doc=/Archives/edgar/data/0000035527/000003552725000079/fitb-20241231.htm), as well as Comerica’s and Fifth Third’s subsequent filings with the SEC, may cause actual results, performance or achievements to differ materially from those expressed or implied by these forward-looking statements. The forward-looking statements herein are made only as of the date they were first issued, and unless otherwise required by applicable securities laws, Comerica and Fifth Third disclaim any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise.